BBB Accredited Business since

ASG Security

Find a Location

Phone: (301) 623-4000 View Additional Phone Numbers 12301 Kiln Ct, Beltsville, MD 20705 http://asgsecurity.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Home intrusion security systems with cloud-based and local storage capabilities with remote video viewing
Home energy management systems (smart home technology) 
Whole home fire monitoring services
Commercial intrusion security systems with local and cloud-based storage capabilities, with remote video viewing 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ASG Security meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Alarm Security Group (ASG)  at its headquarters and all its company-owned locations throughout the United States is a BBB Accredited Business. This means they support BBB's services to the public and meet BBB Accreditation standards everywhere they do business. A BBB Accredited Business since November, 2011.  This Company is BBB accredited at all of its locations throughout the United States.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ASG Security include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 86 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

86 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 36 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 14
Billing/Collection Issues 18
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 53
Total Closed Complaints 86

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on ASG Security
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 03, 2002 Business started: 06/01/2002 in DE Business started locally: 06/01/2002 Business incorporated 06/01/2002 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. William E Rose III, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William E Rose III, COO
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Surveillance Equipment, Sales & Service Access Control Systems Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems

Alternate Business Names
Alarm Security Group, LLC
Additional Information

This Company is BBB accredited at all of its locations throughout the United States.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2014 Delivery Issues
10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I OWN A BUSINESS AND HACE BEEN HAVING THIER SECURITY FOR 11 YEARS THREE YEARS AGO WE WENT WITH CAMERAS ON A THREE YEAR CONTRACT.2013 WE BUILT A NEW BUSINESS AND WANTED CAMERAS OUT BUT THEY SAID WE HAD TO KEEP TILL CONTRACT RAN OUT. SO IN JUNE CONTRACT RAN OUT AND THEY ARE SAYING I SIGNED A CONTRACT FOR 5 YEARS WHICH I DID NOT ONLY THING I SIGNED WAS TO MOVE FROM ON BUILDING TO NEW BUILDING. WHICH I DID NOT GET A COPY.SO THEY MUST HAVE PUT WHAT I SIGNED TO A NEW CONTRACT.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) NEED TO SAY THAT I DID NOT SIGN A CONTRACT

Business Response: I called customer and advised that since the equipment was pulled that we were not going to hold to balance of agreement.  The account has been cancelled and good standing and nothing is owed further.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It all started when our hot water heater flooded our laundry room on May 28, 2014. Our digital ASG alarm panel was damaged and our alarm shorted out. Because of the short in the system, our alarm was going off non-stop. We called ASG that day to explain to them the situation and schedule a service technician to come to our house. What followed is 6 long weeks of calling ASG, scheduling technicians to come to the house, waiting around during my five hour windows, calling ASG to put our system on "test mode," a number of false alarms, and more calls to ASG service. We have had ASG technicians out 6-7 times in the last 6 weeks. At least 4 of these times, the technician had NO idea what the previous technician's assessment was and was there to "diagnose" the problem. Each technician would leave saying the next technician will replace the digital panel. The next technician would show up and have no knowledge of what the previous technician "diagnosed." We knew after the second technician came to our house, we needed to replace the digital panel and it took 4 (yes, 4 more technicians) to come to our house before the panel was finally replaced. Last week and $260 later, we finally had a new digital panel installed. I was relieved and sure we could put this whole thing behind us... And 30 minutes later I went into my bedroom to find that the other ASG digital panel in our house is "not communicating with our alarm system" and another 6 house "low battery" alerts. When I called ASG service back again after our technician left, they scheduled another appointment for today (7/3) between 1-5pm. I have spoken with the service manager at least 3 times at this point and he assured me that things would be taken care of today. Today, the ASG technician showed up at 11:45am (1 hour and 15 minutes before the window of time they provided me), knocked on the door and left (with no plans to return and only a note to say they had been by). The technician came at an unscheduled time, didn't call and then tried to say that I was not home during the scheduled service time. I have called service manager again and have no word of when the service technician will return.

Desired Settlement: I would like my system repaired immediately. I would like to compensated for my wasted time and unlimited frustration in dealing with this. At this point my service problems remain unresolved. My alarm has been inoperable for at least 5 weeks with no security monitoring of my home - and while my system is now operable, I have no idea how many more visits it will take to replace/resolve the issue with the other panel. My husband and I have been loyal customers of ASG for 5+ years and this is unacceptable customer service.

Business Response: Our Local houston office has contacted *** ****.  the system was replaced on friday and the glass break fixed yesterday.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ****

7/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I wanted to upgrade our home security system with a new system from ASG. Two sales representatives visited our home and made many promises that were quickly broken as soon as the technician came to install their system.He had already disconnected our present system in order to install the new one, but had not installed it yet. When my wife began to ask questions about equipment that had been promised to both of us at no charge by the salesman, the technician told her that we would indeed be charged for those items. When she became upset, he contacted one of the salesmen who visited our home, who proceeded to speak to my wife in a condescending, scolding tone,telling her that she was "taking money out of his pocket" and that the way she wanted the system installed wasn't possible, when he had sat in my living room the previous week and assured us that it was. She called me at work crying and I told her to not allow installation. Later, the salesman (Francisco G*****'s) supervisor,Dave, called offering items at no charge, but my wife was so shaken and we were both so angry at their bait and switch tactics that we told them that we needed a couple of days to think it over. Today, July 7th, Dave called my wife again and asked her if we were going to go with them or not. When she said no and that I wanted a refund, he hung up on her with no explanation of how long it would take for us to be refunded or anything. This was very upsetting to my wife again, and since she is disabled, I do not take kindly to people being rude to her and making her cry. I also do not take kindly to being lied to.

Desired Settlement: I want the full amount of $771.17 refunded to my credit card as soon as possible.

Business Response:

Our local sales manager reached out to ***. ********* and advised that refund was being processed.

7/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We started having technical issues with our ASG security system over 6 months ago. We tried troubleshooting the problems and were unable to identify the issues to resolve the problems. Thus, we contacted ASG, spoke to a ***, regarding the possibility of receiving technical support. We were advised that they no loner carried that particular make, model, etc of keycard access and no one at their office was familiar. They stated that they would send someone over. The person never showed and when we called back to speak to someone to complain, we were advised that the person was a sales rep. We asked why we were being sent a sales rep and if he/she was going to be able to solve technical issues. The CSR responded no and stated that they were coming out to sell us another unit. We shared our disappointment and explained that we just needed technical support. They set-up two technical calls with us, which came and went without us receiving the call. When we called back to share our concerns, they apologized for the problems and offered to send a technician out to our facility. We asked if there was going to be a charge and they stated no due to the amount of problems that we have had with getting the appointment scheduled, etc.The technician never showed when originally scheduled and once rescheduled again was sent out after the time we discussed that the facility would be closed and we would no longer be available. However, to be respectful we stopped out to speak personally with the representative but had our 2 year old son with us (due to lack of child care; another reason why we couldn't schedule during that time). We were given an apology and told that we would be given the opportunity to reschedule and ASG would again be in contact. We did not hear from them and decided to follow-up. During the follow-up call we rescheduled and asked one last time about a charge. They stated that we would not be charged and even during the visit of the technician, we again asked if there was going to be a charge and we were told no that there was no charge. He even wrote notes on the receipt to verify that the "billing was to be handled through the ********* office" and we were not to be billed. This was ****. I specifically asked him if they would know and understand that we were not to be charged and he indicated yes, absolutely that the ********* office would handle the bill themselves with corporate. Two weeks later we received a bill and have called to speak with them twice and follow-up via email several times. We are always trying to "catch" them and do not receive any type of correspondence from them willingly.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have the billing adjusted and no bill be due to their company for the service, as it was indicated to us on several occasions prior to the service being rendered. If we would have been told that we were going to be charged and the amount, it would have enabled us to decide if we wanted to have the service or to continue trouble shooting on our own.

Business Response:

Our local ********* branch has already been in contact with the customer and advised the customer tha the invoice has been written off.

The customer owes us nothing further and their account balance is $0.00.

7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Earlier this year we expanded our office by adding the unit next to us. Our business manager called ASG to have them come out and add coverage for that space. They had her sign a new contract, which was fine. Last month our business manager left the company and I reached out to ASG to take her name off the account. They informed me the only way to do that was to sign a new contract. I have no problem resigning the contract, but the rep ********* ******** told me that they would not honor the end date of the contract she signed. To clarify I've always been the only owner of this business. My business manager of 6 years signed a contract to add additional space to our already existing relationship with ASG. The contract was for an additional 3 years. No complaint with that. But to remove an old employee off the account they are telling me that I have to sign for an additional 3 years. That they cannot honor the end date of the contract from early this year. I'm not asking for any changes to the contract other than removing an old employee. Not a huge deal but I'd also like to point out that the contract price from 2/18/14 was for $35.95 a month. The new contract has my business name misspelled and is for 36.95. I feel like I'm being pushed to sign another deal just to give someone a commission.

Desired Settlement: My old employee's name needs to be removed from my account. I'll be happy to resign our contract but the terms need to stay the same. Those terms are: company name is *** ******** ***, the amount is 35.95 per month, the contract end date is 2/18/17.

Business Response: called and eft message for the cusomer advising he would not need to sign a new agreement.  I've adjusted his rate the $1.00 to 35.95 a month.  He has my direct dial with any further questions.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I appreciate the fact that I don't have to sign the new agreement and the price has been adjusted, but my complaint is that ******* *********** an old employee is still on the account. I need her removed and my name put on the account.

Regards,

*** *****








Business Response: customer was contacted and we have agreed to mail out a new agreement mirroring the existing terms and price.  it was sent out on 7/2/14

Consumer Response: **** and ****** have taken great care of me. Thank you so much for helping! The issue has been resolved.

7/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started ASG Security Services on 9/26/2012 **. ****** ******* briefed me on the equipment and cost plus contract. I made it clear I did not want to get into a long binding contract. He said he understood and crossed out statement on contract paragraph 2A line 6. Second week in January 2014 I called the toll free number 1-866-705-4ASG and asked a question about how much the equipment costs, she did not know. I then called **. ******* on or about 1/ 20/2014 and he did not know neither the price on the equipment plus he said I needed to call the office to check on the contract. I called main office on 1/21/2014 and anorther customer person answered the phone. I asked the same questions and she did not know either! She said I needed to speak to the contract office. After all these phone calls I have yet to get an answer as to how much the equipment costs so when I decide to sell my house. I do not want to wait until I decide to sell to find out I am stuck with this equipment. I am concerned I will end up with the equipment and the new home buyers will not want to buythe equipment. I never signed up for a three year contract knowinly when doing face to face business with **. *******. **. ******* crossed out and initialed the statement where it states I am not bound to the three year contract.

Desired Settlement: I want to terminate contract due to the fact I was falsely informed. I do not agree to the business practice that was used to bait the business. I do not want the equipment and do not want to get penalized should I decide to sell the house.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the customer's account and the customer's agreement.  The customer purchased a 2 GIG alarm system in September 2012 with $0 down.  Whenever a customer pays $0 down on the agreement, the cost of the system is generally figured into monthly cost over a 3 year period.  If a new system is purchased, we would not customarily enter a monthly agreemnt with the customer.  I did find though, that the automatic renewal terms have been crossed out.  Which means that at the end of the 3 years, the customer is on a month to month term.

If the customer finds that they need to cancel prior to the end of the 3 years, they have 3 options.  First, to transfer services to a new location (either their's or a family member/friend), thereby cancelling out any balance on the old; secondly, if the new owners sign up, this would cancel out the remaining balance as well.  If neither option is available, then we normally offer to settle on the remaining balance, usually with a 50-60% buyout. 

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I will agree with the stipulations I get to keep the equipment.

Since I have had the service for two years and will be paying 300.00 to close/cancel this account.

Please advise on business response.


Regards,

******** ****








Business Response: yes you would keep the equipment

6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called ASG to install security cameras. The sales rep did not tell me that my credit card would be charged prior to installation. When the worker came to install the camera's- they were the wrong cameras. I decided not to get the camera's installed and asked the company for a refund. After getting the run around to different departments, I finally got the number of someone in billing- ****** *****-. I've called her several times to get my credit card refunded since the original sales rep did not tell the company that I wanted to cancel the order. I've left messages that have not been returned. I spoke with her one time and she assured me that the credit was being processed. That was last week and still no pending payments on my credit card

Desired Settlement: I would like my credit card refunded as soon as possible.

