BBB Accredited Business since

JTF Business Systems Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (703) 658-2000 View Additional Phone Numbers 5568 General Washington Dr Ste A-203, Alexandria, VA 22312 http://www.jtfbus.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that JTF Business Systems Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for JTF Business Systems Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1997 in VA Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated: 03/16/2010 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matt Matini, President Mr. Andre Matini, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Matini, President
Business Category

Office Supplies Copiers & Copier Supplies Internet Selling Services


Additional Locations

  • 5568 General Washington Dr Ste A-203

    Alexandria, VA 22312 (703) 658-2000

  • 5645 General Washington Dr  Unit R

    Alexandria, VA 22312

  • 5700 General Washington Dr Ste A

    Alexandria, VA 22312

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 444-3299(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Multifunction Printer device from this company in May, I called the office for service on this device because it stopped sending faxes. A technician came out and reported that the motherboard was bad and attempted to replace it, the device still did not fax out. The technician took the device out of the office and came back claiming that it worked in his office, and that the issue was with my office phone line. I had another technician come out and assess the line, there were no issues found, I purchased a new fax machine and it works without issue. Additionally JTF supplied me with a loaner device that also worked in my office, even though the company stated that the telephone line I was using was using has technical issues..

Desired Settlement: My entire experience with this company has been unacceptable, their service technicians were not helpful even though they provided a loaner device it did not replace the functions of the device that was broken so my office was without a high volume printer to handle the numerous incoming faxes and print jobs that my office handles. At this point I would like a refund and would like no further interactions with this company, this is a brand new device, even if there is a manufacturer defect I should not be charged for having a service rep come out to assess the device. Being a medical office there are a lot of procedures that need to be followed in regards to patient records and medical information, my office has lost business and has had to delay or not deliver information in some cases because of a non-working high volume print device. As I stated at this point there is no need for this company to service or replace the device we have purchased a new device, however since this device is less than 6 months old some type of refund should be applied..

Business Response: Date: 10/03/2013

Dear BBB,
We are sorry that **. ****** is not happy with her purchase of the Kyocera *******.

**. ****** purchased the unit without any service contracts. The printer was working fine for the first over 60 days since her first call came a couple of months after the purchase.

Thus this is not a contract issue. Customer did not purchase any service contract through JTF but we did everything possible to fix the problem as we always do for our customers. I was informed by our service manager *** ***** ****** that we dispatched a tech to customer's location and had to replace both main and fax boards. We also provided a loaner while their printer was brought to the shop for repairs even though she did not have any service contract with JTF.

The unit was tested in house fine and we had the customer fax us some document that were faxed back to them. The unit was working fine and was returned to the customer in perfect working condition at no charge.

Our return policy is very clear and was read and agreed by **. ****** before she placed the order with us.

30 Days Return Policy

Only damaged or Factory-Sealed products are eligible for return under our 30 days return policy. You need to report within 48 hours after receiving any damaged merchandise.

At this time we are willing to make an exception and have the unit returned to us for 50% refund as indicated.

Please make sure to have the RMA # ******** number written on the box.

All returns are subject to the following charges.

•    Deducting 50% restocking fee on opened & used equipment.

•    Shipping charges are nonrefundable.

•    Deducting for missing or damaged items.

•    Deducting for any opened supplies.

•    Deducting for damage cause by misuse, improper packing or under insured.

Please make sure the unit is in the original packaging and insured when it's shipped back to us. If you don't have the original packaging you can have it dropped off at our offices in Alexandria or make sure is packed properly and fully insured before shipping. Once the unit is received and checked for damages, JTF will refund your credit card immediately. Please call us if you have any questions.

Regards,

7/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an extended warranty for a ******* FS-******* copy machine ($99) and was promised that all issues would be covered, but when I called with a problem they said it wasn't covered. Once I was made aware that it was not all covered, I asked for a refund on the warranty and they said there is no such thing and a refund would be impossible. After further troubleshooting we identified that the issue was one that SHOULD have been covered under the warranty, but the company said that they would no longer service us because they had refunded the warranty (which they still haven't done, over 30 days later) This unit should be covered under the original manufacturer warranty, irregardless of the extended warranty. Correspondence regarding this matter was rude and hostile. (We can provide copies if necessary) This is in reference to Sales Order No: *******

Desired Settlement: Refund for extended warranty as promised AND service for the unit as required under the manufacturer's one year warranty.

Business Response:

Response to customer statement of problem: The customer purchased a ******* printer with an extended warranty.  The section of the warranty below clearly states that paper jams are not covered under the extended warranty. The customer was aware of this and even said they were going to purchase a service contract.  However, the customer wanted a refund of the warranty.  JTF does not refund a warranty once the equipment is delivered and installed.  JTF did make an exception for this customer due to excessive threats and demands. 

Warranty:

This limited warranty covers manufacturing defects in materials and workmanship encountered in normal and reasonable use and except to the extent otherwise expressly provided for in this statement, and shall NOT apply to the following type of exclusions:

Normal wear and tear, consumables and maintenance parts such as paper jams and misfeed. (Consumable and maintenance parts which are not covered: toners, drums, fusers, rollers, gears).

 Clearly the warranty states paper jams are not covered.

Once the customer was aware that the warranty does not cover paper jams which are normal ware & tear he sent the email below that clearly indicates customer was aware of the coverage that does NOT includes paper Jam.

From: ****** ******* [mailto:****************]
Sent: Friday, April 19, 2013 1:10 PM
To: ***************
Subject: Spam Low SPAM-LOW: FW:

 

As per our phone conversation please cancel the 36 month extended warranty that only covers defective parts & labor. Since I intended to get a service contract and don’t need any other warranty.  Please confirm once a credit was issued. Thanks

JTF responded by telling the customer the warranty cannot be refunded in full after 30 days.  JTF agreed to process the refund for the remaining period in the amount of $74.25 but the customer refused to do so and insisted on JTF cleaning his machine or he threatened to write negative reviews, contact *******, email BBB and other forms of slander, if his demands were not met. 

JTF informed the customer that his threats are not acceptable business practices and JTF would not do business with his organization.

We are more than happy to refund the customer and we have called several times and left messages for him to call us with his credit card information in order to process the refund but he hasn’t called back. 

Please advise.

Thank you

 

                       **** ******

                       JTF Business Systems

                       5568A General Washington Dr.

                       Alexandria, VA 223121

                       ###-###-####

                       T: ###-###-####

                       F: ###-###-####

                      **********************

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This is the first time they are offering a refund....

 
1. The issue should have been covered under the BASIC warranty. (See attached for work order that ******* arranged for under the manufacturer's warranty)
 
2. We would accept a FULL refund (not pro-rated), as the extended warranty was of no use, and did not even kick in yet (as ******* covers the first year)

Regards,

****** *******








Business Response:

Hi *****,I am sorry to miss your call. The customer ****** Szwerin had requested in his last response to get full refund for the warranty and that’s exactly what we did on June 21st, 2013 (attached).That’s the only complaint we have. Please advise.Thank you for all your help.**** ******###-###-#### 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Thank you for your assistance as we could have not resolved this without the help of the BBB.

Regards,

****** *******

1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/20/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service