BBB Accredited Business since

American Paving Contractors, Incorporated

View Additional Phone Numbers 1657 The Fairway  Suite 102, Jenkintown, PA 19046


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Commercial and residential asphalt paving, seal coating, repairs, line striping, concrete work


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Paving Contractors, Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for American Paving Contractors, Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Paving Contractors, Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 18, 2007 Business started: 04/01/2007 in PA Business incorporated 10/02/2006 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA057015.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Kline, President Mrs. Linda Kline, Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Kline, President
Business Category

Paving Contractors

Method(s) of Payment
Cash only

Additional Locations

  • 1657 The Fairway
    Suite 102

    Jenkintown, PA 19046

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The driveway paving job is not level, thus the water runs off to one side of the driveway and pools in one area of the driveway. The water does not run down the center of the driveway and out into the street as I was told it would when the job was completed. The contract states the company was to provide "a leveling course to fill low areas and potholes". The company sent out two different representatives to look at the problem. Both representatives ran water down the driveway and both agreed there is a problem with the completed work. The first rep indicated the driveway needs a "hot patch" to eliminate the problem. Photos were taken at that time. The second rep also agreed there is a problem, took photos and said he would speak to his boss about the issues. I never received a reply. I called the rep. He told me his boss is not going to do anything about the problem. I left five messages to speak to a manager or owner. I have not received a return phone call.

Desired Settlement: I want the contracted job completed correctly.

Business Response: We are looking into the situation involving this customer to determine what was contracted for this job, how the work was performed and completed, and whether or not the work was done as contracted. We regret that the customer is not happy with the job that he received. We will provide a more complete response within the next day or two. Thank you.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

Dear *** ******,
I have sent you several photos in a previous email depicting the puddling of water after a recent rainfall.
I believe the photos clearly demonstrate the pooling/puddling of water near the end of the driveway. It is our contention that the goal, as stated in American Paving Company's response, was not  achieved.
As I stated in my initial complaint letter, after the work was completed two representatives of the company came out to check the work. Both agreed there was an issue with the water run off, or lack of the water run off.
Again, the goal of the paid for service contract was not achieved.
If you require additional information please call or email me.
Thank you,
***** **********
###-###-####

Regards,

***** **********

Business Response:

April 20, 2015

Dear *** **********:

Per our discussion, American Paving Contractors, Inc. will do the following work free of charge to satisfy your concerns about the job we did paving your driveway last year:

I. Add asphalt material on the left hand side of the driveway to direct water away fromthe grass line

II Add decorative river rock along the left side edge of the driveway 
III. Sealcoat the driveway

We plan to do this work when our sealcoat schedule allows for it, most likely within the next month. We will call you when we are ready to do this work.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,
John K.

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **. ****** ******** (Sales Coordinator for American Paving Contractors Inc.) issued me a quotation for the resurfacing of our driveway at *** ****** ******* ***** in ******* PA. and we agreed to have the work performed on June 19 2014. On June 19th I was called by American Paving Contractors Inc. and told that they would not be able to resurface our driveway due to the weather and that they would be by on Friday June 20th. On June 20th they did not show up nor did they return calls to **. *********' cell phone number or their office number. I left 4 messages with the answering service and left 2 voice mail messages on **. *********' cell.

Desired Settlement: To schedule their crew to perform the work they quoted my for the resurfacing of our driveway.

Business Response: The customer has been contacted, and the work has been completed to the customer's satisfaction. According to our call log, the customer was contacted to reschedule the work date.

We as a company were running behind in our work due to rainy weather and workplace injuries. We have since caught up with our backlogs.
At this time we believe that the customer's needs have been fulfilled. If this is not the case, please let us know, and we will take care of any needs immediately.
Thank you.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Paving Contractors, Incorporated
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)