BBB Accredited Business since

Bozzuto Group

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 220-0100 Fax: (301) 486-1306 View Additional Phone Numbers 6406 Ivy Ln Ste 700, Greenbelt, MD 20770

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bozzuto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bozzuto Group include:

  • 24 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bozzuto Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 22, 1999 Business started: 04/19/1988
Business Management
Mr. Thomas S Bozzuto, President Mr. Sheldon Erb, DAM, ARM, Regional Portfolio Manager, NY/NJ/PA Mr. Thomas M Farasy, Vice President Mr. Tom Fox, Manager of New Construction Ms. Mary D O'Neill, Asst. to the Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas S Bozzuto, President
Principal: Mr. Sheldon Erb, DAM, ARM, Regional Portfolio Manager, NY/NJ/PA
Principal: Mr. Thomas M Farasy, Vice President
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary D O'Neill, Asst. to the Chairman
Business Category

Real Estate Developers Property Management Home Builders Mason Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Bozzuto Group - Landscape Bozzuto Group - Mortgage Bozzuto Management Company

Additional Locations

  • 6401 Golden Triangle Dr Ste 200

    Greenbelt, MD 20770

  • 6406 Ivy Ln Ste 700

    Greenbelt, MD 20770 (301) 220-0100 (301) 220-0100 (866) 698-7513


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
7/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchase a condo from Bozzuto. The overall experience was a negative one due to mis representation of build plans to finished product, but all of this came to a head when I realized that Bozzuto not only installed the the incorrect color/type of floors in the unit I purchase. Upon comparing my floors to the floors of the other units in the building, I determined that the wrong flooring had been installed. During my home walk through(pre-purchase), I was concerned that the floors were not the correct ones and questioned the Bozzuto homes representative that was walking me through the unit. He assured me that the floors in the unit were *** *** Oak(the ones I had selected in my contract). It wasn't until several weeks later upon my own personal reconnassaince that I was able to ascertain that the wrong floors had been installed and that I had been lied to. I contacted Bozzuto two weeks ago and asked for reimbursement of the cost the replace the floors and any additional expenses incurred; i.e. moving all of my belongings out of my condo, storing them, moving them back in, hotel, etc.. It took Bozzuto two weeks to "confirm" that I they installed the incorrect floors and did not agree to reimburse me for the aforementioned expenses.

Desired Settlement: I would like Bozzuto to pay me the sum associated to the cost of replacing and installing the floors including any ancillary expenses associated with this process.

Business Response:

October 30, 2015

Dear *** ******:
Please be advised that this firm represents the Bozzuto Group. I write on behalf of my client to respond to the above referenced complaint.
This dispute has been ongoing for some time. *** ******** has retained counsel and asserted claims against Bozzuto relating to the flooring in his condominium unit. I have been defending the claim on behalf of Bozzuto. Earlier this week, the parties reached an agreed upon settlement of the dispute. I expect a formal settlement agreement will be executed shortly, and that *** ******** will be withdrawing his claim with the
Please contact me if you wish to discuss this matter further.


Kevin S.

11/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: AS per my profession, this is a written record of events surrounding my tenancy of ****** ***** apartment homes in Gaithersburg, MD at *** ****** ** as owned by ****** ***** communities, and managed by Bozzuto management group. I moved in with my wife uneventfully in October 2013 and we began occupancy of Apt #****. The lease we signed was considerably unconventional, as part of the lease we recieved ~$3000 dollars worth of gift cards, that we were expected to either deposit into our account or use a payment service to forward the gift card to the leasing company, it is worth noting these were provided explicitly as a 'gift' but if they were not returned the rent would increase substantially over the negotiated rate. These gift cards were supposedly a 'concession' that would lower the rent to the advertised rate of 2050$ per month. The rent itself was naturally closer to 2400$ but assuming you took the gift cards, and then forwarded the money to the landlord, you would pay the advertised rate. Additionally, discounts were listed, such as 50$ a month off parking, 25$ off pet fee and additional miscellaneous line items. Each discount naturally was met with a charge, such as for parking, pets, and trash removal. Although the advertised rate was 2050$ for rent, the actual rate for the apartment was something like 2400$ rent, + 100$ parking per car + 50$ per pet, +35$ trash removal, and then followed by "-300 rental concession, -50 car concession etc". After January 2014, pregnant with our first child we requested that we transfer to a new apartment. My wife visited the leasing office as she was anxious to get the process started, and she had time while she was home preparing for the delivery. The leasing office assured her that if we paid a 500$ transfer fee that everything would be fine. I presented a cashier's check for 500$ to the leasing office, and was promptly queried for a new security deposit. They explained that the new apartment would have a new lease attached to it, and that I would receive a refund of my previous security deposit. We were moving into the new apartment on March 12th, and for perception it is important to establish that I had paid rent in full $2065 for March 2014 for the previous apartment. My last day of tenancy was on 03/11/2014, with the entire balance of March being paid for, as well as a security deposit of 1000$ being held in custody by the landlord, ****** *****//Bozzuto. My family and I have had an excellent tenancy history in all of our previous properties, have never been denied a security deposit, and lived in this current property for 4 months. I hope I have now set the stage, and provided a background for the inexplicable events to take place. I will include verbatim quotes, as well as the specific amounts of currency whenever possible. I inquired with the leasing office regarding the status of my security deposit while getting a package later in March. JP, a taller blonde male associate, explained that there were some carpet issues in the place, and that I would be getting a reduced deposit. I inquired whether there were charges and what I would be getting back. JP explained that I would be getting back in the range of $500. This was much lower than my initial security deposit of 1000$ and JP immediately said that whatever amount was returned to me, I had to give back to them to cover rent on the new apartment. I was aghast, as my entire rent for the month had supposedly been paid, and I requested that JP provide me a copy of all the charges incurred in cleaning the old apartment. The refund I recieved for #**** was 549$. Despite both verbal and written requests for either damages, or charges incurred in repair no documentation of any sort was provided. Additionally the low amount returned, especially considering rent to be paid for the month resulted in three conversations each increasingly more vehement. My first conversation occured with Karl, a taller dark haired male associate. This was on 04/11/2014, I was very agitated in approaching the leasing staff as I was aware of the numerical inconsistencies. If anything I was livid under the impression that half of my security deposit as well as all of the rent paid in march had been forfeited. On 04/01 I had recieved a bill for #**** including none of the payments I had made to date to Bozzuto, and include past charges for 03/12 - 03/31/2014. In asking Karl to detail what exactly transpired he provided an extremely evasive statement noted here "I'm not sure what happened, You'll need to talk to Tanya I understand there were some adjustments we tried to make it better for you (sic?) and maybe you dont want to bring this up again". The effect was that the new apartment was started under a new lease, and all the charges were due short of the deposit I had paid, an additional background check fee was charged to me and my wife. The previous lease for Apartment ****, had been terminated as if I were a resident of disrepute, and a large portion of both my March rent, and security deposit was forfeit. I immediately arranged a subsequent meeting with Tanya, the property manager on site. Tanya was able to meet with me on 04/12 and I went over the charges on both apartments. Again, Tanya said something very unusual "I dont know how these numbers came about, I'm the one who calculates them, who knows I may have been drunk". Again, such in context. Tanya recalculated the numbers using a method unknown to me, and provided a revised calculation showing that they were to return an additional 1322$ to me. Tanya mentioned the charges resulting in a reduced security deposit, but again failed to provide a written record of any charges incurred. Subsequent Tanya was not able to issue a check on the spot, but instead indicated the corporate office would send one. When the check failed to arrive after 10 days we contacted the leasing office the next day on 04/22 and the check arrived on 04/23 in an overnight envelope. The check was dated 04/22. I still identified accounting discrepancies in the paperwork for both of the units, but was not able to start a dialog with Tanya, as she referred me to legal remedies. Based on all of my previous experiences, I found the management staff extremely evasive in their answers despite any absence or failure to pay them on my part. In the end I deduced that my initial lease at #**** was cancelled as if I had abadoned it, and a significant portion of the 'concessions' used to secure the lease were considered forfeit. In essence, I was penalized for switching apartments, as if I had abdicated the initial lease. I suspect this contributed to both my reduced security deposit. During my residency at both apartments, we found issues relating to unit construction and maintenance. In apartment ****, it took more than 5 requests for the management office to repair a consistently leaking toilet. A technician was dispatched each time, but failed to make comprehensive repairs until corporate was contacted in frustration. Despite any number of requests, there is still a light in disrepair in #****, the flood light above the staircase, is supposedly in such an inaccessible location, that it is not possible for any of the technicians working to replace it. Despite my written request, the work was never done, and was stated as such. I chose not to pursue this request as one light does not significantly impact my living, but this is representative of the pervasive pattern of failure exhibited by the staff. In #****, there have been more than 10 requests for the AC to be repaired, and as of January 2015, it appers to be working. Throughout November and December we recieved $270 and $540 bills from pepco respectivelly as our AC unit was malfunctioning and had unchecked energy usage. Having been tipped off by the unusual energy bill, we investigated the AC, and after asking for another repair it appears to have been restored. The repair orders should be visible in the ticket tracking system, and the AC motor in **** has been replaced twice. I have always paid my dues as per my lease agreement on time, in full, and made additional arrangements to make any payments required of me whether or not they were reasonable or appropriate at the time. Despite me fulfilling the relatively simple terms of my tenancy, I found that my problems were disregarded, I recieved no clear information, or communication from the managing agency, and I have ample reason to suspect I was financially taken advantage of during this entire process. I will be moving 03/01/2015 to a new place, and I have never been happier to say I am moving. Update 03/30/2015 ****** ***** has returned a security deposit check for 987.41. There is some allusion made to stains that had to be cleaned, and a cleaning charge incurred. No details for the amounts of charges, or the actual costs was provided. There does not appear to be any evidence of interest having been accrued on the deposit. The summary of payments made to ****** *****, and the checks recieved in response are below. 03/01/2014 Paid final rent paid for #****, $2065.00 //// This is the last payment for Unit ****, bringing it current with rent through March 2014. Additionally there is a 1000$ deposit pending. March needed to be paid for 11 days of 31, which should have provided a rent refund in the range of 65% ~1342$. The total rebate for this apartment should be approximately 2342$. 03/06/2014 Paid ****** ***** given check for $1500.00 Certified Deposit for #**** 03/07/2014 Paid ****** ***** paid 62$ for another set of background check fees for #****? Why was this necessary twice? 04/01/2014 Paid 2166$ Rent for Unit **** 04/03/2014 Paid 348$ Rent for Unit **** (for tail end of March) 04/10/2014 ****** ***** shortchanges Security deposit $549 for #**** 04/23/2014 ****** ***** provides another check for $1322.61 #**** 05/01/2015 Paid 2800$ 700$ higher than normal rent to make up for remaining March balance.

Desired Settlement: There was no damage done to either apartment. I have a detailed record of all payments made and received, and I want a detailed analysis of the billing ledger for both apartments.

Business Response:

October 19, 2015

Dear *** ******,

Thank you for the correspondence regarding the complaint by *** ****** *******. Throughout *** *******'s tenure at ****** *****, we have made every effort to resolve his concerns promptly. The complaints forwarded to us are based on the validity of his security refund and Our duty to provide him with necessary explanations throughout the refund process. In lieu of his complaints, *** ******* was informed in writing regarding the status of his security deposit refund and the amount on March 26, 2014. The letter was sent via United States Postal Service to his last known address.

In regard to the questionable nature of the rent structure, the charges were clearly identified and acknowledged by both parties in a Reservation Agreement, signed and dated on October 16", 2013, as well as on his Lease Agreement, signed and dated on October 24th, 2013.

On March 3, 2014, *** ******* requested an apartment transfer that we granted due to personal concerns. Usually, there is a transfer fee associated with changing apartments during the lease term, but as a courtesy, the fee was waived and applied to the rent on the new apartment. He has a question concerning the amount of the refund provided to him upon move out of *** ****** ***** #****, Gaithersburg, MD ***** (03/11/2014). The total refund to *** ******* for apartment #**** was $1,881.70 (check #: **** $549.09 & check #: **** $1,332.61). This is consistent with the entire backup provided to *** *******.

He also questioned the amount of the refund provided to him upon move out of *** ****** ***** #****, Gaithersburg, MD *****. After vacating apartment ****, *** ******* received a refund of $987.40. The total refund provided to the resident for apartment #**** did not include the final water bill. We waived this final bill as we decided to forgo charging the cost in as a final courtesy for *** *******.

In response to the service requests concerning his air conditioning unit, please note that our onsite maintenance inspected the unit within 24 hours and worked diligently to resolve the issues. Each Subsequent service request was also responded to within 24 hours. The A/C motor was replaced within 3 business days and our maintenance team made *** *******'s apartment priority.
We appreciate *** *******'s residency at ****** and value him as a resident. I look forward to hearing from you and resolving this situation.

Thank you,

Kris H.

Regional Portfolio Manager

10/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ****** did not properly disclose that deposit will not be refunded if a perspective tenant changes their mind. I went to the The ****** Located at **** ***** ***** ******* Alexandria, VA ***** to reserve a apartment to rent from their. At the time of me asking about the apartment I was told that the initial amount to move into the apartment was just over $1,500.00. I signed a document stating my intent to move into the ****** and gave my information so that they would take the 350.00 deposit. At the time I was told that if I had my application declined then I would receive all funds back, nothing other than that was discussed. After my initial application was approved I was told that I would now owe $2,879.00 upon moving in a substantial increase due to a large security deposit required. I could not afford this much of an outlay at the begging of the lease with moving expenses. At first I tried to ask the company to change the amount of move in and spread the amount of the security deposit over a couple of months but they refused to do that as well. Because of these actions I decided to go in another direction than rent an apartment at the ******. When I informed the ****** of this, they informed me that I would not be getting the $350 back due to "****, The following is copied from the reservation agreement: CANCELLATION (to a specific address): If for any reason you, the Applicant(s) decide to cancel this Application for Residency while assigned to a specific apartment address, the reservation and application fees will not be refunded. DENIALS: If for any reason your application is denied, the reservation fee will be refunded, but application fees will not. Kathleen M***** Sales and Marketing Associate The ****** " To me this is unsatisfactory, it is wrong of a business not to disclose this critical information when signing a document then change the terms of an agreement, and then withhold funds from someone when they change the deal to something that is unacceptable. I am asking for a full refund of the 350 deposit.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund of my deposit from the ******. They did not disclose that they would withhold these funds at the time of my signing the documents

Business Response:

April 17th, 2015

Dear ****,

We would like to apologize for any confusion that occurred during the leasing process. As a Bozzuto managed community, The ****** does follow the same guidelines and procedures with every interested party that reserves an apartment. In doing so, we require that each prospective resident review and sign documentation with information outlining what is expected of him or her prior to move in. Such documentation is the reservation
agreement that **** mentions in his letter,

When processing one's application, management cannot predict the outcome of the credit. Once an applicant submits documentation, we collect application and associated fees to reserve the home of their choice, We also provide an afternative if an applicant receives credit approval with “Conditions”. We will let the applicant know that he or she can add a co-signer to the account for an additional $50 if approved, to maintain the $350 security deposit, or we can accept a one-month security deposit in addition to the rent upon move-in. Since **** decided not to keep the apartment after informed he was accepted with conditions, this was considered a cancellation, As such we do keep all fees paid at the time of application, as the apartment was taken off the market and held for
two weeks.

Again, we do apologize if these was not clearly discussed during the feasing process. In good faith, we would like to
refund his $350 reservation fee.

Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Heidi K.

Property Manager

6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 28th 2015, there was a letter put on every residents door that a Valet Fee of $25 will be charged every month in everyone's rent for our trash being picked up at our personal doors. And that this Valet Fee is not an option. That we cannot OPT OUT!!!The rental office did not notify me that they were thinking about getting rid of the trash bins located at the back of the property. They need to find another option to get rid of the residents trash, without making demands that the residents will pay whatever they say the Rental Property said we will pay.I pay $1,742 in rent for a year, and will be signing another year lease of $1,800 or so (I do not have the previous letter they sent me in front of me at this time, but I believe my rent for another year will be 1,853). However, with this fee my rent will go up quite substantially.I pay separate from rent: Gas; Electric; and water. in which this have included in my rent. Even with the water they included in my rent during my lease period, I was not asked to have it included. I figured it's only a few dollars, so I made no fuss.

Desired Settlement: I did not ask for this Valet Fee, nor do I want it. It was never ask of me if I would want such a fee. If I had been asked, I would have said no I do not want this fee.After the business is contacted about this fee, I do not want them to try other means of getting monies from me without my permission, or given an option.

Business Response:

June 5, 2015
To Whom It May Concern:
Thank you for bringing this issue to my attention. *** ******* has been contacted and assured that he will not incur a valet trash fee until next year upon his lease renewing. He was very happy with this information. Also, we confirmed his renewal rate of $25 versus the $100 increase indicted in his letter for May's renewal.
Please feel free to contact us should you require additional information.
Danelse C

Regional Associate

3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved into **** ***** at ******** Metro apartments in August of 2013. In November of 2013 it was discovered that we had gotten bed bugs due to our neighbors, and after several treatments the issue was not resolved so the building moved us to another unit on the same floor. We spent hundreds of dollars on supplies to launder and prepare for treatments as well as having to dispose of personal items and furniture to combat the infestation. Upon moving units the new unit had a broken AC system and would not cool the apartment below 79 degrees that was causing our power bill to jump from 60-70 dollars a month to 200-300 dollars a month. Additionally the AC was supposed to be billed through a submetering company so we were only supposed to be liable to pay for a fan on our electric bill. The apartment failed to resolve the issue citing that it was a hot time of year and the charges were normal. After threatening legal action, it was found that there was a leak in the system causing freon to leak and not run effectively. Upon moving out of the unit we were charged exorbitant fees that did not match information provided to us about damage fees prior to moving out. It was cited that this sheet was for other properties owned by the property that were different than our unit, although this was never disclosed that this could be the case. Most of the damages charged were not brought up as an issue during a pre move out inspection where the damages in question were clearly visible. The "damage" cited by the property is nothing beyond normal wear and tear and an attempt to gouge us for additional money.

Desired Settlement: We would like to request a refund for the 1200 dollar floor damage charge, 160 dollars for the **** **** dressers that had to be thrown away, 100 dollars for supplies related to bed bugs (trash bags, large ziploc bags, laundry detergent, increased utilities), 325.30 for the charges for stained carpet that was due to a reaction of chemicals sprayed for bed bug treatment with the bed frame, 200 dollars for miscellaneous items discarded during bed bug treatment (framed wall art, canvas paintings, picture frames), and 700 dollars for increased power bill due to improper AC repairs. Total refund sought: 2685.30

Consumer Response: From: **** ****** <*********************>
Date: Thu, Mar 26, 2015 at 3:07 PM
Subject: Fwd: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #********.
To: **************


I have resolved this complaint with the business. I was unable to send a message through the website though. 


3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live at *** Apartments, managed by the Bozzuto group. My apartment is adjacent to the pool rooftop lounge. On the wall that we share, there are speakers that play music into the rooftop lounge area. When these speakers are on, I can hear them in my apartment. They disturb me greatly. I have made countless attempts to resolve this problem with the apartment management, as well as the Bozzuto group, but to no avail. I am writing to the BBB because I do not know what to do to have peace and quiet in my own apartment. Note that my lease agreement states: "Residents are asked to refrain from making or permitting any disturbing noises by members of their household or guests. The loud playing of stereos, televisions or musical instruments, and any noisy or boisterous conduct which would disturb the peace of other residents is absolutely prohibited. A violation of this provision is grounds for eviction." *** and Bozzuto need to hold themselves to the same standards that they hold their residents to in the lease agreement.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is that the music that plays on the pool rooftop lounge be permanently disconnected. All I want is peace and quiet in my apartment.

Business Response:

I am writing in response to the letter we received, dated Thursday, March 19, 2015 with ID number ********. We thank you for your letter and for the opportunity to respond.

| have been in contact with the resident and believe we have found a mutual solution to this problem. Mr. ******** had not been able to enjoy his home due to music from the pool deck. Once he brought it up to our attention the team at *** disconnected the wires to the speakers which made the resident very happy. However, several weeks later and unbeknown to us, we discovered that a different resident had reconnected the cables to the speakers and was playing loud music from his personal ****. Once Mr. ******** brought this up to our attention we addressed it immediately and removed the speakers altogether from the pool area. The speakers were removed on March 19th and a rent credit was issued to Mr. ******** for his patience while we resolved this issue. My last correspondence with Mr. ******** took place on March 20th.

it is our number one goal to ensure our residents can enjoy their homes. will make sure to follow up with Mr. ******** today to confirm his concerns have been addressed to his satisfaction.

Thank you again for the opportunity to respond. Feel free to reach me at ###-###-#### with any questions or concerns.


Adanise C****

Regional Portfolio Manager

Bozzuto Management

Consumer Response: The problem has been solved to my satisfaction.

3/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern: I received an email dated January 13, 2015 from Ellie G********, Assistant Manager of Chatsworth Park Apartments in Manassas Virginia stating that I owed them $46.50, for unpaid utilities from 09-25-14 to 10-25-14 and a carpet stain. I paid the utility charges the first of every month as part of my rent check. I can provide copies of my rent checks for every month of my 3 years of living there. The dollar amounts of each check varies slightly based on that month’s utility charges. I had a moving company move my furniture out on Thursday, October 23. The following morning I cleaned the apartment. That afternoon, Friday, October 24, I turned in my keys and Ellie and I did a final walk through. Ellie kept saying how clean the apartment was. She also commented on a stain on the carpet and kept asking me if I had a pet. I had to keep reminding her that I did have a dog who had passed away on Wednesday October 22nd. She told me they would be in touch the following Monday or Tuesday about the possible stain on my carpet after the carpet guy came in to check it. I never heard from them. I paid a surety bond and a pet fee for 35 months and Ellie still said I might owe for “damage” to the carpet. Isn’t the pet fee because there is the possibility of “damage” to the unit? What was the surety bond for if not to pay for possible damage to the unit? Ellie also said that since I was moving out before the end of my lease, I would only be responsible for the rent for November because they had access to the unit to prepare for the next tenant. Since utility charges are supposed to be based on usage and since I wasn’t living, I don’t see how they could consider charging me. Typical of Chatsworth, I received a rent bill for November that included a pet fee (they were told in my letter saying I wasn’t renewing the lease that the dog would not be there-thought he would be moving with me) and utilities. I called Martiza. She apologized and told me to just pay the prorated rent. I got another bill on November 24th for December rent even though my lease expired at the end of November. I called and spoke to Martiza who told me that it was their mistake that I got the bill because the two systems they used do not match up. She told me again that my balance was zero dollars and I did not owe them any more money. On top of my other concerns…… the bill I received referred to the address of **** ****** *** ****. I lived at **** ****** **** ****. This email was dated 81 days after I turned in my keys. Isn’t it time for Chatsworth to leave me alone? I don’t owe them any money.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to leave me alone.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

Complaint ID #********

After receiving your file, the amount due of $46.50 was an oversight and we are very sorry for the inconvenience.  Your account has been corrected and we thank you for bringing it to our attention.  Please feel free to contact us for any documentation.

We would love to hear back from you with any other questions or concerns.

Kind Regards

Lori O*****

Property Manager

Chatsworth Part Apts.

1/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I currently serve in the United States Army and because of my job I travel frequently. On December 11th 2014 I went out of town for work and returned on January 6th 2015. Upon my return I realized that one of my cars was not where I had parked it. I went to the office of my apartment complex ****** ******* ****** and was notified that my car was towed because the apartment complex switched to a new windshield sticker. She told me that my car was towed on December 13th 2014, two days after I left for work. The car sat at the tow yard for 23 days and accrued $1,300 in fees for sitting so long. I pay $75 a month to ****** ******* ****** to park this car because I have 2 vehicles. The manager ** ******** ********* said that because the car was sitting at the tow yard for so long that there was nothing that she could do. I contacted the tow company that the apartments go through and was able to get the vehicle out of the tow yard by paying $800. The manager said she sent out two notifications about the sticker change, both of which I did not receive. The management sends out notifications by placing flyers on the doors of tenants. Theses flyers can easily fall and get picked up by the cleaning personnel who clean the hallways every morning. I notified Ms Thompson that I was only in town for 3 days during December, 10 days in November, and 12 days in October and during my time at home I did not receive any notification. I have orders indicating the days I was gone during this period. each windshield sticker has a serial number on it. I gave her the make, model, and license plate number of each of my vehicles when I moved into the apartment complex so they knew that my vehicles had a right to be parked. Yet after the change, my vehicle was still towed. I asked *** ******** to credit the $800 that I paid to get my vehicle back to my next months rent (February 2015). She told me that she cant do that unless corporate tells her to. I called the Buzzuto Corporate office at ###-###-#### and was transferred to the ****** ******* ******'s regional manager Ms Danielle C*****. I left her a message and she has yet to get back with me. I have receipt showing how much I paid from the towing company and my lease agreement showing how much I pay per month for my vehicle to be parked at the apartment complex.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the apartment complex to credit $800 to my February 2015 rent for erroneously having my vehicle towed because of their neglect to properly notify tenets that there would be a sticker change.

Business Response:

January 16, 2015

To Whom it May Concern:

Thank you for bringing this issue to my attention. I have spoken to both, **. and **** ****** regarding the nature of this concern and we were able to resolve the matter,

A credit in the amount of $800 was applied to **. ******’s account to reimburse him for the vehicle towing fees. He will be able to apply this credit toward February's rent. Please feel free to contact us should you require additional information.


