BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

Vocus Inc

Phone: (301) 459-2590 View Additional Phone Numbers 12051 Indian Creek Ct, Beltsville, MD 20705 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.helpareporter.com View Additional Web Addresses ! BBB Business Review on Vocus Inc is being Updated by BBB!

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Vocus provides leading cloud-based marketing and public relations software that enables companies to acquire and retain customers. The company offers products and services to help clients attract and engage prospects, nurture and convert customers, and measure and improve marketing effectiveness. More than 16,000 annual subscription customers across a wide variety of industries use Vocus software. The company is headquartered in Beltsville, MD with offices in North America, Europe and Asia. For more information, visit www.vocus.com or call (800) 345-5572.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.



Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 345-5572(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

BBB's Business Review on this business is currently being updated. Therefore BBB cannot provide you with any information at this time.


Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/29/2014 Delivery Issues
6/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: October 31, 2013 To Chase Subject – Reason for Dispute of charge $5172.75 with Vocus, Inc. on card # ending in **** for ***** ***** Vocus promised us on their sales call that their consulting services that we were hiring for 4 hours a month, along with their marketing package for creating newsletters and email blasts for social media marketing, was going to help us create our newsletters and email content with minimal help from us. We needed to provide just the technical content. But: 1. After signing up, we waited for almost a month before they would even assign any consultant to work with us. A consultant was assigned only after repeated emails and escalating the issue. We lost one month out of 12 months waiting for their team to act. 2. Once we got a consultant assigned, he simply disagreed to create newsletters and email blasts, saying we have multiple clients, and that it is not his job to do so. 3. The consultant informed us that creating newsletters is not what he does. He will show us the tools and we are supposed to create the newsletter. That is totally opposite of what their sales team sold us. The main reason we signed up for this service was the fact that they were going to create newsletters/email blasts for us. We had informed the sales person very clearly that we do not have the expertise or the time to do this. And that’s why we are signing up for this service. Upon bringing this matter to the sales person who sold us the services, they are now saying that there is a disconnect between the 2 parties. They are now acting like they will try and help us. We simply do not trust them anymore. They seem to be now promising us things, but since this a 12 month contract we are afraid they will not follow thru and we will be stuck with it, and lose our money and valuable time. We have a complete loss of confidence in what they sell and what they will be delivering. Now they are trying to bully us in to keeping services by not refunding our money. This amounts to fraud. We would like to get a full refund for these services, as we did not use any of it. Thank you

Desired Settlement: We would like to get refund of $4,950 as this is the amount we paid but have not been able to use it.

Business Response: Once a consultant was assigned, a meeting was scheduled with ***** and ****** where one or both of them were to speak with our consultant; however, *****/****** did not join the meeting.

The expectations of *****/****** were inflated. Vocus employees kept reminding *****/******that there are many services that Vocus can offer, however, that there were confinements of how many hours a month a consultant would work on their marketing campaigns. 

Vocus consultants did not say that we were unable to create a newsletter.  Vocus can provide a template newsletter, and write the content of a newsletter, as long as it is within the monthly time constraints and information is provided to the consultants in order for them to draft a newsletter. Vocus said it was unable to provide a custom template to *****/****** given the few amount of consulting hours/month that were purchased.

Vocus contends that it has not breached the terms and conditions, as such, it will not refund the subscription fees.  The Service will be made available until the term automatically expires in September 2014. Until the expiration, ***** and ****** can use the Vocus Service to assist in their marketing efforts. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

11/27/13

We Reject Business Response from Vocus regarding our complain ID *******.

Our expectations are not inflated.  Our expectations are exactly what we were told during sales call. If Vocus changes its story after the purchase has been made, it classifies as breach of contract. We reject this response for following reasons:

 

  1. 1.      About “number of hours that a consultant would spend” – there was never any disagreement or expectation that the consultant would spend more than 4 hours. Vocus is making a claim to sound like we were expecting more than 4 hours will be spent which is a lie. We signed up for 4 hours of consultant’s time and that’s what we were expecting not more or less.

 

  1. 2.      About “Vocus consultants did not say that we were unable to create a newsletter” – This is at the heart of this dispute. The sales person ****** **** promised us that Vocus consultant will be creating the newsletter for us and we will just need to provide the content and review the newsletter. This point was the main selling point on which we signed up for this service. But when their consultant ***** ***** and project manager ****** ****** were on phone with ***’s ****** ***** and ***** *****, they flatly denied that Vocus would be creating the newsletter. ***** ***** told us clearly that he will show us the Vocus tools which we can use to create the newsletter. He will then review it and let us know what changes if any need to be made. This is how he was planning to spend 4 hours every month. ***** clearly said that if he starts creating Newsletters then there is no way that 4 hours of consulting hours will be enough.

 

This is the main reason for our dispute. Sales team is promising one thing but the consultants who will be delivering on these promises are denying that this promise can be fulfilled. This is the reason how Vocus has breached their agreement and are demanding a refund.

 

 

  1. 3.      About “Vocus said it was unable to provide a custom template to *****/****** given the few amount of consulting hours/month that were purchased” – Nobody has asked for a custom template. In fact, we told ***** ***** that we do not want any templates as we were promised that the consultant will be the one creating the newsletter. During the call with ***** *****, we even told him that how we had signed up for another similar company “*******************” but it did not work for us since they wanted us to create our own newsletter using templates provided by them. ******** ******* was charging only $20/Month ($240/Year) as opposed to almost $5,000 charged by Vocus. If we wanted to use templates and create our own newsletters, we would have gone for much cheaper options.

 

One of the main reasons we decided to go with Vocus’s service was the fact that they promised they will create the newsletters for us. We had made it clear during the sales calls and during the call with the consultant that we do not want to work with any templates as we do not have time to create our own newsletter.

