BBB Accredited Business since

Quality Transfer & Storage Company, Inc.

Phone: (301) 863-5050 View Additional Phone Numbers 22390 Three Notch Rd Unit A, Lexington Pk, MD 20653 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.movewithquality.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Residential & office moving, transportation logistics. Local, long-distance, & international.  Packing materials sold. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Quality Transfer & Storage Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Quality Transfer & Storage Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Transfer & Storage Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 16, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1977 in MD Business started locally: 03/07/1994 Business incorporated 03/07/1994 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 172585.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Dill, Secretary Mr. Tom Jones, President Mr. Jeff Rockenbaugh, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Dill, Secretary
Business Category

Movers

Products & Services

Quality Transfer & Storage Company, Inc. offers the following product(s): Interstate agent for Worldwide Moving Systems.

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, certified check, Visa, Mastercard.
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 22390 Three Notch Rd Unit A

    Lexington Pk, MD 20653 (301) 863-5050

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The standard care for our property that would be expected was not received. We have damaged leather on our sofa. Instead of boxes being carried to their destination, they were slid down steps from one person to another causing paint damage along both staircases. Our chest freezer was damaged. It appears something heavy was placed on top as the steel is buckled and it no longer seals properly. It appears something heavy was also placed on our ping pong table as the steel frame is bent and it can no longer be folded or used. Also, we found boxes clearly labeled FRAGILE in big letters at the bottom of stacks four or five high. I emailed the business and received no response.

Desired Settlement: I believe a partial refund is in order as this was pure neglect and not accidental damage.

Business Response:

Our office has receive an email from the customer regarding the complaint.  We in the process of an internal review, including a crew interview and discussions with management on how we will proceed.  We are working with the customer toward a satisfactory resolution.

 

 

Jeff R**********

Sales Manager

Waldorf, MD 20602

###-###-####

###-###-####

*********** ***** *** ********* ****** ********         ********* ***** ** *****

###-###-####

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are multiple issues that we have with service that we received from Quality Transfer. We called Quality Transfer based on good, solid referrals that we had received from friends and work collegues. We called their office to book a 4-hour move on Friday, 22 November. When the gentleman came out to do our estimate we indicated to him that we may need to move our date to Saturday, 23 November. When he delivered our estimate he gave us only one price for the service. He did not differentiate between a week day or a week end rate. We decided that the move needed to be on Saturday due to our work schedules. When we called the office, they informed us that there was indeed a difference in price. Despite the direct quote that we received from the gentleman that came to our house, we had to book at the higher cost. During our presentation, the gentleman said that wardrobe boxes were included in our cost and that we could call the store to get them. We called 5 different times and boxes were never made available to us. We had to borrow them from soneone else that had just moved. Everytime we asked the store, they just told us to call back another time. On the day the movers arrived, they started our 4-hour clock 15 mintues before entering our condo. This was deemed as "prep time" by the associates. During the course of the move, we noticed that they were not wrapping our furniture or protecting from the metal dollies that they were using to load it in the trucks. They indicated that this was standard practice and that it would not damage our furniture. They stated that the furniture would be wrapped during transport. This was in contradiction to the original presentation we receieved where we were specifically told that the furniture would be protected during the duration of the move. Everything was loaded into the truck (2 sets of matresses and box springs, 2 head boards, 2 footboards, a baby crib (that I took apart for them), 3 dressers, a vanity with a mirror, a dining room table, 4 chairs, 2 bar stools, a couch and a chair with an ottoman and a small chest that also seved as a coffee table, an entertainment stand and a small mail center) and we arrived at our new residence in just under 1 hour and 45 minutes (it is only 4.5 miles from our previous residence). This left us with just over 2 hours of time that we had paid for. Upon arriving at the new residence, we showed the movers all of the boxes that we had loaded into our garage over the previous few days. I asked them if they would mind helping us carry those boxes IF there was any time left in the 4 hours that we had paid for. Immediately, one of the gentlemen said that instead of paying the company rate, they would be happy to take some cash on the side and help us out after our 4 hours was up. He said the company would charge way too much and this way they could have a little cash in their pocket and we could get some help cheaper than the normal rate. I politely declined his offer and said that I thought there should be plenty of time within our 4 hour window. After all, unpacking is much quicker than packing and they were still under the 2 hour mark. Once we declined their offer their rate of worked dropped significantly. They unrolled dirty mats that were covered in leaves and dirt from previous moves. These were supposed to be used to protect our floors but a majority of their traffic was off of the mats anyway. They conveniently unloaded the last item form their truck at 3 hours and 55 minutes leaving them no time to help with anything additional including re-assembling the crib. I had to do that as well, even though our sales presentation said that the movers would help with taking apart and assembling any furrniture / bedding that we had. When the gentleman asked us to sign the contract we asked about inspecting our furniture for damage and he told us not to worry about it. He said the 4 hours was up and that it would be no problem to call back later if we noticed anything. Taking his word, we signed the paperwork without inspecting the furniture...and this I fully admit is a mistake on our part. For the next few days after moving in, my wife and I noticed that the bed was extremely loud and very unstable when we would try to lay down at night. We heard loud cracking sounds and felt as if the bed was about to fall apart. Sure enough, when we pulled the mattress and box springs off we noticedd that the bed was not even assmebled. I called the store and spoke to Louis to let him know what had happened. He was very apologietic and offered to send someone out to fix it. We declined his offer since it was a simple 5 minute fix but let him know that we appreciated his offer and that we would call him back if we needed anything else. Our second mistake came in not calling Louis immediately as we noticed more and more damage to our furniture...including huge scratches and dings in the bed rails and footboard. As the days went on we noticed scratches on all of our chairs, bar stools, 2 of our dressers, the door to the mail center was broken, the entertainment stand was scratched and the vanity in our bedroom was damaged. In all honesty, we lost track of time between settling in to our new home with our newborn baby, trying to sell our old condo, the Thanksgiving Holiday and then the Christmas Holiday. When we finally got the time to call back in to notify Quality of the problems we had, it had been at least 45 days and maybe a little more. I called and spoke to Louis again about filing a claim to either get the furnitre fixed or to get refunded for the service. Louis provided me the paperwork and we completed the form and sent it back to the company. We called and followed up multiple times before they finally sent out their repair person John to take a look at the furniture. When Louis sent John he told me that having the repair man out to look at the furniture was the first step in the claims process. At no point did he say that John had to try and fix the furniture before a claim could be processed. John came out and looked at the damage and stated that he could also see a great deal of damage considering how few pieces we had moved. He did indicate that the damage was not unreasonable for any move and that it was consistent with the types of damage that he normally sees. I asked him if I was being unreasonable and too picky with the things that we noticed and he said absolutely not. He said that he was very sorry for the damage to our furniture and that he agreed it was significant. When he offered to fix the furniture by covering the damage with the furniture pen, I told him that we would not have him do that at this time because Louis never said we had too. I was under the impression that John was there to verify damage for the claim process since some of the damage is not repairable by covering it up with the pen. I signed the paper that John provided stating that he was there and added a note that we were not having him repair anything at this time. I then contacted Louis to let him know what had happened and continued to do so for the next couple of weeks. Finally, after 3 weeks of calling Louis informed me that the claim was being handled directly by the onwer of the company, Mr. Stephen D***. He gave me the number to Mr. Dill's office and told me to contact him directly. For the next month and a half I left messages for Mr. D***, the secratary answering the phone and Louis to have Mr. Dill return my call. I never received a call from Mr. Dill - and I still have not received one. Finally, in April I tried calling Mr. D***'s office again and a lady named Diane spoke to me. She identified herself as the Customer Service Manager. I explained all of the details of our move and the problems that we have had. I also explained to her that based on Louis' instructions I had been trying to reach Mr. Dill and he had yet to return my phone call. She apologized profusely for the miscommunication on Quality's end. She stated that Mr. Dill should not have been given the responsibility for the claim and that it should have been with her the whole time. Over the course of the next few weeks we tried to continue the process through Diane. I will say that she was always polite and respectful when we talked, but we never got any further on our claim status. Finally, she agreed to send John back out to do a repair on the furniture. She stated that it was the companies opinion that it was in fact my fault that we didn't call soon enough to report the damage and that the company was under no obligation to help us out. However, she stated that since we had such a communication problem with Mr. D*** that she would go ahead and send John out. John finally came out to fix the furniture and he did a very diligent job of applying the furniture pen to every mark that we had identified. He explained that while that wasn't exactly "fixing the problem" it was at least covering it up and making the furniture look like its original state. He was very polite and thorough in his work. However, over the next couple of days we noticed that the ink was not drying and adhering to our furniture. It began running off on our clothing and our bedding. I called Diane the day after service and explained the issues we were having. She said that it was probably due to humidity and that we should give it a few more days. A week later, the material still hadn't bonded and was still coming off on us and our stuff. I called Diane to let her know and her advice to me was to just take a terry cloth to it and wipe it off. I asked her why I should do that when Quality was the one that applied the ink in an attempt to fix our furniture. She told me that she was very sorry but it looked like we were just going to have to live with the damaged furniture. Quality had done the best they could and had fulfilled their obligation to us. I was not happy with us and asked if she could please send John back out to remove the ink from our furniture. She finally agreed to send John back out but said that due to their busy season it would be as much as 2 weeks before he could come out. At the time of this letter, it has been over 6 weeks since that conversation and I was told today that John should call next week when he returns from vacation. When I called Louis today to explain the lastest situation and lack of follow up to him I asked if he would be able to authorize a refund for our services so that we can just wash our hands of this mess and be done with it. At that point he said that they would send John back out instead of processing a refund. I told him that he would have to forgive me but after 6 months of no follow up that I didn't believe him and that I would just like a refund. I did get a little upset and stated that I felt as if the company was trying to blow us off and didn't care about us and that we just wanted to be done with it and that after all this time, perhaps it was best if we just processed a refund and saved John's and everyone elses time. After all, at the end of the day even if John comes out our furniture is still going to be damaged. At that point, Louis got just as testy and stated that his companies position was very clear. John would call next week. This whole thing has been unprofessional from the beginning. I do admit that we have some stake in this only because we didn't immediately inspect our furniture and we also didn't immediately call when we saw damage to it after the move. However, that doesn't change the fact that the furnitre was damaged during our move and it sure doesn't justify the type of treatment we have received since then.

Desired Settlement: At this point we do not want Quality back in our home and we do not want to take anymore time off of work for them to un-fix the fix they were supposed to do to our furniture. We simply want our original money back so we can be done with this mess.

Business Response:

Complaint ID ********

 

To BBB: Response by Quality Transfer & Storage to complaint

 

The initial on-site estimate was provided on November 7,  2013.  At that time the surveyor was not clear that the anticipated move date was a weekend and verbally provided weekday rates.  This appears to be an oversight on the company's part.  However, written estimates were provided on November 8, 2013 via email, including an estimate for weekday rates and for weekend rates.  Overtime rates are charged on weekends as standard company policy, as was explained to the customer.  The customer was made aware of this policy prior to the move date and made the informed decision to move on the weekend. 

Upon completion of the move, the customer completed the Cover Sheet, which indicates the total time in which the move was completed (3.5 hours), and provides an opportunity for the customer to rate our service and indicate if there were any damages.  The customer rated the service as "excellent" and indicated the goods were delivered in good condition.  This is contrary to the customers' complaint.  In the area allotted for comments from the customer, the only complaint was, "More info on moving/prices/rates would have been nice @ time of estimate."  We agree with the customer that the estimator should have provided accurate rates at the time of the estimate.  This document, as well as the estimates provided are attached for review.

 No contact was made after the move and prior to 1/13/14.  Company policy allows for the customer to file a claim up to 30 days after delivery.  This window was exceeded, however in good faith, we made complimentary efforts to rectify the concerns. 

 The customer notified Quality Transfer and Storage Co., Inc. on 1/13/14 of damages to his furniture . Our office contacted the customer in a timely manner and arranged for a repair tech to visit the home for repairs.  A repair tech was sent to the residence, appointment set for 1/24/14. The repair tech stated the damages were minor and possibly not move related (e.g., pre-existing damage), and the customer did not allow the repair tech to repair any damages on that date.  The customer requested to file a claim, and claim documents were sent to the customer.  The Statement of Claims documentation was received on 2/27/14.  The customer completed the Statement of Claim using amounts that far exceeded the allowable settlement based on the documentation signed by the customer before the move took place.  Because the claim was received after the allowed 30 days after delivery, a settlement letter was sent to the customer as a courtesy offering to repair the furniture using the repair tech that initially visited the residence, and did not include a cash settlement. The customer contacted our company and stated he would accept our offer to sent the repair tech back to the residence, appointment set for 5/21/14. Repairs were completed on that date. The customer later called back and stated he was rubbing the repair off and it did not hold. The customer called back once again demanding a cash settlement for the damages, stating that he was not satisfied with the repairs.  Because it was determined by our experienced repair tech that the damages were pre-existing and not related to our services, we deny the cash settlement requested by the customer.

 This is the end of the response from Quality Transfer & Storage to complaint ID ********.