BBB Accredited Business since

Terminix

Phone: (570) 383-2650 View Additional Phone Numbers 1155 Mid Valley Dr, Olyphant, PA 18447 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.terminix.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers termite and pest control services for residences and commercial enterprises. The company offers franchise opportunities. The company has 421 locations nationally, which may be either independently owned or company-owned.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Terminix meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

The company's headquarters and company-owned locations throughout the country participate as BBB Accredited businesses. This means they support the Bureau's services to the public and meet our BBB Accreditation standards.
 



Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Terminix include:

  • 15 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Terminix include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Terminix
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1927 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/1927
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture-PA
2301 North Cameron St, Harrisburg PA 17110
http://www.paplants.state.pa.us/index.aspx
Phone Number: 717-787-4737
The number is BU5042.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Brackett, President Ms. Katrina Helmkamp, President Ms. Nikita Redmond, Corp Complaint Contact Mr. Alex Vitti, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Brackett, President
Principal: Ms. Katrina Helmkamp, President
Principal: Ms. Nikita Redmond, Corp Complaint Contact
Customer Contact: Mr. Alex Vitti, Branch Manager
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Terminix International Company L.P. Terminix Pest Control
Business Management

Terminix maintains its Headquarters at 860 Ridge lake Blvd., Memphis, TN 38120.


Additional Locations

  • 1155 Mid Valley Dr

    Olyphant, PA 18447

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/10/2015 Delivery Issues
9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Anthony C********** from Terminix was at my house in July of 2014 to give me a quote for an ant problem in my yard. During the same visit I questioned him if Terminix is removing bats from attics. He said Terminix does remove bats. I asked him to check my attic and give me an estimate for the removal, the cleaning/disinfecting of the bats living area, and the closure of the entrance to the attic. He said he needs to check with his superior prior to giving me one. A couple later on 7/23/2014 I received an e-mail notification for the estimate. I agreed with the estimate and used the automated system to contract Terminix. (The contract number was *****-*******). I also set up an appointment using this automated system. The day of the appointment came, nobody showed, and I called Terminix. The local number connected me automatically to the central customer service and not the local branch. The customer rep told me that the appointment was switched to Aug. 5th because they were waiting for a special machine that's needed to disinfect the soffit area. I said I need a different day since I will be out of the country until Aug. 16. The rep told me that the local branch will be contacted. I didn't hear anything. After my vacation I called customer service again and was told that they cannot find my contract. At this point I was wondering if terminix didn't want to honor the estimate I received. A resolution rep talked to me and sent another sales rep to my property. Mr. C********** came again on 9/13/2014 and another contract was printed out (*****-*******), $306 were paid in cash immediately and the rest of the $1,252.08 per credit card. At that point the bats were still in the attic. To make it short, after several appointment requests, Terminix showed up at the house to close the entrance on 11/21/2014. By then all the bats already left which means I paid for something nature took care on its own. Terminix also didn't disinfect the area which they supposedly were waiting for a specialized machine for, which means I paid for services they promised but didn't provide. And last but not least, a flap supposed to be installed into the opening and all that was done was foam sprayed into the opening. I do not understand how $5 foam justifies a $1252.08 bill. In the meantime I contacted customer support and stated that I would like a refund. I was told that the local office needs to do that and that the customer support cannot refund money. Someone, I forgot the name, contacted me from the Dunmore branch on 11/24/2014 and I explained my issue. The person told me that he will talk to the technicians and get back to me. He didn't as of now.

Desired Settlement: I pay $25 for the foam and the service of 25 minutes but want the rest of the money refunded.

Business Response: On Thursday, December 5,2014 Terminix contacted the customer and a resolution was made. Terminix will be returning on Monday, December 8 to provide an additional service to rectify the issues stemming from the initial service. As well as providing additional service the customer has been refunded $300. Customer will contact Terminix on Monday if any additional assistnace is needed or any issues arise from that scheduled service.

9/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company did not show up when to eradicate mice issues in house. Company install cheap inferior crawl space doors. Company stated employees quit and sent out non qualified new personal. We still have a mouse problem and paid them $500

Desired Settlement: Would like a refund of $500 or at least half amount as no satisfactory service was performed

Business Response: Terminixi has offered to come out to inspect and address any issues the customer has with the service. The customer states the work has already been done and refuses to allow Terminix to come out. Terminix therefore is only refunding 50% of hte original charge.

