BBB Accredited Business since

Edwards All County Paving

Phone: (570) 474-6329 Fax: (570) 474-5586 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 35, Mountain Top, PA 18707

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Edwards All County Paving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Edwards All County Paving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 07, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1995 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA 021520.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Edward R. Wells, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward R. Wells, Owner
Business Category

Paving Contractors

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 35

    Mountain Top, PA 18707


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company agreed to mill edges at sidewalk and garages , apply a tack material to hold new asphalt down ,and lay 2"of asphalt over my old asphalt. Milling was not done and after 8 months the driveway is pealing up to show that only 1/2" of asphalt was used and no tack material. I have a warranty till 8-22-15. I called in June to let them know what happened. After 3 calls , no one returned my call until I left a message that I would file against them . My call was then returned and the representative told me she passed the message to Ed the owner. A week later no call. I called back to find out the business phone was disconnected. I am out $9800. They also sold me seal coating that was done the day of install which washed off that night from rain. They promised that would be done again and didn't do it.

Desired Settlement: Do the job right as agreed with his son who sold me the job as stated above or give me my money back in full.

Business Response:

July 27, 2015

To Whom it May Concern:
This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ******* ** *******. The case ID # * *** ****.

*** *******'s job was completed in August 2014. He called to inform us on some concerns he had with the driveway. I spoke to him in June 2015 to let him know I would be out to take a look at his driveway. In the mean time of was in the process of moving and instead of the phonir company forwarding my calls, they accidently disconnected my line. I have since spoken with *** ******* upon receiving your letter. We have come to an agrrement to resolve his concerns with the driveway.

If there is anything further that needs to be addressed, pleae feel free to contact me at the number you have on file.


Edward W

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
On 7-1-15 at 8:45 am the first response from a female representative of Edward's Paving was made stating Ed would return my call. Five days later on 7-6-15 I called to find that the phone was disconnected . On 7-14-15 I tried the number again to see if any information was available and Ed answered. He sent out Samuel P**** to see the driveway . He offered me seal coat . I rejected that stating that will not repair it. On 7-16-15 Ed called me to come out on 7-18-15 to see it. I showed Ed that only 1/2" of asphalt was laid. It was laid so thin that the day of install it blew out and my new driveway had a 4'x 8' hole that needed to be patched.The offer Ed made was to fill pealing areas with hot tar, all the stretch cracks with black sand, and then seal coat the driveway. He stated he will not repave the driveway, it was solid. I'm not sure how this is going to make a 1/2" of asphalt on loose fine gravel solid. I will allow him to do it since he is the professional and then I will see from that point what happens to the driveway. The initial sale in August 20 2014 was made by Samuel P**** . We agreed at that time the driveway would be milled at garages, sidewalk, and at end of drive connecting to neighbors drive. Tack material would be sprayed on old driveway to make new stick better and a minimum of 2" finished asphalt would be laid. This matched the other quotes I received from other paving companies prior to his. This was a verbal contract with a hand shake. I confronted Samuel P**** on the phone 8-1-15 about this agreement and he denied it. Stating whatever is on the contract is what will be done. He stated he was only a laborer and seal coater not a paver and does not work for Ed anymore. The contract I received was written by Ed at the end of the job when I asked for a receipt for my $9800 cash payment. It did not reflect the initial sale. At this point it appears a verbal agreement and hand shake is no longer good in today's world. In the next year or two when I have to repave the drive again I will make sure to have everything in writing before any work is done. I will chalk this up as a $9800 lesson. I will accept the fact that the buyer should beware of acts such as this made by contractors.


******* *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Edwards All County Paving
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart