BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Southern Maryland Paving, Sealcoating & Excavating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Southern Maryland Paving, Sealcoating & Excavating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 06, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2007 in VA Business started locally: 01/01/2007 Business incorporated 05/18/2009 in MD
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chad Accipiter, Owner Ms. Tiffani Accipiter, Office Manager Mr. Brian Simmons
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Accipiter, Owner
Principal: Ms. Tiffani Accipiter, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Brian Simmons
Business Category

Paving Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Chad Accipiter, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3131 Mallory Square

    Port Republic, MD 20676 (443) 550-3835

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/3/14 that company installed a new blacktop driveway at our address. On the proposal it stated that the section next to the house would be removed to ensure proper surface water run-off. While doing that removal, they also removed the seal/caulk under the door frame. They didn't replace the seal/caulk before laying the blacktop. On 6/10/14 the rain water came in under the door frame into the room. It soaked the carpeting. That is when we surmised that they hadn't replaced the seal/caulk. I called the company and a serviceman came out. He determined that the cause was that the downspout extension should not be on the driveway but wrapped around the corner of the house. I told him that the downspout had always ran onto the driveway. We did that, but the next time it rained the water came in under the door frame again. And, each time it rained. I called and was told they would have decide how to correct it. No one came, I kept calling. Eventually ,they didn't take my calls nor return my voice mail messages. I left a message saying I was going to take action. Still no call. I contacted someone and he came the next day. He was able to ascertain the problem and correct it. (which was they removed the seal/caulk and didn't replace it before laying the blacktop.)

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $150.00. (cash or check)

Business Response: Customer has been issues a check for refund on caulking services, please see attached check. Please let me know if there is any further action required.

Consumer Response: [Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  FYI I haven't received the check from the company, as yet. Regards, ****** *******

3/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Driveway improperly installed -- (Southern Maryland employee confimed it was improperly installed) Last spring, Southern Paving installed a driveway at my home. while doing so, they removed dirt from my home to use for another job at our next door neighbor's home. They failed at the time of installation to properly finish the dirt fill on the sides of the driveway (this has been corrected). They also failed to put in the proper length of pipe on the west side of the driveway and to build up the embankment to provide proper stability. We called and complained on the answering machine over a dozen times, asking to have someone return our call. In the meatime, a truck damaged our driveway where the side lacked stability. We finally spole to ******* and then to **** (owner) about the problem. **** claimed that we would have had topay more to have dirt brought in to build up the side. Only after pointing out that they removed dirt from our property touse onthe neighbor's di **** agree to repair the driveway. After several months and additional phone calls, a crew came to correct the problem. While they added fill dirt on the sides of the driveway and patch the damaged asphalt, they did not build up the side by the pipe, nor extend it properly. The crew leader, ****, said the repair was only a patch job and that the driveway was not properly installed. Even after he learned Southern Maryland had done the original work, he acknowledged that he driveway was not properly installed, and that the drain pipe was not long enough. We have this recorded.

Desired Settlement: I want Southern Maryland to properly finish the driveway -- build up the west side and install or extend the correct length of pipe. (It would be nice if they answered their phone or called back my more than a dozen phone calls since the "repair.")

Business Response:

I apologize for the delay I was out of the office last week and just realized this needed to be returned. Here is a brief of my overview on this situation. If you have any questions or concern please let me know.

Southern Md Paving started and completed the work at ** ********** ***** in summer of 2012. We have no record of getting any calls from **. or ***. ****** after the work was completed with their concerns and the job was paid in full for on July 3, 2012.  Southern Md Paving (*****- Sales Assoc.) did receive a call from them in January 2013 stating that they would like us to come out and see what we could do to repair the driveway. They were not sure as to who did it but someone ran off the side of the driveway and damaged the edge of the asphalt and crushed some of the pipe that was overhanging past the asphalt. ***** went out and observed on Jan 16th 2013 to see what had happen and that was correct a dual wheeled truck had backed over the side of the driveway, he informed them that the repairs would be somewhere around $600-$800 and this was not our fault we had completed the driveway as they requested and was quoted. A few days went by then we received and email on Jan. 22, 2013 which I have inserted below I can't seem to find the original email with the pictures.

 " We had a driveway paved by your company last summer.  The driveway is breaking down where a car or truck pulled in or backed up.  ***** came by last Wednesday and looked at it to see what could be done to repair it.  I was surprised when he told me that it would be about $600-$800.  I expected it to be repaired by your company without charge since it had not been filled in properly.
In September, *** from **** *****, our builder, came to do our one-year walk-through. He commented, not knowing who had done our driveway, that it had not been built up.  We agreed and said that we expected that you were still coming, but that it had taken a while to come after the initial step and we would call.  We left four messages and did not hear back each time. 
Please see the attached pictures.  The right side was done to our expectations.  The left side has no build up of the soil to protect and support.  More pictures are available upon request.
 
We appreciate your attention to this matter.
 
Sincerely,
****** and **** ******"   

At the time we received this email **** (owner) figured that he would, when he was in the area fix the asphalt at no cost and would backup the side of the driveway to prevent this from happening on the other edges since they were not aware as to who did it and it would be out of their pocket. THIS WAS NOT IN THE CONTRACT/ PROPOSAL for the sum of $4200.00 (I have attached).  

**. & ***. ****** are requesting that we build up the west side of the driveway and extend the pipe which was not on the original proposal that was agreed upon we did allow them to make a few changes at the time of completing but the changes were all in Sq. footage layout and appearance. There was not much that could be done with the ditch line as it is an established ditch by county code. I know that they filed and received a county permit (Permit # *******) and would have had to get our work approved by the county to release their bond. The grading permit was to construct a handicap walkway and second entrance and I show the inspections were approved (Sediment & Erosion 5/22/12, Final Grading 7/9/12) This permit was closed with the county on 7/10 and the bond was release back to **. & ***. ****** at that time. . 

I feel that Southern Md Paving went above what our warranty covers by completing the repair at no cost and backing the sides up with dirt as their proposal states that we would be removing 3-4" (hauling away standard procedure). I feel that if this truck didn't run over the edge this would not even be an open case.

Please let me know if you need any other documentation and I can forward it over. 

Southern Md Paving & Sealcoating
###-###-####


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

**. ******--

My reply to Southern Maryland Paving, Sealcoating & Excavating's  (SOMD
Paving's) response:

1- CUSTOMER SERVICE: For the owners of SOMD Paving to say they have "no record" of our calls side-steps the fact that the calls were made and ignored.  *****, the sales representative, has been the only responsive member of the company.  I spoke with him shortly after our complaint was filed.  He told me he had spoken to the **** and ******* ********* (owners) on other occasions about their failure to respond to customers and to return their phone calls.  ***** ended our conversation by stating he would have the ********* call me.  They have yet to call -- more than three months later. To claim SOMD Paving is responsive to their customers is insincere.

2- WORKMANSHIP: The project itself was improperly done.  If the driveway had been properly installed, the truck would not have damaged the driveway.  The driveway needed a built-up bank to support the weight of a vehicle.  It is foreseeable that the tire of vehicle would drive off the edge of a driveway. If there had been a slight shoulder, instead of a sheer drop off, the driveway would not have been damaged.  SOMD Paving removed dirt from our yard and used it in on our next door neighbor's project instead of building our bank as needed.  SOMD Paving's response relies on the fact that we posted a county bond and that the project was inspected by the county.  SOMD Paving must certainly know this is a misleading fact.  The county requires a bond and inspects the project to ensure the county road which connects to the new driveway is not damaged and that the project is in compliance with environmental requirements.  The inspection is not to determine quality of workmanship on the driveway itself.
Again, ****, the SOMD Paving crew leader who came to patch the driveway stated the driveway was not installed properly and that his crew's work was a temporary patch -- not a fix.  When I spoke to *****, the sales rep, after this complaint was filed, he stated **** was merely a hired hand and was not qualified to say what would be a proper installation and fix to the problem.
I ask, then, why would SOMD Paving send someone who is that untrained and unqualified to "fix" my driveway?  Why send someone who only knows how to do patch work and does not know how to do a proper fix?  SOMD Paving cannot have it both ways.

Respectfully,

****** ******

Business Response:

**. ****** I am responding to the below complaint # ******* (rejection)

1-     Customer Service- As far as the communication regarding the situation there were not call to the owners ( **** or Tiffani) before the Jan. 2013 call to ***** this was the first there were several request from **. ****** for the owners to call him back regarding the situation but after it was told to **. ****** from **** over the phone that he would send someone out to back up the side ( not included in the contact) when it was convention with our schedule and **. ****** agreed **** felt that was his final communication and all other conversations were be an argument, we felt that we had gone above what our normal procedure was.

2-     Workmanship- When **. ****** states that the job was improperly done that is not acceptable the job was completed as proposed on the proposal that was given. Regarding the truck driving off the driveway that can happen to anyone and even if the truck was heavy enough and the sides were backed up at that time(not proposed) it could have still broke the edge (it is not recommend for any truck to run off the edge of a driveway). The topsoil and grass was stated in the proposal that it was to be removed (approx. 3-4”) to allow for the new stone/asphalt and pipe to have a flush tie-in at the street once completed. When a permit is pulled for a project is it to be stated in the application what is to be done. In this case it stated to have a handicap walkway installed, and if I can recall correctly ***. ****** was going to attach our proposal to the county application. The inspections that took place were to make sure that the sediment control as well as a final grading were completed correctly. As far as the street tie-in they are checking to make sure that is installed correctly as well. I feel that if the county thought that the pipe was installed incorrectly then the inspection would have failed at that time which was not the case the final grading inspection was completed on 7/9 and approved after our work was completed on 7/3 which at that time the pipe was installed and the driveway was paved. As **. ****** keeps going back to that our employee ****  was not a qualified employee to complete the backfill/repair of the driveway,  I am not sure as to really what qualifies him to state that as backfill a driveway is not that difficult of a job, which normally we don’t even do it is the homeowners responsibility, but we went above and beyond to help **. ****** with the cost of repair since he was not sure to who has damaged his driveway. When he states that **** was untrained that was stated from **. ****** not SO MD Paving ( ***** ), ***** had stated to **. ****** that **** was not qualified to make a comment that the driveway PAVING was not correct.  

 

Going back to the original request as the desired outcome from **. ******. In the beginning we have competed the job as it was proposed, it is not our fault that a vehicle has driven off the side causing it to be damaged. Which was the first thing that stated to us “ Our driveway is breaking down where a car or truck pulled in or backed up”.

 

Sorry for the delay in response to the rejecting of **. ******. If there is any other documentation that is needed please let me know.

 

 

 

******* *********

Office Manager

Southern Maryland Paving & Sealcoating
Office: ###-###-#### 9-4pm
e-mail: 
info@somdpaving.com
website: www.somdpaving.com
http://www.somdpaving.com/images/logo_email.jpg


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Southern Maryland Paving, Sealcoating & Excavating
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)