BBB Accredited Business since

Fairfax Cryobank

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 338-8407 View Additional Phone Numbers 3015 Williams Dr Ste 110, Fairfax, VA 22031 http://www.fairfaxcryobank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fairfax Cryobank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fairfax Cryobank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fairfax Cryobank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 15, 2003 Business started: 07/16/1984 in VA Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 07/16/1984 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-Federal
10903 New Hampshire Ave, Silver Spring MD 20993
http://www.fda.gov
Phone Number: 888-463-6332
The number is FDA 00191/2.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Wise, President & CEO Ms. Cheryl Daubenberger, Director of Client Services Ms. Amy Erickson Hagen, Compliance Officer Dr. Michelle Ottey, Director of Operations Mr. Stephen H. Pool, Director Mr. Sean Swindell, CFO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Cheryl Daubenberger, Director of Client Services
Principal: Mr. David Wise, President & CEO
Business Category

Sperm Banks Cryogenics Laboratories - Medical

Alternate Business Names
Cryogenic Laboratories, Inc Genetics & IVF Institute

Additional Locations

  • 3015 Williams Dr Ste 110

    Fairfax, VA 22031

  • 3401 Market St
    Ste 205

    Philadelphia, PA 19104

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1944 Lexington Ave N

    Saint Paul, MN 55113

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1944 Lexington Ave N

    Saint Paul, MN 55113

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4201 Marathon Blvd # 303

    Austin, TX 78756

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently called to cancel my service contract with the company, at which point I was informed that I had a past due balance of several months. When asked about it they said the card they had on file had expired. They had tried sending letters about it but didn't have an up to date address. When asked why they did not call to inform me about this they said that they don't have time to call every person about issues. Last year when there was billing issues, I promptly received a phone to call to fix the issue so I would not fall behind. I informed them of this and they said that they can't call everyone. I did not know that I was behind on this as the payments are auto drafted and they refuse to send monthly bills or statements showing balances (I have asked for this previously). I would have picked up on this sooner, but I had twins in February and have not had time to scrutinize my accounts as I usually do. I was counting on the billing that had been setup to work properly or to be promptly notified if an error had occurred. If I had received a monthly statement or bill I would have promptly paid the balance owing or even received a phone call (which they had previously done) notifying me of the issue. At this point I know have to come up with several months of past due payments or the account will be sent to collections, as it is already over 60 days past due, all because they refused to pick up a phone and notify me there was an issue or send regular billing statements. Consumers should not be harmed due to a companies poor billing practices.

Desired Settlement: Bring the account current and close the account as desired (a notarized close order has already been faxed to them).

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

I have evaluated the information regarding the complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau by ***** ******** on 4/10/15 10:47:20 AM; ID ********.

I personally spoke with *** ******** and I feel that it is important to clarify our standpoint on this complaint as well as clarify some misinformation that was provided in the "Customer's Statement of the Problem." 

*** ******** called just a couple of hours prior to the receipt of this complaint to request a form to close his account. While reviewing *** ********' account and sending him the requested form, I noticed that he had an outstanding balance of $120.00 for unpaid storage fees, from February, March and April of 2015. At that time, I felt that it was important to make him aware that his account had an outstanding balance of $120.00 and that this would need to be paid off to close his account and offered to assist him with this. *** ******** immediately became very upset that he had an outstanding balance on his account and demanded to know how that could have happened, as he had a credit card on file for monthly billing. I explained that on February 6, 2015 I saw a note on file that his CC declined when attempting to bill for storage that month. Due to the card declining, we immediately mailed a notification to the address on file that his card declined and asked for updated billing information for his account. We received no response or returned mail. Again on March 10, 2015 the billing team mailed another letter regarding the credit card declining and the $80 now due for storage. Then on March 11, 2015, I personally received his returned (undelivered) mail to the address we had on file, which prompted me to perform an online search for a valid mailing address. I found a new address and immediately mailed the February 6, 2015 letter back out, to the new mailing address that *** ******** confirmed as his new mailing address with me on the phone this day.  The letter that was forwarded to him new address was never returned undelivered, so it seems as though it must have reached *** ********.

Additionally, we do offer monthly billing with statement so I'm unsure who told him that we were unable to bill him monthly, but that is an option through our company. I also explained that in the original storage agreement (Paragraph 5, Page 4) that *** ******** signed on November 24, 2008 before banking his semen samples with us, "Cryogenic Laboratories, Inc. will send via U.S. Mail, written notice of non-payment from Cryogenic Laboratories, Inc. to Client at his latest address on file at Cryogenic Laboratories, Inc." Our billing was not faulty; it was not billing him monthly, because his credit card declined when we attempted to bill him. Since I heard the frustration in *** ********' voice, I told him that I would be more than happy to write off April's $40 storage fee, but he would still need to pay the $80 balance for February and March, to which he replied that he refused to make payment for the services we rendered. I further explained that when accounts are left unpaid, again, according to his storage agreement, he could be sent to collections and I did not want that to happen. He promptly thanked me for offering to waive April's storage fee, which had posted to his account a week prior to his call and hung up the phone without any further dissatisfaction from my offer to waive the most recent charge.

Please know that we are not trying to harm *** ******** and we never refused him monthly billing of his account, we simply followed the terms set forth in his agreement (Paragraph 5, Page 4), which includes the statement “It is imperative that you notify Cryogenic Laboratories, Inc. of any change in address and extended absences or sabbaticals," which clearly did not happen. We complied with the terms and are simply asking that *** ******** upholds his signed agreement as well.

 

Sincerely,

Cheryl D***********

Director of Client Services

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: One instance, years prior, my card was cancelled due to identity theft. As soon as the card was declined, the company promptly called me to inform me that the payment was rejected and asked for another payment method. When I spoke with the company this past time, they informed me that they have too many customers to call every one and inform them of payment issues. This is an unacceptable response. If you do not have sufficient staff to handle the billing of your company then you need to increase you staff levels. Insufficient staff is not an excuse.


Regards,

***** ********








Business Response: *** ******,


We are terribly sorry to hear that *** ******** has not only rejected our offer, which is above and beyond the terms of the contract  he signed at the time he opened his account, but that he also did not allow us the opportunity to discuss this further on the phone with him when we initially spoke. 

Since our initial response last week, we received and have processed the destruction as *** ******** has requested and in order to provide the superior service that our clients have come to expect and we strive to provide at all time, we have removed the past three months storage fees that were previously posted to his account.

Regardless, we do appreciate the feedback and have already modified protocols so that this type of situation does not happen again. 

Best, 
Cheryl D***********
Director of Client Services

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ********

7/16/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered ***** on friday and the ONLY option i was given was for it to be deliver on 6/25/13 by 7am. I have the paperwork stating it would be deliverd by 7am for $545! They now contacted me for another $100 to get it there by 7am! This is false paperwork stating it would be there by 7am. What I have says I agreed to pay $545 for service by 7am which is what I agreed to.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded my $100 I just paid since the proof I have says $545 for delivery by 7am.

Business Response:

Dear **. ******, 

I have evaluated the information regarding the complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau by ****** ****** 06/24/13 3:24:05 PM.

I also reviewed this patients complaint and am unsure where **. ******* saw that her order would be delivered by 7AM?  I have thoroughly reviewed all signed documents from **. ******, as well as reviewing the online ordering process and the only information I found was a statement online, during the checkout process that stated "ALL ORDERS ARE SHIPPED AT 7AM DAILY." 

I attempted to contact **. ****** personally on Friday, July 5th, as I wanted to personally touch base and apologize for her experience and interaction with this most recent purchase.  I also wanted to confirm that we have already processed the refund of $100 for the rush fee she was charged for this shipment.  It is important to mention that it can take betweemn 5-10 business days for this to post back to her credit card statement.  I have also personally spoken with the Client Service Representative that she spoke with, as this call should have been "bumped up," to a supervisor since she was not satisfied with her experience.  We strive to provide WOW! customer service at all times and regretfully failed to do so with **. ******.

Since it seems as though there was some confusion while **. ****** placed her online order and we would like to fix this confusion for all of our patinets, going forward.  I am hopeful that **. ****** will give me the opportunity to speak with her directly, so that I am able to correct this confusion and potentially retain her as a client.  If she would allow me the opportunity, I ask that she contact me directly, at ###-###-####.

Best,

****** ************

Director of Client Services

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I haven't seen the $100 credited yet.
I don't want to speak to anyone on the phone.

 

Regards,

****** ******








Business Response:

**. ******,

Thank you for following up.  As I mentioned in my original response, a refund of $100 has already been processed and it can take between 5-10 business days for this credit to post back to the clients credit card statement.  I hope that this satisfies this complaint and if I should be of any additional assistance, please do not hesitate to let me know.

Best,

****** ************

Director of Client Services

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fairfax Cryobank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)