BBB Accredited Business since

S&G Asphalt Service. LLC

Phone: (610) 502-0211 Fax: (610) 502-0212 View Additional Phone Numbers 3340 Old Post Rd, Slatington, PA 18080 http://www.sgasphalt.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that S&G Asphalt Service. LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for S&G Asphalt Service. LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on S&G Asphalt Service. LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1982 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated 12/28/2004 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA001937.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Antonio Sorrentino, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Antonio Sorrentino, Owner
Business Category

Paving Contractors Asphalt

Alternate Business Names
S&G Driveway Service

Additional Locations

  • 3340 Old Post Rd

    Slatington, PA 18080

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/2/14 two S&G employees arrived to sealcoat my driveway. In the process, they decided to trim away the bottom branches of a Colorado Spruce, which slightly overlapped the driveway area. I did not want them to do that, and they never asked me about it. They just went ahead and started lopping branches off, and when I came outside and saw them doing it, I told them to stop and just sealcoat around the tree. It was too late, they made a botch job of it, and now my spruce really looks awful on the driveway side. They also got asphalt coating on some tree branches. I will be consulting a tree service that I have used in the past to ask what they might recommend to make the tree look better, most likely further trimming of bottom branches to make it look better than it currently does. I called the business the next day to complain, and Mike came over and proceeded to blow me off, basically saying it was up to me to have told them to leave the tree alone. I said, they should have asked me first. I also told him the employees left without telling me and failed to leave a barrier at the end of the driveway to prevent cars from driving in.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay for any additional trimming a tree service may recommend to improve the way the tree looks. I am preparing to sell my home, and this damage is very visible to anyone who comes into the driveway.

Business Response:

Hello,

I am in charge of scheduling and customer service for sealcoating devision of S&G Asphalt. I am following your instructions on response to complaint ID ******** and will not mention any names on this correspondence. On 10/02/2014 two S&G employees arrived and began preparing driveway for hotseal & Sealcoating.The complaint states we decided to trim away branches of spruce tree that were slightly overlapping driveway. They began cutting back ovegrowth on driveway as stated by proposal signed by homeowner and company representative this is done on every job we sealcoat. We did not ask homeowner because this is our required by our contract. If homeowner did not want this done he should have let our personel know . by not trimming overgrowth we would not have been able to sealcoat driveway under tree. I f would have just sealcoated around limbs we would not be completing job as proposed this is why some seal may have gotten on branches after he stopped S&G personal for trimming overgrowth. I am the person who responded imeadiatly to his complaint and did not in his words blow him off I simply explained my people were doing there job. If he did not want something done that was on the contract it is his responsibility to let us know as we are obligated to do so as per contract I will provide to BBB with a copy if requested. This customer is being unrealistic with his expectations that our crew should have known he did not want overgrowth cut back. We are not responsible to pay for trimming his tree he shoud have have had it trimmed prior or told us to not seal under tree. My crew stated they put stakes in ground and did forget to tape off after customer was irate with crew and they wanted to leave area. . A phone call would have gotten immeadate response and someone would have returned to tape off we are happy no one drove on driveway. .Please resolve this issue we take complaints seriously @ S&G Asphald and do not want a blemish on our record.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


Edging the driveway is one thing, but lopping two feet off of one side of a beautiful spruce tree is another. It ruined the appearance of the tree. Common sense should have dictated asking me if I wanted the tree trimmed. I have had the driveway seal coated in the past several times since the tree started growing over that side of the driveway, and they had the sense to leave the tree alone. By the way, I had already thoroughly edged the entire driveway days before the service was performed, so they did not even have to do that. If I wanted the tree trimmed off of the driveway, I would have done that as well.

I have gotten a quote from a tree trimming service that I have frequently used in the past, and the owner said he could neatly trim the rest of the bottom so it does not look like a botch job. He is going to charge me a whopping $25 (I am a good customer). I would be happy if I were reimbursed for that amount. By the way, some cracks that were supposed to be filled were not done. That was in the contract as well.

It's pretty lame when you start pointing to small print after your employees screw up.


Regards,

******* ******








Business Response: I would like to offer some information on the most recent comments on the customer Complaint: ********


I would first like to say that I, along with each and every one of my employees, take the reputation and workmanship of my company very serious. We appreciate our customers and do take any complaints or comments very serious.  As far as the "cracks" ** ****** is now speaking of that we did not fill in, perhaps these cracks are less than the required width of 1/4" as per contract.  The lineal foot of cracks agreed upon in the signed contract was performed. 

It was actually brought to my attention on October 24 by ***** ********** from ********** Tree & Shrub Care, that he had already been to *** ******s home and tended to the tree.  ***** came up to me while I was out to dinner with my wife and daughter to inform me that he doesn't know why *** ****** was so upset because there really wasn't any big problem with the tree. According to *****,he "repaired" the tree at NO CHARGE TO CUSTOMER.  I don't know why ** ****** is asking for $25.00 for a repair that was free?  I thanked ***** ********** and he did fax me a copy of the bill which I attached.   The only charge I see on ********** bill is for a bush removal and removal of limbs off an apple tree.

Please let me know what the next step would be to clear the complaint.



Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I hired him to trim the bottom of the tree, which DID look pretty bad. But when he gave me the receipt, he listed the tree trim for the spruce as free, and only charged for the other two minor items. Now I know why he did that, since he obviously has a personal relationship with the owner of S&G. So I am out $25. Very nice. 

Regards,

******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on S&G Asphalt Service. LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)