BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Vista Van Lines, Inc.

Phone: (855) 221-0230 View Additional Phone Numbers 9710 Traville Gateway Dr, Rockville, MD 20850 http://www.vistavanlines.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vista Van Lines, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Vista Van Lines, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Vista Van Lines, Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 04, 2012 Business started: 07/01/2010 in MD Business started locally: 07/01/2010
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (Interstate Movers)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Av SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.protectyourmove.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-2519
The license number is 2099114.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Natan Nisimovich, President Ms. Yvette Corral, Office Manager Ms. Cathy Shaw, GM
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Yvette Corral, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Natan Nisimovich, President
Business Category

Movers


Additional Locations

  • 9710 Traville Gateway Dr

    Rockville, MD 20850 (855) 221-0230 (240) 654-4116

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (240) 654-4116(Phone)
  • (240) 654-4120 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a contract with Vista Van Lines to deliver our furniture. ***** ********** came to our home and gave us an estimate. Our furniture was suppose to be packed and sent on its way from Virginia to California on July 10, the total cost according to our contract was $9547.65, which we paid on July 10 in full. ****** **********, came to our home the day of the move complaining that the estimate was wrong and said that he was going to be fired and asked us for more money. We advised him that according to our contract, we are paid in full, we even reminded him that he informed us that we would take up a whole trailer, since we have so much stuff. When the truck arrived, it had already been to another location, therefore, the whole trailer was not available to us. This being a problem, our belongings were split up, another truck, came that Saturday, July 15 to pick up the rest of our stuff. Our first truck load arrived on time, even though as per our contract, none of our beds were put together and myself and my son had to help unload, as there were not enough man power provided. Through many phone calls and emails, our second shipment has yet to arrive, it has almost been two months, and per our contract there is a guarantee 21 business day delivery, we are far beyond that. Upon contacting Vista Van Lines, we get told, trucks are broken, our stuff is on a wrong truck, the driver is ill, and a list of numerous other excuses. We are asking assistance from you to help resolve this ongoing problem.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have our belongings delivered to us and as well as enough man provided so we don't have to help. I am asking for financial compensation, seeing as I have had to go buy appliances, since mine are not here and I have a large family with children and we could no longer go without a refrigerator and washer and dryer.

Business Response: The customer received there delivery on September 5, 2013. We are very happy that there delivery went well as they filled out the customer feed back form (Reference Form) that the movers did a great job at delivery. I have notified the dispatch in there area and we are proud to have great movers that serve our customers with great service they deserve. On behalf of the company Vista Van Lines we do appreciate there patience and wish them well on there new journey in there new location where they will now call home.Have a wonderful and blessed day.


****** ** *******
Compliance Coordinator

CC: ******* ** ****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because we did not receive our delivery within the 21 business days as per contract.  After our complaint was filed with the BBB our second shipment of items did show up, however, items were missing and things were broken.  Items were destroyed by rat infestation within their storage facility which was acknowledged by the company but nothing was done for reimbursement.  We are still asking for full reimbursement seeing as the company failed to meet their contract obligations.


Regards,

******* *****








Business Response: Delivery for 2nd truck of items was completed on September 5th, 2013 which was 15 days after we received the BBB complaint on the 20th of September, 2013. 

I have read the complaint and have gone over all the specified information. I have also spoken with dispatch, head crew, movers,  and the representatives that were assigned to this move. According to the onsite estimate the customer only had 2165 cubic feet based on the items that were showed to our estimator. The FULL TRAILER has a capacity, between 3,600 to 4,000 cubic feet. Our question is - Why does the company have to provide a low estimate to the customer and lose money later on the move? Do we want to cause a headache and a complaint? The answer is - No. That is why, we are all upfront to all of our customers. About the full trailer that the customer was talking about -  yes if the customer advised our estimator ***** that everything will go with them; ***** will give them right away an estimate of 3,465 cubic feet and not 2,165 cubic feet worth of items. Due to the unexpected items that were added on the move date; we had to schedule and wait for the next truck to be available for the size of their additional items to be picked up in MD. ***** was upfront with ***. ***** and let her know that it will take a little longer for us to delivery the additional items. According to the information that was updated in the system the next day; the trailer was already filled and there was an additional truck needed for pick up of additional items that originally were not going and were going to be sold. The company sent another truck the Saturday after that the initial move date. According to the binding estimate there would be a 10% over the binding estimate that could be charged for additional items not included in the estimate. This was stated to the customer by the onsite estimator *****. The company did not pursue the 10% procedure. According to the list that was provided from the onsite there were many items additional that were not included but, as additional items. As a company we do not want to further upset the customer and the owner decided to just let it go to satisfy the customer. There was a huge loss of 1300 cubic footage additional worth of items which is a huge difference from the onsite binding estimate amount. There was no additional that was charged per request by the owner even though there was a very large loss but, to not inconvenience the customer it was closed with the original amount.


The Second Shipment:
The customer was informed that her shipment would take longer than 45 days possibly, due to the unexpected additional load. The additional load had to be placed on the schedule. There were loads scheduled already, so it may take longer to deliver. The customer stated that it was okay because the items that were loaded in the 2nd truck were all the items that were in their garage anyway and nothing they would need right away. This was told to the movers when they came back on that Saturday for the 2nd pick up and also was reiterated to ****** by ***. *****. On the initial move there was 1,300 cubic footage worth of items that were additional to the initial binding estimate. That initial estimate was revised and as it states on the contract signed by the customer that if there is any additional cubic footage to the binding estimate it can be changed to a non-binding estimate and their may be a 10% additional that can be charged. There was no additional that was charged per request by the owner even though there was a very large loss but, to not inconvenience the customer it was closed with the original amount.


As far as delivery for the second shipment, we did apologize for the delay and the customer was informed that these items would take longer to reach there destination due to the unexpected additional large load. All of the trucks were out delivering. In the notes the trailer did break down for the second items that were sent out, this was the reason why it was delayed longer than expected. The second delivery took longer due to arranging another trailer to transfer the items to another trailer. **. *****'s items were not the only one's in the truck obviously. The company did not ignore their calls and emails. The company assisted the customers and update them in regards to their second shipment. Trucks are always on the road and as an act of god we have no control of a truck braking down and needing some repair. I am not sure where there was a driver sick. I asked ****** the representative handling this move, and she had no clue as to a driver being sick but, that the moves were relocated to another trailer due to mechanical problems.


Special Note:  I have spoken with ****** the representative that spoke with the customer after they received there 2nd delivery.  As ****** spoke with the customer ***. ***** did provide the information and ****** sent her the claim form through the email that was provided initially. ****** also informed the customer that she would need to take photos of the damaged items and to fill out the claim form as best as possible. We have not received the claim form as of yet. I have requested that ****** send the customer the claim form again. In order for the company to submit information on the customer's behalf the claim form needs to be filled out by the customer and complete it with as much detailed information as possible. About the rats, ****** says that ***. ***** mentioned something associated to that and the customer stated that it looked like rats may have bit through a couple of the corner's of some boxes. As far as acknowledging she did not say anything to that reference at all. Customer care does not deal with items in storage.  She let the customer know that she will forward that information and to make sure to notate that on the claim form. There has never been any issues with rats, rodents, etc. and we will investigate that to satisfy any probability.

(Recap)
Specified specific information pertaining to this move:
On April 18, 2013, ***** one of the head crew manager's went to do an onsite estimate. Based on the customer some items were not going to be moved and they will sell them before the move date. On July 10, 2013 which was the move date of the customer and our head crew manager was surprised due to the overage cubic feet. When ***** and the sales representative ****** brought it to ***. *****'s attention she said no items were added and they will not pay for any additional cost for the move. Many items were to be sold but, when ***** came back that night to checked up with the movers and over all move; ***** was surprised because the house was empty and all items were loaded in the truck. ***** came up to ***. ***** and asked her what happened to the items that weren't supposed to go and it's stated that she started to cry. We understand if there was 100 to 200 cubic footage extra, but that was not the case. The BINDING ESTIMATE can be a non-binding estimate if the customer added items and the items were not included at the time of the onsite estimate. A non-binding estimate cannot be a BINDING ESTIMATE. Our company did not make any changes or billed the customer for the difference. We did our part and ***** has been in the moving industry for over 10 years and has not made any mistakes on an onsite estimates in the past. He was the onsite estimator for one of our biggest moves which was a ******** player that was moved by our company and that was 2 trailers full of items. As protocol and policy of the company any over-site this large has to be addressed and the head crew was placed on suspension without pay until all of the documents were fully reviewed. We do not want the customer to feel as if we are blaming them at all. This is why these policies are in place to assure the customer with the comfort that we will look in to what happened initially and take care of it.


****** ** *******
Compliance Coordinator

CC: ******, ** ****


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because we NEVER added any extra items, everything was the same as when ****** came and did the initial estimate.  He DID tell us that we would require a whole trailer. It is not our fault he provided incorrect cubic feet, we walked him through every room, took into the attic as well as the sheds.   We discussed this in great length, seeing as when we moved to Northern Virginia we required a full trailer, why would that change?  I even phoned the week before and spoke with ****** to confirm that we would indeed get a full trailer, she confirmed it.  Our belongings should have never been put in a storage facility to begin with, we never agreed to this, it was never stated in our contract.  Because they took days to get back with us after the initial move out, we had a yard sale and sold many of our belongings, thinking Vista Van Lines was not going to return, seeing as our phone calls were not returned.  We have pictures of our yard sale to show what we were forced to sell.  We are asking for a refund.


Regards,

******* *****








Business Response: **. ******, 

  The company response is as followed:


  We have carefully reviewed the information and at this time there are no further refunds for the amount requested as it states a full refund. The service was performed, picked up and delivery for all the items. There are signed contracts as well. There were numerous discounts given including a 10% Military discount in which 5% for each **. & ***. ***** as an active duty in the military of $1060.85 initially. At this time the only option that remains is to submit a claim and a claim form has been sent out to the customer multiple times. Any claims that are submitted need a photograph of the damaged items and listed on the Bill of Lading that that customer signed and gave back to the driver upon delivery. The claim department will go over all the information between the movers and the contracts list of items that were picked up. 


For customer informational purposes on any moves in the future: 
Binding Estimates: 
 If you add items or additional services are required or requested, the mover may void his original binding price proposal by requiring you to sign an addendum to the original contract. Please read what you are signing very carefully. If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact your consultant. The mover may also require full payment for these additional services at the time of delivery.


Compliance Dept.,
****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company lured me with a low bid, free extras; reps were attentive and sweet as honey. However, after loading my furniture --- holding it hostage, the price the driver quoted me was over 50% higher than the 6 previous written estimates (bogus charges were added) and they could not confirm delivery date. Called several times to complain of additional charges and set delivery date until they "blocked" my calls. After multiple excuses, it took them 9 days to deliver 400 miles. They also demanded final payment before setting up my property and only accepted cash or money order.

Desired Settlement: Desire the company to honor written estimates (6) provided by sale representative.

Business Response: I have read the complaint and have also reviewed the information provided initially by **. ******* and the final outcome on her move date. On the initial estimate there are no boxes not even one. As I spoke with **. ******* I would call her prior to her move so that we can update her list of items and add the boxes to let her know what the amount would change to. When I called her the last 2 times I had to leave her a message. This also includes the confirmation call the day before the move. On the information she stated that she called on the 22nd I did not receive a call that day at all and I remember that everything went great. I always ask the movers how did it go with the customer. I have full faith in the movers they are excellent at what they do . On the 25th and the 31st I have no record of that call either. I checked the caller ID just to be on the safe side maybe I missed her call and no her number did not appear on any of those dates or the days after or prior. I checked all those days thinking maybe she forgot the dates she called but, nothing. I have since left her 2 messages trying to get in contact with her to go over the information. I am truly stunned as to any of this. In the initial estimate she had 42 pieces and 114 pieces listed when they picked up her items basically over tripled the items she gave us originally. I went over the list with the dispatcher to make sure if there is any discrepancies then we will catch it. As we went over the list of items picked up, I noticed a lot of items not list in the original estimate like the box count there were 69 boxes that makes a big difference in the cubic feet. If there were only like 10 or 15 boxes not to much of a difference but, still makes a change from zero to more on space in the truck. As we looked over the estimate the dispatcher also brought to my attention that there was a big discount given on her move as well. I heard she was very  happy on the move date and there were no issues. All documents were signed and confirmed by **. ****** ******* at pick-up and delivery. As I always let the customers know if anything comes up please call us right away. This is the first that I hear that there was a problem. The customer has not called at all to go over information or to inform the company as to anything at all not even the day before her move. I called to confirm her move the day before so that if there were any additional items at that time we can update the list as we had discussed before was the plan with **. *******, she said that would be great when we booked her move. We are actually stunned to hear any of this. There is no way that we can block any calls, this is a business. I have not heard from **. ******* as of this date of 7/03/2013 since I have left her 2 messages. Our goal is to assist the customers in any way possible not take there money as said by **. *******. The charges that are in the estimate are for her additional items and there are many. All the information that is in the disclosures I thoroughly went over that information. That is with all of my customer. In the contract it states and was told to the customer that there is 0-15 business days for delivery which she signed as well. It may not take that long but that is the delivery time and the policy of the company. I am more than happy to assist all of my customers. If I would have heard about anything believe me the dispatcher would have given her a call right away.  There are other representatives and it would be hard to miss any of her calls. Also there have been no voice mail messages at all. I am the one that goes over all of the messages every morning and when I am not here the main manager goes through the messages as well. Sweet as honey is an understatement I am a professional that cares about the customers. I strive as an individual to provide the respect and courtesy the customers deserve and even with an irate customer I will still be as calm and courteous. Not because it's my job but, as a person this is how I am normally " treat others as to how you would like to be treated in return". Moving is not easy and is very stressful at times. The owners motto is treat every move as if it were your own. I am more than happy to provide any information that you need.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1