8/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: called Terminix in April 2014 to have service done for roach and ants problems. Talked to Terminix representative and she stated that I can have a three pay periods of service starting with $140 for 1st payment then $120 for the last two payments. And I could cancel the at anytime. Instead they charge me $250 for the 1st payment wish I disputed this with my bank and was able to take off a $100 and then cancel the service with Terminix due to their poor service. They where suppose to treat the whole house plus outside, and the basement per what the representative stated. Instead the guy walked around the house for 20 minute putting rock like pest control behind a furniture and cabinets. Today August 9th I get a bill for 102.81 for the service that was suppose to happen in July but was cancel by me due to their poor service.

Desired Settlement: I feel that they try to give me poor service and bill me for service that wasn't performed. They need to stop billing me for the 102.81

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

The charge of $102.81 wa sth e balance from when the chargeback occurred on the account. The customer was never charged for any visits except the initial service. The account is in cancelled status and shows a zero balance.

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Terminex to come to my home and clean for bed bugs. I spoke with spokesman and he said what would be done, well that wasn't done. I paid $850 to have my house treated, emptied all my closests and drawers, and they didn't treat 1/2 my rooms. It has been a month since they "serviced' my home and we still have bugs. We were supposed to get another servicing after 2 wks, and that didn't happen. Someone showed up unannounced after the 3rd week at 3:30pm. I have now been living with this issue for months, I have a 10 yr old daughter who is afraid to sleep alone due to these bugs. We got the company to come out again, now a month later, and the technician was here 5 minutes, didn't want to hear us andour complaints, which is what he asked upon arrival, 'where are the occurrances'? Well for alomost $900 I shouldn't still have bugs and someone at the company should give a poop about this since I have a child and this can become worse than what it already is. I want something done!!!! I cannot afford another company, ******* charges $2000 for a different service for the same problem. I need something done here. thank you.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back plus the difference to pay ******* to come and 'clean' my home so my child can sleep at night.

Business Response: Terminix arrived on the first follow up on an appointment that was arranged by the customer. The customer refused the service. On the last visit which was Friday, August 15 the Tech arrived and the husband became irate and used profane language towards the Tech The Tech at that time left due to feeling uncomfortable. Terminix is at this point issuing a full refund in the amount of 848.00.,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I would like to know if this would be expidited for I cannot hire another company without the refund. Thank you.

Regards,

******* *****

8/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are demanding a refund from Terminix because their services did not work for us. We had two seperate bed bug treatments from this company in June, which were ineffective. They were notified and scheduled an appointment for another treatment. On the day of the appointment (which the technician verified a few days prior) the technician did not come to our house or call to reschedule. We have called on three different occasions and spoke to different customer service workers about obtaining a refund, all of which stated "someone from the branch will call you back." We made the first refund request in the beginning of July. It has now been three weeks and we still have not had anyone call us back about getting our refund. This is an extremely time sensitive matter, as the pests continue to reproduce and cause havoc in our family's home. We feel this company is disregarding our time and money and have lost our patience in the matter.

Desired Settlement: We would like either a cash or check refund of our total bill in a timely manner. Thank you.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the customer's complaint. In reviewing the compliant I do see it justified to issue a refund. I will be contacting the Accounting Department today, July 26 to have  the refund processed expeditiously. Terminix apologizes fro the inconvience and will get this resolved immediately

 

Thank you,

John L*****

Service Manager

Terminix- Branch ****

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2013 my family and I signed up for a 1 year contract with the local Terminix office, to provide pest control for our home. There would be 4 scheduled services throughout the year, with additional calls/service should we feel the need for them to come out to our house prior to the next scheduled service. The services were to consist of inside as well as outside treatments. During the 1st scheduled service, I was actually at home and met the technician doing the work. He was a very nice man, and serviced both the outside as well as inside. During this service...please note it took well over a half an hour to complete. We then called since we were still getting pests around the home. The tech did visit, but we do not know what was treated, as he did not enter the home. On the 2nd scheduled treatment...we were called to let us know he was coming. Again, the outside of the home was only done at the time and from what I learned is the technician was at the property for 17 minutes. Please note the Terminix requires their techs to log a total time they were at the property. For the 3rd treatment, we again were called that the tech was coming. However, no one would be available (as I wanted him to treat the inside as well) so I called the Customer Service number to cancel and reschedule the service, which they did. The day the 3rd service was originally scheduled (yet cancelled)...I was walking out the door to leave for work, as the tech was at the front door. I explained to him that I had called to cancel this service and reschedule of which he had notification from anyone it was cancelled. He said nothing to me that the outside was already done. From this day on, I was receiving calls several times a day in order to collect on payment for this 3rd service. Each time I explained to the customer service rep calling for payment that no service was done, since I had cancelled and rescheduled the work. This went on for over a week...several calls a day and even after speaking with supervisors explaining that no work was done, I still received calls. Finally on one particular call with a supervisor, it came into conversation that she agreed with me that we should not be charging us since the techs time stamp was only "6 minutes in duration". Not even close in having enough time to treat the entire outside of our home. At some point, the tech again came back out...but unknown to our knowledge of when. Please note this 3rd service charge was fully paid for on my end. After this 3rd service treatment, I had asked the customer service line to send me a paper bill statement for the final treatment and not bill my credit card...as this would be the last of the binding contract. The 4th treatment was done, and low and behold my credit card was charged. This prompted me to call the customer service line and ask them why it was when I requested I paper bill? The customer service person/s I spoke to did not know how to assist me, but learning from the past, I asked them how long the tech was at my home conducting the outside treatment. The customer service reps responded a time of "1 minute". The latter had me very upset, as there is NO way that someone could treat the outside of our home in one minute. I asked this customer service rep to have a supervisor get on the phone, which they did. I explained the situation, and was told a resolution would be coming. On the very next day, I received a call from a woman who was telling me about the credit card situation only. When I asked her to tell me what news there was on the "1 minute" service...she stated that no notes were available on that within my account. It was at this time I again grew frustrated, and told her that the people I was speaking with the day prior obviously did not enter enter in the notes of my account any of my concerns. She said "yes", and that she would have the manager from the local office call me direct. Two weeks have gone by without any phone call from this manager. A few days ago this week, I again called customer service inquiring when I will be called by the local Olyphant. PA offices manager? I was put on hold, and when the rep came back he stated..."the manager is currently on a job that will take some time, but he will call be by days end. That was 3 days ago. I am asking for a Total Refund for all 4 services to be credited back to me, since the times that I had been given from the customer service people I spoke with, clearly show that I am being charged over $100 dollars for 6 minute and 1 minute treatments. That is on high labor charge!!!!

Desired Settlement: Total refund for all 4 services that were rendered.

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern:
Terminix had provided the first 2 treatments validly as stated in the customers letter. Terminixs agreements state that services are outside with interior upon request. As stated in the letter the outside was serviced on the 2nd services therefore it was in agreement with the customers agreement. The 3rd and 4th visits that are in question are being refunded. At this time the account is being cancelled and the last two visit charges are being refunded to the customers credit card.
Thank you,
John L*****
Service Manager
Terminix Branch ****

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2008, during a routine termite inspection, I was informed that I had insufficient insulation in my attic crawlspace. The technician suggested their proprietary TAP pest control insulation. On August 1, 2008, I paid $1,961 to have this installed, which I believed it had (on July 31st). I believe it was to be 6" throughout. In November of 2013, I had a leak in my dining room ceiling. On November 20, 2013, my contractor went up into the crawlspace to determine the cause of the leak and informed me that I had inconsistent insulation throughout the crawlspace (3" here, 4" there, 6" in other places and absolutely no insulation whatsoever over my dining room). I called Terminix on November 21, 2013 to find out what the cause of this was. Someone called me back later that day and said that their manager would call me back. No one did. I called again a few days later. I was told they had the wrong number for me and someone would be calling me back. No one ever did. I called a few days later and was informed that they would bypass the manager and send an inspector out to my home. The inspector, a ****** ***** came out on December 5th and said that I was indeed correct. There was insufficient insulation and they would make it right. No one called. I called ****** on December 9th. He said that the manager was supposed to call me. That the insulation had been ordered, would be in the following week and someone would call me about having it installed. No one called. By this time, it was December 20th and I waited until after the holidays. I called ****** on January 6th to tell him that the insulation had not been delivered. He never called me back. I called the Terminix 800 number that afternoon. I was told that the customer service person's supervisor would contact the district manager (a **. ******) and I would probably hear back in a few hours. No one called me back. I repeated this call the following day with the same story. No one called. I repeated the call the following day and was given the same story with a different twist. Apparently, they knew the job was not completed. They said that they called me in August of 2008 to come back and finish the job and I never called them back. This is news to me. I didn't know the job wasn't completed and no one called me back. I wouldn't have been the wiser if I didn't have the leak in my ceiling more than five years later. Again, no one called me back on January 8th. I called again on January 10th. This, I believe was my 11th call on this matter. I have been a Terminix customer since 2000 for Termite and Pest Control. I have spent a good deal of money on these services over the years. I deserve better treatment than this. The person I spoke with on the 10th gave me the name of someone else to call, which I will do. But in the meantime, I am filing this complaint because this service, or lack thereof cannot be allowed to continue.

Desired Settlement: Finishing the job would have been an acceptable settlement if it had been done in a timely fashion, prior to the very cold weather we have experienced here lately. In light of the fact that I have had insufficient insulation over that past five and a half years and the fact that **. ****** did not return my calls despite being contacted to do so at least a half dozen times, I am also requesting a complimentary service in addition to having the insulation installed immediately. Two additional years of termite and pest control would be acceptable and fair.

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern:

Terminix has gone to ***. ****'s property and resolved the issue. On January 23rd Technicians went to the property and installed insulation over the dining room and added additional coverage in areas lacking the full 6". Unfortunately, I had not contacted ***. **** prior because I had not received any messages advising she was calling to speak with me. If I had received the messages I would have contacted her immediately to address this issue ASAP. The finish up that she mentioned she was called about in 2008 had nothing to do with adding additional insulation but to repair 2 holes in the drywall ceiling over the garage. As of today the job hs been fully completed at no additional cost to the consumer.

Thank you,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

You may consider this complaint closed, however I am rejecting this response because:

According to a customer service representative a few weeks ago, **. ****** was e-mailed six times and said that the previous rep left a message on his cell phone. Also, when I called ****** ****** (inspector) on December 9th to ask about the status of the situation, he said that **. ****** was supposed to call me back to tell me that the insulation had been ordered and I would be contacted regarding its installation the following week. Never happened. So, telling me that he was not informed is not true. However, the job was completed and you can consider the complaint closed. Perhaps when the outdoor temperature rises to somewhat normal, I'll be able to tell a difference in my heating bills. I was going to request additional complementary service (termite and pest control) in addition to the project being completed.  However, I am so upset by the treatment I received (or didn't receive!) that at the end of my termite control contract (November, 2014), I am seriously considering switching providers. And that's too bad. This household has been a customer since 2000.

The only bright spot in this nightmare is that **. ****** and the MANY customer service representatives I spoke with have been wonderful, courteous, sympathetic and supportive.

Regards,

***** ****








2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/7/13, I received a bill on my front porch for $109.18 indicating that the technician sprayed the exterior part of our house for ants. I did not request this service because we were not having a problem with ants. I also did not authorize this service because the bill indicated that the customer was unavailable for signature. This is not the first time that I have been billed for services that I did not request. Several months ago, Terminix charged my ******** ******* card for the same situation. As a result, I had to contact ******** ******* to have these charges removed. Now, Terminix is mailing these bills to my home. On 10-7-13, I emailed Terminix and I told them that I do not want to renew my contract. I also indicated that I do not want Terminix calling my home requesting me to renew my contract. Even though I have made this request, I receive messages on my answering machine several times per week from Terminix requesting that I renew my contract.

Desired Settlement: Do not bill for services that were not requested. Please stop calling my house requesting that I renew my contract

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern:

This is in response to a letter received from your office. We have reviewed the account and show it has been in cancelled status since November 27,2013. As far as her outstanding balance we have removed it. The customer's complaint was that we came out every 3 months to do service even though she did not request us. We went out quarterly because the customer signed up for a quarterly exterior pest control agreement. Again the account is in cancelled status and has no balance.
Thank you,

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Horrible customer service! I initially called and asked to have our house treated for fleas after noticing fleas on out cat. I was given a service appointment with a four hr window for the following day. The man arrived as scheduled and was surprised to find my family home as we were never informed that we would need to leave the house and have the cat treated prior to treatment. Upon leaving the man informed me that he could return on Saturday to complete the treatment and would confirm things with the main office and call me by the end of the business day. Needless to say, no call was ever received and when i tried to call the local office was redirected to the (800) number and was told by the phone representative that the service had been cancelled! I asked to speak with a manager and was placed on hold for 20 minutes after which I hung up. The second call to customer service was handled the same way.

Desired Settlement: To have complaint on record and ensure that i am not billed for the services as they were not performed.

Business Response: Please see attached response