BBB Accredited Business since

Century Termite & Pest Control Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (703) 904-1813 View Additional Phone Numbers 45945 Trefoil Ln Ste 106, Sterling, VA 20166 http://www.centurytermite.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Century Termite & Pest Control Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Century Termite & Pest Control Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Century Termite & Pest Control Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1998 Business started: 01/19/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS)-VA
102 Governor Street, 1st Floor, Richmond VA 23219
http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/pesticide
Phone Number: 804-786-3798
Fax Number: 804-786-9149
The number is 3407.

Department of Agriculture (MDA)-MD
50 Harry S Truman Pkwy, Annapolis MD 21401
http://www.mda.state.md.us/
Phone Number: 410-841-5710
The number is 18439.

Business Management
Mr. Brett Nunn, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett Nunn, President
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Century Termite and Pest
Additional Information

According to information provided by the company, Century Termite & Pest Control, Inc. has no connection to a similarly named firm located in Gaithersburg, Maryland.


Additional Locations

  • 45945 Trefoil Ln Ste 106

    Sterling, VA 20166

  • 7 Park Ave

    Gaithersburg, MD 20877 (301) 946-8400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June 2014 my family reached a service agreement with Century Termite & Pest to repair the wood damage that termites had caused to our walls and hardwood flooring. We agreed to a $1,200 payment for this service. It is worth noting that we also received a separate quote of $995 to repair the damaged wood, but we selected Century due to their ability to eliminate additional termites discovered as they performed the repair. On June 26 Century spent the day working at our home to address the termites and the damage they had caused. That evening, upon inspection of the work, our family found multiple major issues with the repair work that led us to send the following letter to Century Termite that night: --- Dear Century Termite & Pest: Following our review of your construction division’s work that was performed at our house at [redacted for BBB filing] today, 26 June 2014, this letter is to formally convey our disappointment with the work that was done and to request that an alternative payment be agreed upon based on the outcome of the executed work compared to our expectations for your proposed work. The serious issues that we discovered while reviewing your repair activities include: -Our hardwood floors are scratched in multiple places. One long scratch is clearly from where a table was moved without lifting all four legs off the wood. There are numerous new scratches right around the repair area, where your workers were likely kneeling, sitting, and placing equipment throughout the day. It does not appear a strong drop-cloth was used to protect the undamaged wood around the repair area. -Our wooden window frame, which had some termite damage in and behind it, was sawed / cut at a totally inappropriate point where there was no previously existing seam. The new cut created a significant and obvious disconnect in the middle of the frame’s right-hand vertical panel, leaving it appearing damaged and jagged. The entire right length of the window frame should have been replaced and it still needs to be. -The paint applied to the wall that required drywall repair is unevenly applied and does not conceal the repair work that was performed in the wall. The paint and wall require sanding down and repainting to create appropriate balance with the rest of the wall and to obscure the work that took place today. -We provided about 15 feet of hard wood for the team to use today. It appears that about 12 feet were used. We did not receive any remaining wood after the work was done. We wanted to preserve this valued material as much as possible and are disappointed it was not left at our house. -Most significantly, and where we are most disappointed, is in the poor approach to laying the replacement hardwood pieces: *Every single hardwood panel that was laid to replace termite-damaged pieces has clearly been hollowed out in certain spots to accommodate a non-standard installation practice. We know that the methodology is non-standard because it is different from the rest of the flooring, which was professionally installed after we moved into the house. The rest of the flooring is not hollowed out; the wood was kept fully intact and glued to the ground without reducing the thickness or structural solidity of the flooring. *Multiple pieces of the six wooden planks laid today are not solidly affixed to the ground. This has resulted in multiple hardwood flooring pieces not being flush with the rest of the floor. Two pieces of tape and a nail have been placed on and in our floors to attempt to keep new pieces down, but these rough attempts to resolve the issue are either insignificant (the tape) or dangerously sticking out and threating injury to our feet and to our two pets (the nail). Our understanding from your proposal is that your work will be completed “according to standard procedures.” We do not consider hollowing out glue-down flooring, non-flush hardwood planks, discontinuous window frames, or scratched floors to meet the specifications of our expectations for standard procedures. Unfortunately, due to this assessment we have determined we must replace the hardwood pieces that your team laid today and will have to have the window frame length replaced and the wall repainted. To resolve the scratches, we will also have to have the floor sanded and re-stained at some point. Your foreman did volunteer to correct the paint and the window frame panel, but those are far less significant issues to address than the hardwood floor deficiencies, which will require that we purchase more wood and pay a substantial amount to correct. Due to the fact that we do not have confidence that your team is prepared to complete this job as anticipated, we would like to close out our work agreement with a payment of $400 for your work today and we will resolve the remaining issues with another contractor. Please confirm that this is an acceptable solution. To save you from spending any additional labor on activities related to our home, as soon as you confirm this alternate closeout plan, we will send the $400 check to your ******* **** address in Sterling. We are sorry that this repair agreement was not as successful as we both anticipated it would be. Sincerely, [Redacted for BBB filing purposes.] --- Following receipt of the above letter, Century immediately called us to apologize profusely and eagerly requested another chance to complete the repair successfully. The foreman was optimistic and positive that Century was prepared and qualified to complete the work as agreed upon. We accepted their proposal to return and address each of our complaints based on our perspective that our primary objective was an immediate, quality, comprehensive repair and Century seemed dedicated to reaching this outcome. We appreciated their willingness to redo the work that was incomplete and/or unsatisfactory. They also reported that they had taken some of our hardwood that had gone missing and that they would use it to redo any hardwood flooring areas in need of replacement. Within the next few days Century’s foreman returned and spent most of a day working on correcting the issues with our window frame, paint, and flooring. At the end of the day, with heavy weights laid across our replaced floor panels to encourage the wood to glue flush to the house’s foundation, Century’s foreman requested payment. He showed us the improved paint on the wall and the repaired wooden window trim and told us he had used a great sealant to ensure the hardwood flooring was affixed to the house’s foundation securely. (We had learned from Century that our previous concern about hollowed-out flooring was because the wood was not affixed fully to the ground. The foreman said he had addressed this.) He apologized again, said he would return to clean up the area the next day, and offered us a $300 discount off our original $1,200 quote and asked for $900. We agreed to this payment and provided him a check for $900 on the assumption that the hardwood flooring that was weighed down for sealing purposes was properly installed. The foreman returned the next day, removed the weights, cleaned the floor, and departed. To our great disappointment, when our family examined the hardwood floor that night we discovered that each plank of wood (three to four planks) that had been replaced was no longer flush with the rest of the flooring. There were also chips and dents in the side of each of the replaced flooring pieces indicating they had been pried with a tool that damaged them. We called Century again that week and reported our dissatisfaction with the work. We expected our repaired flooring to be flush with all of the other pieces of the floor. The chips and dents in brand new wood were upsetting and unacceptable. Our call resulted in one additional visit from Century. The foreman came out and spent a few hours working on repairing the elevated pieces. He used the remaining wood we had available up in his attempt to correct the elevated, damaged planks. After this third visit, we reviewed the work and were satisfied with the repairs to two of the planks, but two still remain both elevated above the rest of flooring as well as cracked and chipped. There is visible paste in the seams of the repaired panels. (Paste is not visible anywhere else on the floor.) One plank in particular has a major pry mark, many stress cracks, and is significantly elevated above the other planks around it. This is right at the welcome area of our house and diminishes the quality of the entire floor with its jagged, rough, and damaged appearance. This outcome was (and still is) unacceptable and upsetting because we no longer have any wood left after Century used all of it. After considering our options and feeling like we had paid for our hardwood flooring to be made less attractive, on August 26, 2014 we wrote an additional letter to Century: --- Hello again Century Termite & Pest: This is [redacted for BBB filing] following up on your efforts to attempt to resolve our initial dissatisfaction with the termite-damage repair work performed at our townhouse in Herndon June 26. We greatly appreciate your initial active response to our below message. You attempted diligently to correct the issues we identified after the original termite-damage repair work was performed. You returned two times to address the issues with the hardwood floors, the window frame, and the paint. The window frame was improved and the painting was redone to our satisfaction on the first try. We were given a $300 discount for our inconvenience and for the scratches on our floors. We were extremely hopeful that the second round of work would address all of the issues we listed below. You were very proactive to fight for another chance to complete the work and we appreciated your desire to get the job right. However, after the redo effort the hardwood flooring that had been re-repaired had sizeable gaps between boards, boards that wobbled and creaked loudly, boards that were still hollow-sounding due to not being fully flush with the base ground, and boards that had damage at the edges that indicated prying had taken place. After this assessment, [redacted] called you again and reported that we were still not satisfied. We wanted the work to look professional and as if there had never been work done for the most part. You returned and pried out the previous wood panel that was most obviously disturbed and replaced it with another piece of wood – using our last remaining piece of wood flooring in the process. You clearly applied an extensive amount of glue/paste to eliminate the hollow sound and ensure the wood connected with the floor. While we also appreciated this third attempt to repair our floors, we write to report that the work is still unacceptable. We know that you find this as frustrating as we do and have done your best effort to complete this job. However, if you come and look at our flooring you will see that the primary floor panel that has been done three times now is clearly raised up over the rest of the floor creating a sizeable ledge exposure and a totally uneven off-balance feel with the other panels, that this panel is damaged along the edges from prying, and that dry-but-still-gooey glue/paste oozes around the board in its seams. We want to resolve this issue as soon as possible. Our primary ideas on how to accomplish this are: 1) We receive a refund of $600 so we can work independently to obtain another contractor to repair and replace the damaged, unbalanced flooring panel; 2) You identify another person who has not previously attempted the repair and who you have confidence in completing the job with another attempt and have that person bring new wood, rip up the raised/damaged panel, thoroughly clean the surface below and the seams around the panel, and install a new, clean board that is flush with the rest of the floor (no hollow sound, no unevenness) without any indication of prying or denting appearing on the new panel; 3) We have a contractor of our choice provide us a written estimate to obtain replacement wood flooring and to repair the specific panel and you agree to pay the total cost of that estimate following review of it. We are disappointed that we continue this conversation now at the end of August, but we are not satisfied that we have received the total repair that we purchased and we are unhappy that our floors visually look worse than before the first repair effort. Please let us know which of the three arrangements you prefer and we will cooperate to complete it as rapidly as possible. I am sure we both want this resolved quickly and in good fashion. Sincerely, [Redacted for BBB filing purposes.] --- After sending this letter we received no response from Century. On September 11 we called Century to ask if they had received it. They asked us to resend it and then directed it to the president of the company and he scheduled a visit to look at the damage. Within a few days of our call Brett N*** came out to our house with an associate to examine our floors. We pointed out the elevated panels, the excessive paste, and the dents and chips in newly-laid wood. Brett said it was a challenging job and asked what we wanted done further to resolve our issue. We explained we wanted a refund or another contractor to come out with new wood and repair the job so that the remaining elevated panels were undamaged and flush with the rest of the flooring. Brett said that he would look into it and departed. On October 23 we received the following letter from Century: --- Dear [redacted for BBB filing purposes]; Thank you for letting Century Termite & Pest take care of your termite needs. We have repaired your wall for the termite damage along with drywall repairs and painting. We have addressed your hardwood floor issues two different times, including the hollow sounds that you did not like. The wood that was supplied to us, by you, for the repairs was inadequate and bowed. It is unfortunate that this issue is unresolved to your satisfaction. We have researched your wood with Lumber Liquidators to no avail; your floors are no longer available. We feel we have gone above and beyond your contracted repairs of your wood floor and will not be back for a third time. However, Century Termite & Pest prides itself in satisfying our customers, therefore, enclosed please find a refund of $100. Thank you for your time and attention in this matter. Respectfully, Brett Nunn President/CEO Century Termite & Pest --- The reason we are filing this complaint with the BBB is because of the finality of Century’s above letter. It clearly indicates Century is done attempting to complete our repair. At the same time, they only provided a $100 refund when we requested $600 to compensate for our supplies, time, and our requirement to complete the repair with another contractor. Note: The back of the $100 check includes the statement “Signing this check, you acknowledge Century Termite & Pest is released of all responsibility from the wood floor repairs, past, present & future.” So this is clearly a buyout/settlement check attempting to close the issue. We do not accept the issue as closed for $100. We recognize that Century has put in substantial time to attempt to address this issue, but they have never been able to meet our contracted agreement, which was to repair our floors. We have invested extensive time into this issue as well. As much as we appreciate their time and effort, our service agreement with Century was not to buy time; it was established to purchase a specific result – completely repaired floors was the primary component of this result-based agreement. We do not believe we have received $800 worth of services from Century Termite and we are offended that they blamed our wood supplies as the source of the problem when they enthusiastically used our provided supply three times to attempt to repair the issue. If the supplies were damaged, then why did they use them at all? We never would have proceeded with a repair using improper supplies. We would have taken another approach. As a final notification to Century of our dissatisfaction and of our action to file this complaint with the BBB, we are sending the following letter to Brett Nunn December 23, 2014 in hopes that it ties together our formal complaint to the BBB with our efforts to communicate clearly and thoughtfully with Century over the past months. --- Dear **. N***: We received your notification of inability / unwillingness to complete the termite-damage repair work at our Herndon home and the corresponding $100.00 check that accompanied your letter. While we appreciate that you made an effort to acquire wood that could repair our damaged floorboards, we are not satisfied with your attempt to close out our case with a $100 check. We originally agreed to pay $1,200 for a comprehensive repair of all of our termite damage. We are satisfied with the wall repair and painting. However, the hardwood flooring repair was by far the most significant repair work required. As of today, you have provided a $300 discount and a $100 check to attempt to lower our total expenditure to $800. We have not received compensation in terms of repair services or refunds equal to our agreement. As we wrote in our prior letter, we would accept a $600 refund in exchange for closing our account with your company. We believe this to be a fair exchange considering the extensive time and effort that our family has invested in unsuccessful repair efforts. You noted in your letter that we provided bowed wood that caused installation problems. We certainly had no knowledge of the wood being problematic in any way when we provided it. We entrusted your company and your staff’s expertise to identify any issues with supplies, our basement’s foundation, or the pre-existing flooring layout. If the wood was problematic, why did you return multiple times and go through all of our wood supply attempting to complete the repair? We would never have agreed to proceed with additional repair attempts if you informed us that a flat and clean repair was impossible. Your specific indication that you will not be returning to our home to make any further attempt to repair our floors indicates that you are admitting you cannot repair our floors as our original agreement intended to achieve. We accept your conclusion, but you are attempting to keep $800 of our payment when you refuse to complete the job. You have left us in the position of having to pay another contractor to repair our floors to reach the outcome that we anticipated you would be able to provide. This letter is to specifically request a $600 refund be mailed to us immediately. We are including a copy of this letter and a copy of our prior letters to Century in a separate filing with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) because we saw on the Internet that you have a solid reputation with them and we believe that when you and the BBB review the facts of the case you will agree that 1) we have not received the agreed-upon repair and 2) a $600 refund is a fair outcome to a case that requires another contractor to complete. Thank you for your time and review on this topic. Sincerely, [Redacted for BBB filing purposes.] ---

Desired Settlement: A $600 check refund.

Business Response:

January 20, 2015

Dear **. and **** *******;

Thank you for your patronage. It has been an unfortunately situation with your floor repairs.

Century Termite and Pest is prepared to give the refund of $600.00 for the floor repairs. If you would please return the previous check of $100.00, we can have the refund check mailed or you may pick up the check in person at our office. The refund check is ready.

Thank you for your time and attention in this matter.

Respectfully,

Brett N

Consumer Response: Dear Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Thank you very much for your assistance with this issue!  Your service as moderator is greatly appreciated and highly valued.

Sincerely,

***** *******

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is fraudulently trying to collect money from me for services not rendered and claiming the entitlement of renewing yearly contracts for Pest Extermination services without costumer or clients written or verbal consent. As well they claim that they have the right to show up unannounced at a clients home to rendered services without prior schedule or authorization, and if costumer is not at the premises, they will perform extermination treatment in the exterior of the premises, AGAIN --without authorization of such action (if a pest problem is inside a home, the outside treatment is not going to help the problem, they do it just to run charges and keep billing accumulating). I have been subject of all of these anomalies and as a hard working costumer, I do not appreciate the behavior of this company, if there is anything you can do to assist me in this matter I would gratefully appreciate it..Thankyou Sincerely; *** ***** ** **** ###-###-#### boriscruzz@yahoo.com

Desired Settlement: I would like for this company to never contact me again, erase the current charges they claim on my behalf, because services were never done, do not report me to a collection agency and to please discard the yearly contract they claim I have with them, when I never authorized it, nor agreed up at any time,,,neither in writing nor verbally. (They insist, saying that when a costumer does not call to request the extermination services to END the contracts renew automatically on the yearly basis. ( Outrageous and disrespectful). Costumers should always be in charge in obligatory contracting, do not assume costumer authorization for corporation or companies money compensatory gains.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

Enclosed please find a copy of the contract for the Quarterly services that was started on February 15, 2013. I have highlighted that section that states is a 30 day written notice is not received then the contact will continue on a month to month basis.

I am showing that we had sent correspondence to you on 6/10/14. 7/8/14 and 8/6/14 to no avail. On the 15th of each month, Century Termite & Pest has sent you a pre bill notification stating we would be out to perform the contracted service, if you do not contract us we will be out to perform the exterior.

When you called the office on August 26, 2014 at 2:18 PM, you spoke with Stephanie, she was able to assist you in getting the account cancelled as well as she was able to credit off the May 2014 service (exterior only performed) as well as the August 2014 that had not been performed yet.

Century Termite & Pest feel that we have not been fraudulent in any capacity. We have sent documentation as we do with all our customers, approximately 25,000 in the Washington Metropolitan Area. We are showing that the your account was closed on August 26, 2014.

Thank you for your time and attention in this matter,

Respectfully,

Brett N.

President/CEO

Century Termite & Pest

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I do thank you very much for your attention and prompt assistance with my request, I accept the response from this Pest Company, because I did no want any more complications from their part......but I most say that if it was not for your intervention in the matter, maybe they would have not respond as they did.

 Finally the only thing that bothers me is, that they laid when they said that on August 26, 2014 at 2;18 pm. a lady named Stephanie cancelled my account and gave me credit at my request once we spoke. The lady that I spoke to REFUSED to help me in any way.....NOT crediting my account for services not rendered as well she refused to  CANCEL my existing account. She actually threaten me to send me to collections and ruin my credit and take me to court for bridge of contract.  So.... their allegations of servicing me efficiently when I called to complain and helping me with their lack of professionalism and commitment to their 25,000 or so number of clients they claim to have, leave me to believe that I am not the only one suffering with their costumer abuse. Never the less,,, I am pleased with my results and I am glad I dont have to worry about dealing with this company anymore.  Thanks again for your attention.

Sincerely

***** *****
--------------------------------------------




6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the owner of ** ******..a settlement and escrow company. We conducted a settlement on March 31st for a property located at ***** ********* ** in ********** VA...The HUD-1 settlement statement (Made by ** *****) - was incorrect and had Century Termite listed as having performed work on the property in the amount of $350.00...Another company did the work. Century Termite was paid by mistake. We were contacted by the correct termite company and ** ***** wrote a check form our operating account (my funds) to the other company, in the amount of $1250.00 ...And I, **** ********, refunded the seller of the property for the $350.00 that was sent to the Century Termite. ** ***** received 3 invoices from 3 different termite companies for work on the same property. This was confusing to our processor. She was incorrectly told to pay the wrong termite company and the settlement statement was approved by the lender. We realize that mistakes do happen, but we try our best to be accurate. All parties signed document as to the accuracy of the settlement statement. I contacted Century Termite (******) on 5/9 to tell her the problem and again on 5/15. She told me that she would contact the owner and that we would be issued a refund in the amount of $350.00...I then contacted ****** again on 5/22 and was told that the owner did not want to issue a refund.

Desired Settlement: ** ***** is requesting a refund of $350.00 for payment made to Century Termite that was incorrect on the settlement statement.

Business Response:

***** ******                                                                                                  June 2, 2014

Better Business Bureau

Email response for ID # ********

** ***** – **** ********

**** ******** *****

**********, VA *****

Dear **. ********;

As per your conversation with ****** *********, the Office Manager for Century Termite and Pest, the following is our response for your request of refund.

 

Century Termite and Pest received the order form to perform a termite inspection for the settlement of ***** ********* ****** in ********** through our website on March 14, 2014 from the Selling Agent, ***** *******, see attached. The termite inspection was performed on March 21, 2014 and all paperwork was sent to ** ***** on March 24, 2014. See attached Wood Destroying Insect Report, section III recommends treatment but nothing scheduled as of 3/24/14. Also find the Termite Re-Treatment Guarantee and the Construction Division Proposal that was faxed to ** ***** and ***** ******* and **** ******, as normal operating procedures.

Century Termite and Pest perform approximately 250 termite inspections per month and we receive 3-4 checks per week from settlement companies for treatments that are approved at settlement. These checks are approvals through the mail with the funds and signature on the check, this is an approval for our treatment. When Century Termite and Pest received the check on 4/9/2014, check number ***** for $350.00 from ** ***** for ***** ********* ****** in **********, we performed the termite treatment on 4/11/2014 and placed the home under warranty for one year, until 4/11/2015.

It is unfortunate that ** ***** made this mistake but Century Termite & Pest perform the inspection, found termites, offered treatment, got paid for the treatment and sent the technician out to complete the service. Job completed and paid for, we feel that no refund is due at this time.  We have upheld our end and responsibility to our Real Estate Agents and Settlement Companies.

Thank you for your time and attention in this matter.

Respectfully,

***** ****

President/Ceo

Century Termite and Pest

###-###-####

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Treatment on the property was already performed by another company. (******* ******* of ********, VA) prior to Century's re-treatment of the property...The original treatment included replacing studs, walls, stills and trim.  

The modifications and restoration of the property were significant and the treatment performed by the other company should have been noticed and called into question by an attentive Century Termite technician.  
When I spoke to ****** *********, she represented that the funds would be refunded.  
Furthermore, the contract was never signed, initialed or endorsed by the property owner.
** ***** did mistakenly pay Century Termite and Pest.  When it was brought to our attention, ** ***** contacted Century Termite and Pest and was told that our erroneous payment would be  refunded.  It is unfortunate that the President of the company does not stand behind the decisions made by his staff.  It appears, that some of us are as good as our "word" while others are not.  

Regards,

**** ******** 
Owner, ** *****








Business Response:

June 4, 2014 

Dear *** ********;
Again as per your conversation with ****** *********, the Office Manager for Century Termite and Pest, on May 15, 2014 she listened to your situation and was empathetic and stated to you that she did not make those decisions but she would get with the Owner about a refund.
Century Termite and Pest gave all parties copies of the termite proposal and the repair proposal. A check for the termite treatment proposal was the only monies received, therefore, that is the only work that was performed. This being said, only the exterior of the property was treated so our attentive technician would not have seen the work performed on the interior of the property. Attached please find all copies of the paperwork.
Furthermore, payment was received, this giving Century Termite & Pest the authority to perform the proposed termite treatment.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Century Termite & Pest Control Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)