BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Town & Country Movers Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Town & Country Movers Inc. include:

  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Town & Country Movers Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Town & Country Movers Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 19, 1992 Business started: 01/19/1977 in MD Business incorporated 12/07/1977 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 418499.

U.S. Department of Transportation (Interstate Movers)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Av SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.protectyourmove.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-2519
The number is MC 63 919.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Bass, President Ms. Kathleen Hyder, Project Coordinator Ms. Elaine McPeak, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Bass, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Elaine McPeak, GM
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Town and Country Movers, Inc.
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 7650 Rickenbacker Dr

    Gaithersburg, MD 20879 (301) 670-4600 (800) 683-6683

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2016 Delivery Issues
9/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/17/2015 Delivery Issues
7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

I hired Town and Country Movers for my DC to Boston move. As of today, a box remains to be delivered and missing items from damaged boxes remains to be delivered. In addition, T&C has yet to address damaged items from damaged boxes and the damaged furniture. Below is an account of what I've tried to do to resolve this issue.

5/8/15 Town and Country Movers (T&C) picked up my possessions in DC and loaded it into its moving truck. During the pick up and loading process, the movers were dismissive to my requests for special handling of the TV, they insisted on removing the base of the TV which does not come off and even threatened to not move the TV until I called the office to remedy that. I also gave specific instructions for the items that needed extra care, including the ***** ******** hutch table/bench, and was told that everything was under control.

5/16/15 T&C unloaded the items they picked up with the exception of one box (box #64) and several missing items from boxes that were delivered damaged. In addition, the ***** ******** hutch table/bench was delivered with damage and a third of the boxes arrived with damage beyond what is typical from either crushing under the weight of a heavier object or sliding around the moving truck during transit. It looked like someone carelessly tossed the items about and the condition of these boxes supports this view. The ***** ******** hutch table/bench arrived with the most peculiar damage - a piece of the table used as the bench back had an oval-shape piece gouged out of it. This damage doesn't come from being crushed or accidentally struck by a sharp object. It looks like someone took a tool and gouged a piece of the wood out.

5/18/15 I emailed Ryan and Lina from T&C noting that one box remains to be delivered, the ***** ******** hutch table/bench was damaged, and several boxes were delivered damaged with missing and damaged items..

5/19/15 Not having received a response to my 5/18/15 email, I called T&C and was told to email Elaine M*****.

5/19/15 I forwarded the 5/18/15 email I sent to Ryan and Lina to Elaine.

5/19/15 Elaine emailed me back requesting that I complete a claim form (which she planned to send to me later in the day) and that I pay T&C $2,505.13 first.

5/19/15 I emailed Elaine to request information as to how T&C plans to address the missing box, missing items, and damaged items and furniture. I also asked for clarification that the amount she requested was incorrect since I had already paid a $200 deposit, which was to be netted against any amount due. 5/19/15 Elaine emailed me to confirm that the amount due should be $200 less and that she will send me the claims form later in the day.

5/20/15 I emailed Elaine requesting an update as to what is being done to recover the miss box and missing items in order to complete delivery; and clarification as to the requirement that a sales receipt is required for the every item listed on the claims form. 5/21/15 Elaine responded letting me know that it takes 30 days to investigate missing items and that receipts are not necessary.

5/31/15 I sent Elaine an initial inventory list of items in the missing box, missing items from damaged boxes, and damaged items and furniture. I followed up later in the same day with some additional items.

6/2/15 Elaine let me know that there has been no update on the missing box or items and again requested that I pay the balance first before damaged items can be processed. 6/13/15 I emailed Elaine again asking for details on efforts to locate the missing box and to let her know that I would pay once delivery has been complete. I again asked T&C to deliver the missing box and missing items. I also sent over several other items I remembered being in the missing box.

6/17/15 Elaine emailed me to let me know that T&C valued the items in the missing box at $215.95 (after a $500 deductible). For two of the items (rice cooker and in-ear headset), Elaine noted that there were cheaper alternatives. However, upon further investigation, I realized that T&C was able to claim that they they found cheaper alternatives by pointing to a cheaper model of the rice cooker and a used pair of in-ear headset. The first was inaccurate and the latter was unsanitary. Elaine made no references as to the missing and damaged items from the damaged boxes, and the damaged furniture. Instead, she demanded that I pay $2,089.19.

6/29/15 I emailed Elaine with a full inventory list and noted that the value of the items in the missing box and missing item from the damaged boxes comes to $1,237.11. I provided evidence disproving T&C’s claim that two of the items can be found for cheaper. Deducting this amount from $2,305.13 produces a net balance prior to addressing resolution of damaged items of $1,068.02. The value of the damaged items and furniture comes to $2,232, which leaves T&C owing me $1,163.98. Thus, I asked T&C to send me a check for $1,163.98. 7/9/15 I received a bill in the mail from T&C in the amount of $2,089.19. The bill was silent as to whether T&C intends to address the rest of the items from the missing box, the missing and damaged items from damaged boxes, and the damaged furniture.

