BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Vintage Tub & Bath, Inc.

Phone: (570) 474-1203 Fax: (570) 474-5103 View Additional Phone Numbers 395 Oak Hill Rd, Mountain Top, PA 18707 http://www.vintagetub.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Vintage Tub & Bath is a supplier of reproduction bathroom fixtures, sink faucets, and bathtub accessories. They specialize in vintage tubs and accessories including claw foot tubs and faucets.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vintage Tub & Bath, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Vintage Tub & Bath, Inc. include:

  • 21 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Vintage Tub & Bath, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 21

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 21, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1993 in PA Business incorporated: 01/01/2002 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Norm Dick, Owner Ms. Leanne Loving, Customer Service Manager Ms. Dawn Vobeck, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Norm Dick, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Leanne Loving, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Bathroom Accessories Building Materials


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 868-1369(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2014 Delivery Issues
4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered I corner mounted toilet from Vintage Tub and Bath because according to the measurements provided on their website it fit my needs. Upon arrival of the toilet, which was shipped to me, a quick measurement of my own verified that the information they had on their website was incorrect. Upon reading a few comments on there website I see that I am not the only customer to discover that the actual measurements of their products and their advertised measurements do not always match. I contacted the company and spoke with ****** ******** who was very helpful. She had me photograph my findings and email them to her so that she could process a return shipping label for me to send the toilet back for a full refund. I did all of that and shipped the toilet back to the company, using the exact same packaging material and packing technique I had received it in. The shipment arrived back to them on or about Sept. 27th when I received an automated email from the company letting me know it had arrived and a refund would take 8-10 business days to process. 8 business days later, on Oct. 8th I contacted the company to follow up. At that time I was told by a man named ****** ******* that the toilet had arrived "destroyed." according to him, I should have received notice of this but he had no explanation for why I had not. According to him, my only course of action was to file a claim with the shipping company. He assured me that pictures had been taken of the ":destroyed" toilet and he could email them to me. I asked him to do so, and told him I would wait on hold while he did. Three pictures shortly arrived in my email account of a perfectly intact shipping box. with packaging material still in place. No toilet, damaged or otherwise, is visible in the pictures. When I asked him to clarify this, his explanation was that actual pictures of the toilet were not saved to the public file and that he would have to get his manager to send a request for those pictures. I was then denied the opportunity to speak with this manager. This was an expensive toilet. incorrectly advertised as being one size while it was not that size and hence of no use to me. I question the validity of their claim of the product being "destroyed" as I used the exact same shipping technique and company, FedEx, to return the merchandise as they had to send it to me. Plus the fact that no photographic evidence has been given to me to this claim. When asked by ****** to provide pictures to her showing the discrepancy of the toilets measurements I had them to her immediately. I do not like the fact that I asked to speak with the manager and was told no. That fact, along with the lack of photographic evidence of the toilets condition, makes me question this company's ethics.

Business Response: Complaint ID *******

The customer’s information is correct as provided. The toilet did arrive back to YTB damaged and the Return was processed incorrectly.

The customer actually reached out to our customer service representative ****** after speaking with ****** and ****** immediately forwarded the communication to me for review. Once the details were reviewed and I had the details, I called the customer personally apologizing for the error and the frustration that it had caused him. I assured him that the refund would be issued in full immediately, that call was placed on 10/9/2013. The customer thanked me for calling and advised that he was pleased with the resolution.

The refund was issued on 10/10/2013 and an email was sent to notify the customer of the refund.

The issue of the incorrect measurements has been forwarded to the correct department for verification and correction to the website and specification sheet.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: /I ordered a bathtub on 8/18/2013 from this company. I was contacted 3 days later stating the bathtub I ordered had been sold. When I ordered the /tub I used a 5% discount code that is advertised on their website daily. I had tot reorder another bath tub from this company, over a $1500.00 purchase that was deducted from my checking account on 8/23 the same day I placed the 2nd order. The person taking my order failed to take off the 5% discount code and instead added 5% to my total purchase. I contacted them via email on 8/23 regarding this 56.50 credit owed to me. I have sent 3 emails asking about it and all that happens is they are forwarded on . It is 9/11/2013 and still no credit or bath tub for that matter. This company is truly misleading and I am not sure how they have a A- rating with BBB considering the reviews I have read online. I want my credit is due and my bath tub that was to be shipped almost 2 weeks ago and never has been. They do not call to let you know that they are behind on anything. I wonder if I would have help off my payment 2 weeks how they would have reacted? This company is horrible to deal with!

Desired Settlement: I want credit owed and bath tub delivered.

Business Response: Dear ******* *******,

I have received your letter regarding the complaint ID of *******. I have been in contact with our customer and I believe that the issue is resolved.

The refund was issued on 09/09/2013, the customer had not yet received the email notification but I did send the refund transaction information so that the customer would have it for their records. The customer was advised on 09/12 that the tub would be shipping on 09/13/2013 and it was. I emailed the tracking information as well as the contact information to the delivering freight terminal so that the customer could set an appointment early next week.
I authorized a courtesy refund of $200 to be issued back to the customers’ credit card for the aggravation, the delay of the refund and shipment of the tub. When I spoke with the customer to update on all of these actions, I believe that the customer was happy with the results.
If I can provide any further information, do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales Rep and Customer Service not helpful, insisting I'm to blame for entire order. Sent recorded phone discussions. Told sales wanted Deck or rim mount tub, sales insisted I should buy wall mount (out of rim tub???) as 'more compatible and more room' for stand shower. 54" tub wall mount tub sent with shower ring 55" plus the 10" from wall totals 65"- total available space 58". Customer Service says I have to BUY the smaller 48" ring or settle for rod being cut which is ugly and allow rod to sway slightly with weight of curtain. For 1,850.00 would expect sales rep to KNOW the right items needed, ACCEPT customers original request and NOT talk customers into the tub THEY want to sell. Also told sales that water lines came out of the wall. Floor lines were sent and customer service refused to help. Extra days work for plumber (more expensive for me)to reroute waterlines. Of course was billed immediately. With all the delays, still do not have finished bath 4 weeks later. Because the faucet sticks out so far into the small tub, only 25" bathing space, we can not use without banging knees on the faucet - hence why we wanted the rim mount - wall mount looses 8.5" of space. I'm sure many of units have been sold and sales rep misguided me on the wall mount. Should not have to accept cut down rod. Rod should not be larger than tub-common sense. Tired of the bruised knees so we do not use tub to bathe and haven't got to try the shower as plumber has not returned. He was very discussed with lack of instructions (none included)and poor quality parts, don't know IF he will return. I had to print out over 20 pages of specifications/installation instructions off of the website. Again, would expect better as not cheap. Retirees should not have to deal with extra problems, lack of customer support, extra expenses because sells rep doesn't know the products or just wants to make the sale.

Desired Settlement: Smaller rod should be sent to replace larger rod. Should receive partial refund for the tub that was talked into OR rim mount sent as originally requested.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Our Customer Service Manager listened to all three phone calls concerning *** ****’s purchase. Our manager did not hear any discussion between our sales person and *** **** about the location of the supply lines. *** **** seemed far more concerned about us discounting the tub rather than choosing a specific type of tub. Here is an email our Customer Service Manager sent to *** **** (before she contacted the BBB) requesting more information concerning her claims that our sales person was misleading:

Hello ******,

I have attached the recorded phone discussions between you and the sales rep *****.  I pulled them because I wanted to see if you had been misled in any way.  I have labeled the calls accordingly, if there is another phone call in which you and ***** discussed the supply line issue in depth, please let me know when it would have been and from what phone # as I have spent the better part of this afternoon trying to find another phone call to prove your point.

With the phone calls that I was able to find, I do not hear the lengthy discussion that you mentioned and do not find that VTB has made an error with the order.  Again, if I am missing a phone call, please help me find it.

There is a third call in which you called from your Cell phone to provide the payment for the order, I did not want to send that recording due to the fact that it contains your credit card information.  I can assure you that there was not a discussion about the product during that call and will send it if you like.

I did see that ***** actually extended the full 10% contractors discount on your order, which in all honesty should not have been done.  This discount is reserved for contractors only and ***** can get into a great deal of trouble for having extended it.  If ***** had followed the guidelines that your order qualified for , the order total should have been $2060.94 minus $55.05 discount for a total of $2005.89, your order received a discount of $215.35 for a total of $1845.59.

Again, if there is another call that contained the discussion about the supply lines, please let me know when it would have taken place, what phone # it would have been made from… something that will help me find the call.

Based on the information before me; I do not believe that we pressured *** **** to take a tub she did not want. Further, we gave her a deeper discount she normally not would be entitled to on the tub she said she wanted. When we learned that the shower ring she ordered would not fit with the normal support rods, we sent her the connecting hardware (at no charge) that would allow her to easily fit the ring to her bathroom. Finally, we gave her a $69 tub caddy at no charge as well.  Unless *** **** introduces new information to the conversation; I don’t think there is any more we should or can do for her.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

Exactly what expected. Should have checked out company before ordering, lots of negative on the net.  Suffice it to say, will never use again. First words to Devon, want a **** mount tub. Also talked about supply lines. Close complaint.     

Regards,



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A little over a year ago I purchased a shower unit from them. I bought it mainly because of the 5 year warranty. I've now gone back to them to see if parts are available and they are telling me that they've discontinued the unit and no longer support it. I asked how they could offer a 5 year warranty on an item that they discontinued and offer no support on less than a year later. They told me sorry there was nothing they could do.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to offer some kind of refund for misrepresenting their product and it's warranty.

Business Response:

I just read the notes for this order and spoke with the customer service representative who handled *** ******’s call. The facts as I have them are different than they are presented in the complaint. We need to be clear - there is no warranty claim being made on this product. The product is working correctly. My understanding is that *** ****** wants to purchase extra parts to modify the unit into a multi-head shower. Unfortunately, we discontinued this shower and no longer have any spare parts in stock. Our warranty covers replacement, repair or refund if there is a defect with the item within the warranty period. The warranty does not extend to having spare parts for purchase to modify the unit. There simply no basis for a complaint if I have the facts right.

As an aside – of course we support and honor our warranties. We will offer prorated refunds / replacement items / credits in the rare instance when we cannot supply parts for valid warranty claims against one of our house brand products.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2011 Delivery Issues
9/29/2011 Delivery Issues
9/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1