BBB Accredited Business since

Kerrigan Paving and Tar & Chip, Inc

Phone: (703) 257-3632 View Additional Phone Numbers 7371 Atlas Walk Way, #173, Gainesville, VA 20155 http://www.kerriganpaving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kerrigan Paving and Tar & Chip, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Kerrigan Paving and Tar & Chip, Inc include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Kerrigan Paving and Tar & Chip, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kerrigan Paving and Tar & Chip, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2003 Business started: 10/19/1988 in VA Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated: 09/02/2008 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705075073A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Kerrigan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Kerrigan, Owner
Business Category

Paving Contractors Seal Coating Asphalt

Alternate Business Names
Jim Kerrigan Contracting Kerrigan Asphalt Kerrigan Asphalt Paving & Seal Coating Kerrigan Asphalt Paving/Superior Driveway

Additional Locations

  • 7371 Atlas Walk Way, #173

    Gainesville, VA 20155

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company repaved driveway, angling towards garage. Garage floods due to improper work. Spoke with **** *******, who offered multiple times to repair his work, but never showed came to do the work. The **. ******* offered to reimburse the money paid, but that never came either.

Desired Settlement: I need to contract with another asphalt paver to correct the drainage of the driveway. I am requesting a refund of $1,300.00; the amount initially paid.

Business Response: Sent from my ****** to whom it may concern this is *** Kerrigan Kerrigan Paving and tar and Chip would like to let you know that complaint number ******** has been resolved 100% to customers satisfaction thank you

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 13, 2013, my neighbors, and I contracted with Kerrigan Paving to seal our driveways including a common drive on our pipe stem. The Kerrigan representative was on site sealing our neighbor's driveway and touted the superior quality of his company's service. I liked the look of the material they were using on my neighbor's driveway. It appeared to be a solvent or petroleum based product that had a nice glossy shine to its appearance. He said they used higher quality materials than the cut-rate companies, that they would repair any cracks, and would edge all the vegetation back to ensure that the edges of the driveway were sealed. He emphasized the importance of the edging. We agreed to do the job for $900. I then had to leave for an appointment. The contract was made out in my neighbor's name and she gave them a check for the full amount and I later gave her a check for my half of the work. When I returned, the driveway had been sprayed, some of the problem areas I had pointed out had some additional work done to them but the vegetation had not been cut back and some of the cracks had not been repaired. I contacted them about the discrepancies and they said they would return a few days later to take care of it. When they arrived, they edged the vegetation but didn't spray the edges until I requested it and they still didn't spray all the edges. I pointed out some of the cracks they had missed and he put another coat of sealant over those areas. The material they used when they returned was obviously different than what they used the first time. It was obviously water based and went on with a flat color and it smelled different. So we now have areas that are different in appearance. I contacted them about that and they insisted it wasn't water based and the color would match in a few days. As of October 27th you can still clearly see the different color and texture.

Desired Settlement: Redo the entire job with the originally used materials. At a time when both my neighbor and myself can be present to observe the work.

Consumer Response: From: ******* <*******************>
Date: Wed, Dec 4, 2013 at 4:15 PM
Subject: Complaint ******* resolution
To: "info@mybbb.org" <info@mybbb.org>
Cc: "**********************" <**********************>


Kerrigan Paving and Tar & Chip, Inc has recoated my driveway to my complete satisfaction.  Please take appropriate action to show this complaint as resolved.

Thanks,

*** ****

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kerrigan Paving & Tar & Chip was contracted to Tar & Chip road on January 8th 2013. Job was completed around January 14th 2013. Around middle of May 2013 tar seeped through the gravel and caused damaged to shoes, vehicle floor mats. Mr. Kerrigan's employees have returned twice to fix the problem. On July 19th 2013 the road was done and now we have animals that have tar and stone matted to their bodies.

Desired Settlement: road to be fixed properly

Business Response: RESPONDING id #******** within a week of complaint. We returned satisfying customer. Best regards *** Kerrigan ************

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Showed up stating they had another job in area, offered to get contract to fill cracks and seal driveway for $700. Went to get groceries and came back an hour later to find work completed without contract or permission. Paid in full. 2 weeks later, grass growing up thru cracks. Called and spoke to owner, *** ********. Promised would come back and rectify problem. Have called and left numerous messages with no response. It has now been about 3 months. I want my money back.. SCAM ARTISTS!

Desired Settlement: Seeing as they did not deliver the promised product. I have paid for something I have not gotten. I want my $700 back. in cash. I di not trust to get a check from them.

Business Response: I have spoken to the customer and I have agreed to address and repair all cracks and reseal driveway at no extra cost to customer

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have received a phone call promising to redo the  driveway, but have NOT heard back from ** ******** since, nor has he performed as to his promise. This issue has NOT been resolved.

***** *****

3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service