Desired Settlement: Instead of the $2,089.19 that T&C claims I owe them, T&C owes me $1,163.98. The value of the items in the missing box and missing item from the damaged boxes comes to $1,237.11. Deducting this amount from $2,305.13 produces a net balance prior to addressing resolution of damaged items of $1,068.02. The value of the damaged items and furniture comes to $2,232, which leaves T&C owing me $1,163.98. I would like T&C to send me a check for $1,163.98.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ******:

We have received the above complaint and the following are our comments:

-Moving charges still due of $2,089.19 from the 5/16/15 delivery date.

-She was already credited for claim for missing items in the (1)  box that she claimed missing.

-Furniture damage will we accessed by a repair company.   After payment is received in full, we will proceed with repairs or replacement value, depending on the outcome of the estimate by repair company.  She is requesting full reimbursement for an item that is not damaged beyond repair and is still usuable. We have the right to inspect all damaged items before making a settlement.

-We are waiting for her to supply us with a contact phone number and will provide her with the repair company name and phone number.

We have done all that we can until she pays for her services rendered in May of this year.

 

Respectfully,

 

Elaine M*****

Certified Claims Analyst 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1. The balance due of $2,089.19 only reflects a credit of $215.94, whereas the value of the missing items from the missing box (#64) and the damaged box (#52) total $1,237.11. There is a significant gap of more than one thousand dollars between the value of the missing items and the $215.94 credit that Elaine referenced in the second bullet of her response. I am requesting that Town and Country Movers credit me with $1,237.11, instead of $215.94, for the missing items.

  • In a 6/29/15 email to Elaine at Town and Country Movers, I also provided evidence to dispute her claim that two of the items on my list can be found for cheaper.
  • The first item is the ********* ***** ***** 5.5 cup rice cooker and warmer. Elaine sent me a screenshot of a rice cooker on ****'s website listed for $134.99. When I went on ****'s website, the rice cooker listed at that price was for a different model with the same brand. The model that I lost through the missing box sells for $243 on ****'s website.
  • The second item is the ******* IMAGE S4 In-Ear Enhanced Bass Noise-isolating Headphones. Elaine also sent me a screenshot of this item on ******** listed for $36.95. Upon further investigation, the condition of the item listed on ******** is used. Since these are ear buds, a used item isn't hygienic. I found this particular pair of headphones on ******.com listed for $135.11.
  • I provided screenshots from ****s.com and ******.com as evidence to Elaine on 6/29.
  • I am attaching these screenshots and the full list of missing items in the attached files.

2. In addition to the missing items, the value of damaged items ($132) from damaged boxes (## 52, 53, 54, and 55) and the value of the damaged furniture ($2,100) remain outstanding.
  • First, with respect to the damaged items from damaged boxes, Elaine's response does not include how Town and Country intends to credit me for the $132. I am requesting Town & Country to credit me with $132 for damaged items from damaged boxes (## 52, 53, 54, and 55). Details of the damaged items can also be found in the attached file.
  • Second, with respect to the damaged furniture, while I am open to having the damage assessed, I do not agree with Elaine's statement that I cannot request "full reimbursement for an item that is not damaged beyond repair and is still usable". The furniture in question is an ***** ******** hutch table/bench. It is an antique. Thus, whether it is functional as a table/bench is besides the point. Damage to the antique, even once repaired, will forever reduce the value of the piece.
  • As for the assessment itself, Elaine states that she is waiting to receive my contact phone number to provide me with the repair company name and phone number. If it is just to send the name and number of the repair company, she has my email address and can always send it via email. If she prefers to call with that information, my number is 617-272-5326. Given that I now reside in Boston with my damaged furniture, I request someone located in Massachusetts and who is qualified to make such an assessment.

Thank you for your help in getting Town and Country Movers to respond to me. I am looking forward to hearing from Town and Country Movers.


Regards,

****** *****








Business Response:

We have reviewed the claim again and this is the only solution we have:

We will credit her the additional $206.17 difference between the costs she supplied and what we settled on, leaving her a balance of $1,883.02 still due. After she has paid her balance in full, we will contact a qualified repairman and settle the balance of her claim.

No claims can be settled until payment for services are rendered and she did receive information on this industry wide stadard rule.

 

Respectfully,

 

Elaine M*****'CCA / Manager

 

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company's owner is purchasing phone lists from external companies and having staff calling the numbers to convince people to use their moving service despite some of the numbers (mine) being called are on the national do not call list. This is an unethical and illegal practice and needs to cease and desist.

Desired Settlement: Apologize via a response to the BBB which will be posted to this website and do not contact me again. I also think the owner should ensure any number they call to market for is cross checked against the national do not call registry.

Business Response:

Dear Sir ir Madam:

We have received a complaint from your office  (ID *******).   The first e-mail you sent somehow went to my spam box.   We are responding to **. ****** via seperate e-mail.  Thank you.

Respectfully,

 

****** ******

Manager


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Town & Country Movers Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)