BBB Accredited Business since

Eber & Wein, Inc.

Phone: (717) 759-8065 50 E High St, New Freedom, PA 17349 http://www.eberandwein.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eber & Wein, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Eber & Wein, Inc. include:

  • 13 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Eber & Wein, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Eber & Wein, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2009 in PA Business incorporated 01/01/2009 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Timothy Doyle, Director of Communications
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy Doyle, Director of Communications
Business Category

Publishers - Book Vanity Publishers


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

They advertised a poetry contest on their website for June-December 2015. The winner(s) was supposed to be announced by the end of February and here it is March 18 2016 and still no announcement. I have sent them numerous e-mails but have never gotten one response. However they send a letter wanting me to purchase their book of poetry coming out this Spring for a special edition of the book for $49.95. I think that they just want money. Any assistance you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Melvin B****

Desired Settlement: What happened to the announcement of the contest winners?

Business Response: From: Timothy D**** <*******************>
Date: Thu, Apr 21, 2016 at 11:54 AM
Subject: RE: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania complaint #********.
To: Better Business Bureau <**************>


Regarding Mr. B****
 
The book he has been featured in has finished printing and will be arriving at our offices next week and will be shipped. As for the contest, we are anticipating releasing the results of the contest by the end of the month. We tend to release the results by the end of March but we had an unexpected surge in entries and it has taken us a bit longer to read through them all and narrow down.
 
Timothy D****
Eber & Wein Publishing

3/25/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/26/2015 Delivery Issues
10/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered for the National Amateur Poetry competition and now I am a semifinalist and so I am going to sign the proof yet Eber & Wein,Inc. has my poem upon all extent of law rights to it.

Desired Settlement: I ****** ***** upon all extent of law have all rights to my poem and no one else.

Business Response: Hello,


I am unsure as to what the actual complain is as I am only guessing as to the mean of what was written. If it is a claim over the rights to submitted work, our company never takes, or assumes the ownership or rights to anyone's work at anytime. I have included and highlighted the contest rules stating this which are mailed directly to everyone who participates.

Timothy D****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

1/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered my personal poetry into a contest for Eber and Wein publishing. My poem was to be included in their book called The Best Poets of 2014. I purchased a copy of the book and returned the copy of the poem to the editor prior to September 2014 when they needed submission by. I sent a money order in the amount of $58.95 dated 8/22/2014 USPS MO# *********** fo the purchase of said book. However, it was never sent to me and I paid for the book. That was thirteen weeks ago, they advise it only takes eight weeks to receive the book. Now I am concerned that I was scammed out of that money and that my poem may have been taken by this business. The name of my poem that I submitted was "You Are". The phone number ********** their website lists as their contact number rings and noone ever answers. It goes to a voicemail box that is full so you are never able to reach an employee or leave a voicemail. I have attempted yo also email them but they also do no respond to my emails. I would like yo receive my book if it is not a scam otherwise I would like my money back.

Desired Settlement: Would like my purchased book or my money back.

Business Response: Hello,


The book was shipped on October 28th of this year to *** ********. We have attached proof of postage paid to this message. The book was shipped media mail and can take upwards of 7 - 10 business days.  I have personally gone through all of our returns from the day the book was shipped until this morning and they did not contain *** ********'s copy. As for our contact, our phone number is indeed ###-###-#### and we are fully staffed and available Monday through Friday, 9 am to 5 pm EST.  We are also available at info@eberandwein.com. If *** ******** still has not received her book at the receipt of this message we can easily ship a new copy to her.

- Timothy D****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: After emailing them numerous times they also finally emailed me back telling me they had sent you proof that they had mailed the book. I asked for the copy of proof myself and they once again ignored me. That proof is not legit. There isnt even a tracking number therefore if they claim they sent it and i didnt receive the book purchased without a tracking number from usps I can not file a claim for lost mail. It is now been more than seven to ten business days as they said that ia how long it takes and I still havent gotten the book I purchased. I am not satisfied and would prefer a resolution.


Regards,

******* ********








1/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted a poem to one of their contests. It was supposedly published in one of their books-a collection of poetry that people had submitted to their contest and the book was available for purchase for a price. I sent in the money and never received the book. I keep getting letters and e-mails encouraging me to buy the book by sending in the money. But I had already done that and never received the book. I have called them several times and they always have a reason, but I still haven't received the book after 2-3 years of waiting

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the book. The poem has supposedly been entered into the Library of Congress, so I can't use it to enter another contest. If they are not going to send the book, I would like the money back.

Business Response: After speaking with *** ********* twice yesterday, we have explained that we have mailed her book tiwce, to two different addresses, one of which she insists is correct, and both times the book has been returned labeled "RTS - Returned to Sender, no such number" stating that the address does not exist. After again insisting it does, we asked her to speak directly with her post office to verify and now that she has done so, have already shipped another copy of the book.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I did finally receive the book today, after waiting 2-3 years.  Thank you very much!

Regards,

****** *********

11/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told to return the book and plaque to them for a full refund. Which I did in March 2014. I have called them numerous time and each time I was promised that a check would be in the mail. To this date I have not receive a refund from them only more letters to purchase from them.

Desired Settlement: $100.00 as soon as possible.

Business Response:

Hello,

 

We have already cut a check and mailed it to ******* ******* in regards to his refund request. This should close the matter.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
I did receive the check in the mail today.  Thank you so much for your help.
Regards,

******* *******

5/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered my poem in a poetry contest. Eber and Wein offered to put my poem in an anthology and send it to me for around $80. I sent a check in. I received a letter at the beginning of March stating that I should receive the book in 4-6 weeks. It has been at least 9 weeks since I sent my money, and the book still has not arrived.

Desired Settlement: I have no other complaint than that my book is late, and I would simply like to have it delivered in a timely manner. Also, Eber and Wein should adjust their delivery window so that those who order books are not left hanging with no idea of when their order will arrive.

Consumer Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: **** ***** <******************************>
Date: Mon, May 12, 2014 at 6:20 PM
Subject: Eber and Wein Complaint
To: info@mybbb.org


Hello,
I recently filed a complaint against Eber and Wein Publishers, and I would like to request that the complaint be withdrawn as a resolution to the issue was reached when my order arrived today. My complaint number is #********. Thank you! 
**** *****

12/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not receive what I order 3 month's ago

Desired Settlement: to get my money back

Business Response: Hello,

 
I have reviewed ***** *******'s records and see very little to support this claim. She made her order 2 months ago, on 10/9/13 and was told in multiple pieces of correspondence since before her order that she would receive her product approx. 8 weeks after she sent us back a signed form in which we provided her within the mail. To that extent we are fully on schedule and anticipate the completion of her product within the next two to three weeks. We directly state on the order form in which she filled out that it is a pre-publication order form and that she is ordering something that has not yet been completed. This was repeatedly conveyed to **. ******* over the phone. Her product will be uploaded to our printers sometime next week and we hope to have it printed and ready to ship a week after.
 
******* *****
Communications Coordinator
Eber & Wein Publishing
(717) 759-8065

10/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: eber&wein publishing sent a letter to my granddauter that for 49.95 each plus shipping she could have her poetry publish in a book. I order 2 books 10 months ago no books no refund just excuses.Nice way to treat a 16 year old girl and the disabeld grandmother who on a fixed income paid for the books

Desired Settlement: refund my money

Business Response: Hello,

 
These books have been shipped multiple times. Originally they were shipped and returned to us as undeliverable. We were later contacted by **. ****'s family and were made aware that they failed to inform us they had moved and were no longer at the given address. We shipped a second set of books to them at the new address and were told they were never received. We then shipped a third set of books priority mail through USPS with a tracking number which shows it as being delivered. We will gladly offer a refund as soon as the products are returned undamaged.
 
-******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Eber & Wein, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart