BBB Accredited Business since

Unified Moving Services LLC

Phone: (301) 386-4049 View Additional Phone Numbers 2013 Beaver Rd  suite B, Landover, MD 20785 http://www.unifiedmovingservices.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Unified Moving Services LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Unified Moving Services LLC include:

  • 12 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Unified Moving Services LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Unified Moving Services LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 15, 2005 Business started: 02/02/2004 Business started locally: 04/20/2004 Business incorporated: 06/25/2004 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 1305395.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mark Zammichielli, Member/GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Zammichielli, Member/GM
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials


Additional Locations

  • 2013 Beaver Rd  suite B

    Landover, MD 20785

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 386-0906(Phone)
  • (800) 406-1649(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to re-open a prior complaint against UMS - #*******. I would like to request BBB mediation to assist me in obtaining monies UMS rightfully owes me following a horribly negative moving experience with their company. 1) UMS did not honor terms of their agreement: a. They did not take good care of my belongings as **** (mgr.) promised me they would, b. They did not arrive in ******* with my belongings 2/1 (backup of 2/2), as **** and **** (ops mgr.) promised, and we agreed to one month prior, c. They hired outside contractors to complete my move, which their website clearly states they do not do, transferred my belongings to another truck at least once, which undoubtedly resulted in additional damage incurred. 2) UMS movers were clearly dishonest with regard to reasons why they were 3 days late with my delivery. When questioned about timing, **** stated they were operating according to some national code of movers - information which was never mentioned nor shared with me prior to this time. Because UMS was 3 days late, I was forced to very abruptly ask my company for time off, which put me in a very uncomfortable position with my employer - with whom I started working with just a few weeks prior. Had UMS been honest and fair with regard to our agreement, this upsetting situation could have been avoided. 3) UMS movers did not deliver several of my belongings I witnessed them loading onto their truck when they packed my apt. in MD - aka UMS movers lost or stole my $500.00 flat screen television, my $500.00 tool caddy, and several additional household items. Total UMS owes me for these items is $1148.00. 4) UMS movers damaged 75% of my belongings during the move, some items family heirlooms, for which I submitted detailed claim forms, photos, and repair/replacement quotes 3/11/14. For damage they caused to my belongings, UMS rightfully owes me $2840. for items damaged beyond repair, and $13,545 for repair of additional items - including bedroom wood floor their movers badly dented upon move-in. 5) I paid UMS movers $2450. to unload my belongings upon arrival in *******. After falling short of their obligation, my spending 5 days in total frustration with regard to their deficient scheduling, lack of commitment, they deducted a mere $150.00 to offset frustration. That reduction in amount due was not the least bit fair in my opinion. 6) UMS hired movers did not complete move responsibilities before they left my home on that day. Upon contacting Operations Mgr. (****) I told to hire local help and they would reimburse me. I submitted an invoice for 3 hours of time/paid $225.00. Despite **** authorizing, they have yet to reimburse me. 7) Despite UMS movers indicating they were going to be helpful despite all my misfortune, I have just received notice they are offering me a mere $315.00 to settle, which is absolutely and totally unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: UMS fulfilling their obligation to me as a paying customer with whom they did not honor terms of their contract, making things right regarding my move, with a reimbursement paid to me in the amount of $17,533.00 - the above stated amount it will take for me to put my home back together again. No one should be put thru such a miserable situation when hiring a company to help with a move. For this outcome, I would like to request the assistance of BBB mediation.

Business Response: Hi *****,

   Never received 2nd complaint notice. This is 1st notice we have received. Our organization has made and offer above our related responsibility in regards to this matter and customer turned offer down. As stated before customer had valuation insurance not full coverage insurance for items that are professionally packed not minimal blanket wrapping. There will be no other offer in this matter. Our previous offer will be rescinded and reduced to reflect actual valuation insurance compensation.
                                                                       Thank you

