BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that James Vito, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for James Vito, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on James Vito, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 01/19/1934 in MD Business started locally: 01/19/1934 Business incorporated 01/19/1934 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 7488.

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2701021865A.

Department of Consumer & Regulatory Affairs (DCRA)-DC
1000 4th Street SW, Washington DC 20024
http://www.dcra.dc.gov
Phone Number: 202-442-9828
Fax Number: 202-727-6546
The number is DPM870.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael A. Vito, President Ms. Yda L Morales, Controller Mr. James G. Vito, COO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Yda L Morales, Controller
Principal: Mr. Michael A. Vito, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Alternate Business Names
Vito Plumbing Vito Plumbing Drains Heating & Air Conditioning Vito Plumbing Heating Air Conditioning Vito Services
Industry Tips
HOME REMODELING CONTRACTORS

Additional Locations

  • 100 S Pickett St Unit E

    Alexandria, VA 22304

  • 681 Southlawn Ln

    Rockville, MD 20850 (301) 251-0211

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is about a charge that has been posted by Vito Services for water heater repair work that was cancelled and not performed.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the REFUND of the charges posted to my credit card and a NEW invoice with FAIR and ACCURATE charges for Problem Diagnosis and Plumber Visit.

Business Response: Thank you for notifying us regarding *** *****'s complaint.


We are quite familiar with this job and have have many conversations (calls and emails) with *** *****.  Below is the last email received from *** ***** on Wednesdday.

*** ***** is requesting that we credit him back the difference of $246.50 and $48 dollars for our diagnosis fee plus "additional fuel l surcharges related to that visit."  Not an issue, however, our costs for this job are $243.55.  The Technician while there charged and collected $246.50.  Not sure why we would credit *** ***** based on what transpired.  We paid our technician for 2.5 hours AND our office staff made numerous calls to *** *****, Managers and Manufacturer in order to satisfy *** *****'s request.

On July 30, 2015 *** ***** called stating that he smelled gas from a water heater we installed and would like someone to come out and take a look.  We sent a Technician same day.  Technician did not smell gas but using detector discovered there was a very small trace of gas.  Technician spoke to Customer, Dispatcher and Manager and it was determined that as a precaution we should call the manufacturer and request (under warranty) a new gas valve.  Technician then explained to Customer and collected 50% of the flat rate price which was $246.50.  The other 50% was going to be collected when completed.  The part was covered by the Manufacture and this was for the labor to install.

*** ***** was insistent that we schedule the job prior to him heading out of town.  In fact, there were numerous emails and calls to our dispatcher (****** D*****) about this.  After we confirmed schedule, *** ***** called ****** and informed her that he was cancelling because he was going to call ********** *** to come out and take look.  Ironically, we had suggested that he call ********** *** before we ordered the part.  ********** *** came out and determined everything was fine and the part was not needed, which was ordered and delivered to his house.  *** ***** then emailed us demanding a refund.

*** ***** is claiming our technician was only there for 3 minutes, which is simply not true.  All of our vehicles have GPS and that vehicle per the records shows the vehicle was there on 07-30-15 from 8:39 am to 10:19am.  This does not include the travel to the home nor the time spent making calls and coordinating.  *** ***** called us for what initially seemed like a potential gas leak.  We immediately responded and did everything possible to resolve only to find out that there was really no issue.  Had it been determined that the leak was a direct result of our work we would without hesitation take care of it at no charge.  Given what actually occurred and the fact that James Vito, Inc. incurred costs of $243.55 in an effort to assist *** *****, we are finding it difficult to simply process a credit.

If there is anything further you need please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-####.

Regards,

Jim V***

 

From: ****** ** *** [mailto:*****.*****@*******.com]
Sent: Wednesday, August 05, 2015 8:59 AM
To: James G. Vito
Cc: ****** ******; ***** ******
Subject: RE: Refund Request
Importance: High

Dear Mr. V***:

Like a good customer, I gave you the time to post the credit.  You have not posted the credit.  I would request you to please post the credit for $246.50 immediately for the charge you have posted for the work that was not performed.  Again, to recap, this was the 50% advance you have taken toward the installation of the replacement part.  As your colleague, Ms. D***** will tell you, I sent an e-mail the very same day, after your plumber finished his diagnosis job, and cancelled the appointment for the installation job.

Also, as I have stated to you many times, I am prepared to pay the charges toward the work performed, i.e., the PROBLEM DIAGNOSIS CHARGE, which is $48.00.  I have also VOLUNATARILY agreed to pay the additional fuel surcharge related to that visit or the regular service charge for sending a plumber.  Please note that there was no work performed inside the house.  As I have stated in my e-mail below, your plumber was inside the house for less than 3 minutesYou know very well just for holding the gas leak detector and walking around the water heater for 3 minutes, the labor cost is not this high.  Your plumber just sat in his truck and was talking in Spanish to someone for more than 30 minutes when I had to go out and ask him what he was doing.  He spent 45 minutes talking to someone other than the parts people at ***** and another 15 minutes ordering the part.  I have been able to reach Rheem’s parts people within 5 minutes every time I have called them.  I know in the past you have quoted a flat service charge for sending the plumber and another charge for the work performed.  I am prepared to pay the service charge for sending the plumber PLUS the diagnosis charge (for the work performed).  However, the appropriate charges should be FAIR and ACCURATEI know for sure and you know well that the flat service charge for sending out a plumber to check out the problem is NOT $198.50.  So, please send me a NEW invoice with the FAIR and ACCURATE charges.  I will review the new charges and authorize it and then you can charge it to my credit card.  I would first like to receive the new invoice via e-mail with the new charges for the work performed.  I am referring to the $48.00 charge plus the visit surcharge.  But, please first post the credit for $246.50 immediately.  I do NOT want to mix up the two transactions.  The $246.50 was clearly stated to me as the 50% advance for the installation of the replacement part and this job was cancelled and not performed.  So, please post the credit for $246.50 immediately.  Thanks for your help.

 

*** *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Mr. V*** has a problem comprehending my messages requesting the refund.

 

This complaint is about a charge that has been posted by Vito Services for water heater repair work that was cancelled and not performed.  I had clearly informed Ms. D***** at Vito Services, who schedules appointments, not to charge the advance amount she had asked for scheduling the replacement part installation job.  She had told me while making the appointment for the installation of the replacement part that the total charge for installing the replacement part would be $493.00 and she would have to take 50% in advance also to cover the part charges, which is the disputed amount.  First, there was no part charge.  It was a warranty part and Vito Services was never being charged for it by Rheem, the water heater manufacturer.  While asking for the advance, Ms. D***** had also told me that they would not get paid by ***** for the replacement part until they send back the defective part and they have to pay ***** to procure the new part.  I was clearly misled by Ms. D*****.  ***** clearly informed me that there was no part charge.  It was a warranty part and they were never being charged for it.  In fact, ***** sent the part directly to me because the water heater is under warranty and registered under my name.  In fact, ***** sent the part directly to me.  I cancelled the appointment for installing the part immediately, and I had indicated to Ms. D*****, I wanted to get a second opinion from **********  ***.  I was informed by the ********** *** technician that there was no "leak" as stated by the Vito plumber and there was no need to replace the part.  There is NO labor charge here and there is NO part charge here.  Mr. Vito’s plumber may have ordered the part.  But, Vito Services was NOT charged for the part. The water heater is under warranty and the part was sent to me directly.

 

As I have stated to Mr. Vito many times, I am prepared to pay the charges toward the work performed, i.e., the PROBLEM DIAGNOSIS CHARGE, which is $48.00.  I have also VOLUNATARILY agreed to pay the additional fuel surcharge related to that visit or the regular service charge for sending a plumber.  Please note that there was no work performed inside the house.  As I have stated in my e-mail messages, Mr. Vito’s plumber was inside the house for less than 3 minutes.  He knows very well just for holding the gas leak detector and walking around the water heater for 3 minutes, the labor cost is not this high.  The plumber just sat in his truck and was talking in Spanish to someone for more than 30 minutes when I had to go out and ask him what he was doing.  He spent 45 minutes talking to someone other than the parts people at ***** and another 15 minutes ordering the part.  I have been able to reach Rheem’s parts people within 5 minutes every time I have called them.  I cannot pay the hourly rate for the plumber to sit in his truck.  He may have stuck around near the house for 2 hours.  But, that does not mean he was doing the work on the water heater for two hours inside the house.

 

The disputed amount, which is $246.50, is not the service charge or the labor charge for the plumber’s visit to diagnose the problem.  That’s a $48.00 charge, which I have agreed to pay.  That's a separate charge and Vito Services refuses to send me a new INVOICE for that diagnosis job.  Vito refuses to refund the money.  Mr. Vito needs to understand that there is something called HONESTY, INTEGRITY, and ETHICS in business.

 

I need some help to get the money back, since James Vito refuses to do so and he is not responding to my e-mail messages.  Mr. Vito needs to refund the $246.50 taken as 50% advance for installing the replacement part (that was not needed) and issue a NEW invoice with FAIR and ACCURATE charges for the diagnosis charge and the plumber visit charge.  To be very honest, Mr. Vito’s plumber misled me by saying that the Gas Valve Control Unit is leaking gas.  That was not accurate.

 

Just to give you a backgrounder, the new water heater was installed by Vito Services in March 2014.  The electronic ignition, gas valve control unit, which is at the bottom of the water heater, has some trace leakage, which is also sporadic.  I got it checked out by two different expert technicians from Wash Gas and another company that focusses on water heaters, just to get a second opinion.  They clearly advised me not to do anything, since this sporadic, trace leakage, is quite common and I’d be doing more harm in getting the original, factory-assembled part, pulled out and replaced.  They just asked me to observe the situation and if it worsens, then get the part replaced.  I called Vito Services to check it out because I thought there may be a problem with the plumbing they had done and that was clearly not the case.

 

Thanks for your time.

 

*** *****

 

(Ref: ID: ******** – ADDITIONAL SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION - DOCUMENTATION TO SUPPORT COMPLAINT)
 
Mr. Vito has a problem comprehending my messages requesting the refund.
 
This complaint is about a charge that has been posted by Vito Services for water heater repair work that was cancelled and not performed.  I had clearly informed Ms. D***** at Vito Services, who schedules appointments, not to charge the advance amount she had asked for scheduling the replacement part installation job.  She had told me while making the appointment for the installation of the replacement part that the total charge for installing the replacement part would be $493.00 and she would have to take 50% in advance also to cover the part charges, which is the disputed amount.  First, there was no part charge.  It was a warranty part and Vito Services was never being charged for it by Rheem, the water heater manufacturer.  While asking for the advance, Ms. D***** had also told me that they would not get paid by ***** for the replacement part until they send back the defective part and they have to pay ***** to procure the new part.  I was clearly misled by Ms. D*****.  ***** clearly informed me that there was no part charge.  It was a warranty part and they were never being charged for it.  In fact, ***** sent the part directly to me because the water heater is under warranty and registered under my name.  In fact, ***** sent the part directly to me.  I cancelled the appointment for installing the part immediately, and I had indicated to Ms. D*****, I wanted to get a second opinion from **********  ***.  I was informed by the ********** *** technician that there was no "leak" as stated by the Vito plumber and there was no need to replace the part.  There is NO labor charge here and there is NO part charge here.  Mr. Vito’s plumber may have ordered the part.  But, Vito Services was NOT charged for the part.  The water heater is under warranty and the part was sent to me directly.
 
As I have stated to Mr. Vito many times, I am prepared to pay the charges toward the work performed, i.e., the PROBLEM DIAGNOSIS CHARGE, which is $48.00.  I have also VOLUNATARILY agreed to pay the additional fuel surcharge related to that visit or the regular service charge for sending a plumber.  Please note that there was no work performed inside the house.  As I have stated in my e-mail messages, Mr. Vito’s plumber was inside the house for less than 3 minutes.  He knows very well just for holding the gas leak detector and walking around the water heater for 3 minutes, the labor cost is not this high.  The plumber just sat in his truck and was talking in Spanish to someone for more than 30 minutes when I had to go out and ask him what he was doing.  He spent 45 minutes talking to someone other than the parts people at ***** and another 15 minutes ordering the part.  I have been able to reach Rheem’s parts people within 5 minutes every time I have called them.  I cannot pay the hourly rate for the plumber to sit in his truck.  He may have stuck around for 2 hours.  But, that does not mean he was doing the work on the water heater for two hours.
 
The disputed amount, which is $246.50, is not the service charge or the labor charge for the plumber’s visit to diagnose the problem.  That’s a $48.00 charge, which I have agreed to pay.  That's a separate charge and Vito Services refuses to send me a new INVOICE for that diagnosis job.  Vito refuses to refund the money.  Mr. Vito needs to understand that there is something called HONESTY, INTEGRITY, and ETHICS in business.
 
I need some help to get the money back, since James Vito refuses to do so and he is not responding to my e-mail messages.  Mr. Vito needs to refund the $246.50 taken as 50% advance for installing the replacement part (that was not needed) and issue a NEW invoice with FAIR and ACCURATE charges for the diagnosis charge and the plumber visit charge.  To be very honest, Mr. Vito’s plumber misled me by saying that the Gas Valve Control Unit is leaking gas.  That was not accurate.
 
Just to give you a backgrounder, the new water heater was installed by Vito Services in March 2014.  The electronic ignition, gas valve control unit, which is at the bottom of the water heater, has some trace leakage, which is also sporadic.  I got it checked out by two different expert technicians from Wash Gas and another company that focusses on water heaters, just to get a second opinion.  They clearly advised me not to do anything, since this sporadic, trace leakage, is quite common and I’d be doing more harm in getting the original, factory-assembled part, pulled out and replaced.  They just asked me to observe the situation and if it worsens, then get the part replaced.  I called Vito Services to check it out because I thought there may be a problem with the plumbing they had done and that was clearly not the case.
 
Thanks for your time.
 
*** *****
 
 
From: K S *** ***** [mailto:***3609@gmail.com] 
Sent: Thursday, August 06, 2015 5:04 PM
To: *****, ** ***
Subject:
 
Thank you for notifying us regarding *** *****'s complaint.
 
We are quite familiar with this job and have have many conversations (calls and emails) with *** *****.  Below is the last email received from *** ***** on Wednesday.
 
*** ***** is requesting that we credit him back the difference of $246.50 and $48 dollars for our diagnosis fee plus "additional fuel l surcharges related to that visit."  Not an issue, however, our costs for this job are $243.55.  The Technician while there charged and collected $246.50.  Not sure why we would credit *** ***** based on what transpired.  We paid our technician for 2.5 hours AND our office staff made numerous calls to *** *****, Managers and Manufacturer in order to satisfy *** *****'s request.
 
On July 30, 2015 *** ***** called stating that he smelled gas from a water heater we installed and would like someone to come out and take a look.  We sent a Technician same day.  Technician did not smell gas but using detector discovered there was a very small trace of gas.  Technician spoke to Customer, Dispatcher and Manager and it was determined that as a precaution we should call the manufacturer and request (under warranty) a new gas valve.  Technician then explained to Customer and collected 50% of the flat rate price which was $246.50.  The other 50% was going to be collected when completed.  The part was covered by the Manufacture and this was for the labor to install.
 
*** ***** was insistent that we schedule the job prior to him heading out of town.  In fact, there were numerous emails and calls to our dispatcher (****** D*****) about this.  After we confirmed schedule, *** ***** called ****** and informed her that he was cancelling because he was going to call ********** *** to come out and take look.  Ironically, we had suggested that he call ********** *** before we ordered the part.  ********** *** came out and determined everything was fine and the part was not needed, which was ordered and delivered to his house.  *** ***** then emailed us demanding a refund.
 
*** ***** is claiming our technician was only there for 3 minutes, which is simply not true.  All of our vehicles have GPS and that vehicle per the records shows the vehicle was there on 07-30-15 from 8:39 am to 10:19am.  This does not include the travel to the home nor the time spent making calls and coordinating.  *** ***** called us for what initially seemed like a potential gas leak.  We immediately responded and did everything possible to resolve only to find out that there was really no issue.  Had it been determined that the leak was a direct result of our work we would without hesitation take care of it at no charge.  Given what actually occurred and the fact that James Vito, Inc. incurred costs of $243.55 in an effort to assist *** *****, we are finding it difficult to simply process a credit.
If there is anything further you need please feel free to contact me directly at 301-315-6105.
Regards,
Jim Vito

*****, ** *** <*****.*****@*******.com>
5:44 PM (14 hours ago)

to me 
Dear *** ******:
 
Please read what’s highlighted below.  If you interpret this correctly, it is obvious that Mr. Vito is spinning a different story.  Ms. D***** clearly states that she would talk to Jimmy, which is Mr. Vito, and they will take the fee for yesterday.  That is, they will charge me just for the diagnosis and the fuel surcharge for the plumber visit or the visit charge most companies charge.  The $246.50 was clearly the 50% advance for the installation of the replacement part.  And, this job was cancelled and not performed.
 
Thanks,
 
*** *****
 
From: ****** D***** [mailto:Td*****@VitoServices.com] 
Sent: Friday, July 31, 2015 8:51 AM
To: *****, ** ***
Subject: RE: Update: Please CANCEL today's appointment
 
Thank you I will cancel him for today and I will wait for you to call
 
From: *****, ** *** [mailto:*****.*****@*******.com] 
Sent: Friday, July 31, 2015 8:45 AM
To: ****** D*****
Cc: James G. V***
Subject: Update: Please CANCEL today's appointment
Importance: High
 
Hello Ms. D*****:
 
First, I sincerely appreciate your phone call this morning.  As I said earlier, very few companies in this metro area are as responsive to customer needs as you are.  I just called ********** *** and told them the problem.  Since it’s not an emergency as such, they are sending their tech at 3 pm this afternoon.  The have given me an ETA window between 2 pm and 5 pm.  I guess it may not be possible to get the job done even if they tell me that I need to get the job done by a contractor.  If they tell me nothing needs to be done, then I will get back to you.  I really do not want to mess up your Field Supervisor’s schedule.  I will get back to you either later today and give you an update.  Having said that, I would once again please request you just to charge just the service charge for yesterday’s visit to the credit card.
 
Thanks again,
 
*** *****
 
From: ****** D***** [mailto:*******@VitoServices.com] 
Sent: Friday, July 31, 2015 8:12 AM
To: *****, ** ***
Subject: RE: Please CANCEL today's appointment
 
No problem I will take to jimmy let him know what you are doing and then they will take there fee for yesterday
 
From: *****, ** *** [mailto:*****.*****@*******.com] 
Sent: Friday, July 31, 2015 8:02 AM
To: ****** D*****
Cc: James G. V***; **** ***********
Subject: Please CANCEL today's appointment
Importance: High
 
Dear Ms. D*****:
 
I appreciate your feedback.  I am not very comfortable.  I have decided to first call ********** ***, the gas supplier, since any leak of any kind is first inspected by them.  Based on their recommendation, I will call you back.  If they feel this very minor valve leak is not a big problem, then we may not need to do anything.  Having said that, I talked to ***** last evening while inquring about the part shipment.  They very clearly told me that since this is a WARRANTY part, you were NOT charged for the part as you stated.  That’s the reason why they are shipping the part to me directly.  So, please CANCEL this appointment.  Also, please feel free to deduct your service charge for ***on’s visit yesterday and please do NOT charge anything more than the service charge.  I sincerely appreciate your help and support.  You are very responsive and rarely in this business you can find good service providers. For all plumbing needs, you are the first company I call.  I will keep you posted and let you know after I get this inspected by ********** ***.
 
Thanks again,










Consumer Response: From: *****, ** *** <*****.*****@*******.com>
Date: Mon, Aug 17, 2015 at 11:29 AM
Subject: ID: ******** - ***** - **** ********** ***** ****, Fairfax, VA **********
To: ******* ***** (******@mybbb.org)" <******@mybbb.org>
Cc: "*******@mybbb.org" <*******@mybbb.org>, "****** **** (*****@mybbb.org)" <*****@mybbb.org>, "********@mybbb.org" <********@mybbb.org>


Dear *** *****:
 
This is FYI.  This matter has been resolved and you may close this case.  You may want to read the last paragraph!
 
Thanks again for your help.  I know you personally got to know of this case recently.
 
*** *****

7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: James Vito, Inc. replaced broken underground water main which required excavating the front yard; Cost $7,828. Upon water main repair, Vito backfilled the excavated area. Prior to backfilling, they did not tamper and even out the ground, did not use top soil before seeding, left 3 ft deep hole at the point of entry into our house causing large pool of water against the wall. I contacted Vito, wrote a letter, when they told me that a landscaping contractor will visit. Landscaping contractor never visited on three promised dates. I had to backfill the big hole to avoid potential seepage of water into the basement, even out the area. I had to also remove huge number of gravels and a number of big rocks that they left on the ground surface. I had to apply seeds and weed killer on the backfilled area. Payment was made in 3 installments. The 1st two payments were charged to my credit with my permission, leaving final $1,000 for backfilling operation. Vito charged the last $1,000 without my approval, while the work was not completed to our satisfaction.

Desired Settlement: Refund $1,000 that was charged to my credit card without my permission for the work that was not completed to our satisfaction.

Business Response: Good morning.


I personally spoke with *** ***** yesterday (June 25, 2015) regarding his concerns.  We have a very nice conversation and have agreed to credit him $500 for his landscaping.  

*** *****'s issue was not with the work performed but with the back filling once completed.  *** **** was very complimentary of the team that performed the job, which is always nice to hear.  The job commenced in February and the ground was very cold with lots of snow.  We did the best we could backfilling after the job completed and actually returned on April 7th  (almost a month after completion) with (2) two technicians.  They spent 3 hours (6 hours total) leveling out the area and placing straw and seed.  A few weeks later *** ***** called in requesting additional work on the yard.  Since we are not professional landscapers we contacted a landscaping company to perform the work.  In essence, we were attempting to subcontract this out at our expense.  Unfortunately, the landscaping company scheduled on 3 separate occasions.  Last Saturday, June 20th was the 3rd appointment in which he did not post.  *** ***** frustrated wrote complaint to BBB and then called our office to report the missed appointment.  We attempted to reschedule but *** ***** had already taken care the off the issue and requested $1,000 credit.  As of yesterday, June 25, 2015 we mutually agreed that a $500 would be issued to *** *****.  We are processing the credit today, June 26, 2015 and *** ***** should receive early next week.

Thank you for allowing us to properly respond and glad we were able to resolve amicably.  Should there be anything else regarding this matter please do not hesitate to let me know.

Regards,

Jim Vito
************

11/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this company to repair my boiler. A man came to look at the boiler and charged me $90 without doing anything. He did not give me an estimate and did not answer my questions. He said that somebody would come later for the estimate, but no one came. I made another appointment, however, no one came on that day either. I called the supervisor of the company. He said he is not responsible for this matter, and he hung up the phone without further explanation. They took my $90 without giving me an estimate or repairing the boiler.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money that I paid.

Business Response:

This matter was resolved.  We mailed a $90 refund check to *** ******’s home address on September 29, 2014.  Don’t believe we did anything wrong, as he stated in is complaint.  The attached work order was signed and sent to *** ****** the day of service.  Why would he sign and pay the $90 if he was unsatisfied?  In fact, we offer free estimates for new systems so there would not of been an additional charge.  The $90 was the diagnosis / trip charge that would have been explained to him on the phone when booking and then the Technician when payment was made. 

We simply returned his money as a good faith gesture and has an attempt to reduce everyone’s aggravation.

Please let me know if you need anything further regarding this matter.

Thank you,

Jim Vito

###-###-####

 

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on James Vito, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)