This business is not BBB accredited.

Collegiate Sealers of Northern Virginia Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (703) 542-5555 View Additional Phone Numbers 44180 Wade Dr Ste 200, South Riding, VA 20152 http://www.sealmydriveway.com/va_main.html View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Collegiate Sealers of Northern Virginia Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Collegiate Sealers of Northern Virginia Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 1998 Business started: 03/16/1988 in VA Business started locally: 03/16/1988 Business incorporated 08/04/1992 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705049804A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Cornicello, President Ms. Michelle Nicolello, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Cornicello, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Michelle Nicolello, Office Manager
Business Category

Paving Contractors Seal Coating

Alternate Business Names
Collegiate Sealers & Paving

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    44177 Lavin Ln

    Chantilly, VA 20152

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    44180 Wade Dr Ste 200

    South Riding, VA 20152 (703) 542-5555 (800) 220-7615

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/31/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used them a year ago to seal our driveway and they did a good job. Unfortunately we had a very poor experience with them recently and had asked them to come and fill some cracks in our driveway, WHICH we explained upfront about the cracks and they said no problem. They DID NOT fix any of the cracks and just sealed our driveway again, which wasn't necessary. Upon trying to speak with the manager and showing evidence of what was not completed, they continued to try and say they completed the job and refused to come out to fix it. Their focus was more about getting paid for a job NOT WELL DONE. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Desired Settlement: refund our payment as the service to be completed was not done.

Business Response:

Mrs. ******* is mistaken in saying they used us a year ago. Prior to sealing the driveway on March 20, 2015
the last time we sealed their driveway was April 27, 2012. Had we sealed their driveway in 2014, when they
called us on March 16, 2015 for service we would have advised them not to seal the driveway again this year
(we recommend every 2-3 years).

Most of our customers are prompted to call us by the flyers we mail to previous and potential customers. Our
flyer clearly states our policy on crack filling:


I don’t think we could be anymore upfront about the limitations of our service when it comes to crack filling.
We don’t want customers to think we can “fix” cracks with sealcoating.

In addition to the policy statement on the flyer, on the day a customer calls to schedules service, they receive an
email the same evening with this attachment:

If the customer chooses not to read our policy on crack filling, I do not consider that to be our fault.
Mrs. ******* also states that they “…had asked them to come and fill some cracks in our driveway, WHICH
we explained upfront about the cracks and they said no problem.” When a customer brings up the issue of
cracks in their driveway on the phone with us, NO ONE in this company would say “no problem”.
She goes on to say, “They DID NOT fix any of the cracks and just sealed our driveway again, which wasn’t
necessary.” We do not offer a service for “fixing” cracks that does not include sealcoating.
If she had her driveway sealed in 2014, it was likely with Academy Sealers, but it was not Collegiate Sealers &
Paving. If that is the case, she should have called Academy to come “fix” the cracks.
Had we not completed the service we advertised we would be happy to re-visit the driveway or offer a refund,
but that is not the case.

Sincerely,


John P****
John P****
Collegiate Sealers & Paving

6/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Collegiate replaced my asphalt driveway in July 2011 all the way to the base (not just resurfacing the blacktop). Before they did the project, I pointed out where the old driveway pooled water and the asphalt had cracked. They assured me this would be resolved since they would remove the asphalt and base to put in a new driveway. Four years later not one thing has changed. The new driveway blacktop is cracking and pooling water in exactly the same location that the old driveway cracked. When I called and emailed to complain, I was told the manager would contact me. That was over thee weeks ago and I have yet to receive a call despite several follow up messages. Furthermore, a concrete contractor at my house for a separate project noted that had Collegiate done a good job grading the driveway, the water would never pool in that location.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix the driveway or replace the driveway so water no longer pools and cracks the blacktop.

Business Response:

May 21, 2015

To Whom It May Concern,

On July 27, 2011, Collegiate Sealers and Paving paved *** ********’s driveway for $2,850.00 (not $4,600.00 as stated in the complaint). In November 2011 we received a call from *** ******** with concerns regarding settling near the concrete apron. Although we do not warranty settling, a manager stopped by to evaluate the situation. When the manager evaluated the driveway, he noticed that due to a poorly poured concrete apron a low spot was forming in the asphalt. This was explained to *** ******** and he stated he understood.

At that time, part of our paving service included a free seal one year after the driveway was installed. *** ******** scheduled his free sealcoating for July 25, 2011. When this appointment was made, no concern regarding the driveway was brought up.

On April 22, 2013, Collegiate Sealers and Paving sealed the driveway and filled the area between the concrete and asphalt at no additional charge. Filling the gap between the asphalt and the concrete is something we do not normally do, however an exception was made for *** ********.  *** ******** was still not happy with the crack filler, so on April 25, 2013, our crew dropped off a jug of crack filler, free of charge, to allow *** ******** to fill the cracks as needed. Each time *** ******** spoke with a manager it was explained that we have done everything we could do to prevent the minor settling. We feel we have done everything within reason to accommodate *** ********’s concerns.

Our records indicate that we had no contact with *** ******** in 2014.

Please note, our estimate clearly states we only have a one year warranty against potholes. It does not cover settling or cracking.

At this point there is nothing more we can do to help *** ******** with the minor settling in his driveway.

Thank you,

Dan C**********

Vice President

Collegiate Sealers and Paving

###-###-####

Business Response:

May 21, 2015

To Whom It May Concern,

On July 27, 2011, Collegiate Sealers and Paving paved *** ********’s driveway for $2,850.00 (not $4,600.00 as stated in the complaint). In November 2011 we received a call from *** ******** with concerns regarding settling near the concrete apron. Although we do not warranty settling, a manager stopped by to evaluate the situation. When the manager evaluated the driveway, he noticed that due to a poorly poured concrete apron a low spot was forming in the asphalt. This was explained to *** ******** and he stated he understood.

At that time, part of our paving service included a free seal one year after the driveway was installed. *** ******** scheduled his free sealcoating for July 25, 2011. When this appointment was made, no concern regarding the driveway was brought up.

On April 22, 2013, Collegiate Sealers and Paving sealed the driveway and filled the area between the concrete and asphalt at no additional charge. Filling the gap between the asphalt and the concrete is something we do not normally do, however an exception was made for *** ********.  *** ******** was still not happy with the crack filler, so on April 25, 2013, our crew dropped off a jug of crack filler, free of charge, to allow *** ******** to fill the cracks as needed. Each time *** ******** spoke with a manager it was explained that we have done everything we could do to prevent the minor settling. We feel we have done everything within reason to accommodate *** ********’s concerns.

Our records indicate that we had no contact with *** ******** in 2014.

Please note, our estimate clearly states we only have a one year warranty against potholes. It does not cover settling or cracking.

At this point there is nothing more we can do to help *** ******** with the minor settling in his driveway.

Thank you,

Dan C**********

Vice President

Collegiate Sealers and Paving

###-###-####

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After receiving a solicitation postcard in the mail, I hired Collegiate Sealers for $56.00 to seal my driveway.  They implied their service would seal the driveway and they would fill cracks.  When I called, I was effectively told to "get lost".  I filed a complaint through ******* County seeking a return of my $56.00.

After several "back-and-forths", Collegiate Sealers maintained their position that I should just "get lost".  

**** ******
***** ********** *****
************ ** *****
###-###-####
********************

Desired Settlement: Return of my $56.00.

Business Response:

November 7, 2014

*** ***** ******

The Better Business Bureau

Ref: ID # ********

Dear *** ******,

Here is our identical response to *** ******’s grievance that he filed with the ******* County.    

1.      It was a discounted rate.  In 2013 our price to seal the driveway at ***** ********** ***** was $66.00.  Our 2013 mailer stated that we would beat any written estimate by $5.00.  He received a flier from a competitor, ******* Sealers, with a price of $61.00.  $61.00 - $5.00 = $56.00.

2.      *** ****** states that it was a ‘lousy’ job.  Not every driveway turns out the same we’re at the mercy of what we start with.  I’m relatively certain that it’s the original driveway to the house, which was built in 1995.  That makes the driveway 18 years old.  It’s a fact that most asphalt driveways in our area last 15 -20 years & sealing / crack filing will only do so much for older driveways. The sealer is not watered down.  *** ****** is making a false statement & he has no idea what he’s talking about.  Our sealer is mixed exactly to manufacturers specs and every crew goes out with the same mix design.  *** ****** failed to mention that the last time we sealed the driveway (prior to the 2013 job) was in 2011.  He complained about that job also.  We sealed it on June 18, 2011 and went back at his request and redid the job on June 25, 2011. 

3.      The fact that Sean left him a voice mail asking if he’d like to schedule a reseal isn’t necessarily an indication that we recognize the poor quality of the original job.  It’s that we recognize we have a customer with expectations that exceed what our service can do for his driveway, but we were willing to give it another shot at no charge ALMOST A FULL YEAR AFTER THE ORIGINAL SERVICE.

4.      With respect to the cracks, could we be any more up front about our limitations when it comes to crack filling?  We tell the customer up front, before they even call us for service.  If they don’t like what they read, we can only hope they will call someone else.  This following  was printed on our 2013 mailer which states:

* WE CANNOT GUARANTEE THAT CRACKS WILL NOT REOPEN OR SETTLE.

* We recommend keeping a bottle of crack filler on hand to refill as needed.

* WE DO NOT RETURN TO REFILL CRACKS THAT REOPEN OR SETTLE AFTER SERVICE. 

 (Please see attachment)

We have done nothing wrong.  We provided the service we advertise, and went back and redid the job at no charge.  *** ****** calls us almost a full calendar year later and expects us to refund his money.  Who does that?  We are not refunding his money and we consider the case closed.    

Sincerely,

**** *****

President

Collegiate Sealers & Paving

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

I unsuccessfully submitted a complaint to ******* County.   Shown below is the response I sent via email to Prescott Barbash in response to the letter they forwarded to you. Collegiate Sealers is clearly an unethical, dishonest business and I demand a refund.

Thanks for the opportunity to comment further.

Let me responds to the 4 points made by Collegiate Sealers in their letter to you dated September 14, 2014 and attached to your letter to me dated October 3, 2014.

However, I am not satisfied with their response and still seek a full refund of the $56.00.

1. The price they quoted was $5.00 less than any other written estimate. That is the offer they quoted on their personalized postcard addressed to me. If they want to say they gave me a discount for accepting the offer printed on their card, then fine but it changes nothing.

2. There are multiple points to be addressed in this one. Yes, it was a lousy job and they did use watered down sealer. As for not knowing what I'm talking about, I have extensive oil refining industry experience including the production and manufacture of asphalt and asphalt emulsions (sealer). I most certainly do know what I'm talking about.

They commented that my driveway is 18 years old. If my driveway is so old and in such poor condition, then why did they offer their service to me in the 1st place?! In other words, if they know their sealer service is inadequate for driveways 15-20 years, then why dothey solicit business in Virginia Run. They should know their product/service is not "fit-for-purpose" and my house is one of the newer ones in this neighborhood.

I filled the cracks and sealed the driveway myself using crack filler and sealer purchased from **** *****. It's been 3 months and not a single crack has opened up.

Also, if they want to travel down memory lane to 2011, remind them that I called them immediately after their crew left an open 5 gallon bucket of sealer in the middle of the street. I'm sure they have conveniently lost the record of this phone call. I saved them hundreds or even thousands in damages in paint repairs had the bucket been hit by a car.

3. It wasn't ALMOST A FULL YEAR WHEN I FIRST CONTACTED THEM and they told me to "get lost" as they weren't going to do anything. Again, I sealed the driveway myself and it looks great with no cracks.

4. I would contend that sending me a personalized cards with my individual quote implies they believe their service is "fit-for-purpose" for my driveway.  

If they are now saying my driveway was "too far gone" for their limited capability service, then they shouldn't have given me a proposal and quote for filling in the cracks and sealing my driveway. That is false representation.

I have to say the tone of Mr. Cornicello's letter concerns me as he appears to be someone with anger issues. If I receive any damage to my property or my family or me are threatened in any way, I will be directing the police his way.

Please let me know if you would like to discuss the matter further.

Regards,

**** ******








7/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor quality workmanship of drive way sealing for multiple homeowner pipe stem. Notified company of large cracks not repaired. The company refused to correct deficits. Incorrect billing to single homeowner for drive way sealing for months. Once error was discovered by home owner, numerous attempts were made to correct invoice with final resolution with appropriate corrections.During this process, I received intimidation emails for payment for work that I was not financially liable for. The company was fully aware of the issues involved with the pipe stem ownership but chose to send the invoice to a collection agency (******** ***** *********** ***.) and subsequently I received an invoice for payment for full amount owed. After payment had be authorized and paid by my Home Owner's Association. They were rude and not interested in resolving the issue only payment for poor quality workmanship.

Desired Settlement: Since payment has been received by Collegiate Sealers, repair cracks in pipe stem and contact debt recovery agency to remove any real or potential reference to my credit score at the three major credit report agency. A copy of my updated credit report.

Business Response: We sealed your driveway and pipestem on August 26th, 2013. We attempted on many occasions to collect payment before sending you to a collections agency. You were sent to that agency prior to us ever receiving payment. We attempted to contact the collections agency immediately when we received the payment to remove you from their records.

On April 24th, 2014 you indicated that your Homeowner's Association had received the invoice for the completed work, and that the work had been deemed unsatisfactory. Previous emails had been exchanged in regards to providing an invoice that was acceptable for the HOA, with no mention from you about dissatisfaction with the work. When we attempted to contact the HOA regarding the problems, they indicated that they had not inspected the work. According to the President of the HOA, the homeowner is responsible for payment, and is able to request reimbursement from the HOA upon completion. You, in fact, had told them that the work was not acceptable, further delaying payment.

Once again, we do apologize that the driveway sealcoating was not up to your expectations. There is no repairing cracks when sealcoating a driveway. We do attempt to fill the isolated cracks between 1/8" -1/2" wide. We never make any guarantees regarding the cracks staying flush, as a single layer of crack filler will often sink into the crack and the crack will re-open (This can happen as early as that same day or as late as a few months down the road). We do not offer a crack filling service in which we guarantee complete repair of cracks. Please refer to our policy on crack filling which is clearly stated on all our flyers, estimates, and website.

Our Policy on Crack Filling:

•    We will make every attempt to fill isolated cracks 1/8" -1/2" using the cold pour crack sealer described above.

•    Areas of "spider-web" cracking will not be pre-filled. Asphalt repair is required for those areas.

•    WE CANNOT GUARANTEE THAT CRACKS WILL NOT REOPEN OR SETTLE.

•    During the curing process the material may constrict & settle into the crack, causing the filler to open.

•    We recommend keeping a bottle of crack filler on hand to refill as needed.

•    WE DO NOT RETURN TO REFILL CRACKS THAT REOPEN OR SETTLE AFTER SERVICE.

As you stated, we did have a field manager come out to your property and evaluate the work that you deemed faulty. He arrived on April 25th to complete the evaluation. As we've explained, the cracks were filled as it is outlined on our policy.


7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Collegiate Sealers was hired by my company to seal and stripe the parking lot located at ***** ***** ***** ********, VA *****. A week after the job was completed there was heavy rains in the area. The parking lot became excessively slippery to the point that the vehicles were sliding as if they were on ice. There was a noticeable film of chemical on the lot. The Fire Department was called to examine the property. As myself and the Fire Chief walked the lot you get see our foot prints. This was not in one area, but over the entire lot. It was determine that this was a result of the seal coating on the lot. The next day the lot did not even look as if it had a seal coat done the week before. It appeared as if the coating had washed away. We have used Collegiate in the past and have had good experience, but when I spoke to the manager he was rude and did not seem to be concerned with our issue.

Desired Settlement: We would like to see the job redone. This company has not made any payments. We are willing to make payment if it is completed properly.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,

The owner of Collegiate Sealers & Paving, ******* **********, has met with *** ****** in regards to the work completed at ***** ***** ***** in ******** in October of 2013. The agreement was made in late May, prior to the BBB posting the complaint from **. ******, that Collegiate Sealers & Paving would be resealing the parking lot at the aforementioned address for a sum of $700, to be paid in addition to the original charge for the job. The total sum comes to an amount of $2,624.00.

Collegiate Sealers & Paving will coordinate a date with **. ****** to complete this work. Once completed, Collegiate Sealers will consider this issue resolved pending payment.

Sincerely,


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

I have met with the owner and made the agreement stated in the response.  They have made the effort to satisfy the companies issue.  I thank them for the response.

Regards,

***** ****** 

10/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business was to seal a very short driveway at my home. They did come and enough product was applied to do the first part of the driveway, but as the sealer was applied lower down on the drive it got thinner and thinner and eventually not enough sealer was applied to actually seal the drive. I called the business and sent them a picture, but their response was that's the way it goes. They never promised it would Actually seal the drive.

Desired Settlement: come out and do a quality job.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

                Collegiate Sealers & Paving received a letter from the Better Business Bureau on 7 October 2013 regarding a complaint filed on 1 October 2013 by **** **** of *******, VA.  This letter is being sent in response to that complaint; in an effort to clarify the situation surrounding the work that was completed at *** ****’ residence.

                On Wednesday, 11 September 2013, *** ****’ neighbor made an appointment to sealcoat his own driveway along with *** ****’.  On the day of our appointment with *** ****, the crews arrived to ********** ****** ***** in ******* at 10:26am and proceeded to sealcoat both homes before departing at 12:42pm. 

                At 11:18am on Saturday, 14 September 2013, Collegiate Sealers & Paving received an email from *** **** stating concerns over the condition of the newly sealed driveway.  That email stated the customer’s opinion that the sealer had been applied too thin over some areas of the driveway, and that crack filler had not been used in some instances.  In that email, the customer offered to send pictures of the work for our evaluation.  The email conversation between our company and *** **** can be found at the bottom of this document.

                Our policy regarding unsatisfactory work is to request pictures from customers; if customers are not able to send pictures, we send a manager to evaluate the work.  A member of our office staff, ****, requested pictures of the work from *** **** on Monday, 16 September 2013.

                The pictures we received on Monday, 16 September 2013, portrayed instances of what our company has labeled “spiderweb cracks.”  Spiderweb cracking is defined as an area of the asphalt driveway that exhibits many interconnected cracks, and these cracks are usually very thin.  Spiderweb cracks are not covered under our crack filling guidelines, as can be found at our website (http://sealmydriveway.com/va_residential_seal.html) and the postcards that we send to customers.  ****’s response, after having a field manager evaluate the pictures from *** ****, informed him of our policy regarding crack filling.  He told *** ****, “the areas you photographed are areas of spiderweb cracking, which we do not fill in with our sealing service.  Whether we fill cracks or not, they will always reopen, there is nothing we can do to prevent them from cracking back open.”  This information is correct, as the only permanent solution to cracking asphalt is to repave that area.  **** **** responded that same day stating, “Sorry ****, But filling in cracks is what I call sealing.  Whether they reopen is beside the point.”

                Our understanding of *** ****’ evaluation is that because cracks appeared on the driveway after sealing, that sealer was not adequately applied in those areas.  This evaluation is not correct.  Sealcoating asphalt driveways is not a repair for the driveway, it is simply preventative maintenance to protect the driveway from further deterioration.  Crack filler is applied to cracks that meet our policy, however that product is water-based and therefore it does settle.  This means that even when we apply crack filler it is possible for those cracks to reappear once the filler has settled.

                For the 25 years that Collegiate Sealers & Paving has operated in Northern Virginia we have stood by our work and made every effort to ensure customer satisfaction. We take pride in our ability to rectify situations in which our jobs were not completed to the customers’, or our own, satisfaction.  In this case, the product was applied correctly and to the best of our ability, as evaluated by our field manager.  It is to our great disappointment that we were not able to please *** **** in this case, however the policies which he agreed to by choosing to work with us expressly state our intent when we agree to sealcoat a customer’s driveway.

                                                                                                                      Thank you,

                                                                                                                      ******** *********

                                                                                                                      Office Manager, Collegiate Sealers & Paving

 

(Full email conversation and our promotional postcard can be found in the attached document)

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: the business indicated it is doing nothing.


Regards,

**** ****







Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

                On Monday, 16 September 2013, Collegiate Sealers & Paving received pictures of the recently sealed driveway at ***** ********** ****** in *******, Virginia.  Our office responded to the email from *** **** **** stating that we do not fill the type of cracks that he had photographed;  the cracks shown are hairline/spiderweb cracks which are intentionally excluded from our crack filling guidelines due to the reasons named in this document.

                Our crack policy found at our website and the postcard we send to customers expressly states: “Areas of “spider-web” cracking will not be pre-filled. Asphalt repair is required for those areas.”  Spiderweb cracks are not filled because filling them in generally produces negative/unsatisfactory results.  Cracks that are labeled spiderweb cracks are generally less than .25” wide, which not only falls outside of our crack filling guidelines, but also restricts the ability of the crack filler to settle into the cracks as it is intended to do.  This in turn produces very visible lines, more-so than standard cracks greater than .25” wide, where crack filler was used on the driveway.  We attempt to always leave the driveway in better shape than when we arrive; this would be impossible for us to do if we were leaving outlines of every tiny crack on the driveway.

                We are willing, in the case of *** ****, to offer a free jug of crack filler to be dropped off at the customer’s home for their own personal use in attempting to fill in the cracks on the driveway that do not meet our policy.  However, *** **** should be aware that the cracks he will be filling in will leave very visible black lines outlining the areas afflicted with spiderweb cracking.  We will accept no responsibility for the appearance of the driveway after providing *** **** with a jug of crack filler to fill in the areas of spiderweb cracking.

                                                                                                                      Thank you,

******** *********

                                                                                                                      Office Manager, Collegiate Sealers & Paving

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  However, I did not like that the business manager left a message on my voice mail indicating I had "slandered" the business.  I simply provided the facts of the situation.

Regards,

**** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Collegiate Sealers of Northern Virginia Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart