BBB Accredited Business since

Pointe Pest Control-PA, LLC

Phone: (610) 277-7575 Fax: (877) 556-4929 View Additional Phone Numbers 401 E 4th St  Ste 18A, Bridgeport, PA 19405 http://PointePC.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pointe Pest Control-PA, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pointe Pest Control-PA, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pointe Pest Control-PA, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 21, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2002 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated 01/22/2008 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture-PA
2301 North Cameron St, Harrisburg PA 17110
http://www.paplants.state.pa.us/index.aspx
Phone Number: 717-787-4737
The number is BU10419.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Andrew Israelsen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Andrew Israelsen, Owner
Business Category

Pest Control Services


Additional Locations

  • 401 E 4th St
    Ste 18A

    Bridgeport, PA 19405

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pointe-Pest did an estimate for eliminating bed bugs which they indicated would take two sittings of more than a few hours each. They indicated their price of USD 1100 is because of the length of time it take to treat and the comprehensiveness of the treatment. They came in once for about and hour and a follow up of 15 min on a second day. I questioned the initial estimates and the money and I was told they would review it. They never got back to me despite several phone and email reminders. They completely ignored the mails and phone calls. They just recently sent my outstanding amount would be sent to collections. I reached out to them and settled the amount since I did not want to be in breach of contract. I do not believe they met their professional obligations.

Desired Settlement: I would request a proper review and a part refund of the money I paid them.

Business Response:

Dear BBB

RE: Response to Complaint

We refer to the letter of complaint dated 10/3/2014.

First of all, we apologize for the inconvenience/distress/problems this may have created.

We take great care to ensure that important matters such as this are properly managed/processed/implemented.

With that being said, Aaron, our sales manager went to the home of ******** ********** to give an estimate for a bed bug concern. Aaron was made aware that **. ********** was looking at other bids. Aaron submitted a proposal.  **. ********** stated he wanted to use us to do the service but, we were higher priced. If we could meet the price of the lower bid he would sign the contract. We did a price match and **. ********** signed the contract. We performed the service and eliminated bed bugs. After the service, **. ********** called and said we need to "renegotiate" the  price because he "felt" we did not spend enough time at his home while stating the bed bug concern had been resolved. He to wanted to reduce the price by almost 50%. We stated to **. ********** that we in good faith matched the price of the competitors bid and expected full payment, which he agreed to pay when he signed the contract.  He threatened to not pay the agreed price until we were going to submit him to collections. He was not sent to collections.

It is appalling that he would contract us to eradicate Bedbugs from his home, and then once that service was rendered and the Bedbug issue was resolved, he wanted to change the agreement and pay less for the Results that we both agreed upon in the original agreement.  

The Agreement was to eradicate the issue of Bedbugs, and that was done.

Ertell W****** ***

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
My basic complaint is

1. The estimate was predicated on among other things the quantum of time it takes 
2. When I contested it based on feedback from Pointes own people, I did not get a response to it. I was completely ignored. They just sent invoices. Obviously their customer service ethos, their complaint management process is wanting. The moment they explained no review was possible, I paid the entire amount. I had to follow up for six month to get to this conversation.


Regards,

******** **********

Business Response: While I understand what is being said I have to respectfully disagree

He has been in conversation with our sales manager. After meeting his price, signing the contract, performing the job, and successfully eliminating his concern, he "felt" that he should be refunded money because of the amount of time that it took to take care of his concern.

We do not base the job solely on time. Time, materials, number of rooms, condition of work environment, etc. are just a few of the factors taken  into consideration when pricing a bedbug job.

We have already discounted the price twice for him.

There was no conversation with him stating that if the job took longer or shorter there would be an increase or a discount to the price.


4/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a year contract with Pointe Pest Control. At the end of the contract they continued service. I paid the first out of contract service call and the called the company and sent a written termination letter. They still came back and serviced again. Since I was at work I could not stop the technician. I have called repeatedly and sent MANY letters to no avail. They are threatening and bullying both on the phone and in their letters which are now coming on red paper with the treat of sending me to collections. This is very unfair since it was THEM who decided to continue service hoping that I would blindly keep paying.

