BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Two Marines Moving

Phone: (703) 623-5288 View Additional Phone Numbers 6021 Farrington Ave, Alexandria, VA 22304 http://twomarinesmoving.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Two Marines Moving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Two Marines Moving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 18, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2007 in VA Business started locally: 11/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The license number is 1830335.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Nick Baucom, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nick Baucom, Owner
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Two Marines and a Truck
Additional Information

According to information provided by the company, the firm changed its name from Two Marines and A Truck to Two Marines Moving, effective August 11, 2010.

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 6021 Farrington Ave

    Alexandria, VA 22304

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 823-2649(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Two Marines Moving on November 1st for a move from my apartment in *********, VA to Washington, DC. Three plastic bins went missing with thousands of dollars worth of purses and shoes. Two Marines Moving has been hostile, unwilling to help, and now won't respond to me at all.

Desired Settlement: I would like an investigation to be conducted and to receive the insurance money if they can't resolve this issue.

Business Response:

  1. We conducted a move for **. *********.
  2. The customer initialed that we completed her move, everything was delivered, and she checked the back of the truck to ensure everything was unloaded.
  3. We received notice from the customer weeks later that there were bins missing upon completion of the move.
  4. We immediately checked the back of the truck, checked the office, and checked the warehouse for the bins.  They were/are not here.
  5. We asked the crew about the move, and they stated that they believe everything was delivered.  
  6. We contacted the apartment complex to ask if they have anything of a similar description, and we were told that they did not have any bins stored, turned in, or found.
  7. Additional insurance/ valuation was not purchased.  The customer selected the free/$0.60 per pound coverage as evidence by the limits of liability, valuation selection, and bill of lading.  Even if we were responsible for the loss of this item our financial responsibility would end at around $18.00.  ($0.60 per pound x 30 pounds = $18)

We ask clients to sign and initial that everything is off the back of the truck because of the amount of confusion that can occur weeks or months after the fact.  My senior dispatcher, ***** *****, will be in contact with her shortly.

 

**** ******
Two Marines Moving

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I was never given the opportunity to check the back of the truck and didn't realize that's what I was signing.  In addition, a lot of these steps they supposedly took required me to call and e-mail multiple times to even get a response and I was never offered any sort of insurance money until today when I was offered $90.00, not $18.00.  I had to check with my building to get them to look for my bins, Two Marines Moving did not do that, and I was told that ***** was checking with my building to view security footage of the loading dock and my  building said they haven't heard from him.  Every time I called ***** he asked me to remind him what we had talked about.  This statement from **** is simply not true and he has never once been in touch with me.


Regards,

********* *********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was completely dissatisfied with the actual time and manning required for the move, the poor explanation of how this happened, and the shockingly underestimated cost as a result. I initially enquired about help packing and moving only the heavy items we own, and was told it would take 3 movers 5.5 hours at a cost of $1100. Given this reasonable quote, I requested an estimate for full packout and move (i.e. everything we owned), and was told it would take an additional 2 people 3 hours, at a cost of $558. Thus the total initial estimate was $1658. It ended up taking 2 people 3 hours the first day, and a crew that grew to 9 people around 9 hours on the second, and the final bill came to almost $3600. This can not be in any way a "good faith estimate." When I spoke with ****, he said that I failed to list everything I owned, which threw off their estimate. He also said he was confused when I said I wanted a "full packout" and thought I only wanted some additional items packed. I'm in the military and have moved 8 times in 14 years...I've never heard a company say that a "full packout" meant anything but "everything you own." I received no response to the feedback that I left on their website (despite a statement from the president that he personally reads everything customers submit), and no returned phone call when called a week later. As a result, I am going through the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I understand that a "good faith estimate" can be off by a bit one way or another. However, the final bill was nowhere near the initial estimate. I don't expect a full refund of the difference, but I think that a refund of half the difference would be appropriate.

