BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Quality Services Moving & Delivery

Phone: (703) 495-8900 View Additional Phone Numbers P.O. Box 116, Newington, VA 22122 View Additional Email Addresses http://qsmoving.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Quality Services Moving & Delivery include:

  • 14 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Quality Services Moving & Delivery include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 19, 1996 Business started: 01/11/1994 in VA Business started locally: 01/11/1994 Business incorporated: 05/10/2004 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The license number is 819924.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ed Graves, President Ms. Ann Bretzke, Vice President Ms. Ellen Knowles, Claims Department Mr. Kevin Smith, VP of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ed Graves, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Ellen Knowles, Claims Department
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Movers Delivery Service

Alternate Business Names
Quality Midwestern Holdings, Inc. Quality Services Moving Quality Services Moving and Delivery
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 116

    Newington, VA 22122

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 776-6846(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several aspects of my moving agreement with Quality Services Moving (noted in both the moving estimate of 5/17/13 and a company email from 5/20/13) were not fulfilled. Specifically, a dedicated truck was not provided for our move, and a 2-man crew did not assist with the move-in. Instead, the household goods were combined with items for other moves, which resulted in damage to a desk and several kitchen items. The "crew" in ****** consisted of one adult male (his sixth grade brother was also present). Please note that the reason for filing this complaint now involves a mistaken billing by Quality Services Moving (QSM), which was detected by my credit card company. I attempted to clarify this situation in emails to the company on July 7, 2013 and July 8, 2013, as well as a call to the company's office. Neither **** (*****************), the vice president of the company, nor ******* ******* (********************), moving consultant, responded to my requests for assistance. Consequently, I believed I could not trust QSM or their representatives any longer, and so I waited to file this complaint until all bills had cleared from the credit card used in the transaction, after which I cancelled the account.

Desired Settlement: The bill should be adjusted to account for the fact that the services were not provided as promised.

Business Response: September 17, 2013 **. ***** ******Better Business Bureau of Metro Washington, DCWashington, DC 20005                 RE:          ****** ***** *****, Complaint # ******* Dear **. ******, This letter acknowledges receipt of your letter regarding the above-referenced Complaint.  In review of **. *****’s complaint, a thorough documentation review in connection with his move was performed.  **. ***** was then contacted by our Vice President of Sales to discuss his concerns and an amicable agreement was reached.  **. ***** was happy with our response and the resolution to this matter.  He will be contacting your office to withdraw his complaint. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.  Your assistance in this matter is greatly appreciated. Sincerely, ***** *******
Claims
Quality Services Moving
P: ###-###-####F: ###-###-####
****************** Relocation Intelligence™ 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently re-located from Washington, DC to ****** *******, Fl, and I had selected Quality Services Moving, Inc. (QSM) as the carrier for this move. This selection was based on the estimate provided to me in February 2013, when estimator ** from QSM came to my ******* **** condo to visually inspect my belongings. I made it clear on the phone beforehand as well as in person that I was seeking a "not to exceed" estimate and nothing *** said on the phone or in person lead me to believe I would be getting anything different. In fact, he said "I'm usually pretty good at this" (i.e. giving accurate estimates) and "I'm usually within 10%." This was consistent with QSM documentation which I later received stating I "may not be required to pay more than 110 percent" of the estimate. At the time of his on-site estimate, I asked him several times if he wanted to see the boxes of books I had in the basement storage room, the items I had in cabinets and closets, or anything further specific that would help provide a more accurate estimate of weight. Each time he declined -- even declining to visually inspect my storage closet, which was a mere 30 feet down the hall. The "Total Estimate" I received, which included a hold/storage fee of several days, as well as all crating, packing, and moving charges, was $3,836.13 (i.e. $3,661.13 initial estimate plus hold fee of $175). I made a deposit of $360 to a credit card (and all subsequent payments were made to the same card). The movers arrived as scheduled on June 5, 2015. On that date, my credit card was charged 3 times for a total of $2,144.30. The same movers (team lead by "*****") delivered my belongings on June 12, 2013. On that date, I paid another $1,892.05 (bringing my Total Payments to $4,396.55). This payment was made after several phone calls between the deliverers and the QSM office, which was attempting to charge me an even higher amount due to the fact that the actual weight of my belongings was significantly more than the estimate **, with his professional expertise, had arrived at. He estimated that my belongings would weigh 2,672 lbs. However, it turned out his estimate was grossly inaccurate, with my belongings actually weighing 4,380 lbs -- a difference of 1,708 lbs and representing a mis-calculation of 64%!!!!!). Such a gross error in estimation makes one wonder whether the weights were accurate, or whether ** is simply unskilled in reasonably estimating the weight of household items. I subsequently received an invoice stating that the "Total Charges" were $4,794.84 and incorrectly stating that the amount already "Collected" was only $3,725.60. In fact (as noted above) the total amount collected by this time was already $4,396.55 ... a difference of $670.75 which was not credited to my account. I responded to QSM by email stating (1) that the invoice was inaccurate and it failed to reflect all payments "Collected," and (2) that I had already paid not just "110 percent" of the estimate, but had paid 115 percent of that estimate, and that I thought this was more than fair. The reason for any additional costs was due not to any action on my part, but rather to the gross miscalculation of QSM employee/professional estimator **. I had made my decision to go with QSM in good faith based on the professional estimate they had provided me. I requested verification that they had received all of the payments my own records indicated, but heard nothing back. I received a voicemail on July 19 from ** saying he wanted "to chat" about my move and the invoice. I responded by email on July 20, requesting verification of all payments that had been made, noting that the reason for the higher charges was the gross-miscalculation of weight (and an understimate of the packing charge, which ended up being more than doubled!), and that since I had already paid 115% of the original "Total Estimate," that I considered this to be settled. I received an email on July 22 from ** indicating he had spoken with QSM owners and that "We are open to reducing invoice sent for the remainder of the payment by $400." In response, I stated I was glad to this, and that -- coupled with the correction to the invoice which continued not to reflect a credit card payment of $670.75 (i.e. the packing charge that was more than double the estimated charge for packing), these two adjustments would essentially wipe out the "invoice balance due" of $1,069.24. Two things have since added insult to injury: First, I received a phone call on the evening of July 31 from "*****," the man who lead the moving team. He asked me if I had "stopped payment" to QSM, because they (QSM) were refusing to pay him for the move. I told him the entire story, including how much my estimate was and how much I had actually paid, and he replied, "Thank you, ... that's all I need to know." It sounded like this was not the first time QSM had treated him this way. Second, I received an email this morning (August 1) from ** attempting to explain the "confusion" over the invoice by stating, "Packing services not included in the above, but came to $670.75 and were paid in full" and further stating that, "The total charges from the invoice were based on moving charges. Packing charges are separate as it is a separate service," --- this despite the fact that the "Total Estimate" I received in February included ALL costs with itemized estimates for "Crating," "Packing," and "Move."

Desired Settlement: I feel as if I have been the victim of a "bait and switch" swindle in which a deliberately low estimate was provided to me simply to get my business (** knowing that I had already received another estimate from a nationwide competitor), knowing full well that my belongings weighed more than the estimate indicated and that QSM would be in a position to charge more. Since I have already paid significantly more than the "Total Estimate" I was provided; and since I have paid 115% of that Estimate; and since the reason for the discrepancy between estimated charges and actual costs lay fully with the fault of QSM and the gross underestimate of the weight of my belongings; and since I did everything on my part to ensure that the QSM professional estimator had all relevant information to make an accurate estimate; and since that estimator repeatedly refused even to "eye-ball" many of my belongings .... I believe that what I have paid to QSM more than sufficiently satisfies the agreement we had and that this matter should be accounted as "settled in full."

Business Response:

August 6, 2013

*** ***** ******

Better Business Bureau of Metro Washington, DC

Washington, DC 20005

            RE:      ******* ** ********** Complaint #*******

Dear *** ******,

This acknowledges receipt of your letter on August 5, 2013 regarding the above-referenced Complaint.  In reviewing **. *********’s complaint against Quality Services Moving I found there to be a zero balance on **. *********’s account.  Also, our Accounting Department confirmed that **. *********’s account is paid in full and closed. 

If you have any questions, require documentation and/or additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.  Your assistance in this matter is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Claims
Quality Services Moving
P: ************

F: ************
******************


Relocation Intelligence

<

****** ***************** ******************* **************************** ************ **************************** ******************************************* ********************************************************************************** ************ ******************************************* **********************************************************************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BL # ***********, SIT# ********* - Company was a sub-contracter to move my personal HHG from Colorado to Virginia in September 2012. Some were shipped to an apartmentment and some was in Quality Services Moving & Delivery storage for 2 months. HHG sent to the apartment had some damage and missing items. In October, Novemeber, December, Janauary, February, and March we called and spoke with **** about lost or brokern items. In December 2012, items fron Quality storage was sent to our personal storage - through March 2013). Four months later, items that were in storage were inspected (March/April 2013) we did a final inspection of items that were missing and broken. We put in a formal claim on April 19, 2013. Quality Services Moving & Delivery, et. al., will not honor our claim.

Desired Settlement: To reimburse us for the lost items (at FMV), and pay to repair broken items.

Business Response:

July 15, 2013

July 15, 2013

 

*** ***** ******

Better Business Bureau of Metro Washington, DC

Washington, DC 20005

            RE:      ** ******* *****, Complaint #*******

Dear *** *******

This letter acknowledges receipt of your letter on July 9, 2013 regarding the above-referenced Complaint.  

  .

**. ***** relocation was a Military, Department of Defense, move.  His move was arranged by the Military Housing Office.  As required by the Military all claims must be filed with the Military online in their DPS System.  The Military handles the claims process and settlement.  **. ***** was offered a monetary settlement after his claim was reviewed and an inspection of the damaged items was performed.  **. ***** rejected the monetary settlement offer.  **. ***** then went to the Military Claims Office (MCO) for a formal review of his claim.  The MCO denied **. ***** claim based on their findings.

Based on the above stated facts, for **. ***** to say that Quality Services Moving will not honor his claim is false.  I am sure **. ***** received correspondence from the MCO explaining why his claim was denied.

If you have any questions, require documentation and/or additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.  Your assistance in this matter is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Claims
Quality Services Moving
P: ###-###-####

F: ###-###-####
******************


Relocation Intelligence

*

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved from *** ********** ******** to ****** ** in May of 2012. I hired Quality Services and paid for additional insurance. 1. Certain items were very fragile and I paid for special crating of these items (Art). The art was damaged and I notified them when it was unpacked by their movers in *****. 2. The shipped my car on the moving truck, the mover in ** & my daughter went over the car and wrote down any items that were visible , scratches and dents. The both signed and agreed. Upon receipt in ***** the car was very scratched, my gas tank was broken from damage on the truck. 3. I have a custom made bed and dining room table, these items were damaged in the moving process. 4. For over 6 months I have contacted Quality Movers, gotten estimates and they keep denying my claim. My daughter took over the claim since she has power of atty for me and paid for part of the move. The GM promised he would look into this and have it resolved by March 1. My daughter emailed additional pictures, more estimates and never was called back when promised. I received a check for a little of $1000 to settle at $10,000 + claim. I was told it was ok to cash since this would not be considered final payment. Today my daughter had an appointment for a conference call. They did not keep their appointment for the time, she had to call them and they are now refusing to speak with her. All I want is this claim t be settled, it has been over 9 months

Desired Settlement: repair the car fix the art work refund me for the money for the additional insurance purchased replace or repair furniture

Business Response:

March 27, 2013

Better Business Bureau of Metro Washington, DC

Attention:  *** ***** ******

Washington, DC 20005

            RE:      **** *****, Complaint #*******

*** *******

I am responding to **** ******s Complaint in the order she listed in her letter to you. 

1.      **** ***** states she paid for additional insurance.  We do not sell insurance.

2.      **** *****’s Art piece:  For the damage she claimed it is impossible to occur when the Art was wrapped and secured in a custom crate.  There was no evidence of damage to the custom crate at delivery.  Also, no exceptions were noted at the time of delivery to indicate or support mishandling on the part of our personnel.

3.     When **** *****’s 2002 Lincoln Continental (car) came into our possession, it appeared to have been sitting for quite some time.  The cars exterior was covered, bumper-to-bumper, in bird droppings, tree sap and stains from pollen.  The cars paint was faded and the body of the car showed wear and tear that comes with the age of the car.  **** ***** took her car to a body shop to have work done.  She sent us the estimate for this work.  We called the body shop, ******** Paint & Body, and spoke with ***** ********. He stated that **** *****’s car showed wear and tear in the body which was not uncommon for the age of the car.  But overall, the car was in good condition for its age.  He did not believe that the damage she was pointing out to him was transit related damage.  With regards to the under carriage of **** *****’s car, we spoke with *** of ******’s Auto & Fleet Service.  He stated that **** ***** told him she was not able to fill her gas tank.  He stated he did not encounter any problems when he filled her gas tank. 

4.      **** *****’s 20+ year old Platform Bed Unit:  **** ***** claimed the headboard was not flush with the unit after being reassembled.  The repair cost was paid in accordance with her contractor’s estimate she submitted to us.  We denied the portion of the warped drawer damage she claimed based on the fact that the warped damage is directly associated with humidity and climatic change, and is beyond our control.  This is not, in any way, a result of mishandling on the part of our personnel.

.                                           

5.     **** ***** Dining Table:  In our review of **** *****’s signed Inventory Sheets, it was noted there was pre-existing damaged to the table before we took possession.  **** ***** was given copies of the Inventory Sheets.  Given the nature of the pre-existing damage is such we are not liable for the damage she claimed.

 

**** ***** was compensated $1,605.83, the amount for which was based on our liability.  **** *****’s daughter, ***** ******** contacted us upon her mother receiving her settlement letter and check.  She advised us that her mother did not agree with the position we took on settling her claim.  We advised **** ******* that we participate in a federally mandated arbitration program that is available to her mother.  We also told her that we are willing to go before an arbitration panel with **** *****.  We then sent **** ***** the arbitration program information and contact information.

In closing, based on our document review and all the facts presented to us, we firmly believe that **** *****’s claim was settled fairly. 

Sincerely,

***** *******
Claims
Quality Services Moving
P: ************ *** ***

F: ************
******************

Relocation Intelligence

******* ***************** ******************* ********************* ******* ************ ****************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/31/2012 Delivery Issues
12/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service