BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Ramsey's Moving Systems, LLC

Phone: (610) 745-0000 View Additional Phone Numbers 4 Man O War Dr, Media, PA 19063 http://www.ramseysmoving.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ramsey's Moving Systems, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ramsey's Moving Systems, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 16, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2002 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The license number is 120024/puc#120024/dot#1168555/MC480952.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Scott Scoleri, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Scoleri, President
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (610) 566-4116(Phone)
  • (610) 566-2324 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wish to file a complaint against Ramsey's Moving Systems, LLC. In June we hired them as movers. Their crew was excellent but we encountered a couple of problems, one is still not resolved. My hallway hardwood floors were scratched when the brought in the refrigerator. I called them repeatedly to have them come and resolve the issue and I was told that one of their employees would get back to me. Finally, fed up because my beautiful reclaimed, extinct reclaimed elm hardwood floors had a big scratch in the hallway. I called a repair service to come fix the floor. Still calling back, no resolution. Finally one day, I called and I heard a woman in the background saying fax us the bill we will send you a check. That problem was resolved. They also put a big dent in my refrigerator door. Same thing, calls, emails, no response. I would get it fixed but I dont know who does that type of work. I called the manufacturer and they did not know who to refer me to as well. We have an office on the 1st floor which is just a storage room at this point. After the move, I went in there to find something and there is a big chunk out of a piece of furniture. One of the movers tried to put the chunk back where it came from to hid the damage. I know they say, they are not responsible for fiberboard furniture but they could have told me. Five months later and I am still looking at the big gash in my refrigerator, in my beautiful kitchen. I would love this to be resolved. They are not responsive at this point.

Desired Settlement: I need to have my refrigerator door fixed that they dented.

Business Response: Dear **. *****,
                             In response to *** ******** Complaint We had contacted her on several different occasions. We finally did get a hold of her to address her issues. She had a receipt that was hand written with no markings or phone numbers or even address pretaining to the work she said she had done on her floors for her. We finally came to a good resolution with her because she did sign off on all the work that was done for her and her 60 cents per pound insurance paperwork. Which is standard in the state of PA, She was offered like all our customers to get a higher rate but she said she was fine with the standard insurance and declined. If need be we can fax over to you all her signed paper work that was done at end of her job just like all our customers.         

All her paper work was signed by her at the end of the move. We did however resolve the issue with her on her refrigerator door right side which we ordered her a new one which due to the holiday season just became available for us to go and pick and put on for her. She was notified of this and was very happy to here that it was going to be completed for her. 

As always we do our very best to keep our customers happy and we are very accomodating and compliant with all our customers. However there are in some occasions customers no matter what you try and do for them they will never be happy and are just looking for some way to try and make money back on what they feel is ok for them.

 She has stated to us that as soon as her refrigerator door is fixed all will be well and she even agreed to pay the difference between the 60 cents per pound and the price of the door. We also will be fixing and putting it on for her asap. She stated she will let us know what is a good day.  Once this is done all she be good with ***. *******.           

If you need any further info please do not hesitate to contact me at my office,

                                                                                                                                                            Sincerely,
                                                                                                                                                    ******* *******.
                                                                                                                                                              C.O.O.

Consumer Response: *******,
 
I read the Ramsey’s response and am appalled they implied I was not being trustworthy or honest.   From the get go, their first line is completely inaccurate.  I called and emailed them many times.  So many times that one guy said to me “ I am going to kill ***** if he does not get back to you”. 
 
We have very rare, expensive hardwood floors in this house.  I had them done by the best hardwood floor man in Delaware.   I paid him with a check and he hand wrote me a receipt.  Their supervisor of the move took a picture of the damage, but deleted it from his phone.  I was asked months later if I had a picture of the damage, it was fixed in August.
 
I am going to have to pay money for the damage they did to my refrigerator and I am not happy about that.
 
 
***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this situation has been ongoing since March 2012 and still not resolved due to the Co. avoiding my phone calls and repeated requests to be contacted. I have contacted them over 85 times with phone calls and messages given to their employees who occasionally answer the phone, requesting the owner or his assistant to call me back but they refuse to do so. I am out of patience and honestly this situation has gone on too long. Its been 15 months now and I tried to avoid getting to this point but their lack of courtesy, respect for a paying in full customer, and their dishonesty and denial of terrible service provided has left me no choice. As I stated earlier, they refuse to return my calls or make contact with me, hopefully your agency can get this matter resolved. I will try to be as brief as possible since this matter stems over 15 months, however I want to emphasize my frustration and anger this Co. has put me through. I was referred to Ramsey Moving in March 2012 from the owner of a storage unit facility in an area I was moving to. I moved from *******, PA to a temporary residence in *****, PA March 24, 2012. I needed a storage unit until my permanent residence was available. In the meantime I had moved in with a sick relative to be a caretaker who has since passed away. The first problem I encountered with Ramsey moving was the estimate quoted to move from ******* to the storage locker was $1100.00. We both agreed to proceed. However when the day ended, they wanted $1500.00. I told them the contract was for $1100.00, not $1500.00.They stated they used more materials than they planned for. I was forced to pay the additional money and did so. Despite paying for additional materials, the furniture and items were not covered or stacked properly in the storage locker . I complained to the owner (**** and *****) who prior to the second move out of the storage locker, confirmed items were not placed properly in storage unit or covered properly. Just a note to point out, the entire crew who handled my move has since left the Co. I asked why but was not given an answer. I had no choice but to use Ramsey for second move out of storage locker to my permanent residence because if there were problems with damage or theft, another mover would put blame on Ramsey, so I had to continue final move with Ramsey. After second move was completed in June, 2012, there were several pieces of damaged furniture and missing items. The day of the second move was a rainstorm all day. I was charged for materials yet some of the furniture was not covered with plastic and therefore got soaked. My furniture was brand new condition, some items were never used or sat upon, yet now was soaked and water damaged. There were broken pieces of furniture from not being covered and stacked properly and items were missing. The crew that completed the move admitted to me they did not cover some of the furniture and stated they would make the owners aware of the problem. I was missing several items including an extremely heavy toolbox consisting of variety of various everyday tolls (socket sets, screwdrivers, wrenches, measuring tapes etc., in addition to hard to find tolls that were passed down to me from my father that were irreplaceable. I complained to crew and owners about the damaged furniture and missing items and they stated they would take damaged and wet furniture to "their repair man" and would look for missing items. That was in June. After several weeks I called the Co.back to follow up but my phone calls were never answered. I repeatedly called Co. back leaving messages with employees and on VM but never got a phone call back. Finally in October 2012 , the owner assistant ***** contacted me back and stated he was returning the damaged and wet furniture commenting that it was repaired and they would return the items to me. I asked them about the missing toolbox and missing stepladder and they stated they were still looking for those items. Keep in mind this is from June. I had to continue to call the Co. to follow up and finally Thanksgiving Friday, they returned the damaged and wet furniture that was supposed to be repaired. Nothing was done to the damaged furniture or the wet furniture, there were water stains all over the seat of the chair, and the damaged table came back in worst condition than when they took it. There were scratches all over the table, it appeared from a cat or dog had ran all over it. My mini bar was never returned and they stated they could not repair it and could not doing anything else with the damaged items. I was told to get furniture polish and try to rub out scratches on the damage table. I was not satisfied with anything to this point and was furious that nothing was done from June till November, yet they led me to believe they were going to fix or repair the damaged items. I asked again about my tools and they stated they were still looking. After complaining repeatedly and expressing my dissatisfaction, the Co. agreed to offer me $295 and replace my step ladder which they did. They also agreed to return my broken mini bar and replace my tolls. That was in November. Months went by with no call backs from the Co. despite my repeated calls to the Co. I would contact them 2-3 times weekly leaving messages with employees and on VM. Surprisingly in late February, I was able to speak with ****, somehow he answered the phone. He stated he received my messages but was too busy to call me back. He referred me to ***** to follow up with the tools and the return of the mini bar. They both agreed to return my bar and replace all the contents of toolbox along with a new toolbox. They took inventory of the missing items and stated they would get back to me in a week or so. Since that day in February I have contacted the Co. over20 times with no return phone calls or contact back to me. Both of theses individuals cannot be trusted and have no integrity whatsoever. I paid for move in full and was referred to them as a customer. To avoid me and run me around for over 15 months is a disgrace and despicable. I cannot believe a Co. can survive in business putting Customers through an ordeal such as mine. I am seeking full replacement for my mini bar and my tools which aside from the monetary value, the sentimental value is irreplaceable. The tools were in excellent condition and were simply just stolen. I have let both owners know of my disappointment with my fathers tools, but neither one could care less about my feelings or concerns. I will pursue this matter legally if not resolved with your agency. I certainly thank you for your help and assistance with this problem. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I want refund of $535 for missing tolls and minibar I do not want my email address or home address or personal information posted on internet. this matter is confidential between myself , Ramsey Moving and BBB

Business Response:

To Whom it may concern,

                                         In regards to **. *** ******** complaint. We have gone above and beyond the limit to try and satisfy **. *******. Most of his claims are of course completely with out merit. The items that he claims where not covered where not due to the fact that they where already broken from his home. Are crew leader pointed this out to him and his answer to that was no matter I am getting new furniture anyway. We have moved **. ******* 3 times already. As far as the rainstorm he is complaining about it was a slight drizzle and we also gave him the option of  doing it on a different day as we do all our customers if the weather is going to be bad. He declined and said that he needed the job done that day. You must realize that in bad weather the men take as much precaution that they can and sometime the job may go a little longer then the estimates states. We asked **. ******* if he would like us to fix his mini bar at no charge even though the bar was old and already damaged which we again pointed  this out to him.

In regards to his tool box that was given back to him the end of his first move. He then called stating that he could not find it. So we said to him that because you have moved with us we would put together a new tool box for him all he had to do was let us know what he had in it. Also in the mean time we decided to give him a credit of over $300.00 which we paid him a check for. He then calls back claiming now that his tools he can not find are very expensive and old and he wanted more money back for them. **. ******* keeps stating that his contract was not met. We tried to explain to him that it is an estimate not a contract, **. ******* did sign off on all work that was done and also has moved with us  on 3 different time frames.

We seem to be unable to satisfy him in any way. It seems that he is looking to get a free move out of us because of his inability to find his own items that he actual moved himself.

We have contacted our lawyer about this matter and he will be handling it from here. Thank you for patience in this matter.

 

                                                                                                                             Sincerely,

                                                                                                                            ******* *******                    

Consumer Response:

I can tell you my response is that I totally disagree with their response. It is totally false and just outright lies. It is very typical of this Co. to do so.Their response is totally false and untrue and its hard to believe how a company could lie so much about their service. Just look at the weather report for that day for this area. They claim a light drizzle…. It poured all day leaving several inches of rain… etc….I can give specific details of the non validity of their response. I was only moved twice and as I mentioned earlier I had to use them a second time because I was in a storage unit already. For them to accuse me of receiving my toolbox and then saying I did not get it is appalling. I don`t lie, I don`t cheat. I don`t want something for nothing. I paid my bill in full when due. I`m not trying to get  a free move. I want what was stolen from me and they have lied and denied for over a year. I`m trying to put this matter behind me.  They ignored repeated phone calls. My statements and complaints are strictly facts. Their response is a boiler plate of outright lies. Their employees that moved me are no longer employed there. Every employee commented how nice my furniture was. Most of the items were never used. I asked them to come to my home to take inventory but they refused.  Its so frustrating to read their response. They have no integrity at all and are totally unprofessional to put blame on me. I trusted them to do a good job and provide professional service based on a recommendation and I all got was grief. And they have the nerve to accuse me of lying. It’s a disgrace and I am not going to allow them to get away with it.


****** *******

 

Consumer Response:

Subject: RE: Complaint #*******.

Dear BBB,

To this date my complaint has still not been resolved. Once again this Company is avoiding their responsibility to resolve this matter. It has been over 15 months that I have been without my tools that were stolen and other damaged items. They continue to prolong this matter because they are at fault and refuse to be accountable for their negligence. They have been contacted well over 75 times and this matter is still ongoing. I`m fed up with all their lying and denying and want to put this matter behind me and move on. My tools were stolen during the initial move in April 2012 and never returned to me since. I cannot state it any simpler than that. Their failure to communicate with me and resolve this matter to my satisfaction has still not been met. I am requesting that your agency please contact this Company again so I can finally put this nightmare behind me. Thank you for your help and cooperation.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues