BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Pointe Pest Control-PA, LLC

Phone: (610) 277-7575 Fax: (877) 556-4929 View Additional Phone Numbers 401 E 4th St  Ste 18A, Bridgeport, PA 19405 View Additional Email Addresses http://PointePC.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pointe Pest Control-PA, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pointe Pest Control-PA, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 21, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2002 in PA Business incorporated: 01/22/2008 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture-PA
2301 North Cameron St, Harrisburg PA 17110
http://www.paplants.state.pa.us/index.aspx
Phone Number: 717-787-4737
The license number is BU10419.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Andrew Israelsen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Andrew Israelsen, Owner
Business Category

Pest Control Services


Additional Locations

  • 401 E 4th St  Ste 18A

    Bridgeport, PA 19405

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (732) 358-7575(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to submit a claim against this company.I was approached some time ago by a pushy door to door salesman from this co.First of all there is no soliciting in m neighborhood. When I said I was not interested, he came back a second time saying I would save money on their pest control services, which later would be far from truth....I signed up to their service, but was very unhappy with their service. They would send a bill for service, when I was never notified of anyone coming out, either by paperwork or phone. When I called the manager about the bill, he was extremely rude and I said I wanted to cancel the service. He then said fine and charged me a $150 cancellation fee!!! I was never notified verbally of this fee when I signed up.It is now January 2014 and I have received a bill and threat now from them to send my account to collections. My credit card co has issued me a full permanent credit after they followed up on my complaint.I was also astonished that many other customers have had the same problems as me. after reading similar poor reviews online. Others have also reported them to BBB. Please help me in this matter. Not only am I very angry, but no such threats to my credit should be taken.I received terrible service from them and should not to have to pay anything.Thanks,**** ****

Desired Settlement: Full refund to my account . No future bills or threats of collection agency action against me.I would to see negative feedback posted to them, so others will be warned before signing on to their services.

Business Response: **. ****,

 
I am sorry you didn't understand the terms of the contract that you entered into.  I have attached a copy of that contract for your review.
 
You'll notice in the middle of the contract your signature right below the terms and frequency, and Scheduling.  We use an automated system that sends out a phone call as a reminder of upcoming services approximately 4 business days in advance.  We keep record of all calls sent, and any that come back failed we make sure to have an office rep. personally call.  It is common to have someone else answer the call and hear the recording start and hang up before the message plays out.  In those cases it is understandable that you wouldn't know when services were going to take place.  If there is a better number for those calls to go to we can update your account.  This is the text from the scheduling portion of your agreement:  SCHEDULING: Following your initial service, you will receive an automated phone call from our office notifying you of your upcoming service time and date. In the event that you are not home for a scheduled service, Pointe will treat all accessible areas of the premises and a service ticket /invoice will be left on the door.
 
The cancellation Fee is also a part of the agreement you signed.  You will find it at the bottom of the contract right under the Total contract Fee:  Then below that you will see Visa circled as your form of payment and then right below that is the Cancellation fee.  
 
We are not in the business of collecting cancellation fee's.  Our first priority is to service your home and leave you satisfied.  From what I gather from your submitted complaint you were only upset that you received an invoice for a service you didn't think you were notified of.  Is that correct?  Because we can certainly solve that.  If this is your complaint, then we can make sure to schedule with you directly and not use the automated system.
 
As far as other complaints on the BBB we have a total of 4.  So we don't consider that to be "many"  but they actually had complaints regarding different issues.  
If you mean that you found a complaint board on a ****** search then if you look closely at those complaints you will find they belong to the ******* office, which is independently owned.  In fact most of the dates of those complaints take place before we started the franchise in ************ in 2008.  You'll find that they are attacks on a person named **** and *****. They are the owners of that franchise and are not affiliated with our office.
 
We take complaints very serious and I can assure you that those complaints I believe you are referring to, are not for our office.
 
Your final note is that you "received terrible service" from us.  If you can elaborate on that I am sure we can rectify the problem.  All that I can gather is that you received a service that you were not personally notified of.  
As I have mentioned there are many scenario's where that can take place. If you supply your direct Cell phone then you will get the service notifications, in addition to that we can provide you with an e-mail or SMS.  As for the service itself that is rendered by the technicians, do you have any complaints?  Are you experiencing pests?  We provide FREE re-service's for a customer that is seeing pest activity between the calendared appointments, it just takes a phone call and we can send a tech right out within 1-3 business days.  For your peace of mind we have GPS tracking on all our vehicles and regularly run reports to make sure technicians are performing their services.  Many customers are not home at the time of service. We take all steps possible to make sure you are getting your treatments.
 
