BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Green Pest Services

Phone: (703) 961-8484 View Additional Phone Numbers 14150 Parkeast Cir Ste 135, Chantilly, VA 20151 http://www.greenpestservices.net

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Green Pest Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Green Pest Services include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 14, 2011 Business started: 01/03/2008 in UT Business started locally: 03/16/2011 Business incorporated: 01/03/2008 in UT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS)-VA
102 Governor Street, 1st Floor, Richmond VA 23219
http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/pesticide
Phone Number: 804-786-3798
Fax Number: 804-786-9149
The license number is 11327.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Aaron Allred, President/CEO Mr. Jard Borg, Managing Member Mr. Kyle Woodbury, Managing Member Mr. Max Tran, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aaron Allred, President/CEO
Principal: Mr. Jard Borg, Managing Member
Customer Contact: Mr. Max Tran, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Kyle Woodbury, Managing Member
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Pointe Pest Control-Il, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 14150 Parkeast Cir Ste 135

    Chantilly, VA 20151 (703) 961-8484

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 348-6066(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were in Florida from mid-January until April 4 when we returned home to ******. On March 29 (still in Florida) we received a mailing from **********, a collection agency, stating we owe Green Pest $245 for past services and penalty costs. FIRST TIME WE KNEW OF ANY AMOUNT OWED TO GREEN PEST! The Postal Service had been forwarding mail to us in Florida and I know of no MISSED BILLINGS from any of the other sources we deal with. I wrote to Green Pest on March 30 advising that we knew of no overdue billing and would settle this with them when we were to return the following week. I also advised Green Pest that I objected "...to the casual manner and ease in which you handed this off to a collection agency without ever presenting some written notice to the property owner". As a matter of record, I had been checking on messages that may have been left on my home phone while we were away and had NEVER RECEIVED ANY MESSAGE FROM GREEN PEST CONCERNING THIS ALLEGED OVERDUE BILL! On April 8, I wrote again to Green Pest indicating that upon our return home I found a voice message indicating the matter can be resolved by a payment of $135 - $100 for a reported November service visit and a $25 collection agency fee. I visited their ********* office that same day and left them a check for the $135 to settle this matter and my April 8 letter. The letter requested Green Pest to "...advise them (the collection agency) that the matter has been resolved, their records should reflect that, and, no further action is required of them". I also requested Green Pest to provide a copy of that notification to us for our records. SINCE I HAD NO RESPONSE FROM GREEN PEST, I sent another letter to them on May 30, and, SINCE I STILL HAD NO RESPONSE FROM THEM I sent still another request on July 21. Here I am at the end of August and no response yet - GETTING THE DUMMY TREATMENT FROM THEM! I understand the manager of that office is JOHN. The only other thing I have to add is that their billing practices and followup (which I well understand is needed in some cases) is non-responsive in my view and verges on the unethical!

Desired Settlement: I want Green Pest to provide confirmation to me that they have advised the collection agency to cancel action on their collection request, and, to confirm that our payment record with them is current and no outstanding balance exists.

Business Response: *****,

I took the liberty of researching the account at address **** ******* ******, ******, VA *****, and found that the account is under ***** *****.  I was able to pull a copy of the customer's original contract, and I included it for your review.  As you can see, ***. ***** signed a one year contract starting on May 25, 2012.  As you can also see, there is a calendar towards the middle of page one of the contract, delineating the service schedule and the charges corresponding to them.  As per the contract, we serviced the home May 25th, 2012 and was paid for that service with check number **** on the date of service.  The next service was on August 28th, 2012, and that service was paid with check number **** on September 21st, 2012.  The next service after that was done on November 28th, 2012.  This balance was not paid until April 9th, 2013 with check number ****.  This customer is set up as a net 30 day customer, which means that she/he has 30 days from the time of service to pay.  The account would have become past due on December 28th, 2012.  Our policy is that once an account goes over 90 days past due, the automated system turns the account over to ********** ******* for collections.  I can also see that **** called the number we have on file, ###-###-####, twice.  He called once on 2/22/13, and once on 02/26/13 to let her know of the past due balance.  By 3/20/2013, which we were able to delay collections for 114 days, the account was finally turned over to **********. 

It shows in my records that a payment of $135 on 4/9/2013 with check number **** paid for the past due service and a collections fee, but the termination fee was waived.  I checked with ********** *******, it too shows the payment, and that the account was removed from collections.  Since then, the account was reinstated to good standings with Green Pest Services.  Clearly there reflects a conversation that took place with acceptable explanation to the reason for delayed payment, with the customer being out of town. 

**. *****,

I do apologize for our failure to provide you a written confirmation that your account is no longer delinquent.  I hope this notice will suffice.  I also apologize that we had to send your account to collections in the first place, but in our defense, we did try to contact you, and we did try to hold off for as long as we could.  We take our collections efforts very seriously and we do not take the matter lightly at all.  You should have received a letter directly from ********** letting you know that your account was paid in full, and that collection efforts have ceased.  I'm sending you the a copy of the service invoice done in November today.  Please let me know if you require more information.

We do pride ourselves with the best customer service possible, and we want you to feel the same way.  Good service is the reason why we went from 600 customers two years ago to nearly 6000 customers today.  If you have anything else that you would like me to help you with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly through phone or email.

Best regards,

 

*** ****

General Manager

14150 Parkeast Cir, Ste. 135

Chantilly, VA 20151

Phone: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####




BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we hired the pest company to perform pest treatment . since feb we gave them a chance to do the job right . they did there treatment in feb didn't work they send some one back in april after we complained and didn't work , the tech had a little spray bottle .and spray a round I told them I can buy that myself from the **** ***** and spray it they send a nother tech back in may , july 2 times and still didn't work . we called again and told them that what ever they are using not even treating the ants . they send a tech in 8/13/2013 and after he left there is life spider in the house , life ants , mice in the house . I called the company and asked them to terminate the service , we spoke to ( *** ****** . office manager ) and he first said that he don't have any record that they been in my house in july and aug , he said that he didn't have a record that even tech come out yesterday . and asked me if the person was from green pest service . I told him of course we called you and you send the tech out . after that he changed his story and said that ( OH I found office communication that they were here yesterday ) but to cancel the service you have to pay another $150.00 . I told him they fail to provide the service and they need to return all my money . we gave them to many chances . I am disabled veteran and I suffer from PTSD . can not deal with company that they are scam and they are out there to get consumer money .

Desired Settlement: cancel my account immediately and refund me the money you charged me for service that they could not provide .

Business Response: *****,

From my records, I see that **** ********* signed up for our Annual GPC (General Pest Control) program on 4/12/2013.  This program covers infestations of ants, spiders, earwigs, silverfish, rodents, as well as numerous other pests.  The computer shows that **. ********* received his initial service on 4/12/2013, a quarterly service on 5/27/2013, a free re-service on 6/18/2013, and then another free re-service on 8/13/2013.  The first re-service in June had no indication of a problem.  It simply shows a service in the basement per customer's request.  The service in August is the same way.  The system does not show two re-services in July as described by **. *********. 

According to the contract that **. ********* signed, he is entitled to a home free of pests, which is exactly what we want to deliver to all of our customers.  However, in some cases, it does take a few treatments in order to achieve this state.  It indicates that if he experiences a continuous problem in which we cannot solve, he has the right to cancel without penalty.  In addition, the amount of his last regular service can be refunded.  Also on the contract, there is a clear indication that due to the nature of the products we use, he needs to give the materials 10-15 days from each service to allow time for it to work.  Unlike products that he can buy from **** *****, we carry registered products that is both more persistent and more accumulative, and that only a licensed professional can buy.  Quick kill products sold over the counter, has been found to often times exacerbate the problem. 

I can see that *** spoke to both **. and ***. ********* on Wednesday the 14th of this month.  When first speaking with ***. *********, she sounded clearly upset after the previous day's service, she saw unwanted pest activity.  *** explained to her the program and the way that it's designed to work.  He told ***. ********* that we are willing to help her with her problems, but we need to do some research to figure out the diagnosis and treatment plan.  This usually involves the input of the technician doing the job, and he told her that he did not see the service in the system as of yet, but when he checked the communications log with the technician, he could clearly see that the request was made.  The technician has not had the chance to turn in his service paperwork at that point, and at no time did *** change his "Story" about what he found.  He was simply reporting details of what he saw. 

Once **. ********* was transferred to the line, he proceeded to barrage my employee with obscenities and racial slurs.  He also asked for ***'s full name, and our office address, to then come down and threatened *** with violence.  This was completely unnecessary, and in no way conducive to relieving **. ********* of his pest problems.  Although *** has decided not to pursue legal measures, he still feels verbally and mentally abused by **. *********.  I greatly appreciate **. *********'s service and sacrifice to our country, and I can only imagine his affliction with PTSD, but his interaction with *** was uncalled for, despicable and completely absurd. 

As per **. *********'s request.  I will cancel his account with no penalties, I will return the quarterly charge to his credit card account, I will delete all future services, and I will keep all of **. *********'s information, to guarantee that Green Pest Services never do business with **. ********* again.  We have the right to refuse service to anybody and for any reason, and with over 5500 non abusive customers, we would like to ask **. ********* to kindly take his business elsewhere. 

On a personal note, I am very sorry to use this tone, but I am against bullying of any kind, as I'm a single father trying to raise my children in this society.  This subject is very important.  I urge **. ********* to seek help with his anger management. 

Please contact me with any questions or comments.

Sincerely,

*** ****
General Manager
Green Pest Services
14150 Parkeast Circle #135
Chantilly, VA 20151
************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed up for 5 visits by a pest control company. They claim that they were at my house in December when I know that was not the case. There was no documentation left. I am now being billed for a visit that did not take place. I spoke with a representative who said it would be removed but has now gone to a collections company and I am being billed for the visit ($110. plus $145 in penalties.

Desired Settlement: I want them to leave me alone and not expect payment for an outside treatment that I don't think ever took place.

Business Response: *****,

****** ***** signed up for services on May 12th, 2012.  She agreed to accept services for one full year.  It was explained to her that she would receive her initial service on May 13th, her regular quarterly services starting June, and continuing on every three months, as delineated on her contract. 

The office received a message from her on our voice messaging system on 2/11/13 stating that she received a bill for December, and she knew for a fact that the service was not done.  She went on to say that she was not going to pay for it, and that she doesn't expect service until spring.  I tried to call her back on the phone number that was on her account, ************, but I wasn't able to get through.  When I dialed that number, it would ring about 12 times and then hang up.  I made sure I dialed the right number, and dialed again with the same results. 

She called the office again on 3/26/13 at about 9am, and I answered the phone.  She stated again that she was receiving a bill from us for a service that she knew didn't happen.  I told her that if it was our mistake I certainly wouldn't expect her to pay.  I checked our records and I pulled the actual paper invoice from the technician from the time of service.  It indicated that he arrived December 7, at 12:13pm.  He performed an exterior only treatment which included sweeping webs, spraying and granulation.  She says that it was a lie and that she wasn't going to pay it.  I asked how she knew that the service wasn't done.  I asked her if she worked from home, and she says that she didn't.  She told me that she knew because an invoice wasn't left on her door.  I tried to explain to her that the service was done, and a copy of the invoice is always left on the door as a part of our protocol.  We are very careful to secure the invoice to the doors, but we never know what happens to the invoices after the technician leaves the property.  There were some instances when the customer would discard them after mistaking them for advertisements.  Sometimes they're blown away with a strong wind.  She wouldn't accept any example I gave her, and insisted that the service wasn't done.  I asked her why she waited two months to let us know that she was unhappy.  If it was a matter of a missed service, we could have easily sent the technician out to retreat her property.  Once the account goes 90 days past due, it then gets turned over to ********** ******* ***********, and if the account is cancelled early, there's an early termination fee of $150.  All of that could have been avoided.

I told her that I didn't want her to feel like she was cheated.  Although $110 pays for three months of service and our guarantee, and not just the one service, I was willing to dismiss the charges.  If she wanted to continue services, I would also take her out of collections and dismiss the fees.  Doing this however, would extend her contract another three months.  She told me that because of all of this, she doesn't feel comfortable doing business with us any longer, and she requested to cancel immediately.  I told her that if she does that, I would then have to charge her an early termination fee of $150 per her contract.  She told me that she wouldn't pay it, and hung up. 

Once again, the information in collections was sent on 3/20/13 which was six days prior to speaking to *** ***** about her account.  Because the December and March service would have completed her obligation, she was only charged $110 for the cancellation fee versus $150.  To recap, *** ***** is being accounted for the December service at $110, a contract termination fee of $110 and a collections fee of $25 for letting her account go 90 days past due.  If *** ***** no longer wishes to continue service with Green Pest Services, which she has already expressed, I would accept a settlement of $150, and I will take her out of collections and cancel out her account with no further obligations.  Please let me know if any further details are needed to close this case.

Best Regards,

*** ****

General Manager

***** ******** **** **** *** ********** ** ***** ******

************ **** ************

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I should not have to pay to cancel a service that was not happening.  I have never had a service provided on my home without some form of documentation describing the service.  I will not pay for a December service or a (cancellation fee) that I don't think occurred.  I don't understand why Green doesn't offer to come out again on a mutually agreed upon date.


Regards,

****** *****








Business Response: The cancellation fee is due to not completing the annual contract. 

I offered to continue services, which would mean that there is no cancellation, and therefore no cancellation fee.  This plan was turned down.  The contract calls for 4 regular services.  Without the December service, there is only 2 services done so far with two remaining services.  The only way we can continue servicing this account is if *** ***** agrees to the remaining two services to fulfill her obligation. 

I will offer this plan again.  If *** ***** agrees to the two services, I will take her out of collections, dismiss the fees as well as the December service.  Please let me know if this is acceptable.


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  


Please note that this is the first that I have heard  of  Green's  offer to continue with two more services and a cancellation of all other fees.  I would also like to be present when they come for servicing which means someone should call me to schedule the additional two services.

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1