This is just another twisting of words coming from Vocus.

 

  1. 4.      A consultant was assigned after one month had passed and only after repeated emails and requests.

 

  1. 5.      It’s noteworthy that since we have filed dispute with Vocus, nobody from consulting team has come forward to clarify the issue. It’s only sales team that continues with their lies and promises.

 

  1. 6.      For Sales team, it’s easy to make promises when you don’t have to really worry about delivering them to the customer.

 

  1. 7.      ****** **** (Sales Person) and ******* ****** have apologized and accepted that they have made mistakes and this is not how Vocus works. They even agreed to extend the contract by one month because of mishandling of our account and because we lost a month just waiting for a consultant to be assigned.

 

  1. 8.      Vocus has admitted to all the mistakes they have made but continue to hold us hostage because we paid in advance. We have not used their services and do not intend to work with such dishonest people.

 

Vocus has clearly breached the agreement that we signed for. Just because we made a mistake of signing up with bully’s working at Vocus, we do not feel that we should be asked to pay.

 

I sincerely hope that Better Business Bureau will look at all the facts and convince Vocus to kindly refund our money.

 

Thanks

****** *****

###-###-####

 

Business Response: There has been considerable confusion from the *****'s on what services can be provided, and their use of certain language added to their confusion. They would consistently say "newsletter" when in fact they meant a "press release".  Additionally, the *****'s said they had the "content" to write a newsletter or press release; however, what they meant was they had the ideas of content, not the actual write-up itself.  Regardless of the parlance, the *****'s could not expect Vocus to do all the services it requested in 4 hours per month.  Vocus is an off-the-shelf software tool that provides "consulting" hours to assist in use of the software.  Vocus is not PR or Marketing Agency that does the in depth amount of work the *****'s are demanding. 

The contention of the *****'s to get their money back is unfounded because our records indicate that they have already done a credit card charge-back, and therefore, no money has been paid to Vocus at this point.  As such, Vocus has ceased its consulting and services because it has not been paid. 

Vocus has not breached the contract.  If the *****'s choose to pay the subscription fee, then the service and consulting hours will be provided to them.  If the *****'s choose not to pay the subscription fee, Vocus will send the contract and unpaid invoices to a collection agency as is the process for Vocus for any customer who has not paid. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Based on their answer, it's clear to me that Vocus is the one who is confused not us.

 - We are very clear on the difference between "Newsletter' vs "Press Release". We have never done or have no need for "Press release". We have always said and meant "newsletter" in all our conversations with Vocus sales people and consultant.

- About the "Content" - Yes, we have the actual content. We have written it up ourselves. We wanted Vocus to use that content to create "Newsletter" which their consultant said they can not do. The consultant wanted to show us how to use Vocus tools and templates so we can create our own newsletter. Their sales person "****** ****" had told us clearly during the first sales call and even after we made the first complain that the consultant is supposed to be writing the newsletter not us. ****** **** apologized and said  he wasn't aware that consultants do not write the newsletters.

- We have never expected Vocus to do all the services. We do not expect Vocus to be our PR or Marketing agency. We do not expect Vocus to be able write content for our industry and market. This is another made up charge from Vocus team that has no basis whatsoever.

- We have been consistently saying that we will provide the content and we need Vocus to write the newsletter. We will not be the one learning their tools and use their templates. Vocus promised to write newsletter with the content that we provide. But after the sales call, they flatly refused to do that. That's called breach of contract.

- Vocus has not refunded the money. Bank is processing a credit card charge-back because based on the evidence we have presented, bank has agreed that Vocus has breached the contract and we need to get our money back.

- We never used Vocus's services. And we told Vocus clearly that we can not work with them because they started changing their their promises right in the first call with the consultant. Vocus's claim that they have ceased services is another bogus claim. They never provided services to begin with.

- Now they are threatening to send it to collection. Vocus is in the business of harassing and threatening their customers. As soon as we send them money, they have completely changed their tone. And now the threat to send it to collection for something we have not even used.

Better Business Bureau should not be giving A rating to companies like Vocus. Providing no services and asking for money is called "Highway robbery".

The matter is crystal clear on where Vocus has breached its contract. I would kindly urge BBB to stop Vocus from continuing its unfair practices and stop harassing us and refund our money officially so we can close this case.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: The account was suspended on November 8th because *** did a charge-back on their credit card on November 7th.  As soon as *** pays, we will provide access to the off-the-shelf service and provide 4 hours a month of consulting services.

Because Vocus continues to contend that it did not breach the contract, it will dispute the ***'s charge-back on their credit card. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

- Vocus has never provided any services to us so their claim that they suspended this account makes no sense.
- We informed Vocus right after our first call with their consultant that the contract we signed and what we were promised is not what consultant intends to deliver and thus breaching the contract
- We demanded refund of money we paid since Vocus did not follow on its promises per the contract
- Upon Vocus's refusal to refund the money, we reached out to Better Business Bureau and our Credit Card company for a charge-back which is the proper procedure when Vocus breached the contract

Even though Voucs has provided no services, they still think they are entitled to this money. They continue to harrass and threaten us with collection agency.

They continue to dispute ignoring all the facts that have been presented. Every claim they have made has been refuted with the facts that we have presented.

A company is not entitled to money just because a contract has been signed. They still have to provide services. Vocus's continuing irrational behavior is mind boggling. They think just because they are a big company they can twist everybody's arm to pay money to them and not even provided services.

This is outrageous and will not be tolerated.



Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: There is nothing further for Vocus to do with the Better Business Bureau for this complaint.  The parties dispute the facts, and **. ***** has done a chargeback on his credit card such that no payment has been made at this time to Vocus.  We believe this complaint should be closed at this time by the Better Business Bureau.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Vocus has not refunded our money. Even with charge back, their intention is to send it to collection which means they will continue to try to collect money without providing any services.

Vocus does not deserve to get A rating from BBB. Giving A rating to companies like Vocus is very misleading. Vocus thinks they are entitled to customers money so they keep demanding for it while making false promises and not providing any services. Vocus is disputing without any cause and refusing to accept all the facts.

BBB needs to take action against Vocus so Vocus can stop this harassment.

Vocus needs to settle this issue by unconditionally refunding our money and not continue to play games.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: Vocus disagrees with the complaintant's assessment of the situation, but we do not believe there is additional discussion that should happen in emails back and forth via the Better Business Bureau.  Given the state of the situation and the customer's chargeback on his credit card, Vocus recommends that the Better Business Bureau close this issue at this time.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

What does Vocus not agree with? We have made all our points clear to them and it's clear as how they have breached their contract. Vocus promised that they will prepare the newsletter for us but after signing the contract they are denying that they will do that.

I don't see what is the dispute about? Vocus has not said on how they are planning to address this. If their consultant is not going to prepare the newsletters for us then it's clearly a breach of contract. If they want us to learn their tools and prepare our own newsletters which will be reviewed by their consultant for 4 hours a month, it's clearly a breach of contract.

The behavior from Vocus is not acceptable. This is not the way to treat a customer. You promise one thing, then change it entirely and then threaten the customer with collections and not provide any services what so ever.

I kindly urge Better Business Bureau to take action in this matter and help us resolve this matter. We have no interest in working with companies like Vocus who thinks that they are entitled to customers money and trying to force us to accept whatever they will offer. We are not going to be fighting with them to get things done for next 12 months.


Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I showed some interest in a SEO Software product and the sales person (****** *********) became relentless and even though I explained that I did not yet have a business but was in the early planning stages of start up she insisted that I could put the plan on hold until I could fund the service they were going to provide. She would not take no for an answer and wanted to "sweeten the deal" by "locking in" a special discount. To use the sales person's own words "Nothing will happen until you can fund the service and the program would begin then" and again " The services will not be launched until you fund the program. I let the sales person know that I would consider taking another look once I had established my business. She would not settle for that and really wanted me agree to something. I was left with the understanding that the proposed plan would be on hold until I actually had a business in place to promote. I further explained that it would be late 2012; November or December or early 2013 until I could work with a local business development firm that was going to find investors and provide start up services for a business opportunity I was considering. She insisted on moving that date up and kept asking me if we could do something now but I wouldn't have to pay for it until later. I don't actually have a company, customers, capital or cashflow yet! I don't even completely understand what it is I supposedly ordered from the company and was continually coaxed to commit to something that I clearly explained I couldn't pay for. I was later invoiced for the entire cost of the plan $9600.00. When I ignored the request for funding I was contacted directly by the original sales person (****** *********) who threatened to turn it over to collections and threatened to damage my personal credit; she said there was no cancels allowed! I felt bullied, threatened and taken advantage of. I believe these are fraudulent and at least unethical practices and would like to just have the order cancelled. The sales person never mentioned a three day cancellation period either. I learned about the cancellation period by reading other complaints about this company; of which there are many.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete cancellation of the program (Order) and not have any further financial agreement with this company.

Business Response: Vocus will not cancel or terminate the contract that **. ******* ****** signed.  Vocus will not terminate a contract unless it has materially breached the agreement, and fails to cure such breach within 30 days or notice of the breach.  Section 9B of Vocus' Subscription Agreement Terms and Conditions details this process.  

**. ****** and Vocus' initial discussions resulted in Vocus suggesting that he purchase a less complicated service because he was concerned about funding.  He exclaimed that he wanted the more expensive service because it had more options he was interested in.  Before signing the contract, **. ****** did mention to Vocus that he was going to have funding in the near future, which is why Vocus suggested that if he were to sign a contract, the Subscription Term start date could begin at some time in the future.  Further, Vocus also explained that if he chose to sign a contract early, he could benefit from discounts we were offering at that time.  Additionally, Vocus permitted **. ****** to split payment into three separate payments as opposed to paying the entire amount upfront.  Vocus does not typically permit split payments, but was able to make an exception for **. Specht.   In order to obtain **. Specht's business, Vocus accomodated him to the fullest extent.  **. ****** has missed each of his payment obligations, $3,200 due on 10/1/2013,  $3,200 due on 10/31/2013,  $3,200 due on 11/30/2013, and therefore, it is Vocus' contention that **. ****** is in breach.  As such, Vocus may send this valid, binding contract to its collections agency as it is Vocus' normal process to do so when a customer fails to pay the subscription fees under the Subscription Agreement. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

 
It is not difficult to have satisfied customers - All you have to do is listen and give customers what they want. This company is another example of big corporate entities rolling over
middle-class, financially stressed Americans and bullying them into the poor house. 
 
I want the public to know that I honestly feel misled and misguided by the persuasive and aggressive tactics of a sales person who will put what ever spin on their language
they need to to create a false sense of security and safety and get you to sign something. I said no several times.
 
I was left with the understanding that this marketing program was on hold until I had the funds to start the payments; "That nothing would happen until I could fund it".
I was explicit in explaining that I was in pre-launch of a new business venture, had not discussed this with my partner, had no customers or cash flow and was told that the only thing I was doing was locking in 
a special rate and that I could present this to my business partner and come back to it after we created the company.
 
This is a misunderstanding and it was all about collecting money - not whether this was a good fit for my business. I was expecting a gesture of good will and fair play and good customer service by being offered an alternative package or service
but that was not offered. I could still be a customer if they had handled this correctly after I realized the misunderstanding but they cared only about collecting. This is a Bullying Tactic and now I don't want anything to do with this company
and I feel the public should be warned to look out. I found numerous complaints posted on the internet about this company including here on BBB.
 
At this point the solution I am looking for is a cancellation of the order. Why would a company want to sour a customer relationship right off the bat by threatening to "Ruin my credit rating" instead of using good old fashion customer service?
Their approach was to threaten collections action and that my credit rating would be damaged - Well I was "Down-sized out of a job two years ago and my family has had to seek assistance for food. We are hanging on by a thread and when
things started to turn around I had created a business opportunity for myself I was naturally optimistic but easy prey to a company playing off my emotions. Yes a collections action would be damaging but I refuse to pay any money to an ill willed corporate entity
like Vocus and the damage goes both ways as the corporate culture they are breeding will have a lasting effect on their reputation and only lead to a long list of unhappy customers and public complaints like mine.


Regards,

******* ******








Business Response: A valid, binding contract was entered into clearly identifying the subscription term.  Vocus will permit access to its off-the-shelf software tool upon receipt of the outstanding balance.  If the balance is not paid, Vocus may send the outstanding invoices and binding contract to collections. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Vocus, Inc., to help increase my social media traffic, create press releases, blogs and in general increase traffic to my web site. My #1 concern I expressed to them was that I did not have the time as a small business owner to monitor and run a social media / marketing campaign. They assured me I would not have to spend time with their system, that they would give me a consultant who would create posts, blogs, press releases and blogs for me. I truly feel like this company has pulled a bait and switch on me. Their system is incredibly user intensive, which was my #1 concern and my consultant doesn't get back to me in a timely manner, I have no idea what their plan is. I hired them and they want me to come up with the ideas!!!! I have asked about cancellation and got the run around constantly, I have expressed my concerns about all of the time I have to put in to make this work and was told I knew about that!!!!! They will do anything to put the blame on me, but bottom line is that what they promised is very different from what is being delivered.

Desired Settlement: Put me in the place I was before the injury occurred. I just want my money back and for them to cancel the year long contract as there was no other option but a year long!

Business Response: Vocus was aware of the time constraints **. ********* had in managing his Vocus platform, which is why Vocus gave **. ********* 6 additional Consulting hours a month to assist him in his marketing efforts.  Vocus informed **. ********* that it would be able to provide 8 total hours a month for consulting, but that Vocus was not a marketing agency, and he would still have to spend time utilizing the Vocus platform. 

Vocus only refunds contracts if it has materially breached the contract and it does not cure the material breach within 30 days of receiving written notice of such breach. Because Vocus has not materially breached the contract, it will not provide a refund.  The contract will remain in place for the subscription term, and the Vocus consultants will be available to **. *********. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Voucs representatives called every day for over a month, maybe 2, essentially pressuring me into purchasing their services.  

My number one concern was time. Don't worry they said, you have the consultant to do everything for you. Well it turns out that the consultant can't post to my social media sites. Instead they copied and pasted articles for me to then copy and paste. I have been doing that for over a year and that does not increase facebook likes. I was lead to believe that they are experts in this type of media, utilizing their special software. Their special software is essentially spamming people that type something about the key words you select.  Which requires my day to day activity to scroll through and determine what are good leads, bad leads, etc.  I DON'T HAVE TIME and that's why I hired them, "the experts"
They made statements telling me I would be the top listing on google, organically. They would increase traffic to my store and run a social media campaign, increase facebook likes, google+, linkedin.  
 
My number one concern was time, I was assured the consultants would do these things for me, I would have to spend very little time, maybe some strategy meetings and approvals. That is absolutely a lie. Now they tell me they've sold me a "suite" in which I should utilize. I have to learn an entire software / program, no way, that's not what I signed up for.
 
The 1st month I received a calendar of links to post on facebook / twitter and linked in, along with suggested days for blogs and press releases.  I am supposed to make the postings, because they are not legally allowed to post on my behalf, according to them, so the entire month went buy, because I didn't even understand what this calendar was, I thought it was suggested topics and then never heard back from my consultant until I called to see what was going on. I can copy and paste images and articles myself I don't need to pay over $1,000/mo for that. I was hiring them to create better, unique content, to post the right way, to attract more potential users, things I don't know how to do. The proper way to use # and links, etc.  I know how to copy and paste!
 
The 2nd month I received a Press Release.  A high school student could have written a better press release. There were 3 original paragraphs that essentially repeated themselves and then they copied and pasted the about us section from my web site for the rest of the press release.  They didn't even change the tense to correlate to the rest of the article. The level of work is completely unacceptable.
 
Check out the press release:

Luxury Holiday Diamonds and ******* Now Available Online from ******* *******

LA’s premiere private jeweler, ******* *******, is now featuring a selection of diamonds perfect for gifting or wearing this holiday season. All these stunning items are now available for purchase at **************.com

*** *******, Calif.

******* *******, full-service diamond and ******* firm, is proud to feature its most elegant diamonds and jewels to sparkle with the holiday nights.  This holiday season, the most luxurious of gifts including fine *******, diamonds and watches are now available for purchase at ******************/

******* ******* is LA’s premier private jeweler featuring loose diamonds, custom engagement rings and repairs.    As a full-service diamond and ******* firm, ******* prides itself on unsurpassed craftsmanship, quality, value and exceptional personalized service. 

“This holiday season whether planning to give the gift of luxury or even present your future bride with the engagement ring of her dreams, the experts at ******* Jewelers will provide you with an experience as flawless as the diamond you select,” said ****** *********, owner. 

This year’s holiday selection features an array of delightful diamonds, engagement rings and women and men’s wedding bands.  For those looking for a luxurious gift, ******* features diamond stud earrings, rings, pendants and bracelets. For anyone looking for the perfect watch, ******* features the finest brands including ******, *******, ***** and *** *****. 