Desired Settlement: Stop sending requests for payment and threats for collection.

Business Response: **** *****,


First, let me apologize that you feel like you are being bullied or threatened, that is not the impression we are trying to send.

The confusion may be coming from the fact that we have a signature for service that was rendered on 12/10/14.  The only written confirmation of cancel that we have attached to your account is a written note you sent in on our bill to you for the Dec. 10th service in January of this year.  Prior to that January note you sent in, we have no other documentation of a cancellation request.  As a result of that written note your account is closed.

It is our policy and procedure to call 3 days in advance before service takes place.  Our records show that the call was placed prior to that December 10th, 2014 service.  In addition, when the technician arrived he collected a signature for service.

I'm sure you can see from our end how this doesn't appear to be a cancelled account when we called in advance, and got a signature for work.  The only invoice you have been receiving is for that authorized service.

I will attach the invoice for you.

You also mentioned that you spoke to our office 9/21/14 to cancel, but our records indicate that you requested a Free Reservice for spiders/crickets in the basement.  That Free Reservice was done on 10/8/14 and that service was signed upon completion.  So I don't see very clearly how you could have terminated service, then received a Free reservice, and then signed for a paid service in December.

You tell me what you think is fair upon seeing the signed service invoice, and knowing that a call was placed before service was rendered.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I may have the dates incorrect as I was at work when I sent the complaint. I am not disputing any service date  that fell within the parameters of the contract; only the service that occurred after the completion date of the contract. 


Regards,

***** *****








Business Response: I understand.  The contract continues on a Month-to-Month frequency after the initial 1 year period. You can find that in the Terms/Frequency right above your first signature on the contract.  It is cancelled with a written notice 30 days prior to a scheduled service. 

The only written cancel request that we have record of is the note you wrote on the invoice that was mailed to you in January for the December 10, 2014 service.  Upon receiving that note your account was closed, but the charge for the signed service in December 2014 still reflects on the account.
You are not pending any future service's and the only balance on your account is for that signed service in December.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  ~ I understand what you are saying. That being said, you need to train your sales representatives to indicate that at the time of purchase. I have contracted with several other pest services over the years and I always ask if it is a years contract or if it continues on after the term. Your representative assured me it was a years term and the only thing he said was if we wanted to cancel prior to the contract end there was a fee for that. Under great protest, I will pay this amount but will continue to post on social media how sly your business practices are and hope that future potential clients will not fall victim to such an unscrupulous business model and practice.


Regards,

***** *****








11/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a contract with Pointe for preventative pest issues. They have serviced my house 3 times thus far. Recently, I noticed damage around the frame of my garage. IF proper spraying had occurred at my house, I would not have carpenter ant damage. I had another company come out and evaluate the property and was told there was carpenter ant damage in multiple locations. The most active location was the framing around my garage doors. When I called to cancel my service with Pointe, I was told that they do not guarantee any of their services and I would not be able to cancel my contract without a penalty. I also was told that perhaps the issues occurred because the area that the area of infestation was not easily accessible. Well, the frame of my garage doors by nature has to be accessible. I was also told that my deck is not considered the outside of my house. I also asked for a phone number for their corporate headquarters and was told that the phone number could not be given out. Honestly, I do not know what I was paying for, if a preventative maintenance contract by nature to "prevent" problems but this service did not prevent nor do they guarantee any of the work they perform. It almost seems as if Pointe is scamming their customers by making them think the service you are paying will prevent problems but actually if I had no service by them at all, I would be in the same situation with the damage but would not have spent money on the quarterly service contract.

Desired Settlement: Cancel contract without penalty

Business Response:


As, stated in the complaint, this customer found what she suspected to be carpenter ant damage to an area of her garage. She felt that our service should have never allowed this to happen and that because of this she wanted to cancel service with us. I did my best to explain that there is no way to prevent every insect or situation and that as part of our service should a pest problem arise in between our regular visits we return, at no additional charge, to take care of it. When dealing with pest issues we take steps to make sure our solutions fit the situation and pest we are dealing with, as such, we first have to inspect the issue and identify the pest that is causing the problem and what conditions are causing that pest to impact the human environment. Once we have identified the pest and the areas that are being infested we can then tailor our control strategy to use the best product and apply it in the most targeted and effective way possible. Once the application has been completed we then monitor the situation and take any additional steps if necessary. Our regular quarterly treatments are aimed at preventing a broad range of insect and rodent problems before they start but we know that because we are working in a constantly changing environment with ever changing and determined pests that sometimes we will need to take steps in between those visits. For any of those situations that arise we don't charge extra to take care of our customers' problems and we strive to achieve that control in a timely manner. In this situation, we were not permitted to take any steps to control this problem even though it would not cost anything at all. So in the end, we were never allowed to inspect the damage to see if a pest was the cause, identify the pest responsible, or treat for the pest to control the problem. 
Without seeing the damage we cannot help to remedy the problem.  Keep in mind, we are applying a topical spray that does not soak or absorb into the home.  If the damage found is indeed from Carpenter Ants, they would have had to have been in the structure already and been burrowing around in the wood (as that is the nature of Carpenter Ants, they use wood for a nesting sight, and not a food source).  If the customer would allow us to return then we can, as we stated, treat the problem at no charge to the customer.

Consider this: A patient see's a doctor for a good health check-up, 2 months later that patient gets sick.  The patient now refuses to return to the doctor for a diagnosis or remedy to the illness.  The doctor cannot solve the issue under those circumstances.
If the customer would allow us to return, we are confident that we can provide the service/control that is needed.  (as is stated in the contract)

We would appreciate the opportunity to return, inspect, and come up with a plan to solve the pest concern
Andy

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted this company several times and told them that I wished to discontinue service with them. They have repeatedly treated the outside of my house without consent and charged my credit card. I have filed several disputes with them in regards to this matter and had to have my credit card block them. I have no contract with them and because of their behavior, I would never do business with them again. I am also going to file a complaint with my association to have their company removed from our developement. I feel like this is harassment.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to remove all of my personal and credit card information from their records and stop coming to my house. I do not wish to use their services either now or ever again.

Business Response:

*** **********

We apologize for the situations that arose during your time with us. 

We regret that there was a mistake made by our account manager and your account was not completely closed out.  
We have fired our account manager that was working with you for the incompetence shown and have removed all personal financial information from your account, as well as closed out your account. 
We have also credited the 2 services you received.

Sorry again; we do many quality control checks and this wasn't caught in time.  We have, as I said, removed that account manager.

We do hope that you had good results with the actual service and the technicians performance prior to this.  This was not the actions of the entire company, but that of one individual.  We do hope that you accept our apology and perhaps in time find your way back to our service.

Josh
Pointe Pest Control

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pointe Pest Control does not run the business well. There is lack of communication, customer service people are not knowledgeable and very rude. They actually yelled at me, called me a liar and hung up on me. They would not honor my many many request to cancel service until after many phone calls to cancel I was finally told i needed to text them to cancel. What is that!

Desired Settlement: Not to recommend

Business Response: I am very sorry you had this experience with our office staff.  You were a loyal customer for many years, and I hope that you see this as an isolated experience and not a reflection of the many years of valuable service we provided to you.  I reviewed the notes, and one of the Customer Service Representatives that you had dealt with was fired shortly after your dealing with him in April.  We do place our staff through rigorous training courses, and do quality assurance checks each week on each member of our staff.  

I understand this doesn't change the experience you have had, and I will make sure that we resolve this on our end.  
We do not request a "text message" to cancel, we do require a written confirmation via Fax, Mail, or E-mail.  We have had competitors that have impersonated our customers, and when we contacted the customer they had no clue that someone was requesting to cancel their service with us, or that someone was impersonating them.
The offer that was being made to you was a credit on your account, to which the technician said you were still thinking about.  That is why your account wasn't closed.  
At this point it is close, and again I do extend my apologies.
****
Pointe Pest Control

2/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to submit a claim against this company.I was approached some time ago by a pushy door to door salesman from this co.First of all there is no soliciting in m neighborhood. When I said I was not interested, he came back a second time saying I would save money on their pest control services, which later would be far from truth....I signed up to their service, but was very unhappy with their service. They would send a bill for service, when I was never notified of anyone coming out, either by paperwork or phone. When I called the manager about the bill, he was extremely rude and I said I wanted to cancel the service. He then said fine and charged me a $150 cancellation fee!!! I was never notified verbally of this fee when I signed up.It is now January 2014 and I have received a bill and threat now from them to send my account to collections. My credit card co has issued me a full permanent credit after they followed up on my complaint.I was also astonished that many other customers have had the same problems as me. after reading similar poor reviews online. Others have also reported them to BBB. Please help me in this matter. Not only am I very angry, but no such threats to my credit should be taken.I received terrible service from them and should not to have to pay anything.Thanks,**** ****

Desired Settlement: Full refund to my account . No future bills or threats of collection agency action against me.I would to see negative feedback posted to them, so others will be warned before signing on to their services.

Business Response: **. ****,

 
I am sorry you didn't understand the terms of the contract that you entered into.  I have attached a copy of that contract for your review.
 
You'll notice in the middle of the contract your signature right below the terms and frequency, and Scheduling.  We use an automated system that sends out a phone call as a reminder of upcoming services approximately 4 business days in advance.  We keep record of all calls sent, and any that come back failed we make sure to have an office rep. personally call.  It is common to have someone else answer the call and hear the recording start and hang up before the message plays out.  In those cases it is understandable that you wouldn't know when services were going to take place.  If there is a better number for those calls to go to we can update your account.  This is the text from the scheduling portion of your agreement:  SCHEDULING: Following your initial service, you will receive an automated phone call from our office notifying you of your upcoming service time and date. In the event that you are not home for a scheduled service, Pointe will treat all accessible areas of the premises and a service ticket /invoice will be left on the door.
 
The cancellation Fee is also a part of the agreement you signed.  You will find it at the bottom of the contract right under the Total contract Fee:  Then below that you will see Visa circled as your form of payment and then right below that is the Cancellation fee.  
 
We are not in the business of collecting cancellation fee's.  Our first priority is to service your home and leave you satisfied.  From what I gather from your submitted complaint you were only upset that you received an invoice for a service you didn't think you were notified of.  Is that correct?  Because we can certainly solve that.  If this is your complaint, then we can make sure to schedule with you directly and not use the automated system.
 
As far as other complaints on the BBB we have a total of 4.  So we don't consider that to be "many"  but they actually had complaints regarding different issues.  
If you mean that you found a complaint board on a ****** search then if you look closely at those complaints you will find they belong to the ******* office, which is independently owned.  In fact most of the dates of those complaints take place before we started the franchise in ************ in 2008.  You'll find that they are attacks on a person named **** and *****. They are the owners of that franchise and are not affiliated with our office.
 
We take complaints very serious and I can assure you that those complaints I believe you are referring to, are not for our office.
 
Your final note is that you "received terrible service" from us.  If you can elaborate on that I am sure we can rectify the problem.  All that I can gather is that you received a service that you were not personally notified of.  
As I have mentioned there are many scenario's where that can take place. If you supply your direct Cell phone then you will get the service notifications, in addition to that we can provide you with an e-mail or SMS.  As for the service itself that is rendered by the technicians, do you have any complaints?  Are you experiencing pests?  We provide FREE re-service's for a customer that is seeing pest activity between the calendared appointments, it just takes a phone call and we can send a tech right out within 1-3 business days.  For your peace of mind we have GPS tracking on all our vehicles and regularly run reports to make sure technicians are performing their services.  Many customers are not home at the time of service. We take all steps possible to make sure you are getting your treatments.
 
 
I look forward to your response.
 
In the end, if your only complaint is that we serviced the home and you didn't get the message then I know we can fix that.
 
****
Pointe

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

**** ****

Yes, I'm aware I signed contract, but was reluctant to do so.

I was never verbally notified by your salesman of this $150 fee. If I had I would have never signed up.
 
I'm astonished you are arguing this case?? What ever happened to the customer is always right. Bottom line is that I was never happy with your service...why should I pay for a service I wasn't happy with? Your company treated my house one and I still had insects inside after. You  said you notified me of a supposedly second time outside my house, but was I was never notified by phone or paperwork. I can't justify paying the $100 + fee for that service.
 
I own my own company and the proper customer service is that if my customer is not satisfied, there is no fee. Never in my years would I expect a customer to pay a cancellation fee!
 
I had a worried feeling when signing up to your company. I cancelled my old prior pest control co, who doesn't have a ridiculous contract cancellation fee. And billing from them was much more cheaper than your salesman originally told me. I consider this contact null and void as it was a violation for your salesman to be soliciting in my neighborhood. The entrance sign in my neighborhood clearly states NO Soliciting.






Business Response: **. ****,

 
I apologize if you feel we are "arguing" with your complaint.  I was looking for more clarification was all; and then to address the complaint you submitted, which was in regards to service unannounced.
Now you are saying you had pests after the initial service, and that is something I know we can address.  We provide Free Call back services when an on-going pest problem occurs.  We have to of course, hear from the customer and then set up an appointment.  This was not made clear on the complaint until just recently. 
 
It is clear to me that you are not looking for a resolution to your concerns, you are looking to not pay for service rendered.  I will make sure that your account does not show a balance and your account will be cancelled.  
 
 
 

12/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pointe Pest control claims they performed a service in the absence of the home owner after the initial annual contract expired. We (home owners) never renewed the contract and never authorized the service as we were away for few weeks. As we were away we were did not accept the service date. During the contract period, service rep knocks the door and confirms the places where service has to be performed. We are not sure as to why the service did not follow the process this time, especially when the contract ended and this was supposed to be outside the initial contract. Service rep left a voice mail on our home phone that as he was not able to access the sides and the back of the house, he could service only front of the house. Few weeks after this when we returned, we had numerous calls from Point pest control asking as to pay for the service. We had conversations (each about 40 mins or so) with 2 different customer service reps explaining them the same. One of them threatened that unless we pay in full she will be calling every 3 days and send to collections. The other one after the end of the 40 mins conversation , repeatedly asked for visa or master card number to pay for the service we never authorized and also never knew what was done in our absence. Today we received a letter asking as to pay within 10 days amount of 119.35 of which 105 was the actual amount, Tax of 7.35. The letter also says that unless we pay in full within 10 days from today, they are going to send the account to collections and also charge an additional payment of $50. We appreciate your help in addressing the issue.

Desired Settlement: As the partial(1/4th, just the front of the house) service was performed without our approval, we should not be charged for it. As we were not at home, we can not verify even that partial service.

Business Response: **. **********,

 
Sorry for any misunderstanding you may have had with the terms of your service.  Similar to a cell phone service, your pest control service does not shut off after the initial one year contract.  That would be a disservice to you and your home.  The products that we use only last for 90 days, at that time they bio-degrade and your home is left vulnerable to the attacks of pests.  I'm sure you are aware but your home creates the perfect year-around environment that mice and other pests enjoy.  To stop after a year of service is just allowing a break down in the protection in place and permits infestation.  The great thing about our service unlike a cable promotion, is that once the year contract is complete you remain at the promotion price you got in at, with the specialty pests still included that were part of your contract.  Also, as the service does continue after the year contract it does not lock you into another one-year contract but rather is on a month-to-month basis with ability to cancel with just a 30 day notice.
 
As that notice was not received by our office you were serviced at your regular 90 day interval according to the terms of your contract.  As always we do send out a phone call in advance offering inside service and notifying customers of their scheduled day of treatment. That way if there is locked gates they can be unlocked for your service provider.  Also, you will find that we do provide Free Re-treatments if the home owner was not available to get the inside service on the scheduled day and this also includes homes that may have had blocked access to the full exterior of the home.  This just requires a call from the home owner to schedule a day for the technician to return and to have the gates unlocked; I think you will agree that it doesn't do our service men much good to just keep stopping by and hoping that the gates are unlocked, it does require the homeowner to schedule a free call-back service.
 
So, we are interested in your continued business and the opportunity to protect your home, I would gladly send the service technician back to do a full inside/outside service at no charge and just credit the current balance for the service performed while you were away.
 
Just let me know and we can get that scheduled for you.
 
Thanks
 
****
Pointe Pest Control
 
PS  I have also attached a digital copy of your contract that explains clearly the terms.   You'll notice on the front page under terms/frequency it does say that service continues until 30 day notice. Then you have signed right below that.  Then just above that in Scheduling it clearly says that Pointe will treat all accessible area's and an invoice will be left.
 
I am just not sure how we could have made it more clear for you.  But, like I said we want you to be satisfied so we are happy to retreat your home at no charge.
 
 

11/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company charged me for continued service past my pre paid term without getting a confirmation from me to come out and perform an insect control treatment. in addition, the aforementioned service was performed after i had moved out of the property.

Desired Settlement: i would like the bills for the service performed on 8/15/2013, along with any late fees to be dropped and for pointe pest control to no longer hold myself accountable for that service.

Business Response:

Below is the correspondence with **. *********:
This E-mail was sent to **. *********.   He did reply back and we have solved his complaint.
 
 
**. *********,
 
I tried to call you, the gentleman that I spoke with at ***-***-**** said that we had the wrong number.
 
I was trying to get some information surrounding the events 
 
I looked through your account history and it unfortunately can only give me so much information.
 
What I found was that we did service on your home in ******* ******* 7 times.
You had pre-paid the year contract in advance that covered 5 services, then we performed a free Reservice at your wife's request after the year contract was up and the 5 pre-paid services were done, then we performed the next quarterly service according to contract and schedule in August.  
 
It wasn't until after the August service that the new home owner made any mention that you no longer lived there.  We are unable to know when a customer moves unless that customer calls and lets us know.
 
Especially after having done a Free service in June after the pre-paid amount was used. We always send out an automated call 4 business days in advance before service, and according to the contract the service does continue on a month-to-month basis after the initial year.  It wouldn't make much sense to eradicate pests and then leave our customers hanging without service the next year and allow re infestation.
For customers that pre-pay the year contract we do also send a letter as a reminder that the terms of the contract move to a month-to-month basis.
 
I just don't see how we could have known you moved with out your notifying us.
 
I apologize for any frustration but I hope you can see it from our side that we performed a Free reservice after the pre-paid services were done and then sent a call out and a letter out, and only found out from the new home owner that it was no longer your address.
 
I am willing to work with you if that would help and leave you feeling pleased with our services.  In fact it is most common for customers to move and just transfer their service to their new address.  We would be able to do that too as we do service in the Newtown area and I can comp you some treatment.
 
Just let me know how we can leave you satisfied.
 
****
 
This was his reply back
 
***** *********
Nov 4 (2 days ago)
to ****
 
 
 
 

Hi ****. Thanks for responding.
I am guessing the number you called is the number for the new tenant at the address as it is not mine. Also, we never asked for a reservice. Especially not after the prepaid period was up since we were moved out before it was up. I can only guess it was the new tenants that requested this.

The reason for the low marks is really due to the extra service performed 5 months after we moved out and getting billed for it. I understand coming out and performing a treatment without confirmation by the customer if it is pre paid, but performing a service without confirmation and then billing for it was not expected.

In addition, after talking with a representative at Pointe pest control about this situation, I got the sense that he didn't really want to hear me out and just kept reminding me I had to pay the bill. While I was deciding what to do I received a few more calls reminding me to pay the bill which all had the same attitude where there was no concern for the customer (one message, the guy actually yawned mid sentence as if to emphasize him not caring).

Really the only way I would be left satisfied would be if I were absolved of all responsibility for the billing associated with the august service.

Thanks,
   ****

This was my reply back to him

**** ******* ********************************
Nov 5 (1 day ago)
to *****
 
 
 
 
Ok  consider it done, I will remove the charge.
 
It's strange the new owners pretending to be you at those last services.
 
We do appreciate your business and hope you'll look to us again in the future, we do service many homes in the ******* area.
 
****
Pointe
 
This was his reply back


***** *********
7:53 PM (15 hours ago)
to ****
 
 
 
 

Thanks ****, I appreciate it.

 

 
 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pointe Pest Control-PA, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)