BBB Accredited Business since

Roadway Van Lines Inc

Phone: (888) 878-4922 View Additional Phone Numbers 11742 Parklawn Dr, Rockville, MD 20852 http://www.roadwayvanlines.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roadway Van Lines Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Roadway Van Lines Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Roadway Van Lines Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 2008 Business started: 02/02/2008 in MD Business started locally: 02/02/2008 Business incorporated 02/02/2008 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 1742475 not authorized.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tasha O'Neil, Translocation Engineer Ms. Lee Spencer, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tasha O'Neil, Translocation Engineer
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 11742 Parklawn Dr

    Rockville, MD 20852

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2016 Delivery Issues
9/11/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Roadway to transport my house items cross country. I was assured everything would reach the destination. Upon receiving my items, our most important item, a filing cabinet label Important documents was missing. This includes marriage certificate, birth certificates among other very important documents. I saw the cabinet on the delivery truck, so I know it made it to the location but was never unloaded. Also, Roadway knows that I am also in possession of 4 boxes that belong to another customer that was also wrongly delivered to me. When I called them they said someone would be here by the end of the week to pick up the boxes. It has been a month and I haven't heard from them. I am currently paying for a storage unit to hold the boxes for pickup. On top of all of this, most of my furniture delivered has been damaged and the boxes look like they have been in a war zone. Items inside of the boxes are destroyed. This was the last communication that I received a month ago and nothing since: Also there were other customer's on the truck with your items we as well have yet to hear back from ONE more of them. It may have been delivered there. I will let you know as soon as I know.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take the time to actually locate my missing item and also pick up the other items belonging to another customer. The fact that the other persons items have not been picked up nor have I been contacted about them, leads me to believe that my item is also being treated in the same regard. I would like to be reimbursed for the 2 months I have had to store the other customer's belongings. If my item cannot be located then I would like partial to full reimbursement for the job.

Business Response: To whom is may concern,


This customer did hire Roadway Van Lines to complete his cross country move. 

When the customer hire a moving company he was present with an option to receive a full replacement value insurance, the customer did not purchase that and continued with the contracted $0.60 per pound per article so regarding any damages the customer was sent a link to register the claim through our claims department.

Regarding the missing file cabinet, I called every customer that was on the truck with *** ********* and no one is claiming they have a cabinet that does not belong to him and the cabinet is not on the truck nor in the warehouse. Therefore we would ask the customer to file this in the claim as well. *** ********* mentions there are important documents inside.........ALL our contracts CLEARLY state the following:

The mover can not be held responsible for items left at the residence after loading. it is your responsibility to make sure that nothing is left behind. Please make sure that you check your closets, cabinets, drawers, attics, basement, garage and any outside areas before the driver leaves the pickup. Do not ship bank bills, coins, currency, securities, deeds, notes, drafts, valuable papers of any kind, jewelry, postage or revenue stamps, stamp collections, precious stones or precious metals. These items are not covered by any security option.

I have also pasted his electronic signature which indicates the customer understands and agrees to the terms and conditions.

Electronic Signature
I hereby confirm my signature on the following document:
Name: ****** *********
Email: **********@*****.com
Signed Date: Friday, 05/22/2015 - 13:02:14 EST.
IP Address: *************
Internet Browser: ******

We request the customer to work with the CSI claims department for the reimbursement contracted.




Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I received an email from the van line stating that the customer who might have my stuff is in another country and cannot be reached. That is a blatent lie stating that they talked to all of the other customers. Either that, or they are lying about the customer being out of the country try and unreachable. I've attached the email here.


I am sorry I have not been back in touch regarding the missing items as we can not locate it. That customer never till this second has responded to us. The sales person whom booked the customer said they told her they would be leaving the country so I am not sure when or if I will ever hear from them. 
Regards,

****** *********








Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
 Once I receive the payment from claims and more information about my cabinet, then I will close this out. 

Regards,

****** *********








Business Response: To whom it may concern,


We sent the customer the claims link to begin the process. Thanks.

8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 4th time hiring a moving company, first time needing to ship my items across the US. I feel like I was scammed. - Items Moved: Queen Bed, Futon, small patio furniture set (2 chairs and a tiny end table), and 25 boxes. I was quoted for a Queen Bed, Futon, and 30 boxes @ 1,275.30. The Pickup Team: The guy in charge of the pickup movers was not fair and kind of sketchy. The pickup team ended up billing me 2,360. Nearly double my quote. The only thing added was the small patio furniture set. When this was explained to me, quickly and confusingly, they were half way through moving my stuff out and I needed it moved that day. Otherwise I would have told them to leave and I`d find a different company. I was charged 150 for stairs at the destination? I don`t know how. I live on the first floor and we came in through the rear garage. There were no stairs at either location, just going one floor up in an elevator at the destination. He also charged me 372 for packing material ordered. This is when he said he couldn`t move a number of things in the apartment across the country without them being boxed (large black bags of clothing, a portable fireplace, large computer, stuff that was busting out of the boxes he put them in). He favored wardrobe boxes (of course, the most expensive ones) for all but one box they provided. At first, I thought he was doing a good packaging job by using as much tape as humanly possible (it was an unnecessary amount) to secure the boxes. Then I realized I was charged for those as well. I also caught him throwing some of my smaller boxes into the wardrobe boxes to take up more space. The guy in charge also harassed me about a tip 3 times towards the end of the move, which was super rude and unprofessional. I did tip anyways, albeit less that I had originally planned, because the other two guys who were actually doing all the work did a decent job. I was also charged a 200 fuel fee, but I don`t know why. That was not explained to me. He also added 114 Cu. Ft to the order for the 2 chairs and small end table for the balcony set. That made absolutely no sense considering the rest of the stuff took up only 250 Cu. Ft total (the bed, futon, and boxes). I felt taken advantage of and financially violated by this guy. The Delivery Team: They were more fair and explained the additional money they billed for long carry (175 tacked onto the 2360, understandable though, way better than the pick up additional cost of 1,084.70 from my quote). Although the office could never reach the driver in order to get his location/status. The office supplied me with the drivers number, but he never picked up and his voicemail box was full. The office was never even notified that the driver showed up and moved in my stuff as I figured out from an e-mail I got the next day saying they were trying to get a hold of him still. The driver refused to date the paperwork, citing that if he or I did that he wouldn`t be able to drive? At least they didn`t harass me for a tip. The Office: They were very polite and usually helpful. The only thing I have to complain about is that I was told my stuff should have arrived 6 days prior to when it actually did. The excuse I received was "truck problems". They couldn`t get a hold of their own driver for a status, neither could I. Other: They lost one of the wardrobe boxes the pickup team packed for me somehow, which is what brought me here in the first place. Now my nice drill set is gone and I see I am going to probably be getting 21 for it, even though it was a very expensive and nice set that was gifted to me by my father.

Desired Settlement: I would like some of what I paid for returned to me. I feel like I was unfairly charged for more than a few reasons and I feel taken advantage of, especially by the pickup team leader. The service received was barely worth the original quote of $1,275.30 with all the trouble I've had with the company, let alone what I ended up paying, just shy of double my quote at $2,535.00.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,


When the sales person gives an estimate over the phone we guarantee the price based off an inventory list, when the movers show up and the customer has more items BEFORE we load any items the foreman makes a revised price which the customer will sign and agree. When the customer has more items the price then becomes NON-binding.  In this case this is exactly what had happened. If the customer did not agree to the new price my question is why did he sign that he did? We charge this customer for the actual space he took up inside of our truck, it is not like we charged him for space he was not utilizing!

The customer was charge for an elevator at the destination not stairs.

Regarding any materials used we explain that blankets are free but anything else is for sell and we send this is writing for the customer to electronically sign and this is before we even put the customer on our scheudle. The customer not to understand about materials being additional to the cost makes me believe he doesn't read what he signed.

Being charge for fuel was explained in writing to the customer before he hired the company. He also electronically sign that as well.

Regarding the delivery we can reach all our employees what the customer was explained is that there is truck issue's and the truck shop is the one whom could not give us direct answers as to when we would receive our truck back. When a company doesn't even know when the truck will return to load a customer's items then how could we give an ETA for delivery? The customer did receive his items with in the contracted allotted time of 21 business days.

We request this this matter is closed as satisfactory as we did nothing wrong.




8/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were quoted for space on a moving truck for 360 cubic feet. Upon arrival, Roadway Van Lines claimed that we actually had 500 cubic feet worth of items and charged us for this extra space. The associate lied on our inventory list, inflating our cubic feet by 10 additional items. When we got to our destination, the driver of the truck confirmed that the inventory list was tampered with, and we did not indeed use the extra cubic feet that we were charged. I have this confirmed in a video I recorded of the driver pointing out where the associate inflated our numbers. We have called the business to receive the amount of money for the extra space we did NOT use, and were refused. We have also learned that this company is operating without a proper license, which is being handled separately.

Desired Settlement: Our original quote was $2200 for 350 cubic feet. We were charged an additional $1,000 for cubic footage that was inflated on our inventory sheet. We would like a refund of this $1,000 that was NOT used.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,


Our company rating is because we guarantee the price based off a list of items. If when we arrive and the list is exactly the same then the price is 100% guaranteed.

However if the customer has move items on the day of the move we are not allowed to pick up the additional items without a revised estimate. We must give the NEW price to the customer before loading the customer has to agree to the NEW revised price, again this is before we load. Also on the move date we showed him space for 500 cube on the truck and he agreed and he signed all the paper work before we are loading the items.

The confusion is the foreman whom pick up the job had made a mistake on the inventory list and he skipped 10 numbers and of course the customer did not miss any items and we confirmed with him on the day of the move and we made sure we did not leave the place till the customer received all his items. When we tried to explain to the customer the error that had happen with the error on the pick up for some reason he could not understand. For this inconvenience our company offers an additional $57 as inconvenience reimbursement.




12/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently re-located across the country and hired Roadway Van to move my personal items. Prior to selecting them, I reviewed their profile on BBB and saw that they have an A- rating and carefully reviewed the complaints against them. My items were packed and picked up on October 1, 2014 and I listed October 2, 2014 as the earliest day that I could receive my items. According to their contract, they were supposed to deliver my items within 14 business days of October 2nd. On October 6th, I received an email saying that my items were being loaded on a truck and I needed to confirm that I would be available to accept delivery. I responded by email to confirm that I would be. On October 17th, I emailed back asking for an update on when my items would be delivered and received no response to my email. So, I called and was told that my items had not in fact been loaded on that day for reasons they didn't know/couldn't tell me and that my items were still in MD. She said she would check on my items and call me back. I never got a response. This started about a 10 day process where every day I would email and ask for an update and receive no response and if I called, I was told "trust us, we're checking right now and will call you right back." By the terms of our contract, the my items should have been delivered by October 21st at the latest -that day passed without any further information. Finally, on November 3rd, I received a call from someone in Dispatch who refused to give me his name or contact info who said that the items were being loaded on to a truck now, blaming the delay on a driver who had been hospitalized. He said the items would arrive no more than 8-9 days from that date. I asked that he send this to me in writing. He did not, but the Roadway Sales Rep did send me an email on November 3rd confirming that my items would be delivered in 8-9 days. Seven days later, I called and emailed back and was told that my items had not been loaded onto a truck and they didn't know where they were. I kept calling and emailing and on November 18th, I was told yet again that my items were on a truck and should be delivered "soon." When I asked for a timeframe, they said they would get back to me, but they haven't. They had also told me they would reduce the amount I owed them because of the delayed items, but refused to tell me how much the daily or weekly amount of reduction would be --just saying that I would only be charged $500 instead of the full $800 I owed. But, as the weeks go on, I asked if I would get a further reduction and no one responded to my inquiry. At this point, I am concerned that my items have been misplaced and that Roadway is simply stalling for time as opposed to acknowledging the mistake and unfortunately, I have no way to confirm that they do still have possession of my items. The added complication is that I am required to travel for work and have been unable to do because I have repeatedly been told that my items are about to be delivered. I am concerned about my ability to perform my required job if Roadway continues to provide misinformation to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like a firm commitment of when my items will be delivered, along with a clear policy on what happens if Roadway again breeches the terms of our contract. And, I would actually like to have my items, particularly as it gets colder and because I need my furniture.

Consumer Response:

From: ***** ******* <******************>
Date: Mon, Dec 1, 2014 at 2:47 PM
Subject: Compliant # ********
To: d******@mybbb.org


Hi ******,
Great speaking to you just now - I just wanted to follow-up with an email to confirm that the complaint that I filed (#********) was successfully resolved with Roadway Van Lines.

Thanks,

*****


11/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The carrier damaged furniture and home during delivery. I should have seen it coming when 5 men loaded and only 2 showed up to unload. The driver even ended up hitting himself in the head with a failing piece of furniture in the truck while unloading to the point I was concerned because afterwards he had a lump on his head the size do a baseball. The delivery service was so bad I called to report damage to the company while delivery carrier was present. I was told I had up to 90 days to inspect my furniture after delivery and report a claim. When I filed claim to the claim company I had to go thru a mound of paperwork and send pictures labeled by item number and of my real property damage. After spending hours to file a claim thru their third party claim processors labor intensive process. The company sent me a measly offer based on the weight they determined from ASMA guidelines and said to dispute this I had to provide written documentation from the manufacturer or store. The company also denied my real property damage claim because they said I did not indicate it on the delivery form. The form does not have a space for real property damage. In addition I spoke to the moving rep and owner to complain about the furniture damage and property damage during delivery. Beware of the promises the company provides regarding claims and insurance. I've moved across county several times and this was the worse move ever.

Desired Settlement: I would like full settlement of the all furniture items I claimed based on the .60 lbs per article agreement. Based on the weights I reported. You charge and bill for delivery by full weight not estimated weight. I also would like full settlement for all property damage submitted in my claim. I reported the damage to the company at the time of delivery and was asked to file a claim for reimbursement; however after submitting pictures my claim for real property damage was denied due to not writing it on the delivery form. I have emails that I sent the company pictures of the damage the day of delivery.

Business Response:

November 12, 2014

Dear *** ****,
Here at Roadway Van Lines customer service is always our first priority, that being said upon first speaking with our clients, we take the time to go over every detail regarding the estimate and your move from the very first day,
After going over your complaint to the BBB, please see the response below, as I will be addressing your complaint from the beginning to the end, in order as follows:
1. “The carrier damaged furniture and home during delivery. I should have seen it coming when 5 men loaded and 2 showed up to unload. ...The delivery service was so bad I called to report the damage to the company while delivery carrier was present. I was told I had up to 90 days to inspect my furniture after delivery and report a claim.”

• Roadway Van Lines apologizes for any damages that occurred during *** ****'s move, and while this is common on the moving industry, it is uncommon for Roadway Van Lines, *** **** was provided the opportunity to purchase additional insurance at the time of reserving with Roadway Van Lines, and Insurance coverage was explained to *** ****. It is a priority at Roadway Van Lines to provide the client with all the necessary information that they will need to stay informed during their move from beginning to end.

• “5 men loaded and 2 showed up to unload”: This is NOT a possibility that *** **** was sent 5 guys on her move day, as a 26 ft truck ONLY has the capacity to hold 3 men, 4 at the most. On delivery it is much the same as far a man power, it is IMPOSSIBLE for more than 2 men to be sent to the delivery as an 18 wheeler can only fit 2 men comfortably while on the road, 3 at the most. It is a priority at Roadway Van Lines to continually improve the level of our customer service to our clients. We will make an effort in the future to ensure that our clients understand the manpower that will be sent to them on delivery in the future and we apologize for the miscommunication on this end, but again, it is IMPOSSIBLE to send more than 2 men on the delivery, as it is an 18 wheeler that performs the delivery.

2. “When I filed claim to the claim company I had to go through a mound of paperwork and send pictures labeled by item number and of my real property damage. After spending hours to file a claim thru their third party claim processors labor intensive process.”

• Roadway Van Lines apologizes that *** **** found the claim process “labor Intensive” and that there was a “mound of paperwork”, but like with any other insurance company, when filing a claim for any damages whether it be as Auto, Life or Health policy, you must submit proof of your damages. This is NOT an uncommon occurrence when filing a claim for compensation of any sort, from any insurance company, NOT just ***, which is our preferred insurance company.

3. “The company sent me a measly offer based on the weight they determined from AMSA guidelines and said to dispute this I had to provide written documentation from the manufacturer or the store”

• *** **** is well aware of what her compensation for any damages would have been, were they to occur during her move, please see the attached documents that were signed by *** **** accepting the valuation of $0.60/lb per article.

• Further, using weight determination of an article according to AMSA guidelines is the Standard procedure for settling claims in the moving industry; it is used to aid in determining the weight of an article provided by a leading authority in the industry. Roadway Van Lines apologizes that this is unacceptable to *** ****, but unfortunately this is not within the control of Roadway Van Lines.

• *** **** was asked to provide proof of the weights of the items she listed in her claim, according to “Inventory #" as listed on her inventory, at the time of delivery. Please see the attached list of items submitted by *** **** as part of her claim to CSI (Claim Service International), *** **** provided the requested list of items but was NOT able to verify WHERE she acquired the weights if the items listed in the claim. (See attached documents)

4. “The company also denied my real property damage claim because they said I did not indicate it on the delivery form. The form does not have a space for real property damage.”

• Regarding *** ****’s “Real Property” damage, *** **** is correct, there is NO spot on the form for real property damage, this is NOT a regular occurrence for Roadway Van Lines, although accidents do happen and we always do advise our client’s to look into their Home Owner’s Insurance in the event that there is coverage that is awarded under their policy for moving accidents or they are given the option to purchase additional insurance either on their own from their insurance company or through our company. *** **** declined this option and opted for the basic FREE insurance.

• Further, as with any other insurance policy/company, proof of cost of repair is required, *** **** did not provide any repair estimates for her “Real Property” damages, instead it was simply listed on her claim form inventory under “Cost to Replace”,

In addition, please see the attached settlement letter in the amount of $270 that was sent to *** **** despite the lack of supporting claim documents. *** ****, to date has not responded to the offer nor have we had any further contact with *** **** following this BBB Complaint.

While we all know that times are hard and life is full of uncertainties, Roadway Van Lines apologizes for any inconvenience but we cannot process a claim settlement “based on the weights reported” by *** **** for her damaged items until, as with any other insurance claim, she provides proof of how She acquired the weights for the particular items she has listed in her claim Submission or for the “Repairs” to her Real Property, without the above-identified proof of cost to have the repairs done, we apologize.

In the meantime, if you have any questions or if I can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to give me a call. -
Sincerely,

Tasha O*****

9/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have section 8 and I receive SSDI I get my check once a month, do the house that I used to live in I had to be out of there so I had to find a place to put my things until I find a house well I found a house an let the company know thst I will be moving an she told I half yo paid them $2000 if I what my things back , thst everything that I own me an my kids an mother things are there we are in a empty house right now, I dont have that kind of money an I don't own yhst to them I had to pay yhem $1500 when they moved my things there then she hoing to tell me you half to pay $500 a month I told her if I knew that I would had never put my things in there she going to say I told you that I s aid know you didn't, I just what my things an another I yhank they bern hoing throw my personal paper because people was calling me an asking me do I own a house on **** ***** *** I told them no I never own that house I used to live there years ago, an then my last name was ***** with a different phone number thats how I know someone there been going throw my things an puting my information on that house some kind of way please help me also I told them when I get my check on the 3rd I will give them my whole check they told me no we need the $2000 are we will auction your things off

Desired Settlement: I just what all my thing thats all our clothes shoes and everything that we own we are in a empty house right now an people that I talk to thank that they might had stole some of my things I just what my things please

Business Response:

September 4, 2014

Dear *** ******,
Here at Roadway Van Lines customer service is always our first priority, that being said upon first speaking with our clients, we take the time to go over every detail regarding the estimate and your move from the very first day.

After going over your complaint to the BBB, please see the response below, as I will be addressing your complaint from the beginning to the end, in order as follows:
1. “I have section 8 and I receive SSDI I get my check once a month, do the house that I used to live in I had to be out of there so I had to find a place to put my things until I find a house well I found a house an let the company know thst I will be moving an she told I half yo paid them $2000 if I what my things back”.

a. *** ****** contracted Roadway Van Lines to carry out her relocation on 4/2/2014, her items were to be picked up in ********* and transported to the storage facility of Roadway Van Lines, as arranged by *** ******. Charges regarding this move, to date have been gone over twice (2x) to date, i.e. (a). On initially making her reservation, while speaking to her sales representative, and (b). At the end of her pickup on 4/2/2014, Please see below:
b. Break down of charges on move day:
i, 2 Trucks, 6 guys x 8 hrs x $174/hr - $1,392.00 ii. Packing Material: $ 27.00 iii. TOTAL - $1,519.00

iv. Payment Made:
Deposit; CC Ending 1932; Auth; ****** - ($ 500,00)
CC Payment ($ 545.00) Money Order: ($ 500.00)
v. Balance from Move Due: ($ 26.00)

2. Regarding Storage:
a. *** ****** was/is well aware of what her charges for storing her items at Roadway Van Lines, again, I will reiterate, charges regarding this storage, to date have been gone over twice (2x) to date, i.e. (a). On initially making her reservation, while speaking to her sales representative, and (b). At the end of her pickup on 4/2/2014. It clearly states on *** ******’s Order for Service, pg. 1, as follows: “The first month of storage is FREE. After the first month Roadway Van Lines will charge $500 per month, no pro rating the storage.”

b. Please see below for *** ******'s total amount due for Storage as follows:
i. 4/2 – 5/1 FREE ii. 5/2 — 6/1 — $26 credit applied $ 474.00 iii. 6/2 — 7/1 $ 500.00 ,'. iv. 7/2 — 8/1 $ 500.00 - v. 8/2 ~~ 9/1 $ 500.00 vi. 9/2 – 10/1 - $ 500.00 vii. TOTAL: - $2,474.00 viii. Fee: RetuIImed Check - $ 35.00 ix. TOTAL $2,509.00
x. Fee WAIVEI) ($ 35.00) xi. TOTAL DUE: $2,474.00

*** ****** attempted to make a payment via check in the amount of $650.00 but unfortunately, the check #*** was returned for insufficient funds, which in turn resulted in Roadway Van Lines being charged a return check fee. Like any other company, Roadway Van Lines does assess a return check fee; in this case *** ******'s Return check fee has been waived.

3. Balance Due to Roadway Van Lines: $2474-00 4. Dates *** ****** contacted the company:
a,5/7/2014 8/6/2014&8/26/2014

b. The above-identified dates are the dates that Roadway Van Lines contacted *** ****** regarding payment of her outstanding balance due for storage, the above-identified dated listed by *** ****** are the dates which she returned our calls.

c. Each call was met with the same response “I am still waiting on my check”, this relocation was carried out on 4/2/2014, and this complaint was filed on 8/27/2014, to date 9/4/2014, other than this BBB complaint, we have had no contact from *** ****** regarding payment for her outstanding balance of $2474.00. *** ****** was also made aware that if no payment arrangements were made regarding her storage that her items will be auctioned on 9/4/2014, which is today.

5. Regarding Delivery of *** ******’s Items:

Please see below for the options that are available to *** ****** for receiving her items.
a. Available options:
i. Outstanding balance of $2474 MUST be paid in full $2,474.00 ii. Delivery by Roadway Van Lines (additional cost):
2 Trucks, 6 guys- FLAT RATE $1,218.00 ToTAL: $3,692.00
iii. *** ****** is more than welcome to pick up her items herself by renting a * ****, which would save her on additional costs.
For this option, *** ****** MUST pay of the balance due, i.e. $2474.00, IN FULL BEFORE attempting to pick up her items.

While we all know that times are hard and life is full of uncertainties, Roadway Van Lines apologizes for any inconvenience but cannot release *** ******'s items until the amount of $2,474 has been paid in FULL.

Regarding the Auction of *** ******'s items, this will be put on hold in the hope that we can come to an amicable agreement, if no agreement can be reached, Roadway Van Lines will proceed with the auction.

In the meantime, if you have any questions or if I can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to give me a call.
Sincerely,
Tasha O

 

 

9/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid for a 600 mile move by an insured mover on the DC area, roadway van line.s. When we received our packed items they were packed with minimal care and as if an inexperienced crew had done so. Our chandelier that was over 9,000 was carelessly placed in a box with no bubble wrap and is ruined. I had 2 works of art arrive in shred because of poor packing and no uses of proper wrapping or bubble wrap. We were changes 16,500 and felt violated since many times were packed horrificly such as a bathroom plunger with kitchen items and a fine oil painting w no wrapping w a bathroom scale. I had a one of kind large piece of art barely covered with cardboard and a vintage horn mirror we horns broken off again due laziness also our vintage Lois 1 IV sofa had it's leg broken off 9,000

Desired Settlement: I want the tip of 800 returned to us and would like to be charges what a 7 year old would charge for packing We would like half of our paid investment of a move returned since many of these items are high values and are unique art pieces.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,


Roadway Van Lines provided a sales person to go to the customer house to provide a guaranteed flat price for her move. After negotiating we agreed to $16,500 for the move. We send TWO trucks and 8 men and also the supervisor of thew company to this job. The supervisor made sure everything was packed and wrapped correctly. The men did an excellent job for the customer as well as excellent packing. The customer was even so happy she put a good review on ****(she changed it to bad after) and tipped the men $800.

The customer complained about some damages. The customer decided not to purchase additional insurance. We provide her insurance for $.60 per pound per article. We send the customer the claims link to file her claim, the claims department would have taken care of the customer from A-Z but no response from the customer. For some reason the customer wants money back from the move which we do not understand. 

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

The customer did not sign for the additional insurance option so she has the basic insurance of $0.60 per pound. The customer did recently fill out the link to the claim and started the claim process. We do not know what the customer is saying about the $3,000, the fact is the customer received a flat price for 16,500 and included everything. After a sales person went to the house and did an in home estimate. Roadway Van Lines never changed the price on the customer and have been honest on time straight delivery on time, everything went smooth and the customer may have some damages which is why we refer her to our claim's department. Out of good faith we offer $250.00, this is in addition to what the claims department offers the customer.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The owner of the company and I spoke after before the July 4th holiday. He had asked for my bank account so he could"wire" the 3,000 dollars in damages back to me. I was not comfortable with that and he promised he would mail the check and we would have right after the holidays as long as I would take down my negative post about their below average Moving service. He is lying that he doesn't know what I'm talking about. 250.00 is insulting. They damaged so many things that were unique and one of a kind. I would like any consumer to see what a an unethical business Israel and his crew is running. I donated my king size bed and bed frame so he could give to Jewish charities as wll as toys for his own family and he can not do the right thing. 250 is insulting and results in nothing. He should be reported to all commerce communities for disregarding a costumer providing horrific service, hiring under qualified movers and not having enough packing materials to do the job right. I should not have to pay for a job poorly done after I also tipped and also donated to his "charity" and personally to his family  I would hope he would so the right thing and pay the 3,000 that he has spoken to me on and I have emails I have saved asking where is the check? It's his conscious and hiwpfullybso BBB will allow others to see he is unethical and not a professional mover. 
Regards,

****** *******








8/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When booking the move, we had a different company originally come out and estimate our weight. I was shopping around and this company said they wanted our business, but couldn`t come out to do an additional estimate. However they said they would use the other company`s estimate. They also said they could accurately translate the weight estimate we'd received into cubic feet. That was obviously not true. I would understand a bit of difference between the estimate and the final cost. But our estimate, which was $6,433, was about 100 percent off - final cost was $11,477. That is unacceptable and I was just "lucky" that I had that much available credit. In addition, the way things were packed did not care for volume, so it was easy to make less weight take more space. In the end this is a reprehensible way of doing business. Not to mention they didn`t deliver all of our stuff on time (some of it never made it at all). For $12,000 one would expect everything to come on time and just about perfect. But this was not our experience. At their first attempt to deliver our things, many key and rather large items were missing. Things like the slats to my children`s bunk beds, our office desk, A large 4 foot mirror, etc. First, for $12,000 how do you lose large and important items like this? Second, this delayed our ability to really move in. As you know, moving is already stressful. Add to that a doubled price and lost and broken materials and it will drive you insane. In the end we are still missing a significant portion of the desk that has rendered it "lost" and useless to us along with other items we've added to our claim. We are missing large items like a 24` ladder that was never found. How can such things be allowed? We went through their claim process and they are offering us $145. What a joke - between lost items (even at their crappy insurance rate it should be more than that), overcharging, and not delivering, we were expecting something more reasonable. Of course during a move things will get broken. And while much of the kitchen and glass was seemingly well cared for. Other things that should have been weren`t. There were unwrapped and unprotected crystal lamps packed with a lead pipe wrench for example. There was simply little care in areas that were not "valued" by their crew. They advertised being professional and backed by the BBB as A+, if this is A+ then I have to complain about the BBB. I figure they work to settle every complaint - we'll see. Finally, as we were trying to work with the sales, delivery, and warehouse folks on getting our lost material properly delivered, they were quick to make excuses and be dismissive of our needs. Things like "it is the busy season", "we`re doing the best we can". I don't consider our move complete until we received the majority of what was missing on 7/22/13. This is 7 days past your guaranteed window. For $12,000 their "busy season" is not my problem and during the sales pitch they didn't say, "well we really can't perform to our standards during the busy season". Once it was discovered that they had made such grievous errors, we should have become more of a priority if they were to live up to their self claimed reputation and BBB rating. So I'm putting in a better business bureau complaint.

Desired Settlement: This is what we offered before and what I'm still offereing: Their proposed "settlement" is a joke. For a business that sells their service by better business bureau ratings and claims to have outstanding service that is above the average moving company, I'm surprised. Based on their own claims and boasting about their service, I would have expected them to be as appalled about the service we were rendered as I was. I would think they would be falling over themselves to rectify what I thought was a rather reasonable claim and to avoid any further actions on my part. In order to "rectify" the situation that their "service" created, I propose a few things. FIrst, let's split this into 4 separate claims. 1) Loss/Damage 2) Overcharge 3) Delay 4) Complaint Second, here are my proposals for each claim. 1) Loss/Damage You completely lost large parts of my desk that made it impossible to use/put back together. I don't have a picture because I can't take pictures of items that you lost. If you properly compensate me for the desk, plus the other proposed damages in their current settlement, I'm willing to settle on Loss/Damage. 2) Overcharge Claiming that you undercharged me in the face of such a terrible original quote is really unacceptable. You can hide behind regulations to allow you to lie and steal this way if you like. A good business practice would be to cap your mistake up front to something more reasonable that over 2x what was quoted. This gives incentive for you to get the quote right rather than to under quote to get business and screw people later. In my original claim, I was NOT asking for the full difference, only an amount that made it more reasonable. But I will not be able to settle this claim and reserve any further action for a $0 effort on your part. I think $3,000 of the $5,500 overcharge is reasonable. 3) Delay Again - I'm appalled that you are not more embarrassed about your performance in this area. You did nothing but make excuses about how busy you were - which was quite different from your sales pitch that proclaimed how great you were at handling such circumstances. Though you delivered much of our stuff within the 21 days, you were unable to locate and deliver the remainder of our stuff within that time frame. Where I live, if you didn't complete the job, you can't claim it was done. Just to re-iterate, I'm surprised you don't agree with that. I will not be able to settle this claim and reserve any further action for a $0 effort on your part. I think for the continued grief you have and do cause in this area, both a public apology and a financial award of $500 would show good faith that you actually messed this up. 4)Complaint Your apology was less than sincere about how you felt you behaved. When trying to work with your company to find our lost items (family heirlooms, Bed slats, desk parts, etc.) and have them delivered in a reasonable time frame - Tasha, your best employee in this case, was always courteous. But she sold a service you couldn't deliver. She would freeze up and transfer us to "the guy in the warehouse" who was intolerant, full of excuses, and plain rude. As an unsatisfied customer, you were willing to put us at the bottom of the queue and dismiss your commitment to us. Again both a public apology and a financial award of $500 would show good faith that you actually messed this up. Please let me know how you would like to continue. I expect responses to my proposals above as separate claims. Or to be able to post my complaint and affect your BBB rating to protect others from your false claims.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

Roadway Van Lines provides service to the customer by cubic foot not weight. The customer called to get an estimate from us over the phone, we could not provide an in home estimate considering the distance was 2 hours from our location. We also explained specifically to the customer we do not charge by weight only by space/cubic feet.  The customer requested an estimate based off 1658 cubic feet which is based off another moving companies in home estimate, not with my company. The estimate Tasha provided to the customer was based off the customer request of 1658 cubic feet. When we arrived on the day of the move the customer had a lot more from the estimate he received from us over the phone. In this case we never pick up the job and then give the customer the bill after. We explained to the customer about the additional items he wanted to load the price for that before we loaded and opened the revised estimate to sign and agree tot he total price. After we receive a signature for approving the additional cost for the move and all the paper work was signed we do the customer's job. The customer agreed to this price before we began to work.

Regarding the damages the customer has two options to choose between with free insurance which covers the customer up to $0.60 per pound per article or based off the customer's value of the items could have purchased additional insurance from an insurance company who we work with, full replacement value insurance would be additional to the estimate. The customer chose and signed on the $0.60 per pound per article option and when he had a claim we referred him to our claims department which is called CSI and they offered him the claim value for $145.00. The customer decided not to except that and chose to complain about the price 1 year later, we have never heard about this.

Thanks,

Roadway Van Lines

 

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The response given by roadway van lines ignores our complaint and seems to trivialize the significant issues that did not align with their claim to be a stand up company.  Others should beware!!

Regards,

******* *******








Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This attitude that fails to even acknowledge any wrong doing when the service was terrible and way different from what was promised really proves the issue.  I signed things because I had to and they know that.  As anyone knows, by the time you get to moving day its too late to change.  In addition the price did not double until after every box was packed and on the trucks.  I expected the price to fluctuate but not by 100%.  Finally with all of their attitude about me complaining about things we supposedly agreed to, part of my complaint is that they lost items and did not make final delivery in time.  Notice they didn't respond to that as confidently.  If the BBB is willing to ignore my complaints that would be disappointing.  I read through other complaints currently posted on the site and they sound remarkably similar to mine.  I don't believe this company is 100% honest in dealing with folks and they shouldn't be able to claim a high BBB rating.  At this point I would be satisfied for my complaints to stand on the website as a warning to others and let them decide for themselves - let folks see the dialogue and arrogance in their response and see if they are inspired to continue with their business.

Sincerely,

******* *******








Business Response: To whom it may concern,

******* ******* had the option prior to the move date as well as on the move date to purchase additional insurance. On the Bill of Lading he signed on the basic insurance of $0.60 per pound per article. Yes he did need to sign and yes we do know this but at the same time he had the option for having to sign on the additional insurance not the basic, this is his choice but of course you need to sign on one of them. Now there is damages and he wants full replacement value and is complaining about it. I am not sure how this make sense to be a valid complaint on the BBB. ** ******* says I am not addressing his complaints as I feel I completely have. What I am interested in knowing is since the customer had all intention of requested full replacement value of any items damaged why wasn't additional insurance purchased?

Regarding missing items. When we do our deliveries we unload by an itemized inventory list that the driver as well as the customer have. They check off each items and the customer signs he received them all. After the movers leave the customer called about missing items. Why did the customer sign he received all items if he did not? The customer stated in his complaint that we did not respond to that confidently.

5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12-3-2014, Raodway (sprint) packed my household goods for deliver to Tennessee. First they immediately double the cost estimate upon packing and I either had to pay the additional amount or have the goods unpacked. Then when they delivered the goods to Tennessee, it was evident that they deliberately added to volume for which they charged by jsut putting unnecessary paper in some boses. Other boxes requiring goods be wrapped where jsut thrown in the box . They also unloaded funiture/mattress in the yard while it was raining, resulting in wet mattresses. We were missing high value items such as a Persian Rug and Teak checst with Jewelry which they made no effort to find. They also delived three items that belonged to someone else which we returned to the van lines. I have mvoed 25 times and without a doubt this was the worse mvoing experience I have had and more stuff broken. I filed a claim and as an example they denied several items on the claim. As an example, they broke an end table in 3 pieces whioch was clearly delinated by photo and they said the photos did not substantiate the claim.

Desired Settlement: I request they replace the Persian rug worth oveer $4,000 and the chest worth over $1000. There were other stuff missing but I really do not care about that.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

We offer every customer an option to purchase additional insurance, this customer accepted the basic insurance of $0.60 per pound per article. (see attachment where customer signed where he understood the insurance replacement value). When a customer has damage we refer them to our claims department which is called *** and they have great customer service. The customer is receiving the insurance based off the contract, this is a law. Also attached is a release form showing we paid the customer from ROADWAY VAN LINES $250.00 and we are still allowing him to process his claim through ***.
  Also attached is the inventory list and the customer's signature that he had received all his items.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  It says nothing about the lsot items; the unprocessional, packing, the fact that some boxes were msotly filled with paper to increase the cubic foot cost and the fact they left items in the rain during the unpacking--including mattresseses which had to be dried.  Or the fact they delivered 3 items to us that did not belong to us which we returned.  Nor does it address any effort on their part to even locate our missing items valused at over $7000,  Or the fact that the initial price was doubled after they had the goods mostly loaded.  I have moved more than 25 times, including four overseas moves and this is the worst move experience i have eer had.  


Regards,

****** ********








Business Response: To whom it may concern,

Regarding the items the customer stated that he is missing, I have attached the inventory sheet that the customer signed and his signature represents receiving those items and all inventory sheets were signed. My question is why did the customer sign that he received these items then months later informs us now they are missing....?? I would not personally sign something without knowing if I really received it .

The customer mentioned his boxes were filled half way with white paper and he also stated this was to take up more space. This is not true. Why would we pack a box half full when we know the customer is unpacking and would see that. We use white paper to protect all glass items that we had packed in a box. I guarantee the boxes with white paper all had glass inside. If there was no glass inside there was no white paper.
Regarding damages, and I did mention this in my last reply, we have a great customer service department which will make him an offer based off the contract with basic insurance of $0.60 per pound per article. I also attached the Bill of Lading where the customer signed and decided NOT to purchase full replacement value. The customer agreed and signed to the basic insurance.

The customer stated he has moved over 25 times so we are curious to know why he didn't use the same company he moved with before? Each time he hires another moving?


The customer stated we did no attempt to locate his belonging which is not true at all. Even though he signed that he received the items he states are missing we STILL attempted to locate them. We tried everything and considering we havre never lost or mixed anything up before and the customer signed he received...I am not sutre wht else he wants us to do. We do everything by the LAW and CONTRACT. No he say she say.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Roadway Van Lines Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart