BBB Accredited Business since

SVJ, Inc.

Phone: (215) 836-4235 Fax: (215) 836-4531 1210 E Mermaid Lane, Wyndmoor, PA 19038 http://www.svjmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SVJ, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for SVJ, Inc. include:

  • 10 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for SVJ, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SVJ, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 03, 2003 Business started: 03/23/2003 in PA Business incorporated 03/23/2003 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven W. Jamison, President Ms. Valerie A. Jamison, Vice President/Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven W. Jamison, President
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
SVJ Moving & Storage Company
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 1210 E Mermaid Lane

    Wyndmoor, PA 19038

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well last sept 28th, 2013 I set a move date, issued a deposit 30 days prior to move date! Pick up time was set for 9 :00 am SVJ moving & storage {*****} called and said that there was a previous job that friday, that was not complete. So my move time would have be pushed back a hour, however the movers did not show until 3 1/2 hours later. And when movers show up, with attitude......and after loading up my furniture, the crew decided to pull over for lunch! Mean while i'm paying these guys by the hour to move my belongings.

Desired Settlement: Deposit check..........of $110.00

Business Response:

                                                                                                                                                                                                         SVJ Moving & Storage

                                                                                                                                                                                                         **** * ******* ****

                                                                                                                                                                                                         ********* *** *****

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                          July 3, 2014

 


BBB

****** ******

1411 K Street, NW

Washington, D.C. 20005

 

Re:  ID #********

Customer name: ***** *****

 

Dear **. ******,

 

The above customer scheduled a move with us for moving on September 28, 2013 and at that time we gave him an "estimated" arrival time of between 9 and 11am.  Unfortunately, when that day arrived there were unplanned circumstances that occurred and we called the customer in the morning informing him that his move would be pushed back to the afternoon time slot. 

 

Due to the original estimate being changed, with notice, we sent 4 men instead of the 3 originally scheduled, so we could get the customers move taken care of even more quickly.  We did notice after his move, that there was an error in calculation, therefore, we refunded that amount on September 30th, 2013 and also gave **. ***** a 10% discount at that time. We do not charge the customers for the time the crew stops to take lunch, so **. ***** can be assured he was not charged for that time.

 

We completed the customers move in a timely fashion, albeit to him it was later than he expected, the job was done, and the customer should not expect to get a free move because the arrival time wasn't to his satisfaction.  The customer alleged that we had damaged his sofa and loveseat, which we took care of anyway, by paying a leather company to go to his home and repair the damage.

 

Again, it is unreasonable for the customer to want to get the move done without cost and therefore, a total refund is not due. Besides the fact, as stated above, we have already compensated him with a discount of his charges.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

****** *******

 

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired SVJ to move me on 11-3-13. They finished their move and told me they could not move my couch. They said it would not fit in the elevator and it was too heavy to take the stairs. My neighbors told the movers that there was a larger stairway that people used for furniture. There were 4 movers that would be adequate for the moving of the couch. The movers refused got very irate cursing out my new neighbor calling her an "F" this and "F" that. They left the couch in the alley. I insisted they make a notation on the bill and it said "Couch to tall for elevator and stairway." When I went to my apartment I realized they did not take my pantry and left it at the old address. I called the company the next morning and spoke to *******. She told me she could send the movers the next day but it would cost me $500. I said what are you kidding. She offered to reimburse me $47.50 , 1/2 hour that she felt they spent trying to move the couch in the elevator. The couch was destroyed in the elements from rodents and dampness. It cost me $50 to have it moved. I spoke to another employee named ****. She said she would talk to her supervisor and would call me 11/13/13. I tried to call **** and was told she was busy. I spoke to ******* who now said she was a supervisor. She said I refused to have them come back the following day for an additional $500. When I asked to speak to her supervisor she said I could call the next day between 9am-10am and talk to ***** *******.

Desired Settlement: I feel they are responsible for damaging my couch and replacement, $50 removal fee, and replacement of my pantry. The couch was not new so a fare depreciated value of $100 and $35 for replacement of pantry. Total of $185 would in my opinion would be fair.

Business Response:

To: ****** *********

We have addressed the concerns of the customers complaint and have refunded her charge card in the amount she requested of $185. (see attached)  This is not a normal occurrence for us to get this type of complaint and the young man in question has been fired.  Please see the email below the line, that was sent to the customer and she has acknowledged and accepted receipt of the email, also shown below.

Regards,

****** *******

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

(email sent to customer on 11/22)

*******,

Per our phone conversation, I have credited your charge card ending in **** in the amount of $185.  As I discussed, please accept our apology for the unfortunate incident as that is not a normal occurrence and is unacceptable.  Please know that we appreciate your business and also as we discussed, the individual has been dealt with. 

I am attaching a copy of the refund below, please acknowledge receipt of this email.

Thanks!

****

 

(email received from customer on 11/22)

Confirming receipt of email.

******* ******* [***************************]

Dear ****,

I appreciate your call today. It has always been a pleasure doing business with you.

Thanks again,

******* *******

 

2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues