BBB Accredited Business since

InvestorPlace Media LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 250-2200 Fax: (301) 963-0430 View Additional Phone Numbers 9201 Corporate Blvd, Rockville, MD 20850 http://www.investorplace.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that InvestorPlace Media LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for InvestorPlace Media LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on InvestorPlace Media LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 25, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 12/20/2006 in MD
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Erik Henry, Manager of Cust. Comm. & Rpt.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Penny Donelson, Executive Director of Cust. Contact Sys & Svcs
Principal: Mr. Erik Henry, Manager of Cust. Comm. & Rpt.
Business Category

Publishers - Periodical Investment Advisory Service Magazine Sales by Mail

Alternate Business Names
Phillips International, Inc Phillips Investment Resources LLC
Additional Information

The BBB originally opened its file on Phillips International. According to information provided by the company, Phillips International was acquired by Avista Capital Partners in February, 2007. The company no longer operates as Phillips International, Inc., but now is known as InvestorPlace Media, LLC.


Additional Locations

  • 9201 Corporate Blvd

    Rockville, MD 20850

  • One Massachusetts Ave NW

    Washington, DC 20001

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov. 22, I subscribed Louis Emerging Growth for $995. The emaila ddress I used is *******************. I then requested to cancel to use another ctredit card. The bil***g address is **** ******* *** ******* ** ***** charged on my iwfe's (**** ***) credit card. The subscriber's name is me (**** ***). But, now, I found InvestorPlace refuses full refund becasue its cstomer service sdaid it is pro rated. The problem is that first, it is this company's fault who did not cancel my service when they agreed to when I called in; Second, I did not use any of the service since I used another subscribption; Third, from the date I subscribed to the date I called to cancel, they did not provide any service at all.

Desired Settlement: 50

Business Response:

I have reviewed the customers accounts and orders and find that our customer service department has handled the situation appropriately.  Let me provide all the order history and details that led me to that conclusion.

Customer ordered Emerging Growth on***e on 10/07/2013 (Order confirmation # *-********).  He used the following order information:

      Ship to: **** ***, ***** ********* ****** ******* ****** ** *****, **********************

      Bill to: ***** ***, **** ******* *** ******* ** *****, *******************, ********** ending in ****

 The online order page the customer used to order is in the attached document (key code ******).  The offer was one year of Emerging Growth for $995.00 with a 90 day full money back guarantee.  The customer called in on 11/22/2013 around 7:22pm EST and canceled that subscription.  Since the cancel was within the 90 day full money back guarantee period, a full refund of $995.00 was released to the ** ending in **** on 11/22/2013.  The order was assigned to account number ******* in our database.

Customer ordered Emerging Growth online on 11/22/2013 around 7:23pm EST (Order confirmation # **********).  He used the following order information:

    Ship to and Bill to: **** ***, **** ******* *** ******* ** *****, **********************, ********** ending in ****

 The online order page the customer used to order is in the attached document (key code ******).  The offer was two years of Emerging Growth for $995.00 with no full money back guarantee period.  The customer could cancel at any time but would only receive a pro-rated refund for time unused.  This subscription, as of 12/16/2013, remains active.  From 11/22/2013 until today InvestorPlace Media has been serving subscription content to **********************.  The order was assigned to account number ******** in our database.

On 11/26/2013, the customer called in to customer service and provided information that led the customer service representative to find account *******.  It's not clear to me as to why this happened, but another order was placed by the customer service representative on this account using key code ****** for 2 years at $995.00.  It was charged to a **** card ending in ****.  On 12/13/2013 this subscription was canceled as a result of another call by the customer.  A refund of $970.47 was released to the **** card that day but the situation was referred to a supervisor for further review.  The supervisor located the second order on account ******** and therefore authorized an additional refund of $24.53 that was released today 12/16/2013.  So the customer has been given a full refund of $995.00 at this point.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

(1) As the company said, I am the person who subscrbed both newsletters. There is no reason for me to subscribe it twice at the same time. (2) As I subscriber, I have the right to knwo my subscription status. But, last week, when I asked my subscrption status, the xcompany refused to tell me and told me that only the person who paid the bill has the right to know my subscrption status. (3) If this company really took this 2 subscrptions as 2 seperate subscrptions, they should fully refund my subscrption since they have the policy that 90-days money guarrantee since the second subscrption is only 20 days much less than 90 days. But, tehy refuse to excuse this policy. Here is the link of its policy: ****************************************************** (4) yesterday, they sent me email that you would refund me the reset of over charge within 5 days. But, at the same time they tell BB and me here that they need further investigation. They are not honest.


Regards,

**** ***








Business Response: I contacted **. *** directly to reach a resolution.  He and I talked through the details and were able to reach an agreement.  The end result is that his Emerging Growth subscription is associated with the ***** ********* ****** ******* ****** ** ***** address - under **** ***'s name.  The payment associated with it is the **** ending in ****.  And **. *** can use the username of ******* to access all of his paid subscription content online.

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service