Consumer Response: From: ***** ******* <*********************>
Date: Mon, Oct 28, 2013 at 8:44 AM
Subject: FW: You have a new message from the BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania in regards to your complaint #*******.
To: "info@mybbb.org" <info@mybbb.org>


The company against which I filed my complaint has resolved the issue and I am completely satisfied.  I would like to withdraw my complaint.  Please let me know what you need from me to do so.  This is regarding Complaint ID *******Thank you,
***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The moving company "contracted" for a move for my daughter, locked the date and processed a $100 down payment against my credit card. On the day of the move, which my daughter and I both took vacation for, they showed up but would not start moving unless a signed a new set of terms and conditions that significantly limited their liability, for the most part it held them harmless. In addition, they wanted me to purchase move insurance from them which was essentially professional liability insurance to cover damages caused by their movers to the apartment. After repeated discussions with their office including the owner I signed the conditions under protest (they held us hostage and had move items from her apartment) but did not purchase the added insurance. Then after having loaded part of the goods on the truck, they unloaded the truck and said the owner had issued an order to them stop the move. They still have my money. I sent them a settlement demand letter and the owner was hostile, abusive and blatantly false and ridiculous statements such as “the crew that performed your mission claimed that you smelled of alcohol and appeared inebriated upon our arrival. Alcohol misuse & abuse can lead to short-term memory loss, angry outbursts, and impaired decision making. I'm assuming that this might have been a contributing factor to your misconceptions.” I have the original agreement and his email. Please do not contact them without talking to me first. Than you.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to resolve this matter for payment in full of the amount of $5000 (actual itemized damages were greater than this amount). Damages included but are not limited to the deposit paid for the move, purchase of a "****** ******" coupon, which was purchased to obtain moving cost credit, the cost of hiring substitute movers under duress on short notice and at weekend prices to mitigate the damages, lost wages for myself for the eight hours of time I was forced to spend away from work, lost wages for my daughter, forced extra day of rent on the apartment from which my daughter was scheduled to move from, the extra day of rent on the new apartment into which she could not move as scheduled, emotional harm resulting from breach of contract and fraudulent actions plus the extremely hostile response to my claim settlement letter.

Business Response:

Thanks for taking the time to take my call.  See below for my response to ****** ******:
****** ****** hired Two Marines Moving to conduct a moving mission.  We showed up in a timely fashion to complete his move.  Upon arrival **. ****** appeared hostile and uncooperative.  He refused to sign the initial paperwork required by the Department of Transportation.  We tried to resolve the situation, but he would only speak to the President of the company.  I personally attempted to explain that over 10,000 satisfied clients have completed that very same paperwork, and it was a federal requirement before we commenced the move.  **. ****** used threatening language, so I told him that we would refund his $100, offered to call him another moving company, and told him we would not be doing his move.  After hanging up he then lied to my crew, told them the owner gave the okay, and they started to move 2 items. My dispatcher then immediately called the crew, told them to cease operations, and come back to the shop.  My sales manager contacted **. ****** to ensure he got his $100 booking fee back.  There is no resolution to this for **. ****** as we consider this matter closed.

**** ******Founder & President
Two Marines Moving************ (O) 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Two Marines breached our contract for moving my daughter's household furnishings by failing to perform the move. The contract was consummated with the acceptance of the acceptance of the $100 down payment. An attempt was made to force me to sign additional, new and more onerous terms and conditions on the day of the move. These conditions were to either purchase additional valuation insurance or significantly limit Two Marines liability. The insurance was fraudulently represented as extending to the performance of the movers and protection for the dwellings (i.e. to cover potential damage caused by the movers to the residences either the move from or move to). When Two Marines held the move up under duress and protest, I signed the limitation of liability. Subsequently, the movers were contacted and told to return the furnishings to the residence from the truck. I called Two Marines and indicated that this was clearly a breach of contract and was told that **. ****** would not accept my call and that they were not authorized to disobey a direct order from him even if it opened them up to legal liability. Further, he indicated that all he was authorized to do was contact other movers on my behalf. I instructed him to make the calls with the "utmost urgency". To the best of my knowledge NO calls were made and no one from Two Marines called me back. In addition, no one called me to refund my deposit which still has not been refunded.

**. ****** and others misrepresented the "paper work" as being a maximum allowable valuation under federal laws and regulations when they are in fact minimum standards. The facts have been misrepresented by Two Marines and if necessary the resolution will be litigation. This matter is far from closed.

Regards,

****** ******








Business Response: To my knowledge **. ****** was issued a $100 refund.  I'll have our bookkeper double check our records.  Of-course, I'll have a check issued immediately if we discover a refund wasn't issued. 

**. ****** has quite the command of the English language, but appears to use this gift in a dramatic fashion in order to misrepresent the facts.  For example: He claims "an attempt was made to force me to sign additional, new, and more onerous terms and conditions on the day of the move".  If by "force" he means that we presented him with the same piece of paper 10,000+ satisfied clients have signed so that he could select his level of valuation as required by federal law......then he's correct. 

**. ****** was belligerent, threatening, and hostile.  He threatened legal action before we even started this move.  I quickly realized this wasn't a customer that I wanted nor needed.  We offered to conact other moving companies, but received no response from the angry client.   I would also like to point out that 1) I have no obligation to accept **. ******'s call.  2) I did so anyway.

I'll have the $100 refund or absence thereof verified by my bookkeeper. If we have no record I'll make sure to issue a check immediately.

**** ******
Founder & President
Two Marines Moving

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Refunding the down payment that created the contractual obligation 6-8 months after the breach of contract is an insufficient resolution. There continues to be a lack of acceptance that there was a contract in place prior to the presentation of the additional paper work and that failure to perform the services was a legal breach of that contract. While I protested the additional paper work, I ultimately signed it but I was not legally obligated to. The breach of contract by Two Marines created added cost and damages. If these cost are not addressed through mitigation, then I will proceed with litigation. This is not a threat, it is simply a statement of my intent. At this point, I am prepared to allow the legal system to resolve this matter.


Regards,

****** ******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint could fall into a few of your listed catagories. 2 Marine Movers are unprofessional, provide a poor service and for lack of better terms "bait and switch" perspective clients. They advertise "Marine's" on their web-site and emails but their service reflect none of the values we attribute to our Marine Corps or military. Their estimates for pack up, delivery, expenses were not close to accurate. My pregnant wife and I emptied the majority of our closet's, prepared our apartment for the move yet we were not moved in the allocated time frame. We were actually charged for a second U-Haul truck when the initial (first) truck wasn't even 3/4 of the way full, I can provide photo's for proof and we had to load our SUV and make four additional trips to finally complete the move. They broke our 52 inch flat screen television and offered a 60.00 check for settlement based on our signed insurance agreement. Please keep in mind we moved 22 miles! The employee's who moved us continued to speak amoungst themselves about their displeasure with their jobs, their hours and their responsibilities. On move day, there were actually changes in personnel because the initial crew had "other places to be!" Having trust and confidence that a moving company with “Marines” plastered all over kind of gave me piece of mind that my ONLY television would not be damaged during an incredible one day - 22 mile move. I sure do have some comfort knowing my wife and I decided to move our computer ourselves and amazingly enough, it made the same 22 mile trip undamaged. I could not be more disappointed in 2 Marine Moving. As a retired Marine CWO4, I surely hoped for more than just a few guys in old school camouflage to handle my move. Two Marines Moving simply use the Marine Corps name, tradition and values to real in perspective customers only to provide a service that is well below standards expected of 3rd rate company. I have attempted to contact **** ****** but he has failed to respond to my phone calls and emails.

Desired Settlement: I want nothing more than to be charged for the services provided. I should not be charged for a second u-haul when the first wasn't even close to filled. I would like my damaged TV to be replaced! It wasn't damaged prior to the move and to "offer" me 60.00 for a replacement is simply unacceptable and insulting. This company has no values, no integrity and surely takes no responsbility for their service.

Business Response: We have issued a $1,000 refund for this client based on the information that was provided and verified.  It is our sincere wish that every client be completely satisfied with the services provided by Two Marines Moving.  I apologize for any inconvenience.

**** ******
Founder & President
Two Marines Moving

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues