BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ace Relocation Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ace Relocation Systems, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 29, 2010 Business started: 01/07/1968 in CA Business started locally: 02/03/2000 Business incorporated: 02/03/2000 in MD
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The license number is 1052359.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Lammers, President Mr. David Wood, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Lammers, President
Principal: Mr. David Wood, General Manager
Business Category

Relocation Service Movers Movers

Additional Information

The company maintains its Headquarters in San Diego, California.

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 400 Commerce Dr

    Uppr Marlboro, MD 20774 (301) 867-0400

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5608 Eastgate Drive

    San Diego, CA 92121

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 543-3981(Phone)
  • (858) 677-5500(Phone)
  • (858) 677-5587(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Ace Relocation as my moving carrier when I expatriated to China last June (from ********, MD). My stuff was delivered to two locations in China as initially arranged: Chongzuo (CZ) and Shanghai (SH). My house hold stuff was packaged on May 23 and loaded to Ace's truck on May 24 2012. On the delivery day in CZ (late Oct 2012), I found two extension boards of my dining table were wrongly shipped to CZ- The tag number that was put on by the shipping crew did not match the inventory list which was filled out by the shipper. The delivery crew acknowledged the wrong shipment, immediately took the two boards back to Shanghai and they told me the two boards would be delivered to my SH home. But one week later, they told me that the Ace Relocation and ***** *** ***** asked their local affiliate in SH to hold the wrongly shipped extension boards unless I pay extra 600 CNY (~100 USD). The dining table itself was correctly delivered to SH without the above mentioned two extension boards. I don’t think it’s right and have been communicated to **. ****, the handler of my move from Ace Relocation, from Nov 2012 to Jan 2013 through numerous emails but did not receive any response. After I asked my company contacted him in Feb, he replied, in Mar 2013, that his company had no wrong doing and would not response to any further communication from me. Now the two extension wooden boards are still held at the warehouse of Ace's affiliation in SH. I think it's totally wrong and would like to see Ace's correct actions. In addition, **. **** (Ace) originally told me that my stuff would be delivered in 70-90 days. After 150 days of waiting, the two shipments were delivered late Oct (CZ delivery and beginning of Nov (SH delivery). A lot of items were damaged due to poor packaging job. Additional Notes- the purchase price paid was approximate, because my company paid the full price to Ace Relocation / ***** *** ***** Summary of My complaints: (1). Ace Relocation/***** has not deliver my house items completely to their intended destination yet and asked me to pay extra in order to get the wrongly shipped stuff caused by Ace’s error. The relocation/moving/shipping contract was incomplete since some of my household goods were not delivered. The two extension wooden boards are still held at the warehouse of Ace's affiliation after 12 months of the initial moving date. I think it's totally wrong and would like to see Ace's correction actions. (2). ** **** told me, before the move, that I should expect my stuff in 70-90 days. The actual delivery occurred 150 days later. Ace/***** did not issue any apology to the customer about the inconvenience caused by the late shipment. (3). a lot of my stuff was damaged by this move, likely due to poor packaging jobs done by Ace's crew. Although some were covered by the insurance, Ace owes me a sincere apology for its poor services.

Desired Settlement: 1. get the unfinished job done - deliver the non-delivered (two wooden extension boards) to my SH home, without any damages and additional costs. 2. an official apology regarding the poor job did and unsatisfied services Ace Relocation delivered. 3. $100 extra (in addition to the requested Outcome One listed above) from Ace Relocation to me to compensate the inconvenience caused by the undelivered items to my home after being packed by Ace relocation in May 2012 (12 months ago).

Business Response: While we dispute several of **. ****'s assertions we do not deny that there were complications with his household goods removal to China.  **. **** was advised that transist times and other shipping logictics are subject to delay and complications in China.  We do regret that our service did not meet **. ****'s expectation.  It is important to note that this was a corporate sponsered move.  It is our understanding that all arrangements were made with the freight forwarder, ***** *** *****, to complete **. ****'s move.  We will contact ***** right away and confirm the status of this issue and provide additional information within the next few days.  If there are open issues I see no problem with meeting all of **. ****'s concerns as stated in his complaint.

 
***** ****
Ace Relocation Systems, Inc.  

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

1.  two pieces of extension boards belongs to my dinning table are still not delivered to my Shanghai home after 13 months from the original moving day -May 2012.

2.  No response to my monetary compensation request to the inconvenience cause mainly by #1 item. 

3.  it was explained to me that the move may take 70-90 days by **. **** himself during his home visit back in May 2012.  However, the delivery were occurred 150 days later. 

4.  there was no solution, in responding to my original complaints, was proposed from the reply by **. **** of Ace Relocation dated June 29.

**. **** stated in his above mentioned response that he would update new information within a few days.  I would like to wait and will respond to his new update.

Best regards,

***** ****






Business Response:

**. ******: Thank you for accepting this update to the above mentioned complaint.  We just were able to speak with the freight forwarder that was involved in the shipment of **. ****’s shipment to China and our able to provide more information that is favorable to the settlement of this case. We will pay the additional charges for the items that were miss-delivered ($100 USD) and an additional $100 as a goodwill gesture.  Further, we previously noted regret over the problems that **. **** as experienced, but I want to broaden the apology: **. ****:  when I visited your home in ******** prior to the move, I did everything possible to make this project transfer smoothly.  I was sincere regarding our ability and all of the information I provided was based on years of experience in overseas shipping.  Obviously, we had problems on the China side.  Please accept my apology for the mistakes.  We wish you and your family the best during your stay in China.  It is our hope that **. **** will accept our apology and settlement that we feel meets with his request as filed with the BBB. Please advise. Thank you,     ***** ****General ManagerAce Relocation Systems, Inc.Maryland - Washington, DC************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.    I sincerely appreciate if you could farward the following message to **. **** of Ace Relocation and I appreciate if I could receive response from **. **** regarding the question/issue that I raised in the following message.

Here are my couple of questions /issues I would like to get clarified before the case is closed.

Dear **. ****,

Thanks for making efforts to get the case closed, I (also on behalf of my wife) would like to state that your response is satisfactory to both of us.  However, we do have a question for you, along with one issue we found with the latest delivery:

  • I Would like to know how I am going to receive the $100.  Since I am stationed in China right now and my communication address in the US is

            *** ******* *** ********** *****

            any mail transfer to my station in China may take 2 months.  If I try to deposit the money to my BofA account in the US, it may take another month or so to cash it. - therefore, if a check were sent to my above address, I would like to see the check has 180 days valid period.  Or maybe you have better solution for it

  • the two pieces of dining table extention boards were delivered to my Shanghai home.  However, it was found on the spot that one of the two was badly damaged.  I am in contacting with *** ***** (affiliate of ***** in China) and ***** to resolve this issue.  I just want to leave this message here as a record, which can be removed after the particular issue is resolved.

Best regards,

***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/14/2012 Delivery Issues
1