 
I look forward to your response.
 
In the end, if your only complaint is that we serviced the home and you didn't get the message then I know we can fix that.
 
****
Pointe

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

**** ****

Yes, I'm aware I signed contract, but was reluctant to do so.

I was never verbally notified by your salesman of this $150 fee. If I had I would have never signed up.
 
I'm astonished you are arguing this case?? What ever happened to the customer is always right. Bottom line is that I was never happy with your service...why should I pay for a service I wasn't happy with? Your company treated my house one and I still had insects inside after. You  said you notified me of a supposedly second time outside my house, but was I was never notified by phone or paperwork. I can't justify paying the $100 + fee for that service.
 
I own my own company and the proper customer service is that if my customer is not satisfied, there is no fee. Never in my years would I expect a customer to pay a cancellation fee!
 
I had a worried feeling when signing up to your company. I cancelled my old prior pest control co, who doesn't have a ridiculous contract cancellation fee. And billing from them was much more cheaper than your salesman originally told me. I consider this contact null and void as it was a violation for your salesman to be soliciting in my neighborhood. The entrance sign in my neighborhood clearly states NO Soliciting.






Business Response: **. ****,

 
I apologize if you feel we are "arguing" with your complaint.  I was looking for more clarification was all; and then to address the complaint you submitted, which was in regards to service unannounced.
Now you are saying you had pests after the initial service, and that is something I know we can address.  We provide Free Call back services when an on-going pest problem occurs.  We have to of course, hear from the customer and then set up an appointment.  This was not made clear on the complaint until just recently. 
 
It is clear to me that you are not looking for a resolution to your concerns, you are looking to not pay for service rendered.  I will make sure that your account does not show a balance and your account will be cancelled.  
 
 
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pointe Pest control claims they performed a service in the absence of the home owner after the initial annual contract expired. We (home owners) never renewed the contract and never authorized the service as we were away for few weeks. As we were away we were did not accept the service date. During the contract period, service rep knocks the door and confirms the places where service has to be performed. We are not sure as to why the service did not follow the process this time, especially when the contract ended and this was supposed to be outside the initial contract. Service rep left a voice mail on our home phone that as he was not able to access the sides and the back of the house, he could service only front of the house. Few weeks after this when we returned, we had numerous calls from Point pest control asking as to pay for the service. We had conversations (each about 40 mins or so) with 2 different customer service reps explaining them the same. One of them threatened that unless we pay in full she will be calling every 3 days and send to collections. The other one after the end of the 40 mins conversation , repeatedly asked for visa or master card number to pay for the service we never authorized and also never knew what was done in our absence. Today we received a letter asking as to pay within 10 days amount of 119.35 of which 105 was the actual amount, Tax of 7.35. The letter also says that unless we pay in full within 10 days from today, they are going to send the account to collections and also charge an additional payment of $50. We appreciate your help in addressing the issue.

Desired Settlement: As the partial(1/4th, just the front of the house) service was performed without our approval, we should not be charged for it. As we were not at home, we can not verify even that partial service.

Business Response: **. **********,

 
Sorry for any misunderstanding you may have had with the terms of your service.  Similar to a cell phone service, your pest control service does not shut off after the initial one year contract.  That would be a disservice to you and your home.  The products that we use only last for 90 days, at that time they bio-degrade and your home is left vulnerable to the attacks of pests.  I'm sure you are aware but your home creates the perfect year-around environment that mice and other pests enjoy.  To stop after a year of service is just allowing a break down in the protection in place and permits infestation.  The great thing about our service unlike a cable promotion, is that once the year contract is complete you remain at the promotion price you got in at, with the specialty pests still included that were part of your contract.  Also, as the service does continue after the year contract it does not lock you into another one-year contract but rather is on a month-to-month basis with ability to cancel with just a 30 day notice.
 
As that notice was not received by our office you were serviced at your regular 90 day interval according to the terms of your contract.  As always we do send out a phone call in advance offering inside service and notifying customers of their scheduled day of treatment. That way if there is locked gates they can be unlocked for your service provider.  Also, you will find that we do provide Free Re-treatments if the home owner was not available to get the inside service on the scheduled day and this also includes homes that may have had blocked access to the full exterior of the home.  This just requires a call from the home owner to schedule a day for the technician to return and to have the gates unlocked; I think you will agree that it doesn't do our service men much good to just keep stopping by and hoping that the gates are unlocked, it does require the homeowner to schedule a free call-back service.
 
So, we are interested in your continued business and the opportunity to protect your home, I would gladly send the service technician back to do a full inside/outside service at no charge and just credit the current balance for the service performed while you were away.
 
Just let me know and we can get that scheduled for you.
 
Thanks
 
****
Pointe Pest Control
 
PS  I have also attached a digital copy of your contract that explains clearly the terms.   You'll notice on the front page under terms/frequency it does say that service continues until 30 day notice. Then you have signed right below that.  Then just above that in Scheduling it clearly says that Pointe will treat all accessible area's and an invoice will be left.
 
I am just not sure how we could have made it more clear for you.  But, like I said we want you to be satisfied so we are happy to retreat your home at no charge.
 
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company charged me for continued service past my pre paid term without getting a confirmation from me to come out and perform an insect control treatment. in addition, the aforementioned service was performed after i had moved out of the property.

Desired Settlement: i would like the bills for the service performed on 8/15/2013, along with any late fees to be dropped and for pointe pest control to no longer hold myself accountable for that service.

Business Response:

Below is the correspondence with **. *********:
This E-mail was sent to **. *********.   He did reply back and we have solved his complaint.
 
 
**. *********,
 
I tried to call you, the gentleman that I spoke with at ***-***-**** said that we had the wrong number.
 
I was trying to get some information surrounding the events 
 
I looked through your account history and it unfortunately can only give me so much information.
 
What I found was that we did service on your home in ******* ******* 7 times.
You had pre-paid the year contract in advance that covered 5 services, then we performed a free Reservice at your wife's request after the year contract was up and the 5 pre-paid services were done, then we performed the next quarterly service according to contract and schedule in August.  
 
It wasn't until after the August service that the new home owner made any mention that you no longer lived there.  We are unable to know when a customer moves unless that customer calls and lets us know.
 
Especially after having done a Free service in June after the pre-paid amount was used. We always send out an automated call 4 business days in advance before service, and according to the contract the service does continue on a month-to-month basis after the initial year.  It wouldn't make much sense to eradicate pests and then leave our customers hanging without service the next year and allow re infestation.
For customers that pre-pay the year contract we do also send a letter as a reminder that the terms of the contract move to a month-to-month basis.
 
I just don't see how we could have known you moved with out your notifying us.
 
I apologize for any frustration but I hope you can see it from our side that we performed a Free reservice after the pre-paid services were done and then sent a call out and a letter out, and only found out from the new home owner that it was no longer your address.
 
I am willing to work with you if that would help and leave you feeling pleased with our services.  In fact it is most common for customers to move and just transfer their service to their new address.  We would be able to do that too as we do service in the Newtown area and I can comp you some treatment.
 
Just let me know how we can leave you satisfied.
 
****
 
This was his reply back
 
***** *********
Nov 4 (2 days ago)
to ****
 
 
 
 

Hi ****. Thanks for responding.
I am guessing the number you called is the number for the new tenant at the address as it is not mine. Also, we never asked for a reservice. Especially not after the prepaid period was up since we were moved out before it was up. I can only guess it was the new tenants that requested this.

The reason for the low marks is really due to the extra service performed 5 months after we moved out and getting billed for it. I understand coming out and performing a treatment without confirmation by the customer if it is pre paid, but performing a service without confirmation and then billing for it was not expected.

In addition, after talking with a representative at Pointe pest control about this situation, I got the sense that he didn't really want to hear me out and just kept reminding me I had to pay the bill. While I was deciding what to do I received a few more calls reminding me to pay the bill which all had the same attitude where there was no concern for the customer (one message, the guy actually yawned mid sentence as if to emphasize him not caring).

Really the only way I would be left satisfied would be if I were absolved of all responsibility for the billing associated with the august service.

Thanks,
   ****

This was my reply back to him

**** ******* ********************************
Nov 5 (1 day ago)
to *****
 
 
 
 
Ok  consider it done, I will remove the charge.
 
It's strange the new owners pretending to be you at those last services.
 
We do appreciate your business and hope you'll look to us again in the future, we do service many homes in the ******* area.
 
****
Pointe
 
This was his reply back


***** *********
7:53 PM (15 hours ago)
to ****
 
 
 
 

Thanks ****, I appreciate it.

 

 
 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service