BBB Accredited Business since

Sprint Van Lines

Phone: (888) 224-9916 11738 Parklawn Dr, Rockville, MD 20852 http://www.sprintvanlines.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sprint Van Lines is a family owned and operated company,
we have many years of experience in the moving business.
Quality and excellence in service has been the foundation
of our success throughout these many years. We pride ourselves
on providing total relocation and storage services to our
local and long distance customers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sprint Van Lines meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sprint Van Lines include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Sprint Van Lines
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 18, 2003 Business started: 01/06/2003 Business incorporated 05/11/2003 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 1191225.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Israel Barda, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Israel Barda, Owner
Customer Contact: John Wilson
Business Category

Movers

Method(s) of Payment
Cash/Postal Money

Order/Credit Card upon approval only. We do not

accept personal checks.
Alternate Business Names
A S International Enterprise Inc Sprint van lines Movers
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 11738 Parklawn Dr

    Rockville, MD 20852

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Sprint Van Lines to move our belongings from one house to another less than one mile down the road. The truck they sent was to small, it sat broken down in our driveway for 4 hours, and their customer service representative was dismissing about our complaint. let alone try and correct the inconvenience it had caused our family in the process. Instead I was told to call back in one week once the owner is back from vacation.

Desired Settlement: All we seek is compensation for four hours ($120 per hour or $600) for additional services provided by another vendor credited back to our credit card.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,


This customer hired Sprint Van Lines for the move because we did such a good job moving her father. Based on what the customer is saying on his "complaint" is that our truck broke down and the truck was too small. There is no complaint here for TWO reason's:

1) We can not control that our truck broke down, we paid the movers for the 4 hours and did NOT charge the customer for the four hours. Also we sent roadside assistance out there even after the truck started (this cost for the moving company of course) just to assure this would not happen again during the move, which it did not, we completed the job. The movers worked VERY hard for the customer and did a great job for sure!

2) Regarding the "small" truck, the truck was a 26 foot truck which is the biggest truck in the moving industry next to the 18 wheeler (trailer) which NO moving companies send the trailer for local moves as they are used to go cross country with like 3-5 moves on it.

The customer did provide the sales rep with a list of items which calculated out to be around 9,000lbs. The 26 foot truck is holding 10,000lbs. We offered the customer to hire TWO 26 foot trucks and 6 men, the customer did not want that.

We see no complaint and asked for this to be removed.

Respectfully,


Sprint Van Lines


6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Sprint Van Lines to perform moving services on 1/26/14. I had agreed with the company ahead of time for a specific mover, who had moved a friend of mine. Instead, a different mover showed up. The movers were extremely rough, throwing boxes, flipping furniture on unpadded surfaces, failing to use moving blankets and tracking dirt into the house. The head mover was also extremely rude, constantly telling me to "Chill out" every time the would damage something. I was then forced to sign a purported release under duress - they would not unload my stuff unless I signed and paid.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

We have a company policy that we can not guaranteed a specific crew, if we are able to send that crew we will but sometimes the crew requested is not available on the same day the customer wants the job done. All our crews are very professional and trained.

Regarding the Head Forman our crews are trained for customer service but if the customer is disrespectful we are not allowed to answer the customer back but we are allowed to inform the customer that we will leave the place. I spoke with the Head Foreman and he stated that he had wrapped all the items and removed the blankets at the destination and if the customer had any damages we have a great customer service for any claims and he is definitely more than welcome to contact us directly.

We do not see any complaint here and if the customer has damages he should contact us to go through our claim's department and we request this complaint to be closed as satisfactory.

1/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged for services that were never provided to me. The company charged me for 6 hours of work & only actually worked for 4 1/2 hours. I asked the Forman, when the job was actually completed if he could adjust the time on the bill & give me back some of the cash & the rest he could keep as a tip. His response to me was, " No... This is MDOT paperwork & can not be altered.". I offered to initial by the side of the adjustments. He said he couldn't allow me to do that. Then I asked for my money back again, he refused... "this is the company's money.". I was like you just told me I had to pay you before you could unload. That we had to sign out & end the contract. He told me that this is how it was done in the moving business. They also did a sleuth of other things... I've attempted to contact the company several times by phone & in writing. They always say someone will get back to me... It has been months... I have not been contacted by a Supervisior.

Desired Settlement: Call... Return of what is owed to me...