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Since February 1, 2014, the first day UMS did not honor their commitment to deliver my belonging to my new home in *******, General Manager Mark and Operations Manager **** has been well aware of how unhappy I am with the way they have treated me and handled my move.  For them to respond to this second BBB complaint by suggesting they are not aware of a first complaint is absurd.  I have 3 months of emails back and forth to validate their level of awareness.  No business should be permitted to get away with such pathetic customer service.  
A $315.00 offer to settle when I've submitted insurance claim forms detailing theft and damage to my belongings and property of over $17,000.00 is absolutely unacceptable. 
I find it very interesting that **. ****** with the BBB asked me if my offer to settle came from a particular insurance company - yet, at no time has UMS ever mentioned such a company.  Just as all communication with their company, it is very difficult to trust their communication, as well as their business practice.  I site several more examples of same in the two complaints on file with the BBB.   
I will not give up until I receive fair and just compensation for the hardship I have been faced with due to the irresponsible manner with which UMS handled my move, as well as me as a customer.  Looking forward to next step toward solution.  
Regards,

********* ******








Business Response: We have answered these concerns three times now. Please review previous responses.

1. Delivery was made on time [common carrier delivery to destination despite incredibly bad weather conditions.
2. Customer opted for valuation insurance and minimal additional packing.
3. Customer has already be given $150.00. credit
4. At this point we consider matter closed. Customer has been offered 20% discount off total cost of relocation previously and has rejected offer.
          Thank you

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have outlined every one of my concerns, in great detail, TWICE, in each of my two BBB complaint letters.  Those written explanations reinforce the fact that UMS is not being truthful in their responses regarding my incredibly deficient move I contracted them to orchestrate.  
To address their most recent responses: 
1)  Quite contrary to what UMS declared, my delivery WAS ABSOLUTELY NOT made on time.  It arrived three days after our agreed-upon back up date.  The weather wasn't the best, but, Department of Transportation verified roads were clear for travel the weekend my move was to have taken place.  The driver of the first truck claimed road conditions were too hazardous for him to continue driving the morning of February 2nd, and upon checking video cam at his specific location, we discover he absolutely was not telling the truth.  It was so upsetting, and I was helpless.  UMS General Mgr. and Operations Mgr. did nothing to help my situation that day.   
2) I opted for minimal insurance and minimal additional packing for two very sound reasons: 1) UMS General Manager **** confirmed during numerous conversations what good care UMS takes of its customers, and 2) I have moved many, many times in my life, and have NEVER had a single item damaged, let alone broken, and absolutely not stolen.  I felt with ****'s constant reassurance, there was no need for concern, or additional packing.  
***How does a moving company justify their employees damaging, ruining, STEALING a paying customer's belongings.............then refuse to acknowledge the problems, anger, and financial loss with an almost meaningless financial reimbursement????  
3)  The $150 credit I received from UMS was their response to my requesting a discount for my move, since they moved my date from February 1 to February 5.  That change, their inconvenience, required me to miss work, and put me in a very difficult position with my brand new employer.  I requested a 20% discount, but they only gave me 10%, 
4) To suggest I was offered a 20% discount on relocation is yet another UMS lie.  That absolutely never happened, and I cannot believe they suggest it did!!  The only monies I was offered - beyond the $150 credit I just sited because they missed my delivery date - was the pathetic $315.00 supposed "insurance claim" reimbursement.  Because it was so incredibly inappropriate and unfair, I absolutely declined. 
This case will absolutely not be closed until I receive valid, appropriate, and acceptable reimbursement for thousands of dollars of stolen and damaged belongings.  


Regards,

********* ******








11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was very disappointed at the lack of communication regarding how things would be packed, what would be moved, and the care taken to move our things. We hired a moving company because we have nice things and were worried that we would not be able to securely move everything ourselves. We hired United Moving Services at $135.00 per hour for full packing. When speaking to ****, the General Manager on the phone, he said that we would not have to pack a thing, the movers would arrive with packing materials and take care of everything. The moving company sent one van with three movers. Their packing skills were atrocious. Books were thrown into boxes. Kitchen ingredients like olive oil and vanilla were thrown into boxes. Thankfully, when I unpacked my kitchen nothing was broken. It was just covered in liquid cooking ingredients that had leaked all over. The pages and covers to my books were all bent and mangled. Not to mention the holes left in my graduate diploma. We have a number of custom framed pictures. These were not wrapped properly. Frames were scratched. The frames with sealed paper backings were punctured. The frames were thrown one on top of another, not even wrapped in bubble wrap. They did not move everything. Apparently they do not move plants. This was never communicated to us. I have a number of large potted plants that the movers refused to move. One of the reasons we hired movers was to help with the heavy plants. By the way, I was six months pregnant at the time of the move. I'm not about move house plants on my own. Also, we have a large wind-up wall clock. They would not move the clock. I was actually happy they didn't move the clock because they probably would have damaged it - but they should have told us they don't move clocks with moving parts. Some of my furniture my great grandmother had custom made. It is beautiful antique furniture. It now has scratches and chunks of wood missing. We purposely hired movers because we did not want our furniture damaged. Finally, the movers absolutely destroyed the walls of our new house when they moved the furniture in. Large chunks of dry wall were removed in addition to scratches all over the place. I could go on and on about the condition in which our furniture arrived. The General Manager **** seems very professional and accommodating on the phone. He apologized for the movers. He sent me a form to fill out to settle the damages. All in all, the company is willing to give us $195 for the damage. They explained that they do not cover damage to walls (never communicated to us). Also, they can depreciate the age of furniture when determining how much to settle. Since my great grandmother's furniture is so old, they don't really have to pay anything for it. This is stuff that is supposed to be passed down for generations. Also, the estimate we got from a painting company to repair the scratches and knicks to the walls was over $700.

Desired Settlement: We would at least like the company to pay for the damage to our walls. They have already agreed to pay $195.00. It will cost $774.31 to repair our walls. We would like an additional $579.31. I am not asking for the company to reframe any pictures or attempt to fix or replace damaged furniture.

Business Response: Hi *****,

     We have all ready issued credit for this relocation last week. We have received signed release for from customer 11/04/13. [See below release form stipulations.]
 
 

Completion of receipt of which is acknowledged, I hereby release and forever discharge Unified Moving Services, LLC. the carrier and its agent from any and all claims of whatsoever nature.


We can send you complete copy of release form for credit of $195.00. which represents 14% refund of total cost of relocation.

 

 

            Take care ***** and have a nice day.

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sunday, October 20, 2013, Unified Moving Services, LLC a three (3) men crew arrived at my previous residence in ********, MD at 8:30am. An hour in to the packing and moving process, I noticed the Foreman literally started to throw packed boxes in to the main hallway outside my Apartment door for two (2) the other crew members to transport without regard. Watching this haphazard was truly astonishing. I then watched the Foreman disassemble my Sleigh bed and noticed he did not use any covers or bubble wrap on the mattress top or box spring; and he struggled with the undoing of the bed slats/panel. This seemed unusual, so I asked if I could help or does he plan on covering the slats and he declined. The Foreman and mover number #2 (I don’t have a record of his name. He wore shorts and a knee brace) began to move my sofa out of the living in to the hallway, and I asked if they were going to wrap of cover my sofa with a blanket, because it’s butter soft leather and bruises quite easily. The Forman simply said, “no”. This was my second flag. At 12:00pm, upon arrival at the new residence, the Forman estimated their finish time would be 2:30pm and Invoiced me accordingly before the job or service was complete. The Forman attempted to pre-bill me for services NOT rendered and demanded a credit card before the job was complete. This was an attempt to price gauge and overcharge the customer which is unacceptable. NOTE: the move service wa complete at 1:00pm - not 2:30pm. Once the movers began to unload the truck at my new home in *******, MD furniture arrived damaged beyond what is acceptable to ANY customer. Futhermore, I witnessed the movers drop several boxes and several pieces of furniture throughout the move in to the new house AGAIN, including dropping the soft leather sofa on to the pavement slab in front of my home. Here is the detailed claim submitted to Unified Moving Services, LLC for the following loss and damged items: 1) DAMAGE: Severe damage to the bed paneling slat – a huge gash through the dark wood surface down to bare wood along the entire right panel. Claim amount $80.00 2) DAMAGE: Leather sofa suffered major abrasions and tears on both ends of the couch. Repairs will for this type of upholstery repair is exorbitant. Claim amount $154.00 3) LOSS: Torchiere Floor Lamp w/ Glass Shade is completely broken. The lamp was dropped by the movers causing the glass shade to shatter into pieces and the inner coil to break. The floor lamp is unfixable, and therefore a complete loss. (The glass shade was swept up on the truck bed by the mover). $50.00 4) REFUND /MISCHARGE: The Foreman charge me in the amount of $10.50 for a mattress cover, however the top mattress or box was not covered. $10.50 I am requesting a refund in the total amount of $294.50 to repair and/or replace the aforementioned items.

Desired Settlement: Here is the detailed claim submitted to Unified Moving Services, LLC for my loss and damged items. I am requesting a refund in the total amount of 294.50 as follows: 1) DAMAGE: Severe damage to the bed paneling slat – a huge gash through the dark wood surface down to bare wood along the entire right panel. Claim amount $80.00 2) DAMAGE: Leather sofa suffered major abrasions and tears on both ends of the couch. Repairs will for this type of upholstery repair is exorbitant. Claim amount $154.00 3) LOSS: Torchiere Floor Lamp w/ Glass Shade is completely broken. The lamp was dropped by the movers causing the glass shade to shatter into pieces and the inner coil to break. The floor lamp is unfixable, and therefore a complete loss. (The glass shade was swept up on the truck bed by the mover). $50.00 4) REFUND /MISCHARGE: The Foreman charge me in the amount of $10.50 for a mattress cover, however the top mattress or box was not covered. $10.50 Overall, this was a horrfic experince.

Business Response: Hi *****,

      Have already received release form from customer on 11/05/13. Credit has already been issued. [See below release form clause.]
 
 
 

["Completion of receipt of which is acknowledged, I hereby release and forever discharge Unified Moving Services, LLC. the carrier and its agent from any and all claims of whatsoever nature."]



Total credit $120.00. which represents 16.5% of total cost of relocation. We can provide competed sign release form upon request.



Take care ***** and have a nice day.

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was hired to move my household goods locally here. On 22 Aug 2012, they arrived and moved my furniture as agreed upon. Before the movers left, I did not see the glass for my dining table anywhere. I saw them remove it from the previous house but it did not arrive at my current house. When I asked the movers they acted as if they did not know what I was talking about. They allowed us to search the truck but found nothing. They stated they may have left it at the previous house by mistake. The next day I went back to look but it was not there. I then notified **** at the company via email (he never answers the phone or returns calls - numerous were made, and he sent me a claim form via email on the 21st of Sept 2012. I sent him the claim form back with a copy of the original receipt for the table on October 15th, 2012 which he received and acknowledged via email. On 27 November, I emailed him again about status since I did not hear from them and he promptly emailed back "Check with me next week. Director of operations will be back next week and all minor claims will be signed off on so release form will be sent to you. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving". I gave it a couple of weeks and emailed back again on December 17, 2012 checking back per his request. I then received "Release form will be sent this week. Have a great day my friend!!. This was the last I heard from him. I emailed again on 21 February 2013 and 20 May 2013 with no answers and left numerous voice mails all without an answer. I was giving up but now decided it's the principle not the product and I would like resolution.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to own up to their promises and pay me what is due. I requested $114.71 and feel this is a reasonable price to settle my loss and the run around I received from this company.

Business Response: We apologize for any inconvenience to **. *******. We lost some vital info. due to computer system crash. We have recovered all documentation.  Notes from several conversations were reviewed with **. *******. **. ******* was told he had free valuation insurance of .60 per pound for lost or damaged items. All paperwork was signed at delivery for receivership. No glass table top was found. This was a short relocation. We are a military family owned business and we do several relocation's for military personnel. We stand by our previous offer of $60.00. for courtesy refund amount even though all proper paperwork showed completed delivery. We had no other issues at all with this relocation. We pride ourselves on the [A+] work record we have achieved over the years. So our offer still stands for valuation insurance refund of $60.00. If excepted we will send release form ASAP so we can issue credit.

 
 
 
                                                                   Thank you

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

This offer was NEVER extended to me in any form.
All calls/emails went unanswered.

Regards,

***** *******

12/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service