BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

K12 Inc

Phone: (703) 483-7000 View Additional Phone Numbers 2300 Corporate Park Dr, Herndon, VA 20171 http://www.k12.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company provides educational managment services and curriculum online.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that K12 Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for K12 Inc include:

  • 36 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for K12 Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 36 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

36 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 19 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 30
Total Closed Complaints 36

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 07, 2003 Business started: 12/28/1999 in VA Business started locally: 12/28/1999 Business incorporated: 12/28/1999 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ron Packard, CEO and Founder Mr. Harry Hawks, EVP & CFO Ms. Aspacia Karageorge, Enrollment & Sales Ms. Donna Lea, Information & Training Mgr for Customer Support Ms. Tara OConnell, Director of Customer Support Mr. Howard D Polsky, General Counsel and Secretary Mr. Celia Stokes, Marketing Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Donna Lea, Information & Training Mgr for Customer Support
Principal: Mr. Ron Packard, CEO and Founder
Business Category

Online Education Internet Services Publishers - Book


Additional Locations

  • 2300 Corporate Park Dr

    Herndon, VA 20171 (866) 283-0300 (703) 483-7000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 748-4005(Phone)
  • (866) 283-0300(Phone)
  • (703) 483-7330 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled my sister *****, ****** (student number: *******) on August 28, 2013. This fraudulent school charged me $200 for supplies and forced a down payment of $1,250 knowing that she would only be trying this school. After I learned of this schools dedication to fraudulence I did not want to force her to attend anymore. In September 2013 I tried to withdraw her. She only attended 1 week of this fraudulent school. The school finally sent the withdrawal notice at the end of October. However they have persistently stolen $510 from my account since September 5th and each month after for absolutely nothing. Again We tried this fraudulent school for 1 week but was charged $4000 for absolutely nothing. My sister went uneducated and was later enrolled in a real school. I have filed an earlier report with the BBB and with this fraudulent schools accreditation agencies.

Desired Settlement: I require the $4000 K12 Inc. has charged me for nothing. This school charged a price for nothing. She has received nothing and I was charged $4000.

Business Response:

Dear *****,

We are sorry you are still unhappy with your experience.  We again reviewed your request with careful consideration.  You withdrew the student months after the start of ******’s enrollment and not within the 21 days that would have made you eligible for a refund. Although we rendered services to ******, and complied with the terms of enrollment, we also want to show good faith to our customers.  We will not dispute the outstanding $2,040 owed for enrollment.

We wish ****** success in her future.

Sincerely,

 

****** ****

Head of School

K12 International Academy

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our son **** ********* , who was enrolled in K12/ Michigan ******* ******* ******* on 9/16/13. was to be transferred in to Ohio ******* *******(which I was told was going to be " a simple file transfer" By **** ***********(head of MVCA) on 12/3/13 or start 12/9/13 with his sister *******, had not gone as smoothly as promised. His account had been deactivated, not one person from OHIO charter would return my call, I had to send all the paperwork, which they had already had in his file, myself on 12/6. just to re-start his enrollment process again, once I did, they still had one idea where his file was, I have talked to 17 different people from Customer service, customer service supervisor, PAL liaison, enrollment specialist, no one in admissions have ever returned my calls, and i have called every hour from 8 am until 5 pm Mon-thurs 12/9-12/12 wanting to know what is going on. The issues at hand his **** is an AUTISTIC CHILD WITH AN IEP, and MANY MANY VIOLATIONS ARE BEING MADE!!! I will not stand for this!! I have already contacted the state attorny generals office as well to alert them of this issue.

Desired Settlement: If K!2 can not handle a simple student transfer as they claim, especially with children with an IEP, because when they do and they don't implement it quickly enough they are in state and federal violations and can have legals actions sought against them, which will be my next course of action if this is not dealt with asap!, then they should net be able too. plain and simple. their website is misleading. It says that the head of admisistrations is the one who is to handle the student transfer, yet i was passed along to the teacher, the customer service,, the enrollment specialist, so I withdrew my children and went to another online program, if I was going to have to start the process all over again I might as well have stred it with a whole new school.

Business Response:

K12 Inc is a service provider to a network a schools across the nation. Although there is a common curriculum and base system infrastructure between the schools with a management agreement, each school is a separate entity subject to the laws and regulations of each state. When a family moves between public schools that are using these common tools, in many cases we can initate the request per the parent’s request instead of requiring the parent to complete a full, new appliciton to collect the repetitive information. Once that internal account initiaton process is complete, we then work with the family to obtain the required documents per the laws in the receiving state.

I apologize that the document collection and validation process took longer than expected and believe that steps can be taken to resovle the gaps. I see that you have cancelled your application with OHVA. We would welcome an opportunity to re-engage with your family regarding OHVA enrollment.  Please let us know if you would like to continue with your OHVA enrollment application.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
  Sir or Madam , With all due respect you and your system are full of lies. from the get go of this transfer I was told it would be done so by the home room teacher, and I gave all info to her( His teacher in Michigan MVCA) and was led to believe she was the one to get the ball rolling on this and was told it would done so, then after much headache and doing all the paperwork FOR YOUR COMPANY MYSELF, which included ME have to PERSONALLY take IEP and grade cards and FILES to the PHYSICAL LOCATION here in OHIO in ****** for OVA, the file for the student transfer was still not complete for to the incompetency of your staff. What the issue at hand here is the student has an IEP and with that YOUR company and schools VIOLATED state LAWS since his IEP was ready to go on 11/13/13 and we had his equipment and school materials here at our home but your school system failed and have his file properly transferred, lost it. and deleted  him from their files and not one person knew what do to. And when I looked on YOUR website as to whom was to handle all of the student transfers it states;  HEAD OF SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION HANDLES STUDENT TRANSFERS. Not what I was told when I informed our school and teacher in Oct. when we were going to Transfer in Nov. So, no we do not want to start, a process of enrollment with you, if you would like to discuss this further I would love too as well!, I have all the evidence and notes proving how you FAILED my student with an IEP and will gladly take this as far as I need to.

Regards,

****** *********

Business Response:

Dear ***. *********,

Thank you for taking a moment to speak to me today regarding your school transfer experience. I appreciate the additional information you provided on the phone and want you to know that we are already working to clarify the school transfer process confusion that you described. We regret that your students will no longer be part of the K12 network of schools. I very much hope that your new virtual school choice works well for your family.

****** *********

Vice President of School Operations

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I purchased the independent study curriculum to homeschool my son. My son has attended the public school K12, and private ************* Academy. I was familiar with the curriculum and decided to purchase it when we started homeschooling. However, after the first two weeks I noticed the answers to the assessments were not included or incorrect in the teacher/learning coach manuals. I called K12 about six times and also spoke with staff in sales. Everyone assured me they would help and possibly get me updated teacher/learning coach manuals. However, I have not received any answers from K12 and I continue to have to teach my son without updated materials. K12 didn't tell me I would receive defected manuals. I paid a fee of $390.96 initially then a recurring $72.00 per month since starting school on September 16, 2013. K12 is not honoring the expectation that the answers will be included in the teacher/learning coach manuals. Therefore, K12 is selling a defective product. My preference is to continue with the school and receive updated teacher/learning coach manuals that match the assessments. The courses impacted by the error in the teacher/learning coach manual are Advanced Physical Science, Fundamentals of Geometry and Algebra, Intermediate Literature (Language Skills-GUM) and American History B. All of the courses I purchased are defected.

Desired Settlement: My preference is to continue with the school and receive updated teacher/learning coach manuals that match the assessments. The courses impacted by the error in the teacher/learning coach manual are Advanced Physical Science, Fundamentals of Geometry and Algebra, Intermediate Literature (Language Skills-GUM) and American History B. All of the courses I purchased are defected.

Business Response:

We are so glad that *** ******* has continued to use the award winning K12 curriculum as part of her homeschooling experience.

As part of our cycle of constant innovation, we have enhanced the precision of our curriculum assessments to help our students, parents and teachers better understand what our students know.  Now Learning Coaches may review the correct responses for the assessments as part of their online experience which better responds to the dynamic nature of the assessments.  

We are reaching out to *** ******* to address her questions directly.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: K12 has not contacting me so my complaint has not been resolved. The initial complaint of not having answers to all of the curriculum I received in regards to assessments has not been resolved. K12 responded that they would contact me directly but I have not been contacted.


Regards,

***** *******



Business Response:

K12 spoke to *** ******* on 11/22/13 and explained the dynamic nature of the assessments and the value they bring to the course and learning.  While answer keys  can only be reviewed online at this time, K12 will continue to work through options that over time will  help customers such as *** *******.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: the issue will not be resolved. The answer key is only available after the student takes the assessment. If the student does not master the assessment, the student has to re-take the assessment until mastered. I am a homeschooling parent, the reason for the new method of answer keys does not apply to my student, other homeschooling students or ************* students. I still have to do additional hours to prepare to teach my student. While I had a good conversation with K12, my product issue is still unresolved. The issue will stay unresolved unless I have the answers to the assessment irregardless of when the student takes the assessment. I still will not have the product I expected when purchased.


Regards,

***** *******



Business Response:

K12 spoke to *** ******* on 11/22/13 and explained the enhancement to the courses was a global change made to provide more dynamic assessments that improve the student’s learning experience and as such, answer keys can only be reviewed online.  K12 will continue to work through options that over time will  help customers such as *** *******.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: my complaint with K12 has not been resolved. Although, I received a phone call from K12 management explaining why they are not continuing to include the answer key in courses, the explanation does not resolve my complaint. I purchased K12 curriculum with the expectation the answer keys would be included, however the answer keys no longer match the curriculum. Therefore, I have to spend several extra hours finding the answers to the various questions. K12 misrepresented the product when it was sold and has no intentions of  providing the answer keys. I am still paying for an defective product. The response given by K12 does not apply to homeschoolers.


Regards,

***** *******



Business Response:

K12 understands that the customer would like to review the assessment key answers for all permutations of the assessment via the Learning Coach Guide.  As stated in the previous response, we have enhanced the assessments to be dynamic and each assessment is unique.  Due to the dynamic nature of the new tests, we are not able to provide the answer keys prior to the student taking the test.  However, the answers can be reviewed online after the student completes the test so that the Learning Coach can work with the student on objectives that they need help to master. The new assessments will help the Learning Coach better assess the student’s understanding of each objective, as opposed to the student memorizing the questions and answers. The guide does provide printed answers for sample questions to better prepare the Learning Coach on what the student will encounter in the assessment.   As this was an academic enhancement, not an error, there was not a mass communication on this improvement. K12 is happy to call the customer and provide a refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed my sister up for K12 on a trial basis for 30 days. She started the online school on the 4th of September and stopped attending by the 30th of September. There were many issues we noticed, such as: 1) The teachers can't pronounce her 1st name. 2) The teachers don't teach according to what lesson she's on. 3) The website is difficult to maneuver and teachers spammed her inbox with un relating e-mails. During the trial I figured that K12 was horrible as ******'s primary learning tool and attempted to unroll her. Even though I should only be changed for September, the school refuses to refund October 2013 and 3 months after. The school demanded a down payment of $1250, $200 for her to begin her trial and $510 monthly payments. She was signed up for her favorite classes, had tons of motivation and home tools to do well in the program but she is primarily dissatisfied with her teachers. I am cheated out of $1960 ($1250+$200+$510) right now. ****** is cheated out of her 1st term 7th grade education. Even if I am to enroll her into another school she would have no report card or even zeros as her transferable marks.

Desired Settlement: 1) Accept Refund Merchandise: I offered to return the supplies sent by K12, the supplies are untouched, should be accepted and I should be refunded $200; 2) Change K12 Enrollment Polices for Trial Students: K12 is an online school, and demanded $1250 as a down-payment for my sister to be enrolled. She is unsatisfied with the program and attended less than 30 days. I am also charged monthly $510. $1250 down-payment to start and the $510 monthly charge is excessive for a program she can't and doesn't use; 3) Refund: The policy should be changed and I should be refunded the $1250 we were cheated out of. She didn't attend K12 after 30 September 2013, I should be refunded for October and after. 4) Finish the Job: Since the school refuses to refund my $1960, they should hold private lessons with ****** and directly teach her the education they refused to give her. I expect results for the $1960 K12 cheated me out of. 5) Replacement: Because K12 refuses to teach ****** and refund me $1960 they should find her a replacement school to transfer ****** into which will accept the hole in her Education. 6) Repair: This turmoil has caused a setback in ******'s education and K12 needs to repair this cap immediately.

