BBB Accredited Business since

Sports Unlimited, Inc.

Phone: (800) 693-6368 View Additional Phone Numbers 346 Godshall Dr, Harleysville, PA 19438 http://www.sportsunlimitedinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sport Unlimited is a family owned, full line internet sporting goods retailer located in Hatfield, PA. Here's what we do best: Football Equipment - We offer one of the most extensive football gear selections on the web. We carry key protective equipment like football helmets and shoulder pads along with anything else you need to play the game. Baseball Equipment - We carry gear from all the top brands; Rawlings, Wilson, Mizuno, Nike and Under Armour.  We provide a wide range of catchers gear too. Lacrosse Sticks - We were one of the first sporting goods stores to carry lacrosse equipment in our region.  We know the sport and have helped it grow in the Philadelphia area. Field Hockey Sticks - We focus on making sure we provide a great selection of field hockey equipment for girls who love the game.  We carry sticks from every brand that you would be looking for. The North Face - If you're into the outdoors or just looking good, you'll love our selection of The North Face jackets and backpacks. Under Armour - We were the first company to sell Under Armour online and we won there Dealer of the Year award twice!  Wear what serious athletes wear. Founded in 1983, the company opened our signature brick and mortar store in the Plymouth Meeting mall just outside of Philadelphia. For the next twenty-five years, we served our community as an independent sporting goods retailer with a focus on outstanding customer service and product knowledge. As tends to happen, times and technologies change, and as the Internet began to build in popularity and usability, the family shifted its focus from traditional retail sales to website possibilities.> In 1998, we put our catalog online and entered the .com world! Since establishing our site, Sports Unlimited has experienced exponential growth in the variety of merchandise we offer as well as in the amount of customers we serve. As we have moved forward and have grown in many directions, the company has always maintained our founding family values and our commitment to the local community. We work and live by the famous quote by Winston Churchill; "We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give." Sports Unlimited has and continues to support Habitat for Humanity, Livestrong and many local food drives. Over the years we have also supported local schools during hard times, and recently, the company donated sporting equipment to the Carson Valley School and backpacks to underprivileged kids. In the sometimes impersonal world of online shopping, our goal remains to provide you with excellent customer service featuring easy website access to an outstanding variety of quality products. So check us out! Find us on Facebook and Twitter. Read our Blog and speak your mind about new products, sports news and other ramblings. Sign up for our email list and get updates on new gear. Our team of hard working, knowledgeable employees is continuously updating our site for improved usability and increased customer interaction. We We will continue to work tirelessly to give you YOUR Gear for Every Game! That’s our promise to you! We look forward earning your business.- The Sports Unlimited Team


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sports Unlimited, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sports Unlimited, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sports Unlimited, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 11, 2006 Business started: 03/24/1983 in PA Business incorporated 03/24/1983 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald M. Ball, President Mr. Ryan Ball, Customer Service Manager Mr. David Neff, Secretary/Treasurer/Controller Mr. Mike Neff, E-Commerce Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald M. Ball, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Ryan Ball, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Sporting Goods - Retail


Additional Locations

  • 346 Godshall Dr

    Harleysville, PA 19438

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found ******* ROLB1X Baseballs on line for the price of 12 for $3.95 so I ordered 2 packets of them. I got them in the mail and they sent me 2 baseballs not 24 baseballs. I took a screen shot of the advertisement at the time of the order. When I called to them, they had me send the screen shot and said that was a misprint and nothing they can do because the balls are sold separately.

Desired Settlement: Im a Little League coach and would like what I ordered from them. I thought I thought I found a good deal for my team... What 2 balls going to do for me when coaching 12 boys?

Business Response: We are very sorry for this misunderstanding.  This was a 3rd party advertising our products on their website that confused the customer.  We have contacted the advertiser but sometimes we have limited control over their ads.  It is however very clear on the product page on our website which the customer had to visit to purchase that this was only 1 ball.  This is also a very common item with a pretty standard price.  The price that the customer was expecting for 12 baseballs was unreasonable and well below even the best price for this item.  We feel strongly that our website is very clear that this is for 1 ball, not twelve and the price reflects that.  We are sorry for any initial ad that was displayed by a 3rd party that brought the customer to our website.  This wasn't done intentionally as we have limited control over some of these ads.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This is truly a bate and switch.  If I go to a store and a Item is misprinted they must give that item to me for that price.  There all kinds of deal on the Internet that are legit, now how is the consumer supposed to know that this was false advertisement.  Their explanation is a cope out.  I have attache the Screenshot of what was on the Internet, please tell me how I'm supposed to know this is not legit.


Regards,

***** *******







1/13/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for an item on December 10, 2014. The website indicated a 7-10 business day window for processing/preparing for shipment, followed by a 3-5 business day delivery window. I have had to call the company several times to follow up on the status of my order and each time I am told they have to reach out to the manufacturer and then get back to me. I never hear back from anyone. Instead, I have to keep calling to try to get an update. The last time I called, I was told that the manufacturer "needs a part" in order to make my item & was not given any sort of indication as to when my item would be shipped. I am tired of having to call on a daily basis only to get no useful information nor get any sort of follow-up. This is among the worst customer service experiences I have ever had with any company.

Desired Settlement: Either tell me when I can expect my item and actually get it to me on time or refund me my money.

Business Response: We apologize for the lack of full communication here.  We were dealing with lack of communication on our end as well from the supplier of this product.  We do realize this our responsibility as we sold the product and we apologize to the customer for their frustration.  We have refunded the customer in full.  

11/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company offers discounts when you spend so much money. I have met that requirement but the company will not except my discount code that provided to me for a discount. At this time I have lost that amount of the discount from this company I have to keep buying equipment to maybe get a discount in the future.

Desired Settlement: I want my points readjusted, and I want to be able to use them and not lied too with false advertisement saying I can use them.

Business Response: We simply think the customer was putting their coupon code for their earned points in the wrong field at checkout.  We never heard from this customer before they had this complaint.  We immediately tested their earned coupon code and everything worked fine.  We attempted to contact the customer and did not get a response. 

11/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have previously place orders wit Sports Unlimited. Without my permission they kept my credit card information on file. I called to inquire about purchasing a football helmet and face mask. I was told that my order would be put on hold and they would call me the following day to determine if I wanted to complete the purchase. That phone call never came. I started receiving emails that I had made multiple purchases from Sports Unlimited and my credit card had been charged. I contacted them and spoke to a woman named Iris. She admitted that the item had been charged without my authorization and proceeded to stop the purchase. She came back and told me that because the had done what they had done they would like to offer me 15% off a future purchase. I told her that was not to my satisfaction and she asked me what would make me happy. I told her as I all ready had 15% off the purchase was she offering me an additional 15% and she said no she couldn't do that, so in reality she was offering me nothing. She then transferred me to her manager, Jason I believe, who admitted once again that they did not have authorization to charge my card and that he would not do anything further for me except to remove the credit card information, which I never authorized them to keep, from their files. I asked to speak to someone in the executive office and they he told me that he was second in command to the owner. He offered me some gloves on top of my purchase and I told him that I did not need gloves but instead would prefer the facemask I ordered with the helmet free or the original 30% (15% plus the additional 15% I was offered. Good football gloves are $60 to $70 dollars and the facemask was $59. At the end of the day all I got was a run around and a bunch of excuses for why they had my information stored and why they processed orders that I did not place. I am very unhappy.

Desired Settlement: I think that two things need to happen here. Firstly, no customer information should be stored without the consent of the consumer. I was shocked that my American Express card with no limit was sitting in someone's data base where anyone could have potentially accessed it. Secondly, to offer a resolution that I find acceptable for making such an egregious mistake. They seem to think it was a small issue, to me it was a huge breech of my credit card information and that I was exploited my having purchases made and charged to my credit card without my knowledge or consent.

Business Response: To Whom This May Concern:


We at Sports Unlimited take our customers privacy and concerns seriously. We understand the frustration that *** ******* felt. He placed an order the night before and asked us to place it on hold. We usually do not do this to actually prevent situations like this. However, he ordered from us in the past and wanted to make sure the item was available for him when he called back. Unfortunately, the hold tab was not selected and the order was accidentally processed. We tried to rectify the situation by going into the warehouse and pulling the package off the truck, refunding him immediately, apologizing, offering a discount on a future order while explaining the ordering process. Once a customer orders from us their credit card information is encrypted and can not be seen. However, if a returning customer would like to place a new order they are able to use their previous card. This is intended to make the customer's ordering process easier and faster. This also allows us to fulfill orders which might be on back order. 

In addition we value and respect all our customers opinions. Once we are aware of any mistakes we take immediate actions to rectify and try vigorously to make the customer happy, as we did in this case. 

9/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a basketball hoop (******** ***** 60" Acrylic Portable Basketball Hoop) through www.sportsunlimitedinc.com on Aug 18, 2014 and their website says shipping in 3-5 business days. Got order confirmed by email said expected ship date is Aug 19. But nothing happened after that, I called them and asked my order status on Aug 27 so I was told on the phone they will contact the manufactory and will give me a call back once they figured this out. But no call back at all. I called again on Aug 28, the service lady said she saw my order just shipped out today ( Aug 28). Obviously they missed this order, they shipped until got my phone call remember there is no promised callback. Delivery company contacted me on Aug 29 but they can only deliver it after labor day so Sep 2nd. I got it on Sep 2nd so two weeks already. I spent several hours assembling it yesterday (Sep 3) but found there is missing some parts ( 1 x foam pad and 4 x steel spacer). Called Sports unlimited again right away, they said they will contact the manufactory and let their supervisor know the late delivery and missing parts, again they will call me back. Today, Sep 4, no call back as expected. I called them at 2pm and they put me on hold for 5 minutes said their supervisor is not available. They will take care of the missing parts and will give me a call back in 2 hours. I am still waiting to see whether they will call me or not. So I have to leave the basketball hoop like a piece of junk in my front yard for several days, maybe get the parts next week(?), so totally 3 weeks or maybe more to have the basketball hoop I ordered. Their service has been irresponsible. I am saying two complaints here, (1) slow delivery until called and (2) defective product. P.S. There are cases online re the missing foam pad and spacers which can cause the glass backboard shattered and it is very dangerous. So I must have both parts before I can set it up.

Business Response: We have been in contact with the customer and have resolved his issue to his satisfaction.  He thought that he was missing parts but that was not the case.  The customer emailed this to us today:

Jason,
I got you message and the work is done. I take the product defect complaint back because it is user manual issue of ******** not yours.
Sorry for the late response and thanks for supporting me,
Thanks,

****

10/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I ordered a football helmet from sportsunlimited inc. I had chosen the USPS international priority mail. Nowhere did this option say that it did not inclue duties and taxes. To my suprise when I received my product I had to pay duties and taxes. There was a 10 dollar difference between the shipping option I chose and the next level of shipping. If I would have known which one didn't and did cover duties and taxes I would have chosen the $10 difference one instead of payin $40 for duties and taxes.

Desired Settlement: I would like the duties and taxes refunded to me.

Business Response: ******,

 
Thank you for the information regarding this customer complaint.  We do have shipping methods to Canada that include duties and taxes, as well as a couple of cheaper methods that do not, in an effort to offer lower rates up front to customers.  It is a newer service for us, and we understand that the wording on the site might have been confusing or seemingly misleading, so in this case we will refund the requested amount to the customer.  We are currently working to improve the way these shipping methods appear on our site in order to avoid similar situations in the future.
 
We have issues a refund of $39.49 to the customers ****** account that was used for the original purchase.  Please contact us if you have any further questions or concerns regarding this issue and we will do what we can to help the customer.
 
Thanks,
*******
 
Customer Service Manager
Sports Unlimited

8/24/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 2nd I placed an order to Sports Unlimited Inc for a total of $103.80. Which has been deducted from my credit card balance. This order included 1 Field Hockey Stick, 1 Field Hockey Goggles, 1 Field Hockey Ball, 2 Mouth Guards, Pair of Cleats, and Pair of Shin Guard Socks. That it should come in 7-10 business days. Everything in my order except the stick was shipped out on August 5th. The 6 items shipped are expected to arrive tomorrow. It said that expected ship date for the stick was to be on August 16th. So I emailed them and asked why the stick was going to take longer then the rest of the stuff. I got a email saying that the stick was out of stock and discontinued. However there was a certain model of one stick and another model in three colors available, at no extra cost as the one I originally ordered. I asked when the stick could be sent out. I received a response today that they can send it out today, but are unable to process my credit card for the stick. My account has already been deducted a $103.80 for all the equipment and everything, including the cost of a stick. Why would you recharge me for a stick I was already charged for. I have all the emails between us.

Desired Settlement: Should not have to pay additional money. I just want the stick and everything that I have ordered for my daughter to play Field Hockey. She starts school at the end of the month and need the gear before then. I thought this was a good company and had some great deals, but now I am really frustrated with this company. My 11 yr old daughter is real upset, don't know if going to get the stuff in time or at all.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,


This customers original order was placed on our website on 8/2/2013 (ref # *******, order # ******), and there was a pending/approval charge placed on her card for the full amount of the order, $103.80.  The Field Hockey Stick ordered was out of stock, and we were not going to receive more into stock, so we charged her for the remainder of the order ($89.81) and shipped the available items.  As of 8/6/2013, the pending/approval charge on the customers card had not yet dropped down to show the actual amount of the charge, so the customer was still seeing it as $103.80. Since we did not have the stick she original ordered, we offered her a deep discount on a replacement item to have it shipped out ASAP, and let her know that we did not charge her initially for the stick that was out of stock (total $13.99).  That is the point at which this claim was filed.  
At this time, the pending amount has dropped off in the customers account, showing the charge of $89.91 on 8/5, and $13.99 on 8/8, and the customer has received her replacement item (per UPS # ****************** on 8/9).  I have been in direct contact with her,  and explained the pending/approval charge process with her, advising her to contact her bank/credit card company directly if the charge were not dropping to the actual amount captured.  We understand her frustration with the pending charge, and our out of stock situation, but we provided her a generous discount and a quick shipment of an upgraded substitute item.
Please let me know if any further action is needed.

Thanks,
******* *********
Customer Service Manager
Sports Unlimited


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sports Unlimited, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)