Business Response: In review of the customer's account, we found that the customer's refund was short by $86.60.  We have began processing the refund and the customer should see it within the next 3-4 business days.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I still have not received the refund and it's been 6 days.


Regards,

*** *****








Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I have been advised by a/r that on June 5th, the $7902 was refunded to your credit card and a check for the $7.58 was mailed to the address on file.

6/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed up with ASG for the installation of an alarm system at our house. On March 6th we prepaid them 934.92 for the equipment needed to do the job. The tech came on March 17th and installed the system. We needed another key pad and door transmitter to complete the job. We paid an additional 287.98 which they cashed on 3/21 for those items. The tech returned on March 26th but was unable to install the key pad due to faulty wiring, so he just installed the door transmitter and said we would get our money back for the keypad and kit to install it. We have called ASG numerous times, first they said we had to wait for the billing cycle. Now I was told ***** ******** was looking into our claim and to leave a voice mail and he would get back to us. We have gotten no return phone calls and are getting very upset.

Desired Settlement: All we are asking for is the refund of the money we paid for the keypad and it's installation kit which is listed on our summary as 63.21 and 127.57 for a total of 190.78 plus labor cost. The door transmitter that was installed that day was 39.51 plus 10 min labor. Your help is greatly appreciated.

Business Response: Our local office in the ******* office reached out to the customer and spoke with them.  The customer has received their refund per their request.

6/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with *** Security on November 5, 2012 for a three-year period for security of property in ******, Oklahoma. In March 2014, I informed *** Security that I was relocating to ******, Colorado for my work. *** told me I could either transfer the service to the new address, transfer to someone else or cancel my contract. I asked about the cancelation fee and was told it would be $380 (50% of my remaining contract?). Unfortunately, I did not have an extra $380 to spend on this alarm contract, so I decided to look for a home in ****** that featured a security system. In April I found a home in ****** that had an alarm system, so I contacted *** about transferring my contract and they informed me they do not offer service in ******. The person I spoke with at *** said I should be able to cancel my contract without any fees due to they can no longer provide me service. I was transferred to their customer service (ASG) and was told they would reduce the cancellation fee to $200 since they can no longer provide service. I told ASG I was told by *** (*******) that I would not have to pay a fee and the lady said I was wrong. I informed *** of what ASG said and *** told me there is nothing they can do, because ASG handles contracts. I did not cancel my contract, because I decided to look for someone who could pick up the contract in Oklahoma. On May 6th, my father contacted *** about picking up the remaining contract due to his contract ending soon. *** informed him that my contract was cancelled last month and I was billed $200. I never gave permission to cancel the contract nor did I agree to pay $200. I immediately called *** to find out who cancelled my contract without my permission. *** (******) informed me I needed to speak with ASG, because they no longer handle the contracts. ASG informed me my contract was sold from *** to ASG. I was never notified by phone, mail or email that my contract was sold and I was no longer a *** customer. I was told that I could only transfer to a business or new owner of the house because I had a commercial agreement. The owner of this house is a *** company, so I cannot transfer to them due to my contract being sold. The contract clearly states "RESIDENTIAL AGREEMENT" at the top of the contract and does not say that I cannot transfer to non-businesses or past/current customers of ***. The contract only states on item 14 that I must have written consent to transfer. The contract does not limit who I may transfer the contract to. Every time I speak with ***/ASG customer service I am given a different option to get out of my contract. When I call back to elect that option, after I find a home or transfer, they change their "policies" and I am no longer allowed to cancel my contract. I have been trying to resolve this issue since March and have been getting nowhere. I have spent hours on the phone with ASG and have tried everything possible to transfer this contract, but I am always told that it is not an option even though *** suggest it. I have no idea why the company continues to lie to me and treat me inferior. For months I have been given the run around and multiple stories on my contract.

Desired Settlement: All I want is to end my contract without a penalty since ASG cannot provide me service nor allow me to transfer. An apology would also help.

Business Response: I have reviewed the account and supporting documentation including our conversations wth the customer.  I have agreed to release the customer from any remaning balance, and I apologize for the confusion.  The account will be cancelled in good standing and the customer owes us nothing further.

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2012 I had my ASG Security system upgraded. The sales rep made no mention that I had to agree to a long term contract and did not say that my monthly rate could be changed at any time by ASG. In February, my monthly rate went up by almost 12%. When I tried to find out why, I was told that there costs had gone up and that they had made a general increase. As I investigated more, I found out that the small print in the agreement said that I was committed for 3 years, and that there was an automatic 2 year extension if I did not cancel service before the end of the three year term. It is very clear that the intent of this agreement is to lock customers into contracts that can increase dramatically in cost which are very difficult to cancel. The salesman pushed hard to make sure that I did not read the fine print, and the fine print is so small that I can barely make it out with my glasses on.

Desired Settlement: I have been a satisfied ASG customer for a long time, so I was very surprised by this "new unethical" way of doing business. The way this contract is written (important clauses hidden in much verbiage with very small type) and the way the sales person pushes the sale with no mention of the length of the contract are reprehensible. Clearly, if this is the companies intent, it is not a company that I want to do business with. I would like to either have my contract cancelled now, or I would like my rate locked in for the three year term and have my contract cancelled at the end of the term.

Business Response:    I spoke to pat today and addresses his concerns.  We have lowered his rate to $2 for the remaining term of his agreement at which time will renew on a monthly basis.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


My complaint against ASG has been satisfactorily resolved. 



Regards,

*** ********

4/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have canceled my contract with ASG security and made a settlement agreement with a manager but no one will provide me with written documentation of this agreement for my records. I do not want this company coming at me later for the payoff balance of $1300 when a settlement was made for $600. The only thing the rep told me was that they have it documented in their system.

Desired Settlement: A settlement agreement in writing so I will have valid proof we agreed to settle the account and I am voluntarily terminating my contract.