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,
 
We did a job for ****** ******* on 10/21/2013. Please see attached Bill of Lading. After speaking with the head foreman who did ***. *******'s move he mentioned ***. ******* insisted to sign the finish time because she was afraid that she would have to pay more money. Based on the contract signed by the customer and the conversation with the head foreman the job took 6 hours + 1 hour for travel time. The customerchose to sign it before they finished the job. Since we do not owe this customer any money we request this complaint to be closed as satisfactory.
 
Respectfully,
 
**** ******

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
I followed the directions of the Forman.  He told me the contract had to be finished out & payment had to be made before he would remove my items from off of the truck.  I was FORCED to pay first.  He told me it would take 2 hours to unload the truck.  He wrote out the contract. My property would have been held hostage if I did not sign & pay.  They did not take 2 hours to unload the truck.  It was only 1 hour.  I asked to amend the finish time on the contract & have my money returned.  The Forman refused claiming he could not alter the time.  I was scammed.  They did not work the time on the contract.  The contract is forged.  It states the estimated finish time by the Forman not the actual work time.  I am owed my money.  I just followed the instruction I was given by the Forman.  I was ripped off.  I was charged for work that was not performed.

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response:

***********************
3:09 PM (21 hours ago)
tome
 
 
 
 
Good Afternoon,
 
In reference to complaint ID #******* we have closed this directly with the customer by sending her $250.00. Should you need further assistance please call me.
 
***** *****

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently moved from Northern Va to *** ***** California for grad school. Both me and my girlfriend planned our trip to the letter, as this was our first time driving cross country and we wanted it to go flawlessly. I researched several moving companies and decided to go with Sprint Van Lines primarily because of there BBB rating. When i called **** answered the phone and bragged about there BBB rating and how they have been in business for over twenty years and still have an A+ rating which made a lot of sense to me. Initially **** and I made a plan to have our thing picked up 10 days before we hit the road. We left two days after the movers, five days on the road and our things should arrive two days after we arrived in sunny *** *****. The plan seemed pretty simple and straight forward to me so we signed on the dotted line. The mis-communication came when the person loading the truck explained the contract to me in away that was confusing. Turns out instead of leaving immediately so it could meet us out in cali , It sat in there warehouse for the entire trip while we were on the road. So needless to say we were upset but what made things worse was the audacity of **** the sale rep who insulted my girlfriend on the phone and chuckled at here tears. Adding to that fact, the head guy in charge ****** gave us the run around for a couple of days and when we finally got him on the phone his customer service was horrible, he acted as if he had no idea what i was talking about and when i explained it to him very carefully so even a child could understand me, he quickly retracted and hid behind the obviously signed contract. As if that were not enough of a nightmare they promised us our belongings on the 23rd which is 10 business days from the signed contract date and it is now the 27th when we finally are getting our furniture.Not only did he lie to us about when we were actaully going to get our things he also refused to compensate us more that $100 dollars , even after we explained that we had spent over $500 because of this inconvenience. His attitude was indifferent and nonchalant as if we would just quietly go away after having slept on the floor with no furniture for 3 weeks. This company has displayed terrible customer service , they have insulted me and my girlfriend over the phone and the only compensation is $100 dollars off that willed be mailed to us at some point in the future he wouldn't even knock off the price at delivery . SPRINT VAN LINES DOES NOT DESERVE AN A+ and any website.

Desired Settlement: We would like at least half of the total due on the contract refunded to us. A good company with great customer service would have offered that much at least. An apology for how **** spoke to my girlfriend. A lower rating on the BBB....

Business Response: To whom may concern:
Sprint Van lines scheduled the move for **. ***** on July 30th, 2013 for pick up. When **** and **. ***** spoke, **** made it clear that the 10 business days that we guaranteed him for delivery would be from his first available delivery date, NOT his pick up date Which **** Clearly stated on his contract that we sent to the customer to Sign electronically before the move (see attached). When the movers arrived to his house on the pick up date which was July 30th, 2013 **. ***** filled out a long distance information sheet which he stated in his OWN hand writing that the first available delivery date is August 9th 2013 (see attached). Sprint Van lines never gave **. ***** the run around. we were 100% honest with him throughout the whole process of delivery, we even advised him the delivery might be late by a day or two and promised The customer to give $50.00 for each business day that we are late, which both the company and the customer agreed on. (see attached) The delivery arrived to ****** ****** CA on August 27th, 2013 which makes us 2 business days late from the guaranteed window for arrival. Like all the other customers as well as the rules from the DOT is that we refund the customer $50.00 for each business days we are late, after the agreement was made between the customer and sprint van lines to pay $50.00 for each business day that we were late the customer received the $100.00 refund and now is complaining to the BBB for $1014.50.  We thing it is very unreasonable to ask for that amount of money for being 2 business days late. We request this to be closed to satisfactory based on the agreement between the customer and the company of $50.00 for each business day we were late. (See attached agreement between the customer and sprint van lines.)

We do not understand why the customer made an agreement withSprint Van lines to accept the $100 and then complaint about the company.  We think its disrespectful for the customer and the company itself. We are willing to solve this complaint when we  receive our $100 back and handle this complaint with the BBB.

4/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Sprint Van Lines on Friday, March 1st and I have to say those guys really did a great job. But, I feel like I was conned or suckered. I got an $474 quote from you guys. The way I budgeted was about $500 to spend. I realized that I had gotten there late (but I explained to the company that I couldn't get my keys until after 9:30am that morning). So, I was late meeting the movers. By the time they had packed up everything on the truck (I wish I had purchased more boxes/tape) because the fee for the additional products was over $250. By the time they had finished they gave me a bill over $850. I was completely shocked by the price. I have used numerous moving companies and have never ever paid anything more than $500. I had done nothing different than with any other company. $800 is ridiculous. Had my mom not been there to cover the additional charges (I'm sure they would have pulled off with all my belongs). I don’t know how on earth I would have paid that price. I am a single parent, I am in the process of getting furloughed and it’s extremely hard out here. I budgeted for $500 no more than $600. I think this is highway robbery on the customers. I will never use Sprint Van Lines again

Desired Settlement: If I had known that I'd be charged for tape and boxes, I would have went to the store and purchased my own.

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

On 2/19/2013 our sales representative **** had spoken and provided all the information to ***** ******. To help our sales provide the most accurate quote we ask the customer's for a list of items and what they may need help packing and based off the information provided from the customer we are able to quote. ***** ****** was quoted 5 hours of labor + 1 hour for travel and she stated everything would be packed and ready to go. On 3/1/2013 we arrive in ** at 9am and had to wait for the customer to arrive and didn't even charge her waiting. The movers at the end of the job charged the customer for the actual time worked of 8 hours + the 1 hour of travel time. Not once in the customer's complaint did she mention that the movers were not working or that they did not do a good job for her. The movers worked 8 hours and not the estimated time of 5 hours because the customer had more items to load than listed as well as needing help to pack. We charged the customer for the packing materials needed and made her fully aware of theses charge. (attached is the packing material price list with the customer signature for agreeing to authorize these additional charges prior to using them)

We even have the packing material price listed located directly on our website. I really do not understand what the customer is complaining about. Everything that happen on the move date was brought to her attention and she authorized, she even said we did a great job. She is complaining she need to pay for the actual time and the packing materials she authorized and she was FULLY aware of theses possible additional charges prior to scheduling her move with us.

We please ask this complaint is closed as satisfactory, the customer paid for the great service she received. I do not see a complaint here.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Although the guys did their job, my opionion of how they did their job was scared by the end result of the pricing.  The complaint is about getting ripped off.  I called twice to change my appointment for the late start on the move.  I notified the company to let them know the rental office did not open up until 9:30am, therefore I wouldn't be back to my apartment til 10:00am.  They insisted that I keep the 9:00am appointment time, them coming over to my place at 9:00am and to sit and wait and charge me for waiting.  I was completely and fully packed.  The things that the movers added/packed are items they would not move without packing them (so I had no choice but to pay for the additional packing from the movers).  I have used other movers in the past and they have never insisted on putting pictures, a computer, a microwave, etc in a moving box.....if I had known this......I would have went to purchase more boxes and tape myself. 

So, the complaint is about the essessive amount I was charged from the company.  I personally think the service was just average.  So, this is why I do not think this complaint should be closed.  I want to notify customers before they sign a contract with you and what to expect with the pricing.

Customer service is shot to ****....thank you Sprint Van Lines.


Regards,

***** ******








Business Response: See Attachment

4/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/22/13 we had Sprint Van Lines move our household goods from their warehouse location to our home address in *********** **. Upon the arrival the foreman on the delivery spoke very little English and did not understand when I asked him questions regarding the paperwork presented. I was to sign all documentation prior to them starting the unloading even though that was already taken place outside. The paperwork was in disarray and I was told to sign the papers quickly and was rushed. After the move took place and days after sorting and unpacking I noticed that I had been delivered boxes that did not belong to me but to someone else who had stored their personnel belongings at their warehouse. I notified the warehouse only to hear that these were my boxes even though the colored identification tags were a different color than mine and also referenced a different# as all of my boxes were labeled and different moving boxes. These boxes have photos, names and financial documents of this family. I have notified the company atleast on 4 separate occasions requesting that they have someone pick up these boxes and complete the delivery on the items that I am still missing only to be replied to again "these are your boxes" and "we've delivered all of your boxes". At this point I know I am still missing my belongings as there were no clothes delivered back to us for my husband, yes no clothes! I also requested that the inventory sheet that was directly signed and marked off by me to be copied and sent to me in an email on 2/25/13 in which i still as of 3/13/13 have not received this information via mail. I was also told via email that their "scanner" was broken and they could not send me a scanned copy. The lack of professionalism in their customer service and management is beyond belief. I would expect a professional company that i have paid up to $16,000 to store my personnel belongings at for 2 years to do everything in their power to keep their customer happy through the entire ordeal and respond quickly and often. I cannot fully review the missing boxes until i receive the actual documentation showing which boxes were not received during the move and can fully file a claim. The is undeniably the worst service i have ever received and I have moved many times being a spouse in the US Army for 13 years.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my property delivered as this was a service that we paid for to have our personal items stored at their location and paid $16,000 to have it properly stored and returned back to us. I don't know what I would like if they cannot find our property at this point, possibly a full refund on the delivery cost.

Business Response:

The customer stated that when my movers arrived she didn’t understand his questions regarding the paper work and was rushed to sign the paper work.

On all deliveries the customer is asked to go over the inventory with the driver and she is asked to sign that she had received everything. The movers would not rush a customer who is paying by the hour.

The customer did sign that she received her items. She did email the company asking for a copy of the inventory sheet that was directly signed and marked off by *** **** and Sprint Van Lines did mail to her. If she received that or not it is very simple to put the inventory in the mail again.

Also if a customer has a claim with the company, as a company we have a claim procedure and instead to file a claim with the company she went to the better business bureau website and filed a complaint. We have emailed the customer the link to our claim’s department that she will need to register and filled out with them and we will be placing another copy of the inventory sheet in the mail and mailing that to the customer.

 

 

 

 

***** *****

Relocation Specialist

Sprint Van Lines

************ **** **** ************

************************

http://www.sprintvanlines.com

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

It's not resolved!

First:  In regards to the driver or head person handling this move and I do have a witness it was rushed and he did not allow me to take my time to review the documents as they wanted to start the unloading immediately. As i was trying to review the documents movers started bringing items into our home without my consent as I am supposed to be taking inventory while items were coming off the truck and this was not happening. There were 5-6 men all pulling boxes and not worrying about ME taking inventory! I do have a witness to this happening.

Secondly: I was TOLD by the head person that I HAD to sign these documents, he could not leave until I did so, I was not given an option whether I was paying on a hourly basis or not.

Third: After two requests on receiving the original or even copies of the inventory sheets (that they couldn't fax or email due to their copier being down since FEB) I have yet to receive them. (See attachment)  They should send them overnight at this point and follow up with their customer to ensure they've received them rather than the customer having to hassle the company.

Fourth:  I still have 7-8 boxes that ARE NOT ours and yes I am working to track down the owner of these boxes. It's very easy to see that on my documentation it states that my tag color was ORANGE and all of these boxes clearly have a YELLOW tag and different ID# that has this persons Social Security number and personnel photos and documentation in them.

No I am not satisfied NOR have I received ANY email with a CLAIM procedure - I would like to see this email you have sent if you have it.

Regards,

*** ****








Business Response: Dear ****

We sent you the inventory copy again via mail to the address we did the delivery to. Also here is the link to the claim's Department and they will take care of the missing boxes or any damages you may to your items. Please follow the instruction and register from claim's link. Should you have further questions please contact the company and we would be more than happy to help you or answer any questions you may have. Have a great day.

 

Good Afternoon,

 

Please click on the link, it is our claim’s department, and register please. Thank you.

 

***********************************

 

 

 

 

***** *****

Relocation Specialist

Sprint Van Lines

************ **** **** ************ ************************

http://www.sprintvanlines.com

 

9/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service