BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Green Pest Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Green Pest Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Green Pest Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 14, 2011 Business started: 01/03/2008 in UT Business started locally: 03/16/2011 Business incorporated 01/03/2008 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS)-VA
102 Governor Street, 1st Floor, Richmond VA 23219
http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/pesticide
Phone Number: 804-786-3798
Fax Number: 804-786-9149
The number is 11327.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Aaron Allred, President/CEO Mr. Jard Borg, Managing Member Mr. Kyle Woodbury, Managing Member Mr. Max Tran, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aaron Allred, President/CEO
Principal: Mr. Jard Borg, Managing Member
Principal: Mr. Kyle Woodbury, Managing Member
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Pointe Pest Control-Il, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 14150 Parkeast Cir Ste 135

    Chantilly, VA 20151 (703) 961-8484

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Green Pest Services performed services in February and I did not receive a bill until just recently. Their invoice was for $110 was dated May 19, so probably wasn't sent out until May 20. I'm not sure exactly when it arrived because it arrived while I was out of town last week. I arrived home on Sunday and opened my mail to find the bill (can provide a copy of the bill if necessary) stating: FINAL NOTICE Account Subject to Collections plus additional charges if sent to collections DUE IMMEDIATELY On Sunday evening, I immediately submitted a payment through my credit union , to be processed on June 1 and to arrive at Green Pest Services no later than June 5. (In checking my account this morning, I notice that the payment shows as "Sent" on June 1. Because the check is being mailed from Herndon and only going to Chantilly, they should have it WELL before June 5.) I contacted Green Pest Services today about the above invoice and was upset to find that they claim to have already submitted the bill to collections and that I now owe them $110 + $25 collection fee. So much for "subject to collection." As of June 1, I have NOT received a bill from a collection agency re this matter. They claim to have mailed me other invoices (which I have NOT received) and claim they have called me. They will not remove the $25 collection fee. Upon their receipt of my $110 payment from the credit union, I do NOT intend to pay the $25 collection fee!!! I was so mad, I hung up on them. I am writing them a letter about this matter and including a copy of the invoice I received over the weekend. My letter has a screenshot copy of the bill payment from the credit union included in the letter. The letter also has the statement that I will NOT pay the $25 collection fee as it does not show on my bill and I have not received a notice from a collection service. (Should you need a copy of my letter, I will be happy to supply it to you.)

Desired Settlement: I want them to accept the $110 payment as PAYMENT IN FULL. I will NOT pay the $25 collection fee.

Business Response: This has been resolved.  The customer has been refunded the penalty amount of $25.

6/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A door-to-door salesperson representing Green Pest Services came selling Green's Pest prevention program. We informed the salesperson that our house was going on the market and that we were not interested in a contract commitment. We were told that we would only pay for the service calls and could terminate when the property sold. We informed Green of the home sale and have paid for all treatments to the property however Green continues to bill us for a termination fee of $110. We consider Green's practices deceptive and have see a similar complaint in online reviews of the company.

Desired Settlement: We consider our account closed as we have fulfilled the agreement as discussed with the salesperson representing Green. We have also indicated on the final bill that our final payment indicated payment in full and the account should be closed. We were straight forward with the salesperson with regard to our situation and Green should not be allowing its sales force to use entrapment practices. We would expect a reversal of the $110 termination fee.

Business Response: *** *********

Thank you for trying our services, and I apologize for the misunderstanding.  
On occasion, customers may have special deals with the original salesperson.  Normally, it would be written on the contract.  In your case, there is nothing indicating that the conversation that you had in regards to this special exception with made.  Also, sometimes the deal is struck with the original salesperson and then relayed to office, which then goes into the permanent notes section of the account.  This would have also been acceptable. Again, there was no indication of this in the special notes section on the account.  Without physically being there to witness the actual conversation, there is no way to verify that this deal was ever made.  
Once again, I apologize for the misunderstanding, and I don't want you to think that we are being unreasonable.   We are committed to creating a positive experience for every customer.  At this point, I've reversed your charges, and you currently have a zero balance.  You do not have any future services, or services pending.  Please disregard any further statements or collection efforts. 
Please let me know if your require further assistance with this matter. 
*** ****
General Manager
Green Pest Services
14150 Parkeast Cir. , #135
Chantilly, VA 20151
###-###-####

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We honored our 1 year contract with Green Pest. Home was sold 5/14 and Green Pest (who had our contact information) failed to notify us by phone or letter prior to continuing their unwanted service and subsequently billing for an additional quarter.

