BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sealcoating and Asphalt Repair of Residential Driveways and Commercial Parkinglots


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Driveway Concepts Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Driveway Concepts Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Driveway Concepts Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 24, 2004 Business started: 06/01/1995 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 07/26/2005 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA032260.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Molettiere, President Ms. Lisa Molettiere, Vice President Ms. Kathy Furia, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kathy Furia, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Joseph Molettiere, President
Principal: Ms. Lisa Molettiere, Vice President
Business Category

Paving Contractors Seal Coating Concrete Contractors Excavating Contractors

Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards Accepted!
Alternate Business Names
DCI, Incorporated

Additional Locations

  • 227 W. Broad Street

    Quakertown, PA 18951

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When first contacting driveway concepts in May of 2015 they were very easy to work with, giving me a quote in less then one week. After signing the contract however everything went down hill. We were scheduled to have our driveway repaired 5 times. Three times was canceled due to weather all of which we were never called to reschedule I had to call them. The fourth time they never came to my residence. I called the company and spoke with the owner Joe. He apologized for all the miscommunication and upgraded the services we were to receive. Now it's July 23, 3015 we were put on the schedule on Monday July 20 to receive our repairs today. My husband drove by our house on his lunch break and called me saying no one was there so I called driveway concepts to make sure we were on the schedule. The scheduler Kathy then told me that they were unable to perform there services at my house. The owner Joe was the one who upgraded my service and now all of a sudden can not complete them?

Desired Settlement: I would like to be contacted by Joe with an explanation.

Business Response: We have explained to ******* that DCI could not redirect her water with a cold patch.  She would need more than DCI could give to her.  We also explained that she would need a patch to redirect the water.  DCI could not do that for her because her driveway was too damaged.  She was not happy with that response.  Please let me know if you need any further information from me.

Joe M*********
DCI President

7/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sealed Driveway on Sept 4th. During sealing they said a hose burst spraying sealant all over my sidewalk (at end of driveway). At the other end at my front door, excessive sealant also splashed all over my concrete porch steps, foundation stucco and brick. My landscaping stones and shrubs were also excessively splashed. When I arrived home after work that day, a DCI worker was attempting to remove the sealant on the sidewalk with a power washer. All this did was spread it around and drive it into the pourous concrete. The worker was also taking pictures to show his boss the damage. We immediately called their office to complain. They agreed not to charge us the $100 service fee and promised someone would be out the next day to resume the cleanup. No one showed (Friday) so I called Monday 8th. They said someone would be there the 9th. Again, no one showed. Called Wed 10th, they said the worker who did the power wash would be there on the 11th. No one showed. I called on the 12th (Friday) and they said their crew was going around on Sunday doing "Cleanup" at numerous sites. No one showed. Called on the 17th and they promised someone would be there on Friday 19th. No one showed. I called on Saturday 20th and got voicemail. I left a message saying I wanted a return call prefereably from the owner since I was stood up 5 times. No return call.

Desired Settlement: I want the damage to my property repaired. Specifically the deep staining of my sidewalks as a result of the power wash. If they cannot do that then I want payment of $300 to cover materials and time needed to do the cleaning myself.

Business Response:

Hello ******,
Sorry we didn't get back to you right away on this. Our crews returned on the 26th of Sept to finish the cleaning of the sealer and to address his issues.
Thank you,
Lisa M*********

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

They could not have showed up since they cleaned up nothing! Attached are pictures showing the condition they left my sidewalk and front porch steps.

The sidewalk looks exactly the same. The front porch has recently been cleaned up by ME since NO ONE has showed up to fix this.




Regards,

*********** *******








Business Response:

We have spoken to the customer to address any additional areas of concern. We will be sending someone out again to finish the touchups.

 

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my driveway sealed in June 2014. After the job was done, the driveway looked like a mess. There we're brush marks everywhere and when they sealed the cracks the crack filler was thick and raised. They gave me a printout of what to expect and it did say over time the filler would even out. One of the men doing the job stepped on my front walk with the tar still on his shoes. I have sent them 4 emails asking if someone could get back to me and spoke directly with 2 employees yet still no response from customer service. I spoke with Tara and Kathy.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to call me regarding the mess in my driveway. I want to know if in time will it even out (it has been 3 months since the job was done. I have been trying to pressure wash the footprints off the sidewalk, they have gotten lighter but there must be a solution I can put on it to clean it up.

Business Response:

We have just received the pictures you sent of the complaint. We appreciate you sending them so we may expedite the service issue. We will have someone come out to address any concerns you have.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *******

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The work performed was not in accordance with the agreement. Several calls, e mail, texts sent or left with no correction to the problem.

Desired Settlement: I want the job finished as agreed upon. Also the address on the agreement is ** ******* **** **********, Pa *****.

Business Response: We would like all our customers to be satisfied with the maintenance and repairs for their driveway. We have a work order for this customer and we will be more than happy to work with this customer to resolve any issues. We do require pictures to be sent in order to expedite the process so we know what areas to show our crews to touch up. Without photos our crews will not be able to correct the issue. Please send pictures of the area in question to admin@drivewayconceptsinc.com. Thank you. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Photos have been sent on several occasions most recently on Monday 8/25. Why can't they come out to the home and do a visual inspection? The has been going on since June. Thank you.


Regards,

****** *******








Business Response:

We appreciate the customer sending us pictures. It has been reviewed by the CEO and discussed with the crew and it is ***** Patch, the product the customer wanted and paid for. The misunderstanding is in the nature of ***** Patch and all other crack repair. Crack repair by design is a pliable material. On hot days it can soften and tire marks can appear. A thicker coating is more prone to these marks in either sealer or crack repair. While the marks are present it can be esthetically displeasing, however, this is normal and will fade as the product cures.

We sealcoat and crack repair over 3000 driveways and commercial parking lots in a season.  We have been in business for over 19 years. Since this is a normal part of sealing and crack repair we have always had Post Sealcoat instructions that are also available on our website as are other educational materials available to our customers. See attached form.

*** ******* was not receptive to any explanations.

We would be more than happy to come out and touch up those areas but it must be clear that this will still occur in the heat until the product cures. This is the nature of crack repair and Sealer.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The process and materials as explained by the owner's sales representative is not how the process was performed. He represented to me they could do the job with materials that would not pull up or show tire marks. 

Regards,

****** *******








9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I complained to Driveway Concepts that the work done on my driveway does not look good. I was told before they did the coating that it would look good. After the fact I'm being told that there really isn't much they could do. I asked if they could at least recoat it, however they are saying maybe and I have spoken with several people there with the same result. I have neighbors who have gotten their driveway done by other paving companies and theirs looks good. Having spent $350, I only want them to re-coat the driveway. Again, they don't seem to be able to fix the situation telling me it is normal. I saw the folks who actually did the work and it was Sloppily done.

Desired Settlement: Recoat driveway to improve the way it looks. They actually did this last time when I had similar issues and it does improve the look.

Business Response:

*** ******'s driveway is in need of repaving. He was informed that the alligatored areas on his driveway can not be resolved through the process of sealcoating. Sealcoating is a liquid that is applied as a maintenance step to help prevent further damage to a driveway. It is not new asphalt. Just as liquid paint can not repair a crumbling wall, Sealer can not fix crumbling asphalt.

Representatives at DCI, including myself have told *** ****** that he needs to either have the broken areas ripped out and patched or he needs to have the whole driveway resurfaced with new asphalt. We offer both those services at a substantial difference in cost. *** ****** informed me that he did not want to spend the additional money to repair his driveway properly and so DCI was hired to sealcoat and perform minor crack repair to help prevent further deterioration until he can afford to fix his driveway appropriately. After a conversation with *** ******, I offered to sealcoat his driveway again next year- for free, to maintain good customer service, but ONLY AFTER he patches his deteriorated areas. As liquid sealer mirrors the surface it is applied to, if *** ****** does not repair those broken areas with asphalt, then his driveway will continue to look the way it currently does only with the sealer aiding in slowing down the deterioration.

DCI has been in the business of Paving, Sealcoating and asphalt repair since 1995. We are one of the largest purchasers of sealer in the area. We understand asphalt and we have many levels of service options to help customers maintain their asphalt. Sealer is not a cure-all. It is a preventative maintenance measure. If damage is already present only costly asphalt patches and or a new overlay of the driveway can cure those issues.   

As for his neighbors driveways looking better, DCI has sealed 7 of his neighbors driveways in the past. Many have been customers for years. If their driveways are in better condition than that may be attributed to the maintenance service they receive from our company.

Thank you,

****** **********

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********
Hello,

I am rejecting this response because:

When I called this company DCI they came out to do an estimate, I asked whether I need to do a repave now or if I could wait and just get a ceiling done with crack filler. I was told that if I get there alligator coating(extra cost)it would seal the cracks and hold me for a few years and that it would look good. I spent the extra money for that service. What I found was that many of the cracks were not filled properly or at all and the parts that were done were sloppily put on. They simply seal coated the driveway and crack filled some of the cracks, however it looks bad with many cracks not filled.

So I can't see spending more money to have additional paving done. I want  this company to come out and use the crack filler as they had originally said they would and fill the cracks and reseal the driveway. This should not cost me additional money since it wasn't done correctly the first time.
I have had my driveway coated numerous times before and have never had issues like this where I feel compelled to reach out to the better business bureau. All I'm asking for is the driveway to look decent and for this company to do the job they originally told me they would do for the price I originally paid. I would be happy to provide photos to the bureau as to how my driveway looks. You would see from the photos that there are many areas that were not even filled with the crack filler; and where it was crack filled, it was not done properly.
Regards,

**** ******








Business Response:

*** ******,

We can have a truck out this week to touch up some of the cracks.

However, with a driveway as deteriorated as yours, the cracks will not be even, nor will they all be "filled". It is not possible to fill ALL the cracks or your price would be 3 x's the price. It was not a sloppy job, it is a badly deteriorated driveway. You have hollow areas underneath that until it is ripped out and replaced with new asphalt, we can not and will not be responsible.  You asked for a sealcoat and some crack repair which we provided.  Our terms reinforce our policy on crack repair. We continue to stand by the work performed given the extent of deterioration of your driveway.  

 

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:
Thanks first of all to the BBB. You helped me get this situation resulted.


Regarding this complaint, although I do not agree with the last response from the business(DCI), this may have been sent prior to them coming out to fix my problem. They did come out yesterday and fixed the cracks and re-sealed the driveway. The person from DCI stated to me that the job was not done properly the first time. This was definitely a challenging situation for me as a consumer and could have been easily avoided a few months ago by someone at DCI coming out to review the sloppy job that was done the first time. I am glad that that DCI finally came out and fixed my situation and I am very satisfied that the driveway looks like it should for the original amount I paid DCI.
You can close out this complaint ID ********, as I am satisfied that my driveway was done properly this time.
Thank you,

**** ******

7/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company did a TERRIBLE job on my driveway, they left a tire mark and never filled in any cracks. I called IMMEDIATELY that day and spoke to a woman who is no longer there, sent her pictures (which I still have). They called once to do the job but I was having stone delivered that weekend and didn't want it on the driveway, they said ok and hung up. I called today after they put me in collections and the guy was EXTREMELY rude and was blaming me.

Desired Settlement: They did a terrible job, I want them to fess up to it and accept they did a terrible job. I told them to fix it correctly and I would gladly pay the $180 and be done, MOVE ON!!!!

Business Response: Sorry for the delay in responding, I wanted time to research the claims made against us.

We provided a sealcoat service on 6/17/13. We arrived at the property at 11:40am. We received word of the tire damage on 6/28/13 at 11:06am. That is not immediately.
We did not receive pictures because you were angry and refused to send them, well documented in our database.
On 10/15/13 we agreed to come out to the property and touch-up the area in exchange for payment. Customer called on 10/29/13 and cancelled the site visit.
On 11/6/13 customer stated that they were going to pay someone else to seal the driveway and claim that we never performed the work there.
On 11/12/13 we reached out yet again to collect payment and we were told that we would not be getting paid.
Worth pointing out  is the fact that we did not drive on the driveway. At the time that we left, the sealer would have been very wet and surely would have made marks on the driveway apron or in the street. It has always been and remains our position that we did not leave the marks in the driveway. Having said that...it is common practice for us to do touchup's for paying customers when an incident occurs. We were informed by the customer that "hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of work" was being done at the house. Is it not possible that someone else got a tire on the driveway?!?!
As for crack repair, on our site visit it was done. So that is a complete fabrication.
Bottom line is this...our terms and conditions say that payment is due at the time of service. You violated those terms. At that point it is theft of service. The "problems" didn't surface until we reached out for payment. We offered to perform a touch-up for you after receiving payment. You refused to pay. (Steal something from ******** and then tell them your not satisfied with it. See how that works out.)
As for your request for us to move on...NO. The service was performed, I have paid for the materials, I have paid for the labor. I expect payment as agreed. 
Collection efforts will continue. Your credit will be affected. We will seek a judgement against you and then act on that judgement.
Good day.

5/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In mid-April 2014, DCI came to my home to seal my driveway. The quality of the job was poor and the service did not include all of the items DCI communicated to me in writing would be done (e.g., cracks not sealed, apron seams not reinforced). Here is the timeline, which is documented in e-mail: April 22 - I expressed my concerns to coordinator at DCI, noting that other homeowners in my development had similar issues (DCI was contracted for several jobs in my development) April 22 - DCI coordinator indicated salesman would come out and look at driveway the week of April 22nd. I received no communication from the DCI salesman or the DCI coordinator that they came to my home. April 24 - I sent an e-mail to the DCI coordinator asking them not to come back out and fix the job. I did not have the confidence they would do it right the second time, given the poor quality of work, mismanagement, miscommunication in their company. I also read similar complaints on-line so did not want DCI back to my house again (checked BBB and ripoffreport complaints) No response from DCI April 28 - I sent a follow-up message to DCI asking for a response to my April 24th e-mail. I noted in this e-mail the quality of work does not warrant the full price invoiced. I also asked them again not to send anyone to my house to do work. Without telling me, they sent two guys to my house to clean sealcoat product that was splashed all over my garage when they did the job initially. April 28 - DCI responded, claiming the rain was the reason for the poor quality and that they pulled the crews at 5PM. This is not true. The crew arrived at my house just before 4PM and worked until close 5PM at my house. Then, the went to my neighbor's house to do the job there (he had the same issues), so the crews were in my development passed 6PM. With their response, DCI confirmed that they put a rush on the crew to finish the job quickly before the rain (which was much later at night in our area). Subsequently, the crew cut corners and did not perform the service as described by DCI. April 28 - I responded inquiring if DCI expects full payment for a service not performed as they indicated in writing. No response from DCI May 5 - I asked the DCI coordinator to send my feedback to the company owner so I could correspond with him/her directly on this issue. In this e-mail, I included the work list DCI provided on their service, highlighting those things that they did not do for me. Pictures of the final work were included showing the work was not completed as advertised. I requested a response by end of business May 6th. No response from the DCI coordinator or the owner

Desired Settlement: I want a $0 invoice sent to me to replace my current invoice, acknowledging no payment is expected since the work was not performed as promised by DCI.

Business Response: ****,

Your property was serviced as part of a discounted package through your homeowner's association. You were one of twenty. Six homes had evidence of splashes from the rain. That is the truth, not a fabrication or an excuse, as you imply. We we became aware of the pending rain, we called off the crew and left your neighborhood at 4:46pm (not after 6, as you said). The crew clocked out at our shop in ********** at 5:28pm (we are a minimum of a 1/2 hour from you). We, through your association, scheduled a day for repairs/cleanup. The result=5 satisfied customers and you. You would not allow us to do the repairs. You questioned our ability to provide the service, even in the face of (now) 19 other satisfied customers. Your concerns are unwarranted and unjustified. The rave reviews from your neighbors has resulted in other houses scheduling service. We will be back in your neighborhood shortly. So again, I am offering to do a cleanup when we return.
As for your request to keep the sealcoat that you received for free, I'm afraid the answer is no.
We await your response.
***** *******
Driveway Concepts Inc.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

***** -

Nowhere in my complaint do I state the rain was a fabrication.  In fact, I confirm in my complaint that it did rain later that evening.  My complaint states that even with the pending rain, you asked your crews to push forward with the work, rather than rescheduling the last two homes that day (my house and my neighbor's).  As a result, the quality of work was poor.  The crews rushed the job and skipped several of the steps ****** indicated happen for every sealcoat job.  As for the timing of your crews departure from my home, we just won't agree on that.  I have a message from my wife on 3:52PM confirming the crew just arrived.  They were at my place a minimum of 45 minutes, then went on to my neighbor's house.  I doubt they finished his home in less time, since my neighbor's driveway is larger than mine.  Regardless of actual departure time, the key point for me is that you pushed the crew to do the job knowing the pending rain was coming and would impact the quality of work. 

As for the subsequent repairs, I talked to the same people and their feedback was the crews came back out and did repairs.  I would not call the reviews following the repairs "rave."  A comment I heard was crews came back out and sealed cracks but did not reapply sealcoat.  The same individual mentioned he would not recommend DCI moving forward. 

Yes, I do question the service.  The true measure of any service provider is solving  problems when they come up.  In my case, I was told someone would come out to my home and talk to me after my initial complaint.  No one came out or called me.  I found out from my neighbor that someone came to his house and talked to him.  This courtesy was not extended to me, and the lack of follow-up highlighted the continuation of mismanagmeent and poor communication in your organization.  That is when I told ****** not to bother with a follow-up service.  Based on the repair reviews that I have heard, I made the right decision.

You offered in your response to do a clean-up.  What exactly are you offering?

It's really a shame since I see the work you have posted on-line and the pictures I have of my driveway look nothing like that.  ****** has them so please take a look and you tell me if the work is up to your standards. 

All of this said, I will contact ****** tomorrow to process my payment.  I am incredibly dissatisfied, but I will meet my end of the deal.

Good luck with your business.

****

Regards,

**** ** ** ****








Business Response: ****,

First, thank you for your payment. That was a very honorable act. 
I am sorry that we can't agree on the timeline. However, I assure you, we use a digital time clock with proximity badges. The employees MUST be present to clock out. 
As for canceling, we made the best decision we could given the information available at the time. Hind sight is 20/20. It may seem to you like we pushed , however, clean-up and resealing driveways is expensive and not a "risk" that we take lightly.
That brings me to the next thing. As I am writing this, we are in your development resealing the very people that weren't resealed (yet). Your information is incomplete. Repairs are not finished. Unfortunately, we are not working on your house because you continue to belabor the process. If you could simply reserve opinion until the process is complete, you might find yourself pleasantly surprised. We are doing everything we can at considerable expense to make everyone happy.
Final topic, communication. We have always been and remain in communication with Wendy, the head of this project for your community. As for the repairs, our estimator walked the property with Frank not individual homeowners. The scope of repair was discussed and that plan is in motion. I really don't know what else I can do. 
*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I want to get passed this so I am accepting the response to close out this complaint.  The bill has been paid although I am not satisfied.
Please close out this complaint.

Thanks,
****

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with DCI Incorporated to seal coat our driveway, which they did on 6/25/13. As a result of their seal coat job, tar splashed onto the front of our house, discoloring/damaging brick, garage doors, trim, and siding, much of which is part of a brand new addition to the home. I contacted DCI that same day to have this addressed. After a few days, they came back and attempted to clean off the tar. This attempt was unsuccessful and the harsh chemical they used caused the entire interior of our house to smell like gas fumes for weeks, which we fear was unsafe for our family, particularly a newborn baby. Since then, I have been regularly contacting DCI to resolve this issue. I have spoken on multiple occasions with multiple people in the office - ***, *****, and *****. *** and ***** both indicated that this would be handled through their insurance company. This has not been the case, however, and it was escalated to the owner, ***, for resolution. *** visited the house on 8/2 and I followed up to speak with him on 9/19. On both dates, he promised resolution but still has not taken any corrective action. Most recently, he refuses to return my calls. After speaking with him on 9/19, I followed up to confirm when this would be resolved, leaving messages at his office on 10/10, 10/17, and 10/21. On 10/21, my message indicated that I would be submitting a complaint to the BBB if he did not return my call this week. Prior to submitting this claim, I called again today, and he did not take or return my call.

Desired Settlement: We would like this issue to be submitted as a claim to DCI's insurance company so that we can work with the insurance adjuster and licensed contractors to resolve and complete the repairs. It is important that these repairs be completed before seasonal weather causes additional unnecessary delays.

Business Response: While it is true that we are fully insured and submitting a claim is an option, Jessica fails to understand the purpose of insurance. Insurance is for us NOT her. It is our guarantee against financial loss beyond what we can afford. We are not there.

We asked a local contractor to contact Jessica to make arrangements to come out to her property and provide repairs as needed. The contractor is not affiliated with us and we put NO restrictions on the scope of work. We simply asked that he limit the work to things that were affected by the sealer mishap.
Jessica refused the service. 
As for a resolution, I am willing to ask the contractor to contact her again.

Business Response: I will bring this to Dave's attention immediately.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

**** is already aware and is planning to complete the repairs this week. 

Regards,

******* ******








11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my driveway sealcoated and quite honestly, it looked better before DCI seal coated it. I had complained that they didn't cover the cracks and when I calld and complained about this, they did come back and attempted to seal the cracks but the job was not done properly. I now have ugly black stripes in at least 3 places on my driveway. I have repeatedly called DCI and ***** the office manager at first was rude to me and kept interrupting when I was trying to tell her that I was disatisfied. All I wanted ws ford someone to come out and inspect the shoddy work. ***** had promised that someone would come out and re-look at the driveway but to date, no-one has and this work was done back in April. I did threaten to report them to BBB but they said they had a 5 star rating so I guess they really are not concerned about 1 customer and providing good service. I would like these mistakes corrected. I paid for a sevice that was not provided and the least they can do is re-seal my driveway in a satisfactory manner.

Desired Settlement: Re-seal my driveway correctly

Business Response: ***** ******** c/o
****** *********
Better Business Bureau
50 West North Street Bethlehem, PA 18018-5789

Complaint ID# *******

Dear *****;

Thank you for your letter via the BBB of August 28th describing the perceived problems that you have been having with Driveway Concepts Inc. (DCI). I appreciate your eagerness to resolve your issue. Please accept my sincere apologies for any part we may have played in your dissatisfaction.

We are not taking your dissatisfaction lightly. However, as every story has two sides, I would like to share ours. Our initial contact was on 3/29. At that time we scheduled the property for seal coat and crack repair. On 4/26, after the service was completed, we spoke and collected payment of $ 160. A price that reflected sealcoat but NOT crack repair. We did not perform crack repair because the damage was beyond the customer’s description. On 5/2 we were contacted and asked for a “touch-up”. We responded on 5/6 and provided $80.00 worth of the crack repair at no-charge in an effort to resolve the
issue.

Our position is, and remains, that we provided the proper services at a great price. I understand that the driveway may be less ascetically pleasing from crack repair. However, the purpose of sealing and crack repair is to provide a barrier against the elements, NOT to beautify the drive.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 No-one bothered to follow up with me.  ***** had said on 2 occasions that some-one would come out and inspect again. 

 A courtesy call would have been nice.

Also had I known previously that the crack repair would make matters worse I would not have agreed to it.  They could have said that I would end up with black stripes.

I still feel this was handled unprofessionally and *****'s attitude on one of the calls was less than polite.

I don't think much of their customer service.

Regards,

***** ********








Business Response: From: ***** ******* [mailto:*****************************] 
Sent: Monday, October 28, 2013 11:22 AM
To: '******* *******'
Subject: RE: Complaints Case #******* ******** – This is troubling to me. ***** scheduled a sealcoat with us but declined crack repair. After the work was completed, she called to complain about the lack of crack repair. Accepting that it was just a possible miscommunication, we returned and completed the crack repair FREE OF CHARGE. She then proceeded to call and complain that the crack repair was ugly. It may be true that it is not the most appealing type of repair but it is very effective and it was done properly. ***** desires a free sealcoat and that is beyond what is fair. 

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my driveway sealed by Driveway Concepts, Inc. While the price was competitive, the results of the installation have been terrible. As per instructions to stay off the driveway for a couple days, we actually stayed off of the driveway for a week. Major streaking and tire marks are rampant on the driveway; much more intense and longer lasting than any research on quality work would suggest be happening. A couple months after the sealing, I contacted Driveway Concepts about the issue. A gentleman name ****** came out to visit; he agreed that it looked very bad. ****** said that if the problem did not clear up in a couple months that I should contact DCI again. I did so via email and phone calls with pictures of the problem. It took me multiple contact attempts to actually get the owner (who I understand is named ****** on the phone). The brief conversation I had with ****** was the most horrendous experience as a customer I have ever had. ****** was completely obnoxious, argumentative, antagonistic and downright mean. In fact, he referred to ****** (who evidently is not there anymore) as a retarded and stupid individual. It was downright offensive. A few days after I ended the conversation, I again emailed DCI trying to come to a resolution and asked to be given a few dates that worked for ******'s schedule to meet with me face-to-face to discuss the issue and a resolution. I have not heard anything back. DCI's workmanship was terrible, but their service and customer treatment was downright abysmal.

Desired Settlement: I would consider allowing DCI to fix the problem; however, my preference is a refund of the charges as I do not have confidence in DCI's ability to fix the install.

Business Response: ***** ******* <*****************************>3:25 PM (6 minutes ago)to me In reference  to the attached matter… I would have responded earlier, however, this just reached my desk moments ago. These are very strong allegations, not to be taken lightly.I spoke with ***. He has no recollection of the conversation as referenced. I sincerely hope it is some sort of misunderstanding.As for the driveway issues, I do not have any record of **. ****’s complaint. Unfortunately, it would have been ******’s responsibility to record the issue and make arrangements for a repair (if necessary). It does not appear that this happened. For that I apologize.In an effort to have a record of such issues, all customers are directed to our website where we have a customer service link (under “Contact DCI”) that allows customers to upload pictures and voice their concern. Once the form on the website is filled out, the proper personnel will be assigned to address the issue. I would ask that **. **** utilize this tool.Upon receipt of his pictures and description of the issue and timeline, we will send a representative to review the specific concern. If at that time it is deemed a valid concern and not easily repairable, I will gladly refund **. ****’s payment. ***** *******###-###-####***************************** Driveway Concepts Inc.19 Quakers WayQuakertown, PA 1895###-###-#### 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I cannot see how *** cannot recall such a conversation.  Regardless, although not filed "directly through the website", multiple pictures were originally provided via email to ****** **** with both a detailed written description and verbal discussion of the issues.  The fact that ****** did not record something he should have is DCI's issue.  At this point, rather than resubmitting all I did already, I would just like someone with decision making authority to meet me at my house to discuss the issue as I am naturally still open to an mutually-amenable solution, which I would like to have happen before the weather becomes counter-productive to doing such work.

Since the BBB communication program has a way to include attachments I went ahead and included a couple pictures, although it looks worse in person.

Regards,

******* ****

Business Response:  From: ***** ******* [mailto******************************] 
Sent: Monday, October 28, 2013 11:22 AM
To: '******* *******'
Subject: RE: Complaints
Case #******* **** – All other issues aside, **. **** is a valued customer and I would like to send a representative out to discuss his concerns, if he is agreeable to that. 

Consumer Response:

*****, I will email you some dates/times to discuss.
 
****
 
 
[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Driveway Concepts Incorporated
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart