BBB Accredited Business since

Ronnie C. Folk Paving

Additional Locations

Phone: (610) 562-3550 Fax: (610) 562-0858 716 Water St, Shoemakersvle, PA 19555 http://www.ronniefolkpaving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ronnie C. Folk Paving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ronnie C. Folk Paving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ronnie C. Folk Paving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 30, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1973 in PA Business incorporated 01/01/1980 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA010092.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dustin Folk, President Mr. Brett Christman, Vice President Mr. Matthew Folk, Executive Vice President Ms. Chris Smith, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dustin Folk, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Chris Smith, Office Manager
Business Category

Paving Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 716 Water St

    Shoemakersvle, PA 19555

  • PO Box 268

    Shoemakersvle, PA 19555

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The driveway was sealed using a sprayer on 7/28/2014. We were informed that the entire driveway would be sprayed. However it was very windy that day and the employee decided to part spray and part brush it. I questioned whether this would show using 2 different types of methods and was told no. Because they did not cover the belgium block on both sides of the driveway the sealer got on a good portion of the blocks on one side of the driveway. Additionally, using two types of applications of brushing and spraying it look horrendous. We sent a letter on July 29, 2014 and Dustin came to our home on 7/30/14. He stated the job wasn't done well and admitted they should have not continued the job because of the wind. He also stated he could see that how we maintain our home and that he, himself is very particular and wouldn't be happy. He offer to re-seal at no charge when it needed to be re-done and we requested a letter stating this. After our meeting with him my wife called on 8/4/14 regarding the footprints left in the sealer which Dustin stated it was due to the heat and asked about the letter he said he would send. He stated it would go out that week. Two days following that conversation on August 7th my wife called Dustin regarding the cracking occurring on most of the driveway. She called again on August 11th and spoke with Chris. She told Chris she left Dustin a message on the 5th and did not get a return call. Chris stated he was out of the office but would be returning later and put my wife to his voice mail where she left him a second message regarding the cracking and requested him to come to look at it. When we did not get a return call from Dustin a letter was sent on August 12th via fax to Dustin. We never received the letter he said he would send or any responses to the latest issue of the cracking. We take pride in our home and maintain our home to the utmost condition. The workmanship is extremely poor, damage done to our property and the entire drive is an huge eyesore.

Desired Settlement: Our driveway is according to the estimate 145 Sq.Yds.which takes up a 1/3 of our frontage and looks despicable. Since the driveway is cracking all over and the horrendous job done with the sealing and damage to our belgium blocks (which the cost of the installation of the block was over $4,0000.00) we are requesting the driveway be replaced and the belgium blocks be cleaned.

Business Response:

September 5th, 2014
This letter is in reference to a complaint filed to the Better Business Bureau from our client **. & **** ***** ********** **. & **** ********* contacted our office in regards to getting an estimate to sealcoat their driveway. Qur estimator, Mike S**** went out to their residence to take the measurements of their driveway, Mike looked at the driveway and informed them that the driveway should not be sealed. The driveway had been sealed several times prior to us looking at it. They insisted that it should be sealed again. Mike did give them a written proposal that they signed. They asked us to schedule the sealcoating work. Folk Paving did complete the quoted work as per contract.
**. & **** ********* then called the office to notify us that they were not happy with the job. I personally went out to their residence to look at the driveway and to meet with them.
Their first complaint was that the driveway did not lo√ęk as good as they thought it should. I explained that it looked that way because the driveway had been sealed too many times. The appearance was due to the amount of sealer on the driveway. I reminded them that it was our original recommendation not to seal the driveway again because of that same reason. Despite our original recommendation I told them that there would be no charge for the contracted work because they were not happy with the final product.
Their second complaint was that there was some seater overspray on some of the landscape blocks along the driveway. (Please keep in mind that the driveway had been sealed several times prior to our work, so we are unsure if this issue even occurred during our work.) I did offer to have a professional cleaning service come out to clean the sealer off of the blocks. They declined this offer because they said the water from the pressure washer would damage their yard. My final offer was to completely replace the landscaping blocks. This offer was also declined because they said that not all of the blocks would be exactly the same as the original.
I feel that we did utilize every option to resolve this issue, but with the homeowner declining all of our offers, there is nothing else we can do. We have been in business for over 43 years and have an excellent reputation within our community. We always strive to give our clients the highest quality product and if they are not 100% satisfied, we always do whatever is necessary to correct the problem. It is because of this kind of work ethic that we have been in business for so long and have an excellent reputation. -
If you need to discuss this complaint further, please feel free to contact our office at ###-###-####.
Sincerely,

Dustin F. President


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
We were never told not to seal the driveway just that it didn't need it now but would next year, so we opted to have it done this year since the gray stones were starting to show through.  The worker that came to do the driveway also stated that if we didn't do it this year it would have to be done next year.  The belgium block was installed in 2010 after we last sealed the driveway in 2009. The worker admitted that he over sprayed and got it onto the belgium block. Furthermore  he stated he applied too much material at the end of the driveway and tried to fix it with a brush and may have to come back if it didn't blend properly.  Since our letter to you cars have parked on the driveway some 5 weeks later and have left impressions in the sealer.  As for us declining all offers prior to contacting you, we accepted the offer of re-sealing the driveway 3 to 5 years from now at no cost because of the poor workmanship.  As for the belgium block, Dustin offered to replace the block but we informed him that the company that manufactured it is no longer in business and we were unable to get matching block to do other work in the rear of our yard.  We told him if he was willing to come back and re-seal at not cost we would let the block issue go.  We requested a letter to confirm this agreement but never received it even after numerous requests, therefore do not have confidence in him keeping his word.  Since our complaint to you the driveway has impressions from cars being parked on it and the surface on most of the driveway is cracking.  We feel that because of the windy weather that the application was not controlled properly.  We stated our concern that day asking if the wind was a problem and the installer stated no.  He informed us he would use two different types of applications by squeegeeing the sides of the driveway and spraying the center of it.  We had concerns when he told us this but he stated it would blend in. When Mike came to do the estimate we raised the issue of the belgium block and how it would be protected and he stated they would use boards to insure no material got on the  block.  MIke looked at the block and saw there was nothing on the it. There was no protection used anywhere while it was being sprayed.  If Folk believed that by re-sealing the driveway it would have all of these problems why did they accept the job at all.  We used Folk in October 2010 because we checked their rating with the BBB and they had done a repair of our downspout and patched that area in the driveway and the work was good.
We are extremely upset of the misrepresentations Dustin stated in his response to our complaint. We are honest people and don't appreciate Folk making us appear dishonest when they know they caused the damage to the block and are misrepresenting facts. The driveway has not been sealed since 2009, 5 years ago.   We are stuck with damage to our property and a driveway that is in worse condition than before the work was done. Folk should as they stated are reputable company, own up to their mistakes and make it right by replacing the driveway.  I have no way to e-mail you the letters we have sent to Folk but can provide them to you if you can provide us a fax number. 
Regards,

***** * **** *********








Consumer Response:

******,
I left a voice mail on Friday about finding on our security cameras showing how windy it was the day the job was performed on the driveway.  It only shows the very end of the driveway where the section that was in our complaint that the sealer was too thick and the worker tried to brush it out and he stated to us that after it dried and didn't look the would have to re-do it.  It shows him trying to brush out the area and it shows that after the job was complete the only protection they removed was paper from the sidewalk nothing was taken from the belgium block.  It also shows how we blocked off the sidewalks and driveway so no one could access it.  It shows our vehicle parked in front of our home and shows after 3 days we remover the tape that blocked sidewalks but kept it up at the end of the driveway for an additional week.
Additionally, in the conversation I had with Maria, she constantly informed that she refused to take any proof from my neighbor, the contractor who worked at our home for 5 years, or the girls from my Bible study who parked on the driveway that left the tire prints in the driveway some 5 weeks later, or the conversation Dustin had with us on the day he came out.  Yet you accept what he stated in his letter to you stating that he made offers to us and we rejected them.  
I want to ask where is the proof of his offer to us.  Where does he have that in writing to us?  Yet when I put in my complaint what he said to us, you said it was hearsay  so why does it not pertain to Dustin since he has no proof of what he claims he said he would do.  We have proof but you refuse to accept it yet accept a letter from Folk paving stating things that is just hear say and he has no proof what he claims he offered.
I am adding this to my rebuttal since I felt so rushed that day I spoke with Maria and informed her that I wasn't feeling well and didn't have much time since I had to go out of state for testing over the weekend.  I rushed to get what was requested since I was informed that Marie would speak with me before making her decision yet left me a voice mail last week stating she made her decision without speaking to me.  
Why is the burden put solely on us for proof that we have and is not accepted and Folk Paving doesn't have to prove anything and you and Maria have accepted a letter from him making statements yet they have no proof backing their statements.
Please add this to my complaint.
Thank you 
**** *********

Business Response:

******,
I checked with Dustin.  Yes he did tell them that we would seal coat the driveway again in 3-5 years for free.  He forgot to tell me that, so it was not included in the letter I sent to you previously.  He assumed that they would not want us to do that considering they turned down all of our other offers.  But he will still hold to that offer if that is what they want.
Chris S****, Office Manager
Ronnie C. Folk Paving, Inc. 

716 Water Street, PO Box 268 
Shoemakersville, PA 19555
T: ###-###-####
F: ###-###-#### 
www.ronniefolkpaving.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ronnie C. Folk Paving
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)