BBB Accredited Business since

Regency Moving And Storage

Phone: (703) 497-1515 View Additional Phone Numbers 15433 Farm Creek Dr, Woodbridge, VA 22191 http://www.regencymoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Regency Moving And Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Regency Moving And Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Regency Moving And Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1999 Business started: 03/19/1989 Business incorporated 01/01/1989 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (Interstate Movers)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Av SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.protectyourmove.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-2519
The number is 494762.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cliff Krug Jr., VP Mr. Cliff Krug Sr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cliff Krug Jr., VP
Principal: Mr. Cliff Krug Sr., President
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 15433 Farm Creek Dr

    Woodbridge, VA 22191

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 12 a moving crew from Regency Moving in the course of carrying our household goods from our residence in ***** ****** mishandled a printer (by placing it upside down/on its side and possibly constraining it with a packing strap) and caused its ink cartridge to shatter. The ink from the cartridge spilled all over a new (5 month old) light-colored carpet. The stain is so severe that it cannot be removed. The printer was so damaged, it had to be thrown out. The crew failed to 1) immediately stop, 2) contact the homeowners, and 3) bag the leaking printer. Instead, the printer was carried through our house to the garage. The box was placed on its side, and damage then resulted to the floor of our garage. When I became aware of this issue, I immediately tried to reach the company management. After three phone conversations where the owners assigned blame to us for this disaster, we were informed that they intended to bear no responsibility for the damages incurred. Regency is relying on the word of its crew lead, who we do not believe was present during the actual event, i.e. other crew members actually made the error. The end of the printer box was supposed to be shrink wrapped. It was always HORIZONTAL. I subsequently witnessed a crew member carrying fragile items in a crushed box on his back, just as I had told the company owner was occurring during our phone conversation The crew leader was present and saw that his staff had ignored the fragile markings on the box. Nowhere in the contractual or printed materials of this company are customers told to remove ink cartridges. The owner insists this is liquid and prohibited from being handled by them. (!) Nowhere is a prohibition on ALL LIQUIDS stated. The company brochure lists a variety of liquids that Regency will not transport. These are "Alcoholic beverages, Paint, Flammables of any type, Propane tank." (The back of their contract states that gasoline and cleaning supplies are also excluded.)

Desired Settlement: Regency needs to accept some level of responsibility for the actions of its crew. We have incurred expenses for carpet cleaning and replacement that would not otherwise have been incurred. The printer will need to be replaced. The crew involved did not follow basic procedures. We know this because upon arrival at our new residence in ************, they immediately laid plastic over all of the carpeting. NO plastic was laid in any area of our ***** ****** home despite torrential rain and the fact that the move involved three stories of items, and three carpeted areas. We also know that there is a better way to work because a different Regency crew had loaded most of our household goods for storage just 2 weeks earlier. They used dollies and covered all the flooring, and were communicative and helpful throughout the day. They did not carry items up from the basement through our house or use the kitchen door. They managed the whole process from our front door and basement door. Rarely was a back strap used, and certainly not for boxes. There was no apology or fundamental professionalism in how the situation was handled. The crew spent the rest of the afternoon in close to complete silence . . . . The attitude of the owner, Cliff K***, Jr. (but not his father) was hostile.

Business Response:

August 25, 2014

Dear *** ******,

We are always disturbed when we hear from your office and we try to be quick to answer any complaint that our company may receive.  Our company’s success is based upon customer satisfaction.  We hope this letter will show that we have a fundamental difference in regards to the facts of this complaint.   I will attempt to explain our situation in this letter in the hopes you can see that we do not feel that *** ******* deserves any compensation in regards to a mistake that may occurred BEFORE we even arrived on site for the move.   Included in this letter are the basic facts of the case as we understand them. 

We did receive a call from *** *******, about an issue at their move.  We then spoke to Darwin (our crew chief/driver) on site.  When asked about the printer and the ink, Darwin was shocked because he noticed the ink (on the rug) first, made a correct moving decision (to protect the company's interest) to point out the ink and improper packing to *** ******* immediately upon finding the spilled ink.  *** ******* (at that time) agreed with Darwin, and even blamed 'himself' for the miscue.  Cliff K*** Sr., did call *** ******* back and said that we would of course take care of any issues* regarding the move (obviously if it was found to be our fault).  After a few phone calls (back and forth) to both *** ******* and a bewildered Darwin, we thought it best to complete the move and interview Darwin in person.  (We did tell *** ******* that upon cursory phone interview with Darwin, it sounded like he (and the Regency Crew) were not responsible.  But we would complete the move and do a more thorough investigation/interview of Darwin in person.

The next morning, CK Sr. did follow up with Darwin.  And again, Darwin was adamant about the fact that he was first to the box AND showed the issue to *** *******, and that *** ******* ADMITTED THE ERROR.  We even went so far as saying to Darwin, that we had no issues if a mistake occurred, we just wanted to know the FACTS.  He again, repeated that facts (as stated above) and would not change his story, because it was the truth. (His exact words).   Darwin has been with Regency for about 15 years, he is a church going, God-fearing individual, that has always showed a penchant for honesty above and beyond the normal mover.

Upon collecting the details from Darwin, we decided as a company, that we would not be responsible for an error that occurred in the packing process of the customer.  (WE DID NOT PACK THE CUSTOMER).  Darwin even noted that the printer did not fit in the box selected by the customer, which could have lead to the damage and leaking of the cartridge.  That fact was corroborated in every conversation with the *******'s, admitting that the printer was not in its original box, but set in such a way that it was NOT completely packed safely away and ready to be moved.  We called *** ******* and informed her of our decision as a company.  As you can probably figure (by this BBB complaint) she was not happy with our decision.

If you have any other questions, please don’t hesitate to contact this office. We apologize for any inconvenience, and hope that an objective, third party, can see how Regency is not at fault in regards to this particular incident. 

Sincerely,


E.C. K

Regency Moving and Storage

* We have been in the moving business for 25 years.  (1989).  Over the years, we have had our share of move related problems.  We have surely damaged furniture, mistakenly driven on a yard, made holes in walls, scraped hardwood floors, etc.  We know we employ human beings and we understand (and take responsibility for) any issues that occur during the move that our employees may make.  We stand by our work, period.  We have never 'fired' an employee for any such a mistake and we have created a workplace that is understanding to the fact that moving is a difficult undertaking..  We want to learn from our mistakes (not cover them up).

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1) it does not reflect the true facts of the case (See attached statement from *** *******.)

2) it does not address the actions taken by Regency personnel that caused damage beyond the damage to the carpet (see attached photos of ink trail, printer and garage)

3) it fails to address the various procedural mistakes made by the crew including:

  • not covering our carpets with protective plastic,
  • not contacting the customer immediately upon discovering any "unusual circumstance" (contract terms),
  • deciding to move a damaged item independently and without customer's consent.
I further take issue with Mr. K***'s statement the a mistake "may have occurred BEFORE we even arrived on site for the move."  The spill is in the middle of the floor and none of our household goods were in this area.  All the items to be moved were along the wall, as could be attested by another Regency crew that moved some of our household items to storage 2 weeks earlier on July 29.  In order for a spill to have happened where it did, the box was moved and incorrectly handled by someone on the August 12 Regency crew. 

We welcome BBB visiting our home to see the evidence.

Regards,

**** *******








Business Response: Phone call from Mr. K*** re: rebuttal response, he said they have no other response and stand on their first response. He also said they were working with insurance company to try and resolve the complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Regency Moving And Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)