Business Response: I appreciate the customer bringing this to our attention.   I have sent the customer email correspondence advising them that the settlement offer is for $600 and once paid, we will close the account out in good standing and they will owe us nothing further.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ****

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today, April 24, 2014, I called the ###-###-#### number listed on an alleged bill collection letter sent from ASG Security. The Account number is #*******. The bill was for $288. This bill is in regards to a home address **** ****** *** *** *******, LA *****. I was calling about the $288 they said I owe them. I inform them, that when it was still *** *****, the account was closed last year. I told the lady that the form to close was mail out a long time ago. I do not know how *** ***** handles their cancellation of the contract. I was never contacted by *** ***** for any bills. So, to my knowledge up until I received this alleged bill, the account was closed. The representative (young lady who wouldn't give me her number), said that in her records, ASG Security bought back *** *****, and there was no file on record. ASG Security called me back in November of 2013. I spoke to a customer service representative and told them that the contract was already cancelled. The customer representative then was asking me to forward their services to any new Homeowner. I said, if the new homeowner is interested, then I'll let them know. ASG Security was trying to solicit me to sell their services to next homeowner. The house has not have anyone residing there since April 2013. The home, **** ****** was under renovations, to be sold. Even during inspection of the house, with the real estate agent, ****** ******, my husband, ****** ******, and my brother, ******* ***, the alarm system was not even ACTIVE. The customer representative today said they will reduce it only to the amount of $40 for this month. I told her that it is preposterous to pay a bill to an alarm service that I had been canceled. I told her, I do not know the management issues once its been transferred from *** ***** to ASG Security. The house was officially sold Jan 30, 2014. It doesn't make sense that they even try to "hustle" me $40 and pay for a service (that does not exist) for a home I no longer own. I told the customer representative that it is the principle in the matter. The alarm was cancelled. It was poor handling on the department of Billing/Cancellation on *** *****.

Desired Settlement: My desire outcome is that I do not pay the $40 they reduce it too. I told the representative on the phone that I want only to be relieve of this bill, because, to my knowledge, the account was closed. I have numerous ppl that were involved in the renovations and selling process of the house. They all know the alarm was cancelled. We even tested it out during inspection. I do not feel I owe them $$ when I can't dispute it with the original company, *** *****.

Business Response: Due to the small balance, we have agreed to cancel the account with no balance owed.  The account will be cancelled in good standing and the customer owes us nothing further.

Consumer Response: I thank the company for resolving the issue. I thank the BBB for being a mediator in this matter. 

Yours truly.
***** ***

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ***

4/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few years a go, ASG bought the company that originally installed our system, which we have been using for the last 6 years. Due to our plans to move overseas, I called ASG Security's local office around Christmas--this is the office which handles all our questions/concerns, and was told that I should call the main office in January. We also cancelled the phone line which we were using ASG Security's services through as part of our moving plans. On February 11, 2014, I got a statement from ASG Security and immediately called them. I spoke with ***** ***. She told me to send her a written Cancellation letter explaining the reason for cancellation along with all the details of my account (account number, address, etc.) I sent the following letter the same day. I am writing this letter to request cancellation of service as of 1/1/2014 for the following address and account: Account# ******* Address: XXXX Reason for cancellation: Moving overseas I contacted your local office about our cancellation request back in December and I was advised to call back in January. Since we are getting ready to move, I was busy and did not call back in January. I would appreciate it if you could process my request. Then on the same day I got the following response from ***** ***: "Received, thank you!" which led me to believe that my account was closed. ***** *** never mentioned that there was a balance or further action was needed. A few weeks a go I got a letter from ASG Services offering me a %50 discount for one year service, which I ignored as I didn't need the service. TODAY I GOT A STATEMENT FROM COMMERCIAL AUDITORS CORPORATION DEMANDING $174. I IMMEDIATELY CONTACTED ASG SECURITY AND ASK FOR AN EXPLANATION. IF I OWED ANY MONEY WHY DID THEY NOT CONTACT ME FIRST? GIVING OUR ACCOUNT NUMBER TO A COLLECTION AGENCY WAS UNETHICAL. I SPOKE WITH *** **** (ID#****) and explained the situation. She said she would close my account if I make a payment for the month of January and part of February until the date I sent the letter. I informed her that I would contact BBB for their unethical collection practices. I should have been sent a statement. Instead I just got an offer that if I continue with their services, I would get a 50% discount. I made a payment, not because I believed in the charges but because I wanted no contact with this company. I was not informed by the local office that I needed to provide a written cancellation letter. I never got a statement from ASG Security after **. ***** *** said "Received, thank you!" for my cancellation letter.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the payment I made. As well as I want an apology for their collection practices. Once this is removed I do not want any further contact with this company.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the account and discovered that the account was sent to the agency in error.  We have notified the agency of this error and have advised them that the account should have never been sent to them.

However, there is no record on our end that we were notified in January of the customer moving.  Customer called us in 2/11/14 to advised they moved so we only charged them for the remaining balance which the customer agreed to pay

As a result no refund is due the customer.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This business thinks that by just admitting that my name/account was sent to a collection agency IN ERROR and causing me ALL THE TROUBLE IS OKAY!!! NO, IT IS NOT OKAY. THEY HAVE NO SENSE OF CUSTOMER SERVICE/ETHICS.  This could have affected my credit score, which is extremely important to me. I had to call the agency and the ASG Security in the middle of all my work yesterday to clear up this mess. I NEED A REFUND AND AN APOLOGY. OTHERWISE, I AM NOT LETTING THIS GO.  


This is the message forwarded to me by ASG Security this morning. They do admit that my account should have never been sent to a collection agency. 
***,
 
This account was sent to your in error and should have never been sent to you.  Please remove from your list, and charge us for the trouble.
 
Sincerely,
 
******* ** ******
 
Executive Assistant
ASG Security
12301 Kiln Court Suite A
Beltsville, MD 20705

Additionally, if ********** ******** *********** have already reported this debt to any credit-reporting agency (CRA) or Credit Bureau (CB) then, you must immediately inform them of my dispute with this debt. Reporting information that you know to be inaccurate or failing to report information correctly violates the Fair Credit Reporting Act.


Regards,

***** *****








Business Response: We apologize to the customer for the inconvenience.  As a gesture of our efforts, we will refund the $42 to the customer for his inconvenience. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Thank you very much for your help with this matter. I truly appreciate it. 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  
My account should have never been sent to a collection agency. That was a huge mistake.  I hope this company learns from this lesson and acts more carefully with other customers' accounts.

Regards,

***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Thank you very much for your help with this matter. I truly appreciate it. 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  
My account should have never been sent to a collection agency. That was a huge mistake.  I hope this company learns from this lesson and acts more carefully with other customers' accounts.

Regards,

***** *****

3/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Security system contract was not the same as what was represented verbally by the sales associate. Contract period was longer than discussed. Spoke to a representative who was very nice and personable. However their sales presentation of contract length was misleading. Led to believe that the security contract was renewable on a yearly basis, but the fine print of the contract listed a 3-year term. Due to being distracted by a very talkative salesman the fine print was missed. Upon finding out the terms from a representative over the phone, the only options I was given was to pay a $700 to end the contract early on the security system or to pay a settlement to close the account and deactivate the system. The system is located in an apartment that is owned by a private company where new tenants will be coming in and the alarm system has to deactivated upon my move out and cannot be left active for another 2-years. Having a 3-year contract for an alarm system in an apartment rental property is unrealistic for properties that are leased on an annual basis. The alarm modules are property of the apartment and are pre-existing and cannot be moved or transferred into the home that I am moving to. If the sales associate at the time of my initial contract signing would have been forthright regarding the 3 year term of the contract I would have elected to stop the processes and not gone with the alarm system. Now I am being told that I signed a contract and nothing can be done except for me to pay a substantial amount of money that I don't have and that is 28 times my normal monthly bill and that it has to be paid all at once and immediately in order to deactivate and close the alarm system account. When requesting to speak to a manager because I was dissatisfied, I was basically told the person was one of the managers and since I signed a contract nothing could be done to help me. There was no flexibility or effort to assist me as a customer or hear my complaint. I had to request twice to speak to a higher authority and had to be assertive in order for the phone rep to take me and service issue seriously. I am extremely disappointed by how the situation is being handled and the lack of care and interest to assist and do what is best for the customer.

Desired Settlement: I would like to pay the balance of my account through May 31st (The end of my lease at the location where the alarm system is installed and part of the apartment property) and close my account and deactivate my account. I do not want the remainder of the 2-year period of the lease held against me or reflected in my credit report as "settled for lesser value" which could potentially harm my credit score. I had the account for that location and the neighborhood and due to moving I want it close

Business Response:

Customer has since transferred services to new location (back in May of 2013) - this is a duplicate of a complaint filed with the myrtlebeach bbb that i resolved last week.

I was advised that a new complaint may have been filed as a result of linking the **********, NC to our national account

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Account #******* Your company is suppose to monitor my Security System but they are NOT. My alarm went off on Nov. 5, 2013 and no one from ASG Security called to check or sent anyone out. It went off again on the 9th of November 2013 and again NO Call and no one came. I called the office in ****** Louisiana and they told me that the monitoring person did not come from that office and had a manager call me that 11-9-2013 and I told him I was not paying for a service I was not getting. He told me do not worry about it, he was going to talk to someone to straighten it out. I called and told them to cancel my service because I was not getting any service. The manager never got back with me. So I thought the problem was done with until 01-10-14 when I go another bill. I called the ###-###-#### number and let them know I needed to speak to a manager. No manager has called

Desired Settlement: I want them to cancel my service in their records, on the computer and everywhere else, because in real life their service didn't work. It could have been a dire emergency when the alarm went off and no one answered it. You want payment for service you are not providing. I want you to cancel the bill from Nov. 2013 on since I know it hasn't worked since then. I just want to make a clean break with this company. ****** ******

Business Response: Customer called in on 1/13/14 and advised she has changed companies.  As a result, her service was cancelled.  She owes us nothing futher and the account has been closed in good standing.

2/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a home in October 2006 which already had an alarm system installed. ******* provided monitoring services. There was no contract. In less than a year, mid 2007, I received notification that my account was sold to ASG. I begin to receive bills from ASG. I never signed a contract with ASG. ASG never responded when the alarm went off. The first of November, I notified ASG that I no longer wanted to continue monitoring services with them. I have since received monitoring service invoice for January 2014. When I called to remind them that service was cancelled in November, I was told that my "contract" did not expire until the end of January. I do not have a contract with ASG and should not have to pay beyond November. I paid for November and December because I was told you need 60 days notice. January billing will mean 90 days for my "non contract" with ASG. I should not have to pay this money.

Desired Settlement: I want written confirmation that I am done paying for no service on my non-contract monitoring. I do not want to pay for January since I notified them at the beginning of November to cancel services.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Having reviewed the account, as well as the customer's complaint I have authorized a refund of $30 be given to the customer.  If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact us at ###-###-####.

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The product was advertise to provides wireless and remote capabilities, during the initial consultation on 9/29/13 it was determined that my area was unable to work as advertise wirelessly. Our initial order was cancelled and a request for refund was made on 10/1/13. It is now 10/30/13 and no refund has been received after numerous calls and speaking with ***** the manager and *** in the finance dept. We were provided a UPS tracking # and after starting an investigation to track our refund check with UPS of $235.76 on 10/30/13 the UPS representative informed us that we need to contact the shipper for further details and could not provide us with any other information regarding this matter. This type of service is completely unacceptable and I'm only glad we didn't actually start our security monitoring service with ASG. If this is any indication on how they provide services I shudder to think, that I almost put my family and household belonging safety in this company hands.

Desired Settlement: We want a full refund immediately. It took ASG 2 days to cash our check and it has taken us over a month to get our money back. ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS

Business Response:

AFter learning that UPS had lost the package, we mailed customer another check via USPS.  Attached is confirmation that customer is in receipt of check

11/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: History: Months ago I inadvertently set my alarm off in the middle of the night. I reset the alarm and went back to bed. Hours later a police officer arrived at my door, stated that my alarm was going off (it wasn't) and told me to call the alarm company (ASG Security). The officer told me that the alarm company had called me several times (they had not) and there was no response from me. I called the alarm company and got no response. I went back to bed. The following day I contracted with another alarm company. It was clear to me that ASG Security was not properly monitoring my system - not to mention making false statements to the police to appear as if they (ASG Security) had been actively monitoring my system and knew what was going on. As far as I was concerned, ASG Security breached my contract with them in that they failed to properly monitor the system as they said they would. When I cancelled my contract with ASG Security I was advised that there would be a cancellation fee of $136.00 for the remainder of the time on my contract. I explained that I did not feel that I owed that fee as it was ASG Security who breached the contract. ASG Security would not change their mind. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. After filing my complaint with the Better Business Bureau I was contacted by an upper level manager from ASG Security. This individual, while not admitting ASG Security did anything wrong, advised me to disregard the $136.00 cancellation fee stating that it wasn't worth pursuing. I would have this man's name; however, in good faith I disregarded the $136.00 charge and discarded everything relating to ASG Security as in my mind this issue had been resolved. Fast forward several weeks where I was contacted by ***** **** of Commercial Auditors Corporation, a bill collector. I explained to *** **** the situation, still believing that ASG Security was operating in good faith as well. *** **** stated she would look into the situation. On October 29, 2013, *** **** contacted me again and advised that ASG Security claims that I still owed them $136.00 and demanded payment. I stated in my original complaint to the Better Business Bureau that buyer beware. If you need a security system that requires careful monitoring ASG Security did not provide that service with me. Now, if you have to deal with business issues relating to ASG Security buyer beware. ASG Security does not operate in good faith either. I found while shopping for a new alarm company that there are several available that provide better services. Look somewhere else.

Desired Settlement: That this $136.00 fee be waived IN WRITING and any issues relating to my credit be corrected.

Business Response:

This account was erroneously sent to the agency.  I have contacted them and asked them to remove the account from their list as it was sent in error.

***** doesn't owe the $136 billed.  His account has been closed in good standing and he owes us nothing further.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

10/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had a hard wired, unmonitored alarm system in our home since 1996. We have not had a single problem or false alarm issue in all the years the system has been installed. In April 2013, we decided we wanted to be hooked up to a monitoring service. We called ASG. ASG bought the company that originally installed our system in 1996. A salesman came out to our home in April 2013 to discuss options. He said that we could install a new wireless box, that could use the currently installed hard wired contacts on all our doors and windows. He said there was no need to replace the hard wired contacts. He said that everything was wireless now, and much more reasonably priced that what we had paid in 1996. We agreed to purchase the wireless control panel, 1 wireless door transmitter, 1 super switch for 8 zones and 2 wireless smoke detectors. For a total cost of $440.79. We signed up for monthly monitoring, which included a maintenance agreement. The system was installed on April 16, 2013. On July 9, 2013 we got our 1st false alarm, 1st floor window at 4:27 am, 2nd false alarm August 18, 2013, 1st floor window at 2:11 am, and a 3rd false alarm, 1st floor window, on August 31, 2013 at 2:09 am. We have had service calls on August 20, August 27, August 29 and September 5, 2013 all to diagnose and fix this issue. None of the service calls fixed the false alarm issue. On September 5, 2013 after the last service call, we were told that all of the window contacts and door contacts needed to be replaced, at a cost of $40 each. We have 18 windows and 2 entry doors. The total estimated cost is $800. We contacted the service manager to tell him our displeasure of the $800 additional cost, since we were told just 4 months prior by the salesman that our system was fine. And we never had a problem with the old contacts before the new system was installed. This appears to be a bait and switch scam to me, since we told by the salesman in April that our old system would work fine with the new wireless technology. The service manager apologized for the salesman misleading us, but said ASG would not pay the $800 to correct the problem. And we can not cancel our contract because the contact we signed was for 3 years. We were not told the length of the contract, but it's our fault for not reading before we signed.

Desired Settlement: We want either the system to be fixed for free, since it appears that what ASG installed is faulty, or a total refund of the original installation price of $440.79 and to be let out of the required 3 year monitoring contact. We feel that if a hard wired control panel was replaced for the wireless control panel, this would fix the problem. We never had a false alarm problem before ASG installed their equipment. All that we desire as an outcome, is a alarm system that works as promised, for the amount we agreed upon with a signed contract in April of 2013.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the customer's complaint and, working with the local branch, the sales department has contacted the customer in regards to meeting their needs.  I will continue to monitor until completion.

9/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: - I did not receive what I asked for. - Information about a permit for an alarm system was not disclosed. We received a fine from ****** County. I talked to your company to figure out what could be done to help pay for this is. The complaint was under review. I called multiple times getting the run around. No one has ever responded to me. My billing was increased $5 a month and I was never notified. ASG did not have permission to withdraw and increased amount from my bank. Now to cancel the service it will cost me $275.

Desired Settlement: I just want to cancel my service with no charges.

Business Response:

I reviewed the customers account and there is a note from 2.21.13 by the (then) resi sales manager, advising they had spoken to the customer regarding the alarm permit.  The note stated that the customer had signed a document re: the alarm permit and that the customer had already paid the fine.  In regards to the increase of rate, the contract signed by the customer explains our right to increase the rate,a and the process by which the customer may dispute the increase, should he choose.

Since the customer is cancelling before the term is up, we have agreed to settle with the customer for $275.

9/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For three weeks, I attempted to schedule/reschedule an appointment for door sensor repair. My door sensor would respond late when opening and closing doors. I was actually able to open most doors in my home and walk through my entry way without disabling the alarm. I made and rescheduled 2 appointments with ASG within a timely manner and, on my 3rd attempt, I requested if a technician could come out on a Saturday. An ASG representative said that he would have a technician manager contact me and schedule an appointment. I never received follow up call from ASG. A week later while I was in route to work, I received a call from my children that a man was at my door. I also received a call from the technician that he was at my home to repair the alarm. Unfortunately, as mentioned before, I never received a call to schedule an appointment from ASG. So, the technician arrived at my home unannounced. I returned home and informed the man that I was unaware of the appointment but I did allow the repair to take place. The man was very polite, efficient, and helpful. He attempted to repair the sensors and everything seemed to work when he finished. But the entire system stopped working that evening. At this point I could not even set my alarm. The following morning (9:30am), I contacted ASG concerning my malfunctioning alarm. I was told that a technician would called me in the next 45 minutes. -No call received. 11:45am I contacted ASG concerning my malfunctioning alarm. I was told that a technician should have call me by then and would contact me in the next 45 minutes. -No call received. 1:15pm, I received a call from **** the technician and he said I could override the alarm system, but we both agreed that it still would not work properly since the door sensors do not work. He also told me that he would not be able to fix it unless I pay a $150 after-hour/weekend fee. I immediately contacted the ASG office and informed them that it would be unfair to pay $150 for all of the current inconvenience. The ASG representative contacted the technician manager and agreed to waive the $150 fee. She also informed me that **** would call me immediately. -No call was received. 3:00pm, I contacted ASG again and told the representative to make a notation that I would call on Monday to cancel all services with ASG and I would also file a claim with the Better Business Bureau. The representative was very polite and apologetic. At 3:30pm, I received a call from **** the technician asking for my address. I informed him that I did not need his services anymore and that I called and informed the ASG office. He said, "Yeah, they just called me and asked me to call you so I can come and fix it."

Desired Settlement: Refund my $27.06 check.

Business Response:

The account has been cancelled per the customer's request.  We have agreed to release the customer from the balance of their agreement.  We will mail out the requested refund shortly.

8/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel. The authenticity or validity of a contract is in question. Original contract was signed October 29, 2009 and was for three years. Contract expired October 29, 2012 and from then on I was on a month to month service. During that time the monthly service fee changed from $35.67 to $44.73 and then to $50.10. I was notified April 1, 2012 that the monthly fee was going to be raised to $ 41.32 although it really went to $44.73 and never notified of the $50.10 fee increase. On May 30, 2013 I called customer service, who verified I was not on contract and could cancel anytime. They then transferred me to **** ****** who offered to reduce my monthly fee to $30 per month if I signed another 3 year contract, I told him to send me the contract, I asked about possible fee increases and he stated if it happens to call customer service. I received the contract in the mail and after reviewing it decided not to renew and continued month to month. I was told by **. ****** if I wanted to cancel I just needed to email him my notice of cancelation. I did this on July 12, 2013. On that day I received a series of unprofessional emails from **. ****** ***. On Saturday August 10, 2013 I received a final invoice for $694.00. I called the number on the statement and it went to a voice mail and I have heard nothing back.

Desired Settlement: There is no reason for this final invoice, I fulfilled my contract obligations and no further fees are required. The request for further funds is unethical and unfounded. Once this is removed I do not want any further contact with this company.

Business Response:

Upon review, we find that the invoice was sent to the customer in error.  The customer's account will be cancelled in good standing and they owe us nothing further.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

8/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approximately three weeks ago the alarm in my home was inadvertently set off in the early morning hours. The alarm was immediately reset - which would not require a call from the alarm company or a police response. Well over an hour later the police showed up at the door, stated the alarm was going off (it wasn't), and advised us that the alarm company had called three times with no answer (which it didn't). Obviously the alarm system was not being properly monitored - and when a mistake is made by ASG they lie to the police to cover it up. I changed my security company and ASG had the gall to charge me for early termination of the contract when they were the ones who violated the terms of the contract with no or poor monitoring. BUYER BEWARE. It is a FOOL, in my opinion, for anyone to trust their security or that of their loved ones to ASG. If you need proper monitoring find another company.

Desired Settlement: Cancelation of the fee for cancelling my service with ASG.

Business Response: I called ***** and advised him that due to the small balance of the agreement, we would not pursue.  Customer was grateful.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello: BBB We just bought a House and needed and alarm system, I went and google and found ASG and then I went to the BBB web page and it seem like it had a great review. I called and the seller came to the house, he told me some great thing about the system and I agree to make a contract with them, BUT I told ***** the seller that I wanted to recycle my old sensors and that the 3 sensor that he offer i wanted them one in the window and one in the side garage door and the last one in the actual garage door, ***** said that he was going to come with the seller to explain and that they could make it happen (***** didn't show up) so the technician came and my mother was home because i was at work, and he install only one sensor and replace the rest, i come home to find that they didn't follow the instruction that i gave the seller, and i call ***** and told him, plus the system was not working properly, and he say that the guy would pass thru the house and put the rest later that week and we schedule an appointment, this time i was there and he fix the alarm and put one sensor, he told me and made a call in front of me letting the company know that he needed a special sensor no appointment was made then(was again the seller made a no show after saying he would ). time flys by and i call ***** to see what happen and he says he was suppose to come today did he show up? i said no and he said ill call him, he calls back and say the sensor was not order ill make sure myself that the sensor is order and ill put it myself in the van an appointment was made for a Friday, we call the company and complain and said that we wanted out of the contact and they say we are sorry, we will get you the sensor, we said you got a day, they said we do what we can and we said if not on Monday we want to cancel with no cancelation fee. Monday came and they said we can cancel for free you sign that it was all good (making this complain i notice that the paper explain that a sensor is missing and its call overhead contact). i go to the bank and i find out that the company took the monthly fee is out and the then took 10 dollars more and this another problem there was no money there so i get charge by the bank, that how i know. i get a call from the company asking if i was going to stay or not and i ask them about the ten dollar, she say im going to put steve so he can explain by the seller didn't tell you this before, i say tell him to call me tomorrow after 12 because i work that day. no calls yet and its 1:35pm, the seller didn't even know when the money was going to be taking from my account when i ask him, i don't even get a mail with the notification of when i have to pay...

Desired Settlement: I want to have NOTHING with them, no CONTRACT just a bad memory that will fade with time, i want my old sensors back if they cant do that i want to keep the ones i have with no extra charge, and for them to pay my bank for the fees and the rest of the money that they took without authorization back to my account. they didn't keep there end i don't want to have to pay for that i kept my end, i cant stay with a COMPANY that does not make me feel SAVE.

