BBB Accredited Business since

Moxie Pest Control (Virginia) LLC

Phone: (703) 378-5119 14301 Sullyfield Cir Ste G, Chantilly, VA 20151 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.moxiepest.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Moxie Pest Control (Virginia) LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Moxie Pest Control (Virginia) LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Moxie Pest Control (Virginia) LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 11, 2009 Business started: 04/15/2009 in VA Business started locally: 04/15/2009 Business incorporated 02/26/2009 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS)-VA
102 Governor Street, 1st Floor, Richmond VA 23219
http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/pesticide
Phone Number: 804-786-3798
Fax Number: 804-786-9149
The number is 10331.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tim J Headrick, Member/Manager Ms. Kelsey Headrick, Office Manager Ms. Sarah Vavra, Office Manager/ Complaint Handler
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim J Headrick, Member/Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Sarah Vavra, Office Manager/ Complaint Handler
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Moxie Pest Control

Additional Locations

  • 14301 Sullyfield Cir Ste G

    Chantilly, VA 20151 (703) 378-5119

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
7/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moxie Pest Control sends people to canvas the neighborhood every few months to sale their service. When I saw the name of the company on the man's shirt I asked him to leave that I was not interested in his bug control. Instead of leaving as I requested he started to ask me questions. I informed him that I had asked him to leave and that was he now trespassing on my property. He continued to stand there instead of leaving to make his point that he would leave when he was ready. How can I get this company to stop harassing me to buy their service? Is there a way to get the company to list me as someone who does not want their service and to stop coming to my door.

Desired Settlement: No more visits by this company.

Business Response:

***** ********** **** ***** *

Chantilly, VA 20151

###-###-#### Phone

###-###-#### Fax

July 3, 2015

BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington DC 20005-3404

PHONE:###-###-#### FAX:###-###-####

 

Re:           Mr. ***** ** ******

                  Case Number ********

 

Dear Sir or Madam:

 

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from Mr. ***** ** ******. We are sorry for the experience Mr. ****** has had with our route manager. As a company we strive to provide the best experience as possible. We also do our best to follow all laws regarding canvasing that we are aware of as well as make sure our representatives are licensed in each county. We pride ourselves on being an added value to the community, and will make sure to reach out to Mr. ****** via phone to assure him of this as well.

 

Currently, there is no list to remove an address from our canvasing area. We do make it a point to not canvas in areas that are privately owned, and other areas are approved from the licensing we obtain. We have taken Mr. ******’s feedback and will look into this in the future and appreciate his feedback.

 

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.

 

Thank you,

 

Sarah V****

Office Manager

7/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year my father decided to sign up for pest control with this company service and we have been plagued with problems ever since then. We had a contract with them for a year long treatment (which did not work even work at all- bugs still in the house even after treatment ) when we asked to cancel the service they did not let us saying we had to speak to some supervisor and pay some fine- so we stuck it out till the last treatment- we got bill to pay it off and we did- and my father and I both called to CONFIRM with them that our contract was done and service would no longer coming by. A few months gone by and again we just got a call today to "let us know" that they would be coming by tomorrow for another treatment---EXCUSE ME???!! We did not sign up for another year of useless chemicals being sprayed around the house with two dogs and a baby now! We spoke to them about how we had already finished and canceled the service (In no way did we ever renew!!) we even cancelledthe credit card because I had read MANY reviews and complains on ****.com about how they would charge anyway. Someone needs to stop these crazy lunatic people in this company from harassing people into their service!! The next time they come on my property I will be calling the police because that's what they deserve. WE DONT WANT YOUT SERVICE!!

Desired Settlement: Stop calling us, stop coming by our house and stop spraying chemicals on our property! We are not going to pay you to harass and poison us!!

Business Response: June 23, 2015
BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington DC 20005-3404

PHONE:###-###-#### FAX:###-###-####

 

Re:           **** ******** *******

                  Case Number ********

Dear Sir or Madam:

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from **** ******** *******.  We spoke to **** ******* on Friday, June 19, 2015 and resolved her concern via phone call.

As customer happiness and satisfaction is our number one goal, we have honored her request and have closed the account. We are sad to lose the opportunity of taking care of them for service. We have honored all other requests to meet her complete satisfaction.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.
 
Thank you,

Sarah V****

Office Manager


4/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a contract with Moxie for pest control. At the end of June 2014, I called them to cancel the contract based on the fact that I was taking up an oversea assignment and the service would not be needed. They agreed to cancel my account but informed me that my last service will be done in October 2014. I realized last week that my credit card has been charged $99 in February. I called them demanding a refund because the service was not authorized and my account was not supposed to be active. They told me that they will close the account from today but they will not refund the amount charged because the service was performed. I stressed that I did not benefit from the service because I no longer live at service location. In addition, my account was supposed to be closed in July. They refused to give me the refund arguing that I should have given them 30 days written notice to cancel the account. I told them that they should have asked for the written notice when I called them at the end of June and they didn't. They agreed to cancel the account when I spoke to them at the end of June and even asked for the details of the person going to rent my property. I'm therefore asking for a refund of the $99 charged to my credit card because the service was not authorized.

Desired Settlement: Refund $99 dollars wrongly charged.

Business Response:

Response to ID ********--please respond to confirm receipt of email
Inbox


***** *****
Mar 24 (8 days ago)

to me, ***** 
 

***** ********** **** ***** *

Chantilly, VA *****

###-###-#### Phone

###-###-#### Fax

March 24, 2015
BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington DC 20005-3404

PHONE:###-###-#### FAX:###-###-####
 
Re:           *** ******* **********

                  Case Number ********
 
Dear Sir or Madam:?

4/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Year 2013-2014 we had a contract with Moxie Pest control to provide pest control services and we provide Moxie information to terminate the service at the last service appointment at the end of the contract year. The Moxie representative told us that they will take care of cancellation but Moxie pest control didnt cancel the service. Moxie served my property without our prior consent when we were not available at home and have been send us the bill. I have talked to Moxie representative for may be more than 5 times and explained them the complete situation and still they keep send me the billing for the service we have never requested after the 1year contract was over.

Desired Settlement: As I have not requested the service , i am not making any payment and i request the matter to be solved without asking me to make any payment as i am not requested the service and the harassment to me and my family be stopped by sending payment notices which i don't expect. Regards

Business Response: March 24, 2015
BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington DC 20005-3404

PHONE:###-###-#### FAX:###-###-####

 

Re:           *** ***** ***** ****

                  Case Number ********

Dear Sir or Madam:

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from *** ****.  We have attempted to reach *** **** via phone on Monday, March 2, Monday, March 9th, Thursday March 12th, and Monday March 23rd with the desire to resolve his concern via phone call.

As customer happiness and satisfaction is our number one goal, we have chosen to honor *** ****’s request and have waived the balance of $99 as well as any early cancellation fees for the service he received in June 2014. We have honored all other requests to meet his complete satisfaction per his feedback.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.

Thank you,

Sarah V****

Office Manager

2/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my service with Moxie on 12 November 2014. On December 19th Moxie send someone to my house (a technician named Jose L*****, License# ********) and charged me $99 for pest control service. I did not authorize this service and was not called prior to the technician arriving at my house. I have a copy of the receipt left on my door and have the voicemail saved. had been a subscriber to Moxie's service for several since July 2011 but chose to terminate service with them due to their poor scheduling practices and failure to follow through on their proposed solution (calling me the day prior to when they wanted to send someone). Moxie claims to have attempted to contact me via telephone three times between 12-Nov and 18-Nov to talk about my cancellation, yet I have no record of their attempted phone calls and received no letters via the United States Postal Service. My phone and its voicemail function perfectly, as evidenced by their voicemail left on 19-December 2014. I believe Moxie Pest Control purposely didn't cancel my service or call ahead to schedule the 19-Dec service in the hopes that I would just roll over and eat the $99 charge. Note: I have the voicemail messages Moxie left on 19-Dec, 12-Nov and 7-Aug 2014.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is for Moxie to remove my credit card information from their system, to refund me for the service on December 19th, and to close my account with them. I do not want and do not authorize any further service from their company.

Business Response: Date: Wed, Jan 14, 2015 at 3:29 PM
Subject: Re: ****** ****** Complaint (********)
To: ***** ****** <*******@mybbb.org>

***** ********** **** ***** *

Chantilly, VA *****

###-###-#### Phone

###-###-#### Fax

January 14, 2015
BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington DC 20005-3404

PHONE:###-###-#### FAX:###-###-####

Re:           *** **** ******

                  Case Number ********

Dear Sir or Madam:

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from *** ******.  We spoke to *** ****** on Monday, January 5, 2015 and resolved his concern via phone call. While speaking to *** ****** we explained there had been several attempts to inform him about requesting a 30-day written notice to close his account. We did not hear back from *** ****** and, as customer happiness and satisfaction is our number one goal, service was sent out in order to protect his home.  We received very beneficial feedback from *** ****** to provide better service for the future.

We have chosen to honor *** ******’s request and have provided a chargeback of $99 for the service he received in December 2014. We have honored all other requests to meet his complete satisfaction.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.

Thank you,

Sarah V****

Office Manager

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: : ****** ****** Complaint (********)
Inbox


***** ******
2:10 PM (28 minutes ago)

to me 
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Sarah V**** <officemanager@moxieva.com>
Date: Mon, Feb 23, 2015 at 11:22 AM
Subject: Re: ****** ****** Complaint (********)
To: ***** ****** <*******@mybbb.org>

Hello *****,

I just received a customer complaint from you all via mail. I've updated my email address and asked that you all please email customer complaints 2 times in the past 2 months, and they continue to come via mail. The person I have spoken with each time to confirm this account change has been ****** ******** both times, in which both times she has rushed me off the phone and it's been quite frustrating to work with her. 

Is there any way you can update this setting on my account? The email address to send them to is officemanager@moxieva.com

The most recent one came from case #: ********

Could you email me the complaint so I may respond online?

Warmest regards,

 
Sarah V****
Moxie Pest Control
Office Manager & Day Maker 
###-###-#### - Office
###-###-#### - Fax
www.moxieva.com

 

 

 

 

 

12/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After cancelling our service by phone we received a written email confirmation from Moxie notifying us our service had been cancelled and we had no outstanding balance on our services. The following week Moxie sent us an invoice for $99. We have repeatedly tried to cancel Moxie's service only to have a Moxie representative show up at our house to do unauthorized work. Then they have billed us for this unauthorized work. Their business practices are unethical and should be reviewed by the proper authorities.

Desired Settlement: We would like Moxie to acknowledge our service has been cancelled, reconfirm no balance is due, and make no further attempts to collect on cancelled services. We do not want Moxie contacting us in any manor in the future.

Business Response:

14301 Sullyfield Cir, Suite G

Chantilly, VA 20151

703-378-5119 Phone

703-378-1532 Fax

December 19, 2014

BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington DC 20005-3404

PHONE:(202)393-8000 FAX:(202)393-1198

Re:           *** **** ********

                  Case Number ********

Dear Sir or Madam:

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from *** ********.  We spoke to *** ******** on Wednesday, December 17, 2014 and resolved his concern via phone call. We did confirm that the statements had already been mailed prior to speaking with his wife, which is why they received a bill after we verbally told them their balance was up to date. We have honored all of their requests to meet their complete satisfaction.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.

Thank you,

Sarah V****

Office Manager

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  We will continue to monitor the situation and contact you should we find Moxie does not honor their agreement to remove all charges and refrain from contacting us in the future.


Thank you for your assistance in helping to resolve this matter in a timely manner.

Regards,

**** ********

12/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had signed a contract with Moxie Pest Control located in Chantilly VA in early 2013 for one year pest control services at my home. The company got my credit card information and they were automatically charging my credit card for pest control services every quarter. Once the contract ended in March 2014 I informed them I no longer need pest control services at my home. Even after I told them I did not need their services in July 2014 they put a bill on my door for $99.00 indicating they performed pest control service at my home. Then they automatically charged my credit card for $99.00. Last week Ms Crystal from Moxie Pest Control called me and I explained to her that I no longer need their services. Even after clearly communicating that I do not need their service they put a bill for $99.00 at my door today 11/12/2014 indicating they performed pest control service. They also sent me several emails stating that I have $99.0 balance on my account. I believe Moxie Pest Control is attempting to charge my credit card automatically.

Desired Settlement: 1. I am not liable to make payments for pest control services I did not order from Moxie Pest Control. 2. Moxie Pest Control must stop contacting me in future for any services or for past amount due. 3. Moxie Pest Control should not charge my credit card for any services I did not order.

Business Response:

Re:           *** ********* *****

                  Case Number ********

Dear Sir or Madam:

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from *** *****.  We spoke to *** ***** on Monday, December 15, 2014 and resolved his concern via phone call. We did waive the balance of $99 on the *****’s account and have honored all of their requests to meet their complete satisfaction.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.

Thank you,

Sarah V****

Office Manager

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

********* *****

11/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moxie Pest Control performed unauthorized service. During the attempted performance of pest control services in the spring of 2014, verbal notification was given to the Moxie Technician and the Moxie "SUPERVISOR", that their pest control services were no longer desired. In July of 2014, when no one was home, Moxie performed an unauthorized service, for which they have billed $99.00. We have refused to pay for a service that we didn't want and now are being harassed to pay.

Desired Settlement: Stop sending bills for a service that they performed after knowing that it was no longer desired.

Business Response:

October 22, 2014

Dear Sir or Madam:
The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from *** *******. We spoke to *** ***** ******* on Tuesday, September 23, 2014 and resolved his concern via phone call. We also spoke to **** ******* on Thursday, October 9, 2014 to complete that resolution. We did waive the balance of $99 on the *******'s account and have honored all of their requests to meet their complete satisfaction.
Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.
Thank you,
Sarah V**** Office Manager


9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sprayed around our baby and puppy and later said they couldn't spray because of our baby and puppy being in the home! Bad customer service. We signed with a door to door Moxie salesman who assured us that the products they used to treat our hoome were made out of flowers and would be completely safe around our 8 month old daughter, which was our biggest concern. During the first treatment we were told to keep her in a seperate room for 30 minutes. During our 2nd treatment the man told us that we would have to leave our home for 2 hours with the baby and puppy in tow because the chemicals he was going to spray were not safe for a child under the age of two or small dog to be around. This was not mentioned when I scheduled the appointment either time, where I was given a 6 hour time frame to wait for my appointment (which took a week to get). My husband called customer service afterwards and asked what chemicals were sprayed and if our baby inhaled chemicals she wasn't supposed to. He had a conversation that went in circles where the woman said "Yeah, we're not supposed to spray with anyone under two in the house. But the guy can come back again if you want him to." It's infuriating that they have no regard for the safety of our family and outright lied about the products they were using in our home being safe. I have no idea what was sprayed in my home and whether it will affect our daughter or puppy in the future. At this point I really don't know what to do. Customer service was supposed to call us back but did not. I've called several times and left voicemails and haven't had anyone get back to me. I'm outraged that they're taking no accountability or at the very least bothering to let me know what's been used. This company is Moxie Pest Control and they are located at ***** ********** ******* ***** *, *********, VA *****. Their phone number is ###-###-#### and their fax is ###-###-####. We have a year left in our contract so at this point our cancellation fee would be more than not cancelling but I am so frustrated with this company endangering my family I'm considering it. We purchased this service for $350.00 in April. It was supposed to include repeat house calls when necessary (We've had more bugs in our home than I have ever seen since they began spraying) but we can't seem to get a hold of anyone. One time when they came to spray the backyard, which I was home waiting for, they said it wasn't accesible, but never bothered to knock and ask me to open it! I only knew they'd come because they left a note informing me of this on the door. The last incident with them was Monday, August 4, 2014.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money we've paid to be refunded and I want to cancel our contract with them. I find their regard for safety appaling. Ideally I think they should be required to inform people that they're children and animals shouldn't be inhaling this instead of deceiving parents to sell their products but I realize that's a stretch with this company!

Business Response:

***** ********** **** ***** *

*********, VA *****

###-###-#### Phone

###-###-#### Fax

September 18, 2014

BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington DC 20005-3404

PHONE:###-###-#### FAX:###-###-####

 

Re:           **** ****** ***

                  Case Number ********

 

Dear Sir or Madam:

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from **** ***. We spoke to **** ****** *** on Tuesday, August 12, 2014. We followed up and have spoken to *** ****** *** via phone on Monday, August 18, 2014 and we have met his request to resolve this matter to his complete satisfaction.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.

Thank you,

Sarah V****

Office Manager

9/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife signed up for service after succumbing to their high pressure sales tactics. I immediately tried to cancel with the first 3 days. No one ever answered their phone during the day. I finally got a call back a few days later after I had left for the day. The next day, we finally talked and I cancelled. But, the cancellation apparently didn't take because about a week later they serviced my home again(without calling ahead). This time I sent an email cancelling and telling them not to send any more people out to my house. Shortly thereafter, I started receiving bills for early cancellation. I sent them back with a request to settle my balance, because I had cancelled, and in good faith, had tried to do so within 3 business days.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to waive the early cancellation fee, and have it not affect mine or my wife's my credit report. Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Complaint #********:

 

This has been resolved favorably.  They waived all the charges.

 

Thanks,

 

**** *********

 

8/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2013, I signed up with Moxie Pest Control and signed a one year contract. My agreement with the company was for an initial service and maintenance service every quarter for one year for a total of $500. Each time the company needed to come over for the regular quarterly service, they called me and set up an appointment and asked if I had any issues for them to take care of. My contract with Moxie ended either in April 2014. I spent one month out of the country and when I came back Moxie left a bill on my door. I immediately called them to let them know that I did not authorize this service and I was not even home to confirm the service was done. The representative transferred me to a manager who apologized and then stated that the contract allowed them to continue unless I cancel. According to him, the sales representative should have notified me of this condition. I did let him know that I was not going to pay a bill for something that I could not confirm and quite frankly no longer wanted. As far as I was concerned my yearly contract expired and that was it. Two weeks after that conversation, Moxie sent me another bill in the mail for $99. I called and spoke with a woman who was not very pleasant. Basically, she kept saying, is there anything else? which to me means that she was done talking to me. She said Moxie called and left a voicemail. Although I was out of the country I was able to check my voicemail and I never received one from Moxie. This company did very good service for me for one year, in fact I even recommended them to others for their professionalism and good product. However, I now have different opinion of them as this seems like a scam to get extra money from people after their contracts are over. Moxie never notified me that the service would continue if I did not cancel. Moxie claimed to have provided services to me when I was not even home. I will absolutely not give a dime to the company because as far as I am concerned I have no knowledge of them coming to my house and I want them to stop sending me that bill. I have always paid my bills to the company but I will not pay for something I did not order or something I cannot verify. Moxie should know that in all instances, payments are never allowed when acceptance of service cannot be verified and in this case, I simply cannot verify that any services were provided. I really need them to leave me alone.

Desired Settlement: I need Moxie to leave me alone and stop sending bills to my house. If they want to get paid for services then they should change their marketing strategies or should I say scheme and call customers before leaving bills on their doors.

Consumer Response: From: <*****************************>
Date: Mon, Aug 11, 2014 at 2:58 PM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #********.
To: info@mybbb.org


Please close this complaint. the company has resolved the issue.  
 
 

8/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 4, 2014 the salesperson came to our house to sell us bug treatment services. We signed up to have that day pellet treatment of specified and agreed upon areas of our yard. When we returned from being away during treatment we noticed some areas were not treated. We noticed pellets in some areas and not in other areas we expected to be treated. So they came back another day and they said they treated the areas again. We once again did not get the areas treated as expected. So we tried again to have them return for a treatment and this time my husband made a map of the areas that were originally promised to be treated and left it for the techs so they understand what we want. Plus they were supposed to call my husband prior to treating so he could call me and I be at the house to supervise. Neither happened. When I arrived home I noticed the map still attached to post and no pellets in areas expected. Each time we called and spoke to a customer service rep. After the last treatment I called and spoke with a manager to explain the situation and he tried to convince me that they wanted to make it right by giving them another chance. I said that I thought 3 times was enough of a chance and I'd like to cancel our treatments and go our separate ways. I'd call them if I wanted additional treatments. he persisted that we should allow them another chance. He also mentioned that he wouldn't be able to refund us the amount we paid. In the contract it says we can cancel within 3 days. I believe we did cancel within 3 days since there was no initial treatment since there was no treatment for all areas promised. I wasn't satisfied with that and he said he'd speak to a manager and call me the next day. He did not call the next day or for 4 days so I called and spoke to him. He apologized that he did not call. Eventually I spoke with a supervisor and she was going to try to make things right by having another treatment or closing our account and we'd go our separate ways. I wasn't satisfied since we paid and never got the treatments promised. I cancelled within 3 days even though they came out 3 times over a couple weeks. The supervisor said she'd call me back the next day with an answer and she has yet to call me back and our conversation was a week ago.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $119 dollars we paid to be returned and our account closed. They did not perform the treatment as promised with 3 tries and we are not willing to try again.

Business Response:

                  

14301 Sullyfield Cir, Suite G

Chantilly, VA 20151

###-###-#### Phone

###-###-#### Fax

August 4, 2014

BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington DC 20005-3404

PHONE:###-###-#### FAX:###-###-####

 

Re:           **** ****** *** **********

                  Case Number ********

 

Dear Sir or Madam:

 

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from **** **********. We are willing to meet **** ********** more than half way by honoring her request for reimbursement of $119. We have spoken to *** ********** via phone on Friday, August 1, 2014 to resolve this matter to his complete satisfaction. We also left another message to double check that everything is still to their satisfaction as that is our ultimate goal.

 

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.

 

Thank you,

 

Sarah V****

Office Manager

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,
****** ********** 

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Moxie to take care of bedbugs that we knew were in the Master Bedroom. They checked other rooms in the house, and claimed not find evidence of bedbugs even though bedbugs were found in other areas of the house. They told use we only needed to treat the Master Bedroom. We signed a contract with Moxie to do it. They did. Now bedbugs have been found in other rooms in the house. We contracted with them to treat the remaining rooms. Now they tell us we did not follow the instructions given to prepare for treatment. We followed the instructions very carefully. In fact, we delayed treating other areas of the house to properly prepare the additional room even though we were told the delay will just mean an increase in bedbugs. Moxie now claims we did not properly prepare the one room for treatment. I maintain that the initial visit telling us that only one room needed to be treated was the problem. It would explain how the bedbugs multiplied in the other rooms.

Desired Settlement: Request a refund of 50 percent of the cost of treating the one room.

Business Response:

                  

***** ********** **** ***** *

********** ** *****

###-###-#### Phone

###-###-#### Fax

June 28, 2014

BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington DC 20005-3404

PHONE:###-###-#### FAX:###-###-####

 

Re:           **. ***** ****

                 Case Number ********

 

Dear Sir or Madam:

 

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from **. ***** ****.  We are willing to meet **. **** more than half way by honoring his request for reimbursement of $750. We have spoken to **. **** via phone on Thursday, June 26, 2014 to resolve this matter to his complete satisfaction.

 

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.

 

Thank you,

 

***** *****

Office Manager

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response and check from the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

They requested that I withdraw my complaint, but I am not going to do this.  The first words stated during the telephone conversation were that had we seen bedbugs in the other rooms, we would have treated those rooms.  This could have started a ******* contest, which I will not do.  I would have preferred a response something like, We were disappointed that the technician did not do the job properly to admit they were not satisfied with the work that was done.  However, they did not admit or suggest any improper actions on their part.

Regards,

***** ****

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A sales person from Moxie Pest Control knocked on our door in April of 2013 to solicit pest control services. Since we were having an ant issue in one room of our home I invited him to take a look. He was shown where they were coming into our home and then taken outside and shown where they were walking across a fence to my home. He assured us this would be no problem and I again explained to him this was our only issue and if this is all they do I will be happy. He again assured me it would be no problem and we agreed to contract them for service. They came out and performed an initial service and after that I have no idea if they ever came back. I was told recently that they are scheduled to come out every three months but I have only ever seen a bill for $99 from September of 2013. I don't know if a service was performed in September of 2013 since the bill came in the mail and nothing was ever left at my home. In the meantime the ant problem has continued with no change. If anything it has gotten worse. I don't know much about pest control but I do that ants are difficult to get rid of and that a quarterly service is not going to resolve the issue. I called Moxie to cancel any future service to our home. I am not going to pay $99 a quarter for pest control that is ineffective. The home page on http://moxiepestcontrol.com/ states "Optimal results and 100% satisfaction guaranteed". I'm not sure what that means since it has never been explained to me in any way despite my asking Moxie directly. So since I am canceling my service with them they are billing me $99 for a quarterly service they allegedly performed and $150 for "Early Cancellation Reimbursement". So they cold call my home, sign me up for service, provide poor service and then bill me for services they didn't perform and a early cancellation fee on top of that. I almost feel that they are really selling poor service. Sign up customers, provide poor service, customer cancels service and pays early cancellation reimbursement which is no cost revenue for Moxie. Brilliant really.

Desired Settlement: I have already paid $69. They accept that money for the initial service and we part ways. No further action by either party.

Business Response:

14301 Sullyfield Cir, Suite G

Chantilly, VA 20151

###-###-#### Phone

###-###-#### Fax

April 25, 2014

BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington DC 20005-3404

PHONE:###-###-#### FAX:###-###-####

Re:           **. *********** *. *****

                  Case Number *******

Dear Sir or Madam: 

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from **. *********** *. *****.  Attached you will find a copy of **. *****’s service agreement.  As outlined in the agreement, **. ***** signed up for a 12 month agreement consisting of an initial treatment and four quarterly treatments for a total of 5 visits in the year.  The initial service price is $219.  He was offered it at a discount for only $69 conditional upon him fulfilling the year agreement. 

As explained in the agreement and by the salesmen, if the customer cancels before the agreement is up, they just need to reimburse the discount given for the services performed on the initial service.   The difference **. ***** owes us is a total of $150. The first Quarterly service was completed on June 11, 2013 and was scheduled with ***. *** *****. The second Quarterly service was on September 28, 2013. We did attempt to contact the *****s on September 18, 2013, September 23, 2013, and on September 24, 2013 and received no contact back.  As normal protocol, we do come out to service the home by the end of the month they are due for regular maintenance if no contact back is received. This is shown in Document 2 as attached. As an example, this same procedure was performed for their first quarterly as shown in Document 3 and ***. ***** called back to schedule service. 

We provide a warranty that we will come back in between the scheduled visits free of charge as many times as requested to take care of any persisting activity. If given the opportunity we can and will take care of **. *****. It may require multiple, back to back, treatments if activity is persistent. We left a message in between the June and September service as well to check on satisfaction with service. This message was on June 20, 2013 as shown in Document 2. The customer made no contact as well. 

We are willing to meet **. ***** more than half way by waiving the early cancellation reimbursement of $150. We do require that **. ***** pay the last Quarterly service received on September 28, 2013 in the amount of $99 because service was rendered.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.

Thank you, 

***** *****

Office Manager

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After talking with an extremely persistent salesperson at my door and telling him my house would most likely be foreclosed upon shortly, therefore I would not need his services, he called his supervisor and said they would do the first visit for free, as a courtesy. I explained to him that I would be cancelling within 30 days and he said that there would be no charge if I did so. He accidentally wrote down the wrong credit card number and they immediately began billing me $99.00 I called with in 20 days and requested a cancellation, got hung up on, and attempted to call back. I left numerous messages. Unbeknowst to me, a second service person showed up and said he was told to do a quick review. I told him I was cancelling the service. I have called and left several messages to resolve this and finally got a call back on November 11, 2013. After explaining yet again the situation ( our house is indeed being foreclosed upon) and that I did not understand why I kept getting bills in the mail, I was put on hold for over 20 min. The supervisor, named ********, was very rude and condescending and told me that my account had been cancelled ( by them because of not hearing from me) and I owed them $318.00. I asked to talk to her supervisor, and she said she was busy. I asked if I could get her name to call her back, she said she would have her call me back- no one called me. ******** told me that I had not attempted to contact them, and that I hung up on the person I spoke with. I still have the voicemail of the first person apologizing to me for accidentally hanging up on me. I have tried numerous times and left messages asking to cancel. This was the first call I have received. I feel that Moxie Pest Control did not return my calls on purpose because they did not want to honor the cancellation within 30 days.

Desired Settlement: I feel that Moxie Pest Control did not call me back on purpose when I attempted to cancel within 30 days, and then waited until my account was closed. I have tried to cancel and rectify this problem, and even offered to pay for the one service and ******** said " no, you will be going to collection" This is unprofessional and I would like the matter to be resolved. I by no means owe them $318.00! I am disabled and very ill and going into surgery next month. I do not feel that I owe them anything.

Business Response:

December 5, 2013


Dear Sir or Madam:

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from ***. ****** ******.  We have been able to speak to with ***.
****** on Tuesday, November 12, 2013 and resolve this complaint. We have waived the balance of $219 for early cancellation, and are very pleased to have reactivated ***. ****** as a current customer of ours.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.

Thank you


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Moxie Pest Control (Virginia) LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)