BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Moxie Pest Control (Virginia) LLC

Phone: (703) 378-5119 View Additional Phone Numbers 14301 Sullyfield Circle, Suite G, Chantilly, VA 20151 http://www.moxiepestcontrol.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Moxie Pest Control (Virginia) LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 20

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 11, 2009 Business started: 04/15/2009 in VA Business started locally: 04/15/2009 Business incorporated: 02/26/2009 in VA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tim J Headrick, Member/Manager Ms. Kelsey Headrick, Office Manager Ms. Sarah Headrick, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kelsey Headrick, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Tim J Headrick, Member/Manager
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Moxie Pest Control

Additional Locations

  • 14301 Sullyfield Circle, Suite G

    Chantilly, VA 20151

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (571) 214-5984(Phone)
  • (703) 378-1532 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After talking with an extremely persistent salesperson at my door and telling him my house would most likely be foreclosed upon shortly, therefore I would not need his services, he called his supervisor and said they would do the first visit for free, as a courtesy. I explained to him that I would be cancelling within 30 days and he said that there would be no charge if I did so. He accidentally wrote down the wrong credit card number and they immediately began billing me $99.00 I called with in 20 days and requested a cancellation, got hung up on, and attempted to call back. I left numerous messages. Unbeknowst to me, a second service person showed up and said he was told to do a quick review. I told him I was cancelling the service. I have called and left several messages to resolve this and finally got a call back on November 11, 2013. After explaining yet again the situation ( our house is indeed being foreclosed upon) and that I did not understand why I kept getting bills in the mail, I was put on hold for over 20 min. The supervisor, named ********, was very rude and condescending and told me that my account had been cancelled ( by them because of not hearing from me) and I owed them $318.00. I asked to talk to her supervisor, and she said she was busy. I asked if I could get her name to call her back, she said she would have her call me back- no one called me. ******** told me that I had not attempted to contact them, and that I hung up on the person I spoke with. I still have the voicemail of the first person apologizing to me for accidentally hanging up on me. I have tried numerous times and left messages asking to cancel. This was the first call I have received. I feel that Moxie Pest Control did not return my calls on purpose because they did not want to honor the cancellation within 30 days.

Desired Settlement: I feel that Moxie Pest Control did not call me back on purpose when I attempted to cancel within 30 days, and then waited until my account was closed. I have tried to cancel and rectify this problem, and even offered to pay for the one service and ******** said " no, you will be going to collection" This is unprofessional and I would like the matter to be resolved. I by no means owe them $318.00! I am disabled and very ill and going into surgery next month. I do not feel that I owe them anything.

Business Response:

December 5, 2013


Dear Sir or Madam:

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from ***. ****** ******.  We have been able to speak to with ***.
****** on Tuesday, November 12, 2013 and resolve this complaint. We have waived the balance of $219 for early cancellation, and are very pleased to have reactivated ***. ****** as a current customer of ours.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.

Thank you

10/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Madame or Sir: Moxie Pest Control (********* VA) is harrassing me about making a payment, claiming my account is past due, threatening me with additional fees. Two or three weeks again I took their offer to go on their payment plan ($33.00 per month) and called them and provided them with my debit card information so they could charge my payments to it. When I called them to do this the customer service representative took my debit card information and said this action would remediate the issue with my account being in arrears. However they are still harrassing about me this every week about my account being past due and talking about billing me for additional fees, despite that I told them that I had provided my financial information to get on their payment plan mentioned above. The other issues are that they never resolved the flea problem in my house, albeit providing no offers to remediate the problem. I had to go to my local ******* and buy flea powder which I used in my home and some time after this the flea problem seemed to have abated. Another issue which occurs repeatedly is that when they have a technician come to my house, I ask them to have the technician call me before his arrival, so that I can come to my house from my office and meet the technician to show him areas of concern inside my house. I had made this request today to their customer service representative who said that they would do this. But instead my daughter called me while I was still at the office and told me the technician was already there, but without calling me in advance. I'm contacting you because ALL I want to do is to have them discontinue their harrassment of me for collections AND Mandatorily Discontinue my contract and any contact when my contract period expires in June 2014. If possible, in lieu of the above circumstances I would prefer to discontinue the contract at the end of the present quarter. Thankyou for your assistance. Moxie Pest Control Info: ***** *********** ****** ***** * ********* ** ***** ***** ******** mail@moxiepestcontrolva.com http://moxiepestcontrol.com/

To Whom It May Concern: I would like to add to the information I submitted earlier today on your website, and I thank you for accepting and reviewing it. Concerning the service call I made to Moxie Pest Control (which I generally referred to in my initial complaint about them), my latest request to them for a technician to come to my house today (Wednesday Sept. 18 2013) was made during business hours on Monday Sept. 16. 2013.  During this call I had arranged with them for a technician to come to my house between 4 and 6 PMthis afternoon.  Then this afternoon, I called them to request that the technician call me on my cell phone prior to arrival at my home.  The customer service person I spoke also arranged for this in conjunction with the 4-6 pm visit this afternoon. Then between 3:30 and 4:30 while I was still at the office my daughter called me and told me that the technician was already at my house.  I asked her to tell the technician to give me a call on my cell, which the technician never did.  In addition when I got home there was no invoice, nothing to indicate that the service technician was even at my house.  I meant to add this to my complaint earlier.  However at the time I entered my original complaint I was still at the office and didn't have all my facts at that time, as I do now. I would appreciate you adding this to my complaint and advising if there is a more expedient way of adding to or updating my complaint. Thankyou for your time and attention. Sincerely, ***** ** *****
Cell:  (703) 727-9403 Email:  harrygreens@verizon.net or hgreens07@gmail.com

Desired Settlement: I'm contacting you because ALL I want to do is to have them discontinue their harrassment of me for collections AND Mandatorily Discontinue my contract and any contact when my contract period expires in June 2014. If possible, in lieu of the above circumstances I would prefer to discontinue the contract at the end of the present quarter.

Business Response:

 

***** ********** **** ***** * ********** ** *****

 

###-###-#### Phone

###-###-#### Fax

October 11, 2013

BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington DC 20005-3404

PHONE:###-###-#### FAX:###-###-####

Re:         *** ***** *****

                ID of *******

Dear Sir or Madam:

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from *** ****** customer ID *******. We have spoken with **. ******* via email, Friday October, 4, 2013 and Monday October 7, 2013 and resolved this matter. We have decided to waive all current balances totaling $66 as well as waive the cost of closing the account early totaling $169 and close the account per **. *****’s request. Please inform me of any further questions or concerns.

Thank you,

***** ********

Office Manager

7/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a contract with Moxie pest control for year. My initial service was May 3 2013 that costs $35. I called back for a redo due to some insects activity on June 14 and was charged $114 as my quarterly service. I talked to multiple supervisor about the issue and even with the technician who provided the service. The technician called the office to make sure it will be no charge and he confirmed it with me.

Desired Settlement: I also want to terminate the service ant not pay any penalty because they are not trustworthy.

Business Response: ***** *****
Moxie Pest Control (Virginia) LLC
14301 Sullyfield Circle, Suite G
Chantilly  VA  20151 
  
  
 

To Whom It May Concern:
 
We have spoken to and resolved this concern with ****** ******* ******, customer ID *******, on Tuesday, July 2, 2013 and provided a credit back to the customer as well as gave an extension to September for the next regular maintenance. It is our first priority to satisfy our customers needs and meet their expectations.
 
If you have have any other questions please contact our office at ###-###-####.

Thank you,

***** *****

Office Manager

Moxie Pest Control

###-###-####

5/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A door to door salesman came and offered their services at discounted price. He spoke with my wife for several minutes and finally mentioned that she could use the service this one time and then cancel. My wife agreed to have the initial service done with the understanding that we would be cancelling the service after the initial service. The salesman then asked her to inital and sign the paperwork and then gave my wife a copy. Upon reviewing the paperwork there is a cancellation charge of $150 that was never mentioned by the salesman and the salesman also never reviewed the paperwork with my wife before asking for her signature. When we explained this to the company they insisted on us paying the $150 to cancel their service and we have done so. We feel like we were rushed and tricked by the salesman who did not explain the cancellation fee up front before asking for a signature and who also mentioned that we could cancel at anytime but left the information about there being a fee out.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a refund of the cancellation fee. Had we had that information upfront we would of never signed the paperwork.

Business Response:

                14301 Sullyfield Cir, Suite G

Chantilly, VA 20151

************ Phone

************ Fax

May 14, 2013

BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern Pennsylvania

1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington DC 20005-3404

PHONE:(202)393-8000 FAX:(202)393-1198

Re:         *** ****** *****

                ID of **********

Dear Sir or Madam:

The purpose of this letter is to address the recent complaint you received from *** ****** *****, customer ID **********. We do stand by our route manager’s honesty and integrity, and it is noted in our year agreement that if any cancellation before the first year is completed, a reimbursement of the discounts received is required. However, we apologize and understand that miscommunications do occur.

We have decided to make an exception for *** ****** ***** and honor his request. We spoke with *** ***** on Tuesday, May 7, 2013 and resolved this over the phone. Please inform me of any further questions or concerns.

Thank you,

***** *****

Office Manager

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

12/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service