Business Response: I have reviewed the account and the customer's complaint.  I called the customer and she expressed that she no longer wanted the services.  I explained that in order to release from BOC we would need to pull the equipment and she said that was fine.  I have contacted the local branch office to call customer to set up a service call to remove the system.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******

p.s. I talked to **. **** that was the name he gave me and said that i can cancel with no cancellations fees if i agree to let them take the equipment. And i agree. thank you for your help in resolving this matter. 

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2002, we had a security system installed and monitored by ****; the company has recently "merged" with ASG Security. Our house, located at ***** ***** ***** ****** **** ****** ** *****, was sold in September 2011. We prepaid for an entire year of monitoring, and on September 12, 2011, notified **** of the sale and requested a refund for the remaining months on our contract, as per a previous discussion with them. I had also mentioned it in an email to my Realtor. I had totally forgotten about the refund for months! Later, when I spoke to them I was told they had no record of my request. I re-sent the information and ****** told me "she would speak to *** "(the owner). This went back and forth for months, in part because we would travel and I would forget about it. They continue to send monitoring bills, now under the name *** ******** ******* / ASG Security, for the house we have not owned in over 2 1/2 years!! We continue to tell them that we no longer own the house and we are awaiting a refund. As the **** ****** phone number has not existed (at least not for our house) since September 12, 2011, we don't understand how the system can send out an emergency call, and therefore "monitor" it. I have sent them several notifications, including all the email correspondence between us. I also sent them a certified letter April 17 and have proof of delivery- but no refund. After receiving the most recent bill from them (Invoice Date May 4, 2013 / Account Number *******), I sent them a fax and said that "You have left us no alternative but to report you to the Better Business Bureau, unless we receive our refund by June 3, 2013." [ACTUALLY, ALTHOUGH I KNOW THE 12 MO. MONITORING SHOULD HAVE COST @ $300, I HAD FOUND AN EMAIL RECEIPT FROM 7/16/2011 FOR $249, AND THOUGHT PERHAPS, FOR SOME REASON WE HAD PAID FOR JUNE AND JULY SEPARATELY. ] I NOW SEE WE SENT A CHECK (# ****) TO ***** ******** ***** *** (****) FOR $305.28 TO PAY FOR MONITORING FROM JUNE 1, 2011 TO MAY 31, 2012; THE CORRECT REFUND, PRORATED FROM 9/13/2011 TO 5/31/2012 (260 DAYS) IS: $217. 46.

Desired Settlement: A refund RIGHT AWAY! What might be worse than a report to the BBB is a ******** campaign against **** /ASG Security!

Business Response: We have spoken to the customer and agreed to refund their money.  Refund process started on 6/21 and customer should receive their refund soon.

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been a customer with ASG for a few years and decided to upgrade Feb 2, 2013. My sales man came out to the house for me to sign papers. He stated that basically my old account would end, so since we pay a month in advance I would have a refund for the month of February sent out to me. And we were signing papers for a new contract. Which I paid for installation as well as the new monthly fee that day. On Feb 5th the tech came out to install and that night my alarm kept randomly going off. I eventually had to bypass my backdoor as well as my down stair windows in order for the alarm to stop going off. So I only had my front door as well as upstairs protection. It took ASG a few days to send the tech out, which he thought he fixed the issue and he didn't. Later that evening I had the same issue. So it took ASG several days to send the same tech back out. And he installed wireless connections to the windows saying my old wires were not compatable with the new system. And once again I had my alarm going off randomly saying my door or window was open. SO once again I had to bypass them and did not have proper protection. I was calling ASG and was not getting anywhere with customer service so I finally called ***, my sales guy and told him i wanted to cancel everything because I was not happy with the service nor customer service, they were not providing proper service which was what I signed up for. SO finally someone called me back a day later stating theyd send the tech back out, but I was not available and told them I just wanted it canceled because the tech had already come out a couple times. It took me persistantly calling and calling them to get a response from a lady named ******* (not sure of spelling) who got it approved through a ****** or ***** ******** (again not sure of spelling) that they would cancel my service as well as I would get my refund for the credited Feb month as well as the installation and the month I paid for. I had not received anything so on March 4th, 2013 I called and talked to a lady who said my account was showing it was still activated and I was not entitled to a refund, but she saw on my account where it was approved to get a refund. So she wanted to forward the info to her boss ****** to look into the matter and contact me back. I didn't hear anything from ****** so on the 6th I called and was told she was on a conference call and Id have to leave a message, so I left a message and she did not call me back. I called again on the 8th and had to leave a message. I also received another bill from ASG for the month of March, and the lady I spoke to about the bill (before I was transferred to ******'s voicemail) said my account would not be closed until I sent in a faxed or emailed letter stating I wanted it closed, so therefore I was still gonna get charged until I did. Which since I was told by ******* that they were going to close my account and was never told I needed to email/fax anything in it should not be my fault and continue to get charged for something they said they would close for me. When my new company came in to install their equipment and he opened the box panel thing, a wire fell out, the wires were a complete mess, (the new tech said he never seen anything that bad before), but there were exposed wires all over the place in there. It was no wonder my service from them did not work as well as catch on fire.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete refund for my Feb credit as well as update fees and the new service monthly charge. I want the new charges to be taken off. As well as I want an apology for the lack of customer service to respond in a timely manner. As well as it is completely unacceptable for the boxes to have exposed wires (which I have several pictures of). The company should be sued! And hopefully this will not happen to any future customers.

Business Response: I have reviewed the account and touched base with the customer.  Refund check was received by customer yesterday and I apologized to the customer and wished her well with the new company.  Customer was very polite and thanked me for the call.  Money has been refunded and accounts been cxlled in good standing.

Consumer Response: Thank you very much for your help in getting this issue resolved.  

*** *****
[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

4/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled service in July 2012, and was charged $39.41 in the months of December and January. I have contacted ASG Security's customer service twice and spoke to ***** on 1/30/13 and was told I would get my refund in 5-10 days. It has been almost 6 weeks and I called on 3/12/13 and was transferred to many people none which helped with why I haves been refunded my money.

Desired Settlement: Just refund my money is all I want.

Business Response: Notes on the account state that the check was mailed on 3/15.  You should receive shortly.  Please let us know if you do not receive it within the next 3 business days.

3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service