BBB Accredited Business since

Long's Corporation

Phone: (703) 323-1776 View Additional Phone Numbers 11215 Lee Hwy Ste G, Fairfax, VA 22030 http://www.longscorp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Long's Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Long's Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Long's Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1997 Business started: 01/19/1936 in VA Business started locally: 01/19/1936 Business incorporated 12/13/1962 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2701018028 A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kenneth Long, President/CEO Ms. Theresa Dagenhart, Vice President Mr. Richard Tripp, Service Manager Ms. Cheryl Wates, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenneth Long, President/CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Richard Tripp, Service Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Water Works Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Long's Plumbing, Heating, Sewer and Water

Additional Locations

  • 11215 Lee Hwy Ste G

    Fairfax, VA 22030

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Long Sunday 16th 2014 to request their service for a plugged Line. The person (Missy?) called me back and she received the details. I told her I opened the toilet and used my own small snake, but the snake I had was not long enough. I told her more about my issue and she said that same-day snaking the sewrer line would be $600 to $900 since it is considered an emergency service. I told her it was not an emergency and asked how much it would be if it was done tomorrow(Monday). She stated that according to the invoice from the plumbers, it will cost me $300. I told her OK and agreed to the $300. Later, the next day the plumber arrived at my door and told my wife it will cost $585. My wife, knowing that this was not the agreed upon price, called me and I talked with the plumber. I told the plumber that the fee is $285 above the agreed price and stated that we would not be needing his services. Long's should have told me about their actual price when I asked for estimate. They mislead me and charged me and my family an extra $89.50. I am requesting Long to reimburse $89.50 and stop miss quoting the price in order to make it more appealing.

Business Response: *** ***********, Obviously there was a miscommunication issue that happened between Missy and yourself. Long's Corporation is a flat rate company, we charge $89.50 for a dispatch fee (to come to your house), then the technician looks at problem and quotes you from the flat rate book for the task. Work performed on Sundays and after hours is considered "emergency service" that is why she told you prices for that. Missy has been handling after hour calls and emergency service for several years for Long's Corporation so I feel that it was a simple mistake. Long's Corporation would be happy to refund you the $89.50 dispatch fee and hope you have better communications with your next plumber.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is semi-satisfactory to me.  The reason I made complaint was in twofold, 1. To get the refund and 2. Make sure it will not happen to others. The information they gave me was misleading and the charge (Claiming to be from the book) is too high.  I am pleased to get the refund, but wished they took responsibility on their action and made some changes.

Thank you for your help in getting the refund.

Regards,

**** ***********

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have not received the refund the company was suppose to send me. 


Regards,

**** ***********








Business Response: I have to take full responsibility for this falling through the cracks. I did not give to bookkeeper to send refund check. I guess I just got overwhelmed with the holidays and end of year. My apologies for the long delay in your refund.

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company failed to check for an issue (leaking refrigerant)that was brought to their attention as probable problem. After week of waiting on authorization, ordering part and replacing, problem was not solved. Checked for and discovered leak. Now currently on another week+ wait for authorization, ordering part and replacement. One month prior to this issue the company recharged low refrigerant during a separate service call and did not check for leaks then or on the current return visit until first issue did not solve the problem.

Desired Settlement: Get my AC fixed ASAP.

Business Response:

I have reviewed our emails for the date referenced (7/1/2014 5:16:28pm) and cannot find a record of the Communication. I apologize for the delay in response, but thank you for your recent email of 7/24/2014. :
Response to *** *****'s complaint:
| can sympathize with *** *****. To be without air conditioning during the summer is completely unexpected in today's society,
*** ***** is enrolled in ******** ******** *** ******** HVAC home warranty program. He pays ******** ******** a low premium per month and when his HVAC equipment fails or does not work properly, he requests service from ******** ******** *** ********, under their program and has agreed to the associated terms and conditions of his contract with them.
Long's Corporation is a vendor to ******** ******** *** ********, and just like *** *****; we have a contract with ******** ******** to provide service and have also agreed to terms and conditions. This being said, we have protocol that must be followed to insure that the customer and the vendor do not take advantage of ******** ******** *** ******** and their low cost repair program. Just like any insurance or repair program, there are gatekeepers and criteria must be met in order to go to the next stage of action, Long's Corporation is contractually obligated to ******** ******** *** ******** and therefore must follow protocol outlined by our contract, not to *** *****.
As with any mechanical system, there are certain components that work until they don't. Preventive maintenance, which *** *****'s program does not address, sometimes predicts system failure, or takes a proactive measure to avoid, ******** ******** program is strictly a repair program.
If there is a complaint here, it is not with Long's Corporation. Perhaps a review of the terms and conditions of his contract with ******** ********, and/or a discussion with ******** ******** *** ******** might shed some understanding on his part.
might add that there is an unobtainable triad. In our known universe, anyone can have two of the three.

                                           Time

                                           /       \
                                      Cost ---- Quality
Coincidentally, *** *****'s system was repaired as of 7//3/2014.



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Long's Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)