BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Roadway Van Lines Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 878-4922 View Additional Phone Numbers 11742 Parklawn Drive, Rockville, MD 20852 http://www.roadwayvanlines.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roadway Van Lines Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Roadway Van Lines Inc include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 05, 2008 Business started: 02/02/2008 in MD Business started locally: 02/02/2008 Business incorporated: 02/02/2008 in MD
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The license number is 1742475.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tasha O'Neil, Translocation Engineer Ms. Lee Spencer, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tasha O'Neil, Translocation Engineer
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 468-0888(Phone)
  • (301) 468-7780(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Better Business Bureau: I'm writing to you regarding a problem with *********, MD-based ROADWAY VAN LINES, a moving company that is listed on the Better Business Bureau website. My complaint concerns Roadway Job No: ******* covering a period between May 8, 2013 and June 3, 2013. In a nutshell, the description of my experience with Roadway Van Lines can best be described as a bait and switch encounter. In May, I was given a final moving estimate of $2,323.53 for my relocation from Washington, DC, to Los Angeles, based on an inventory list I provided over the phone (the agent had discouraged an on-site assessment). I was told there would be extra fees for wrapping materials such as tape, as well as for any additional boxes. The packing process did require tape (for the movers to wrap my items in the company's requisite moving blankets) and approximately three small boxes at an approximate size of 12x"12"x18". However, the problem does not concern the fees charged for the aforementioned products; the problem concerns the final cost of the move, which jumped from $2,323.53 to $3,924.39. The price discrepancy indicates that the belongings that were placed on the truck totaled 70 percent more than the items on the inventory on which the estimate was based. This is absolutely untrue. Again, Roadway's suggestion that my items accounted for 70 percent more than those detailed in the estimate couldn't be further from the truth. My apartment was less than 400 square feet and did not have the capacity to hold 70 percent more than the items I described (see inventory list below). After the pickup in May and before the truck's arrival in Los Angeles in June, I contacted the Roadway agent with my concerns. She ultimately informed me that, "Since we cannot discount from the actual cubic footage we have decided to discount from the packing materials used from my company. We will offer you $115.00 off from you're balance." I accepted the discount off the packing materials, but that discount in no way addressed the bigger matter of the company having unjustifiable charging me 70 percent more than the original estimate. I later contacted the owner of Roadway about the matter. The owner, or the individual I was led to believe is the owner, offered a $150 refund, which I found wholly unacceptable, so I declined it. The owner wrongly indicated that once the head foreman had arrived on site for the move and assessed my belongings, he had informed me of the final price. This is patently untrue. He told me he would not know the final price until after my belongings had been loaded on the truck. As a matter of fact, once the items were loaded, he took me outside to look at the truck, informing me that the final price would be based on the amount of space my items required in the truck. Additionally, I had agreed to Roadway's customary rule of the client paying half of the final moving cost upon completion of the packing, and the remaining half upon delivery. As proof of the fact that I wasn't informed of the final price upon the assessment of my items (before the packing began, as the owner incorrectly claimed) the foreman had to call the agent to inform her that I was a few dollars short of the requisite 50% of the final payment (due to the unexpected and fraudulent 70 percent increase over the original estimate). Based on the estimate, half of the total moving cost would have been approximately $1,161.77. On my credit card, I had made allowances for potential overages (extra boxes and packing materials) beyond the estimate, but not $2,024.39 in invalidly determined overages. There was no rational reason why I should have expected that I would have to pay half of what Roadway ultimately determined (once my items were on the truck) would be a final moving cost of $3,924.39 (half amounting to $1,962.20). The overages, I must reiterate, were minimal. My overages (additional light items packaged in an additional three boxes) amounted to no more than 5 percent more--at the very, very most--of the items listed on the inventory on which the estimate was based. At any rate, I didn't have exactly half of the shockingly inflated final price of $3,924.39 when the packing was completed; I had only $1,900. Alas, the mover called the agent to get approval for me to make an initial payment of $1,900 (slightly less than half of Roadway's deceitfully calculated final total fee) and pay the remaining balance of $2,024.39 upon delivery. That phone call is evidence that I was not informed of the final price before the movers began packing as the owner suggests in her response to my complaint (see below). I would not have allowed the foreman to put any of my items on the truck had I been informed that the final price would be $3,924.39. As inconvenient as it would have been to arrange another moving company on short notice, and despite the fact that Roadway would have charged me a cancellation fee of $200, I still would not have allowed the movers to load my items on their moving truck had I been informed that the final price would be 70 percent more than the estimate. Taking into consideration Roadway's aforementioned discount of $115 (for the supplies, not the proposed refund of $150), it was agreed that I would pay the delivery team the final remaining balance of $2,024.39 for what was ultimately a total moving cost of $3,809.39, which, including the $115 discount, still amounts to roughly 70 percent more than the estimate. To reiterate, at the outside, my overages amounted to no more than 5 percent of the items listed on the inventory on which the estimate was based. It seems only fair that I pay no more than 5 percent over the estimate, which would have resulted in a final total moving fee of approximately $2,600. Again, Roadway erroneously charged me 70 percent more than the estimate, despite the fact that my overages accounted for less than 5 percent more than the estimate. I'd like an appropriate refund. I'm willing to be flexible in the determination of an appropriate refund, however Roadway's offer of a $150 refund is insulting and unacceptable; it hardly compensates for the company's outrageous overcharging in what amounts to a bait-and-switch transaction. The only positive aspect about the move with Roadway was the team that delivered my belongings in Los Angeles. They were very professional and extremely polite; no deceitful behavior involved whatsoever. Finally, please note that one of the reasons I decided to give Roadway my business was their pricing, which was notably lower than estimates from other moving companies. Another reason I chose Roadway was the agent's touting of the company's presence on the Better Business Bureau website. When I first inquired about an estimate, the agent asserted in an email: "Roadway Van Lines has an A rating on the Better Business Bureau!" I feel duped. Hopefully, you can help me with this problem. I look forward to your response.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund amounting to the appropriate monetary compensation for Roadway Van Lines' unjustifiable overcharging.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

We did a move for ******* **** on May 16th, 2013. We picked up items from *********, MD and delivered them to OR. Prior to her making a reservation with Roadway Van Lines, her sales rep ******* ******, asked ******* **** for a list of items and that is what the quote was based off. ******* **** was explained that should we arrive and load more items than listed the estiumate then becomes non-binding and she would be responsible to pay for the actual space. In her complaint she did mention she had items to load that were not listed. Roadway Van Lines charge ******* **** for what space she had and nothing more. We are a very fair company and we also informed ******* **** prior to loading any of her items with a revised cost for the move. Attached is a letter she had a lawyer write to Roadway Van Lines which we responded to via mail on 9/12/2013. As you can see her complaint there was the delivery, not once did she mentioned she was over charged. This is the first time hearing about this.

Regarding her delivery complaint:
When we schedule a long distance move we do indicate that typically the 21 business day window is not fully used and standard deliveries are made in 7-9 days. Please note ******* **** was not promised delivery in 7 business days. Based off the Department of Transportation they say you have 30 business days and later than 30 business days we pay to the customer $50 each business day we are late. We changed that to 21 business days on our contracts and we offered ******* **** $50 for each business day that we were late and she refused the money. We were three business days late our offer remains $150.00 based of the DOT. She is asking for an unreasonable amount of money. We do understand we caused an inconvenience and we tried to make up for that with a money offer the customer refused. We request this complaint to be closed as satisfactory even if the customer denies our $150 offer cause by the DOT that is all we owe her.

Regarding items not delivered or damage I refer all my customer's to our claim''s department for reimbursement and this is company policy. I have emailed her the claim link she just needs to register. We can not pay her $150, should she except, until all claims are processed.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

See Attachment
Regards,

****** ******


Roadway Van Lines P.O. Box 2007 Rockville, MD 20847
******* ** ****
*******

******
Re:    Your    Customer:

Your Job No: Our File No:
To Whom It May Concern:

I am contacting you on behalf of your customer ******* *. **** with regard to her recent experience with your company during her move from Maryland to Oregon beginning on May 16,2013.

It was initially represented to **. **** by your company that the move would take seven calendar days. Ultimately, it took 24. Though your written estimate contradicts the initial representation by stating that a move may take up to 21 business days, **. **** reasonably relied on the representation that she would receive her possessions within seven days of May 16, 2013. This is a likely breach of your obligation to deliver goods with reasonable dispatch under the terms of your tariff.

Additionally, several items of value were never delivered* including a year’s supply of contact lenses and assorted personal property with an estimated total value of $500.00.

In settlement of these matters, **. **** respectfully proposes that you provide her with a 25% rebate on the cost of her move, equal to $1,314.00. Kindly provide your written response to this request within thirty (30) days.

This correspondence constitutes settlement negotiations pursuant to OEC 408 and FRE 408 and does not constitute an admission or waiver of any claim or defenses available to **.
****.






Business Response: To whom it may concern,

Roadway Van Lines would like to begin with an apology for the delayed response. Since the job was done on 5/08/2013 and it is now October we needed to investigate to know what exactly happened on the move date.
The customer received an estimate from Roadway Van Lines based on the list of items provided by the customer which calculated to 528 cubic feet, this estimate was provided via phone. On 5/08/2013 when the crew arrived at the customer's house the foreman had explained to the customer the size of the items she had were larger than average about 873 cf and would take more cubic footage space in the truck. The revised price was presented to the customer prior to loading any items and she had excepted the price and she excepted the packing material price cost as well. She authorized the crew to do the job. After we finished loading the customer called the office and asked for a discount since the estimate was 2323.00 and the actual cost is 3924.00. We spoke with the manager and gave her an offer of $150 discount from the packing material cost. She excepted the discount. Since the job is the same size like the foreman said, after double checking at the warehouse, we could not provide any more discounts.

Should you have questions please feel free to contact the office.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

See Attachment

Regards,

****** ******


October 1, 2013
Dear Better Business Bureau:

It is not possible for me to accept Roadway Van Lines Inc.'s response to my complaint (#*******) since the company's response is in reference to a complaint made by someone by the name of ******* ****.

I am ****** ******, not ******* ****. Apparently, **. **** is another individual who has been cheated by Roadway.

I look forward to Roadway's response to my complaint, #*******.

Thank you for your help.

Sincerely,






Business Response: Dear Better Business Bureau,

In response to complaint ID #******* .

 This is what is stated on the contract:
This is a binding estimate based on the inventory list above provided by you, the customer, and the price is guaranteed for this inventory list. In case an itemized inventory list was not provided, this estimate is non-binding. The estimate is based on an approximate volume of your belongings and it is subject to change according to actual cubic feet of your belongings.  Becasue the customer added more items the estimate had become NON-BINDING and we charge by the actual space the items took up in our truck. This is the reason the foreman had taken the customer to the truck to show her the actual size.

This statement means that the moving company will charge you for the actual cubic footage you have. You also electronically signed on the contract that states that as well as the papaer copy contract on your move date after the foreman's explanation.

The items loaded were larger than average and because she added more items and made a non-binding estimate her cubic footage had exceeded.

Also should the customer had wanted to negotiate with Roadway Van Lines then she should have called us on the actual move date and expressed her concerns so we could have taken action into helping her with any discounts. We did not charge the customer for space she did not have and we showed her that and she agreed this occurred therefore she paid for a service that was rendered and we request this complaint to be marked as resolved. We did the job strictly based off the Federal contract.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

See Attachment

Regards,

****** ******
Dear Better Business Bureau:
With regard to Roadway Van Lines Inc.'s most recent response to my complaint (#*******), the moving company's reply unwittingly provides even further evidence that Roadway baited me with a comparatively low estimate and then--because my item overages totaled three 3 boxes representing a total of approximately 6 additional cubic feet--charged me 70% more than the original estimate.

When Roadway strongly discouraged an onsite estimate with the intent of overcharging me once the items were loaded on the truck, the company acted in bad faith--and that's putting it mildly. When Roadway discouraged an onsite assessment for the express purpose of grossly underestimating the total cubic footage of my items, the company acted in bad faith. When Roadway charged me 70 percent more than the original estimate based on the addition of 6 cubic feet to the inventory, the company defrauded me.

In conclusion, Roadway's handling of the estimate and billing for my move was deceitful, misleading and unethical, to say the least.

I reject Roadway's response and I am requesting that, based on the aforementioned points and the content of my entire complaint, BBB deem this complaint unresolved. Additionally, I must emphasize that Roadway's touting of "an 'A' rating by the Better Business Bureau" was part of the bait for luring me into what turned out to be an egregious ruse.
Thank you.







BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family and I had a move from DE to ***********. After talking to many companies, we decided to go with Roadway Van Lines. ***** and *** are sisters at the company. They were pretty nice but we had major issues with our move. 1. They told me that they owned all their trucks... but they did not. 2. They Showed up at my house with a rented truck and it was too small for my items. 3. They suggested that maybe I needed to decide what items I wanted to keep and which I needed to get rid of. I left a couple of thousand dollars of my items because the truck was too small. They actually left an item that was packed or tagged by the company as part of their "inventory list". But never noted it to me or on the delivery. 4. The foreman had the nerve to ask for a tip for his guys after not getting all the stuff. (The guys were nice and we did treat them to lunch during the move). 5. When items were delivered, boxes were torn and in poor shape. Especially the ones marked fragile. 6. They told me all their employees were their own, but they contracted out to a driver to deliver my stuff on a 18 wheeler; and used local guys found on craigslist to unload the truck. 7. Several items were damaged (king bed, washing machine door, desk, some dishes etc). 8. There was no systematic way to count my items that were delivered, they system was antiquated. 9. They actually billed me under the name Sprint Van Lines but I contracted with Roadway Van Lines.

Desired Settlement: Settlement of $1500 for false statements, left goods and damages.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

1. Roadway Van Lines does own all our trucks but in the summer time when we have more jobs or when the job is going far away we prefer to rent a truck.
We also rented a truck that was a little bigger to make sure everything on the list would fit.

2. The 26 ft truck that we sent is the biggest truck in the moving industry next to the the 75 foot trailer and they are used for delivery's only.

3.  After the customer decides to take more items than what he had on the original list, the foremen did a revised estimate and gave the customer a new price he agreed and sign on the new estimate.

4.Roadway Van Lines provided the customer estimate based on the original list of items, when we showed up he had much more items that he wanted to take that were not on the list, he told us items he wanted to take we made hm a revised estimate and he sign on that.
 If the customer wanted to take everything inside the house Roadway Van Lines would have sent him another truck to accommodate his request. It was the customers decision to leave things behind based on the price.

5.He complained the boxes were smashed, we talked to the customer and said if he has any damages to items we have a great claims department and they provide great customer service.  The customer needs to call the office to receive the claim link this is company policy.

6. Roadway Van Lines has a DBA name under Sprint Van Lines services, so even if the customer received receipt under Sprint Van Lines Services that means it is Roadway Van Lines.

If the customer has any questions or wants to contact the company, he can anytime.

************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a long distance move, and my first available date of delivery was scheduled for July 31, 2013. I am fully aware that with long distance moving companies that the day I request for a delivery of my belongings may not happen; however, I was informed when I scheduled my move that I would receive a two-three day notification (phone call or email) from the company representative in the event that the day I chose for delivery would not be able to be filled. On July 30, without having heard anything, I called the company representative with whom I've been in contact with since March 2013. The representative was surprised to hear from me, and she asked if the driver called me. She then had to place me on hold to find out where my belongings were. This tells me that there is no one actively monitoring my belongings; my belongings are not a priority when they should be considering I've paid my balance in full; no one planned to call or email me about the status of my belongings. In short: had I not called on the 30th, I would have been waiting around for my movers on the 31st. A simple telephone call or email to let me know that my belongings will not be arriving on a day I had anticipated would be much appreciated particularly since I now live in another state (I relocated from ** to ********). Further, I will be teaching at a university, and the "probability" that my items will be delivered during a time in which I already have scheduled meetings and conferences is highly likely. I need better information from the company than a "maybe next week on the 8th of August" or "call me next Thursday and I can give you a better idea." The lack of communication is disturbing, to say the least. I would like to be kept up-to-date on the status of my belongings. I should not have to call day after day, week after week. Someone should call me and keep me up to date. I do not see why I need to chase down a company for my belongings; though in this case, if I want them, I guess I'd better continue to do so. Disappointed and without furniture and other important belongings (work clothes, photographs, books, etc). KP

Desired Settlement: The business needs to apologize. The business needs a timetable. The business needs a timetable and they need to keep me constantly informed me of that timetable. The business needs to confirm that the movers will indeed put back together anything they disassembled (in this case a dining table, dining chairs, and a work desk)

Business Response: ***** ******3:25 PM (34 minutes ago)to meOn March 16th, 2013 ****** ****** made a reservation with Roadway Van Lines for 6/30/2013 with no deposit required. We picked up the items as scheduled. When ***** made the reservation she explained the delivery window to ****** ****** and how the time frame is 0-14 business days and the delivery driver will contact her the day before he plans to do the delivery to let her know what time. She may feel free to contact the office any time she would like an update. ***** also explained to the customer before she made her reservation that during the summer time the company is so busy considering we are doing 200 deliveries that we please ask the customer to call us for updates. ****** ******'s first available delivery date was July 31th, 2013, she was also explained that standard delivery time frame is typically 5-7 business days from the first available delivery date request and the window is needed for things that may happen outside of our control that would delay us. ****** ****** received her items on Tuesday 8/13/2013 and that delivery date reflects us staying with in the written contract as well as our verbal conversation. Roadway Van Lines did nothing wrong and we do not understand what the complaint is. We request is it marked as resolved.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response for two reasons:

First, I understand all the precautions and the 14 business day delivery time frame if the first date of availability does not mesh well with the driver's schedule. However, the absence courtesy call to inform me that the driver would indeed not be making my first available delivery date is a sign of poor customer service. 200 deliveries are surely not being made on the same day; therefore, keeping me up-to-date is well within the responsibilities of the company. Further, when I did call on Monday, August 5, 2013 the man I spoke with was quite rude and made it clear that I needed to stop calling to inquire about my items. On Thursday, August 8 I received a phone call and an email from ***** updating me on the status of my delivery.  Why I was unable to receive an update initially (that my belongings would not arrive on the 31st) is beyond me.

Second: While my belongings were indeed delivered on Tuesday, August 13, 2013 there are items missing. I emailed ***** about these items (a list that has since been updated), and I requested information on how to file a claim. I am in the process of filing a complaint to see what can be done about the absence of these items. Below is a copy of the email sent to ***** on 8/13. Updates that were not sent to ***** have been included in bold.

Email Message Sent to ***** ****** at 4:25PM on 8/13/2013 informing her of items missing and asking about filing claim procedures.

  1. Curlformers (set of 4; assorted lengths and widths)
  2. black harp shaped earring stand (the accompanying necklace/bracelet stand arrived and is in my possession as is my jewelry)
    1. updated at 11:41PM   i.      missing jewelry: 2 breast cancer awareness pins; faux pearl earrings (studs; white)
  3. flat cheetah print organizer (2 compartments)
  4. 1 sleeping pillow (the other four arrived)
  5. assorted makeup
  6. Lancome black and red makeup bag
  7. silver toilet paper holder
  8. Aussie Moist Conditionert with pump (29oz)
  9. Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie (12oz)
  10. Shea Moisture Deep Treatment mAsque (12oz)
  11. Clear Spray Bottle (3oz)

Additions to list (added at 11:41PM on 8/13) (NOT emailed to *****)

  1. Brown throw blanket
  2. Remington Personal trimmer
  3. Eye brow and face hair trimmer
  4. Remington Epilator
  5. floss pickers (aqua green; 250 count)

Thus, the absence of an apology (which I previously requested) and the added insult to my missing items leads me to keep this complaint open until the matter is resolved.

Regards,

**








Business Response:

****** ******’s initial complaint was that Roadway Van Lines did not call her to inform her that her delivery date would not be the first date she was available. That is not a valid complaint. No one told her that she would be called if her delivery was not to be made on the first date she can receive. ****** ****** was completely informed the driver will contact her the day before he arrives. This was informed prior to her making her reservation. If ***** (the sales rep) had told ****** ****** that she would receive a phone call from Roadway Van Lines to inform that she would not receive her items on her first date available then I would agree that we did not stand by the contract. * We did everything with in the contract. Yes ****** ****** did send me an email regarding missing items and I sent her our claim's department link and they will take GREAT care of her. ****** ****** requested an apology for something we did not ever promise. As I am fully aware Roadway Van Lines did nothing wrong, we did not miss lead the customer or provide her with any false information, as a good company, Roadway Van lines would like to say sorry for not contacting ****** ****** to inform her that she would not receive her items on her first available delivery date, even though no one promised her that we would have.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because the apology, ".... as a good company, Roadway Van lines would like to say sorry for not contacting ****** ****** to inform her that she would not receive her items on her first available delivery date, even though no one promised her that we would have," is condescending and insincere.


Regards,

****** ******









Business Response:

****** ****** request for the company to make an apology for something that was not promised and ***** ****** filed a NON complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Roadway Van lines rejects this complaint becasue it is NOT valid. Roadway van lines request the NON compalint to be closed as satisfacotry unless ***** ****** can send the Better Business Bureau in writing where it says we will contact her if delivery is not made on her first available delivery date, no one told her that for her to complain, please what is the complaint here? Below is what is on the contract as well as ****** ****** signed on it. AGAIN we did nothing wrong. I have pasted everything in writing to PROVE that Roadway van Lines did nothing wrong. Should ****** ****** provide the Better Buisness Bureau with written prove to make her complaint valid then we will agree till then please close as satisfatory.  

 

Electronic Signature
I hereby confirm my signature on the following document:
Name: ****** ******
Email: *********************
Signed Date: Friday, 06/28/2013 - 12:46:47 EST.
IP Address: *************
Internet Browser: ***


  Binding Moving Estimate Reserved Job No:*******
 Roadway Van Lines
 moving and storage
 Rockville, MD 20852
 http://www.roadwayvanlines.com
 Customer Rep.: *****
 Phone: ************** 
 Fax    : **************
 Email : ***************************
 US DOT: *******
 ICC MC: ******

Moving From Moving To
***** ****** 
**** *** ****** ** 
Stairs   Floor: 2   Apt. #: *
*********** ** *****
Phone: ************ (C)  Phone1: --
***** ******
* * **** ******
*********    
******** ** *****
*********************

Extra Stop / Notes
In case you may need to cancel or reschedule the move date please contact the office no later than 5:30 pm on Monday 6/24/2013 to avoid the late fee of $200.00.



Customer has free storage till 7/31/2013.


Storage: We provide one (1) months free storage for our customers. After the first months storage we charge $0.40 per cubic foot that your belongings take up in our warehouse with a minimum of $100.00. We also charge a one (1) time rental fee of $10.00 per moving blanket that is used to protect your belongings while there in storage.



Customer stated she can move @ 9:00 am as well.

Relocation Details
Job No: *******
Representative: *****
Move Type: Residential Long Distance, 672 miles
Estimated Volume: 277 cf. (1939 lbs) $4.96 per cf
Move Date:  Sunday, 06/30/2013  
02-04PM
Created on: 03/12/2013 
Relocation Estimate
Total Tariff $2221.00
Tariff Discount: 38.14% -$847.08
Basic Estimate Price $1373.92
Stairs in ** $75.00
Basic Valuation Protection:
$0.60 per lbs. per article

$0.00
Total Moving Estimate $1448.92

Full Value Protection Amount of Liability: $11,634.00 (Optional)
Deductible Levels: $0 $1000
Valuation Charge: $1151.37 $1035.07
Total Estimate Plus
Valuation Charge:
$2600.29 $2483.99
Customer's Initials: x_________ x_________

WARNING: If a moving company loses or damages your goods, there are 2 different standards for the company’s liability based on the types of rates you pay. BY FEDERAL LAW, THIS FORM MUST CONTAIN A FILLED-IN ESTIMATE OF THE COST OF A MOVE FOR WHICH THE MOVING COMPANY IS LIABLE FOR THE FULL (REPLACEMENT) VALUE OF YOUR GOODS in the event of loss of, or damage to, the goods. This form may also contain an estimate of the cost of a move in which the moving company is liable for FAR LESS than the replacement value of your goods, typically at a lower cost to you. You will select the liability level later, on the bill of lading (contract) for your move. Before selecting a liability level, please read “Your Rights and Responsibilities When You Move,” provided by the moving company, and seek further information at the government website www.protectyourmove.gov.

Understanding Your Estimate
This is a binding estimate based on the inventory list above provided by you, the customer, and the price is guaranteed for this inventory list. In case an itemized inventory list was not provided, this estimate is non-binding. The estimate is based on an approximate volume of your belongings and it is subject to change according to actual cubic feet of your belongings.

Additional Cost:
Be advised that there maybe be some additional needs for your move that are charged in addition to our rate per cubic foot. These charges may not apply to your move but are listed below.
Stairs & Elevators: In apartment and condo buildings we charge for stairs and elevators. Stairs are a one (1) time fee of $75.00 per flight, elevators are a one (1) time fee of$0.15 per cubic foot with a minimum of $75.00. The first flight of stairs is free of charge.
Full Packing Service: We provide full packing for $1.25 Per cubic foot. All packing materials and supplies are included.
Storage: We provide one (1) months free storage for our customers. After the first months storage we charge $0.40 per cubic foot that your belongings take up in our warehouse with a minimum of $100.00. We also charge a one (1) time rental fee of $10.00 per moving blanket that is used to protect your belongings while there in storage.
Packing Supplies: Packing supplies such as boxes, tape and bubble wrap are an additional fee, but are available on our trucks should you require them. You can view our packing prices here. Packing fees do not apply if you go with full packing service.
Long Carry: Long Carry charge is for the distance walked from residence to our truck in excess of 75 feet. The first 75 feet are free each additional 75 feet is $75.00.
Shuttle Fee: Should there be no access for an 18-wheeler at the destination there will be a fee for the shuttle to deliver your belongings. That fee is $300.00 for the first 700 cubic feet and $50.00 for each additional 100 cubic feet.

Standard Transportation Includes:
Labor time, Loading, Unloading, Shipping, Handling, Fuel, Taxes, Mileage, One-month free storage and the Protection of your Furniture with moving blankets. Included in our rates is the basic valuation package with coverage of $0.60 per pound per article if anything is lost or damaged. For additional coverage, contact us at least 2 weeks prior to your move.

Not Included in Standard Trasportation:
Packing services/materials (boxes, paper, tape, mattress cover, shrink wrap, Bubble wrap, etc)
are not included. Charges for any packing material, used as requested, will be added to your total cost. Should there be any other services required, additional cost will be charged.

Filling of Claims & Complaints:
Claims must be submitted in writing to the company within 90 days from the date of delivery. Roadway Van Lines shall not be liable for the loss, destruction or damage of goods tendered here under or any part there of unless claim is made in writing and supported by proof of ownership, together with substation of value, and weight. As a condition precedent, all outstanding money due to the company must be paid in full before a claim can be submitted. It is solely the shippers responsibility to inspect and indicate damaged or missing items on the inventory logs at the time of delivery. Valuation of claim will be based on those indications subject to the limitations of liability as described on the Bill of Lading. Liability for the carrier will be in accordance with the liability option the shipper contracts for.
BE ADVISED THAT THERE IS NO COVERAGE FOR FURNITURE THAT IS MADE OUT OF COMPRESSED WOOD.
The mover can not be held responsible for items left at the residence after loading. it is your responsibility to make sure that nothing is left behind. Please make sure that you check your closets, cabinets, drawers, attics, basement, garage and any outside areas before the driver leaves the pickup. Do not ship bank bills, coins, currency, securities, deeds, notes, drafts, valuable papers of any kind, jewelry, postage or revenue stamps, stamp collections, precious stones or precious metals. These items are
not covered by any security option.

Payment by:
Cash/Postal Money Order/Credit Card upon approval only. We do not accept personal checks. We collect 50% of the moving cost on the day of the pick-up. (
Please be aware of the penalty of 10% for returned checks). The remaining balance will be required on the delivery day and is payable by Cash or Postal Money Order only.

Please acknowledge that you have four business days prior to your scheduled time to cancel or rescheduled the move. Otherwise there will be a cancellation fee of $200.00 per crew. Should you need to cancel on the move date there will be a fee of $500.00 per crew.
______ Rights and Responsibilities Guide (The customer must initial).
The carrier gave me, or I declined a copy of the brochure
"your rights and Responsibilities as a moving customer".

______ Ready to Move (The customer must initial).
The carrier gave me, or I declined a copy of the brochure
"Ready to Move".

______ Estimate: (The customer must initial).
I did not request a visual estimate for this shipment and
understand I will be required to pay charges as shown on this contract.
THE DELIVERY TIME FRAME OF 14 BUSINESS DAYS BEGINS ON YOUR FIRST AVAILABLE DATE. DELIVERY TIME FRAMES ARE CALCULATED IN BUSINESS DAYS ONLY (MON. TO FRI, EXCLUDING WEEKENDS & HOLIDAYS). DUE TO THE NATURE OF OUR BUSINESS, PLEASE UNDERSTAND THAT TRANSPORTATION DELAYS MAY OCCUR.

Please be advised that this quote is valid for 7 days
For immediate assistant, call our office and have your job number ready. Our team members will be glad to help you.

Be advised that the electronic signature acknowledges that you the customer have received, read and agreed to these terms and conditions.

Articles List
Qty Description
1 BLACK CRATE
6 BLUE CRATE
1 BOOK SHELF
2 CHAIR DINING
1 CLEAR CRATE
1 DESK
1 DESK HUTCH
 
Qty Description
1 DROP- LEAF TABLE
1 FUTON
1 HAMPER
1 LAGEST BOX
1 LARGE BOX
12 MEDIUM BOX
 
Qty Description
1 SEE THROUGH CRATE
1 SMALL BOX
2 SOLID CRATE
1 SUITCASE MEDIUM
1 TRUNK LARGE
1 VIDAL SASSON BOX
 


_____________________________
Customer Name

________________________________
Customer Signature

____________
Date

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/7/2011 Delivery Issues
8/13/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1