BBB Accredited Business since

Connor's Termite & Pest Control, Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (703) 520-6150 View Additional Phone Numbers 5408 Port Royal Rd Ste A, Springfield, VA 22151

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Connor's Termite & Pest Control, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Connor's Termite & Pest Control, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Connor's Termite & Pest Control, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 1988 Business started: 01/19/1973 in VA Business incorporated 02/07/1974 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Agriculture (MDA)-MD
50 Harry S Truman Pkwy, Annapolis MD 21401
Phone Number: 410-841-5710
The number is 10355.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Edward C Connor, President Ms. Robin Mountjoy, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward C Connor, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Robin Mountjoy, Vice President
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Connor's Complete Pest Control Connor's Pest Protection Connor's Termite and Pest Control

Additional Locations

  • 1007A Ruritan Cir

    Sterling, VA 20164

  • 5408 Port Royal Rd Ste A

    Springfield, VA 22151 (703) 321-0400 (703) 520-6150

  • 923 Gist Ave

    Silver Spring, MD 20910

  • PO Box 1480

    Springfield, VA 22151


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with this company to provide pest control services when we moved into our home in June 2012. Their service has been repeatedly poor and their customer service even worse. Despite strong evidence to the contrary, the company assured us that we did not have a rodent problem in our basement. When an old nesting area was discovered, they recommended a construction, which we undertook. They put traps and bait stations both inside and outside the house. However, over the past year they have done nothing to check the home in a meaningful way. They apparently did not re-fill the bait stations outside--another pest company discovered that they were empty. In the basement, one of the contractors working on our house we discovered a dead four-foot rat last week. We called the company and did not receive any response for 3 days. Finally the technician came to remove the carcass, but did nothing with the traps or bait stations.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the past year of pest control services--$396.00. The company clearly did nothing to earn this money. I would also like to be refunded on a prorated basis whatever we have prepaid on our separate contract to assist with termite prevention.

Business Response:

Regarding complaint ********, *** ******** *****, we spoke to the customer on 6/4/2014, his home was open and under construction, and we explained to him while we were doing the service that we cannot prevent rodents completely due to the construction situation, we tried to call again on 6/12 to further resolve the issue, but he just hung up on our manager.  We had performed the service on a regular basis, but could not make any guarantees, but kept the home abated from rodents as much as possible with the open air situation of construction.  
Since we still performed the services, and had explained that the construction situation would prove to be a challenge, we do not feel that a refund is appropriate.  

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because this is absolute and utter nonsense.  We had ongoing problems well before any of the construction in our home.  Connors was not proactive at all during that time.  Traps were left in the basement without any type of re-baiting or other attention.  They did the absolute minimum here even after we followed their recommendation to do some earlier construction aimed at keeping rodents out of the house.  

Rather than being more attentive or proactive during our construction project, they were less so.  I never expected any type of guarantee that are home would be absolutely free from rodents.  What I did expect was them to pay closer attention to the problems, re-bait traps, suggest alternative approaches and, at a minimum, to not have to wait three days for them to come after a dead rat was discovered in our basement.  
Their response, like their service, is completely inadequate.  If anybody hung up on them, it might have been out of sheer frustration when repeated calls to them led to NO RESPONSE. 


******** *****

Business Response: I spoke with *** ***** today and offered a refund of $200.00, he was very happy with this and it is being processed immediately.  I apologized for the frustration he felt,  and he was appreciative that we reached out and made this gesture to resolve the matter.  

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and, once I receive the refund check for $200.00, find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


******** *****

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint has multiple issues. First, I originally called for "something" making noise in my attic. As I am completely petrified of mice and unsure of what was making the ruckus, I did not accompany the man to the attic to determine what was there. I live in a 3 story townhouse and to get into the attic requires placing the ladder in a small closet and hoisting yourself into the attic, etc. When he arrived, I described what had occurred....noises at night, clicking nails across boards in my attic, the sound of what sounded like something (an animal) turning over while sleeping, etc. He went and got his ladder....he was upstairs for maybe 2 minutes. Now this is barely even long enough to set up the ladder let alone come back down and declare with the issue is. Anyway, he came back down and indicated that the issue was in fact mice. Of course, I wondered out loud how mice could make that much noise at night, but I am not the expert, so had to rely on the expert. So, he talked me into a one year problem.....a little pest control doesn't hurt. But at NO time did he mention that it would automatically renew. Oh but wait, there is more. So contract guy leaves.....if memory serves this is on a wednesday.....he schedules me for the service tech to come out on saturday. So now I have to live with 'mice' running around for four days. Did I mention my fear? So, wonderful ****** is the assigned technician. ****** arrives and listens to me describe what has occurred (apparently there is NO communication between contract dude and ******). He gets his ladder and I actually went into the attic with him. After the contract guy.....I had to ensure what was going on. So we are in the attic and what?...>****** indicates that it was a raccoon....not only were there raccoon droppings but a hole in the siding of my home where the critter was coming and going from. Amazing how contract guy didn't find this, isn't it? So, then the really bad news.....contract dude didn't put raccoon service in my contract. Sigh. Apparently ****** could see my fear and agreed to take care of the raccoon issue in spite of the contract dude's failings. He educated me that the raccoon would try to come back, etc. Anyway each time ****** came back, he was wonderful. Fast forward to the end of the term of my contract.....I get a call for the "regularly" scheduled visit. Now this is beyond the one year contract that I signed (that was not written for what I needed) and I live in a townhouse, so it makes no sense to spray my house if others arent. Anyway, I got the phone call. I called back and indicated everything that I have written and that i was not interested in any more service from Connors. The gentleman on the phone indicated that he would have to present this to the managers, but that in his experience I would not have to worry about any payment. I even repeated to him, "so I don't need to worry about this bill?" His reply was, well I can't say for certain, but I am pretty sure you won't have to worry about it. So, I kept the bill for a couple weeks and when I didn't hear anything I threw it away. Well guest what? I received another bill. I know....shocking. So, putting my faith in the "i am pretty sure" guy, I disregarded the bill. I received a collection call from Connors yesterday while on travel. I promptly returned the call and asked to speak with my account manager. I should have known better when ******* didn't understand when I asked for account manager. I explained everything above and ******* attempted to repeat my complaint and repeated it completely wrong and made it sound like I was trying to dodge the bill. That is NOT what this is about. This is about the lack of attention and completely INACCURATE contract from the very beginning. If it had not been for the awesome customer service from ******, Connors and I would have been having this conversation within 4 days of contract dude being at my house. Additionally, after the phone call in February (I believe), any reasonable customer service procedure would have called for a return call to inform me of the decision for my account and the customer service complaint that I had. Finally, I requested a return telephone call yesterday and never received one. I have attempted to resolve this issue and talk to someone who would make a decision, but to no avail.

Desired Settlement: Not only do I want a billing adjustment, but I want someone to call me with an explanation of the complete lack of customer service.

Business Response: Regarding Complaint ********, ***. ***** ******** in ******, the customer was refunded on 6/27/2014.

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A month ago ******** ********** *** contacted Connor's in reference to a bird issue in a bathroom exhaust at the property I lease. A representative from Connor's came out and actually captured a picture of the bird flying out of the vent. Problem identified; a technician came out (******) and observed the nest with young hatchlings in it and determined that the birds could not be removed since they were to young. ****** informed me of this after I called him since he was not at my home, he showed up earlier than expected. I called the first representative that showed up initially and explained to him what ****** told me and he was just as surprised? Through all the confusion and with the approval of ******'s supervisor, a third appointment was made for ****** to come out and remove the nest. Nest removed (supposedly), aerosol spray used on the exhaust fan and turned on. I was told the smell would disapate over the course of a week, over a week later the smell is still there and yet again another appointment (4th one) is made to look into this again and ****** showed up to remove more of the bird nest (apparently didn't clean out the exhaust) and stated that the smell will go away. Now here we are almost a month later if not longer, the smell is still there and Connor's is contacted again with the sam representative who showed up initially. Our appointment was scheduled for 9am on Wednesday, 25 Jun, 2014. 9am comes and goes, I called the rep and he told me he would be there at 11am, at 1130am I called with no answer, I called the management company to see if maybe they were contacted and no answer. I called the rep again and reached him around 1145am and I asked if the appointment what was going on and if he was still coming and he told me that he was stuck in traffic and finally showed up shortly after 12 noon. We walked up the stairs to the bathroom door (I kept it closed to somewhat contain the odor) and as the door opened, one could clearly smell the odor coming from the exhaust. The rep turned on his flashlight looked up at the vent, walked into the bedroom next to the bathroom as if he was measuring the distance of the exhaust from the back of the house to the bathroom. He then told me he had all the information he needed and proceeded to leave. This gentleman spent all of three minutes in my home and left with no explanation of the ongoing problem or what the next steps would be to resolve it. He contacted the management company and told ***** ******* that he did not smell a thing. At this point I really don't know what to say in reference to the type of service I've received thus far other than my complete disgust and disappointment in a company that has been around since 1944? I'm guessing this is the first time they ever encountered a bird problem and are unsure as to how to resolve it.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome for this would be to resolve this and if they can't; refund the funds to the property management company so they can seek out another pest control company to resolve it.

Business Response: Thank you for taking the time to voice your concern and let us know about the situation

The tenant called first and we responded to the landlord on 6/27/2014, The landlord said that he would hire someone else and not to worry about coming back out again.
We have put in for a refund to be processed even though we did the work, we want to generate goodwill with the landlord and his tenants.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The work was not completely done despite the five attempts and the landlord provided pictures to show the work was not completed; hence the reason why the landlord was only reimbursed ($275) the cost of having another vendor to come out and finish what was attempted by Connor's.


****** *****

Business Response: We just received your rejection notice.  Since you are the tenant, the landlord is responsible for payment and to resolve the issue.  Since he has chosen to go to another company, we are unable to provide assistance at this time.  We are refunding him.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Correct, may not have paid physical for the lack luster service, but it cost me three days of lost wages for a technician to come to my home and I'm the consumer, I'm the one receiving the service.  I didn't get a phone call apologizing for the inconvenience or anything.  I am on various social media sites and I'm informing all my friends and followers of the type of service received and how disappointing it was to receive from a so called reputable company.  


****** *****

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: October 26, 2012 I entered into a contract with Connor's Pest Protection to resolve a mice infestation problem. Since then I have patiently worked with Connor's for remediation of this mice infestation for more than an entire year. When I finally thought we had the problem solved, it has turned into a worse infestation than my initial complaint and reasoning for entering the contract with Connor's. During my initial and subsequent verbal communications with Connor's personnel to include managers I have informed them of family member allergies to mice and rats and expressed the severity of the problem in relations to health concerns. I have informed Connor's management that perhaps the Technician assigned is not the appropriate person to resolve my issue and have done this with more than one individual within the ******** Connor's office. The issue I am faced with seems to only receive proper attention when a Connor's manager is called and attend the service call to my home directly. A gap in a follow up visit has now resulted in the Technician removing three mice from my attic in one visit which indicates a serious issue. On the same day of this event I called the technician to inform him that I was hearing a great deal of noise inside my walls now much more so than the past. He did show up right away to add two additional baits but then proceeded to inform me that he will be back in two weeks. This is unacceptable given the severity of the issue and how long I have been dealing with this problem with Connor's.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Connor's management to remain actively involved in finding a resolution to this problem and to assign a real subject matter expert other than the current technician who will give this issue due attention. Considering that I signed on with Connor's for another year even though I never received a resolution to this problem under my old contract, a higher degree of resolution urgency is needed. I am open to trying options beyond what has been done currently providing Connor's management and I come to some agreeable immediate actions necessary to deal with this issue.

Business Response: February 4, 2014

Dear Sirs:

Connor's has read **. *******'s complaint and has responded as follows:

1/27 Received Complaint

1/27 4:12 Called **. *******- no answer, left message for a return call (no return call received) 1/2.9 Service manager met **. ******* to review her concerns.

Please see attached email and service:ticket.

**, ******* has expressed that the solution proposed was acceptable.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this concern.

6/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased the property at **** ******* *****. A condition of sale was that carpenter bee damage be corrected by the seller. The seller, ****** *****, contracted Connor's Pest Protection to remediate the damage. The service occurred on 2/20/13 while the property was still owned by ****** *****. Connor's has sent me multiple bills for this service. I never entered a contract with this company, and the service occurred prior to my taking possession of the property. **. ***** is responsible for this charge. If Connor's did not receive payment from him, that is Connor's and **. *****'s issue, not mine. **. ***** never has had any right to enter me into a contract. This bill is not my issue and not my responsibility. Even after calling Connor's, I still receive a monthly bill. Connor's has not been responsive to my complaint.

Desired Settlement: Connor's needs to not try to make me responsible for a service I never contracted for. They need to stop sending me bills for this service. Their billing issues are not my problem.

Business Response: See Attachment

1/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service