BBB Accredited Business since

Walsh Brothers Plumbing and Mechanical Services, Inc.

Phone: (610) 623-2789 Fax: (610) 623-2346 3617 Garrett Rd, Drexel Hill, PA 19026 http://www.walshbrothersinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Walsh Brothers Plumbing and Mechanical Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Walsh Brothers Plumbing and Mechanical Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Walsh Brothers Plumbing and Mechanical Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1958 in PA Business incorporated 11/19/2001 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA082040.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John F. Walsh, Vice-President Mr. Joseph J. Walsh, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John F. Walsh, Vice-President
Principal: Mr. Joseph J. Walsh, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sump Pump Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Boilers - Sales & Service Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Furnace Sales & Service Heating & Air Conditioning Home Improvements


Additional Locations

  • 3617 Garrett Rd

    Drexel Hill, PA 19026

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I initially called Walsh Brothers Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning in February because the expansion tank on my gas heater had a small hole in it and it was leaking. They came out quickly the same day and replaced the tank with a few issues. Before the tank was removed not enough pressure was taken out of the system resulting in the expansion tank shooting off and water spraying all over. I had to carry buckets up and down my stairs for the technician which I did not mind doing at the time to release more pressure from the system. Once the heat came back on the pressure never went to a normalized psi, but I paid for the expansion tank in amount of $325. The technician said if I see the pressure get too high I can release some of the water in the system and it will probably correct the issue. Later that night I went into my basement to check if the system was working as expected to find water all over my basement floor due to the faulty expansion tank causing the pressure release valve to break. I immediately turned off my heater and called Walsh Brothers once again. A different technician came out to check on the system and confirmed that it was a faulty expansion tank. He got the system in working order and arranged to stop by and complete the replacement of the expansion tank and pressure release valve at no cost because the faulty expansion tank caused the pressure release valve to blow. The next day, the technician came out and completed the job. I had no expectations of receiving an invoice due to our conversation the prior evening about the replacement of both the expansion tank and the pressure release valve until May 29th. On May 29th I received a past due invoice #*****, the invoice was dated March 10th but the work was completed on February 13th. I have used Walsh Brothers 4 times over the course of 2 years since moving into my home in Clifton Heights and have never received an invoice further out than a weeks’ time. I called Walsh Brothers May 29th, June 8th, June 9th, and June 12th to contact Mr. Walsh. The only time I received contact from Joe Walsh was on June 9th. The conversation began with me challenging the $145 charge on the invoice which states “HEATING SERVICES; REPLACE DEFECTIVE EXTROL TANK AT NO CHARGE. INSTALLED NEW 30LB RELIEF VALVE ON BOILER AND CHECKED OPERATION.” Mr. Walsh went into detail on why the pressure relief valve had to be replaced and it could have blown because it was 30yrs old. I explained that the relief valve was leaking during the last winter season so I had replaced it with a new one in January 2015. The relief valve was brand new. I told him the technician told me both the expansion tank and the relief valve would be replaced at no cost because of the faulty expansion tank they installed. Mr. Walsh said “I doubt that conversation ever happened.” We left it at Mr. Walsh would contact the technician and would see what he had to say about it. I called once again on June 12th to let Walsh Brothers know I would like to speak with Mr. Walsh face to face about the invoice. I also called today to have the invoice paid on June 16th because I do not want this past due invoice affecting my credit as it is completely unwarranted and if I ever would get a derogatory remark on my credit I would want it to be my fault. All I wanted from Walsh Brothers was fairness. And charging $145 for a $15 relief valve is ridiculous in my opinion. What would have been the charge for labor and the pressure relief valve $250? I understand running a business results in charging for overhead costs like contractor labor, vehicles, and inventory of parts needed which inflates prices to be charged to customers. The problem is between the owners of the firm who every technician must call while doing a job to verify the work being done and what actually is occurring or agreed to during the job. I have no idea what went on between the Walsh Brothers and the technician. I can only account for what the technician told me, “I would not be charged for the two parts”. The Walsh Brothers ignored and offended me making it seem as though I was trying to get one over on a contractor that I used 4 times living in my house for only 2 years. This seems like a misunderstanding between Mr. Walsh and the technician that completed the job and the customer is paying for it. I am formally filing a complaint with Walsh Brothers due to not properly invoicing a customer, not handling customer complaints, and being rude to customers as I was basically called a liar.

Business Response:   We had replaced a expansion tank on ** *********’s boiler. A short time later we had to go back and replace the expansion tank which had failed which we did not charge him for as it was under warranty. The relief valve on the boiler was leaking at this time so our technician replaced it and we billed *** ********* accordingly. The relief valve was not a part that we had previously replaced nor did *** ********* have a contract with us on his heating system to cover any parts or labor. ** ********* felt that the expansion tank caused the relief valve to fail and that he should not have to pay for it. At no time was *** ********* treated rude or was he called a liar. As you can see we have no complaints registered against our company. We will refund ** *********’s 145.00
 
Thank You
 
Joe W****
 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Walsh Brothers Plumbing and Mechanical Services, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart