BBB Accredited Business since

Ace Relocation Systems, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 867-0400 Fax: (301) 867-0381 View Additional Phone Numbers 400 Commerce Dr, Uppr Marlboro, MD 20774 http://www.acerelocation.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ace Relocation Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ace Relocation Systems, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ace Relocation Systems, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 29, 2010 Business started: 01/07/1968 in CA Business started locally: 02/03/2000 Business incorporated 02/03/2000 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 1052359.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Lammers, President Mr. David Wood, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Lammers, President
Customer Contact: Mr. David Wood, General Manager
Business Category

Relocation Service Movers

Additional Information

The company maintains its Headquarters in San Diego, California.

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 400 Commerce Dr

    Uppr Marlboro, MD 20774 (800) 543-3981 (301) 867-0400

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5608 Eastgate Dr

    San Diego, CA 92121

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a major move from DC to *****, ID in November 2013. I entered into a contract with ACE Relocation in October 2013. This move was a disaster on every level from the very beginning, starting with the initial contact representative. Then the packers did a very poor job, also acting inappropriately and unprofessionally, a couple of them very inexperienced. Then there was a discrepancy about my delivery date due to the fact that the initial agent was too stressed and busy doing jobs that were not hers to pay attention to details, there was a delay in my delivery, and apparently the truck broke down during transit. A box of under sink supplies was frozen solid, several boxes had been repacked, very poorly, and I found items that belonged to someone else inside the same boxes that contained some of my belongings. Several items were damaged beyond repair, and in one case someone tried to put a door back on my hutch to cover up the fact that it had been ripped off. The company denies that anything happened during transit, which is obviously not true, and they seem to have no interest in the fact that I had items belonging to someone else - or in finding my missing items. After all of that - and many phone calls and emails with ***** **** at Ace, who has said on several occasions he would offer a "good will" gesture because of all these issues - and now we are going past six months since the beginning of this move - things are still not resolved. I was also assured my **. **** he would personally track and expedite my claims. This has not happened. ***** Van Lines reimbursed me the amount claimed for the items of mine that were missing in April 2014. Two items have finally been repaired, and the remainder of my claim which is at full value has been offered by Atlas- and accepted by me. However, they are apparently concerned that I may have other claims - which I have assured them in 2 emails dated 4/21/14 and 5/7/14 that I do not. I stated that this would satisfy my claims with the company and that I have no other claims. I have many complaints about Ace/***** and will give bad reviews - but I have made no other claims. I still have not received my final payment, nor the good will offer from **. ****. This has been the worst moving experience of my life, and I have made several major moves in the past. I do not believe that Ace Relocation deserves the high rating from the BBB that they brag about. Everything that could to wrong with this move did, and now I am getting no response to my emails or requests for the final payment which I am owed. This is not just about one issue - this is about everything involving this move and the very poor customer service I have received. This is totally unacceptable service from a company who is supposed to be highly rated.

Desired Settlement: I want the final payment of $1,451.99, which has been offered and agreed to, sent immediately. I would like a reasonable offer of extra compensation from Ace, which they have indicated on several occasions they would do. I really believe the entire move should be reimbursed, although I realize that is unlikely. I would like them to admit that there was wrong doing, something did happen to this load, and this whole move was a disaster. I would like an apology - and I would like their rating with BBB to be lowered, and for others to be aware of how this company chooses to do business. This has been way to long to have to deal with finalizing this move. I want to be done with everything involving this move and this horrible experience.

Business Response: First, we regret the inconvenience we caused *** *****. Operationally things did not go nearly as smoothly with her move as we like. Unfortunately out of approximately 14,000 moves we execute every year, a few go poorly. We do not agree entirely with all of her assertions regarding our behavior and lack of communication, but at this point it is merely a two-sided debate that will never be resolved. Of most importance, *** *****’s claim of $1,451.99 has been paid by ***** Van Lines – check was sent May 14, 2014. And the additional goodwill gesture promised by Ace Relocation Systems of $600 will be sent on Monday, June 2, 2014 by ***** ****, General Manager of the ***** ********, MD branch. We have apologized on several occasions to *** *****. Things did go wrong with her move and we offered an apology in 2013 after the incidences were brought to our attention. Along with the monetary compensation, we provide, here, one final apology to her. We hope she accepts.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
I selected the accept response option from the company because, as they indicated, I received their reimbursements for the monetary claims that were submitted.  However, I still want to go on record as saying that their actions were not just a mere "oops" from a one in 14,000 moves that went wrong.  I was in frequent communication with ***** **** about all the issues from the very beginning, and he knows that the things I told him that happened were true.  They want to continue to deny some of the allegations but he is very aware that basically nothing went right with this move on any level.  Some of their own contractors have agreed that things definitely went very wrong.  He also promised me the "goodwill" gesture of additional reimbursement several times starting back in 2013, however, it was never sent.  I truly believe that the only reason they sent the $600 now finally - and the only reason I was reimbursed my final payment from ***** for the damaged items claimed, was because I filed the complaints with the Better Business Bureau.  Had I not filed the complaint, I know this wouldn't have happened.  And, while I did receive their goodwill gesture of $600, it doesn't begin to cover things based on the total cost of the move, which was $10,000.  They didn't deserve to be paid even half that amount based on their poor service. 
I mainly want people to know that Ace Relocation and ***** Van Lines are not the stellar companies that they claim to be, and I hope when others are considering which moving company to choose that they make a better choice than I did.  I also hope the Better Business Bureau will re-evaluate their rating of Ace Relocation, as their A+ is definitely not deserved. 
******* *****

7/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Ace Relocation as my moving carrier when I expatriated to China last June (from ********, MD). My stuff was delivered to two locations in China as initially arranged: Chongzuo (CZ) and Shanghai (SH). My house hold stuff was packaged on May 23 and loaded to Ace's truck on May 24 2012. On the delivery day in CZ (late Oct 2012), I found two extension boards of my dining table were wrongly shipped to CZ- The tag number that was put on by the shipping crew did not match the inventory list which was filled out by the shipper. The delivery crew acknowledged the wrong shipment, immediately took the two boards back to Shanghai and they told me the two boards would be delivered to my SH home. But one week later, they told me that the Ace Relocation and ***** *** ***** asked their local affiliate in SH to hold the wrongly shipped extension boards unless I pay extra 600 CNY (~100 USD). The dining table itself was correctly delivered to SH without the above mentioned two extension boards. I don’t think it’s right and have been communicated to **. ****, the handler of my move from Ace Relocation, from Nov 2012 to Jan 2013 through numerous emails but did not receive any response. After I asked my company contacted him in Feb, he replied, in Mar 2013, that his company had no wrong doing and would not response to any further communication from me. Now the two extension wooden boards are still held at the warehouse of Ace's affiliation in SH. I think it's totally wrong and would like to see Ace's correct actions. In addition, **. **** (Ace) originally told me that my stuff would be delivered in 70-90 days. After 150 days of waiting, the two shipments were delivered late Oct (CZ delivery and beginning of Nov (SH delivery). A lot of items were damaged due to poor packaging job. Additional Notes- the purchase price paid was approximate, because my company paid the full price to Ace Relocation / ***** *** ***** Summary of My complaints: (1). Ace Relocation/***** has not deliver my house items completely to their intended destination yet and asked me to pay extra in order to get the wrongly shipped stuff caused by Ace’s error. The relocation/moving/shipping contract was incomplete since some of my household goods were not delivered. The two extension wooden boards are still held at the warehouse of Ace's affiliation after 12 months of the initial moving date. I think it's totally wrong and would like to see Ace's correction actions. (2). ** **** told me, before the move, that I should expect my stuff in 70-90 days. The actual delivery occurred 150 days later. Ace/***** did not issue any apology to the customer about the inconvenience caused by the late shipment. (3). a lot of my stuff was damaged by this move, likely due to poor packaging jobs done by Ace's crew. Although some were covered by the insurance, Ace owes me a sincere apology for its poor services.

Desired Settlement: 1. get the unfinished job done - deliver the non-delivered (two wooden extension boards) to my SH home, without any damages and additional costs. 2. an official apology regarding the poor job did and unsatisfied services Ace Relocation delivered. 3. $100 extra (in addition to the requested Outcome One listed above) from Ace Relocation to me to compensate the inconvenience caused by the undelivered items to my home after being packed by Ace relocation in May 2012 (12 months ago).

Business Response: While we dispute several of **. ****'s assertions we do not deny that there were complications with his household goods removal to China.  **. **** was advised that transist times and other shipping logictics are subject to delay and complications in China.  We do regret that our service did not meet **. ****'s expectation.  It is important to note that this was a corporate sponsered move.  It is our understanding that all arrangements were made with the freight forwarder, ***** *** *****, to complete **. ****'s move.  We will contact ***** right away and confirm the status of this issue and provide additional information within the next few days.  If there are open issues I see no problem with meeting all of **. ****'s concerns as stated in his complaint.

 
***** ****
Ace Relocation Systems, Inc.  

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

1.  two pieces of extension boards belongs to my dinning table are still not delivered to my Shanghai home after 13 months from the original moving day -May 2012.

2.  No response to my monetary compensation request to the inconvenience cause mainly by #1 item. 

3.  it was explained to me that the move may take 70-90 days by **. **** himself during his home visit back in May 2012.  However, the delivery were occurred 150 days later. 

4.  there was no solution, in responding to my original complaints, was proposed from the reply by **. **** of Ace Relocation dated June 29.

**. **** stated in his above mentioned response that he would update new information within a few days.  I would like to wait and will respond to his new update.

Best regards,

***** ****






Business Response:

**. ******: Thank you for accepting this update to the above mentioned complaint.  We just were able to speak with the freight forwarder that was involved in the shipment of **. ****’s shipment to China and our able to provide more information that is favorable to the settlement of this case. We will pay the additional charges for the items that were miss-delivered ($100 USD) and an additional $100 as a goodwill gesture.  Further, we previously noted regret over the problems that **. **** as experienced, but I want to broaden the apology: **. ****:  when I visited your home in ******** prior to the move, I did everything possible to make this project transfer smoothly.  I was sincere regarding our ability and all of the information I provided was based on years of experience in overseas shipping.  Obviously, we had problems on the China side.  Please accept my apology for the mistakes.  We wish you and your family the best during your stay in China.  It is our hope that **. **** will accept our apology and settlement that we feel meets with his request as filed with the BBB. Please advise. Thank you,     ***** ****General ManagerAce Relocation Systems, Inc.Maryland - Washington, DC************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.    I sincerely appreciate if you could farward the following message to **. **** of Ace Relocation and I appreciate if I could receive response from **. **** regarding the question/issue that I raised in the following message.

Here are my couple of questions /issues I would like to get clarified before the case is closed.

Dear **. ****,

Thanks for making efforts to get the case closed, I (also on behalf of my wife) would like to state that your response is satisfactory to both of us.  However, we do have a question for you, along with one issue we found with the latest delivery:

  • I Would like to know how I am going to receive the $100.  Since I am stationed in China right now and my communication address in the US is

            *** ******* *** ********** *****

            any mail transfer to my station in China may take 2 months.  If I try to deposit the money to my BofA account in the US, it may take another month or so to cash it. - therefore, if a check were sent to my above address, I would like to see the check has 180 days valid period.  Or maybe you have better solution for it

  • the two pieces of dining table extention boards were delivered to my Shanghai home.  However, it was found on the spot that one of the two was badly damaged.  I am in contacting with *** ***** (affiliate of ***** in China) and ***** to resolve this issue.  I just want to leave this message here as a record, which can be removed after the particular issue is resolved.

Best regards,

***** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Ace Relocation Systems, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart