BBB Accredited Business since

The Plumbing Works

Phone: (610) 929-8860 Fax: (610) 373-7293 1319 Carbon St, Reading, PA 19601 http://www.theplumbingworks.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Plumbing Works meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Plumbing Works include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Plumbing Works
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 28, 1998 Business started: 10/01/1992 in PA Business incorporated 11/21/1996 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA 003938.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott E. Kissinger, President/Owner Ms. Judy Davis, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott E. Kissinger, President/Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Water Wells - Pumps Sales & Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Bathroom Remodeling Heating & Air Conditioning

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, MC, Visa, Discover, Financing

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our Central Air System was not working so we called in the Plumbing Works to give us a quote on the repair. The repairman told us that we had a leak in the system. He fixed it. The system still did not work so he said the coolant levels needed adjustment. The system still did not work so we called him back. He told us that another piece in the unit needed repaired. We paid another $600 on top of the $1400 we already paid to the Plumbing Works. The system still did not work after all the money we spent and time with the Plumbing Works. We called ***** Plumbing and Heating for a second opinion on what needed to be fixed. ***** Plumbing came out and looked over the system. The owner of the company came out and told us that the entire system was shot. He couldn't believe that the Plumbing Works did not see this when they first inspected the problem. If they knew what they were doing and an honest company they would have never fixed the parts that were fixed. They knew that the system would die in a month or two just by looking at the condition of the system. I feel the Plumbing Works tried to get as much money out of us as possible. We spent $2000 on repairs that did not fix our system. They either are corrupt or just have employees that do not know what they are doing.

Desired Settlement: I want my money on the repairs that should never have been done. The repairs did not fix our system and I feel our family was scammed into paying $2000 in repairs that were not needed.

Business Response: ******* ***** complaint leaves out a few things, yes we did the repairs for them and yes we were there twice but the system was working when we were finished AND we give a one year warranty on repairs. That being said the only time we ever heard from them again was to ask for a refund to “help pay for a new system”.  Now he states that the system was shot, not true the system was less than 10 years old and still under warranty but ONLY to the original home owner that installed the system, we know because they had us try and get this all paid for under warranty !  Also it is my understanding that they called ***** originally but could not get in touch with them and they wanted it fixed asap, so we where there for them. We can read into this whatever we like did ***** do something with paperwork that we did not …….. I don’t know ?  We offered to return and do what needed to be done but they refused.

Business Response: ******* ***** complaint leaves out a few things, yes we did the repairs for them and yes we where there twice but the system was working when we were finished AND we give a one year warranty on repairs. That being said the only time we ever heard from them again was to ask for a refund to “help pay for a new system”.  Now he states that the system was shot, not true the system was less than 10 years old and still under warranty but ONLY to the original home owner that installed the system, we know because they had us try and get this all paid for under warranty !  Also it is my understanding that they called ***** originally but could not get in touch with them and they wanted it fixed asap, so we where there for them. We can read into this whatever we like did ***** do something with paperwork that we did not …….. I don’t know ?  We offered to return and do what needed to be done but they refused.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I don't know what they are talking about we called ***** first and we wanted it fixed ASAP. It took 2 weeks from the time they came out to the time they actually started repairs the FIRST time.
The system was not working each time they left. They would fix something - charge an outrageous amount of money - still didn't work. Came out - charged us more money - still didn't work - we called them again letting them know it still wasn't working properly. They said to let the system adjust to the repairs. At this point my husband was so frustrated with the plumbing works. Every time we called them it was a new repair and more money. Sure they stand by their repairs for 1 year. But on the repair that they did. They keep charging the customer until they actually get it right. Where it should have been done right the first time. Not charge the customer until you finally figure out what needs to be done. That is complete incompetence.
We did not call them again because they would not have installed a new system on the money that we already paid them. It would have been another crazy bill. We lost confidence in them and would not have trusted them to continue to attempt to fix our system.

Our system is 10 years old. We of course tried to submit the part under the warranty. That is what they are for - right? I don't understand the response from the owner "they had us try and get this all paid for under warranty !"
What is the exclamation for in this sentence? Why wouldn't we submit it under the warranty if it is still available?

But I will also comment on that situation - The plumbing works also did this process wrong. When I called the company for our system after the fact, they said they would have sent us the new part under the warranty. But the plumbing works said it wasn't covered. So we trusted them and agreed to continue with the repair. After the fact I decided to call the company to see for myself. Discovering that they would have replaced the part if The Plumbing Works would have sent in the broken part and they send the replacement.

The system was shot and there were multiple people here to actually comment on the system. The system that we had is only known to last about 10 to 12 years. So when he said it was less then 10 years old - He means 9 years and 11 months! It was shot - end of story. We called The Plumbing Works more than 2 times. His tech was at our house many times. We had the personal number of the tech and he kept returning. The tech even said he was at our house more than usual. He was concerned that he had to keep coming back.

We will not let this issue go or let the Plumbing works bully us into not pursing this matter. We spent a lot of money on their incompetence. Word of mouth is huge for local companies and they have really hurt themselves with our case. They completely ignored all my phone calls to resolve this matter. It went 4 weeks and there was no response from the owner. Every time I called it was still sitting on his desk. I finally called 4 weeks after the first call and still could not speak to the owner. I just got a message that they were not going to help us. They did the work - we paid  - end of story. Well that is not the end of the story. They did the wrong work - charged us for repairs that didn't fix our system. We can't afford repairs that don't work. I don't think any household should be treated this way. You can't treat customers with such incompetence and disrespect and get away with it. We will take this to the courts if this can't be resolved through personal negotiations. $2,000 is too high of a price to let it go.
I can also say that my daughter has very bad allergies and asthma. We spent most of the summer dealing with severe asthma attacks and allergy problems because of our system not working and not being repaired properly. During the high pollen months we have to keep the windows closed and the air on to keep her allergies at a minimum. I explained that to the tech and to the women that answered the phones. It has caused more problems than just the actual amount to fix the system. We have been stressed about the cost and the system working since April. It has been a horrible experience and no sympathy or help from the Plumbing Works. Just more bills.

When we called *****, it was out of desperation to finally get our system fixed. There was no way we would allow the Plumbing Works to actually "try" and fix it again. Calling ***** was the best decision we ever made and the system was fixed RIGHT the first time. We didn't spend thousands of dollars figuring out what the heck was the problem.


Regards,

******* *****




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Plumbing Works
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)