BBB Accredited Business since

DePhillippo Paving, Incorporated

Phone: (610) 489-4744 Fax: (610) 489-4106 1074 N Grange Ave, Collegeville, PA 19426 http://www.dephillippopaving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DePhillippo Paving, Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for DePhillippo Paving, Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on DePhillippo Paving, Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 07, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1967 in PA Business incorporated 04/08/1998 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA045365.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Domenic DePhillippo, President Mrs. Margaret DePhillippo, Secretary/Treas.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Domenic DePhillippo, President
Business Category

Paving Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 1074 N Grange Ave

    Collegeville, PA 19426

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ******** **** ***** **** ** *********** *** ***** Oct 4, 2013 3 Oct 2013 Sequence of events: Last week in Sep., got from ***** Quarry a price for delivering 2A modified stone, which amounted to $37.50 for a 20-ton truck. [ for one-way distance less than 2.5 miles ]. However, since I was not sure that the big truck could be turned at top of driveway, I took their recommendation to use somebody with a smaller truck; Asking if they know anybody, **. ***** recommended ******* DePhillippo [ ************]. I called, and **. ******* stopped by, looked at the driveway and quoted verbally the price of: “ $55 / 10 ton transport and $35 to have it tailgate spread eaven /nice, along the driveway on the width of the 8 ft truck “. On Monday evening, Sep 30 he called to let me know that he will come on Wed. morning, and will call again on Tue. I told him that I would have to use a vacation day, in order to be home while job is done. Tuesday evening, he called back to tell me that he did not finish whatever job was working on, and will come around or past lunch. By 14:30, he shows up with a load [ after supposedly being stuck in a road closure due to an accident ], and he spreads it. Looked ok, and I paid for it. He said that he will not bring any more today, but will come next morning to bring 2 more loads of 10 ton and spread it. Considering that he knows the what and how to do, [ and also mentioning that some more stone will have to be brought to the top of driveway ] I told him that I must go to work next day, but he can come and do it and my wife will pay him. He got paid for the other 2 loads. I do not know what & why, but his two loads spread on 3 Oct, do not resemble at all the first one. Missed to cover 7 feet at start of driveway, did not have any left for the top of driveway and one can go SURFFING on the areas where he overlapped the previous spreads where he dumped at least twice as much as necessary. When I drove over it, had my blood pressure jumping up,…walked back down & up the driveway and I called, at about 18, and asked to talked to *******. His wife told me that he is not available, but will call me back; Being so much under the impression of what I saw, I asked how could he do it so wrong,…”did he take drugs”? [ remembering he telling that he has to take his wife to the dentist that day]. …,no call back yet. Called back on Oct 4th, at 6:52 [ BBB lists his business hours 6 to 18 ] and asked again *** ******** to ask him ta call back in the evening and to go back and see the outcome of his spreading. Finally, he called back with the excuse that he had problems with the truck and did the best he could. I asked him to stop by [ He's 3.2 miles away] and see the results of his “even spread promise” but he refused to and told me that it is up to me to fix what he did if it is not good enough for me, saluted me with the “Go to ****” as a payback for asking his wife if He took drugs [ even that what I meant was Pharmacy pills ]. Unfortunately, relocating 3 to 4 ton of 2A-modified stone on a 250 ft driveway, is not a shovel & wheelbarrow job! In conclusion, I ended up with the stone, but in 3 areas the Corolla cannot be driven over since it will get stuck in transverse ditches! Again, it does not pay to trust anybody, and should get on paper solution to “what if “and do not pay anything before you’re satisfied with the outcome of their work! He did not write any receipt either for the $270 we paid! Dephillippo Paving Inc 1074 N Grange Avenue Collegeville, PA 19426 License #: ******** ************ ********************

Desired Settlement: Since **. ******* refused to come and do any repair to the driveway, I will have to do something about it to be able to drive on. More than that, it gets harder to move the material as it gets compacted, and is not something that can wait for weeks to be addressed!

Business Response: his complaint is based on a stone delivery for an existing stone driveway. **. ******** had several different options for a stone delivery - 1). A regular stone delivery - which consists of a dump truck dumping the stone in a pile and the owner     of the property would be responsible for moving 100% of that stone. 
2). A "tailgating" stone delivery - The truck driver spreads the stone out of the dump truck body while in motion     so that the owner does not have to move 100%  of the stone. In this case if my calculations are correct, the     owner had to move approx. 13.3% of the total amount of stone. **. ******** stated that he moved approx.     4 ton out of a total of 30 ton. 3). Hire someone with the right equipment - A backhoe and or skidsteer to move and level the stone, a couple of     laborers to shovel and rake and a roller to compact the final grade. Owner moves 0% of stone.
**. ******** choose # 2). a tailgate stone delivery and expected a # 3). Have some common sense!Spreading stone out of the back of a dump truck is not going to give you a smooth level compacted stone driveway. **** DePhillippo


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on DePhillippo Paving, Incorporated
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart