BBB Accredited Business since

Traboscia Company, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (610) 284-6607 Fax: (610) 328-7526 336 Prospect Ave, Clifton Hts, PA 19018 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Traboscia Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Traboscia Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Traboscia Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 28, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1974 in PA Business incorporated 03/18/1976 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA032504.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. John Traboscia, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Traboscia, Owner
Business Category

Paving Contractors Landscape Contractors Asphalt Concrete Contractors Excavating Contractors Landscape Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 336 Prospect Ave

    Clifton Hts, PA 19018

  • 419 Fawn Ave

    Morton, PA 19070


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Traboscia Co. replaced concrete with paver around the pool and sitting area in my backyard in May of 2012. By the end of the summer some of the pavers around the pool started to shift and sink. I call John Traboscia and he said it was because I had the pipes for the pool replaced while they were laying the pavers and it was not his fault but the pool company's (they replaced the pipe BEFORE to pavers were placed). Last year three different places around the pool did the same and again I called John and again he said it wasn't his fault but that he would take care of it. He never came out or called again. This year when my husband was going down the steps and stepped onto the pavers he almost fell because the pavers around the steps were sinking inches into the ground. I called John and again he said it wasn't his fault, that we had bad weather this winter and that the pavers were two years old, but he would come out to look at it. He did come out and we showed him all the places the pavers were sinking and he said he would take care of it. I called him a week later to find out when he would send someone, I explained to him that I was afraid that if someone got hurt by falling I would be sued and that he probably would too. He yelled at me and said "You keep calling me. I don't have to fix it and now I'm not going to." He called two or three days later to apologize and said he would send someone out that day. That was the middle of July and the last time I heard from him. I had to pay another company $1800 to fix a two year old project because Traboscia Co. would not stand behind his work.

Desired Settlement: I want the public to know that this company is a fraud. Even though John repeated numerous times that he stands behind his work and he would fix everything, nothing was ever done. Also, I feel that nobody should be yelled at because they complain about faulty work.

Business Response:

RE: ***** ******** COMPLAINT

ID# ********

This letter is in response to a Complaint filed by ***** ******** on August 21, 2014.

In May of 2012, Traboscia Company was contracted by **. and **** ******** to install pavers around their existing pool. As we were installing the pavers, there was a problem with a pipe. **. and **** ******** called the pool company to have the pipe repaired. We installed the pavers and **** ******** called us to let us know that the pavers sunk around the pipe that was repaired by the pool company. We explained to **** ******** that it was not our fault and that the pool company did not backfill the pipe properly. We repaired the surface over the repaired pipe. Their house sits at the bottom of the hill and all of the surrounding properties drain into their backyard.

John came back out at the customer's request this summer and was informed by *** ******** that they had a bad storm and that was when the pavers came up. *** ******** told John that he realized it was not Traboscia Company's fault and that there was construction at the top of the hill and he was getting more water than he ever got before. He told John he made a complaint to the Township. John informed *** ******** we would be out as soon as we could to fix it, but that we were very busy. **** ******** was insistent about Traboscia Company fixing this immediately. We told **** ******** we would be back as soon as our present jobs were completed and we would not charge her for fixing their problem. I emphasized to her that it would not be right to leave a job we were on to correct their problem. She offered to pay Traboscia Company, but John refused and said he would take care of the problem.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:

Everything is a half-truth.

Yes, we had a bad winter, so did everybody else that lives in this area.  My next door neighbor had the same weather and also has a pool and his yard (that was paved by a different company) was and is fine.
We never made a complaint to the township and you could call and see that there is no record of such.
I don't know why John insist on blaming the pool company for his poor workmanship.  They replaced the pipe when the Traboscia Company had my yard completely open. The pipe was replaced while the entire yard was in the beginning of construction, there was nothing to back fill since the pavers were not even laid yet.
When the pavers started sinking around the steps, I called John and he did not run over as fast as he says he did.  We went back and forth for weeks and I started to panic when the problem started to spread and more and more pavers started to shift and sink.  That is when I explained to John that I could be sued if someone was to fall and get hurt.  He yelled that it was not his fault, he yelled that he was busy and at some point  the conversation he yelled "I don't have to do this because it's not my fault.  Do you want me to charge you if I send someone out?"  I replied, "Would that get you out here faster?"  I did not ofter to pay him like he claims.
John did tell me he was busy, he told me the same thing the year before when he kept promising to send someone out and never did, that is why I didn't believe him this year.
I still have the message on my answering machine with him apologizing for yelling at me and telling me that someone would be out that day or the next and he never called again.


***** ********

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with this company to install a walkway and front step outside of my home. I was assured that they always put pavers on top of concrete and never have a problem. When my job was complete, I had an issue with the front step/doorway entrance, the pavers never dried and water was pooling on top of the landing. After numberous call to the company, finally someone came out to look and said that they needed to dig up the concrete, place stones and relay the pavers. This was done at an additional cost to me. (still not sure why since I was assured I would not have a problem) However, I paid and was assured again that this should take care of the problem. Now the issue is that the pavers are sinking, I still have puddles forming when it rains and the pavers look terrible. When the relayed the same pavers, they did not go back as nicely as if they were just cut and measured for the job. I have made numerous attempts to contact **** ********* to have him come out and look at this job and repair it. I leave messages and he either doesn't call me back or calls me and says he going to try to come and then never shows and does not call to reschedule. This has been going on since last year. In the summer he asked me to wait until the end of the summer while he finished a big job at the shore. I said no problem. But he did not come in the fall and I am still trying to get him to come now. I believe I have paid more than enough for this job and I want what was promised. Either he can come back and fix it or provide me with a refund so that I can pay someone else.

Desired Settlement: Either he can come back and fix it properly (and not by using the same beat up pavers) or provide me with a refund so that I can pay someone else.

Business Response:

May 29, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam:
This letter is in response to a Complaint filed by ***** ******** on April 21, 2014.
***. ******** contracted us to put in a set of steps leading to her front door due to the fact that her steps were sinking.
Traboscia Company has been out four (4) different times to remedy this situation in one fashion or another. The last time we went out we replaced the entire step and we are hoping, at this point, that ***. ******** is happy with the end product. We apologize for any inconvenience to **. and ***. ********.
Very truly yours,

Consumer Response: You may close this complaint, but the explanation provided in that letter is incorrect.  I never had a problem with my original steps and entryway sinking.  I simply contracted with Trabascia to change the appears to be pavers and not concrete that the builders had installed.    The problem with sinking occurred after Trabascia installed the new steps and entryway over the existing concrete.  When the pavers were not draining properly and remaining wet after a rain storm, Trabascia came back out to redo the step and entryway.  They reused the same pavers that were originally used and charged me a second time.  Then the pavers started to sink.   Trabascia was repairng their own work.  They did not come out as many times as he stated and we paid him twice for the same work to be done.  I too am hoping that the work that has recently been done to reconcile the problem is a permanent solution.    Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


***** ********