Business Response:

We have reviewed our files regarding  **. ******* and her sister, ******. K12’s International Academy is an on-line, accredited private school for students in grades K to 12.  The school offers an orientation course for its students, faculty led live class sessions, study halls and other resources for families and students so that students can succeed. Each student has an Academic Coach in addition to their classroom teachers and a Learning Coach of their own choosing.  An Academic Coach assists students, teachers, and Learning Coaches with on-boarding and all non-instructional issues during the school year.  A Learning Coach is a parent or guardian designated by the parent.

The International Academy’s refund policy, which was disclosed to and signed by the student's mother prior to the first day of classes, states that full refunds are available for students who withdraw prior to the start of classes if no materials have been shipped. It also states that partial refunds are available up until 21 days after the start of classes and no refunds are available thereafter.  “Trial periods” are not offered by the school. A refund was first requested on October 27, 2013 via e-mail, more than 21 days after the September 4, 2013 start of classes. Therefore, she is not eligible for a refund. **. ******* did not raise any concerns about the quality of the curriculum, website or teachers until October 28, 2013, after she was informed by e-mail that she had requested a refund well after the deadline.    

We regret that the family did not find the International Academy suitable and wish ****** the best in her future education.

Sincerely,

****** ****, Head of School

k12 International Academy

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/21/13 I made my first contact with k12 to enroll my special needs child who has autism in their program. On their website they clearly state they have a special needs program. We filled out all paperwork, gathered all forms, went to enrollment counseling, spent 6 months back and forth getting everything they requested to get my son started. All the while being told by EVERY person that as their advertising clearly states they "provide tools that allow students to work at their own pace" Today we got a call from their "Special Needs" department to inform us that their "special needs" is limited to kids that can read and write at their grade level and that 3rd graders need to be able to write comprehensive essays and take the STAAR test independently (no accommodations would be made) This complaint is to address their False advertising as well as policies that took countless hours of our time when they could've had their "special needs" department start the enrollment process for real "special needs families" if they had a screening process for what they determine as "special" when in reality they just mean they only want your child if they are a slow learner not actually special or with disabilities. All over their commercial and website learning they advertise "special needs" acceptance. Each person we came in contact with during enrollment said how great this program would be for our "special needs" son with autism only to have him denied access to learning by their "Special Needs" department on 10/22/13....6 full months into the process!

Desired Settlement: Change your advertising as you DO NOT accept "special needs" children by definition. Change your policy you could have saved an entire family a lot of time and money that we will probably never see again filling out your forms and jumping through all of your hoops.

Business Response: K12 does not provide the special education services for the ***** ******* ******* (“****”) and, therefore, does not make or recommend any decisions on whether to enroll students who qualify for those services into that school. **** is a public charter school for which K12, as a contractor, provides the curriculum and designated administrative support.  Special education services are provided by the charter holder, ********** ********* *********.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began working with k12.com in August 2013. They were processing my daughter's enrollment in ****'s High School program. My daughter's name is **** ******** and is to be starting the 11th grade. I spent 4 weeks working with them and completing and faxing in almost 80 forms and documents to complete her enrollment process. During my very first phone conversation I informed the "PAL", their Personal Admissions Liaison, that I was very concerned about getting everything completed on time because our public schools start on August 26th. The PAL replied that we were fine on time, that they start a new group of students every Monday. Regardless, I pushed to complete their list of required documents and conferences as quickly as I could get someone on the phone or internet chat to help me. Their hold time was rarely less then 2-3 hours. There were several documents I had to re-fax to them as one representative was able to see the paperwork in my daughters file but the next representative was not. During the 4 weeks of calls and chats I was never once informed of a deadline for my daughters enrollment. I called in on September 5th and spoke with a PAL because I was unable to get any faxes to go thru on their end at all, I was informed that their fax machines were down and to keep trying the 2 different fax numbers they provided me during a chat conversation. On Friday September 6th I called into a PAL again to make sure everything was completed. During that conversation she informed me that a document a past PAL had emailed me and had me return was the wrong document, she then emailed me the correct one. She did not inform me of a deadline at all, I asked her what would happen next after I faxed this new document into them completed. She said my daughter would be approved and then within a couple days they would have a place for her and would ship out her supplies. Again, she did not inform me of a deadline. I filled it out and tried to fax it in, once again none of the fax number would work. I was finally able to fax it to them on Sunday September 8th. On Monday September 9th I did see that my daughter was marked as approved on her online dashboard that K12 provides. On Wednesday September 11th I saw her approval box included the term "wait list". I started a conversation with a Chat representative. I asked them what the "wait list" meant. The rep told me to disregard that, that it was for their document processors to see. I asked the chat rep what the next step was for my daughters enrollment in ****. The rep at that point told me I had missed the deadline to start school and she may not be able to start with them until the next school year. I explained that I was never informed of a deadline and asked when it was. They said it was on Friday September 6th. I then asked why the PAL did not inform me of that when I spoke with them on the 5th, the rep then stated No, I am sorry the deadline was actually on Wednesday the 4th. Then informed me to call a PAL in regards to this. This morning the 12th I called into K12 and spoke with a PAL again, they did inform me that yes we did miss the deadline. I explained that I was never informed of a deadline at any time. Not during any of the numerous phone calls and chats I had had with K12. Not even when I called in on the 5th and the 6th was I informed that there was a deadline for September 6th. Regardless of this they said all they could do at this point was have my daughter wait to enroll with them in January 2014! They took no responsibility for the lack of communication on their end. Since that call I have gone back and looked over all the enrollment forms they provided me and looked over their full website, none of these things had a deadline for enrollment listed. They in no way shape or form, or during any of very many conversations I had with this company did they tell me about a deadline for my daughters enrollment in the **** Online High School. Not even during the 40 minute conference I had to have with them so they could explain the requirements of the program and how it functions. Because of their mistake my 16 year old daughter looses out.

Desired Settlement: I want them to provide my daughter with the service they stated they were. My daughter should be able to start the online schooling immediately. They need to provide her with the supplies and online access to **** online High School. She will be behind because of this, that will be up to her and us to get her caught up. The time difference is only a few days at this point. They should make an exception for her and let her start now because it is their fault she missed the deadline they did not inform us of by 2 days.

Business Response:

Friday September 6th was the last day for a high school student to be approved for a 1st semester start date.  Due to a high volume of interest, we message that documentation should be submitted by September 4th to allow for document processing.  The Enrollment Team notified families of the deadlines during phone conversations, voice mails and emails.  Please note that our fax machines did not go down during this crucial time. We experienced a high volume of incoming faxes which resulted in a delay for some families in getting the documents through an open port.  

We reviewed ***. ********’s case and found that although she was diligent in sending the documents, many of the documents were rejected due to incorrect or missing information.  On September 5th, we spoke to the parent and explained what was still needed for enrollment approval. The document was then submitted and rejected again on September 6th due to a missing signature.  We left a voicemail for the family on September 6th reminding them of the deadline and that the student was still in need of documentation.  Unfortunately, we did not receive all of the required documentation until after the enrollment deadline.

During this past week, we have left several voicemails and sent emails in an effort to connect with the parent. We wanted to speak to the parent to possibly work out other schooling options for her daughter at this time. Unfortunately we have not been able to reach the parent.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to enroll my son in the Hawaii K-12 one of the required documents was his recent transcripts from his previous , that is a school in the MAINLAND so there's a 6 hr time difference, I also signed a release of his records for HTA to obtain his transcript. to make a long story short Ive contacted k-12 numerous times and was told that my sons previous chool has to give me his transcript 8/29/2013 was the deadline to get this information in now he cannot attend everyday i was going back and forth from HTA to his mainland school and today. Customer service would not directly let me speak to my liaison. i dont understand if for whatever reason there is a document we cannot obtain on our own why cant they assist us especially if we have already signed a release of records. i worked diligently to get his information. students name ***** ******

Desired Settlement: I would like for his to be enrolled at this school because Ive done my part signed the form contacted the school and now i feel like my hands are tied.

Business Response:

The application for the student was submitted by the Legal Guardian on June 20, 2013.  In order for a student to be approved into Hawaii Virtual Academy, all required compliancy documents must be received by the enrollment deadline.  Hawaii Virtual Academy set a deadline of August 30, 2013 for all high school students.

The Legal Guardian was made aware of the enrollment deadline and the required compliancy documents that include an official transcript from the student’s previous school.

Hawaii Virtual Academy does not request documents on the parent’s behalf from the student’s previous school and the Legal Guardian was made aware of this fact on July 15, 2013.

The official transcript from the previous school was not submitted until after the approval deadline on September 1, 2013.   

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

***** ******





Thank you for the response according to the document it clearly says it was submitted on 08/29/2013 @1:38 pm, also the person who sent it from the school has the verification when it was actually sent out , futhermore school was in session back in July it actually didn't start until August 08/21/2013 for this district. There was no way I could get that information in before that date. Sepember 1 was on a Sunday neither school I think would be open.


Business Response: The Executive Director  of Hawaii Technology Academy spoke to the parent to address her concerns. The parent did not complete enrollment process sufficiently  and there was a waitlists for the grade level applied for and admission could not be granted to the student. ***** ***K12  Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: K12 has consistently lost private documents listing my child's personal information. They have failed to enroll my child in school over a week after promising they would push our account through, despite losing our private documents. Additionally, K12 and it's associated ****** ******* ******* has no record of my child completing or participating in the 2011-12 school year.

Desired Settlement: I want my child enrolled, I want to be kept in communication as to what is happening, and I want an investigation placed on how these important documents have been lost, since that is a breech of security matter.

Business Response:

This student was previously enrolled with ****** ******* *******, during the 12-13 school year.  On July 18th, the Legal Guardian (the father on the student's account) verbally confirmed that the student would not be returning for the 13-14 school year and the student was then withdrawn.

On August 5th 2013, a new application was submitted for the student.  When following up with the parent to gather the necessary documentation for approval, it was realized that the student was previously enrolled. 

Because the student was previously enrolled, we are able to transfer some of the required documents from the withdrawn account to the new updated account; however, because the student had been withdrawn, other documents needed to be resubmitted for the new school year.  Please note that the school did not lose the student’s documents.

The Legal Guardian resubmitted all required documents.  The parent spoke to us on 9/3/13 and the school approved the student’s enrollment on 9/6/13.  On the afternoon of 9/6/13, the parent requested that the student once again be withdrawn.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

It's incorrect. Not one person I spoke with over the time period of a month said anything close to the response that was just indicated. 

 
The student had not been withdrawn for the 2012-2013 year. She enrolled AND completed the program for that year. The correct information is that the student was scheduled not to return for the next school year through online indication on her school program's required returning status. This occurred in May, 2013. That status was switched (online) to a "returning" status for the 2013-14 school year in June. No enrollment documents were submitted for the 2013-14 school year until after August of 2013. So to say that you were able to obtain documents from earlier that summer is impossible. 
 
If you obtained documents, you obtained them from the previous school year's enrollment, which is what we requested before sending in the 2013-14 school year's enrollment packet. I spoke with several different representatives in one month's time, at least 9-20 times total. Not one representative ever found previous enrollment/completion for the 2012-13 school year (I asked or inquired on about 4 separate occasions). This is the first time it's been acknowledged. The August 5th enrollment was not a new enrollment for the 2013-14 year, it was the first one. It wasn't until after August 5th, that we began to speak with anyone in the business' customer service department. 
 
Additionally, during the time between August 5th and September 5th, there were no indications made on our account as to previous conversations or what was happening in the enrollment process and what we were trying to achieve. This means that each and every time I called in, I had to re-explain the convoluted situation to a new person, who didn't know what to do. I was only able to reach my assigned PAL once, and that was in the beginning of September. As of August 21, 2013, we were told we only had to submit one more document. The following, week, we were told they only had two documents on file for us. The documents I am claiming you lost are her 2012-13 enrollment documents, not documents between July 18th and August 5th. But during the process of enrollment between August 5th and September 5th, several documents were either missing, or not showing up for the customer service representatives and not one representative could tell us consistently what documents we needed, as they were appearing and disappearing off of our account. I will not note that you did not lose our documents, as this account of my experience with the incompetent Customer Service team shows otherwise. I also spoke with one other parent, who told me she was experiencing the same problems with K-12, after writing a complaint on K-12's Facebook page, which I did because no one was making a point to contact me, and I kept getting ignored on the phone (when *I* called) and was told nothing more than to wait longer and hope enrollment would go through. 
 
We withdrew our enrollment on 9-6-13 because we couldn't wait to hear from this business any longer (two weeks into school), as they only made one phone call to us in the past several weeks, and it was from the Facebook representative, who told us she could do nothing more than to send our information up the ladder and call us to let us know she cared. She was the ONLY representative who tried to maintain a professional relationship with us by upholding her end of communication, even though she couldn't do anything with our account. We enrolled with another online school, Pearson; a more professional service, who contacted us right away on their last day of enrollment (the day we enrolled) and got our student enrolled in less than 24 hours with the same amount of information we originally provided K-12 in August. I withdrew enrollment for our child on September 6th at 9:00 a.m., 20 minutes after an e-mail was sent from K-12, accepting our enrollment. I had not yet received notice of the e-mail and wasn't aware her month long enrollment process had finally been completed. Regardless, we were already enrolled with Pearson as of the 5th, and decided that K-12 was no longer a reliable or trustworthy program. We have since then enjoyed Pearson's online curriculum a great deal better than K-12 and are glad that K-12 was unable to process our information in a timely manner, so that we were forced to find a more suitable program. 
 
I would still like to know where our documents went. Telling us for the first time that you did not lose our documents is unacceptable, after we had provided you over a month to come up with a consistent story. You contacted the student's father, who is no longer interested in dealing with K-12. He let me know he was contacted by you a couple of days ago to flex your customer skills muscles. You are welcome to contact me, instead. I am the one who has had to put in the effort and time, to have it ultimately wasted. 
 
Regards,

***** *******








Business Response:

The Enrollment Services Manager contacted the customer (parent) by phone and addressed her concerns regarding document security and the lack of communication.

The Enrollment Services Manager explained that when a family submits a new, online enrollment application, the enrollment system (portal) automatically  clears all previous  information.  The Enrollment Services Manager also  explained how documents are handled and processed,  and that the documents  were not actually lost. 

 

We are returning all  documents to the parent by mail.  The parent expressed that she was  thankful and pleased with the call and had no further questions or concerns.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a year contract with K12; however, I executed Permanent Change of Station orders on 25 July 2013. When my wife called them to cancel we asked them to cancel services ending in July. Not only did they inform us that we would be charged $94 for August but an additional cancellation fee of $175 as well. I asked them if they had ever heard of the Servicemember Civil Relief Act and they said that they don't honor it. He eventually credited me back the August payment of $94 but would not cancel the service without the $175 cancellation fee.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $175 credited back to my credit card. I was not aware that I would get orders back to the West Coast last Winter when we initiated this contract and I believe that the SCRA clearly covers this but they had no clue of this Federal Act.

Business Response:

The contract for **** ********* was a 1 year contract which required 12 monthly payments of $94.  This contract is for 12 months and there is an early termination fee of $175 if the family decides to terminate before the completion of the full year.  The monthly payments began on January 3rd, 2013 and were collected through the Credit Card that we have on file on the 3rd of each month.  Thus, we had already collected the August payment of $94 on August 3rd.  **. ********* contacted K12 on August 12th to cancel the contract.  At that time, the agent let them know that they would be charged a $175 early cancellation fee.  However, rather than charge the full $175 fee, the agent credited the $94 from the August payment that was received on 8/3/2013 and only charged an early termination fee of $81 ($175 - $94).  This early termination fee of $81 was processed on 8/12/2013.

Given the change in Station Orders for **. *********, K12 is willing to waive the early termination fee.  In addition, even though the cancellation request was made by **. ********* on 8/12 (well after the August payment had been processed), we are willing to forgive the payment for the month of August.  Therefore, K12 will be refunding the Credit Card that we have on file for $175.  This will cover the $94 August monthly fee which was collected on 8/3/2013 and the partial Early Termination Fee of $81 which was processed on 8/12/2013.  Thus, we are processing a refund of $175 effective 8/20/2013

Refunds will be available in the customer’s account within 30 days of processing.  K12 is unable to provide a more specific timeframe regarding the availability of refunded charges because processing times at banks/credit card companies vary widely.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: K-12 Inc, continues to call me and insist on the fact that I have a computer that I never received, I never completed enrollment into the school

Desired Settlement: clear my record I do not have computer from K-12 Inc

Business Response:

Actions taken:

  •  Researched the customer’s account to verify that computer had been delivered and had not been returned (see attachment)
  •  Director of operations reached out to family, twice by phone and once by email (see attachment)
  • Director of operations spoke with the family to resolve exactly what happened and reached an accurate resolution of the customer’s account

Resolution:

  • Computer in question was delivered to the family, but they never picked it up from the front desk at their apartment complex
  • Confirmed through systems research that computer has not been used at any time since it was shipped to the family
  • Contacted apartment complex which no longer has the computer – the asset is lost
  • Family’s record has been closed and documented and family will not be contacted again since the computer is not recoverable

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Email sent to original sales associate that details the issue: Hi ***, I received your message yesterday, but by the time I got a chance to check my messages it was too late to call you back. Honestly, communicating through email works best for me due to the fact that I have two young children at home with me, and every time I get on the phone, they suddenly need my attention. I am not sure how much information was relayed to you by the agent that I spoke with on Wednesday, March 20th, so I will just start from the beginning. I called because we noticed a fourth charge to our account from K12. When you and I had spoken back during the holiday season, you had told me that I had to pay the initial fee of $329.97 and three payments of $72.00. I had relayed the fact that ******** would be starting Kindergarten in the Fall, and that my goal with this program was to simply give her an edge in starting her education. When I called Customer Service to discuss the charge, the agent told me that I had a one year contract with K12, and I am to pay $72.00 a month until one year has passed. Or, I could go ahead and cancel now for a hefty cancellation fee of $175.00. Herein lies my issue: First, I was told, by you, that there would only be three installments of $72.00 after the initial fee. Second, why on earth would I enter into a contract that spans the course of one year when my daughter will be starting Kindergarten four months before the contract expires? Third, I NEVER enter into contracts. There is only one exception to this, and that is for cell phone service. So, had the words “contract” or “agreement” been used anywhere in any of our conversations, then I would have put the brakes on the transaction. I don’t like contracts, they are tricky, and I avoid them at all costs. Unfortunately, it appears that I was led blindly into a contract with K12. Fourth, correct me if I am wrong, but I do not see anything in the emails I had received from you or in the Customer Purchase Agreement that states a one year or twelve month contract. So, going forward, I am requesting that K12 1. refund the fourth payment of $72.00 which was in no way authorized by myself or my husband to be withdrawn from our account. 2. cancel our account effective immediately to prevent any future installments from being withdrawn. 3. that K12 will cease to withdraw any amount of monies from our ***** ***** ******* ****************** * *******, and ending in **** account. 4. perform any communications with me, from this point on, by email, so that there is record of conversations. I sincerely hope that this issue can be resolved easily, and I look forward to hearing from you. Regards, ****** ** ******* *** ************ *** ************ **************************

Desired Settlement: As I stated in the email sent to *** ****** with K12, I would like a refund for $72.00, and I would like to have my membership cancelled to ensure no other billing to our account. I refuse to pay an early cancellation fee, as I was never informed that this was a contract for service. *** ******'s contact information is: *** ****** Enrollment Consultant **** ********* **** *** ******** ** ***** Direct line ************ office ************ ***** ***************

Business Response:

Sr. Director of Enrollment reviewed the customer’s history and verified that she was emailed an Order Receipt outlining the terms of her contract.  After reviewing  the Sales agent notes, the Sr. Director was satisfied that the agent clearly explained the terms of agreement.

Despite K12’s due diligence in providing the correct information, in an effort of good faith and a desire to provide customer satisfaction, we provided a refund and cancelled the contract per her request.

The Sr. Director contacted the customer and apologized for any misunderstanding regarding the terms of her contract.  A refund of $72  (for the 4th payment) was processed on 4/8/13 and the contract was cancelled at no cost to the customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service