BBB Accredited Business since

AAA North Penn

Additional Locations

Phone: (570) 348-2511 Fax: (570) 348-2771 View Additional Phone Numbers 1125 N Washington Ave, Scranton, PA 18509 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.aaanorthpenn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

AAA North Penn provides travel & motor club services for their members.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAA North Penn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAA North Penn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAA North Penn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 19, 1977 Business started: 05/01/1918 in PA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Glenn Smith, President/CEO Mr. Ellen Bialczak, Assistant Vice President Ms. Linda Brown, Vice President Member Services Mr. Eric W. Feerar, Vice President of Travel Ms. Margret McCormick, Controller/CFO Mr. Glenn Zumbach, Chief Operating Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glenn Smith, President/CEO
Business Category

Road Service - Automotive Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Alternate Business Names
AAA Travel Agency

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We got a flat tire @ approx 10.15 am 2/22/14 on highway ** **** in NY State @ mile indicator **. It took 2hrs just to get to the right office to handle the call. They told us that *****'s **** would be coming soon A 1/2 hour later we called *****'s ****, & they told to call AAA back as they dont handle beyond exit **, we were between exits 18-19, again we had to start the procedure again... In the meantime the state police arrived @ 12.15pm and told us they could get a tow truck to us in 15 minutes, & to send the bill to AAA, which the state police told us thats what usually happens... We told them to go ahead. When we got thru to AAA they told us because the police were there they cancelled our call for help, why they did that we have no idea. We finally got a call from a tow truck @ approx 2:30 pm saying they couldn't find us, my answer was "we couldn't wait 4 hrs for help when we got help in 15 minutes. Enclosed you will find the bill from ****** ****** for $109.13. I also feel we should be reimbursed for the 11 years we have been a member, as the one time we needed you, you failed to perform the duties you advertise. Copies of this complaint are being sent to Better Business Bureau in PA & NY On rethinking this, please don't send me the refund, but use it either donate it to a children's cancer charity, or use it to fix this problem of sitting in a dangerous location, with semi trucks wizzing past @ 70 miles an hour for 4-5 hrs, when a reg towing truck can arrive in 15 minutes... And please respond by letting me know how u r fixing this terrible service, as the ****** ****** Service says it usual for AAA to take upto 5 hrs to respond... PS: A copy of this in letter form & a copy of the receipt, from ****** ****** will be sent to u by USPS...

Desired Settlement: On rethinking this, please don't send me the refund, but use it either donate it to *** ****** ******** ********** ********* or use it to fix this problem of sitting in a dangerous location, with semi trucks whizzing past @ 70 miles an hour for 4-5 hrs, when a reg towing truck can arrive in 15 minutes... And please respond by letting me know how u r fixing this terrible service, as the ****** ****** ******* says it usual for AAA to take upto 5 hrs to respond...

Business Response:

March 11, 2014

Better Business Bureau

Re:          Service Issue in New York

Dear Sir/Madam

                I contacted the AAA office that handles the New York area and they reported the following: 

The New York AAA office did investigate the call and listened to the telephone recordings made that day.  The New York Club received his call at 11:18AM and stated that he reported that he was near mile marker ** on *** westbound in New York near ****** ****.  According to the AAA representative, he was unable to give him the name of a town that he was in but eventually stated that he was probably near ******.  He also stated that a few agents from AAA over the next half hour were trying to figure out where he was since the locations and exits given were not matching up with the mile markers.  As it turns out, he was near mile marker **.  At 11:39AM, AAA New York called the police to send someone out to look for him.  At 12:34PM, there is a note on the call stating that the police had helped you and you wanted an address to send the receipt for reimbursement.  At 12:45PM a call was placed and you stated that the police were on scene.

The member did reach the AAA North Penn Club at 11:41AM, his home club, and stated that he placed a call for service 30 minutes prior and indicated that he was at mile marker ** of Interstate ** in New York State.  The call was transferred to the New York AAA Club because he stated that no one had called him back with an update.  Our call receiver did transfer him back to the AAA New York Club to get an update on his service call.

The record of the first call placed with the New York AAA Club was 11:18AM.  He stated it took two hours to get routed to the correct club to place a call for service. I am not sure what happened there or who he spoke with during that two hour time period.  Typically, when a member reaches a AAA office they take the location of the breakdown and transfer the call to the proper jurisdiction for service. 

We did send him a check for $109 for the money he paid out of pocket for the service.

Sincerely,

***** *****

CEO/ AAA North Penn

6/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the 2nd year in a row I went to them to get an International Driver's License. Each time I brought a professionally produced set of passport photos from the leading photography studio in town. Each time I was told that AAA had to do their own photos, at additional cost to me. When I disputed that assertion, each time the clerk went off and brought back a plastic template. Each time I was given the same incorrect explanation of how the US passport photo tool should be used, about how the face has to be within the inner circle, and the rest of the head has to be within the outer circle. This is incorrect. Instead, the head is supposed to fit between the two circles. Furthermore, the State Department has a template available online with complete specifications for photos at http://travel.state.gov/passport/pptphotoreq/photocomptemplate/photocomptemplate_5297.html. My photos, each year completely met all specifications, and these photos are available as evidence. When I pointed out to the clerk that she was misusing the template and I explained how it should be used, each year my photos were grudgingly accepted and I was issued my license. Note that the same set of photos were accepted by the State Department for use on my passport. I suggest that their initial refusal to accept perfectly good photos, and their subsequent explanations about the use of that template are designed to fluster consumers into handing over good money to this business for no good reason. It is a flim-flam at best, and fraud at worst. The first year I thought it might have been an honest mistake. That is no longer my impression.

Desired Settlement: I expect the business will claim this was an honest error, and claim they did not know about this issue. They should send a letter to BBB and myself stating that their employees will no longer engage in this practice, because they will instruct them in proper use of the template. BBB should no longer give this business top ratings. The business should be warned that if this practice continues now that it has been brought to their attention the consequences (BBB and state attorney general) could be significant.

Business Response: Please see attached response 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I reject the response because of the attempt to deflect the blame for these 2 incidents back onto me.

As expected, AAA denied any wrongful intent.  They do say that employees have been instructed not to repeat this mistake in the future.  The statement that "the counselor had mentioned to him that she was afraid the sizing of **. *******'s head was on the smaller size of the scale and OFFERED to retake his picture" is so misleading  that it once again betrays the dishonest climate at this business.  Then she concludes her response with, "It is a shame that **. ******* felt it necessary to go to such an extreme and involve the Better Business Bureau."  The shame is not on me.  Involving BBB is not an extreme.  This was an honest complaint from an honest client about a business that had not acted entirely honestly.  The arrogance of this response should be a warning to the BBB and to the public.

Incidentally, this response was delayed because I was out of the country using my new International Drivers License.

 

Regards,

****** *******








Business Response:

From:

AAA North Penn

1 E. Sixth Avenue

S. Williamsport, PA  17702

To:

**. *******:

It is with great concern and regret that we received your letter outlining your displeasure with our passport photo service at the Williamsport office of AAA North Penn. 

First and foremost, on behalf of AAA, I would like to apologize for your inconvenience.  We accept full responsibility for the error and I assure you that we have taken the necessary steps to prevent it from happening in the future.  Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

We value our customers and ask you to please feel free to contact us with any further questions or concerns regarding our services.  Please know this was not done to intentionally mislead you and we again apologize for the inconvenience and distress this has caused. 

***** ******

Vice President of Member Services

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

To summarize, however, so that it should not appear that this business is without fault, I reiterate my original complaint in every detail.  Furthermore the first response from this business was unsatisfactory.  An attempt was made to shift blame to me.  A misleading statement was made that the business had "offered" to take additional photos in order to meet State Department standards;  in fact, I was told that AAA was "responsible" for making sure the photos met standards so that they could simply refuse to use the photos I brought with me.  Together with their producing a plastic template that they used improperly in order to demonstrate to me that the photos did not meet the requirements and new photos were required I think that it was fair to say that they used an improper/unethical sales technique.

That said, now that we have the attention of a vice president of the business we have obtained a proper response.  Please note that this response complies with the requirements I stated in my initial complaint.  To paraphrase the first employee's response, it is a "shame" that it had to come to this.

In closing, I trust that no further such incidents will occur.  If I return to the AAA office I will expect courteous and appropriate service.

Regards,

****** *******

1/13/2013 Delivery Issues