BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. D'S Plumbing & Heating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. D'S Plumbing & Heating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. D'S Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 02/01/1988 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA025342.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sheila Ditty, President/Owner Mr. Michael T. Ditty, Vice-President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sheila Ditty, President/Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Heating Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 6005 Rising Sun Avenue

    Philadelphia, PA 19111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 02/14/15, I called Mr. D's Plumbing Services to setup an appointment for an estimate for my bathroom sink. I spoke with Sue, who gave me a very hard time getting an appointment. She informed me that no one could come to my home, and instead provided me with a price of $95.00 over the phone for a drip in my sink. After explaining to her that it would be more appropriate for a plumber to come to my home and take a look at my bathroom sink, due to multiple problems with the bathroom sink and wanting an accurate price, Sue began yelling in the phone that no one could come to my home and that she did not know if she could give me an appointment. Due to the extreme yelling and unprofessionalism that Sue displayed on the phone, my daughter then took the phone and proceeded to try to calmly negotiate with Sue to see when we could have someone come and look at the bathroom sink. Sue then began yelling and going off on my daughter too. Sued informed her also that we could not get an appointment. That is when we requested to speak with the owner, Mr. D. I spoke with Mr. D on Tuesday 02/17/15 after calling him back twice. He stated he found it hard to believe that Sue would behave this way, and he never received any complaints against her. Mr. D also informed me he would have a plumber come to my home on Saturday 02/21/15 to take a look at the bathroom sink and provide me with an estimate. No one ever called or showed up on Saturday 2/21/15.

Desired Settlement: An apology with an estimate.

Business Response: 3/4/15
To whom it may concern,
This letter is in response to a customer complaint that was placed with the Better Business Bureau from ******* *****. On 2/14/15 we had no available appointments as our schedule was already fully booked for that day. Plus, we do not offer free estimates on a Saturday. We offer free estimates to customers if we have an available technician in their area but we do not give appointments for this, we offer it as a courtesy. My employee simply stated a minimum price of $95.00 to fix a leak to give *** ***** an idea of a cost. My employee offered to try to have a technician go out Monday 2/17/15 but *** ***** wanted an exact time which we can'provide due to the nature of this business. My employee offered to call her as soon as we had a technician available at which *** ***** stated she had things to do and didn’t when she would be home. We were willing to provide her a free estimate but she was not offering any flexibility with her time.
Unbeknownst to my employee, *** ***** placed her daughter on the phone and her daughter began to tell me employee that she must be suffering from anxiety and depression and she should seek medical help at which point my employee stated she would have the owner call *** *****. This is company policy.
We have dealt with *** ***** in the past and have always been fair with our prices.
My employee, Suzanne, is always professional with customers and this is the first complaint I have received about her in the five years she has worked for my company.
We are sorry we could not accommodate *** ***** with her request for a free estimate. This is our busy season and due to the extreme cold weather this last month we are dealing with homeowners with frozen pipes, no running water and not heat in their homes. We would have been happy to give *** ***** a free estimate when we had availability.
Thank you for your time.
– Sheila D

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The statements in the letter provided by Mr.. D's is false, incorrect, inaccurate and filled with many errors. I tried on more than one occasion to negotiate a time with Sue for a technician to come to my house and look at the work I needed done, but she went into a severe panic and repeatedly kept flipping out on me and denied me an appointment. She also stated that she did not know if she could send a technician out to my home.  It is unprofessional to give one price over the phone without physically having a technician looking at what needs to be done.   Once the technician came to my house, I'm sure the price would have be much higher than Sue quoted over the phone.  I actually needed 2 different services done, but Sue was so unprofessional, loud, and rude that I was unable to communicate this information to her. That is when my daughter took the phone to try and calm Sue down so we could negotiate accurate business services.  When my daughter spoke with Sue, again, she began to panic, yell and deny us services. We informed Sue that we work everyday, and told her the time we got home during the week, and also asked if we could have someone come out on Saturday, but she still denied us services.  I also called and spoke with the owner, Mr. D,  and explained what happened with Sue.  Mr. D, informed me that someone would call me on 02/19/15 to setup an appointment, but no one ever called to setup anything. This clearly is bad business practices. What Mr. D's fail to realize is that they are not the only plumbers in the city of Philadelphia. At this point, Mr. D's services are not necessary or needed because I have found a very professional plumber who did not give me a problem with an appointment, came to my home and provided an estimate, and will perform all of my services at a reasonable price.




Regards,

******* *****









Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. D'S Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)