BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center include:

  • 11 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 11, 2008 Business started: 10/01/1991 Business incorporated: 10/01/1991 in TN
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert M Moore, Hotel Manager Mr. Arne Sorenson, President/CEO Mr. Richard Morse, GM Ms. Monica Murphy, Assistant to VP Mr. Colin Reed, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert M Moore, Hotel Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Monica Murphy, Assistant to VP
Principal: Mr. Arne Sorenson, President/CEO
Business Category

Resorts Convention Services & Facilities


Additional Locations

  • 201 Waterfront Street

    National Harbor, MD 20745

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A reservation was made at the Gaylord National Resort & Convenction Center on the 11th of September. The reservation was made via the internet and I received an email confirmation. A charge appeared on my credit card on the 20th of September that I did not recognize. I called the bank and we discovered that the charge was from the hotel (although for a different hotel in the chain: I made the reservation for the Gaylord Hotel in Maryland and the statement reflects a charge for the Gaylord ******** Hotel in TN.) My complaint is that there was no mention anywhere that a charge would be applied for the reservation and I did not receive a receipt from the hotel stating that I had paid a deposit. I called the Gaylord Hotel in Maryland and was told this was common practice for them, and the person I spoke with agreed that it does not say there will be a charge. She also mentioned that other people have called with this complaint. She gave me the number of the accounting office (###-###-####) and I spoke with a supervisor who informed me that it was Gaylord's policy to charge the first night, and yes, there should be something written on the website stating that a charge would be applied when the reservation is made. She also mentioned that they have received a number of complaints about this practice but all the accounting office could do would be to 1) send a receipt showing that a deposit had been paid or 2) refund the money. While on the phone she mentioned that her supervisor and VP were aware of the practice of taking the deposit without prior notification and that they have not taken the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the company address the situation by not charging people in advance just for a reservation. However, if they decide to continue this practice, it should be CLEARLY stated in the terms of the reservation and should IMMEDIATELY give the customer a receipt. I would like for that charge to applied a soon as possible (not weeks later) with the correct address of the hotel that applied the charge (so customers do not mistake the charge as a possible fraud). I would like for those in positions of authority in hotel chain to explain why they have not corrected the situation even though it appears they know about the many customer complaints.not tak

Business Response: Good Evening ******, I was able to confirm that **. *******’s reservation did have a deposit taken on it. He booked online via passkey for the ******** ************ conference in January. Looking at the history of the group and few other reservations that were booked, it appears that the credit card guarantee information was added to the groups mini-facts page on September 25th. When I looked at other reservations that were booked prior to this date, they had deposits taken, those that were booked after are on a CC GTD. From what my group housing contacts at ***** explained to me, *** will follow what is notated in the mini facts pages in regards to deposits. I hope this helps. His confirmation number is ********. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do. Thank you, ***** ******** I Manager of Reservation Sales I Gaylord HotelsMarriott Global Reservation Sales & Customer Care 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: There is lack of clarity in the response. The acronyms and language make the response worse and only givs the appearnce of "answering" the question by insider jargon. Please clarify.


Regards,

******* *******








Business Response: Good afternoon **. ****** – I hope all is well.  We received the guest rejection of our previous explanation.  We want **. ******* to know that we value his patronage and his concerns with how this has been handled.  Our contract with ******** ************ ******* states that we will collect a one night room and tax deposit from all attendees at the time of booking unless the group guarantees the reservations to their master account.  In September when the attendees began booking, we received complaints about how they did not want the charges to hit their personal credit cards.  Our Group Housing department contacted the main contact of the group to apprise her of the complaints we were receiving.  On September 25th the group contact agreed to guarantee the block of 7,000 room nights to her master account.  We then made the changes to our internal fact pages.  Marriott Business Systems issued **. ******* a credit for the full deposit on September 25th.  The hotel was not in violation of any policy as this was the contracted agreement regarding advance deposits between Gaylord National and the ******** ************ Society. As mentioned before we are not taking any deposits for individual attendees for this conference moving forward. If I can assist further please let me know.  Thank you, ** ****** ******Senior Administrative Assistant to:****** *****, Hotel Manager*** ************ Sr. Director of Finance and Accounting 

9/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried multiple times to contact someone in the security or laundry department after the Camcorder I set on the bathroom sink was removed during the cleaning. Each time I called the front desk they stated no one was available at the either location. I went to the front desk on multiple occasions requesting assistance. Each time I was told no one was answering at the desks they were calling. I was in the room when my camcorder was removed however, the staff at the ***** failed to respond quickly to prevent the removal of the device from the building. It took two days to get an incident report filed - and even that was like pulling teeth. The failure to respond to my concerns were deliberate and reckless/ I filed a complaint previously and was told that although my request was denied a Marriott Gift Card in the amount of $100.00 was sent to my address as a "courtesy" I rejected the response as I never received a gift card. The second complaint was answered by providing an email that showed the card was cancelled and a new card issued - I never received that card either. I received two voicemails from ###-###-#### from ***** ***** the Director of Security at the ***** however, I missed the call. I returned his call and have yet to receive a call back. At this point I am more than frustrated. Not only did they fail to provide the Customer Service to get my camcorder back - Now they are claiming to mail a gift card I have never received. This matter may not mean anything to the powers that be at the Marriott - but I am not giving up - I want a refund of the amount I paid to stay at the hotel as I did not receive service worth an almost $700.00 stay. I do not want the response to be a copy of an email sent - The lack of personal communication is appalling! Please help.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of the amount paid at my stay --- I would love an apology but I am sure the idea of anyone with the Marriott taking ownership at this point is probably a laughable matter to the person reading this complaint. But I am truly upset over the continued lack of movement to resolve my concerns. And each time something was told "it is in the mail" furthers the lack of concern by the Marriott to even address my concerns. Now I know why people resort to posting their experiences on every social media site they can think of --- So tired of the lack of human effort!

Business Response: From: ******, ***
Sent: Monday, August 12, 2013 12:51 PM
To: ******, ****** - National; ********, My; *****, ***** - National
Subject: RE: ***** ******* Complaint

        Good afternoon

        The initial card was sent out on the 14th of June.  I received confirmation that it had not  been used and have left a few messages for **. ******* asking for call back so that we can send her a replacement (wanted to confirm we have the correct mailing address) since it was my understanding she did not receive it.

        I left another voice mail today...

       *** ******
       Claims Adjuster II, Marriott Claims Services-Dallas
       Mailing Address:
       **** *** ***** *** ******** ** **********
       Phone: ###-###-####  Fax: ###-###-####
       Email: ******.******@************

       Marriott Risk Management:  Enabling Our Business with Risk Strategies & Solutions

Consumer Response:

I spoke with **. ****** and she acknowledged the "Gift Card" sent was not used nor was it returned. I reviewed the voicemail I received from the Head of Security at the Gaylord Marriott; however, she was unaware of the reason for his call. I have not received a return call after calling back.

Again, poor customer service. I did advise **. ******, my concern is in regards to the lack of customer service provided at the time of the incident and the complete disregard to resolving my concerns when it was still possible to look for the camcorder.

 

I am not sure why they think sending a card resolves my concerns; when I have serious questions regarding the safety of patrons staying at the Gaylord.

 

Again, I request a refund of my stay at the Marriott.  Receipt avialbale upon request

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

***** *******








Business Response: August 23, 2013
**. ***** *. *******
*** ******* *****
********* ********* ** *****

Dear **. *******:

Thank you for taking the time to communicate again to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center through our local Metro Better Business Bureau.

I understand your concern regarding your missing camcorder and the lack of customer service offered by our hotel staff in response to your inquiries. Our goal at Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center is to provide our guest{s) with not only a memorable experience, but also flawless service. I regret that your experience was less than expected. I thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

Regarding your missing camcorder, our Safety and Security Department conducted an investigation, searching both the Five-Star Laundry and, the Lost and Found Department, with negative results. An incident report was initiated and a claim was filed with Marriott Claims, wherein an inquiry was conducted into the circumstances surrounding the missing camcorder. Based on the inquiry conducted, a determination was made, and the claim was denied. Although the claim was denied, as a show of good faith, a $100.00 gift card was offered and mailed out on June 14, 2013.

By letter dated August 14, 2013, we were apprised that you did not receive the gift card. After checking our records, we determined that the gift card has not been used and has not been returned to our claims department. On August 13, 2013, a replacement gift card was sent via/US Postal Service. Marriott's Claim Adjuster *** ****** followed up with you to ensure you were aware that the replacement card had been mailed.

With the information you provided, more specifically your comments regarding the lack of customer service, this information will be utilized as part of a training tool for both our Front Desk and, Safety and Security Departments.

Again, I appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. It is our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Thank you,

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues