BBB Accredited Business since

Jimmy Gusky, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (202) 246-9380 1250 Taylor St NW Ste G, Washington, DC 20011 http://jimmygusky.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides complete plumbing, heating and air conditioning service to areas around DC, Maryland, and Virginia.  New installations, service, or repair.  Fully licensed and bonded.  Serving residential and commercial accounts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jimmy Gusky, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jimmy Gusky, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Jimmy Gusky, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 2011 Business started: 04/15/1990 in DC Business started locally: 04/15/1990 Business incorporated 04/15/1990 in DC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer & Regulatory Affairs (DCRA)-DC
1100 4th Street SW, Washington DC 20024
http://www.pearsonvue.com/dc/industrial_trades/
Phone Number: (202) 442-4320
Fax Number: (202) 698-4329
Pamela.Hall@dc.gov
The number is RJ901116.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jimmy Gusky, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jimmy Gusky, President
Business Category

Plumbers Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Alternate Business Names
JCF, Inc. Jimmy Gusky Heating and Air Conditioning Jimmy Gusky Plumbing

Additional Locations

  • 1250 Taylor St NW Ste G

    Washington, DC 20011

  • PO Box 9648

    Washington, DC 20016

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the beginning of the summer, we decided we should have our air conditioning system checked out to make sure it didn't need any routine maintenance. The air conditioner was working perfectly fine -- we had no problems with it when we made this decision. Rather, we figured that we should have someone come check on it annually to make sure it remained in good repair as a matter of good practice. We called Jimmy Gusky, who sent a technician out. As an initial matter, the technician was exceedingly condescending and rude, particularly to me (he was less condescending to my husband, presumably because he's a white man). The technician advised us that we needed more freon for our system. He added it and left. The next day, our system stopped working entirely. We called Jimmy Gusky back, and they sent someone else out. This new technician told us that out system had too much freon, and so they took some out. The system stopped working again the next day, so the technician returned again to remove more freon. He also injected some sort of sealant in the pipes to prevent freon leakage. Days later, the system stopped working yet again. This time, Jimmy Gusky's technician told us that the fan was broken (they claim that this was completely coincidental and had nothing to do with their repairs). They replaced the fan. Today, the air conditioning unit stopped working yet again. When we called them, they said that the unit was not their problem, and that they would be required to charge the full service fee to come take a look. We've asked another company to come fix the problem that Jimmy Gusky created.

Desired Settlement: Jimmy Gusky created a problem where there was none. They should (1) refund the money they charged us; and (2) pay for the costs of repair necessitated by their work on our air conditioning unit.

Business Response:

Customer called yesterday at 7:00pm because the unit stopped working again. They asked for us to come out that evening and we said we could come out the following morning between 10:00am and 12:00pm and that we would charge them a service call because we had replaced the condenser fan motor on a previous call at no charge to the customer.  The customer felt that it is our responsibility for all their air conditioning concerns because we worked on the unit. I informed them that we did not install the unit and that we only serviced it and that there would be a service call fee.  It the problem is with the condenser fan motor that we installed then we will be more than happy to replace it.  We will contact the customer to find out what the other company found.

 

 

Consumer Response: Another company temporarily fixed our air conditioning unit today (apparently, there is a filter in the attic that Jimmy Gusky missed entirely that was causing these problems with the Freon). They informed us that the fan in the unit that had been replaced by Jimmy Gusky was defective and needed to be replaced. We look forward to Jimmy Gusky contacting us to schedule a time to replace the fan.

Business Response:

The complaint arose from the frustration of both the client and the contractor.  Jimmy Gusky Heating and Air serviced the system in June.  In July the system failed and the client assumed the failure was due to pervious service in June.  Failure was a fan motor with no apparent tie to the original service.  Sine we had lost trust with the client, I agreed to repair the failure at no charge to the customer.  Six weeks later the system failed again and since we made the previous repair at no charge and we only serviced the system not installed the system, I informed the client he would be charged if we come out again.  I suggested that he call another contractor.  That contractor found 2 problems.  The first was an additional filter inside the unit that we had missed and the fan that we installed was defective.  So he changed the filter and we replaced the motor.  It is unfortunate that this happened but I hope we both benefited from the experience.
 

8/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently had an HVAC unit placed in my home (less than 6 months) by a highly reputable company, *** ****** ******, and was completely satisfied with their work. At the time of *** completing their work, I was informed that based on the then current duct system in my home, I would need additional ductwork( a return air and supplier air) in order for my upstairs environment to be comfortable. I tried to return to *** to get this work done, and because of their heavy work load of satisfied customers, the nearest appointment that I could be scheduled for would be October/November. I then contacted Jimmy Gusky, LLC and a representative from the company came to my home to assess the work that needed to be done. Having already had the assessment from ***, I shared this information with the representative. He then proceeded to tell me, and ensure me, that I in fact did not need a supplier air, but just a return air, and that the temperature in the upstairs environment would coincide with the temperature set on the thermostat. I was told to allow the ductwork system they installed 24 hours to reduce the temperature and remove the hot air from the upstairs environment and equilibrate. After 3 days of waiting for the upstairs environment to cool down, I contacted Jimmy Gusky, LLC and explained to them that the temperature in my upstairs environment had not decreased and that there was a significant difference in the temperature versus the thermostat setting. After calling twice, Jimmy Gusky agreed to come to my home and inspect the work that his "skilled" worker had done. Once entering my home, he could feel the difference immediately from level to level. Instead of offering solutions to fix the problem that his representative ensured me would be solved by installing only a return air, he then tried to convince me that there was nothing else that could be done, then he suggested getting the supplier air with of course additional cost to me, even though his representative told me I did not need it, and finally as a last resort, he tried to pawn me off to other companies and suggested installing an attic fan, ceiling fans, etc. (products that his company does not offer). The assessment of what was needed to create a comfortable environment throughout my entire home was improper and the final product was inferior.

Desired Settlement: A reassessment of what is needed in my home and the corresponding proper ductwork installation (a supplier air to my upstairs).

Business Response: I met with customer agreed to make a few changes to return going back on friday am to make these changes!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Jimmy Gusky, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart