BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Sports Unlimited, Inc.

Phone: (800) 693-6368 View Additional Phone Numbers 346 Godshall Dr, Harleysville, PA 19438 http://www.sportsunlimitedinc.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sport Unlimited is a family owned, full line internet sporting goods retailer located in Hatfield, PA. Here's what we do best: Football Equipment - We offer one of the most extensive football gear selections on the web. We carry key protective equipment like football helmets and shoulder pads along with anything else you need to play the game. Baseball Equipment - We carry gear from all the top brands; Rawlings, Wilson, Mizuno, Nike and Under Armour.  We provide a wide range of catchers gear too. Lacrosse Sticks - We were one of the first sporting goods stores to carry lacrosse equipment in our region.  We know the sport and have helped it grow in the Philadelphia area. Field Hockey Sticks - We focus on making sure we provide a great selection of field hockey equipment for girls who love the game.  We carry sticks from every brand that you would be looking for. The North Face - If you're into the outdoors or just looking good, you'll love our selection of The North Face jackets and backpacks. Under Armour - We were the first company to sell Under Armour online and we won there Dealer of the Year award twice!  Wear what serious athletes wear. Founded in 1983, the company opened our signature brick and mortar store in the Plymouth Meeting mall just outside of Philadelphia. For the next twenty-five years, we served our community as an independent sporting goods retailer with a focus on outstanding customer service and product knowledge. As tends to happen, times and technologies change, and as the Internet began to build in popularity and usability, the family shifted its focus from traditional retail sales to website possibilities.> In 1998, we put our catalog online and entered the .com world! Since establishing our site, Sports Unlimited has experienced exponential growth in the variety of merchandise we offer as well as in the amount of customers we serve. As we have moved forward and have grown in many directions, the company has always maintained our founding family values and our commitment to the local community. We work and live by the famous quote by Winston Churchill; "We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give." Sports Unlimited has and continues to support Habitat for Humanity, Livestrong and many local food drives. Over the years we have also supported local schools during hard times, and recently, the company donated sporting equipment to the Carson Valley School and backpacks to underprivileged kids. In the sometimes impersonal world of online shopping, our goal remains to provide you with excellent customer service featuring easy website access to an outstanding variety of quality products. So check us out! Find us on Facebook and Twitter. Read our Blog and speak your mind about new products, sports news and other ramblings. Sign up for our email list and get updates on new gear. Our team of hard working, knowledgeable employees is continuously updating our site for improved usability and increased customer interaction. We We will continue to work tirelessly to give you YOUR Gear for Every Game! That’s our promise to you! We look forward earning your business.- The Sports Unlimited Team

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sports Unlimited, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sports Unlimited, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 11, 2006 Business started: 03/24/1983 in PA Business incorporated: 03/24/1983 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald M. Ball, President Mr. Ryan Ball, Customer Service Manager Mr. David Neff, Secretary/Treasurer/Controller Mr. Mike Neff, E-Commerce Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald M. Ball, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Ryan Ball, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Sporting Goods - Retail


Additional Locations

  • 346 Godshall Dr

    Harleysville, PA 19438

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (610) 994-9701 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I ordered a football helmet from sportsunlimited inc. I had chosen the USPS international priority mail. Nowhere did this option say that it did not inclue duties and taxes. To my suprise when I received my product I had to pay duties and taxes. There was a 10 dollar difference between the shipping option I chose and the next level of shipping. If I would have known which one didn't and did cover duties and taxes I would have chosen the $10 difference one instead of payin $40 for duties and taxes.

Desired Settlement: I would like the duties and taxes refunded to me.

Business Response: ******,

 
Thank you for the information regarding this customer complaint.  We do have shipping methods to Canada that include duties and taxes, as well as a couple of cheaper methods that do not, in an effort to offer lower rates up front to customers.  It is a newer service for us, and we understand that the wording on the site might have been confusing or seemingly misleading, so in this case we will refund the requested amount to the customer.  We are currently working to improve the way these shipping methods appear on our site in order to avoid similar situations in the future.
 
We have issues a refund of $39.49 to the customers ****** account that was used for the original purchase.  Please contact us if you have any further questions or concerns regarding this issue and we will do what we can to help the customer.
 
Thanks,
*******
 
Customer Service Manager
Sports Unlimited

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/24/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 2nd I placed an order to Sports Unlimited Inc for a total of $103.80. Which has been deducted from my credit card balance. This order included 1 Field Hockey Stick, 1 Field Hockey Goggles, 1 Field Hockey Ball, 2 Mouth Guards, Pair of Cleats, and Pair of Shin Guard Socks. That it should come in 7-10 business days. Everything in my order except the stick was shipped out on August 5th. The 6 items shipped are expected to arrive tomorrow. It said that expected ship date for the stick was to be on August 16th. So I emailed them and asked why the stick was going to take longer then the rest of the stuff. I got a email saying that the stick was out of stock and discontinued. However there was a certain model of one stick and another model in three colors available, at no extra cost as the one I originally ordered. I asked when the stick could be sent out. I received a response today that they can send it out today, but are unable to process my credit card for the stick. My account has already been deducted a $103.80 for all the equipment and everything, including the cost of a stick. Why would you recharge me for a stick I was already charged for. I have all the emails between us.

Desired Settlement: Should not have to pay additional money. I just want the stick and everything that I have ordered for my daughter to play Field Hockey. She starts school at the end of the month and need the gear before then. I thought this was a good company and had some great deals, but now I am really frustrated with this company. My 11 yr old daughter is real upset, don't know if going to get the stuff in time or at all.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,


This customers original order was placed on our website on 8/2/2013 (ref # *******, order # ******), and there was a pending/approval charge placed on her card for the full amount of the order, $103.80.  The Field Hockey Stick ordered was out of stock, and we were not going to receive more into stock, so we charged her for the remainder of the order ($89.81) and shipped the available items.  As of 8/6/2013, the pending/approval charge on the customers card had not yet dropped down to show the actual amount of the charge, so the customer was still seeing it as $103.80. Since we did not have the stick she original ordered, we offered her a deep discount on a replacement item to have it shipped out ASAP, and let her know that we did not charge her initially for the stick that was out of stock (total $13.99).  That is the point at which this claim was filed.  
At this time, the pending amount has dropped off in the customers account, showing the charge of $89.91 on 8/5, and $13.99 on 8/8, and the customer has received her replacement item (per UPS # ****************** on 8/9).  I have been in direct contact with her,  and explained the pending/approval charge process with her, advising her to contact her bank/credit card company directly if the charge were not dropping to the actual amount captured.  We understand her frustration with the pending charge, and our out of stock situation, but we provided her a generous discount and a quick shipment of an upgraded substitute item.
Please let me know if any further action is needed.

Thanks,
******* *********
Customer Service Manager
Sports Unlimited

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable