BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

Bozzuto Group

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 220-0100 View Additional Phone Numbers 7850 Walker Dr Ste 400, Greenbelt, MD 20770 http://www.bozzuto.com ! BBB Business Review on Bozzuto Group is being Updated by BBB!

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.



Additional Locations

  • 6401 Golden Triangle Dr Ste 200

    Greenbelt, MD 20770

  • 7850 Walker Dr Ste 400

    Greenbelt, MD 20770

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 220-0100(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

BBB's Business Review on this business is currently being updated. Therefore BBB cannot provide you with any information at this time.


Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Myself and ****** ***** applied to rent a unit in the ******** Apts ( *** ***** ****** ****) which was listed as 2458.00 per month. ****** ****** tried to convince ****** to rent a 2 bedroom without a den, which she did not want. He then replied to me by email stating" the price is questionable because there are two bedroom apartments without a den renting for more than that price. He said the price should be 2673.00 and continued to try and convince us to take a different unit. He told us that they did not have any specials at the time, but also stated later that the actual price was 3300.00 and the "special" was 2673.00. There are 3 bed 2 bath apartments on your website now that are going for 2661.00, so his 1st claim is absurd. I am now speaking with OAG (***** *******). ** ****** advised ***** that the price is 2673.00 because he had to take the apartment off the market and hold it for us for a long period of time, which is absolutely false. Someone was living in the unit and the unit was not available until September 7th, which is our move in date ( tomorrow). I have proof from documentation and emails of this deception. We move in tomorrow and would like to be charged the correct price. He advised ***** ******* that he can give the unit to us for 2458.00 if we wait to move in October. This is impossible because we have to move out of our current residence September 10th.

Desired Settlement: I would like for us to be charged the correct amount. Our next step is seeking an attorney and filing a lawsuit.this is unethical and no employee should be allowed to deceive consumers. I work hard and served my country for more than 30 years. I am hoping that this issue can be resolved today because we move in tomorrow. Once we sign our lease....because we have nowhere else to go, the only resolution will be to seek legal assistance.

Business Response: October 7, 2013
BBB of Metro Washington DC
1411 K Street NW, 10th Floor Washington DC 20005-3404
Attn: ***** ******
Dear **. ******,
In response to your letter dated September 23, 2013, we have made several attempts to work with this resident however, there continues to be several misunderstanding and/or miscommunication. We’ve attempted to meet with this resident in person however, they refuse. We thought an in person meeting would help clarify the facts.

We’ve explained the rent guidelines and the application process with her many times. Unfortunately, she still does not understand. ******** uses a lead management system called ***** ****. The purpose of this system is to manage the availability and pricing of each apartment type on a daily basis, based on market conditions. With that said, rents can change based on day of move in, length of lease, day of move out, etc. The rents are reviewed by the property manager, regional manager and a ***** **** representative. Once the pricing has been approved by all individuals, then that price is set for the day or until rents have been reviewed again. This process occurs daily Monday through Friday. The Friday rents are held through the weekend as Bozzuto’s corporate office and the ***** **** office are closed on the weekend.

The resident’s first initial visit was on Saturday, July 20, 2013. The rent that was quoted to her for a 2 bedroom den apartment home by the assistant manager was $2,673. She was in a rush that day however; the assistant manager did not want anyone else to rent the apartment that she absolutely loved. He insisted that she apply that day so no one else could rent it. Her preference at that time was to do everything online. She did attempt to hold the apartment on-line and the price at that time was $2,673.

On Monday, July 22, 2013, she returned to the office to complete the application and lease the apartment. At that point, the rents had not been reviewed so the actual rent for the apartment was the rent that was held throughout the weekend. The application was completed with the quoted rent ($2,673) on the reservation agreement that was signed. After the approval process was completed, an approval letter was emailed with the quoted rent.
This is when the inquiries in regard to the rents commenced. She mentioned that the rent online was $2,458 for the 2 bedroom den. On Friday, September 6, 2013, our office received a call from a representative from the Consumer Protection Agency. She mentioned that she did speak with the assistant manager and that he did explain the application process as well as the ***** **** procedures. She just wanted confirmation that the assistant’s explanation was accurate.

The application process and the ***** **** procedures were explained to the representative at the Consumer Protection Agency. She did seem to understand and she said she would discuss this with the resident. The resident’s move in day was set for the next day, Saturday, September 7, 2013. The ******** team worked the rest of that afternoon and into the early evening to ensure all procedures were followed accurately. We even spoke to Consumer Protection Agency a 2nd time, to ensure everyone had a plear understanding of the procedures. Again, we were told tfiat the Protection Agency would be reaching out to the resident to explain everything once again. At this point, it was late and the office had closed. After further review, it was confirmed that the rent was always $2,673 and never $2,458. We can only assume that the price for a 2 bedroom apartment home was confused with the 2 bedroom den.

On Saturday, September 7, 2013, the resident returned to the ******** office and worked with an employee on site. The decision was made to transfer the resident’s application to a 2 bedroom apartment which the employee happily took care. The residents were able to move in that day. On Monday, September 9, 2013, we contacted the team at ******** to ensure that the resident’s move went well and all concerns were resolved. The employee involved everyone that the residents were very pleased with the new floor plan, the location and the price of the 2 bedroom apartment.

We’ve apologized to the resident and were confused. All involved were given the impression that the resident was very pleased with the outcome of this misunderstanding. Again, we’ve offered to meet with them if this is not the case, but they are still refusing.

We do believe that we’ve made a good faith effort to resolve the issue but to no avail. We will continue to work with these residents to hopefully resolve their concerns.
Best Regards,

Bozzuto Management Company

Consumer Response: I do not agree with the response because non of it is true. I am attaching the email sent by ****** to ******* and *****.


On Wednesday, September 25, 2013 4:18 PM, ****** ***** <*********************> wrote:
 
 
You said that the price changes as apartments are taken off the market. You both said this to ***** also. Was the price increased because the apartment was taken off the market or was the price incorrect. This is what you stated to me and *****. I came to the office on Saturday and was not in a hurry. The two bed/bath was occupied at the time, so I could not see it that day. Who said that I was in a rush. We chose the 2bedroom after seeing the other unit, which was a blessing in disguise. This issue was handled poorly. **** was great and we chose a different unit because we didn't like the bedrooms in the ***** street unit. This was not due to assistance from you. You blew us completely off. ***** was puzzled by the responses she received and the evidence that I was able to provide. We were given the option of taking things further and being referred to an attorney. Your email implies that she agreed with you all and that was not the case. The email, screenshots of the websites on 10 days, and verbal responses does not agree with what you are saying now. I decided to drop it because I like the unit we are in now. ******* wanted to pursue other options. If you would have addressed the issue initially, you would have had the information more accurately. Not sure if this is just an isolated incident, because no one is perfect, and everyone has an off day at some point. But please..... do not try to justify any of this. The price was never listed as 2673.00 online. I have screen shots of the website all the way up until 8/22/2013. The price was listed as 2458.00. As I stated before, we are trying to drop it but please don't try and make it seem as we are lying.....because we are not. We have the proof through emails and screen shots of the website starting from July 20th to August 22. Let me know what you would like to do. 


I am also including a screen shot of the website with the price listed as 2458. We are asking for one month free rent for all our troubles. It is very clear that the management team has some unethical and dishonest practices.





 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

******* *****








Business Response: November    12,    2013
BBB of Metro Washington DC   
1411 K Street NW, 10th Floor Washington DC 20005-3404

Attn: ***** ******
Dear **. ******,

Thank you for following up.

I’ve spoken to the residents again and have apologized for the misunderstanding.

In good faith, we have offered ****** ***** and ******* ***** one month free which will be taken in November 2013.

Please let me know if you have further questions.

Best Regards,

Bozzuto Management Company

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

******* *****


I asked ******* for two months. The one month was posted by error. I spoke with ******* about this already. This was not a mistake but flat out dishonesty. She was not honest with us or you all. It is clear from our evidence that integrity is not this company's strong suit. What they did was not right at all. There have been lawsuits from situations like this . They had more than enough time to right this wrong correctly. 





BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with **** ***** ***** at the leasing office of the ***** *** * ************ ****** community on approx. 5/6/13. I indicated to **** I was relocating to DC from Missouri and I was interested in leasing an apartment. **** did a great job explaining current specials and helping me select a 1bd unit at the ***** 130. **** informed me in order to hold the unit I needed to sign a reservation agreement and pay a $500 deposit. Next, **** asked if I was bringing any pets and I responded I planned to adopt a puppy once I got settled in DC but not prior to move-in. **** told me having a puppy was fine and that I should notify the leasing office after adoption in order to pay a $500 pet deposit fee and so an additional $50/mo. could be added to my rent. I understood the pet policy and the terms of the reservation agreement so I signed the agreement and paid the $500 deposit indicating a move-in date of 6/15/13. Several days later the puppy breeder I’ve been working with informed me a litter would available to adopt on June 1st. Immediately I emailed **** in order to pay the $500 pet deposit, however, **** instructed me the breed I was interested in adopting was a “restricted breed” and therefore was not allowed in the community. Afterward I informed **** I wouldn’t be able to lease the apt. because of the policy and I requested a full refund of the reservation $500 deposit. He refused even though language in the reservation agreement states that if an applicant’s application is denied for any reason the reservation deposit will be refunded. No language in the reservation agreement speaks to the company’s pet policy therefore I was unaware of the breed restriction prior to signing the agreement. If I had been aware of the policy I would not have signed the reservation agreement. Although my application was denied I have not received a refund. **** informed me a manager would be in contact with me to discuss the situation further, but after multiple days, I have not heard from anyone in ****’s office. As a result, I request a refund of the $500 reservations deposit.

Desired Settlement: Refund

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was relocating from South Africa to live in the USA and found this apartment online. The agreement I had verbally with the leasing agent was to hold an apartment for two weeks and I would review immediately upon arrival in the USA. I also signed an agreement which they insisted on. They requested a 500 USD fee, which I paid. I made it very clear that I needed to see the apartment before I could finalise any lease. On arrival into the USA which was the 22 August 2012, I immediately went to view the apartment. I did not find it suitable it was much smaller than shown on the internet and there were various things not right. I told the agent, I will let them know the next day whether I will be taking the apartment. The next day I went to the leasing office and advised that I will not be signing the lease, as the apartment did not meet my needs and I would like my deposit back. Upon which time I was told they would need to check with the manager etc. This went on for a couple of days and then they refused to give me back my deposit. I can furnish you with the trail of correspondence etc. Please could you assist me to recover my funds.See message below from leasing staffDear *********,It is unfortunate that you will not be residing at The *********. Please understand that any cancellation notifications received after 48 hours of taking an apartment home off of the market will not receive a refund of the initial application fee or security deposit. If you have any further questions or if you would like a copy of the Reservation Agreement please do not hesitate to get in contact with me.Sincerely,****** *****Assistant Property Manager | The *********Bozzuto Management CompanyFounded on Values. Built on Integrity**** * **** ****** * ********* ** *****Phone ***** ******** | Fax ***** ********

Desired Settlement: All I would like is to get my deposit back.I worked with them on good faith as a new arrival into this country. It also turned out the the agent I was dealing with intially had since left and found another job.

Business Response:

**** *** ******************9:54 AM (37 minutes ago)to me, *******Dear ***** ******, Thank you for your letter regarding ** ******** ****.  I understand from her complaint that she would like to have her holding deposit refunded.  The reservation agreement she signed clearly states that any cancellations received after 48 hours will not receive a refund.  Though she agreed to this, we will refund her the security deposit amount back. Please confirm the following is her current mailing address: **** ********* ***** ******* ************** ** ***** Thank you, **** ***
Property Manager | The *********
Bozzuto Management Company
1425 S Eads Street | Arlington VA 22202
Phone ***** ******** * *** ***** ********
www.theparamountapartments.com | www.bozzuto.com
Voted Nation’s Best Management Company by NAHB®

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

********* ****

I confirm my address is

**** ********* ***** ******** *** ***** ********** **

My postal address has changed :

Please use:

********* ****

 

**** ****** *** *********** ** *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service