BBB Accredited Business since

Terminix

Phone: (570) 383-2650 View Additional Phone Numbers 1155 Mid Valley Dr, Olyphant, PA 18447 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.terminix.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers termite and pest control services for residences and commercial enterprises. The company offers franchise opportunities. The company has 421 locations nationally, which may be either independently owned or company-owned.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Terminix meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

The company's headquarters and company-owned locations throughout the country participate as BBB Accredited businesses. This means they support the Bureau's services to the public and meet our BBB Accreditation standards.
 



Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Terminix include:

  • 13 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Terminix include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Terminix
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1927 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/1927
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture-PA
2301 North Cameron St, Harrisburg PA 17110
http://www.paplants.state.pa.us/index.aspx
Phone Number: 717-787-4737
The number is BU5042.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Brackett, President Ms. Katrina Helmkamp, President Ms. Nikita Redmond, Corp Complaint Contact Mr. John Little Mr. Alex Vitti, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Brackett, President
Principal: Ms. Katrina Helmkamp, President
Customer Contact: Mr. John Little
Principal: Ms. Nikita Redmond, Corp Complaint Contact
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Terminix International Company L.P. Terminix Pest Control
Business Management

Terminix maintains its Headquarters at 860 Ridge lake Blvd., Memphis, TN 38120.


Additional Locations

  • 1155 Mid Valley Dr

    Olyphant, PA 18447

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2008, during a routine termite inspection, I was informed that I had insufficient insulation in my attic crawlspace. The technician suggested their proprietary TAP pest control insulation. On August 1, 2008, I paid $1,961 to have this installed, which I believed it had (on July 31st). I believe it was to be 6" throughout. In November of 2013, I had a leak in my dining room ceiling. On November 20, 2013, my contractor went up into the crawlspace to determine the cause of the leak and informed me that I had inconsistent insulation throughout the crawlspace (3" here, 4" there, 6" in other places and absolutely no insulation whatsoever over my dining room). I called Terminix on November 21, 2013 to find out what the cause of this was. Someone called me back later that day and said that their manager would call me back. No one did. I called again a few days later. I was told they had the wrong number for me and someone would be calling me back. No one ever did. I called a few days later and was informed that they would bypass the manager and send an inspector out to my home. The inspector, a ****** ***** came out on December 5th and said that I was indeed correct. There was insufficient insulation and they would make it right. No one called. I called ****** on December 9th. He said that the manager was supposed to call me. That the insulation had been ordered, would be in the following week and someone would call me about having it installed. No one called. By this time, it was December 20th and I waited until after the holidays. I called ****** on January 6th to tell him that the insulation had not been delivered. He never called me back. I called the Terminix 800 number that afternoon. I was told that the customer service person's supervisor would contact the district manager (a **. ******) and I would probably hear back in a few hours. No one called me back. I repeated this call the following day with the same story. No one called. I repeated the call the following day and was given the same story with a different twist. Apparently, they knew the job was not completed. They said that they called me in August of 2008 to come back and finish the job and I never called them back. This is news to me. I didn't know the job wasn't completed and no one called me back. I wouldn't have been the wiser if I didn't have the leak in my ceiling more than five years later. Again, no one called me back on January 8th. I called again on January 10th. This, I believe was my 11th call on this matter. I have been a Terminix customer since 2000 for Termite and Pest Control. I have spent a good deal of money on these services over the years. I deserve better treatment than this. The person I spoke with on the 10th gave me the name of someone else to call, which I will do. But in the meantime, I am filing this complaint because this service, or lack thereof cannot be allowed to continue.

Desired Settlement: Finishing the job would have been an acceptable settlement if it had been done in a timely fashion, prior to the very cold weather we have experienced here lately. In light of the fact that I have had insufficient insulation over that past five and a half years and the fact that **. ****** did not return my calls despite being contacted to do so at least a half dozen times, I am also requesting a complimentary service in addition to having the insulation installed immediately. Two additional years of termite and pest control would be acceptable and fair.

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern:

Terminix has gone to ***. ****'s property and resolved the issue. On January 23rd Technicians went to the property and installed insulation over the dining room and added additional coverage in areas lacking the full 6". Unfortunately, I had not contacted ***. **** prior because I had not received any messages advising she was calling to speak with me. If I had received the messages I would have contacted her immediately to address this issue ASAP. The finish up that she mentioned she was called about in 2008 had nothing to do with adding additional insulation but to repair 2 holes in the drywall ceiling over the garage. As of today the job hs been fully completed at no additional cost to the consumer.

Thank you,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

You may consider this complaint closed, however I am rejecting this response because:

According to a customer service representative a few weeks ago, **. ****** was e-mailed six times and said that the previous rep left a message on his cell phone. Also, when I called ****** ****** (inspector) on December 9th to ask about the status of the situation, he said that **. ****** was supposed to call me back to tell me that the insulation had been ordered and I would be contacted regarding its installation the following week. Never happened. So, telling me that he was not informed is not true. However, the job was completed and you can consider the complaint closed. Perhaps when the outdoor temperature rises to somewhat normal, I'll be able to tell a difference in my heating bills. I was going to request additional complementary service (termite and pest control) in addition to the project being completed.  However, I am so upset by the treatment I received (or didn't receive!) that at the end of my termite control contract (November, 2014), I am seriously considering switching providers. And that's too bad. This household has been a customer since 2000.

The only bright spot in this nightmare is that **. ****** and the MANY customer service representatives I spoke with have been wonderful, courteous, sympathetic and supportive.

Regards,

***** ****








2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/7/13, I received a bill on my front porch for $109.18 indicating that the technician sprayed the exterior part of our house for ants. I did not request this service because we were not having a problem with ants. I also did not authorize this service because the bill indicated that the customer was unavailable for signature. This is not the first time that I have been billed for services that I did not request. Several months ago, Terminix charged my ******** ******* card for the same situation. As a result, I had to contact ******** ******* to have these charges removed. Now, Terminix is mailing these bills to my home. On 10-7-13, I emailed Terminix and I told them that I do not want to renew my contract. I also indicated that I do not want Terminix calling my home requesting me to renew my contract. Even though I have made this request, I receive messages on my answering machine several times per week from Terminix requesting that I renew my contract.

Desired Settlement: Do not bill for services that were not requested. Please stop calling my house requesting that I renew my contract

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern:

This is in response to a letter received from your office. We have reviewed the account and show it has been in cancelled status since November 27,2013. As far as her outstanding balance we have removed it. The customer's complaint was that we came out every 3 months to do service even though she did not request us. We went out quarterly because the customer signed up for a quarterly exterior pest control agreement. Again the account is in cancelled status and has no balance.
Thank you,

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Horrible customer service! I initially called and asked to have our house treated for fleas after noticing fleas on out cat. I was given a service appointment with a four hr window for the following day. The man arrived as scheduled and was surprised to find my family home as we were never informed that we would need to leave the house and have the cat treated prior to treatment. Upon leaving the man informed me that he could return on Saturday to complete the treatment and would confirm things with the main office and call me by the end of the business day. Needless to say, no call was ever received and when i tried to call the local office was redirected to the (800) number and was told by the phone representative that the service had been cancelled! I asked to speak with a manager and was placed on hold for 20 minutes after which I hung up. The second call to customer service was handled the same way.

Desired Settlement: To have complaint on record and ensure that i am not billed for the services as they were not performed.

Business Response: Please see attached response