Desired Settlement: No continuation of contract or services that has expired 4/14.

Business Response: *****,

I'm sorry, but I don't know this customer.  My historical records do not show anyone with the name **** * *****, **** *****, * *****, or * * *****.  Furthermore, I wasn't able to find the customer by phone number ###-###-####. 
Additionally, I've attached a copy of a contract that, I'm guessing might be similar to the one she signed.  You can see at the very bottom of the first page, there reads, "After the initial agreement period, services will continue until canceled with a 30 day written notice."  Also, on the the terms and conditions printed on page 2 of the contract, item number 8, "Cancellation of this agreement must be in writing and prior to 30 days of the next scheduled service."  Lastly, the technician is also required to reiterate the terms and conditions with the customer's authorization prior to even being allowed to do the very first service.  I've attached a copy of this as well.  Again, you can see on the last section of item one, "Following the initial 12 month period, this contract will remain in effect until cancelled in writing prior to 30 days of the next scheduled service."
Unlike other companies that will force the customer to renew the contract for another year, we only continue on a quarter to quarter basis.  We would have very easily cancelled the customers account had we known that they did not want service.  
Please have the customer forward the service address to me, and I will immediately make sure that the account is cancelled. 
Thank you for bringing this to my attention. 
*** ****
General Manager
Green Pest Services
14150 Parkeast Cir. #135
Chantilly, VA 20151
###-###-####

6/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called to tell them not to work here: they never answer calls and do not return messages. I have an initialed contract that says do not renew my 1 year commitment. They ignore the initials and keep working and billing. Have left over 4 messages without any return call. Continue to get "computer' generated phone calls.

Desired Settlement: Leave me alone and do not do work or bill me.

Business Response:

  • I want to first thank you for being a valued customer and giving us a try for one full year.  After reviewing your account, I see that you signed up with us on June 17th of 2013.  There are also two notes in our system indicating that you wish to cancel services at the end of your contract.  As you can see, we are merely in May.  Per your request, the account would have automatically cancelled at the appropriate time. 

  • We value our customers and respect their time and opinions.  I am very sorry for making you feel that your calls were unanswered and unappreciated.  Our records indicate that you left messages on 5/10/14 at 4:45pm, and then another on 5/15/14 5:05 pm.  Our office hours are from 9am to 4pm on Saturdays and 9am to 5pm during the week.  We will usually also answer the phones if there are any staff members available during off hours.  Our phone records show that we made calls to the number that we have in our system for you on 5/12/14 at 8:31am, which a message was left, and then 5/16/14 at 9:16am which resulted in a conversation with my office manager.  Once again, I apologize for our failure to connect with you at the time of your call.  Our branch is experiencing exponential growth, and I do understand that we must keep up with customer demands.  We are continually trying to improve our infrastructure to handle such growth, and our phone system is our top priority. 
*** ****
General Manager
Green Pest Services
14150 Parkeast Circle #135
Chantilly, VA 20151
###-###-####

9/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were in Florida from mid-January until April 4 when we returned home to ******. On March 29 (still in Florida) we received a mailing from **********, a collection agency, stating we owe Green Pest $245 for past services and penalty costs. FIRST TIME WE KNEW OF ANY AMOUNT OWED TO GREEN PEST! The Postal Service had been forwarding mail to us in Florida and I know of no MISSED BILLINGS from any of the other sources we deal with. I wrote to Green Pest on March 30 advising that we knew of no overdue billing and would settle this with them when we were to return the following week. I also advised Green Pest that I objected "...to the casual manner and ease in which you handed this off to a collection agency without ever presenting some written notice to the property owner". As a matter of record, I had been checking on messages that may have been left on my home phone while we were away and had NEVER RECEIVED ANY MESSAGE FROM GREEN PEST CONCERNING THIS ALLEGED OVERDUE BILL! On April 8, I wrote again to Green Pest indicating that upon our return home I found a voice message indicating the matter can be resolved by a payment of $135 - $100 for a reported November service visit and a $25 collection agency fee. I visited their ********* office that same day and left them a check for the $135 to settle this matter and my April 8 letter. The letter requested Green Pest to "...advise them (the collection agency) that the matter has been resolved, their records should reflect that, and, no further action is required of them". I also requested Green Pest to provide a copy of that notification to us for our records. SINCE I HAD NO RESPONSE FROM GREEN PEST, I sent another letter to them on May 30, and, SINCE I STILL HAD NO RESPONSE FROM THEM I sent still another request on July 21. Here I am at the end of August and no response yet - GETTING THE DUMMY TREATMENT FROM THEM! I understand the manager of that office is JOHN. The only other thing I have to add is that their billing practices and followup (which I well understand is needed in some cases) is non-responsive in my view and verges on the unethical!

Desired Settlement: I want Green Pest to provide confirmation to me that they have advised the collection agency to cancel action on their collection request, and, to confirm that our payment record with them is current and no outstanding balance exists.

Business Response: *****,

I took the liberty of researching the account at address **** ******* ******, ******, VA *****, and found that the account is under ***** *****.  I was able to pull a copy of the customer's original contract, and I included it for your review.  As you can see, ***. ***** signed a one year contract starting on May 25, 2012.  As you can also see, there is a calendar towards the middle of page one of the contract, delineating the service schedule and the charges corresponding to them.  As per the contract, we serviced the home May 25th, 2012 and was paid for that service with check number **** on the date of service.  The next service was on August 28th, 2012, and that service was paid with check number **** on September 21st, 2012.  The next service after that was done on November 28th, 2012.  This balance was not paid until April 9th, 2013 with check number ****.  This customer is set up as a net 30 day customer, which means that she/he has 30 days from the time of service to pay.  The account would have become past due on December 28th, 2012.  Our policy is that once an account goes over 90 days past due, the automated system turns the account over to ********** ******* for collections.  I can also see that **** called the number we have on file, ###-###-####, twice.  He called once on 2/22/13, and once on 02/26/13 to let her know of the past due balance.  By 3/20/2013, which we were able to delay collections for 114 days, the account was finally turned over to **********. 

It shows in my records that a payment of $135 on 4/9/2013 with check number **** paid for the past due service and a collections fee, but the termination fee was waived.  I checked with ********** *******, it too shows the payment, and that the account was removed from collections.  Since then, the account was reinstated to good standings with Green Pest Services.  Clearly there reflects a conversation that took place with acceptable explanation to the reason for delayed payment, with the customer being out of town. 

**. *****,

I do apologize for our failure to provide you a written confirmation that your account is no longer delinquent.  I hope this notice will suffice.  I also apologize that we had to send your account to collections in the first place, but in our defense, we did try to contact you, and we did try to hold off for as long as we could.  We take our collections efforts very seriously and we do not take the matter lightly at all.  You should have received a letter directly from ********** letting you know that your account was paid in full, and that collection efforts have ceased.  I'm sending you the a copy of the service invoice done in November today.  Please let me know if you require more information.

We do pride ourselves with the best customer service possible, and we want you to feel the same way.  Good service is the reason why we went from 600 customers two years ago to nearly 6000 customers today.  If you have anything else that you would like me to help you with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly through phone or email.

Best regards,

 

*** ****

General Manager

14150 Parkeast Cir, Ste. 135

Chantilly, VA 20151

Phone: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####




8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we hired the pest company to perform pest treatment . since feb we gave them a chance to do the job right . they did there treatment in feb didn't work they send some one back in april after we complained and didn't work , the tech had a little spray bottle .and spray a round I told them I can buy that myself from the **** ***** and spray it they send a nother tech back in may , july 2 times and still didn't work . we called again and told them that what ever they are using not even treating the ants . they send a tech in 8/13/2013 and after he left there is life spider in the house , life ants , mice in the house . I called the company and asked them to terminate the service , we spoke to ( *** ****** . office manager ) and he first said that he don't have any record that they been in my house in july and aug , he said that he didn't have a record that even tech come out yesterday . and asked me if the person was from green pest service . I told him of course we called you and you send the tech out . after that he changed his story and said that ( OH I found office communication that they were here yesterday ) but to cancel the service you have to pay another $150.00 . I told him they fail to provide the service and they need to return all my money . we gave them to many chances . I am disabled veteran and I suffer from PTSD . can not deal with company that they are scam and they are out there to get consumer money .

Desired Settlement: cancel my account immediately and refund me the money you charged me for service that they could not provide .

Business Response: *****,

From my records, I see that **** ********* signed up for our Annual GPC (General Pest Control) program on 4/12/2013.  This program covers infestations of ants, spiders, earwigs, silverfish, rodents, as well as numerous other pests.  The computer shows that **. ********* received his initial service on 4/12/2013, a quarterly service on 5/27/2013, a free re-service on 6/18/2013, and then another free re-service on 8/13/2013.  The first re-service in June had no indication of a problem.  It simply shows a service in the basement per customer's request.  The service in August is the same way.  The system does not show two re-services in July as described by **. *********. 

According to the contract that **. ********* signed, he is entitled to a home free of pests, which is exactly what we want to deliver to all of our customers.  However, in some cases, it does take a few treatments in order to achieve this state.  It indicates that if he experiences a continuous problem in which we cannot solve, he has the right to cancel without penalty.  In addition, the amount of his last regular service can be refunded.  Also on the contract, there is a clear indication that due to the nature of the products we use, he needs to give the materials 10-15 days from each service to allow time for it to work.  Unlike products that he can buy from **** *****, we carry registered products that is both more persistent and more accumulative, and that only a licensed professional can buy.  Quick kill products sold over the counter, has been found to often times exacerbate the problem. 

I can see that *** spoke to both **. and ***. ********* on Wednesday the 14th of this month.  When first speaking with ***. *********, she sounded clearly upset after the previous day's service, she saw unwanted pest activity.  *** explained to her the program and the way that it's designed to work.  He told ***. ********* that we are willing to help her with her problems, but we need to do some research to figure out the diagnosis and treatment plan.  This usually involves the input of the technician doing the job, and he told her that he did not see the service in the system as of yet, but when he checked the communications log with the technician, he could clearly see that the request was made.  The technician has not had the chance to turn in his service paperwork at that point, and at no time did *** change his "Story" about what he found.  He was simply reporting details of what he saw. 

Once **. ********* was transferred to the line, he proceeded to barrage my employee with obscenities and racial slurs.  He also asked for ***'s full name, and our office address, to then come down and threatened *** with violence.  This was completely unnecessary, and in no way conducive to relieving **. ********* of his pest problems.  Although *** has decided not to pursue legal measures, he still feels verbally and mentally abused by **. *********.  I greatly appreciate **. *********'s service and sacrifice to our country, and I can only imagine his affliction with PTSD, but his interaction with *** was uncalled for, despicable and completely absurd. 

As per **. *********'s request.  I will cancel his account with no penalties, I will return the quarterly charge to his credit card account, I will delete all future services, and I will keep all of **. *********'s information, to guarantee that Green Pest Services never do business with **. ********* again.  We have the right to refuse service to anybody and for any reason, and with over 5500 non abusive customers, we would like to ask **. ********* to kindly take his business elsewhere. 

On a personal note, I am very sorry to use this tone, but I am against bullying of any kind, as I'm a single father trying to raise my children in this society.  This subject is very important.  I urge **. ********* to seek help with his anger management. 

Please contact me with any questions or comments.

Sincerely,

*** ****
General Manager
Green Pest Services
14150 Parkeast Circle #135
Chantilly, VA 20151
************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Green Pest Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)