BBB Accredited Business since

AAA North Penn

Additional Locations

Phone: (570) 348-2511 Fax: (570) 348-2771 View Additional Phone Numbers 1125 N Washington Ave, Scranton, PA 18509 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.aaanorthpenn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

AAA North Penn provides travel & motor club services for their members.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAA North Penn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAA North Penn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAA North Penn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 19, 1977 Business started: 05/01/1918 in PA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Glenn Smith, President/CEO Mr. Ellen Bialczak, Assistant Vice President Ms. Linda Brown, Vice President Member Services Mr. Eric W. Feerar, Vice President of Travel Ms. Margret McCormick, Controller/CFO Mr. Glenn Zumbach, Chief Operating Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glenn Smith, President/CEO
Business Category

Road Service - Automotive Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Alternate Business Names
AAA Travel Agency

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently received the new *** North Penn Membership Number Plus Card, Card ending in **** in which we have been a member for the past 14 years. I also came across another card - ending in **** in which we have been a member with since 2014 - and it shows that the dues are billed annually under R. Detail LLC I fear that they are double billing us.

Desired Settlement: If we are being double billed we want our monies back, on the account ending in **** because we have been members for 14 years under the other card ending in 1004.

Business Response: March 23, 2015

To Whom It May Concern:

Per the complaint filed by **** ******** concerning a potential double billing on her *** account:
In a 3/10/15 email, we communicated the following with **** ********.  **** ******** was concerned that she may be double billed for her membership because she received two copies of our *** North Penn magazine.  We explained to **** ******** that the reason a second magazine was sent to her address is because her husband’s business receives a complimentary copy of our magazine, at the same mailing address.  There is no billing associated with this complimentary magazine.  Per **** ********’s request, we will discontinue the second copy of the magazine.  We appreciate her many years of membership with us and appreciate her bringing this to our attention.
Sincerely,
Glenn Z
*** North Penn
Senior VP/COO

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ********

3/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We got a flat tire @ approx 10.15 am 2/22/14 on highway ** **** in NY State @ mile indicator **. It took 2hrs just to get to the right office to handle the call. They told us that *****'s **** would be coming soon A 1/2 hour later we called *****'s ****, & they told to call AAA back as they dont handle beyond exit **, we were between exits 18-19, again we had to start the procedure again... In the meantime the state police arrived @ 12.15pm and told us they could get a tow truck to us in 15 minutes, & to send the bill to AAA, which the state police told us thats what usually happens... We told them to go ahead. When we got thru to AAA they told us because the police were there they cancelled our call for help, why they did that we have no idea. We finally got a call from a tow truck @ approx 2:30 pm saying they couldn't find us, my answer was "we couldn't wait 4 hrs for help when we got help in 15 minutes. Enclosed you will find the bill from ****** ****** for $109.13. I also feel we should be reimbursed for the 11 years we have been a member, as the one time we needed you, you failed to perform the duties you advertise. Copies of this complaint are being sent to Better Business Bureau in PA & NY On rethinking this, please don't send me the refund, but use it either donate it to a children's cancer charity, or use it to fix this problem of sitting in a dangerous location, with semi trucks wizzing past @ 70 miles an hour for 4-5 hrs, when a reg towing truck can arrive in 15 minutes... And please respond by letting me know how u r fixing this terrible service, as the ****** ****** Service says it usual for AAA to take upto 5 hrs to respond... PS: A copy of this in letter form & a copy of the receipt, from ****** ****** will be sent to u by USPS...

Desired Settlement: On rethinking this, please don't send me the refund, but use it either donate it to *** ****** ******** ********** ********* or use it to fix this problem of sitting in a dangerous location, with semi trucks whizzing past @ 70 miles an hour for 4-5 hrs, when a reg towing truck can arrive in 15 minutes... And please respond by letting me know how u r fixing this terrible service, as the ****** ****** ******* says it usual for AAA to take upto 5 hrs to respond...

Business Response:

March 11, 2014

Better Business Bureau

Re:          Service Issue in New York

Dear Sir/Madam

                I contacted the AAA office that handles the New York area and they reported the following: 

The New York AAA office did investigate the call and listened to the telephone recordings made that day.  The New York Club received his call at 11:18AM and stated that he reported that he was near mile marker ** on *** westbound in New York near ****** ****.  According to the AAA representative, he was unable to give him the name of a town that he was in but eventually stated that he was probably near ******.  He also stated that a few agents from AAA over the next half hour were trying to figure out where he was since the locations and exits given were not matching up with the mile markers.  As it turns out, he was near mile marker **.  At 11:39AM, AAA New York called the police to send someone out to look for him.  At 12:34PM, there is a note on the call stating that the police had helped you and you wanted an address to send the receipt for reimbursement.  At 12:45PM a call was placed and you stated that the police were on scene.

The member did reach the AAA North Penn Club at 11:41AM, his home club, and stated that he placed a call for service 30 minutes prior and indicated that he was at mile marker ** of Interstate ** in New York State.  The call was transferred to the New York AAA Club because he stated that no one had called him back with an update.  Our call receiver did transfer him back to the AAA New York Club to get an update on his service call.

The record of the first call placed with the New York AAA Club was 11:18AM.  He stated it took two hours to get routed to the correct club to place a call for service. I am not sure what happened there or who he spoke with during that two hour time period.  Typically, when a member reaches a AAA office they take the location of the breakdown and transfer the call to the proper jurisdiction for service. 

We did send him a check for $109 for the money he paid out of pocket for the service.

Sincerely,

***** *****

CEO/ AAA North Penn


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AAA North Penn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)