Danelle C

Regional Associate

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


***** ******

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the ***** **** community, ****** Md. Bozzuto Homes built the condo I purchased 3.5 years ago. In the past 12 months Bozzuto constructed "temporary" scaffolding at 4 locations while removing bricks from the wall of the end units to repair issues with the chimneys. This scaffolding was left in place for 9 months, the holes in our buildings were exposed to the elements during this time with only plastic and duct tape insulating them from the elements. The scaffolding was in violation of OSHA 29 CFR 1926 Subpart L, with many violations that were a direct impact to safety (e.g., overhead bricks not secured from falling onto the walkways, blocked walkways (violation of ADA), no lock-out device on ladder to keep anyone from climbing to the top of the scaffolding). I have experience in this field and notified Bozzuto and our local HOA of the issues. Bozzuto ignored my concerns. I also gave them information regarding potential mold within the walls they had left open for 9 months, again my concerns were ignored. I asked for engineering reports regarding the work done, nothing was provided. I do have all the correspondence documented. Just recently they started the same process on 4 other buildings and again have erected scaffolding that is in violation of safety and ADA laws. 9 weeks ago Bozzuto came and tore out portions of our external steps leading from our homes onto the sidewalk creating a major safety issue regarding slips, trips, and falls. I took photos and sent them to Bozzuto and asked for status of repair, they said they would get back to me, I'm still waiting. I have reminded them weekly via email and yet nothing is being done. This is a safety violation they are ignoring, if someone falls and inures themselves due to Bozzto's negligence they will be liable. In general the "customer service" I have received has been terrible with them always pointing elsewhere to blame someone/something else. I'm very unhappy with the company and the service they provide.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to fix my (and others) steps that they made unsafe 9 weeks ago and keep ignoring my request for status.

Business Response:

November 17,2014

Dear *** ******:

We represent Bozzuto Homes, Inc., the Bozzuto entity involved in the development of the condominium project where *** **** resides, ***** **** **** Condominium 1 (the “Condominium”). I write to respond to the complaint filed by *** **** with the Better Business Bureau on October 16, 2014.1

*** **** complains that Bozzuto is delaying making certain repairs to the Condominium and that its repair work is being done in a haphazard fashion and in violation of the law. *** ****’s allegations are false.

In November 2012, the Council of Unit Owners of ***** **** ***** Condominium 1 had an engineer’s study performed, which described various alleged construction defects at the Condominium. The Council of Unit Owners is the entity responsible for and in control of the operation of the Condominium. Subsequent to the engineer’s study, the Council of Unit Owners and Bozzuto entered into an agreement whereby Bozzuto would perform certain repairs at the Condominium. The repair work is extensive and has taken time to complete, but it is almost finished. Bozzuto has complied with the terms of the agreement and all applicable building codes and laws, and will continue to do so.

If you have any questions or would like to discuss this further, please contact me.

Very Truly Yours,

Kevin S.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They are full of **** and lie. The steps and railings are still not completed and they have cut the metal railings down to 3 inches off the bricks with sharp edges which makes them even more of a safety hazard if one trips, falls and impales themselves. They ( Bozzuto) deny being the ones working on the project but they have no problem sending out emails to me trying to explain the schedule and why they are delayed. Below is email traffic from the engineer (Bozzuto) and our HOA folks that have been skirting this issue for 4+ months. The work has not been completed. The message(s) are from Bozzuto. 


I have received word from our railing fabricator and they anticipate removal of the railings from BUILDINGS 1 AND 2 will happen on Wednesday or Thursday of this week.  Weather permitting, we will commence brick paver repairs immediately thereafter on these two buildings.


Please note the following updates as of 11/17/14 pertaining to the outstanding Action Items on the Repair Agreement.

Railing and Associated Paver Repairs – ML 1 and 2

BHI received Board approval on 11/12 to commence work associated with the removal and replacement of specific sections of rails and associated rail posts. 

Repairs will commence the week of 11/17 with the work to begin at Buildings 1 and 2.  Paver and mortar repairs will happen concurrently at each of the buildings after the rails have been removed.



**** ****

11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was denied for an apartment. I asked the on-site employees if they knew why. They told me to contact ********* ******** ***. I contacted the company was told that they had nothing to do with any decision making. They told me that they provide the software to the company and that is all. So I contacted the complex again and was told the same thing by Marcus S*** that couldn’t do anything for me. When I asked more detailed questions Marcus told me to contact Bozzuto through their corporate website. I did contact them and was told to contact Adanise C****. I told by Ms. C**** that I was not there decision the decision was made by ******** ******** **** ********* ******** told me that they did not know but said that I had a Tax Lien that was listed and that "might be the reason” I contacted the party for the tax lien and had the situation removed from my credit and reapplied. Again I was denied and I have no idea why and know body will tell me why or take responsibility. In addition when I called backed to the community Marcus S*** was cold, un-empathetic, and rude.

Desired Settlement: To approve my application or tell me why I am being denied. Telling someone they are being denied something but not telling them why is unacceptable. Bozzutto does not have to let me live i there apartments but they at least have to tell me why they won’t.

Business Response:

October 22, 2014

Dear ***** ******:
Thank you for your letter and for the opportunity to respond. We received your letter dated Wednesday, October 15, 2014 regarding the complaint received about ***. (ID ********).

We contacted the prospect immediately following his denial and provided him with the information he requested.
I have attached the latest documentation for your review. We will however, reach out to the prospect again and answer any other questions that he might have.

Thank you again for the opportunity to respond. Feel free to reach me at ************ with any questions or concerns.

Adanise C. 

Regional Portfolio Manager

Consumer Response:

This information is still broad and does not help me.  In addition why was I not offerred to apply with a co-signer?  If this is all they have to offer a company then I guess we can agree to disagree but this issue is not resolved.

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


****** *****

Business Response:

November 7, 2014

Dear ***** ******:
Thank you for your letter and for the opportunity to respond. We received your letter dated Tuesday, October 28, 2014 regarding the complaint received about ****. (ID ********)

I have contacted the prospect via email clarifying why a cosigner was not an option. The prospect applied for an IZ unit at our building. Because of the income constraints a cosigner is not an option in his case. In order to qualify for an IZ unit the household cannot exceed a maximum income assigned by DHCD, A consigner's income would have to be included in the prospect's household and therefore over qualify him for the apartment.

He was also concerned about the fact that his application was denied and the reason why, We have been clear from the beginning with the prospect and have notified him that the credit part of the application was rejected based on his credit scoring. We have provided him a copy of the criteria used for his review.

I have attached the email sent to the prospect for your review,

Thank you again for the opportunity to respond. Feel free to reach me at ************ with any questions or concerns.

Adanise C. 

Regional Portfolio Manager

11/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved out of ****** ****** in June. I received my last bill and pointed out billing issues. I sent them an email in June. I did not get a reply or a phone call, I assumes they corrected them. They did not correct them. Instead they sent my account to collections.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix the billing issue and cancel my account that is in collections. It is not fair that companies can put an account in collection without it being placed on my credit.

Business Response:

October 21, 2014

Dear ***** ******:
This letter is in response to the claim ID of ******** submitted on 10/15/2014 at 9:11:29 AM in regards to a rental dispute from ****** *******. *** ******* was a resident of ****** ****** apartments until 06/17/2014. At time of move out *** ******* was charged for her final rental amount and final utilities which totaled $437.88. She was also charged for some documented pet floor damage that totaled $369.00, The sum of $806.88 was emalled to *** ******* on 06/20/2014 by our Resident Accounts Manager Rouchelle D********, in the form of a Final Account Statement (FAS). On the same day (06/20/2014) *** ******* responded to Mrs. D******** at 12:50 PM with a dispute of the amount in regards to the charges for the damaged floor and asked Mrs. D******** to speak with the Property Manager Mark Hannan (myself) about these charges. I gave Mrs. D******** approval to remove the $369.00 charge for the pet floor damage because of a recent leak into *** ******'s apartment that caused them a great inconvenience as good faith. The FAS was adjusted and the damage charge removed and emailed back to *** ******* at 2:25 PM on the same day (06/20/2014) for the amount of $437.88 (final rent and utilities). That was the last communication with *** ******* as she did not respond to the last email sent by Mrs. D********. Per company policy all accounts not collected in full after 30 days are sent to our collection agency.
Please feel free to contact me with any questions about this claim and thank you for brining's this to our attention as we pride ourselves on always being responsive and fair with all our residents, vendors and other types of customers while still following all polices and housing laws and regulations.


Mark H

Property Manager

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been calling this management office for 2 weeks now, and nobody will return my calls. I moved into an apartment at 100 Park Apartments at ********** Square in PA on August 12, 2014. The 1-yr lease guaranteed that the apartment would be fully cleaned out before I moved in. Upon move in, the apartment had not been fully cleaned as promised, as there was an overwhelming curry smell from the previous tenant that has made the apartment unlivable. The kitchen is completely unusable, as all appliances are soaked with the stench, and any food I have brought into the apartment has been ruined. All of my personal items in the apartment are ruined, including a brand new mattress, from sitting in the apartment and soaking up the curry smell. The management told me they would transfer me to a different room, but couldn't do this for 2 weeks. During this 2 week wait time, they did not bother to remove the stench, nor replace my appliances, nor accommodate me elsewhere, even though the apartment was unlivable and the kitchen was unusable. I had to pay for accommodations elsewhere during this time, even though I was paying rent for the unlivable apartment in the mean time. The manager guaranteed me that the new room is the same size as my original room. After being guaranteed these measurements, I went and ordered a couch. I went to move into the new room, and the size is significantly smaller, and the couch can not be delivered, as it will not fit. I am now left without an apartment to live in, a couch that I paid for that cannot be delivered and I cannot get my money back, and my personal items ruined. It has been almost a month of renting here now, and the curry smell has still not be taken care of. On top of all this, there is a small restaurant attached to the apartment complex. They conveniently neglected to tell me that my original apartment is DIRECTLY over the dumpsters of the restaurant. Even though I came out to view the property before renting, they refused to show me the actual room OR the floor plan of the complex, so this information was neglected and I was purposefully deceived. I need a return call from the management to resolve these major problems.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate if the management could finally call me back. I also would like to be refunded for my personal items that have been ruined, including a brand new mattress. I would like to be refunded for the couch (and its delivery fee), after receiving false dimensions of the apartment, since the couch now cannot be delivered. I would also like to be partially refunded for the rent I have paid, since the apartment has been unlivable and the kitchen has been completely unusable, and I have had to make living accommodations elsewhere during this time as a result. I have tried calling and leaving messages, but nobody returns my calls, so I need to speak with someone to resolve issues.

Business Response:

September 18, 2014

Dear *** ******,
This letter is in response to your correspondence dated September 10, 2014 concerning the above referenced case number. -
Our management and leasing office at *** **** ** ********** ****** located in **********, PA was able to work with *** ****** and successfully address her concerns, Ultimately, *** ****** wanted to move out of her apartment home. There were no penalties, including termination fees, assessed when *** ****** vacated her apartment.

Our most recent correspondence with *** ****** confirms she is satisfied with the resolution. We are disappointed *** ****** will no longer be living at *** **** at ********** but believe she appreciates the property’s efforts to resolve the issues she encountered. *** ****** also has my direct contact information if she has any further questions.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or require more detail.

Keith G

Senior Vice President

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing for some assistance with a rental issue that I am having with The Bozzuto Group. When I first begin my residency at *** ****** at ******* ******** Community in May 2011-2013, I had some financial challenges on two occasions which resulted in paying my rent after the 5th of the month - April 2012 and May 2013. I was faced with expensive car repairs, and had to take money out of my 401K which doesn't happen overnight. However, the rent was paid on both occasions before the end of the month. Since then, I have applied for apartments only to be turned down, as a result of ****** reporting this to a credit agency, but failed to have this revoked. I have taken all the necessary steps in attempting to have the two failure to pay rent on time (claims) removed from my rental history, including - contacted the courthouse where the cases were filed (January 28, 2014); contacted the residency bureau, where ****** filed the cases (February 3, 2014); wrote a letter to the Assistant Property Manager (who ignored the letter)(March 12, 2014). I have now recovered from my financial challenges, and have paid my rent on-time since I returned to ****** in September 2013. This has caused a great deal of hardship in moving forward with my ability to rent an apartment!

Desired Settlement: It is time for me to renew my lease, and I am asking to renew my lease without a cosigner. Also, I'm asking for ****** to take the necessary steps to have the failure to pay rent removed from my rental history to prevent me from having any further problems if I decide to continue to rent an apartment.

Business Response:

August 28, 2014 

The Better Business Bureau

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington, DC 20005-3404

Attn: ***** ******

Re: Complaint ID: ********

******** *****

**** ***** ***** ****** **** ***

******** ** *****

Dear *** ******,

It is our goal at Bozzuto Management Company to treat all customers equally while delivering exceptional customer service.  We pride ourselves on providing an experience that is exceptional and I am very sorry to hear of the challenges that *** ***** is experiencing at ****** at ***************.  During the initial residency from May 28, 2011 through May 27, 2013, *** ***** had some financial struggles and made five late payments, two of which lead to judgments granted from the District Court of Maryland.  As a courtesy all fees were waived the first time *** ***** was late in hopes that she could get back on track with her rent.  Unfortunately, she was unable to and court proceedings commenced.   ****** does not report to credit buroes, however judgments do show up in the District Court of Maryland records and can affect a customer’s credit.  

We understand that situations can arise which could make paying rent sometimes impossible; however we must be both consistent and fair to all customers and residents.   

In September, 2013, *** ***** chose to return to ******.  During the application process it was determined that a guarantor was needed to approve the application.  Fortunately, *** ***** established a guarantor and moved in on September 28, 2013.  Several months later, *** ***** requested that the guarantor be removed from the lease.  We were happy to accommodate this wish, however, in order to have a guarantor removed *** ***** would need to be either approved for the home or establish a new guarantor.  Multiple attempts were made to qualify *** ***** as the sole leaseholder but unfortunately each time she did not qualify. As recently as August 27, 2014 *** *****’s application has been processed, at no cost to her, in an attempt to qualifier her for the apartment. The team remained in constant contact with *** ***** since then and continues to explore every avenue to keep her as a valued resident at ******.  The option to seek a new guarantor for this apartment still stands as we would love for her to continue to call ****** her home.

I welcome the opportunity to discuss the matter in detail and reach a positive resolution for *** *****.



Keith *. G*****

Senior Vice President

Bozzuto Management Company




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is not satisfactory to me. However, I was notified by the business on 8/28/2014, with an offer that was satisfactory to me. That is, to move forward with a new lease in my name only with 1 month's rent as a security deposit. I have accepted the offer, and since then, have signed my new lease which will go into effect on September 28, 2014.    

Thank you very much for intervening on my behalf! 


******** *****

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I scheduled a 3:30 appointment to take a tour of the apartments and amenities offered at the ***** ***. I heard about the property from a co-worker that currently lives there, and I was excited about checking it out. Prior to visiting the property, I called and talked to **** ***** *****. He explained what he had available and we scheduled a time for me to visit the property. I called before going to confirm that I could meet with him at 3:30. I arrived a few minutes late, but he was made aware of my arrival at 3:35. The concierge staff called **** at least twice to remind him that I was waiting. **** never arrived. I waited until about 4:10 and had to leave to return to work. I am disappointed that he did not show up for the scheduled appointment, and no one else from the leasing office made themselves available for the tour. **** has not even called to apologize for not showing up or to reschedule the appointment. As a former Bozzuto resident, I'm extremely disgusted by his behavior and other members of your staff that did not offer to help. The customer service that I received today was terrible, and I would not recommend the property to others based no my experiences today.

Desired Settlement: Apology and disciplinary actions against **** ***** *****.

Business Response: April 21, 2014

The Bozzuto Group received a customer service complaint from The Better Business Bureau (ID *******) and appreciates the opportunity to respond.

We apologize that this prospective resident did not receive the superior level of customer service that we expect at every Bozzuto property.

We would like the opportunity to schedule a personalized tour with the complainant at her convenience. Please ask the customer to contact the property General Manager, *** **** **** directly at ###-###-#### at her convenience.

Please extend our deepest apologies to this customer, and should she have any further concerns, we encourage her to contact the Regional Manager responsible for this property, ******** *****, who can be reached directly at ###-###-####.

Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Bozzuto Group
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart