BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Toll Brothers, Incorporated

Find a Location

Phone: (215) 938-8000 Fax: (215) 938-8010 View Additional Phone Numbers 250 Gibraltar Rd, Horsham, PA 19044 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.tollbrothers.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Toll Brothers, Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Toll Brothers, Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 47 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

47 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 7
Problems with Product/Service 37
Total Closed Complaints 47

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1967 Business incorporated: 06/30/1986 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Doug Yearley, CEO Ms. Michelle Simon, Legal Department Ms. Kira Sterling, Sr. Vice President Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Doug Yearley, CEO
Business Category

Real Estate Developers Home Builders

Alternate Business Names
Toll Brothers Company Westminster Security

Additional Locations

  • 250 Gibraltar Rd

    Horsham, PA 19044

  • 43089 Ryan Road  Suite 107

    Ashburn, VA 20148

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7164 Columbia Gateway Dr Ste 230

    Columbia, MD 21046

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    141 W Main St

    Westminster, MD 21157

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    53 Church Hill Road

    Newtown, CT 06470

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    130 Business Park

    Armonk, NY 10504

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    60 Merritt Blvd.

    Fishkill, NY 12524

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20 Harvest Lane

    Hockessin, DE 19707

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3 Long Acres Avenue

    Hockessin, DE 19707

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    134 Flanders Rd # 275

    Westborough, MA 01581

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5117 Rosalind Blvd

    Powell, OH 43065

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13820 Old Saint Augustine Road

    Jacksonville, FL 32258

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13820 Old Saint Augustine Road

    Jacksonville, FL 32258

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    160 Cape May Ave

    Ponte Vedra, FL 32081

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18 Lighthouse Point Circle

    Ponte Vedra, FL 32081

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    155 Haney Rd

    Woodstock, GA 30188

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7531 Main St

    Woodstock, GA 30188

  • 10800 Sikes PL STE 100

    Charlotte, NC 28277

  • 6067 Hemby Rd

    Weddington, NC 28104

  • 916 Wandering Way Dr

    Waxhaw, NC 28173

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10320 Lumley Rd

    Morrisville, NC 27560

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1215 Jones Franklin Rd

    Raleigh, NC 27606

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2310 T W Alexander Dr Ste G

    Raleigh, NC 27617

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9201 Fawn Lake Dr

    Raleigh, NC 27617

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9207 Fawn Lake Dr

    Raleigh, NC 27617

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10951 SW Meeting Street

    Port St. Lucie, FL 34987

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16450 Lyons Rd.

    Delray Beach, FL 33446

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16450 One Mile Rd.

    Delray Beach, FL 33446

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    28341 S Tamiami Trl Ste 4

    Bonita Springs, FL 34134

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2 Acacia Dr

    Barrington, IL 60010

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    One Wood Oaks Drive

    South Barrington, IL 60010

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1035 E Woodfield Rd

    Schaumburg, IL 60173

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1153 W Dundee Rd

    Arlington Heights, IL 60004

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    630 N North Ct # 180

    Palatine, IL 60067

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    196 W Penny Rd

    Barrington, IL 60010

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3841 VALHALLA DR

    Elgin, IL 60124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2862 COMMONS DR

    Glenview, IL 60026

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1430 Wellington Way

    Eagan, MN 55122

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1430 Wellington Way

    Saint Paul, MN 55122

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2966 Commerce Park Drive, Suite 100

    Orlando, FL 32819

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    601 Spring Oak Cir

    Orlando, FL 32828

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    310 Aria Drive

    Austin, TX 78738

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20689 IH 10 W

    San Antonio, TX 78256

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1847 Nueces Dr

    Allen, TX 75013

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1078 Great Meadow Dr

    Allen, TX 75013

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2557 SW Grapevine Pkwy #100

    Grapevine, TX 76051

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Park Pl Ste 140

    San Ramon, CA 94583

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    166 Arundel Dr

    Hayward, CA 94542

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    186 Arundel Pl

    Hayward, CA 94542

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3275 Dublin Blvd Apt 130

    Dublin, CA 94568

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14350 N. 87th Street #310

    Scottsdale, AZ 85260

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8901 E. Mountain View #200

    Scottsdale, AZ 85258

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 Damonte Ranch Pkwy STE 944

    Reno, NV 89521

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    725 Town and Country Road, Suite 500

    Orange, CA 92868

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2100 West Orangewood Avenue Suite 180

    Orange, CA 92868

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    964 Homestead Dr

    Burlington, WA 98233

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (215) 938-8218(Phone)
  • (800) 957-2522(Phone)
  • (215) 938-8217 (Fax)
  • (571) 291-8000 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Toll brothers failed to honor a signed contract and forced us to sign the amendments. So we had to withdraw from the transaction

Desired Settlement: Toll brother should honor the original contract and give the property.

Business Response:

December 5, 2013

VIA OVERNIGHT MAIL AND

SUBMITTED ELECTRONICALLY

****** *********

Better Business Bureau

1411 K Street NW, Suite 1000

Washington, DC 20005-3404

Re:      Complaint *******

            ******* *********

Dear **. *********,

Thank you for providing Toll Brothers the opportunity to respond to the complaint that has been submitted by ******* *********.  Our company does regret that **. ********* felt the need to write to your organization about his experience.

Pursuant to a November 26, 2013 email from **. *********’s counsel, the Agreement of Sale that **. ********* had with Toll was canceled and Toll is in the process of returning all deposit money to **. *********.  Toll treated **. ********* fairly in its dealings with him.  Toll does regret that we were not able to move forward together in finalizing his Agreement of Sale and building **. ********* a home to his specifications in our ****** ***** community.  Otherwise, Toll does deny the allegations set forth in **. *********’s complaint; particularly any suggestion that Toll did not intend to honor the original price discussed the opening week end of our new community.

We wish **. ********* the best in his search for a new home, and do regret that we were not able to meet his expectations. 

Sincerely, 

 

***** ** *****

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I cancelled the contract, because Toll Brother's didn't honour the signed contract price and forced me to sign the amended contract. If required, I can provide the evidence with the signed contract and Toll Brohters forced me to sign the amended contract.

Regards,

******* *********








Business Response: December 12, 2013

Dear **. *********,

Thank you for forwarding the response to our position statement by **. *********. Toll does regret that **. ********* disagrees with our position. We treated him fairly during the brief time we had a business relationship with him, and we continue to wish him well in the future.

Sincerely,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Through deceptive business practices, Toll Brothers and its affiliate, *********** ******** require the purchase of alarm system installation/monitoring services from its affiliates during construction of a new home. This is non-negotiable. The customer is required to sign an agreement to have the ******** system installed and monitored for a period of three years. After that time, it is automatically renewed by *********** ******** for an additional period of two years. The customer can only cancel the service between 31-60 days prior to the expiration of the contract. No notification is provided, no renewal options are given to the customer prior to the automatic renewal.

Desired Settlement: Termination of service

Business Response:

I would like to provide the following in response to **. *****’s complaint that *********** Security and Toll Brothers require the purchase of an alarm system and monitoring service during the construction of a new home.  This statement is not accurate.  When buyers go through their option selection process, they are given the choice to have an alarm system installed in their home.  Toll Brothers will install the alarm system AT NO CHARGE to the buyer contingent upon a three year agreement for monitoring with Toll Brother’s subsidiary, *********** Security.  If a buyer does not wish to have monitoring with *********** then Toll Brothers will not install a free alarm system. This is not mandatory option in any way and the customer is only required to sign an agreement for monitoring IF they choose to have the option included in their home at no cost to them.

I am providing a copy of a signed Exhibit B stating that there was no charge for **. ***** in his receiving this option which discloses the requirement for monitoring in lieu of waiving that option cost.  

Attached is also a copy of the signed monitoring agreement which clearly state the contract terms (in bold) in paragraph 1 regarding the renewal of the agreement and requirements for cancellation which state that all cancel notices must be sent in writing.  This requirement exists for security reasons to protect our Subscribers. **. ***** also initialed on page one of his contract having reviewed and understood these terms.

Our office spoke with **. ***** on March 11, 2013 where our Customer Service Supervisor, ******** *****, informed **. ***** of the date his contract expired (4/19/2013) and the requirements to cancel his agreement. During this call, it was explained that a written notice was required and that once received, a final invoice for the period of 4/1/2013-4/19/2013 would be generated completing the three year agreement. Rather than sending that notice, **. ***** provided payment with check # 7036 for the period of 4/1/2013-9/30/2013 for monitoring services which renewed his current contract.

In August 2013 a new bill cycle was processed in which **. ***** was billed for his next 6 month bill cycle. On September 11, 2013 **. ***** called our office stating he wanted to cancel his service as he had switched to a local company.  ****** *********, a Sr. Customer Service representative explained to him again, that this request needed to be sent in writing per the requirements of his alarm contract. It was also explained that since this notice had not been received prior to the renewal of his contract (as was explained to him in March of this year PRIOR to the renewal) and upon receiving his payment on April 1st for the first bill period of the renewal term, his contract did enter that renewal period.

Our office feels as though we provided **. *****, through his agreement and verbal conversations, clear and concise requirements needed to cancel his agreement at the end of his three year term prior to renewal. He failed to deliver proper notice and made payment into that renewal period  therefore *********** Security believes this is a contract dispute on which the terms were clearly disclosed.

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

There is no indication that the subsequent pages of the original agreement have not been changed or modified since the FIRST page was signed.

There are places at the bottom of each page which should be initialed by the purchaser, just like in a real estate contract, denoting the individual has read and agrees to the terms and conditions on that page.

Since these subsequent pages have not been initialed, there is no way to determine if the terms and conditions of the original document have been changed.  These pages have not been initialed and could have been modified without my knowledge.

Toll Brothers and *********** Security cannot prove that these are the pages I was provided with upon initial agreement to the installation of the security system.


Regards,

***** *****








Business Response:

Our contract terms have not changed since **. ***** signed his agreement. The Subscriber has contracted with another company and did not properly cancel their account and contract with *********** Security first, therefore obligating himself to two agreements.

In an effort to resolve this dispute *********** Security is willing to split the difference of the balance owed (10/1/2013-04/19/2015) which would total $468.82 for a Final Account Balance of Contract amount due of $234.41.

We feel this is a fair compromise as the cost of the system installed in **. *****'s home exceeds the value of the initial 3 year agreement (hence the renewal terms in each agreement) and by not only failing to send in notice prior to the initial 3 year term expiring, **. ***** also made a 7th payment in April 2013, which entered his contract into said renewal terms.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.    However, *********** Security is incorrect in stating that I have signed a contract with another provider.  I HAVE NOT.

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved into our Toll Brothers home in October, 2011. Our backyard has had drainage issues, with a severe swell running through the middle of the yard, since day 1. Our Customer Care Representative, **** ***********, agreed at our 3 month and our 1 year home warranty "inspection" they would correct this problem. It has been 22 months now and we are still waiting for it to be fixed. Most recently I sent him and the Project Manager in our neighborhood an e-mail on June 24, July 10, July 24 and August 13. I did not get a response to any of the first three e-mails I sent. After my 4th attempt, I heard back from **** on August 14. Finally, for the first time in 22 months, **** said they are planning to install a french drain. But even in asking questions about when this will take place I am not getting clear answers. And there are 2 other problems they have still not fixed from the 1 year inspection I cannot get a straight answer on.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to finally fix my backyard (and finish the 2 other problems from my 1 year inspection). I would also appreciate an apology since my four kids have not been able to fully use our backyard for almost 2 years now. I do not expect this, but in my line of work if we mess up this badly we would overcompensate with gifts/money/etc. to let the people we have "offended" know how sorry we are for the poor work we have done.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for notifying us of this concern. The onsite project manager has been in contact with the homeowner, **. ********, and we will be working with him to develop a plan to address his concerns. I do apologize to **. ******** and commit to resolving his issues in a fair manner. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.

**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchase a home with Toll brother. Toll brother contracted with *********** to provide alarm services. *********** hires ***** to install the alarm. Now I would like to switch company as my alarm contract with *********** is up. They refused to help me. The new alarm company said they need an "Installer Code" in order to override the original installer code or this new company wants to charge $215 for putting in a new panel. I don't need a new panel, just the code. *********** said they don't have it. I called ***** Alarm, left over 10 messages over 3 months time. No one has called back. Contacted *********** again & they said they can't do anything but give me a retarded number to *****, in which no one ever picks up the phone.

Desired Settlement: Need the original Installer code or pay the fee of $215. in which I have to pay the new company for a new panel.

Business Response:

Our company does not program lock out codes, our standard installer code was in fact provided to ***. **** on 7/24/2013 at 3:43:39 EST (along with the manufacturer's normal default codes) so her statement of our refusal to help her is false, particularly since she canceled her contract with our company and services were terminated in January of 2013.  In addition to providing her with what those standard codes are, we also tried to reach out to ***** Alarm on her behalf, as they were the originall installation company despite her no longer being contracted for our services. Beyond this, we have no authority over what another company wants to charge a former subscriber whose alarm we have not monitored in over six months nor do we have any way of knowing if anything may have affected the panel during that time since we were providing service.

 

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Toll Brothers home in 2005. Since then, I have had consecutive problems with the poor construction of the home. Some issues include: 1) bad plumbing causing water damage/ black mold in ceiling between main level and basement. 2) Plumbing repair- leak from 3 level bath into 2nd level family room. 3) water leak damage around 2 windows. 4) water leaks from roof into bedroom on 3rd level. 5) exterior ac unit placement. 6) ac unit electronic control failure. 7) door locks failure. 8) drywall repair as a result of plumbing/ water damage. 9) poor landscape tree planting, resulting in a damaged driveway (roots from tree are pushing up driveway asphalt). 10) Additional problems resulting from poor design and construction. I have addressed these issues with Top Executives in the mid-Atlantic region and the response was negative. These issues have not been addressed and will continue to be ignored.

Desired Settlement: I do not want the company to do the repairs as I do not feel they have the integrity and skills to do a satisfactory job. Therefore I am willing to research and find the best contractors/ repairmen to resolve these issues. Once the issues are resolved, I request that I be reimbursed for the cost of these repairs by Toll Brothers, Inc.

Business Response: *** *********,
We are in receipt of the aforementioned complaint #*******.

The files for this particular case are currently stored off-site, and we will need time to retrieve them.  Additionally, the 2 people who are intimately knowledgeable of this case are both on vacation this week.  For these reasons, we respectfully request a 5 day extension for our response, so that it can be addressed fully and to the best of our abilities.

Thank you for your understanding.

****** *******

Business Response:

Our Warranty Service Manager, ******* ********** met with *** **** on May 15, 2013.  His notes from the meeting are below.

I was accompanied by ******* ***** Toll Brothers, Inc., former Warranty Representative who is also familiar with some of the warranty history and problems which the homeowner has experienced. The meeting was amicable and *** **** was very pleasant and helpful in providing the history of the problems she has experienced since her home Settled over eight years ago.

I shared with her that I was unable to consider reimbursement for the repairs which she has made to date. The plumbing repairs were made by her well after the 2-Year plumbing warranty period after Settlement. They were not caused by bad plumbing but rather by the breakdown of the toilet wax rings in two different bathrooms and were not covered under the Toll Brothers Limited Warranty.

I recommended she begin to have her roof periodically inspected, repaired and maintained to prevent water infiltration. The drywall damage in the living room was a result of leaking windows. They will continue to leak if the exterior wood trim around them is not maintained periodically with caulk and paint. No exterior maintenance has been done since Settlement.  There are visible gaps in the caulking between the brick and wood trim and windows. She will need to replace some of her trim which is beyond repair. This maintenance and the need for subsequent repairs are not covered under warranty and must be done by every homeowner to prevent these conditions.

The asphalt  on *** *****’ driveway and her neighbors’ driveway is being lifted by the roots of a maturing Sycamore tree planted over eight years ago. This buckling of the asphalt is sure to worsen with time and I related to her that I would investigate any options that exist.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Toll Brothers built my house and I closed on it in January 2003. In speaking with the builder while they were building my house, he indicated that the lining underneath the siding would be completely covering the house to ensure proper installation of the siding. This year, after a wind storm, a piece of the siding fell off of my house and I noticed that this lining was not actually underneath my siding at all as was initially indicated. I took pictures of the siding and filled out a warranty request form with Toll Brothers directly, but have not heard anything at this point. The lawyer who originally closed on my house suggested I contact you for some help in getting this resolved as I feel it should be fixed even though my 10-year warranty ended in January, as this was a case of the initial installation process not being completed properly.

Desired Settlement: I am looking to have this issue repaired at no cost to me as it was not installed properly as was explained by the builder.

Business Response: Meant with *** ****** at his home with our siding contractor this morning. And as a curtsy to *** ****** for being a long time Toll homeowner. We replaced the fallen siding on his house. *** ****** was very happy and was going to contact the BBB to recall his complain.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had issues in my condo, and a Toll Brothers employee came to investigate at the end of Sep 2012 (complaint #*****), including removing a piece of the window that made it operable (it no longer is), had a estimation make one of the repairs in November , and said the complaints had been accepted and were now opening a service request. I didn't hear from them for a number of months and when I finally got through I was told they were not allowed to speak to me due to a Title 7 filed by the HOA. I have since been told that all repairs have to go through the lawyers that filed the Title 7, who in turn say Toll is still being given the opportunity to fix issues in a unit before the contractor hired by the Title 7 company. Therefore, it is clear to me that Toll has been negligent in fullfilling its commitment to make repairs to my unit. The issues were approved for repair by Toll and they should have done them by now. Now they say they aren't going to do them. Therefore they are liars and have violated the contract.

Desired Settlement: The issues need to be repaired immediately. This is the only acceptable outcome as they are long overdue. Otherwise Toll will refund me for the cost of repair including cleaning and the time I spend dealing with it.

Business Response:

*** ******* *********                                                                                      May 8th, 2013

Better Business Bureau

Re:  **** ******* Complaint

 

 

Dear *** *********,

 

 

I am writing in response to your letter to ****** ******* with Toll Brothers, regarding our homeowner **** *******’s complaint to you.  *** ******* claims in his letter to you that Toll Brothers in refusing to perform repairs to his home.  Unfortunately, *** *******’s home is a condominium located in a community where the Homeowners Association has filed a Title 7 claim against Toll Brothers.  This action precludes Toll Brothers from performing any work without the express written consent of the Homeowners Association’s legal counsel.  Toll Brothers is ready, willing and able to undertake the repairs to *** *******’s home once he can procure an official written release from the Homeowners Association’s law firm.

 

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 

 

Regards,

 

**** ****

Group President

 

 

Cc: **** *******

       **** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Toll Brothers is the parent company of ****** ****** ** located at **** ******* ******* ******** ** ***** Phone: ************. I applied for a rental home on-line and was charged $450 on February 17, 2013 in order to submit the application for me, my boyfriend, ******* ********, and niece, ***** ********. ****** ****** advertises a "$99 move-in" special on their website. Since ****** ****** is owned by Toll Brothers I was confident I was dealing with a reputable business. I thought they would either not charge my bank account more than the special price or they would give me a credit of the difference from my rent payment. I went to ****** ****** in person the following day to look at the rental homes and meet with a sales person. After spending several hours working with the sales person, *****, and the manager, I chose a home and move-in date but my application was then denied. At that time I requested a refund. ***** told me if you apply on line you aren't eligible for the $99 special, even though that's where it's advertised. When I complained he said he had to talk to the manager about it. Then he said I would receive a refund but it could take up to 30 days because all checks are written from the Toll Brothers' home office in **. On Monday morning, March 11, I called ****** ****** and spoke to ***** to inquire about the status of my refund. He said he would check on it and call me back. I waited all day and he never returned my call. I called again that afternoon and he said he would speak with management and call me back. Again, no call back. I called several times the next day but didn't get to speak to *****. I was told he was busy, another time he was in a meeting, another he wasn't in the office. Each time I was assured he would return my call but he never did. I called again and was able to talk to ***** the following day. He said the reason I had not received a refund was because he forgot to request it. He assured me he put in the request and was sending it for approval. He said the request would be sent to the home office in ** and they would send me a check. I asked if there was someone in accounts payable I could speak to and he said no. I asked if he could give me the name and number of someone I could contact at the home office in ** and he said no. I am definitely getting the runaround with *****, ****** ******, and Toll Brothers. I haven't received a refund or even a return phone call.

Desired Settlement: Resolution of this issue with ****** ****** ** and/or Toll Brothers amicably and promptly. I want a refund of the $450 deducted from my bank account by ****** ****** on February 19, 2013 without having to take further action. Below is a copy of the transaction record from my ***** ***** checking account showing the amounts withdrawn by ****** ******. Posted Transactions Date Description Withdrawals / Debits 02/19/13 ****** ****** LP Rent **** ******* ******** $50.00 02/19/13 ****** ****** LP Rent **** ***** ******** $50.00 02/19/13 ****** ****** LP Rent **** **** ***** ******* $350.00 Totals $450.00 I have recently seen many complaints on-line about ****** ****** management and how they conduct business; most of the complaints are from ****** ****** tennants. Toll Brothers has a good reputation; if they aren't aware of how ****** ****** does business they should look into it and correct it.

Business Response:

Dear *****,

We regret that you were unhappy with your experience at our community.  At ****** ******, we strive for the enjoyment and satisfaction of all who choose to make us their home.

Following is our understanding of what transpired.  We received a payment of $450.00 from you via Resident Portal, our on-line payment management software system.  This payment included a security deposit of $300.00 in order to reserve an apartment, as well as three non-refundable application fees at $50.00 per application (one for each of you, ******* ******** and ***** ********).  Subsequently, you visited our community and indicated that you were in the market for a ground-floor 3-bedroom apartment.  At that time, we did not have any apartments available that met your criteria.  However, in an effort to accommodate you, we proposed the idea of converting our guest suite into a rentable apartment for you.  After both parties agreed to this idea, we performed background/credit checks for each of the three applicants as part of our standard qualification process.  Unfortunately, the results of the credit checks did not allow us to move forward with you as a resident.  Accordingly, you were entitled to a refund of the $300.00 security deposit.

Upon receipt of your complaint with the Better Business Bureau, we contacted you to discuss the matter.  During our conversation, we came to an agreement as to the appropriate amount of your refund, which you have since received.  It is our understanding that you are now satisfied with the resolution of the matter.  We do apologize that there was some confusion during the process.

Thank you for considering ****** ****** as a home for you and your loved ones, and we hope that you will consider us again.  We look forward to serving your needs in the future and finding you a comfortable home.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I build my house with Toll Brothers, they required me to sign on with their subsidiary security company, *********** ********, for 3 years. However, they did not disclose that the contract will automatically be renewed for an additional 2 years if I don't contact them in writing 31 days before the contract is up for renewal. This was never discussed at my closing. Now I am stuck for another two years of service.

Desired Settlement: I have been with them for over 3 years already and would just like to cancel my contract with them.

Business Response:

In response to your complaint to the Better Business Bureau dated 3/20/2013, I would like to provide the following as explanation to the charges and cancellation terms of the monitoring agreement you signed with *********** ********:

When you purchased your home from Toll Brothers in October of 2008 you were offered the option to have a security system installed in your home at no charge contingent upon a 3 year monitoring agreement with *********** ********* This option was not a requirement yet a monitoring agreement was signed on 10/25/2008 accepting this option at no charge.

A copy of this agreement is attached and clearly states in the first two sentences of the General Terms and Conditions, not only the initial term, but also the renewal terms of the contract. This information is bolded and underlined for clear disclosure. Acknowledgement of reading these terms was initialed on the first page of the contract as well as each page of the Terms & Conditions when you signed the agreement.

We make every attempt to disclose the information regarding the terms of the monitoring agreements in a clear and concise manner. We feel we have done that and those terms were acknowledged. The monitoring agreement is not a part of the normal closing process which is why it was not discussed at settlement. This information was presented and sent to you several months prior to your closing which provided for ample time to review and / or questions you may have had.

Based on the renewal terms of your agreement, cancellation at the end of your initial 3 year term would have required notice 30 days prior to the expiration in July 2012. However payment was made in June 2012 and again in January 2013 for service at which time your account was 6 months into your renewal period and paying for another 6 month cycle.  Should you cancel your account (I see that written notice has not yet been received or processed by our office), a final account bill will be created for the balance of the contract based on the terms you agreed to.

Please understand that based on the nature of the services contracted, verbal requests to cancel service are not binding for security reasons which is why it is asked of you to send notice in writing. We require a written notice by the contract holder to cancel any account for which service is being provided in order to prevent any unauthorized person from contacting our office to shut off service of a protected property. This is for our Subscriber’s safety and is a standard policy for alarm companies.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Toll Brothers built my house in December 2005, immediately after their delivery of house to me, I found out and reported to Toll Brothers that the design of the driveway for my side entry 2-car garage has serious defect, in that the driveway is not wide enough to allow parking in and driving out of the garage with two cars, without inevitably running over the lawn area. The houses in the same sub division with the same floor plan, or with the same side entry garages built by Toll Brothers all have much wider driveways that allow normal access. I request my driveway be fixed as soon as possible up to the same standard as the other same side-entry garage houses built by Toll Brothers in the same sub division, to make sure my 2-car garage and driveway will function normally, it should allow parking two cars into the garage, as well as allow backing out two cars without having to drive over the lawn areas. Currently the driveway is so small that it’s inevitable in reality to run over the lawns. Toll Brothers did not provide solutions to fix this defect issue, and this issue has been causing the damage of my lawn every day, which is not acceptable, given that it’s built by a luxury home builder, especially Toll Brothers has for many years been the recipient of America's Best Builder, National Builder of the Year and the 1995 National Housing Quality Gold Award. It has really been dissatisfactory with the defective quality of Toll Brother’s product in this case, and the way Toll Brothers did not try to fix this defect after its sale.

Desired Settlement: I request my driveway be fixed as soon as possible up to the same standard as the other same side-entry garage houses built by Toll Brothers in the same sub division, to make sure my 2-car garage and driveway will function normally, it should allow parking two cars into the garage, as well as allow backing out two cars without having to drive over the lawn areas. Currently the driveway is so small that it’s inevitable in reality to run over the lawns.

BBB Response:


To Whom it May Concern- We received a complaint on 11/21/11 from Mr. **** regarding his request to have his driveway "fixed and up to standard as the other side-entry garage houses built by Toll Brothers in the same subdivision". Mr. **** closed on his home on 12/23/05, the Home Builders Limited Warranty period ended 12/24/06. The first and last written notice Toll received of the driveway having a "serious defect" was September 20, 2007. This was 21 months after closing of the home. It was determined by Toll Brothers, after the notice was received on 9/20/07, the driveway was in compliance with code and is within acceptable industry standards. Mr. **** has sent correspondence since then, see attached, to Toll regarding other issues he has with the home never mentioning the driveway as a point of concern or that is was a "serious defect". Toll Brothers considers this matter Non-Warrantable and has determined the driveway to be within code and within industry standards. **** *****w, AVP Toll Brothers, Dallas Division Cc: *** ***** ********* ****** ******* **** ****** ****

Consumer Response:


Toll Brothers chose to ignore my requests for fixing the issue from early on when I initially complained to them about this defect, which is very disappointing.

In reality, it is a defect. First, in the entire sub division, my house is the only house built by Toll Brothers that has that small driveway, all other driveways are wider that allow normal access to garage, without damaging lawn; Secondly, my driveway is so small that one inevitably will have to roll the car over the lawn area in order to get into and out of garage. Toll Brother can send their people over to examine those above two facts of defect.

It is very disappointing that Toll Brothers as a top quality luxury home builder award recipient for many years, would handle such product defect complaint so irresponsibly.

I as a consumer just request they fix the driveway size issue appropriately, so that my driveway can be used for normal access, without my lawn being damaged in normal access.

Regards,

*** ****



 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/7/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1