******* has a huge selection of loose diamonds and engagement rings sure to please the most luxurious tastes.  Nothing pleases more than the gift of gorgeous diamonds and *******.  Now these items can be purchased online with ease and safety.

For the perfect diamond and ******* shopping experience visit ******* *******’s LA showroom or purchase online at ******************.

About ******* *******

******* ******* is the private client division for one of the nation's largest diamond wholesale and custom engagement ring manufacturers. A family business since 1978, opened to the public in 2007, ******* offers one-on-one consultation, advice, education and direct dealer pricing for diamonds and *******.

With a state of the art manufacturing facility, all engagement rings are made right here in Los Angeles. Our expert jewelers can create any ******* piece you can imagine as well as repair anything, including watches all at wholesale prices.

Don't expect a fancy showroom, with expensive lighting, showcases or pushy sales people working on commission.  Instead, expect a warm family environment, a GIA trained staff and a focus on finding the perfect diamond for you!

 *************************************************************


This company said whatever they had to say to get me to sign up. They pressured me until I said yes, they told me I would not have to be involved, but let me assure you, this is all about the owner or someone in charge of marketing doing the work.  The level of work they have provided me is sub par to say the least.

 

Regards,

****** *********








Business Response: **. ********* may be unsatisfied with the content of the press release, and feel he cannot sped adequate time on the Vocus Software to utilize it to optimize his business marketing; however, these claims to not rise to a level of a material breach of the contract terms.  Vocus will not terminate the contract, or refund **. ********* the subscription fee. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has been told verbally and via email to stop calling, but they continue to call.

Desired Settlement: Make them stop calling.

Business Response: Vocus notates in our database when a business no longer wishes to be contacted by us or receive information from us.  Because we receive contact information from various sources and relationships, we sometimes have duplicate information and the notes made to not contact the business are not identified.  We have, however, made a note in our database to not contact *** **** ********. 

Consumer Response:

{To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  

Their response says they will stop calling me.  A promise to stop calling me personally does not indicate they will stop calling this company.  I want them to commit to halting all telephone calls.  I want them to guarantee to your organization they have removed both ###-###-#### and ###-###-#### from their telephone database and will never call either number again. 

I've dealt with this company before and unfortunately that history does not engender confidence.   The last telephone call I fielded is an example:  The employee claimed to be a freelance writer and denied she was calling from Vocus.  When I told her I knew she was calling from ###-###-#### she hung up.  The google search I've done turned up countless similar examples of Vocus continuing to call after being told to stop by other companies. 

I received an email from ***** ****** saying our telephone numbers had been removed from their media directory.  However the response you received doesn't say that.  It says they will stop calling me.  I find that discrepancy troubling and wish there to be no ambiguity in this matter.

Thank you for you assistance with this matter. 
Regards,
**** ********








Business Response: The email address we have on file (**********************) has been added to our "Do Not Email" list and the phone number we have on file (###-###-####) has been added to our "Do Not Call" list.  The other phone numbers *** ******** has provided, ###-###-#### and ###-###-#### cannot be added to our "Do Not Call" list because they cannot be attributed to **** **** *****, or to *** ********.  Instead, those phone numbers are attributable to a radio station, ***** ****************************. 

Because the information we have does not connect these phone numbers to **** **** *****, or to *** ********, we cannot add those numbers to our "Do Not Call" list.  If other information can be provided by *** ******** to show the corresponding connection between herself and
these phone numbers, ###-###-#### and ###-###-####, we may be able to add them to the "Do Not Call" list.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: 

I have no idea what this is!! 

What is **** **** *****??  What telephone number is ###-###-####??

My complaint is about Vocus.

Additionally, ********************* is NOT a radio station.

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:
The email address we have on file (**********************) has been added to our "Do Not Email" list and the phone number we have on file (###-###-####) has been added to our "Do Not Call" list.  The other phone numbers *** ******** has provided, ###-###-#### and
###-###-#### cannot be added to our "Do Not Call" list because they cannot be attributed to **** **** *****, or to *** ********.  Instead, those phone numbers are attributable to a radio station, ***** ****************************. 

Because the information we have does not connect these phone numbers to **** **** *****, or to *** ********, we cannot add those numbers to our "Do Not Call" list.  If other information can be provided by *** ******** to show the corresponding connection between herself and
these phone numbers, ###-###-#### and
###-###-####, we may be able to add them to the "Do Not Call" list.


Regards,

**** ********

ASSIGNMENT MANAGER

**** **********








Business Response:

If substantiation can be provided by **** ******** regarding the phone numbers ###-###-#### and ###-###-####, we can add those to our DNC list.  There must be some connection between **** ******** and **** in order for us to process this request.  Further, the phone number and email we had in our database for ******** is rooted from this website: ****************************************

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

WHY DO YOU KEEP SENDING ME EMAILS ABOUT ********???

I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOU'RE TALKING ABOUT!!

I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF ********!!!

I NEVER FILED A COMPLAINT ABOUT ********!!

I FILED A COMPLAINT ABOUT VOCUS!!

WHY DO YOU KEEP SENDING ME EMAILS ABOUT ********?????

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

If substantiation can be provided by **** ******** regarding the phone numbers ###-###-#### and ###-###-####, we can add those to our DNC list.  There must be some connection between **** ******** and **** in order for us to process this request.  Further, the phone number and email we had in our database for ******** is rooted from this website: ****************************************


Regards,

  **** **** *********Assignment Manager, **** **********

Business Response: We have identified that there were two individuals in our database with the same spelling, **** ********, which is the cause of confusion. 

We are adding the following to our "Do Not Contact" list: 

###-###-#### and ###-###-####

**************************

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: Unprofessional Behavior Complaint I wanted to share my concern on how I was mislead during the hiring process for the Company “Vocus”. I had a phone interview with a Recruiter on October 9, 2013 from the company Vocus who advertised a Receptionist vacancy and then a few days later, I had a scheduled interview to come in for a face to face interview with the HR Manager . I was told that the company will make their decision by Monday. A few days later, I sent a follow up email regarding the open vacancy; I have not yet received a response to that email and was surprised to learn that the position was filled on Friday October 18, 2013 when I call to follow up by the new front desk Receptionist who responded. Although I congratulate “Vocus” the company on choosing the right candidate. I felt that that there was a lack of communication during the hiring process. I wanted to share my concerns about the hiring process. The breaking point of this is that I had a job offer with a registered temp agency to fulfill a temp assignment and I had turn it away cause the Recruiter told me that I will know the company decision by Monday October 14, 2013 as far as the decision is made whether if the vacancy is open or close and that the company wants to make their decision right away. My lively hood was involved with the job offer that I had from the temp agency and now I remain unemployed cause of lack of communication from the company “Vocus”and my willingness to sacrifice to put off a temp assignment that could of lead to a full time permanent employment by not responding to my inquiry . I am emotional distress about this situation and I hope in the near future that HR will handle their Recruiting criteria more proficient to the public cause it’s a burden being unemployed and that I was mislead and the lack of communication that occurred that lead to this point . My time, vehicle, and dedication of reviewing the company “Vocus” was a sacrifice that I took and as a result this is what it lead too.

Business Response:  We attempted to call the applicant on Monday, October 14th to inform her that we were hiring another candidate; however, no one answered her phone and there was no voicemail machine to leave a message.  The applicant sent an email on Thursday, October 17th asking us for information about the position.  We responded to her email within 3 hours informing her that we had chosen another candidate. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: VOCUS INC, has try to offer me a service, what unfortunately for the large number of activities we handle in our multiple companies and affiliates, was complete difficult for me to take a look of they services, and of course pay for something I WAS NOT AVAILABLE TO USE. Today I have receive an email from ***************** saying this: ============================================================================================================================================================== Hi, ******** Our accounting team reached out to notify me that VIP Support currently has an outstanding invoice of $10,200 that is past due. Is this something you can assist with or can you pass me to the correct person? If we have not reached a resolution this week, we will be sending this off to a third party collection agency. I am willing to bend as far as I can to keep this in house. However, without a payment this week, this is out of my hands. Please provide an update either way. Thank you, ***** ================================================================================================================================================================================ I never have use or recieve the service for what they are trying to collect 10000 + dollars, I will appreciate some one take a look of this practice.

Desired Settlement: Stop contacting and dont keep telling me they will use my info to send it to collection when they have never provide me a service

Business Response:

VIP Support Inc. signed a subscription agreement with Vocus for Vocus' Marketing Suite in June 2013 for a subscription term starting 8/1/13.  The contract specifies payment terms with amounts due on 7/1/13, 8/1/13 and 8/31/13.  **. ******* was contacted by Vocus mutliple times in relation to payments that were due but not paid.  **. ******* responded in various emails to Vocus regarding calls to discuss using a credit card for the payments.  But the payments were never received.

The contract (a copy is attached with the terms referenced on the Subscription Agreement) is for a one year term and can only be terminated for a material, uncured breach.  There was no material, uncured breach of the agreement by Vocus, nor was any such breach alleged.  The payments remain due to Vocus, and Vocus has followed its standard accounts receivable process of sending such unpaid, overdue balance to collections after numerous attempts have been made to collect directly with the customer.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I never use any of they services they are trying to collect money for a service what I never use 

Regards,

******** *******








Business Response: Our subscription agreements are not dependent on actual usuage nor volume of usage.  Customers sign up for a subscription and the term begins.  Whether or not a customer then uses the system's functionality is not relevant to the contractual obligations, including payment obligations.  Those obligations still exist even if the customer chooses not to use the system.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

wll is fine then i will move forward with a court date to discuss the damage this have cause to my business best regards

Regards,

******** *******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted Vocus regarding the cancellation of my account/agreement. Vocus, by their own admission, has not fulfilled their obligations related to the agreement. Initially, Vocus personnel were apologetic and empathetic regarding their service failures. As managers became involved, attitudes changed. Managers repeated stated their policy while discounting their shortcomings. I have spoken with numerous personnel from Vocus about the issues listed below: I have had very little contact from account executives assigned to my account. To date, their technical support personnel have not fixed the issue with my ****** analytics. This is a component of the product that has not worked from the very beginning. The account representatives have not followed up on the support commitments that were previous made. After several request for a partial refund (I am willing to pay for the period of time that I used the account - which was less than one month), I received an email message for ***** *******, Director of Sales, threatening to take my account to collections. The due date for the final payment is 5/24/2013 (today is 5/19/2013). I am appalled that despite the service failure, Vocus' final response to these problems is to prematurely threaten me. I did not expect such a response from a company like Vocus.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a partial refund of $1014.06, which the amount paid minus one prorated month ($1106.25 - $92.19).

Business Response:

**. ******* signed a one-year subscription agreement for Vocus' marketing suite in March 2013.  Such agreement may only be terminated and a refund provided for an uncured material breach of its terms.  No such breach has occurred and **. *******'s questions and issues presented to Vocus support were addressed (although none of them involved a breach of the agreement terms).

After introductory calls and implementation were complete, **. ******* had an issue addressed by our tech support staff.  **. ******* seemed unhappy that his account representative could not answer the question but instead referred it to Vocus' technical support staff.  The tech support staff did resolve the issue/answer the question.

**. *******'s initial account representative left Vocus, and he was assigned a new representative 2 business days later.  The next day the representative was out of work sick and could not take a call with **. ******* but offered to have him speak with someone else in his absence.  **. ******* declined.  **. ******* gave very limited days and time when he could speak with Vocus staff due to his very busy schedule so it was difficult to communicate and avoid some "phone tag".  After speaking with the account representative a few days later, **. ******* complained and asked for his money back.  A Director of Account Sales (a manager over the account representatives) then spoke with **. *******.  He was not willing to work with us.  She informed him of our refund/breach policy and he said that he was offended and would file a complaint "on principle" and that he wanted to speak with a senior director.  **. ******* never raised any concerns regarding the service in this call.  The next day a Senior Director of Account Sales spoke with **. ******* about his concerns and again **. ******* refused to work with us and demanded a refund.

Two days later the Director of Sales (manager of the salesperson who originally worked with **. ******* when he signed his subscription agreement) spoke with **. *******.  He advised that Vocus would not provide a refund because there was not breach of the agreement by Vocus.  The concerns voiced by **. ******* centered on his perception of a lack of response from his account representative and it taking too long for Vocus' to return phone calls and get in touch with him.  He mentioned dissatisfaction with ****** analytics and unkept promises by Vocus but would not elaborate on what those issues were.  Vocus left voice mails for **. ******* on 5/3, 5/8 and 5/10.

Given that Vocus has provided the service to **. ******* and his subscription continues to be active and available (our subscriptions are like cell phone subscriptions - you can use it or not but it's available and paid for regardless of usage) for his use.  There has not been a breach of contract by Vocus nor has there been a lack of communication or willingness to work with **. *******.  Therefore, no refund has been or will be provided.  Vocus remains available to support **. ******* in the use of the Vocus marketing suite.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Vocus is not being truthful regarding the response to my complaint. I'm not an attorney but, if elements of a product/service are sold based the expectation that they will function properly and the product/service does function properly, I would call that a breach of the agreement terms. If the terms of agreement are written in a way that circumvents any responsibility for products/services to function properly, then this is a deceptive and unfair agreement. The following are my responses to Vocus' response:   

  • Issue were never addressed by the Vocus tech support staff. Vocus' claim here is untrue.   
  • The allegation that I never raised any concerns regarding the service I had with the manager is not true.  The after the call with the manager, I did speak with Senior Director of Account Sales and I did raise concerns. I raised concerns with everyone that I spoke with regarding the ongoing issues.  
  • Vocus states that I refused to work with them and demanded a refund. This is true. How many service failures is a customer supposed to experience before they decided that they don't want to do business with a company. It appears that Vocus makes that determination, not the customer.  
  • I'm not sure what Vocus is trying imply regarding the voice mails 5/3, 5/8 and 5/10. Every call that I received from Vocus was answered or returned.  
  • It appears that Vocus is operating like a cell phone company (based the analogy used in their response.). Once you sign an agreement, it doesn't matter if the product or service works or not, you signed the agreement.   

I would encourage anyone thinking using this company to think twice. Their goal is to get the agreement signed! They appear to care less about the quality of their product and service! 



Regards,

******* *******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company started service contract with Vocus in January 2012. Company webpage came up in February 2012. Company owner contacted Vocus and worked with Tech Support to get Company ******** app working. In March Vocus' Tech Support employee recommended the Co. tie in a 3rd party ******** account. Vocus' app. worked one day. So now two months have passed and the ******** app is still not working. Enough is enough. On April 3rd, Co. owner requested in writing a refund from Vocus. I, Co. Bookkeeper, called Vocus April 3rd and 4th to find out when refund check would arrive. I left messages with Dir. Of Accts. No one returned my call. Today, April 24, I,Co. Bookkeepter called Vocus again to find out where refund check was. I was told by Dir. of Sales for Vocus, they will not issue a refund. What follows is Section 9 of Vocus contract. It states...9. TERM AND TERMINATIONB. If either party believes that the other party has failed in any material respect to perform its obligations under this Agreement, then that party may provide written notice to the breaching party describing the alleged failure in reasonable detail. If the breaching party does not cure or begin to cure the material failure within 30 calendar days after receiving such written notice, then the non breaching party may terminate this Agreement by written notice to the breaching party. Termination of this Agreement will be in addition to, and not in lieu of, other remedies available to the terminating party. Upon such termination by Subscriber, Vocus agrees to promptly refund to Subscriber a prorated portion of anyprepaid annual subscription fees paid hereunder.

Desired Settlement: Prorated fee is $249.69 a month. Service has not worked since day 1, but not discovered until February 2012 (2nd month of service). Asking for total refund $2,746.56.

Business Response:

We cannot address the issues presented in *** ****'s statement because we have been unable to locate any cusotmer records for her in our files.  We have searched the customer management systems of Vocus, Inc. and its subsidiaries as well as our customer support logging system.  We cannot find *** **** in any such system.  The statement of the problem to the BBB did not state *** ****'s company name nor the names of any individuals that she specifically spoke with at Vocus.  Without that information (and not having her name in any of our system), we are unable to determine what services *** **** subscribes to or what conversations or issues have arisen in relation to such an account.

Generally speaking, Vocus does not refund customer payments unless an uncured, material breach of a contract provision has occured.  As we cannot verify *** ****'s interactions with our company and do not have record of her agreement with us, we cannot investigate the allegation of breach.  Therefore, there is no reason to provide any refund.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:   When I filed the complaint, the BBB suggested I avoid personal identification information. Our company name is *** ***** The last time I spoke with NA, Director of Sales at Vocus she said they don't give refunds. She was aware I planned to contact the BBB and again, I refer to Vocus' contract which is sited in the complaint and says they do give refunds for dissatisfied customers. Presently, Vocus' marketing apps are not only not working properly, but we are disappointed with the Director of Sales customer service.

Regards,

**** *******

*** **** Bookkeeper








Business Response:

Thank you to *** ******* for providing additional information.  That information helped us to locate the account and research the complaint.  Orignally, *** ****'s users had probelms with the ******** application service that *** **** subscribed to because *** **** did not have a ******** account.  A ******** account is required to use Vocus' ******** application service.  That was explained to users from *** **** on multiple occasions, and eventually **** at *** **** used his wife's ******** account and the applications worked.  We are unsure why *** **** did not create it's own company ******** account.  At that time, we agreed to extend the subscription term by 2 months (even though the delays were due to *** **** not having the required ******** account and not because Vocus' ******** applications didn't work).  **** agreed with that extension.  But later he came back to the account executive asking for a refund of the full subscription fee.

Vocus' subscription agreement provides for a pro-rated refund of fees paid in cases of an uncured, material breach of the subscription agreement terms.  In this case, Vocus has not breached the subscription agreement terms.  The ******** applications did not work initially because the customer did not have the required ******** account.  Once an account was used, the applications worked.  *** **** spoke with a sales manager who told them of our terms and that no refund would be forthcoming from Vocus becuase no breach had occurred.  The customer told the sales manager that she would contact the BBB and wanted to speak to a supervisor.  The sales manager provided the name and phone number for her supervisor, but he did not hear from *** ****.

Given that no material breach has occurred, Vocus is not providing a refund to *** ****.  Their subscription continues and the customer continues to have access to its Vocus account.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:   At first **** and I thought we were getting service from Vocus and Vocus is correct **** of *** **** contacted Vocus' tech support early on multiple times.  Vocus neglected to mention it took tech support almost 2 months to suggest using his wife's ******** account.  Vocus' app worked one day with the wife's ******** account!  One day!   It has not worked since.  Vocus continues to make excuses and offer poor customer service.  There has been no follow up  and working with the Director of Sales is extremely frustrating.  We have notified Vocus in writing we are dissatisfied with their service and  NA, Vocus' Director of Sales continues to ignore their customer and the clause in Vocus' contract which gives the customer the right to terminate.  


Regards,

**** *******








Business Response: We disagree with *** *******'s assessment.  We have thousands of customers using our ******** application service.  While the implementation and getting to the root of the problem did take some time, Vocus offered to or did extend the term of the subscription for 2 months to cover that time.  Technically, the error was on the user's end because to use ******** applications you clearly have to have a ******** account, however, we want to have a happy customer so the extension of time on the subscription was offered.  There has not been a material breach of the agreement by Vocus so there is not a refund to be paid per the terms of Vocus' subscription agreement.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  We are a small business.  We were excited about Vocus' sales promises.  We paid $3,000 for a year's  service.  Unfortunately, we are seeing a different side of Vocus.  We no longer think Vocus wants to help their customers get Vocus' apps working.  Vocus wants to sell a marketing package but not adequately support it.  Vocus is presumptuous saying a customer would know what is required for Vocus' software to function.

We worked with Vocus for 2 months.  In cyberspace that's a long time.  They could not deliver.  It is not a tragedy that Vocus cannot succeed with every account.  It is a tragedy they can't accept an occasional failure and allow all parties to move on.

The bottem line is Vocus' apps are not working and if Vocus would take the time to look at our account they would see that Vocus' program is not tracking and in fact says everything is N/A.  And this is why we ask the BBB to step in and make things right.  We also would like to amend our original refund amount to the total amount paid to Vocus, $2,996.  A written apology from Vocus' CEO would also help restore our faith in their ability to conduct business fairly.

Regards,

**** *******








Business Response: ******  As we responded initially, while we understand this customer is a small business and experienced some slowness during initial set up (for which we extended their subscription term as a gesture), Vocus has not materially breached the agreement and there is no refund warranted in this situation.  We have many customers using the same ******** application service without incident.
 
And while we would agree that customers sometimes have to be told about requirements for certain software use, certainly it is quite obvious that to use a service that creates applications that sit on a business’ ******** page such customer would need to have a ******** account/page.  This was also discussed with the customer, and the customer ultimately decided to use an employee’s wife’s account.
 
Vocus certainly appreciates the concerns and issues that its customers raise, and we did extend the subscription term for this customer in an effort to keep the relationship on good terms.  But there has not been a material breach of our terms, and our applications do work.  Therefore, we would not issue a refund and the customer’s account remains active and available for use.
 
Regards,

******* ** *****
Associate General Counsel
Vocus, Inc. (NASDAQ:  VOCS)
12051 Indian Creek Court
Beltsville, MD 20705
* ************ * ************ * ****************
www.vocus.com

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

See Attachments

Regards,

**** *******








BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vocus promised to drive more traffic to my ******* project web site, get more exposure through traditonal and social media. After 2 months of emails and phone calls, I stlll have not seen any activity from Vocus and no increased traffic on my web site. I requested more activity (press releases) but was informed that home businesses do not qualify, so I requested a cancellation but they are refusing.

Desired Settlement: I have offered to pay for the 2 months that I tried their Vocus Marketing Suite - Bronze service. I want to cancel and get a refund for the rest of the year (pre-paid $2100 for the year on my credit card ) and a full refund for the Marketing Services ($1750 and service was not provided).

Business Response: The issues with the customer's use of the service resulted from a change in Vocus' editorial guidelines due to increased regulation and scrutinies regarding the type of "work at home" business that the customer runs.  Given this, Vocus has reached out to the customer regarding the provision of a refund to him and the termination of his subscription agreement.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ********

Dear Sir, This is to advise that I am in receipt of the amount $3,500.00 against above my complaint with Vocus Inc. I’m grateful to your organization and appreciate your help in executing the dispute so fast and settling the issue. For your information, below are the settlement correspondence with Vocus Inc. Thanking you again, Kind regards ****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/30/2013 Delivery Issues
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1