This Business is not BBB accredited

Collegiate Sealers of Northern Virginia Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (703) 542-5555 View Additional Phone Numbers 44180 Wade Dr Ste 200, South Riding, VA 20152 http://www.sealmydriveway.com/va_main.html View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Collegiate Sealers of Northern Virginia Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Collegiate Sealers of Northern Virginia Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 1998 Business started: 03/16/1988 in VA Business started locally: 03/16/1988 Business incorporated: 08/04/1992 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705049804A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Cornicello, President Ms. Michelle Nicolello, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Cornicello, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Michelle Nicolello, Office Manager
Business Category

Paving Contractors Seal Coating

Alternate Business Names
Collegiate Sealers & Paving

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    44177 Lavin Ln

    Chantilly, VA 20152

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    44180 Wade Dr Ste 200

    South Riding, VA 20152 (703) 542-5555 (800) 220-7615

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor quality workmanship of drive way sealing for multiple homeowner pipe stem. Notified company of large cracks not repaired. The company refused to correct deficits. Incorrect billing to single homeowner for drive way sealing for months. Once error was discovered by home owner, numerous attempts were made to correct invoice with final resolution with appropriate corrections.During this process, I received intimidation emails for payment for work that I was not financially liable for. The company was fully aware of the issues involved with the pipe stem ownership but chose to send the invoice to a collection agency (******** ***** *********** ***.) and subsequently I received an invoice for payment for full amount owed. After payment had be authorized and paid by my Home Owner's Association. They were rude and not interested in resolving the issue only payment for poor quality workmanship.

Desired Settlement: Since payment has been received by Collegiate Sealers, repair cracks in pipe stem and contact debt recovery agency to remove any real or potential reference to my credit score at the three major credit report agency. A copy of my updated credit report.

Business Response: We sealed your driveway and pipestem on August 26th, 2013. We attempted on many occasions to collect payment before sending you to a collections agency. You were sent to that agency prior to us ever receiving payment. We attempted to contact the collections agency immediately when we received the payment to remove you from their records.

On April 24th, 2014 you indicated that your Homeowner's Association had received the invoice for the completed work, and that the work had been deemed unsatisfactory. Previous emails had been exchanged in regards to providing an invoice that was acceptable for the HOA, with no mention from you about dissatisfaction with the work. When we attempted to contact the HOA regarding the problems, they indicated that they had not inspected the work. According to the President of the HOA, the homeowner is responsible for payment, and is able to request reimbursement from the HOA upon completion. You, in fact, had told them that the work was not acceptable, further delaying payment.

Once again, we do apologize that the driveway sealcoating was not up to your expectations. There is no repairing cracks when sealcoating a driveway. We do attempt to fill the isolated cracks between 1/8" -1/2" wide. We never make any guarantees regarding the cracks staying flush, as a single layer of crack filler will often sink into the crack and the crack will re-open (This can happen as early as that same day or as late as a few months down the road). We do not offer a crack filling service in which we guarantee complete repair of cracks. Please refer to our policy on crack filling which is clearly stated on all our flyers, estimates, and website.

Our Policy on Crack Filling:

•    We will make every attempt to fill isolated cracks 1/8" -1/2" using the cold pour crack sealer described above.

•    Areas of "spider-web" cracking will not be pre-filled. Asphalt repair is required for those areas.

•    WE CANNOT GUARANTEE THAT CRACKS WILL NOT REOPEN OR SETTLE.

•    During the curing process the material may constrict & settle into the crack, causing the filler to open.

•    We recommend keeping a bottle of crack filler on hand to refill as needed.

•    WE DO NOT RETURN TO REFILL CRACKS THAT REOPEN OR SETTLE AFTER SERVICE.

As you stated, we did have a field manager come out to your property and evaluate the work that you deemed faulty. He arrived on April 25th to complete the evaluation. As we've explained, the cracks were filled as it is outlined on our policy.


7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Collegiate Sealers was hired by my company to seal and stripe the parking lot located at ***** ***** ***** ********, VA *****. A week after the job was completed there was heavy rains in the area. The parking lot became excessively slippery to the point that the vehicles were sliding as if they were on ice. There was a noticeable film of chemical on the lot. The Fire Department was called to examine the property. As myself and the Fire Chief walked the lot you get see our foot prints. This was not in one area, but over the entire lot. It was determine that this was a result of the seal coating on the lot. The next day the lot did not even look as if it had a seal coat done the week before. It appeared as if the coating had washed away. We have used Collegiate in the past and have had good experience, but when I spoke to the manager he was rude and did not seem to be concerned with our issue.

Desired Settlement: We would like to see the job redone. This company has not made any payments. We are willing to make payment if it is completed properly.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,

The owner of Collegiate Sealers & Paving, ******* **********, has met with *** ****** in regards to the work completed at ***** ***** ***** in ******** in October of 2013. The agreement was made in late May, prior to the BBB posting the complaint from **. ******, that Collegiate Sealers & Paving would be resealing the parking lot at the aforementioned address for a sum of $700, to be paid in addition to the original charge for the job. The total sum comes to an amount of $2,624.00.

Collegiate Sealers & Paving will coordinate a date with **. ****** to complete this work. Once completed, Collegiate Sealers will consider this issue resolved pending payment.

Sincerely,


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

I have met with the owner and made the agreement stated in the response.  They have made the effort to satisfy the companies issue.  I thank them for the response.

Regards,

***** ****** 

10/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business was to seal a very short driveway at my home. They did come and enough product was applied to do the first part of the driveway, but as the sealer was applied lower down on the drive it got thinner and thinner and eventually not enough sealer was applied to actually seal the drive. I called the business and sent them a picture, but their response was that's the way it goes. They never promised it would Actually seal the drive.

Desired Settlement: come out and do a quality job.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

                Collegiate Sealers & Paving received a letter from the Better Business Bureau on 7 October 2013 regarding a complaint filed on 1 October 2013 by **** **** of *******, VA.  This letter is being sent in response to that complaint; in an effort to clarify the situation surrounding the work that was completed at *** ****’ residence.

                On Wednesday, 11 September 2013, *** ****’ neighbor made an appointment to sealcoat his own driveway along with *** ****’.  On the day of our appointment with *** ****, the crews arrived to ********** ****** ***** in ******* at 10:26am and proceeded to sealcoat both homes before departing at 12:42pm. 

                At 11:18am on Saturday, 14 September 2013, Collegiate Sealers & Paving received an email from *** **** stating concerns over the condition of the newly sealed driveway.  That email stated the customer’s opinion that the sealer had been applied too thin over some areas of the driveway, and that crack filler had not been used in some instances.  In that email, the customer offered to send pictures of the work for our evaluation.  The email conversation between our company and *** **** can be found at the bottom of this document.

                Our policy regarding unsatisfactory work is to request pictures from customers; if customers are not able to send pictures, we send a manager to evaluate the work.  A member of our office staff, ****, requested pictures of the work from *** **** on Monday, 16 September 2013.

                The pictures we received on Monday, 16 September 2013, portrayed instances of what our company has labeled “spiderweb cracks.”  Spiderweb cracking is defined as an area of the asphalt driveway that exhibits many interconnected cracks, and these cracks are usually very thin.  Spiderweb cracks are not covered under our crack filling guidelines, as can be found at our website (http://sealmydriveway.com/va_residential_seal.html) and the postcards that we send to customers.  ****’s response, after having a field manager evaluate the pictures from *** ****, informed him of our policy regarding crack filling.  He told *** ****, “the areas you photographed are areas of spiderweb cracking, which we do not fill in with our sealing service.  Whether we fill cracks or not, they will always reopen, there is nothing we can do to prevent them from cracking back open.”  This information is correct, as the only permanent solution to cracking asphalt is to repave that area.  **** **** responded that same day stating, “Sorry ****, But filling in cracks is what I call sealing.  Whether they reopen is beside the point.”

                Our understanding of *** ****’ evaluation is that because cracks appeared on the driveway after sealing, that sealer was not adequately applied in those areas.  This evaluation is not correct.  Sealcoating asphalt driveways is not a repair for the driveway, it is simply preventative maintenance to protect the driveway from further deterioration.  Crack filler is applied to cracks that meet our policy, however that product is water-based and therefore it does settle.  This means that even when we apply crack filler it is possible for those cracks to reappear once the filler has settled.

                For the 25 years that Collegiate Sealers & Paving has operated in Northern Virginia we have stood by our work and made every effort to ensure customer satisfaction. We take pride in our ability to rectify situations in which our jobs were not completed to the customers’, or our own, satisfaction.  In this case, the product was applied correctly and to the best of our ability, as evaluated by our field manager.  It is to our great disappointment that we were not able to please *** **** in this case, however the policies which he agreed to by choosing to work with us expressly state our intent when we agree to sealcoat a customer’s driveway.

                                                                                                                      Thank you,

                                                                                                                      ******** *********

                                                                                                                      Office Manager, Collegiate Sealers & Paving

 

(Full email conversation and our promotional postcard can be found in the attached document)

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: the business indicated it is doing nothing.


Regards,

**** ****







Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

                On Monday, 16 September 2013, Collegiate Sealers & Paving received pictures of the recently sealed driveway at ***** ********** ****** in *******, Virginia.  Our office responded to the email from *** **** **** stating that we do not fill the type of cracks that he had photographed;  the cracks shown are hairline/spiderweb cracks which are intentionally excluded from our crack filling guidelines due to the reasons named in this document.

                Our crack policy found at our website and the postcard we send to customers expressly states: “Areas of “spider-web” cracking will not be pre-filled. Asphalt repair is required for those areas.”  Spiderweb cracks are not filled because filling them in generally produces negative/unsatisfactory results.  Cracks that are labeled spiderweb cracks are generally less than .25” wide, which not only falls outside of our crack filling guidelines, but also restricts the ability of the crack filler to settle into the cracks as it is intended to do.  This in turn produces very visible lines, more-so than standard cracks greater than .25” wide, where crack filler was used on the driveway.  We attempt to always leave the driveway in better shape than when we arrive; this would be impossible for us to do if we were leaving outlines of every tiny crack on the driveway.

                We are willing, in the case of *** ****, to offer a free jug of crack filler to be dropped off at the customer’s home for their own personal use in attempting to fill in the cracks on the driveway that do not meet our policy.  However, *** **** should be aware that the cracks he will be filling in will leave very visible black lines outlining the areas afflicted with spiderweb cracking.  We will accept no responsibility for the appearance of the driveway after providing *** **** with a jug of crack filler to fill in the areas of spiderweb cracking.

                                                                                                                      Thank you,

******** *********

                                                                                                                      Office Manager, Collegiate Sealers & Paving

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  However, I did not like that the business manager left a message on my voice mail indicating I had "slandered" the business.  I simply provided the facts of the situation.

Regards,

**** ****

7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service