BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Williamson Plumbing & Heating Inc

Phone: (717) 737-8494 Fax: (717) 737-0964 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 61974, Harrisburg, PA 17106 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rotorooter.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sewer-drain cleaning, Plumbing

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Williamson Plumbing & Heating Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Williamson Plumbing & Heating Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 12, 1995 Business started: 09/01/1977 in PA Business under new ownership as of: 01/01/2012 Business incorporated: 02/04/2008 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The license number is PA-094563.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Williamson, Owner Mr. Richard Williamson, Office Manager Ms. Tara Williamson, Financial Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Williamson, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Roto -Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 61974

    Harrisburg, PA 17106

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (717) 234-3332(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The address is **** ****** **** **** ***** **. I was notified by the tennants that live at that address that the commode was not draining on 4/15/2013. RotoRooter was out at this property on 8/20/2012 ($314.00), then again on 9/6/2012 ($410.00) on the second trip you jetted the sewer line. Your technicians told me at that time that the line was plugged and needed jetted to open it. I agreed and you proceeded to get the job done. You said the line was broken and roots plugged the line and it needed repaired. You gave me a price of apx $5,000.00 to repair it. I did not have the funds to do that so I just hoped the problem would go away. It unfortunately reappeared again in April. I reconsidered and thought, I have no choice but to get the repair done so I called to authorize the work. I was told you would call me back.. I was called back call within 2 hours and was told you wanted to go back out and look at the job and told me that you would do this at no charge. I said fine and I would meet you there the following morning (4/16/2013) I got there at about 8:30 AM and there were two techs looking at the situation. They were just standing looking at the line when I arrived; they loosened a cap on the sewer line and let it slowly drain for at least 30 minutes. They then tried to put a camera in the line but the line still had water and sewage in it and they couldn’t tell much about the problem. They then said they needed to jet the line to run the camera. The senior tech knew what he was doing but the younger man was not familiar with this procedure, the older man was asking him questions to get him thinking on what to do. They finally decided that they could not get the jet to open the line and they told me that the entire line should be replaced. I said, OK, what we do now. I was told they would check with the office and get back with me. The next day I got no word at all, the following day I called the RotoRooeter office and still nothing. I then called another outfit that said they could do the repair the next day. While I was showing them the location of the items, we came down the steps under the sewer line that your techs had opened and laying on the steps and the surrounding floor was human raw feeses, not sludge. I actually stepped in it, slipped and nearly fell, this was disgusting. I then called and complained about the mess that was left by the RotoRooter technician (the young guy is the one that left the mess, the older guy had to leave earlier) I was told the youg technician was distracted by a health issue in his imediate family. This has nothing to do with what I was told and what took place on my property. I have a tennant living at this address with no facilities and after 2 days I had to do something. I originally called and ask you to do the job and per your recommendation, you wanted to look again at the project. I then get billed $625.00 for a no charge call, per your recommendation. I paid over $200 less 7 months earlier and it was actually opened on that visit. This time you did nothing except leave human waste all over the steps and basement floor and left me in a situation where my tenants are without any bathroom facilities for several days. I am absolutely astonished that I was charged $625.00 I really feel that the bill of $625.00 is unfair and I ask that you reconsider this. Thanks for hearing me out and I sincerely hope you do the right thing.

Desired Settlement: I contend that RotoRooter did nothing and charged me $625.00 for a no charge call and left human feeses all over my basement steps and floor. I am appauled that any company in existence would leave such a discusting mess and then have the gaul to charge me. I went to the company in good faith and RotoRooter wouldn't even have the diecency to get me a price to repair my problem. I got the work done by another company for a total charge of $4,000.00. That other company ran a camera i the same line with no difficulty and found the blockage and repaired as needed.

Business Response: See attached. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The comment was made in the response that my information differs greatly from the facts. I stand by what was said in my complaint, All I know is what my credit card charges show from researching the history of the charges, I have not seen the reports prior to now that were copied on this response.

It was stated that I did not tell them that the line was backed up when I placed the call to proceed with the repair, that is absolutely a lie, why else would I call, I just feel like spending money! Come on, get serious, that is a ridiculous comment. Williamson Plumbing knew full well the line was plugged and backed up. We had a detailed conversation about the situation and they said to me that they wanted to re-investigate the problem before they would give me a price to repair. I was NOT told the cost of the camera prior to this and I DID NOT sign and authorize the charge by signing anything. Williamson Plumbing is saying that is my signature on their invoice # ******, this is fraud as it is not my signature, I did not sign this report and it is my understanding it is against the law to forge some ones name, this is a forgery.  I have, as mentioned, not seen this report prior to this moment. It is mentioned I was informed that waste will be spilled or come out of the line when it is opened, again, another lie, I was not told any such thing, a water restoration company was never mentioned. I never dreamed that raw sewage would be left on my steps and floor with absolutely no effort in cleaning the mess by the Williamson employees.

Williamson Plumbing said that I was told they needed a deposit, to do repairs, they never called me back and again, this is a lie because I actually called them two times to try to get there price to repair, they never even had the courtesy to provide me with any information nor call me back. I did place a call complaining about the filthy mess they simply walked away from in my basement after I realized that they were not too concerned about my pressing issue of repairing a plugged sewer line.

The few accuracies that are part of the Williamson Plumbing response is that yes, I did try to get the refund through the credit card company because, this charge is wrong and they know it is wrong. They apparently didn't like that I called them and complained about the filthy mess they left in my basement and the failed attempt to open a line. I should mention, the company that did the work showed me the problem area, there a was a small break in the line at a corner about 6 feet out from the wall where the Williamson employee had the line open, the technician that did the repair said, "I am surprised that Rota Rooter couldn't get by this", it was a very small obstruction. Replacing the entire line as originally suggested by Williamson is a good indication that there technicians don't have a grasp on practical repairs. This would be like replacing all four tires because one of them is flat.  While it was uncovered, I had the new company replace a piece of pipe, not because it was defective, but because I wanted it to angle the fall in elevation to prevent future problems.

I don't like to be accused of being untruthful or providing bad information, the above is factual information.
 


Regards,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service