BBB Accredited Business since

R. Smith Paving Contractor, Incorporated

Phone: (610) 431-7481 Fax: (610) 431-7221 View Additional Phone Numbers 315 Snyder Ave, West Chester, PA 19382 http://www.rsmithpaving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R. Smith Paving Contractor, Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for R. Smith Paving Contractor, Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on R. Smith Paving Contractor, Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 07, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1955 in PA Business incorporated 03/10/1989 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA008257.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Smith, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Smith, President/Owner
Business Category

Paving Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Excavating Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 315 Snyder Ave

    West Chester, PA 19382

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While R. Smith Paving was working at a neighbor they offered us inexpensive asphalt patching since they had leftover material. They also offered sealcoating and crack repair. They recommended special, expensive crack repair material that would not get soft in warm weather and indicated that the patch would be invisible after the repair. They also indicated the latex sealcoat material was very expensive compared to the oil material they used two doors down. Upon completion of the work they wanted cash or check written to one of the workers Roudie H*******. We wrote the check to R. Smith Paving but the check was cashed at a PA licensed check cashier rather than deposited in a bank. It was signed by Edward S**** the manager of the group. The crack repair melted in hot weather and got tracked into the house. The patch is clearly visible. We were charged $950. We later discovered through another estimate prepared for us that we were overcharged about $500 for the work. We called for an itemized invoice, an explanation of the pricing discrepancy and an explanation of the unusual practice of using a check cashing firm rather than a bank deposit. We had a visit from Edward S**** who provided a non-itemized invoice. When confronted with the pricing discrepancy, he agreed to refund with cash. We insisted on a corrected itemized invoice and a company check. He said he would provide them but we have not received a refund or a corrected invoice.

Desired Settlement: Please provide us with a refund of $500 of the $950 paid to R. Smith Paving and an itemized invoice for the work.

Business Response:

**. & **** ***** do not have a complaint on the quality of our work, she has buyers remorse.  We do not negotiate price after the job is complete.   As far as the use of a check cashing firm, this is a legal way of keeping cash flow in a business used by many contractors.  This has nothing to do with the quality of our work.  As stated in her own letter, Eddie offered all her money back and she declined it stating that Eddie can “shove the money up his a**” and she’s going to “bad mouth us on every site possible”.   We regret offering the money back in the first place and Eddie only did so out of fear of any further confrontation.   Again our stance is there is nothing wrong with finished product and we would never after over 50 years in the paving business tell someone you would not be able to see the patch.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
On September 22, 2014 at 3:47 pm, Mr. Smith called our home. During this confrontational phone call he was screaming throughout, directed a number of threats to us as professionals and he berated us as consumers.  He said he would refund all of our 'dirty money' and ordered us to withdraw our complaint to the BBB.  We tried to express our concerns but he would not listen and then Mr. Smith hung up on us.

In his response via the BBB, Mr. Smith states that we rejected his son's offer of a full cash refund while he was visiting our home on September 3, 2014.  We were willing to pay a fair amount for the work and we asked that this transaction be 'above board' and that he issue a company check as a partial refund and a corrected invoice.  He indicated that the check would be prepared that evening and that we would have it soon.  He gave his cell phone number written on the back of a business card so we could contact him with questions.  When we did not receive a check or a corrected invoice, we called the cell phone number we were given on September 6, 2014 at 1:37 pm and left a message asking that he return our phone call and tell us his plan.  We did not get a response. On September 13, 2014, we filed a complaint with the BBB.
Our comments specific to their products and services:
We were told the patch would invisible.  The same claim was made to our neighbors two doors down.  We are intelligent people and we understand that a patch cannot be completely invisible as Eddie S**** claimed but the material does seem to be quite coarse compared to our driveway.  The crack sealant application is sloppy. We feel his sales tactics were deceptive.
We were told that the crack sealant they were to use was superior to and more expensive than any crack sealant that had been used on our driveway before. The application is sloppy and when one walks on it on a warm day, tar adheres to your shoes and it gets tracked into our home. An issue our neighbor has as well. Claims about the superiority and expense of the product were overstated.  We feel his sales tactics were deceptive.
The driveway sealant we received is the product we expected and it was applied in a proper manner.  We have a quote for $284.75 for the same sealcoat and crack fill service. We feel that this indicates that we were grossly over-charged for all the services rendered.
Our comments specific to their business practices:
After the service was performed, Eddie and crew asked for $950.00 cash.  We do not keep that much cash in our home.  Then they asked for a check written to Roudie H******* (a worker, and grandson of owner). My wife was uncomfortable with value and the nature of the transaction and went into the house and called the **** ******* number and the 800 number and no one answered.  I confronted them with the request for a check written to Roudie and my wife asked about a credit card transaction.  The company website states that they accept credit cards.  Eddie would not accept a credit card transaction and stated that our job was too small for a credit card transaction and that they commonly dealt with million dollar projects.  I wrote a check out to R. Smith Paving and felt strong-armed into writing a check immediately.  We later found out that the check was not deposited into a bank account but instead was cashed at a Licensed Pennsylvania Check Casher.
In summary, we find their sales tactics deceptive; the quality and the cost of the products/services were overstated; the product pricing inappropriate; promises made to correct the transaction were not kept; and their sales/payment practice is high pressure.
Resolution:
Please refund $500 of the $950 paid and please provide a corrected invoice.

Regards,

******* *****








Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Richard S**** <rsmith.paving@verizon.net>
Date: Tue, Sep 30, 2014 at 3:14 PM
Subject: Re: Re: ID# ********
To: a*****************


*******,
 
Yes I will be willing to refund $500.00.
 
 
Richard S****, President

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** Smith and his team from R Smith performed a driveway expansion/sealcoating project at my home last summer. Immediately upon the completion of the job we noticed holes in the pavement. Further, after some weeks, we noticed an erosion of the transition from the old driveway to the new. We altered ***** to these issue since we elected to use a more expensive technique in performing the work per *****'s recommendation (in order to avoid this very issue). After countles emails and pone calls going unreturned, ***** finally came out and did a patch work repair that did not solve the issue. After this, ***** agreed to do a true repair of the problem but stated that the weather was too cold so I would have to wait until the spring. Once spring arrived I contacted ***** and he stated he would get back to me in a week with a firm date when he could come out and do the repair. That was on April 14. It is not April 30 and I have emailed and texted ***** three different times and he has not responded to any one pf these inquiries.

Desired Settlement: I would like R Smith to come out and repair what they said they would repair in order to give us what we paid for. We did not pay for a job that was eroding less than 1 month after it was completed. If they do not come out and do the repair ASAP, I want a full refund of the money I paid to them.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on R. Smith Paving Contractor, Incorporated
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart