BBB Accredited Business since

Pullen Moving Company

Phone: (703) 550-8077 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 4427, Woodbridge, VA 22194


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pullen Moving Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pullen Moving Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pullen Moving Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 01/19/1968 Business incorporated 12/18/1980 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 251538.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Pullen, President Ms. Linda Pullen, VP Ms. Angie Ellison, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Angie Ellison, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. James Pullen, President
Principal: Ms. Linda Pullen, VP
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 4427

    Woodbridge, VA 22194

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the delivery of the household goods to our residence, one or more of the movers stole money (cash) from my wallet and from my wife's purse. We had just returned from the ATM, wherein, my wife withdrew $400 dollars in $20 bills. After the movers left, we realized the theft and reported this to the company and police. $40 was missing from my wallet and $260 from my wife's purse. After reporting to the company's Owner, Denise, she has refused to take ownership of the matter, claiming that a family member could have taken the money?!? With only my wife and I in the house during this time, this is not possible and the only persons with access to the home were the movers.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money returned to me ($300) and an apology issued by the company. Since this was a U.S. government move, we are also working with the government and the contract to ensure that this company is not used for future contracts with our agency.

Business Response:

October 30, 2014

Dear *** ******:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint placed against our agency. This is a very unfortunate circumstance that the customer alleges our crew stole money from both his wallet (he states was in the living room – morning event} and his wife's purse (he states was on the kitchen counter — afternoon event) during delivery services of their household effects being made to their residence. We instructed *** ***** to call the police immediately. We seized the truck promptly upon its return to (myself and our Vice President of Operations met the truck at the moment it was placed in the park position with the crew still in the cab) our lot and searched each crew member's persons, personal bags, cab of truck and body of truck. Nothing over a $20 bill was discovered. We have no reason to believe our crew is guilty of this accusation.

85% of our agency's business is moving Department of State personnel and the other 15% is moving Department of Defense personnel. We have held a contract with the Department of State for 22 years and the Department of Defense for over 30 years. We are responsible for moving Ambassadors, Dignitaries, Flag Officers and other high profile government personnel. Our hiring practices require a background and driving record check. Any criminal offenses and reckless driving charges prohibit employment at our agency. Background checks and driving records are reviewed at least annually with all staff. Proven misconduct that directly involves the service rendered to our customers is cause for immediate dismissal from our agency. Given the elite clientele we serve daily, we cannot tolerate conduct that compromises our customer or the contracts under which we serve as this directly impacts our ability to provide Service in the future. We do not experience thievery or missing items - zero. Damage caused to household contents or to the dwelling by our crew during service is immediately brought to our customer's attention by the crew as this is a required policy of our agency. We have to perform our services with open communication between the customer, our management team and our crew to render the best possible service. Misconduct or hiding the truth clouds our Company's integrity and is not tolerated.

*** ***** spoke to me 3 - 4 times and Tom M******, our Vice President of Operations, probably 5 times regarding his accusation against our crew. He did not place this complaint with your agency until after his last phone call to me being sure I wasn't going to make restitution for his verbal claim. I told him until there was proof or evidence of a/the crew member's guilt that I had no proof of claim to pay from. He is of the position that because he's a federal officer that his accusation should be received as factual information and acted upon. A customer can't just call and make a claim or accusation and expect restitution. The ease of making a verbal claim against a mover that results in immediate payment due to the customer's say—so would lead to multiple occurrences. The accusation must be substantiated and proven. He filed a report with the police, but an immediate investigation did not occur as it should have. We left 2 messages with the reporting officer (at *** *****' request) and never received a return phone call.

We have an on board electronic monitoring devices on our equipment, so we know our crew arrived to residence at 9:10am the morning of 9/18/2014. Our crew of 3 rendered defivery services placing household effects in the home and arranging and unpacking as the customer directed. Our crew of 3 left the residence at 3:47pm having each received a $20 tip from *** *****.

*** ***** explains his wallet was in the living room of which $40 of $60 within the wallet was stolen. He states this happened in the morning as he went to his wallet either later in the morning or early afternoon to begin assembling the tip money he desired to provide the crew and could only account for $20 of the $60 he thought to have in his wallet. *** ***** did not assume this to be thievery at this time. He assumed thievery of his wallet after their presumption of money taken from his wife's purse. That afternoon he explains that his wife went to the bank and withdrew $400 from which he wanted to give the crew a tip. He explains that he pooled $20 from his wallet and $40 from the money his wife withdrew and gave it to the crew preceding their departure at 3:47pm. After our crew left his wife and their teenage daughter went to *********'s to get something to eat and she couldn't account for $260 of the $400 withdrawn. The customer immediately presumes our crew extracted $260 of the $400 his wife withdrew from her purse.

He is stating the bank withdrawal slip showing how much his wife withdrew from the ATM is evidence of the money they had. I don't know what time that withdrawal is said to have occurred, but as the story has been explained, it was sometime in the afternoon. Given our crew left the residence at 3:47pm this leaves a very minimal window of opportunity for someone to extract some money and not all from his wife's purse before the crew left. There were 3 crew members in the residence, **. and **** ***** and their teenage daughter.

*** ***** made numerous phone calls into me and Mr. M****** expecting immediate resolution, Because we personally searched the crew's pockets, clothing, personal bags and equipment, we were not assuming responsibility awaiting additional evidence. *** ***** believed his credentials were enough to substantiate his claim against our agency. His last phone call to me | indicated he or his wife could have miscounted for the money, misplaced it or even his daughter had opportunity to extract the money. This response was not my position of response until the last phone call. My response to him every conversation preceding was we needed evidence of the crew's misconduct. *** ***** kept insisting our crew was at fault and his determination of this was evidence enough.

I've worked for this agency for 30 years and take great pride in the service we render, the staff we employ and the clientele we service. To state an employee has acted negligently is taken seriously. We responded immediately assuming the customer to be correct doing a complete search of the contents of our crew and equipment expecting to terminate employment of someone that evening, only to find no evidence to substantiate the claim. To state my response to him was a family member could have taken the money is skewed. My repeated statement to him was I needed evidence and proof that it was our crew. I, too, am offended to continue to receive verbal accusations every phone call of our crew's misconduct when we could not isolate evidence.

We cannot afford to have a staff member conducting themselves in this way, if ever someone is said to have conducted themselves inappropriately we respond immediately and if gross misconduct is evident, we terminate employment. Our crew is very aware of our position and knows they are jeopardizing their employment to act irresponsibly as this. We have a superb team of folks who pride themselves in rendering nothing less than excellent service. To permit a customer to make an unsubstantiated claim and render restitution undermines the integrity of our crew and opens a window of opportunity for all customers to make a verbal claim of accusation in seeking cash restitution. We can't afford either. Had we found measureable cash on any staff member, a refund would have been made and employment of that individual would have been terminated.

The crew admitted to having received a $60 tip - $20 each. I am reimbursing *** ***** the $60 he gave the crew. The evidence brought forth is circumstantial:
The effort we put forth to identify the crew member immediately upon their return. The amount he's quoting missing from his wife's purse being exactly $40 less equaling the amount he said he extracted from her withdrawn money to pay the crew.

• The minimal window of opportunity between his wife's return and our crew's departure to accomplish these alleged acts.
• Why was only some money taken from each location and not all.
• Why is a wallet and purse left in open view in different locations with strangers in the home.
• The crew has no performance history giving indication of such behavior.

I did apologize to him for his loss, but he's not satisfied because I didn't provide immediate settlement from his verbal claim.

We appreciate your role in mediating resolutions. We value the Better Business Organization's ability to provide consumers with a means of considering a company's integrity, trust and ethical performance. We will certainly regard any recommendation you provide. Thank you for considering our position of this matter. Please advise how this claim against us will be posted or used in our grade of performance with your agency.

Sincerely,

Denise M

President







Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pullen Moving Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)